Preview Review

Next Review

Circuit City Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Warranty Rip Off
By -

YORK, PENNSYLVANIA -- I am a fifteen year old girl. My parents got me a laptop computer from Circuit City for my Confirmation in March of 2006. Along with the purchase of the laptop, my parents also bought a three year warranty that extended onto the one year manufacture warranty. Shortly after receiving laptop, I had begun to experience troubles with it. Acer did a diligent job as to fixing it except for there was several scratches on the screen when returned. These scratches were not that bad so we didn't bother with following up on it.

Later on, my one year warranty with them expired and my two year warranty with Circuit City took into effect. Earlier this year, I started to notice that my laptop was beginning to overheat. It eventually got so bad, that the computer would shut down so that the CPU chip wouldn't be destroyed. My parents and I called Circuit City to have them take a look at it. My mother was on the phone with them for several hours before anybody would even agree to allow us to send it in.

Despite our efforts, we received the laptop three or so weeks later with a letter saying that they are refusing to fix it because there were scratches on the screen, and something was broken where the charger is supposed to be plugged in. This upset us for several different reasons. First of all, the scratches on the screen would have had nothing to do with the fact that the computer was overheating. It was irrelevant. Second, when we sent it in, nothing was broken other than the overheating. The battery and the charger were working perfectly fine. That problem somehow occurred while the computer was in their possession.

This had greatly upset my parents and me. They spent around $1000 on the laptop and the warranty but Circuit City was refusing to do anything about it. Unsure of what to do, my dad and I went into our local Circuit City to see if somebody could possibly help us. One of the workers said that they would themselves and get back to us in a few days.

When they did, we were once again told that it is our fault for all of those problems and they won't fix anything until we get the scratches and the plug repaired. They also told us that we should have bought accident insurance, which we were never offered to begin with. Then again, there was no accident. The fan in the computer is being faulty and causing it to overheat so much that it just shuts off.

Because of all of this, I now do not have a laptop and my parents basically wasted over $1000 plus hours of their time. With the holidays coming up, I know that many children will be asking their parents for electronics, maybe even laptops, and I would like to warn everybody about what had happened to us. It is devastating that such a well-known company would treat some of their customers like that. We used to always buy our electronics from Circuit City but we will no longer be going back.

Fraud And The Worst Customer Service Ever!
By -

CALUMET CITY, ILLINOIS -- I have been Circuit City customer for many years and never had to return anything before, but today I was trying to return the product and had the worst experience in my life and the first complaint I had to write and call about the store's customer service. I purchased a Portable DVD player online Order# **, got a great deal, but made a mistake not researching the product before my purchase. The sound of the unit was horrible - basically you couldn't hear much, especially in the car and even with Bose headphones. Your website has several customer reviews that say the same thing.

So for that reason, I went to Circuit City in Calumet City, IL to return the product and it took me almost 2 hours (12:15 pm-2:05 pm) to do so due to the poor customer service provided by a manager **. She explained that there is 15% restocking fee, which really surprised me since the unit was defective and not working properly. I agreed to exchange to another DVD player (Philips 10.2" Portable DVD Player), but the store price was $259.99. I checked the price online right away and it was on sale for $229.99, however Ms. ** said that she cannot match online prices. I admit I was not happy and agitated about that.

Furthermore, Ms. ** said that there was nothing she can do and proceeded to make the circus out of the whole situation. She turned on the unit that I was returning, and walked away without a saying a word where she was going. I had to wait half an hour before she returned, explaining she was with another customer; even I was already there for at least an hour, with my six year old who was patiently waiting. After she came back, she said that there was nothing wrong with the sound, but other customer had to agreed with me, that she couldn't hear anything either. Ms. ** implied that I might have a hearing problem, which was totally out of line.

