Chuck E Cheese

1 reviews & complaints.

Consistently Fun!
Posted by on
CHARLESTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- My family and I started going to the Chuck E. Cheese on Sam Ritt when my oldest girl started school. We learned that CEC restaurant had a "Spirit Night" that donated a portion of the proceeds to the school...and they even gave the schools stickers worth tokens for being good at school. The area it is in isn't really the best, so I wasn't exactly expecting a good time. But the workers there really make the difference!

All the employees must enjoy working with children...they are all very patient and kind. The games are always in working order...I don't think I've seen a broken down machine there once! The kids even get to dance with Chucky sometimes...and when the little dance is over they throw fistfuls of tickets for the kids. The food can take a while sometimes...but I guess that's the problem with going during busy nights. You can always print out coupons for discounts and extra tokens/tickets from their website too so we always get a pretty good deal.

They also take their security seriously...the front door is watched by an employee and they use "invisible" ink to mark families coming in with unique numbers so nobody can attempt to leave with someone else's child. That way you can let your older children run around without worrying (although we always keep most of the tokens with us so she has to check in regularly).

We enjoyed the service there so much we even did a Birthday Party there...which went over really well! The staff seemed really excited about the event and did really well organizing all the children for the various events and activities. It was like having a party planner/organizer there to make everything easier.

Thank you employees at Sam Rittenberg's CEC! You make listening to several dozen children running around and screaming a bearable experience. :-)
     
Read 14 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

momsey on 2011-01-28:
Good review! I had my first Chuck E. Cheese experience a couple of weeks ago, my son was invited to a birthday party there. It was fun, my son loved it, and we have a bunch of tokens leftover so we'll have to go back soon.

I didn't know what the deal with the invisible ink was, but that's interesting that you say families are stamped with the same number so someone can't walk out with someone else's kid.
PepperElf on 2011-01-28:
It's not really invisible. It's UV ink.

that way you cannot actually see the number you're stamped with yourself. But they can sweep your hand with a UV lamp to read the stamp.
momsey on 2011-01-28:
Well, it's invisible to me.
Ytropious on 2011-01-28:
Good review! I used to work for CEC wayyyyy back when. I did everything except fix games. I mostly hosted parties. Been meaning to write a guide on the topic for this site.

Anyway as for the "kid check" station...a fair amount of time the ink on parent/kids hand gets smudged, and it's just a blob. As long as the kid isn't crying or looks scared with the adult leaving in this case we let it go. If the numbers don't match then we have an issue. I don't recall that happening ever on my watch though.
FlShopper on 2011-01-28:
Good review. Personally, I'm glad to be done with the whole CEC experience. The place smelled like stinky feet and gave me a headache...but my kids loved it. But it's great that you had such a positive experience there.
Skye on 2011-01-28:
Good review. I've always had great experiences at Chucke Cheese. Fun place for the kids.
Slimjim on 2011-01-28:
Our kids love it too, but man, for a place that specializes in pizza, one would think they could make a half decent one. Consistently one of the cheapest cardboard tasting pie I've ever had.
momsey on 2011-01-28:
I actually didn't have the pizza when we were there. It looked good, but my husband was checking out the prices and said it was outrageous. My son was there for a party, and only the kids got pizza (lame!). Parents got a lame sandwich tray.
Anonymous on 2011-01-28:
I remember I went there once for a friends birthday party back in the day that place rocked lol.
Ytropious on 2011-01-28:
I loved the pizza. And the chicken fingers. And the french fries...I loved all the food! I didn't even get it free, we still had to pay for it. Maybe it's because we would make off the menu pies. Hubs and I created a ranch sauce pizza with chicken and broccoli, and stuffed crust pizzas. Good times.
Anonymous on 2011-01-28:
Wasn't that just last week wally? I prefer Peter Piper. The pizza is better
Anonymous on 2011-01-28:
I used to love going to peter piper and this other place that shut down called pistol pete's pizza good stuff.
PepperElf on 2011-01-28:
"Well, it's invisible to me. "
well that's because you didn't upgrade to UV eyeballs! :-)

I haven't been to CEC in decades. It was fun though.

Though last night my bf showed me a video he saw at one of his message boards... of people starting a fight there. It was somewhat... funny yet sad...
Ytropious on 2011-01-28:
Pep, unfortunately fights at CEC are fairly common. A party I was hosting one night broke out into one. Cops were called, tables were turned over, the entire show room was trashed with food, and someone's weave was pulled out. My CEC wasn't even in a "bad" neighborhood. These fights happen at every CEC! I have photos of my parties fight aftermath, but I'm not sure I'm going to share them...
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >