Preview Review

Next Review

Charter Communications Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Still waiting...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SILVER SPRINGS, NEVADA -- On 9/26/12, I ordered Charter's Triple Play to be installed in a house I was renting. I was given an installation date of 11/6/12 and was not a happy camper. Called to complain and get an earlier installation date and was called back on 9/27/12 telling me a technician would arrive between 1:00 and 3:00 pm on 9/27/12. The tech arrived, but informed me that Charter would have to bury cables to hook up my service.

I was told that the order would be placed that day and that the cable would be buried the following week. I was told that I did not have to be home when the cable was buried, but I would have to be there when the service was hooked up.

On 10/5/12, I called Charter and told them that I could not occupy the house without communications set up in the house. I asked when the cable would be buried so that service could be hooked up. The representative was rather annoyed with my call.

I was told that the order was still open and Charter placed another order for the buried cable. I was told that I would know when the cable was buried when I saw painted lines on the ground and markers delineating the water/gas/electrical lines. My husband drives a truck for a living and I do not feel safe without communications hooked up to the house. On 10/9/12, I called Charter again with further promises that the cable would be buried soon. Once again, I felt as if I was nothing but an annoyance to the Charter personnel.

On 10/12/12, I called again and was told that the crew was scheduled to bury the cable on 10/2/12, but they did not show up. Yet another order was placed for the bury cable work to be done. I was told they would show up on 10/10/12 to bury the cable. They did not show up. I reiterated that I was still unable to live in the house until service was connected. Charter's customer service people leave a lot to be desired. They are rude and make no attempt to disguise their irritability.

On 10/19/12, I placed another call to Charter and was once again given the runaround. The representative told me that she would send another bury cable order and that I should receive a call on Saturday, 10/20/12 telling me that the cable was buried and to make an appointment to have service connected.

Today, 10/20/12, I have still not received a call from Charter. I have never been able to talk to the same person when I call Charter. I have no service and have no clue when I will have service. What is the problem? Charter is full of apologies, but that does not give me service. I feel that I have been patient long enough and I am tired of the empty apologies and promises that Charter gives me.

I would NOT recommend subscribing with Charter for any reason. They are unreliable and untrustworthy. I am at the end of my rope and would warn anyone and everyone to avoid Charter like the plague. The frustration and lack of service is beyond belief and you are better off dealing with other communication providers.

Replies
Advertisement
I Am Addressing This Huge Concern to George ** Director of Media
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

George, I will make this quick because I am tired of wasting my time with the Charter sales team. I have sought out several federal agencies in the consumer action handbook who have informed me that contacting you first for an agreeable resolution, and if not, they would be happy to step in and review the situation. We must discuss this issue of promising the public a price for a product, and not delivering. You are doing this to me and to many others. I am paying $29.99 (plus paid the $50 install fee) for internet service only. This price I am paying that you advertise is for phone service. I do not even have a land-line!

I should be paying the advertised (via fliers and website offers) $19.99! Your sales team is rude, incompetent and just do not care. At this point, and in my professional estimation, Charter has raised Verizon wireless to a good level. And I believe Verizon has the worst ability in corporate history of providing in any way a decent and positive customer service. The stats do not lie. When I called to inquire, your sales team refused to adjust this appropriately and were very pleasant to tell me they would be more than happy to cancel my service. But, no refunds. I guess that your sales person already got his/her commission. Now do not get to anxious, I want my service active. There is a lot to write about.

George, you really should be paying more attention to customer retention and establish a track record of keeping customers. I guess I am from the old school when the people I worked with cared as much as I did about the customers experience. I was in hospitality management for 20-years. I would have fired any employee who addressed my customers this way. It all makes sense. I had a lot of competition and if I could not treat the employees and customers properly, they would walk across the street seek out another hotel. I did not want my employees to form unions within my establishment. But in these times, maybe the option should be revisited.

I worked for 5-star hotels as DHR and for GM in labor relations. I am yet to find a decent wireless phone, internet, home phone or television company anywhere these days. Most all are manipulative, greedy, and not operative with their customers. We low line customers of yours, George, give you a company to operate. I received an e-mail this morning that a new and improved internet package is being offered at the bargain price of $29.99! George, your sales person informed me that I would not get this service even though I am already paying the erroneous $29.00.

I was told I can not take advantage of this offer because... because... because.... I am tired of your employees problems. There is always a reason why the customer cannot have what is rightfully offered at what they are paying! I want to know "how they can help me, not why they cannot! That is your problem George, not mine. Ok, I am finished here, for now. You were anxious to post a response to my compliment on 2/22/2012. Don't run away now! I will not just go away and it would be very unprofessional of you to throw me to anyone else.

Your 3 cents readers want to know. I want to know. It is time to stop treating your customers like we are ignorant or just right down stupid! I await our reply before I move ahead with my options. I am handicapped, and I know you do not want to approach any civil rights laws.

Company Response 3/14/2012:

Greetings again Penny,

We'd be more than happy to address your concerns. Please contact us at Umatter2Charter@chartercom.com with the name and address on your account so we can we can take a look at your billing concerns. Please be sure to put ”CharterGeorge – My3cents - PennyLayne” in the subject line so I can keep an eye out for it.

Thanks and I look forward to assisting!

George Vick
Senior Social Media Specialist – Charter
Umatter2Charter@chartercom.com
http://www.charter.com/UMatter2Charter

Replies
General
By -

Honestly, to those of you that have had problems with your Charter service, I'm sorry. I say that because I am one of the agents that you would possible speak with if you were having problems with your cable or internet. With that being said, I would like you to take into mind that I am only one person of about 17,000 agents that you could possibly speak to.

I AM from the US, and do speak English. I have read that many people have issues with people not speaking English but as those of you that have been generous enough to donate to the earthquake or tsunami victims throughout the world, please realize that those are our employees too! I really wish that each person that has called in with a complaint or issue to our company could work only one month in our daily life. I personally try to be as compassionate and empathetic to every caller I receive, yet understand that some people just don't want to hear it.

If you might be willing to read, this is a normal day of service for a Charter agent:
1. As much as I would love to be able to give you a time that an outage would may resolved, it's really just not possible. I, nor the Charter technicians, are able to prevent them. Granted, sometimes it is a maintenance issue that is being done in the area to repair services, but we cannot control weather-relates issues (such as 49 out of the 50 states getting snow this year,) nor are we able to stop an accident of a vehicle may crash into a fiber line that takes 48 hours to repair. No company is ever perfect but we strive our hardest to give you the best service possible.

  1. No one in life (or computer) is perfect. You may call in and speak with the automated system to ask questions about something and get to the incorrect department. Honestly, it happens. When you speak with an agent and tell them what you're calling in about, we're not intentionally trying to avoid you're issue, it's just that we're all trained in different area of specialty. If I'm not the correct agent for you, I'll get you to the right one as soon as possible with the least about of hassle as possible. No program or person is perfect but we do the best that we can.

  2. Please keep in mind that on an average day we take anywhere from 30-70 calls per 8 hour shift. During that day it's only one of two things that we're answering the call about; either your cable or your internet is not working. While answering your call there are only so many option that we have to help with. As I said earlier we are specifically trained per department, and as a call center cable and internet repair agent there is only so much that I'm able to help you with over the phone.

I'm aware that when we ask you to unplug a cable box or modem it's typically not convenient to get to (either being in an entertainment center or searching through many cables connected with your computer.) If there was a way to bypass this option, or to do it for you, we would. Unfortunately this just isn't possible. We only ask you to do this because it genuinely repairs about 80% of the calls that we receive.

  1. I completely understand that the automated system may be frustrating, yet yet many customers have their issues resolved while following the steps provided. Granted, in some circumstances an agent is required to resolve issues, the system is in place to over-all assist the customer calling in,

  2. While we do provide you, the customer, with cable and internet service, we cannot guarantee that the equipment you used to access those services are going to work. For example, if your television will not turn on, or if your computer has a virus (or the monitor won't power on) unfortunately we may not be able to resolve the problem for you.

