Preview Review

Next Review

Circuit City Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
My Nightmare
By -

NORMAN, OKLAHOMA -- I purchased a new HP desktop package from Circuit City in Norman, OK on a Thursday night. When I went online, I was unable to access any Microsoft or MSN website, as well as CNET. I tried unsuccessfully to resolve the problem through HP. I called the store on Saturday and they hung up on me after leaving me on hold several minutes.

On Sunday, I called back and a firedog tech told me to bring the cpu in and they would try to fix it, but they might have to charge me for the work. When I took it in, I explained I didn't feel I should be charged anything for a defective computer I'd owned less than 48 hrs. About 4 hrs later, the tech called and said they'd fixed the problem. I drove back to the store, where I asked to see the unit in operation and allowing access to those websites. I was told that wasn't possible since they were then running diagnostics on another computer.

I took the cpu home, hooked it up and nothing was fixed. I called the store back and after two tries, got a manager and said since they didn't fix it in the store, I wanted the tech to come and fix it in my home. The manager said that would cost me $90, to which I objected. The manager was rude and said he'd never heard of a problem like I was describing (it was clear he didn't believe me), but if I was unhappy, they would exchange the computer. However, I had misgivings if my HP was a lemon, that the next one I got would be as well.

On Monday, I solicited advice from several knowledgeable people and that evening I tried all of their suggestions to no avail. I also called my isp when someone mentioned they might have a firewall that was causing the problem (they don't). By Tuesday morning, I was so thoroughly disgusted that I called the bank to see if the check I wrote the store had come in yet. It hadn't and I immediately stopped payment. Then I carefully reboxed the CPU, monitor, printer, and battery back-up and drove back to the store.

When I pushed the loaded cart to customer service, I told the person there that I was returning everything and I wanted a receipt showing it was returned. The woman was very brusque and rude and told me I would have to pay a 15 percent restocking fee. I told her quite plainly that they were crazy if they thought I was going to pay them more than 120 dollars to take a defective system off my hands.

I also told her I had stopped payment on the check. She snatched my original sales receipt and disappeared to the back of the store. She was gone several minutes and was even ruder when she returned, saying I should not have stopped payment and that I had no choice regarding the restock fee. I answered that of course I had a choice and my choice was not to pay them anything.

I pointed out I was returning everything I purchased and they didn't owe my anything since I stopped payment on the check. Then I reached out, took my original sales receipt out of her hand and turned to walk away. When the customer service rep. screamed at me, "You can't leave!", I said "Watch me." and kept walking. I definitely will never do business with this company again. And I am now starting to research my state's lemon law!

Replies
Advertisement
Circuit City Store Warranty
By -

94568, CALIFORNIA -- I am posting this ordeal that I am going through not only for the benefit of those customers who are debating on whether to get Circuit City store warranty, but also wanted to end the year with an altruistic act of letting the Circuit city management know that their warranty service and the customer service needs major overhaul.

We purchased a Sony Wega 42" TV and I guess intimidated by its sheer size and the tactful sales-talk by the Store rep we fell in the warranty trap. This happened in year 2003 during Christmas time. Anyway we got this 4 year warranty which came with lot promises like TV will be replaced if not repairable, Home service, etc.

Everything went on well till last month Nov 2007, when I started to smell something burning inside the TV. We called the service number and a local technician was at our place in a weeks time. I had the TV shut off unplugged as we have 2 little kids (3 yrs old and 7 month old). Technician is at my place on a working day at 10 a.m. and as knowledge as he was; he immediately isolated the problem to the light and some heat sensor not working properly.

I was told that the plastic around the light is all burnt and it is replaceable with no guarantee that it will not start burning right away. I called Circuit City customer service and they tell me that they are contracted with GE for all warranty services. I walked to local Circuit city store with a hope that I could talk to someone into either getting the Heat Sensor replaced in the TV or getting a replacement TV.

As surprising as it was Store manager feigned totally powerless and glorified their corporate office as the saviors of the victims like me. I called the new number (3rd different number) that I got from her and explained my situation that this repair was taking more than a month and I dont have a TV at home when my entire family is here visiting us for holidays, also I was wary of having the 42" TV at home with a very high chance of it turning into nice hot fireplace, esp with my 2 little kids around.