After she took the DVD player and charged me 15% restocking fee, she proceeded wishing me "Merry Christmas and Have a Nice day" in the very very loud voice and the snippy attitude. The whole situation was not very pleasant and I'm sure other customers around me didn't appreciate that either. She also made sure that she had someone to back her up with her story. She looked at another employee and making it loud and clear to her, that she was with another customer. I'm sure the poor girl has no choice but to “comply” with her manager.

I hope, I can get my 15% restocking fee, but, if it's too complicated, I don't think I would go broke over it. Even if I get a refund, I don't think myself, or any of my family members will be shopping at the Circuit City stores anymore. I just cannot believe that you can go shopping and get humiliated like that, not to mention during the holiday season.

Protection Plan Rip-off Circuit City
By -

OHIO -- Protection Plan Rip-off on my Sony 60" SXRD - Considering buying that expensive advantage protection plan? I bought one for $549.99 for my Sony SXRD 60" television 6 months ago and let me tell you what has happened so far. Worth the read as I'm sure they will dismiss the next person (could be you) the same way!

For 3 months the set worked perfectly, then would not turn on one day - called the 888-333-2333 # for the protection plan and 2 days later a local repair shop called to set up an appointment to come fix it - and they did fix it on the spot. Installed a new fan within about 1 hour and everything was running great again. At this point I was pretty glad I shelled out that extra $549 + tax for the warranty as this was handled quickly and smoothly.

4 weeks later same problem occurred. This time it will have to go into the shop for further diagnostic testing. Took quite a bit longer this time; from the time I called the number to the time I had a working set back in my house it was 2 and a half weeks. This time they replaced that same fan again with a few other parts as well.

3 weeks later and the same problem. Now I'm looking in my $549.99 advantage plan handbook for the number once again and I see no-lemon-guarantee - replacement with 3rd failure. I sure feel like I have a "lemon" with this set so once again I call the number - this time to report that it is the 3rd failure (within 3 months!) and I would like it replaced just like the Protection Plan states they will honor upon the 3rd failure. The phone rep puts in the request for the replacement and says I should be getting a phone call within 2 days...

I do eventually get a call from them and the woman on the phone states that this does not qualify for replacement as it has only been repaired one time. I tell her this is inaccurate - it has been fixed twice by the same shop and that I have my documentation from both repairs to prove it. She says she will call the repair shop to verify and then call me back. I never get a call back.

The next day I call the repair shop myself to see if they were contacted by Circuit City about the matter and they confirm that someone called them to verify both repairs which they did verify for them. After this phone call I think everything is taken care of and wait one more day for the woman to call me back like she said. Still no phone call...

Nearly a week later from that initial phone call to report the 3rd failure I decide it will be necessary to call the 888-233-3333 number again to see exactly what is going on. The phone rep reads me word for word the notes on their screen and informs me that the case was declined and closed earlier that morning as there were not 2 repairs made (according to their database). She says I will need to talk to the person in charge of the case to find out the reason why and gives me an 800 number with the woman's extension.

At this point I'm starting to get very upset - 6 months into a $549.99 warranty that the sales person was very insistent that I buy. I take a deep breath and dial the 800 number and enter her extension. Voice Mail - Figures. I leave a message and my number. No call back. The following day I call again and leave 2 more messages. No return call. The next day I call once more and leave a message stating the urgency to at least have the courtesy to return my calls. No response, no call back, nothing after 3 days of leaving messages.

Now I am not sure what to do with a 6 month old, broken $3,200 set and the $549.99 warranty purchased with it. So I reluctantly call the store where I bought it from - knowing very well they will just try to refer me to the 888-233-3333 number for the Protection Plan. They re-submit a replacement request and still no answer back from them. Just wanted to share my experience with the "Protection Plan" from Circuit City so you will know what to expect if you ever have to use it.