The same standard applies for third-party routers. If you're able to get online to the internet directly connected to the standard modem, but not able to access your own wireless service in your house, it may be something that you would need to contact the manufacturer about for assistance. We will try to repair any issue you may have with the services and equipment that Charter has provided you with, but some things are just out of our hands.

  1. If your services aren't working we will truly try to fix the issue. No one person is expected to pay for a service that they're not getting, but please at least give us a chance to resolve the issue. If you are experiencing an outage or some equipment failure is causing it not to work, call us to let someone help repair the problem. Whether the resolution in sending a technician out or replacing the equipment we can do that for you. However when a person calls in saying that their services haven't been working for the last year, but there's no notes on your account alerting us to the problem, it's difficult to know the accuracy of the statements.

It's not the we don't believe you, only that as per any company there must be documentation. As inconvenient it may be for people to take time our of their busy days to call us to state their cable/internet has been intermittent, it's necessary to reciprocate the compensation you deserve.

In conclusion, we're not robots or droids that have been trained to give a scripted response to answer you. I personally, and the company as a whole strive to give the best customer service possible. Everyone has good and bad days as a whole we do our best. Please keep that in mind next time you call in. Thank you for reading and have a great day. ~~~ A Charter Call Center Agent ~~~

Replies
Worst Cable Server Ever/Horrible Customer Service
By -

Charter is THE WORST service out there! Their customer service should be called "get customers outraged". They talk in circles and don't answer the questions you ask because they suck and they are just in business to screw every customer they acquire. I cannot give a specific story because I have waaayyy too many to get into without my blood pressure rising dangerously high. However Saturday I spent the whole day moving came home and just wanted to watch a movie and relax so sure enough I turn the TV on and my HD channels are pausing every 60 seconds.

So against my better judgment because I don't think a heart attack at the age of 26 is necessary, I called Charter to see if maybe, just maybe, they actually knew what they were doing and could fix something! But once again I was wrong. They sent this signal to my box that just took the channels out completely, no picture, no pausing, no nothing, just black and basically responding by saying oops!

So we spoke to a very pleasant manager (she was clearly a faker) she said everything we wanted to hear, something we had never experienced with Charter before. We informed her we were moving and wanted our cable shut off on Sept. 28 and she said she would prorate it until then and then credit us $50 for our trouble and not having cable Saturday night, then we could return the boxes that week of the 28th... Too good to be true was right! I came home tonight at 9:30 from another 16 hour day and just wanted to lay back relax and watch a show I DVR everyday, well God forbid I get a service I paid for.

The HD box in the living room was completely out and when I turned the TV on it says "This box is not authorized". So I go into my spare room and "Hmm that one is working". So once again I call my favorite company Charter and they inform me that on Sat. I set up a voluntary disconnect. I said I most certainly did not, explained the whole situation and then asked if I had "cancelled" why do I still have cable in my spare room. "Well I don't know" was their reply.

So I said OK so reconnect it since I didn't do this, "Well ma'am we can't undo a disconnect". Hmm OK really well then I'm not paying for this box then if I don't have service on it, and they say "Well you have to pay for it until you return it, you were just going to return it anyway" she said to me!! The nerve of her. Yes I was going to return it when it was convenient for me AFTER I was finished moving which was the week of the 28th which is why I set the disconnect up for that date!!

So another super manager gets on the phone with his genius self and says "Ma'am you have a disconnect date set up for the 22nd (tomorrow)". So I said "OK well explain to me why if you claim I have this disconnect date for tomorrow which isn't even the case THEN WHY IS MY CABLE OFF TODAY!!!" "Well I don't know ma'am" was the response I received. So I screamed "Well apparently you don't know how to do anything except incorrectly shut off people's cable to and you can't turn it back on"!

So they say "Well will you be transferring your service when you move??" I lost in slammed the phone down and came to the computer to finally complain!!! I HATE THIS COMPANY, the service, the customer service!!! Everything. They should be put out of business. Bring on Comcast, Chicopee. Should not have a crappy cable monopoly!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Charter Has the Worst Customer Service in the History of the World
By -

MICHIGAN -- I have been a Charter customer for 2-1/2 years. It started with the phone being disconnected. 3 days after I started my service. They turned it back on 3 days later. And "accidentally" disconnected it again the next week. And again, took 3 days to turn it back on. It lasted another week before they did it again - all of this before I had even received a bill.

When I called the 3rd time the operator said "I'm sorry Ma'am, but you don't sound like a Nathan to me" then asked for the security code from my bill to access my account. I told them I had not received a bill yet - they told me that it was mailed that day and that once I received it I could call back to complain that they had turned off my phone.

I asked to speak with a supervisor and was told he didn't have one - apparently the President answers the phones at Charter. Then he hung up on me. I called back and was again "disconnected". I should have cancelled the service then. Instead I tried to add internet 2 months later. They sent a technician who couldn't figure out how to install it. Then they charged me for a technician visit and for a month of internet service. When I called to complain, they scheduled another installation. Same problem, still no internet, still got billed for it. They managed to bill me for $75 in service calls and $150 for service to not give me internet service.

When my introductory rates expired my bill skyrocketed - which I expected. So I called to downgrade some services, I really only had the 5 MB internet and movie channels because they were free for the year. They explained that if I cancel or downgrade ANY service they would charge me more. I called 8 times before a representative actually agreed to downgrade my service (at this point I had paid another 2 months for service I didn't want). My 9th call I told them I wanted to cancel the service. They explained that they have a "retention" department for that - instead of fixing the problem, they create a new department.

The retention department guy (Henry) was very helpful. He downgraded my service, told me that my new bill would be for $124 instead of $190, and apologized for the inconvenience. I returned an extra cable box myself at his suggestion to save a $37 service call to come and get it. I was so happy until I got my next bill for more than $200 because I got charged for all the movie channels that I cancelled. And the $37 service charge that didn't happen. And a $20 "downgrade" fee. They explained to me that if they don't charge these fees, they won't be able to charge me as much money.

Again, I asked for a supervisor, again there isn't one. Then they hung up. I tried live chat, they cancel the session. I finally got a supervisor at Live Chat and requested the contact info for the corporate offices - she gave me a number that goes to a switchboard that requires an extension to get through to anyone. She says she doesn't know the extension. She says to leave a message in the general mailbox and someone will call me back.

I ask her for her contact information, in case I have problems getting someone to call me back - she tells me she doesn't know HER OWN contact information either. I asked her, since it took 9 calls to downgrade my service, how many calls it takes to cancel service. "It's hard to estimate how many calls it could take to cancel service."

Charter Communication has the worst customer service department in the history of the world. They are rude, unprofessional, they lie, they delay, they hang up, and no one speaks English. The customer service reps don't seem to know ANYTHING about their customers or their service. Their supervisors don't seem to know anything about their staff, which is OK since they also don't care. And it is almost impossible to reach anyone outside of their customer service grid of incompetence and lies. I will continue to call the corporate number every day, over and over, and dial random extension numbers until someone answers the phone. Even after I cancel the service.

Replies
Service And Billing
By -

ST. LOUIS, MISSOURI -- I don't think that this really reaches the CEO of Charter but here goes. I am totally disgusted with my cable service and especially how I have been screwed from day one. Sorry for using the word screwed but there is no better word for it. My story begins. I have been using Charter for many years. I've been told on many occasions not to switch to Charter as those around me suggested that they all had a lousy experience joining Charter. I never had any major problems with my service, so I figured why not. After a year of deliberation I decided to go full till, all three services (telephone, cable and internet).

I logged online at charter.com and signed up to get my $150 gift certificate. I selected the $99 but the online service would not accept my address as being a valid address. I was already a charter customer with basic extended service so why was my address coming back as invalid. I called into Charter to report my sign up issues at charter.com. I was told that I could be help in person to complete my order.

I ordered the $99 service plus an additional $5 for the DVR recorder. After all of the added features and fees to get my 3 services going I thought my bill before taxes was $105 plus taxes. I asked over and over for clarification as I wanted to be 100% clear and have no confusion in what my monthly will would be.