Except going through the regular regiment of taking my order number etc and reading me the policy details, this conversation went no further. With the extra power this so called corporate office execs had I was granted Christmas gift, reimbursement for a rental TV to the extent of $50 a week. I was happy with this hidden negotiation skill that I had. I asked my wife to shop around for a rental TV with $50/wk budget.

This morning after all the homework that she has done, my wife realized that it would cost at least $175/wk to get a working TV on rent. So we call back Circuit city to tell them that $50/wk is not getting us any TV on rent not even for a day. This time we had a close encounter with supervisor on the phone and she politely told us that she cannot help us anymore than $50/wk.

While this is going on, All-Video our local repair company, says that the parts it needs to fix our TV are not available in the market and Circuit City is scouting the entire country and all its partners to see if anyone has any leftovers for them to use. We are frustrated and my older daughter thinks Santa is going to get her our TV back on Christmas. Customer service at Circuit city needs more training and power to make decisions. Store manager at Dublin stores was rude and told me that Circuit city is not responsible for any store warranties as they have been contracted to GE.

When we called corporate office the self proclaimed supervisor advised us to shift our TV in the master bedroom to living room and it is not a big deal. I hope this is not what they are trained on. I hope this saga does not continue for long and will come to some logical ending soon. Sorry for venting out my frustration.

Replies
Customer Service and Results
By -

MINNESOTA -- I purchased 2 TVs on 11/25. One for myself and one for my brother. My TV was delivered a week earlier than anticipated. If you check the tracking of my brother's TV it is still sitting in the warehouse and under activity it states "Package data transmitted to FedEx." I first called FedEX and they said that Circuit City just transmitted them the information but did not release the TV.

I then called the CUSTOMER SERVICE HELPLESS DESK on 11/28 and was told that it was sitting in their warehouse and would be released right away. This gentleman told me to call back in 24 hours and they would have updated information for me. When I called back on 11/29 I was told by a young lady that I had to wait 14 days before they could claim it was lost and start searching for it.

I told her that the person who I talked to on the day before said it was in the warehouse, she said that they have no way of telling if it is sitting there or not. She said that she opened a case for it (1st case). I then sent an email to customer support on 12/4 and they sent me a response back that they would open another case (2nd case). That is the last time I heard from that person.

12/11 called Customer NO Help again and talked with another person and they said they found it at the Warehouse, and would start reshipment so she opened another case (3rd case). She also told me that another Case Manager would be calling me back shortly to verify information. NEVER HEARD BACK FROM CASE MANAGER. On 12/14 I sent an email back to the person that opened the 2nd case asking what was going on with this case. I heard back from a different person on 12/21 asking me if I had received my TV yet.

This was attached to the email on 12/14. 12/19 Called CUSTOMER NO HELP AGAIN and talked to another person and she said she was going to transfer me to a Manager but all she did is sent me right back to the menu that would connect to the HELPLESS DESK. I called back again and got another woman. I told her what my problem was and got disconnected. I called back again and was talking to a gentleman and had to be put on hold, I waited 1/2 hour and hung up. I called the Corporate Office and asked to speak to the Customer Support Manager and guess what happened I was connected to the CUSTOMER NO HELP DESK.

I talked with a woman their and had to tell my story again. She checked and she told me the 3rd case was never opened on 12/11. This person said she was going to start reshipment procedures and needed to open another case (4th case). She said I would hear back from another case manager within the next 48 hours to verify information that brings me to today 12/22. I called CUSTOMER NO HELP AND said I was supposed to hear from a Case Manager within 48 hours and had not. This person put me on hold and came back, said that the case had been opened and I would get a call from a Case Manager in 2 - 3 Business days.

THIS 800 NUMBER WILL NEVER HELP YOU SOLVE YOUR PROBLEM. ALL THEY CAN DO IS OPEN CASES and never resolve your problem. I guess they don't have managers because every time I ask to speak to one they won't transfer and there are no numbers listed on the website except the 800 customer no help. So it didn't help to order the TV a month before Christmas because it still did not come on time.

Replies
Dear Circuit City
By -

CARY, ILLINOIS -- I am writing to you for several different reasons but most of all as a favor to you and your company and to help you see some major problems you are having on the level of customer service. I will tell you my story which is not overly horrible but bad enough to make we want to write to you and let you know from a customer point of view what is wrong with your customer service area. To make things easier I will just list the things that have happened and then maybe you can take it from there and do with the information what you will.

