Preview Review

Next Review

Charter Communications Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Charter Triple Play - Bait & Switch - Don't fall for it!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GAINESVILLE, GEORGIA -- The Charter Triple Play was eye-catching. So since we were getting married, we thought we'd drop her current provider & make a “fresh start”… Boy, was that a mistake. I called Charter September 3rd to sign up for the Triple Play ($29.99 for TV, internet & home phone). (I still do not know why we needed a home phone, as we have cells & have not had a landline in years, but they said that was a part of the package, so we bit.) We had it installed October 2, as we were getting married, honeymooning, etc & did not want it till 10/2. I was quoted $107.94 for the first 12 months (the first month was to be $137.93 for installation, etc.).

I received my first bill October 9th in the amount of $301.41!!! I called immediately & asked what the heck was going on. After getting nowhere, even after talking with the supervisor Matt, I told them I wanted to cancel my services & pay up what I have used. I returned the equipment the next day, October 11th.

They have been sending me bills for $71.00 & I asked what that was for, they said that was for the telephone connection that was in place! I told them that I'd told them I wanted it discontinued when I called previously about cable & internet. They said I did not specifically say I wanted to disconnect the telephone, therefore the continuing charge! (We did not even need/want a phone line from the start, they said it was part of the ‘bundle'). In the meantime, Charter has sent my account to a collections agency to collect $68.40.

I am posting this to let all know that they are a scam & to beware of their schemes. I have since switched to AT&T, & while I believe their services to be high, I can afford $106 A month for internet & cable a little better that the bait & switch Charter pulled on me & yes, I am going to pay the $68.40, but I wanted to post this first & I will also be sending them a hard copy of this in the payment!

Replies
Advertisement
30-day Guarantee Lies - Customer Service & Installation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ROSWELL, GEORGIA -- Had a wonderful year of trouble free internet with Charter. I was on a 2-yr contract for $34.99. I got a sales call that I could save money by signing up for cable service and canceling my DirecTV. I figured it was risk-free due to the 30-day guarantee. Big mistake.

After a week, I got fed up with the low-quality menus and lackluster cable service and cancelled the TV service. At this point I was informed I would not be able to have my previous internet rate and would be stuck at $54.99. After complaining, I was able to at least get it for the current promotional rate of $39.99.

When they came out to disconnect the TV service my internet stopped working. Called and, of course, they wanted to send a tech out. I balked at having to stay home from work again because obviously they screwed up something at the street and not in my home. I also made a request to speak to customer service to complain. This is when I found out I had still been charged for a month of TV. I apparently had to ask to get the 30-day free that was advertised.

I complained about my internet being out and not getting the previous rate. So I asked for her to give me the previous rate or a month's credit to make up for it. She came back and said, "I can't do any of that, but I was able to get you a credit for the TV service". Very nice of you to give me what was advertised. She said she would escalate the request and I'd hear back the next day. One week later I've heard nothing.

I was also told I was being charged $29.99 for the service change and there was nothing she could do about that. I checked the website for the rules on the "30-day guarantee" and nowhere does it say I would not be charged this fee or not refunded the fee when I cancelled.

To top it off when I stayed home AGAIN to babysit their technician he informs me the previous installer was a lazy sack and just disconnected me entirely. Charter sucks. Incompetent techs, lying salesmen, and customer service reps that only care about Charter.

Replies
Worst Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MEDFORD, OREGON -- In Oct. of 2014 I received a bill for $160 dollars. When I called they stated the price had change and the only way I received the new deal was threatened to cancel the service. Today April of 2015 after many calls and hours of reviewing with customer service I was told that I still owed money back from October. Since then I have spoken to several supervisors that guaranteed that any back charges were fixed and I received the deal.

Each time I called they would not talk until I paid the amount up front and when I paid they said it would be discounted from my bill. The only person that had any kind of consoling words was the exit agent that could see the amount of times I called for the same reason.

There were claims of the original calls being dropped up to not seeing in the system anytime I called so there was no evidence of the transactions taking place. Anytime during the process I asked for documentation and they would not provide. I am sure the reason they did not provide emails or anything was they wanted to keep using the tactic of excuses and keep going as long as you will call back.

If you read this and it sounds similar to what you are going through cut your losses by canceling your account. I hope many people read this before they decide to take the offer to not cancel. It would have saved me many hours of time and money if I did.

Replies
LandLine I Was Given Was Terrible
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

ALPENA, MICHIGAN -- Charter needs to take their old phone numbers out of use for a period of time. The number I was given was just put right back in use so I was getting tons of calls. After calling Charter they gave me another number but the same thing happened. The people who helped me were very nice but the problem is horrible. I get calls that aren't for me all day long. Really sorry I got the phone. If they took the numbers out of service for a period of time it might help. So beware this could happen to you.

Replies
Advertisement
Charter Sucks
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RENO, NEVADA -- I get my Social Security benefit on the 3rd of the month. I went to the store and got a money order to pay my bill and put it in the mailbox the same day. It would have been picked up no later than the 4th. The bill was sent to Los Angeles, CA from Reno, NV and they claim it took 9 days to get there, which they claim made it late and charged me a late fee of $7.95. I find it hard to believe it took 9 days for the payment to get to Charter, I believe this is a scam to get more money out of people.

I have called them twice to try to get it taken off since 9 days is very unbelievable, and it's Christmas time so of course there is more mail in the system. Regardless I still do not believe it took 9 days to get to California from Nevada. I bundle my cable, internet, and telephone with them and pay $110 a month so now since they are being so stupid, I am going to get my service from either DirecTV or AT&T and they can lose my $110 a month. Serves them right for being so arrogant.

Replies
Charter Cable - Billing Payments
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEWPORT, OREGON -- Charter Cable are the most greedy company I have ever dealt with. For the two years I have been in my condo I have paid my bill every month. I am a widowed lady in a wheelchair. My bill runs about $46.00 month. I had a small check that was returned one time from my bank. I resent the amount to cover with a money order which they claim they never got. First shut off, called got connected with another payment.

Then this month, December I paid $50.00. With about a $43.00 balance, they shut me off again!!! Right before Christmas, real nice of them! They are a company worth millions! And they can't survive without my 43 dollars! Merry Xmas to you, CHEAP CHARTER CABLE!!!

Replies
Complaints of Numerous Calls
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

SAINT LOUIS, MISSOURI -- As a sales agent, I get frustrated when I call on existing and prospective customers who complain they've received several calls per day, "I spoke to someone last week and said I was not interested, ..." etc. and suspect some previous agents are improperly dispositioning the calls as "answering machines", etc. rather than "Refused - Not Interested" which takes just a few seconds to do.

Ultimately, some of them request their numbers be removed from the calling lists. Does someone at Charter have someone to audit the agents' calls to ensure all the Refused results are recorded as such, and NOT as "answering machines", "dead air", etc.??? I believe Charter customers believe far better treatment than this.

Resolution Update 05/23/2014:

Very few such complaints received over the last 6+ months.

Replies
Still waiting...
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SILVER SPRINGS, NEVADA -- On 9/26/12, I ordered Charter's Triple Play to be installed in a house I was renting. I was given an installation date of 11/6/12 and was not a happy camper. Called to complain and get an earlier installation date and was called back on 9/27/12 telling me a technician would arrive between 1:00 and 3:00 pm on 9/27/12. The tech arrived, but informed me that Charter would have to bury cables to hook up my service.

I was told that the order would be placed that day and that the cable would be buried the following week. I was told that I did not have to be home when the cable was buried, but I would have to be there when the service was hooked up.

On 10/5/12, I called Charter and told them that I could not occupy the house without communications set up in the house. I asked when the cable would be buried so that service could be hooked up. The representative was rather annoyed with my call.

I was told that the order was still open and Charter placed another order for the buried cable. I was told that I would know when the cable was buried when I saw painted lines on the ground and markers delineating the water/gas/electrical lines. My husband drives a truck for a living and I do not feel safe without communications hooked up to the house. On 10/9/12, I called Charter again with further promises that the cable would be buried soon. Once again, I felt as if I was nothing but an annoyance to the Charter personnel.

On 10/12/12, I called again and was told that the crew was scheduled to bury the cable on 10/2/12, but they did not show up. Yet another order was placed for the bury cable work to be done. I was told they would show up on 10/10/12 to bury the cable. They did not show up. I reiterated that I was still unable to live in the house until service was connected. Charter's customer service people leave a lot to be desired. They are rude and make no attempt to disguise their irritability.

On 10/19/12, I placed another call to Charter and was once again given the runaround. The representative told me that she would send another bury cable order and that I should receive a call on Saturday, 10/20/12 telling me that the cable was buried and to make an appointment to have service connected.

Today, 10/20/12, I have still not received a call from Charter. I have never been able to talk to the same person when I call Charter. I have no service and have no clue when I will have service. What is the problem? Charter is full of apologies, but that does not give me service. I feel that I have been patient long enough and I am tired of the empty apologies and promises that Charter gives me.

I would NOT recommend subscribing with Charter for any reason. They are unreliable and untrustworthy. I am at the end of my rope and would warn anyone and everyone to avoid Charter like the plague. The frustration and lack of service is beyond belief and you are better off dealing with other communication providers.

Replies
Advertisement
I Am Addressing This Huge Concern to George ** Director of Media
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

George, I will make this quick because I am tired of wasting my time with the Charter sales team. I have sought out several federal agencies in the consumer action handbook who have informed me that contacting you first for an agreeable resolution, and if not, they would be happy to step in and review the situation. We must discuss this issue of promising the public a price for a product, and not delivering. You are doing this to me and to many others. I am paying $29.99 (plus paid the $50 install fee) for internet service only. This price I am paying that you advertise is for phone service. I do not even have a land-line!

I should be paying the advertised (via fliers and website offers) $19.99! Your sales team is rude, incompetent and just do not care. At this point, and in my professional estimation, Charter has raised Verizon wireless to a good level. And I believe Verizon has the worst ability in corporate history of providing in any way a decent and positive customer service. The stats do not lie. When I called to inquire, your sales team refused to adjust this appropriately and were very pleasant to tell me they would be more than happy to cancel my service. But, no refunds. I guess that your sales person already got his/her commission. Now do not get to anxious, I want my service active. There is a lot to write about.

George, you really should be paying more attention to customer retention and establish a track record of keeping customers. I guess I am from the old school when the people I worked with cared as much as I did about the customers experience. I was in hospitality management for 20-years. I would have fired any employee who addressed my customers this way. It all makes sense. I had a lot of competition and if I could not treat the employees and customers properly, they would walk across the street seek out another hotel. I did not want my employees to form unions within my establishment. But in these times, maybe the option should be revisited.

I worked for 5-star hotels as DHR and for GM in labor relations. I am yet to find a decent wireless phone, internet, home phone or television company anywhere these days. Most all are manipulative, greedy, and not operative with their customers. We low line customers of yours, George, give you a company to operate. I received an e-mail this morning that a new and improved internet package is being offered at the bargain price of $29.99! George, your sales person informed me that I would not get this service even though I am already paying the erroneous $29.00.

I was told I can not take advantage of this offer because... because... because.... I am tired of your employees problems. There is always a reason why the customer cannot have what is rightfully offered at what they are paying! I want to know "how they can help me, not why they cannot! That is your problem George, not mine. Ok, I am finished here, for now. You were anxious to post a response to my compliment on 2/22/2012. Don't run away now! I will not just go away and it would be very unprofessional of you to throw me to anyone else.

Your 3 cents readers want to know. I want to know. It is time to stop treating your customers like we are ignorant or just right down stupid! I await our reply before I move ahead with my options. I am handicapped, and I know you do not want to approach any civil rights laws.

Company Response 3/14/2012:

Greetings again Penny,

We'd be more than happy to address your concerns. Please contact us at Umatter2Charter@chartercom.com with the name and address on your account so we can we can take a look at your billing concerns. Please be sure to put ”CharterGeorge – My3cents - PennyLayne” in the subject line so I can keep an eye out for it.

Thanks and I look forward to assisting!