Our installation was scheduled between 12 pm and 4:30 pm. At 6:30 pm with no notice the tech finally arrives. When the Charter installation came, they forgot the HD DVR that I was talked into ordering. The tech had no batteries for the remote and no pamphlets on the internet, phone or cable services. He did not even have a ac power cable for the cable modem so he just reused my old SBC DSL power cord. It was a joke. The tech seemed nice but he had brought nothing with him. I was told another tech would have to come out to replace the cable box. Three days later, I had to take off work again but I thought everything was final.

On Oct 28 I received a bill to my credit card for $169.42. Wow, but this included the cable and internet fees and installation charges. For 3 services the charges seemed to add up. Two plus weeks later I called in because I had a few concerns. Was my bill correct? Do I have HD channels as mine seemed very blurry? When do I get my $150 gift certificate?

First, my bill was only for 2 of my 3 services. The telephone bill had not been added yet. They reset my HD box from the office. (Still today the image on all my HD channels is blurry. Just compare my Cable HD to my aerial HD Antenna. My aerial HD antenna's picture is way clearer than HD picture provided by Charter. My HD cable picture is terrible. To get a tech to come look at the picture will cost me $$$. So I am stuck with a lousy picture.)

I was not entitled to the $150 gift certificate because I ordered by phone. (I was never told that by ordering by phone I would not get my gift certificate. I would not have ordered the 3 pack of services. To make up for the deception of not getting my $150 gift certificate, the Charter representative gave me a $10 bundle package for 1 year free.) Today I saw my auto bill for another charge on 11/28 for $297. You have to be kidding me. There must be a mistake. I already paid $169 on 10/28. Over $450 to change to Charter's 3-bundle. I must be crazy, something must be wrong.

I called into 1-888-charter today (11/30/08) and was told my bill was correct. How could my telephone bill be $297? I already paid for all the installation and fees for my cable and internet. This is outrageous. The first Charter representative I talked with had no clue how to explain why I had a $297 charge. The second representative (manager, Nicki) spoke so quietly I could barely understand her. From her I learned that the free $10 service I was given when I called in to ask about my gift card was not free at all. After that nothing is clear. Nicki removed my $10 "free" service and my $105 service is now $139.

How $139 goes into $450, there is no answer. How I paid $169 for cable and internet and I still owe $297 for telephone is a mystery to me? Why I did not get my $150 gift certificate? When they knew I could not order online? Why was I given free $10 upgrade to only have to pay for it? I really thought Charter was wanting to become a first class company. C'mon. $50 plus to change to $104 service. This disgusts me. I have been a long term satisfied customer. To play games like this is very sad. I hope you will respond in kind and explain to me my situation clearly. Otherwise you can keep your services.

Replies
Never Use Charter Communications!
By -

HALLSVILLE, TEXAS -- Okay, just typing about this company makes me want to hit something. To make the extremely long story as short as possible, here goes: I called to have basic cable and internet hooked up. The first appointment was on a Saturday 10-12. We were sitting at home, the phone rings and I didn't get to it before it hung up. I called RIGHT back and spoke with a rep who said she would make sure the tech knew we were home waiting. Well.... no one ever showed up. I called back and they said that no one could come back to my home because I didn't answer the phone and they had other jobs to do!

SO... I was mad, but I made another appt. No Sat. appts were available so my husband took off during the week. The tech comes, hooks up everything but doesn't check the cable inside to see if it worked. It didn't, so I called back again, and was told I would have to wait another 6 days for an appointment and it would have to be during the week. The rep said she would be sure to put the visit as an "in home visit" so the tech would come inside. SO.. hubby takes off work again, sits at home. No one called or knocked on the door during the appt time.

I called and the rep said the tech showed he had come to our house. HE NEVER CALLED ANYONE NOR DID HE KNOCK ON OUR DOOR OR COME INSIDE!! I was furious and told them that he needed to get back out to our home immediately. Needless to say, the tech couldn't be reached and no one came. My husband called to file a complaint with the manager so the rep filled out a form and said someone would call us within 24-48 hours... yeah right, no one has called to this day over 2 weeks later.

I made 1 more appt just because my husband would be at home one day last week waiting on Lowe's to come to our house, so I made the appointment during that time. The rep again said that she would tell the tech to call and come inside.

Hubby was at home, no call, no visit from Charter!! I called back and immediately asked to speak with a supervisor (who also don't know their heads from their rear ends) and was told that the tech had come at 2:00 PM (1 hour before scheduled) and he put the job as done!!!!! OH MY GOSH, IF I WEREN'T A CHRISTIAN WOMAN, I WOULD SAID SOME VERY UGLY THINGS! I told them this was unacceptable and that if the tech was not back at my home by 5:00 PM I was doing business elsewhere. The supervisor I spoke with had the nerve to tell me that because dispatch had other jobs to do, they MAY OR MAY NOT be able to come back out.

Needless to say, I immediately cancelled my service and as soon as I did, another supervisor called me and told me that the problem with the cable was that our main wire needed to be replaced!!! What the crap! So after all that and all the people I had talked to, it was that easy to tell me what was wrong. The tech didn't tell me, the other 20 reps I talked to didn't tell me, the 5 supervisors I talked to couldn't tell me. I have paid for an entire month of service I have not had! I WARN YOU, DON'T DO BUSINESS WITH THESE PEOPLE!!

Replies
Insulting Clown of a Customer Service Agent
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KNOXVILLE, TENNESSEE -- I called to inquire about seeing if Charter phone service was available in my area for my business. The agent could barely speak English and couldn't even answer if they had business service in my zip code or not. I kept telling him it was for a bar; a night club; a place of business where alcohol drinks were sold. He told me that yes, he could help. He said, "Call AA" and hung up!

Replies
Advertisement
Great Service When It Works, Bad Customer Service and Useless People.
By -

TOWN AND COUNTRY, MISSOURI -- I'd like to preface this by saying that I've never had an issue with Charter billing practices or their service. It's their customer service department I have issues with. I am also not saying this to get free service. I've tried resolving this on the phone, but all I get is apology after apology with clever wording each time to not accept responsibility. Tuesday, October 31st I called Charter and spoke to 'Chris' about setting up new service at my new home. I told him that I could take "this Friday" off (9/3/2010) of work to be there for the tech. The agreed upon time was between 1 pm & 3 pm. The order was for 2 HD DVRs and charter service with HBO, MAX, Showtime & TMC.

Done and done. No. Friday September 3rd comes & at 3:17 PM no Charter tech. I call and "Brian" (if I recall) tells me that "no, the appointment is for Friday September 10th." This is incorrect. I tell her. She apologizes and tells me that the only thing she can do to reschedule is to set the appointment for 9/22/10. I ask to speak with a supervisor & I'm put on hold for a bit. She comes back & tells me that she's trying to get a supervisor. Apologies again. She tells me that she'll have a supervisor call me "soon".

4:45 (approximately) and still no call. I call again. This time I get Yolanda & I tell her that I've been waiting for a call back from a supervisor and she somehow manages to get one for me. Apology after apology. But still, nothing is done for this. I'm told that it's a "miscommunication". This is no miscommunication. I know what was said between myself and Chris. I know what "this Friday" means. I have notes that I relayed from Chris as to exactly was expected of me. She even talks to "dispatch" but I already know that there's nothing that can or will be done.

On top of all this, I had to give up a vacation day for this. So I could be at my home to bring the TV out of storage, set up on the entertainment center. I am never going to get that vacation time back and it was a huge waste of my day. Again, I realize that I'm a drop in the bucket, but at $109.99 a month, this is over $1,300 per year. This is not a minor investment. Except for my mortgage, this is the single highest bill I'll have for this house. I mentioned to the person I was talking to that I should at the very least have a month of free service. I had a similar issue with Verizon a few months ago and this is what I got for my trouble. I was told, "That's against Charter's policy."

"Then why am I even talking to you?" Really? Is the time and effort on the part of your customers so insignificant that you're unwilling to sacrifice a little for customer retention? I work as a customer service representative for a medium sized technical company. My company SERVICES companies like Charter. If I said or did this to them, we'd lose the contract, no questions asked. I am not allowed to give my customers this kind of run around service. If someone asks for a supervisor, they are not made to wait like this. We're certainly not going to insult their intelligence by "apologizing for their inconvenience".

In my area there is one other television provider. At this point I am still weighing my options. I've been told that FiOS is coming into the area within a few years and that is an option as well. Fast forward to today. I got an automated message that a Charter tech was going to be at my home tomorrow between 1 & 3 and to have $109.99 ready for the technician. What? This was NEVER mentioned to me at any point by anyone.

When I called just a short time ago to confirm this, I was told by another "Brian" that "We apologize for the miss-communication." This is not miscommunication issue. It was never mentioned to me that this was required. A quick search on Google tells me that this isn't an isolated situation. I hope this counts as the first months fee. If not, I'm going to cancel. I never want to hear an empty apology again.

Replies
Charter destroys local Company, Bankruptcy feared. Charter claims protection under “Tariff”
By -

At the beginning of the second week of November, just about the same time the new phone book came out, I, the owner of a local "home-based"€ Carpet and Rug cleaning company started getting phone calls from customers wanting prices for cleaning everything from suede jackets to complete suits. Repeatedly, I informed the many callers that we did not provide the services they were requesting. For over a week the calls kept coming in for laundry service but none for carpet cleaning, one woman even came to my place of residence to drop off her garments for cleaning.

After more calls came in, I opened the new 2010 AT&T Real Yellow Pages phone book and was shocked to find that I was not listed where I had been for the last six years. However, after turning to the "cleaners"€ section, I found my company information. Completely confused and upset, I contacted Charter Business, my business phone provider, to sort out the problem. This would prove to be the worst nightmare any "home-based"€ business owner or any phone customer could be faced with.

For days I would contact Charter and spend valuable time on hold and/or repeatedly having to explain and re-explain the problem and the effect(s) the problem "WOULD HAVE"€ on my company's income (a loss of hundreds of dollars a day) to people that could not help me, to include being passed around from one representative to another (THE CORPORATE RUN-AROUND).

Finally, I started recording the treatment I was receiving from Charter Business and Charter Residential "Service Representatives"€. To make a long story short, AT&T proved Charter to be at fault and Charter told me to shop around for advertising for the year and e-mail the price to Charter so a form of credit could be arranged for me to advertise for the year. So did, in the end, Charter changed their minds and told me they would not and could not be held liable for "Any" damages to my business because they have a Tariff that states the following.

(This is what is printed on page one, please note that it says "residential") This tariff contains the description, regulations and rates for the furnishing of services and facilities for local and long distance telecommunications services provided by Charter Fiberlink-Tennessee, LLC to residential customers within the State of Tennessee.

3.1.4 Directory Errors and Omissions. The Telephone Company's liability for damages due to errors or omissions in directory listings will be limited to a credit of one month's basic service.
7. Business Services.
7.1. Rules and Regulations. The regulations specified herein are in addition to the rules contained throughout this Tariff and other tariffs of the Telephone Company. Failure on the part of customers to observe these rules and regulations of the Telephone Company automatically gives the Telephone Company the right to cancel the contract and discontinue the furnishing of service.

This was my "sole source" of advertising and it had worked and served me well for over six years and that a business practice of this type is what allows me to keep my prices competitively low. Now I am unsure of what I will do now with advertising prices so expensive. I have contacted the Tennessee Regulatory Authority and their stance is that they have never had to deal with this type of situation and they themselves don't even know why that disclaimer is in their Tariff, as Tariffs deal with pricing protection.

The recordings of my conversations with Charter representatives and the treatment I have received is nothing less than a primer-cap in a very big bomb of "GOIN' POSTAL". In short, because of a piece of paper written by a billion dollar industry, you too can be ruined with no course of action except eat it and smile.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Charter Communications Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 50 ratings and
146 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Charter Communications
12405 Powerscourt Drive
St. Louis, MO 63131
1-888-GetCharter (ph)
www.charter.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services