In February 2006 my husband and I decided that we would spend some of our tax return to update our television and thought we would see what kind of offers Circuit City had as we had never been to your store before (we were tried and true Best Buy people after all). We bought our 32" Magnavox TV from your store located in Crystal Lake, IL. on 2/24/06.

It was one of your floor models but because it was a flat panel and in our price range we took it, but just in case also bought the Advantage plan for an extra $259.99 for three years. We wanted to be sure that if anything happened, we wouldn't have to scrape money together to fix it. About three weeks ago (October 13th) we called to have a service tech come out and look at our television because we were experiencing a loud popping sound and the volume was turning on and off intermittently (and has since stopped working all together). We were told a tech would be there on Tuesday October 16th.

On Monday the 15th we received a phone call stating that one of your service techs was out due to a back problem and could they please rearrange our day to Thursday instead. Being that my husband also works in the service industry I was sympathetic and agreed that Thursday would be just fine. Thursday arrives and our technician ** arrives to take a look. ** was not an overly friendly guy but I was still glad to see him. (We had been without our TV for almost a week at this point... Did I mention I have two kids?)

I told ** our troubles and he proceeded to make connections from my DVD player to all the many ports on my television each time asking me again if I had been getting any volume out of each port. I told ** several times that no, we were not getting any volume… out of any port.

** called Magnavox who was trying to help him do some kind of reset and while he was on the phone I told him I was going to put my infant niece down for a nap and I would be right back. I was gone about 40 seconds when I heard a very LOUD and quite obnoxious "HELLO?" coming from my living room. I quickly got my niece down and ran out of there just assuming he forgot in that 40 seconds that I was putting my niece down to sleep. He wanted to ask me again for a second time if that was the original remote control that he had in his hand. I assured him a second time that it was.

At this time he and Magnavox must have been flummoxed because he just up and told me I needed a part and he would be back in 7 to 10 working days. I thought to myself "he must be pretty good to realize I need a "part" and not even have to OPEN the TV up for inspection!"

I also thought to myself that 7 to 10 working days was an awfully long time to wait for a parts shipment from such a huge company as Magnavox but what do I know? Upon leaving, ** my surly TV tech turns to me and says "You know, you really should make your service call appointments for the beginning of the week." I thought he was joking. He was not.

I explained to him that my appointment WAS made for the beginning of the week and that I was called by you guys to switch because of an employee injury. He looked at his vast pieces of papers on his handy dandy clip board, looked up at me and says "Well that stinks… I don't know why they did that" and turned and left without even saying so much as a goodbye. Needless to say I was not very fond of ** and called City Advantage to tell them not to send him back.

The girl I spoke with told me she had no way of knowing who was sent to my house (Really?? There are really no records of what person gets sent to another person's home??? That can't be very safe!) but would make a note of my unhappiness towards this man's insulting manners.

Now comes the best part. Another seven working days pass by before ** calls me to tell me he would be there between 9am and 11am on Monday the 29th. Monday the 29th is a very busy day for me as I have a daughter to get to school, a quickie doctor check-up at 8:15 and a field trip with my preschool son and his class at 9:45. Since I was not given a choice of time frames I arrange for my cousin to come to my house at 9:00. I managed to get back from my doctor at 9:03 am. My cousin (a 24 year old college student) was late.

In that three minutes, I lost out on my time slot until THURSDAY. It turns out my good friend ** showed up at my home at 8:57am and when there was no answer high tailed it outta there for apparently a very far away location because it was just IMPOSSIBLE for him to return later in the day. I have to admit - I was not very nice to the poor girl that answered the phone after I waited 15 or so minutes for her to answer (are you aware that your customers average wait time for a rep to pick up is somewhere between 15 and 20 minutes… I am dead serious and not exaggerating one bit).

In all fairness, she wasn't exactly the sweetest thing either. She refused to help me out even a little bit. She told me she could not call the rep because he was busy. We ended the conversation with her promise that she would leave a message for ** and have him call me. Silly me to think ** would really care about my situation.

I tried calling back on my cell phone on my way to my son's field trip but by the time I actually got a rep to answer I was there already (a 25 minute trip) and had to hang up quickly with her promise that she would leave another message for **. I got home about 1:00 pm and called a third time - this time talking to **. ** is a very nice boy and tried to explain the best he could why I could not get a rep there sooner and upon asking for a manager kindly told me that it would take one to two days for a supervisor to call.