Rebate Woes-Buyer Beware
By -

CEDAR HILL, TEXAS -- While Christmas shopping at Circuit City, I observed a display sign that stated Logitech Webcam Deluxe (normally $79.99) was on sale for $9.99 each. What a bargain! I scooped up 3 for gifts and headed for the cash register. At the check-out, the total was over $180! I asked for the manager and pointed out the display sign that clearly said nothing about rebate. The manager stood firm and I would have to pay the actual sale price of $59.99 and get the rebate. After thinking it over, I decided to buy the webcams anyway since it would still be a bargain. I went back to the register and purchased 3 webcams.

Additionally, I questioned the representative about limits to the rebate since I was getting 3. She called over the customer service manager to answer my question. The manager assured me I could get a rebate on all 3, but would need separate receipts, so she refunded my card and charged each webcam separately. I completed the rebates and immediately sent them in with everything needed. Last week I found one rebate was being processed, but the others were showing invalid. I called the rebate line and was told there was a limit of 1 per product type.

After I told the representative what I was told at the store, he spoke to his supervisor (and since I was a valued customer), agreed to pay the other two rebates. I specifically asked him if they were refunding all 3 webcams and I was told yes. Well, OK. Today I receive an email that only 2 rebates are in process. I called the rebate line again and I'm told there are only 2 rebates and I should consider myself lucky because the 2nd one was actually invalid due to the product limit. And by the way, they have no record of the 3rd rebate request. I pointed out the name of the person I spoke with last week and that he assured me I would receive 3 rebates.

The representative stated she only showed 2 requests and suggested I call Circuit City to call in my 3rd rebate. I suggested she transfer me to the person I spoke with last week since he recognized I had 3 rebates last week. I was told, they are not allowed to transfer callers. I asked for a supervisor and after holding 20 minutes, received the same lame responses from him. I feel Circuit City purposely misled me by offering a phony sale. Why would any business leave out important information such as a rebate and product limits from a sale display sign? It should have read "$9.99 after rebate, Limit-one rebate per product type".

There is a big difference between tax on $180 and $30.00 as well. What's worse, I went out of my way to check on limitations and was given misinformation. Who is going to stand at a check out and read that 2 foot long receipt with the rebate wherefore's and whereas'? Now it will be my word against a receipt that states, in writing, rebate product limits. I would recommend using a different store altogether for your electronic needs, but if you chose to shop at Circuit City, buyer beware of sales. The bargain displayed might not be as good as you thought.

Very Unfair Customer Service, Resolution
By -

PHOENIX / TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I had to post this online. I've never done this before but I want to share with the world how bad this company really is. I purchased a laptop back in January not an overly expensive one around $740. I had issues with it when I returned home with it, the display would not come on. I called and they offered a 'free exchange'. I got home with that one, around 3 days later the laptop failed to come on for me. I checked everything, I returned it, they looked it over and said it was a faulty motherboard, again they exchanged it. They offered me yet another free exchange for the same model although it was an open box, it was a returned item, the same day.

I said no and asked my other options, 'you can upgrade by paying the difference'. OK well if that's my only option, sure I can do that (they were friendly, and I figured you get what you pay for). Not the case, several months pass, and my new 9339us laptop fails, the HDD went out, the integrated webcam stopped working (I never knew it was failing until I tried to conference with family back home in the United Kingdom) and the battery lasted about 4 minutes on a full charge, when I fist got this upgrade it lasted about 2.5 hrs.

I called CC and had a total call time since last weds of 8 hours (mostly hold time), then they told me to fax my receipts in, I waited a further 2 days and they told me the laptop was a recall from HP back in June. I was shocked, neither company contacted its buyers. They offered me yet another FREE EXCHANGE although it wasn't free, they liquidized all the Circuit City stores in the Phoenix Metro Valley about 2 weeks ago and my closest store from my house was Tucson (140 miles) or Yuma (160 miles). I agreed to drive down to Tucson where I did the exchange for an equal machine.

6 hours $50 gas later I returned home and found that the wireless and Ethernet card didn't work. I contacted HP and they told me this model was manufactured back in Feb 2007 and was a recalled machine. They said it was CC that had to fix the issue as this machine was 190 days out of warranty anyhow. (How if it was purchased in Jan?), also I come to find the system is a complete downgrade, slower processor, shared ram on the video card and half the memory and HDD space.

I spoke to CC customer care and they put me onto a supervisor her name was Tocorro. She said she is the only supervisor in escalated called department and told me the only resolution was to drive to Tucson again and get an exchange for the same machine (which they no longer carry, it was a recall) or one of lesser value, or I can pay for an upgrade OR get a credit for the one I currently have (I found this one was priced on CC website in the past for $600, that's not what I originally paid). I explained to her that driving 12 hours and spending $100 in gas money wasn't fair because their company had to close every store (20 I believe) in the valley where I live.

I said "you should honor the upgrade or exchange for matching specs on my machine." She said "exchange for the same model, we don't carry it anymore or get one that's worth less money or get your money back as a 'Store Credit'" This is beyond me. Store credit, it's 6 hours away and I don't shop online, when I want something I like to go pick it up.

So because of the mishap of them downgrading me, they offer me the downgraded value in refund by way of 'store credit' and of course $100 in gas, for me to be able to receive that so make my first purchase of $740 now become a $500 credit for fuel charge to myself and a downgraded system. I asked to speak to someone above her and she said 'she is the end of the line in corporate'. Where do I go now?

Circuit City Has The Worst Customer Service Ever!
By -

After reading other reviews for Circuit City on this site I know I'm screwed, they will never do what is right. On August 28, 2008 I finally received the $150.00 in rewards points certificates that I had been waiting 6 weeks for. I went to the South Oklahoma City store (I-240) to purchase the Panasonic camera that we had researched and decided on. Although it was in stock 6 weeks earlier when we ordered our rewards certificates, it was now only available at Circuit

We went home, got on the site and saw that the silver model we wanted was out of stock and had been discontinued. It was still advertised at a special price of $215.00. The black model had also been discontinued but was still available, however the price for it was $265.00. Exact same camera, different color $50.00 more.

I checked competitors sites and most had both in stock with no difference in price. Panasonic and Circuit City's sites showed the same suggested retail for both cameras. I was now irritated that I would have to spend $50.00 more for the purchase, but I noticed that there was a free $100.00 printer included after mail in rebate. This helped to calm me as we needed a printer anyway. We decided to order the camera and printer. I decided to call in the order to the 800 number as I normally get better service ordering from a "human".

I called, began placing the order, and when we got to the payment portion of the call I told the "helpful, friendly product advisor" that I had rewards certificates to redeem. He must have been new, or just didn't want to mess with them because he told me that I could only redeem those in-store or on Circuit myself. Again, I'm miffed. This is becoming an all day event. I hung up, went back to the website and began placing my order.

When I completed the order I realized that I had left the printer off. I immediately (within 5 minutes) called the 800 number again and explained what had happened. The customer service person apologized, told me that the "friendly, helpful..." person should have placed my order, that rewards certificates can in fact be redeemed by phone. However, "the system" would not allow her to correct the problem.

Since the rewards certificates are "one-time" use only, if she cancelled the order I placed and placed a new order with the printer on it I would lose my $150.00. So my options were 1). To not receive the free printer that was advertised with my camera and supposedly a $100.00 value or 2). Lose my $150.00 in rewards certificates.

All of this would not have happened if the "friendly, helpful..." person would have placed the order for me as he should have done. The customer service department is a joke. They blame everything on "the system" and it doesn't matter that it was their phone representative that caused the problem in the first place. I wish that I had read the reviews on Circuit City or checked with the BBB before doing business with them. I have already cut up their credit card and I will never again buy anything, not even a battery from them.