George Vick
Senior Social Media Specialist – Charter
Umatter2Charter@chartercom.com
http://www.charter.com/UMatter2Charter

Replies
General
By -

Honestly, to those of you that have had problems with your Charter service, I'm sorry. I say that because I am one of the agents that you would possible speak with if you were having problems with your cable or internet. With that being said, I would like you to take into mind that I am only one person of about 17,000 agents that you could possibly speak to.

I AM from the US, and do speak English. I have read that many people have issues with people not speaking English but as those of you that have been generous enough to donate to the earthquake or tsunami victims throughout the world, please realize that those are our employees too! I really wish that each person that has called in with a complaint or issue to our company could work only one month in our daily life. I personally try to be as compassionate and empathetic to every caller I receive, yet understand that some people just don't want to hear it.

If you might be willing to read, this is a normal day of service for a Charter agent:
1. As much as I would love to be able to give you a time that an outage would may resolved, it's really just not possible. I, nor the Charter technicians, are able to prevent them. Granted, sometimes it is a maintenance issue that is being done in the area to repair services, but we cannot control weather-relates issues (such as 49 out of the 50 states getting snow this year,) nor are we able to stop an accident of a vehicle may crash into a fiber line that takes 48 hours to repair. No company is ever perfect but we strive our hardest to give you the best service possible.

  1. No one in life (or computer) is perfect. You may call in and speak with the automated system to ask questions about something and get to the incorrect department. Honestly, it happens. When you speak with an agent and tell them what you're calling in about, we're not intentionally trying to avoid you're issue, it's just that we're all trained in different area of specialty. If I'm not the correct agent for you, I'll get you to the right one as soon as possible with the least about of hassle as possible. No program or person is perfect but we do the best that we can.

  2. Please keep in mind that on an average day we take anywhere from 30-70 calls per 8 hour shift. During that day it's only one of two things that we're answering the call about; either your cable or your internet is not working. While answering your call there are only so many option that we have to help with. As I said earlier we are specifically trained per department, and as a call center cable and internet repair agent there is only so much that I'm able to help you with over the phone.

I'm aware that when we ask you to unplug a cable box or modem it's typically not convenient to get to (either being in an entertainment center or searching through many cables connected with your computer.) If there was a way to bypass this option, or to do it for you, we would. Unfortunately this just isn't possible. We only ask you to do this because it genuinely repairs about 80% of the calls that we receive.

  1. I completely understand that the automated system may be frustrating, yet yet many customers have their issues resolved while following the steps provided. Granted, in some circumstances an agent is required to resolve issues, the system is in place to over-all assist the customer calling in,

  2. While we do provide you, the customer, with cable and internet service, we cannot guarantee that the equipment you used to access those services are going to work. For example, if your television will not turn on, or if your computer has a virus (or the monitor won't power on) unfortunately we may not be able to resolve the problem for you.

The same standard applies for third-party routers. If you're able to get online to the internet directly connected to the standard modem, but not able to access your own wireless service in your house, it may be something that you would need to contact the manufacturer about for assistance. We will try to repair any issue you may have with the services and equipment that Charter has provided you with, but some things are just out of our hands.

  1. If your services aren't working we will truly try to fix the issue. No one person is expected to pay for a service that they're not getting, but please at least give us a chance to resolve the issue. If you are experiencing an outage or some equipment failure is causing it not to work, call us to let someone help repair the problem. Whether the resolution in sending a technician out or replacing the equipment we can do that for you. However when a person calls in saying that their services haven't been working for the last year, but there's no notes on your account alerting us to the problem, it's difficult to know the accuracy of the statements.

It's not the we don't believe you, only that as per any company there must be documentation. As inconvenient it may be for people to take time our of their busy days to call us to state their cable/internet has been intermittent, it's necessary to reciprocate the compensation you deserve.

In conclusion, we're not robots or droids that have been trained to give a scripted response to answer you. I personally, and the company as a whole strive to give the best customer service possible. Everyone has good and bad days as a whole we do our best. Please keep that in mind next time you call in. Thank you for reading and have a great day. ~~~ A Charter Call Center Agent ~~~

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Charter Communications Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 50 ratings and
146 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Charter Communications
12405 Powerscourt Drive
St. Louis, MO 63131
1-888-GetCharter (ph)
www.charter.com
Product/Services
Compare Phone/Mobile Services