Resolution Update 09/03/2008:

Wow, I on't beleive it! A week later and my problem is resolved. I finally resorted to contacting my local store (I-240) and spoke with Ashley in customer service. I explained my problem to her only once and she understood! Not only did she understand what was wrong, she knew how to fix it. She took my number, said she would call me back and to my amazement she did! Within about 5 minutes! She said everything was taken care of, all I would need to do would be to come in the store and pay for the printer and pick it up. When I arrived there was no wait, no hassle, no rude employees. She had pulled up my original on-line order, added the printer, printed me a receipt which had both the camera and printer on it and had my rebate form ready for me! Her manager Marty was also there and was friendly and helpful. On top of fixing my existing problem, I had found a Sears ad for the same camera for $20.00 less, Marty credited 110% of the difference back to my card. After all I had went through with the 800 number I was amazed at how easy the fix was in the store and how nice the people were that I dealt with. I didn't realize that they would be so eager to help with a problem from an on-line purchase. CC should have these two employees conducting training classes on how to treat customers. They may have saved one here.

Extended Warranty Is a Joke
By -

37886, TENNESSEE -- I have been trying to get my HP slimline fixed since May 3,2008. It is now Aug. 12, 2008 and I still do not have a computer. I took the computer to a local Circuit City store like I was told. They said they would call when it was fixed, no call, so I called 2 weeks later. It was fixed, come and pick it up. I get home plug it in and nothing. So, I call the 1-888 number and told to never take it to the store always call them. We troubleshoot and nothing. Someone will be calling and set up a time for a tech. to come to my house. I wait for 2 more weeks no one calls.

I call again, someone will call tomorrow. Again no call, I call & finally get someone to my house and they "fix it". It works 2 days and dies again. I call same ordeal and finally about a month later, a tech. shows up replaces motherboard and power supply, but leaves my house with it not connecting to the internet under my extreme protest. It hooked to the internet before. I was told my modem was bad. I bought a new modem, but still unable to hook to the internet. Call again, I'm told we're going to ship you a "new" computer and it will arrive in 7-10 business days.

3 weeks later I'm calling once again! Finally someone tells me that computer is on back order, but we will send you a computer with 3mb of memory, but it will cost you $20. I say no, and he says they will charge it to the warranty company. Mid July I receive the computer and pull it out of the box and notice 9 deep scratches down the side. I can deal with that and I plug it in. Turn the computer on and it takes forever to load a page. I try everything and it's still slower than Christmas.

I call once again!!! Then I'm told that it is actually 1mb and it will be slow until I bring it to the store and pay to have them upgrade it. Unacceptable!!! I enlist my father to help because maybe they will listen to a man better than a woman.

I'm willing to try anything. No luck. He is still waiting for a phone call from a supervisor he talked with 3 weeks ago. I called again today and was told to take it to the store, after I was told not to and they would fix it and if they could not fix it they would ship it off and repair it. It is just a coincidence that if it is shipped off it could take 2-3 weeks to repair it and my "no-hassle" warranty runs out in 3 weeks. I also find out that one of the 4 supervisors I spoke with said I had agreed with the offer of gift card towards a purchase of a new computer from Circuit City. No agreement was ever made and there is no way I will ever step foot in a Circuit City store again!

Do Not Buy Anything At Circuit City
By -

TIGARD, OREGON -- This complaint is so similar to the one titled "My Big Purchase Experience With Circuit City - Warranty and Product/Service Quality" that I thought I had already made my post. After reading this, I hope you think twice before buying anything from Circuit City.

We purchased a 52" Sharp Aquos TV from the Tigard, OR Circuit City store at the end of January. We took the TV home, set it up and turned it on, only to find that there was no image, but instead were several cracks radiating from a central point. We packed the TV back up and took it back to the store to exchange that very same day.

When we get there, service manager Andrew **, says he will take a look at it, but adds that if it has point of impact damage, it basically isn't their fault. Once his people unpack, set up the TV and turn it on, Andrew says the damage has point of impact damage. There are absolutely no marks on the screen, but he says it is point of impact damage; he is not saying that we did it, but he can't or won't take it back. To get us out of the store, he tells us that he will call the corporate offices in the morning, see what they say and get right back to us.

Do you think we heard from him the next day or anyone else from Circuit City? No. We tried to call Andrew at Circuit City that same day, but are told that he has left. We ask for the General Manager and are told that Travis is busy and will have to call us back. Did either call us back? No, in fact, to date, we have not heard from one person at Circuit City. We registered a complaint with the Circuit City Customer Service hotline and the BBB. The next day, I register a dispute with American Express.

After 4 1/2 months, American Express says that Circuit City refuses to issue the credit and that AE's contractual agreement with Circuit City does not allow AE to issue a credit. Now, here's the good part. Circuit City's Chargeback department refuses the credit for the following reasons:

"The customer did not request that Circuit City deliver, nor install, the TV. The customer left the Circuit City store with the TV that was contained in the factory sealed box." AND "The store manager, spoke to the customer approximately two weeks after the purchase was made (no previous contact was made by the customer). The customer was trying to return the TV at that time, stating that it was damaged. The manager noted significant damage to the TV that was consistent with dropping or falling. (Why would they customer wait two weeks to report such significant damage?)

The type of damage noted would have been noticed immediately upon physically lifting the TV in the factory sealed box. There was no report by the store, or the customer, that would indicate there was a problem with box containing the TV when the customer left the store with it."

Not only does Circuit City not abide by their Return Guarantee printed on the receipt (says nothing about warranty being void if product is not delivered and set-up by Circuit City), but they fabricated lies to justify their position. I repeat, we tried to return this TV the very same day that it was purchased, and NO ONE from Circuit City, including a Nathan **, has ever tried to contact us regarding this situation. In addition, I wrote a customer complaint letter to Circuit City president, Philip Schoonover, in April and have yet to receive a reply.

As I said before, this incident is almost identical to the "My Big Purchase Experience With Circuit City - Warranty and Product/Service Quality" post. It is now clear that it is Circuit City's policy, from the top down, to get your money any way that they can, to not stand by their return guarantee policy and that they are training their personnel to follow this policy. This is the slimiest business that I have ever purchased something from. Do yourself a favor and take your business elsewhere.

My Missing Laptop
By -

MIDLOTHIAN, VIRGINIA -- On May 8, 2008 I took my lovely HP 2310 into the Circuit City in Midlothian VA as we had been having major issues with it and it was still within the 1 yr warranty. I spoke with the guys at Firedog desk and they told me to leave it with them and they would send it to HP, so I gave them all pertinent info and left the store with my receipt. 2 weeks later, no word... I try to call and speak with the most rude Service Desk rep named Monique who has NO phone etiquette and would put me on hold then when I wouldn't hang up she would terminate my call. I live 1 hour from the store so finally after 3 weeks of no answers I go to store, still no answer.

I go back June 7th to be told yes my laptop is there. HURRAY... but wait I have to speak to a manager to get it??? WTH? So I wait, for 1 hr before John ** comes strolling along to tell me that I had exchanged my laptop at VaCenter Commons store??? Once again WTH as I have not been to VCC in over 10 years, always shop Midlothian. After 30 minutes of arguing with me and me telling him he better have proof I picked up this pc he says "Well actually it is up in my office (Why didn't he say this to begin with. Why the misrepresentation.)."

He brings PC down, it is filthy full of smudges, has a tag on it, but is not in a box. I tell him I need to see service order showing what work was done, he says HP does not do this. (BS as I asked HP and they do) Anyway laptop still not working, so I leave it once again on June 8th... I have been away on business, come back still no messages so I call to see if my laptop is finally ready and guess what? It is missing AGAIN and everyone has a different story to tell.

This time I talk to Mike the manager and he gives me the whole bit of pc being picked up in May at VCC, I say we already went through this on June 7th. If laptop exchanged at VCC in May how did you have it in store on June 7th and how did you send it out again. Of course no answers.

Am I upset? Yes I am as I have been 2 months now almost getting the runaround and my pc is MIA. HP does not have it, nor have they EVER had it. What does it take to get some answers from these people as this is ridiculous! The associates at this store are beyond rude. You can not get assistance via phone, then when you go to store you have to wait an hr to get a manager's response, then you are lied to by management even. This same Monique at SD was rude to my son when he tried to buy a Wii game. They showed 2 in system but she refused to go to the back to even look for them.

I have always made my electronics purchases at CC, in fact just bought a 52" Plasma TV from them. As of this point they will no longer be getting my business, I am done and I am sending my credit card back to them. In this day and age of high prices there has to be something that makes a difference and that something is CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SATISFACTION and I have neither been served nor satisfied. It does not good to send an email to corporate either as you get the same non-answers.

Shame on CC and let the buyer beware, because there is no service after the sale. My laptop is still missing and no one has the answers, except for me to wait. Well, I have waited since May 8th. How much more time do they need???

My Big Purchase Experience With Circuit City
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- 06-20-2008 Circuit City Dispute - Purchased a 73” Mitsubishi DLP Widescreen Television from Circuit City (400 N. Alafaya Trail, Orlando FL, 32828 407-2739621) at 6:57PM on July 19th. The box was loaded onto a pickup truck by store employees and a few of our friends. The television was delivered to my residence. My daughter and I opened the television box by removing the packing straps. We lifted the box clear of the television and started to clear away the packing wrap on the television.

I noticed that the right side of the television screen was bowed out, protruding past the edge of the television. There was a good size gap that one could see what appeared to be mirrors laying loose on the bottom of the set. I took two pictures of the gap in the television screen and my daughter took a video with her telephone of the four sides of the television. It can be seen from the video that the base of the television was still wrapped on all sides.

We packed up the television and I tried to call Circuit City to tell them the television was damaged but the store was closed. It was decided that we would return the television first thing next morning. I rented a pickup truck and we loaded and delivered the television back to the Circuit City Store. The television was unloaded by one of the store employees and I told him that I needed to return the television because it was broken. I went to the Customer Service desk and both the person behind the counter and myself walked over to the corner of the store where the television was left.

Two of the store attendants started to open the television box by opening from the top instead of just lifting the box off of the television. When the box is removed another store employee pushes in the protruding screen back into the frame. No one has spoken to me. I ask what is the delay and they say that they have to wait for “that man.”

The man comes to the box and says nothing to me. He looks at the box and then starts to examine in minute detail the television. I show him where the screen was protruded and one of the other store employees points out where it appears that there is something pressing against the screen from the inside. The Man moves the packing material from around the lower corner of the television and then walks away. He is talking on the telephone in the distance.

The Man eventually returns and apologizes and introduces himself as the store manager and that he had spoken with the district manager. He said since there is not apparent damage to the carton and that there is damage to the set itself in the two locations that Circuit City would not exchange or refund the cost of the television. I was very upset. The television costs 3000.00. I reiterated to him that the only thing that we did was cut away the straps, lift off the box, clear away the packing and stopped when we saw that the television screen was protruding. He stated that the mirrors were broken and the corner of the television was broken as well.

Since there was no damage to the box and that they would not have given us a broken television that Circuit City would not pay refund or do exchange. I ask to speak with someone higher and he said that he has already conferred with the Regional Director. I speak with the Regional Director. The regional director just parrots the Store Manager's decision that no refund or replacement since it cannot be proven that the damage to the television occurred in Circuit City.

I again told him that all we did was open the box and discovered the damage. We put the box back on the television and delivered it to Circuit City. I told him I was expecting him to stand behind their guarantee and their product. I did not do anything here but open a box and that I was being stuck for 3000. He said that he was sticking by the guarantee and that the guarantee says in its original condition. I told him that “You sold it to me broken and I am returning it to you as I received it.”

He was unconcerned and that his decision was final. I told the store manager that I was going to stop the credit card because I was not going to be taken advantage of and stuck for a television that is broken that I did not break. He said I should go through the Manufacturer-Mitsubishi. He said that is my right if I wanted to contact the credit card company. He also gave me a telephone number for Corporate. I called corporate and spoke with gentlemen… I told him the entire story.

He said he would talk to the store management and would be right back. After being on hold an inordinate amount of time he came back and said that there was going to be no resolution and basically repeated what the Store Manager and Regional Manager said about no refund, no exchange. I told the store manager that it was not right that we were being stuck for the $3000 and that there was not going to be a refund. He said that if they took the television back that they would have to write off the $3000 and it was not in their budget.

Note: I do not understand the issue of the condition of the box. If the box is not damaged then Circuit City does not cover the television. If the box is damaged—does that mean they would cover the damage or would they infer that the damage on the box was after the Television left the store and therefore would not cover the damage to the television -- damage to box = no coverage; no damage to box = no coverage. I am at a loss.

Now what you have is my wife, daughter and me…alone…near an unpacked and broken television within Circuit City while all the employees went about doing their business. Circuit City was done with us. The implication is that we unpacked the television, broke the television, put the television back in the box, and then attempted to return a broken television. The reality is that we purchased a television in good faith, brought it home, discovered the damage, documented the damage, repacked the television, brought the television back for a refund/exchange and were denied and left felt as if we were crooks or felons.

I called the Bank of America Credit Card Company billing disputes. I related the story of the television, our treatment, the refusal of Circuit City to refund/replace, and implication that we were at fault. The BOA advised me to take the television back to the house, document everything that happened in a letter to BOA, and send letter to BOA in Wilmington Delaware.

She was incredulous on how poorly the Circuit City staff and employees were handling this situation. She asked me if we had purchased any warranty with the television. I told her we had paid an additional $289 for an Advantage Warranty. The BOA representative said to go home and call the warranty people and document what they said about the television.

I called the warranty people for the Advantage warranty. I spoke with a gentleman. I related the entire story of the television and my efforts at getting a replacement. He said that the warranty that I had was for service and repair and not for the type damages that I had discovered. He could not believe that they inspected the boxes and did not give my money/replacement. He wanted to know what the inspection of the box was all about that they should have just replaced the television because it was broken. He offered to work through Circuit City Corporate to see if he could get a resolution.

After a long time on hold, I was turned over to a woman named who said the resolution to my issue was that she “could not overturn the decision of the Store Manager or Regional Manager.” I told her my story and she said that she understood but if I felt the television was defective that I should work it through Mitsubishi.

I called Mitsubishi and spoke with customer service. I told her the entire story about buying the television, partially unpacking the television, noting the damage, returning the television to Circuit City, Circuit City's unresponsiveness and shoddy treatment. She told me to speak with Mitsubishi Warranty to see what they could do if anything about the situation.

I called Warranty. I told the Warranty Rep the entire story and she said she would open a case and asked for particular damages that I could see on the television and particulars as to Model, Serial, and date of purchase information. She put me in touch with the local service representative for Mitsubishi, a local Electronic Store. I called store and told her my story and arranged for her to send a technician to examine the television on Monday afternoon (June 23).

I am very disappointed with the shoddy treatment of Circuit City and their treatment of me, my family, and my purchase. This was a major purchase for us and now we are out three thousand dollars with limited recourse with Circuit City. They have washed their hands. I have filed with the BBB, filed a complaint with the BOA CC, and shall continue to fight for a refund or replacement. The entire situations is shameless.

Top of Page | Next Page >

Circuit City Rating:
199 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Circuit City
9950 Mayland Dr.
Richmond, VA 23233
804-527-4000 (ph)
804-527-4164 (fax)
Compare Electronics Companies