I thought to myself "Wow, he must really know how busy those supervisors are if he can tell me right off the bat that they have a wait time to actually service their customer!" Also - I am convinced that none of your reps have children and don't know what it is like NOT to have a TV around for even a small portion of the day.

This is where I leave it to you, Circuit City Corporate Offices. I am now waiting for three phone calls. ** the service tech, Mr. ** the call center supervisor and ** from the Crystal Lake store (because apparently the supervisors at the store level are also way too busy to talk to me). I leave it in your good hands to deal with because after all this is not my problem, but YOURS.

In today's world vast quantities of information are put out there on the web in seconds. Consumers no longer have to wait for word of mouth to reach the attention of the business in question; we have only to click a few buttons on our computers. Guess what I will be doing after printing my letter to you? I sure hope you can fix your "customer service" (or lack thereof) problems and hope my letter will help you in any effort you put forth. I won't be holding my breath for a return phone call and I most certainly will not be returning to Circuit City.

Resolution Update 11/01/2007:

We recieved two phone calls from Viola at Circuit Advantage and she gave us the option to replace the TV which we opted not to do because we did not want our warranty to become void. Our pal Pete came back on Thursday and was much more tolerable. He fixed our sound and was out the door and hopefully that is the end of it. I never heard from the store manager.

Replies
Advertisement
Circuit City's Despicable Customer Service
By -

I'm outraged at Circuit City's customer service for online orders. They're the worst I've ever seen, hands DOWN! I'd purchased several items online on 11/27/07, and received an email that my order has been shipped with a FedEx tracking number. When I clicked on the tracking #, it said that the package was delivered on 3/19/07 to a different state. I've called Circuit City's customer service 4 times and each time routes you to their India or Philippines department, who can't do much except to say "someone will get back to you in 7 to 14 business days”.

After my 5th time calling and 35 minutes later, I finally got a rep named Steven in their Richmond VA office “Escalation Dept”. Rep Steven tells me that it's a problem with FedEx and requested that I call FedEx to clear up the issue. After my pushback, Steven reluctantly called FedEx and discovered that there is no package destined to my address on record. He goes on saying that I need to wait another 10 days to make sure that my order does not arrive before they can issue a reship order. Then, I would need to waste another 35 minutes of my time to go through their international dept to request a reship.

My question to the rep Steven “If Circuit City's record show that my order was shipped on 11/27/07 by FedEx, but FedEx does not have a record anywhere in their system of Circuit City's package to my address, is it not logical to assume that the shipment is lost?” Steven's response was “Well, our records show it was shipped and FedEx is the carrier”. This seems like someone can't follow basic logic. What's more amazing is that Steven claims to be the highest level of escalation in Circuit City's Customer Service department. What an idiot!! I will NEVER buy from Circuit City again, and recommend everyone to stay far away!

Replies
A manifestation of a deeper problem
By -

VIRGINIA -- I am a former employee of Circuit City for over nine years. The recent bankruptcy of Circuit City came to no surprise to me. When I began working for Circuit City in 1984 it was a company that was the epitome of the American dream. Like many other corporations from days gone by the most important commodity of Circuit City were its employees. Not upper management, and not the dollar. As a result the dollars came for Circuit City and they came big.

I remember in days gone by Circuit City were closed Sundays and Mondays, had a nationwide company picnic that was completely paid for by Circuit City, a kick off party in which the store closed for its employees, and gave literally thousands of dollars worth of electronics to its employees that included big screen TV's, stereo systems, as well as monetary prizes. Over and above all this, its employees were well rewarded financially for good customer service, performance, as well as sales incentives. From my understanding the years previous were even better.

I can even remember attending a sales meeting discussing an up and coming electronics company named Best Buy. How that they would never be any real competition for Circuit City. Somewhere between the early years and the last 25 years however Circuit City lost the vision that the employees are the bread and butter of an organization not upper management. I can still remember when Circuit City offered good health benefits, paid sick leave, and a good retirement program.

Unfortunately I can also remember when I noticed the company began its downward journey to its current demise. It started with the stores being open seven days a week as opposed to five. Then the next thing to go was the company picnics, the kick off parties and sales incentives became stingy-er and stingy-er. Then in a few short years I noticed that store supervisors and employees that were just several years from collecting on their retirement had been terminated for what seemed to be unsubstantiated reasons.

Furthermore as new employees were hired they were not offered the same incentives or pay as those that were currently employed. Then as years went by the product knowledge, and the sales training program for new hires went from several weeks to several days.

The manifestation of this downhill slide is Bankruptcy. The deeper problem is the same the nation over. The lack of vision for a greater community, and country for the "middle class" worker has turned to the turning over of a quick buck for the CEO's.

Replies
Scammed By Circuit City
By -

TEMPLE, TEXAS -- I then went to my local Circuit City in Harker Heights Texas and was told by the girl at the door who I had to wait to get off her cell phone making dinner plans that "Circuit City sells all items to a liquidator and I have to contact the liquidator to find out why it is reported stolen." I asked did she know how I would find out the contact information to the liquidator. "How would I know that information? Do I look like a phone book," is the response I got.

I then requested to speak to the manager and was told, "They are all unavailable for such a stupid reason... You need to deal with Virgin Mobile... You are probably not wanting to deal with them 'cause you knew the item was stolen and now you don't want it." My husband at that time, got very angry. He asked 2 other people in the store to speak with the manager and was told by them that the managers were busy and we needed to call the 800# or deal with Virgin Mobile. I have never in my life been treated in such a manner by anyone.

I have called and spoke with the 800# representative. The last representative I spoke with was friendly and said she was sorry for what happen when I asked for the 800# for the complaint line. She said she would document the information under the case number already on file. And I needed to call back on Monday to speak with a supervisor in the Richmond or Richland office... She said she was sorry but their office was closed and wouldn't be open until Monday.

I said "I would call back on Monday and speak with the supervisor. I would like for someone to find out how it is possible that I purchased something from one of your stores, with a receipt that shows I paid for it and it is reported stolen by the Virgin Mobile company.

This was a Christmas present for my daughter who I had to go out and buy another phone so that she was able to actually have the only present she asked Santa for. I feel insulted, cheated, and belittle by not only the first 2 reps I spoke with at the 800#, but the people at the store in Circuit City in Harker Heights.

Replies
Circuit City in Portage, MI
By -

PORTAGE -- On Tuesday, January 20th "Saw V" was released at a sales price of $14.99. I called the store 3 times to see if the store had received the DVD as planned. No one at the store ever picked up the phone so I had to make the drive to the store. I couldn't find an employee close by so I decided the try to find the DVD without assistance. I didn't find the DVD so I set out to find someone to help me. I asked for help and a nice young man went to check the computer to see if "Saw V" was checked in and the quantity.

Together we looked for the DVD again, with the help of a young female I had a "Saw V" in hand and was headed for the check out. I told the female that the DVD was in sale for $12.99. At that time a guy behind the desk informed me that they weren't honoring the sales ad because they weren't that company. In shock I replied "You're kidding". A guy standing close by said, "subject to change" in a sarcastic voice. I didn't respond to him.

I asked the guy behind the desk if I could speak to the Store Manager. The sarcastic guy said that he was the store manager. I told him that the DVD was advertised for $12.99 and that I was sure that he would honor the price so that I would be a satisfied customer. In a VERY LOUD VOICE he said that he didn't care if I was happy or not and to GET TO HELL OUT OF HIS STORE!!! I was in shock. I told him that I couldn't believe that he was talking to me that way and that I thought he was being rude.

He said that he had just let go 100 employees and that I was the one being rude. The guy behind the desk said that I should leave and the store manager once again LOUDLY TOLD ME TO GET TO HELL OUT OF HIS STORE. I responded by saying in a calm voice that I thought that THEY DESERVE TO GO OUT OF BUSINESS IF THEY TREAT THEIR CUSTOMERS THE WAY THAT THEY TREATED ME.

As I turned and walked away an employee at the door said, "I'm with you." I said, "excuse me" because I wasn't sure that I heard him correctly. When I got next to him he said, "YOU WERE RIGHT." I thanked him and left the store. I HOPE THAT KALAMAZOO/PORTAGE MICHIGAN SHOPPERS WILL READ THIS COMPLAINT AND REFUSE TO DO BUSINESS WITH THE RUDE MANAGER THAT RUNS THE CIRCUIT CITY IN OUR AREA.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Service at Circuit City Dover Delaware
By -

DOVER, DELAWARE -- On 12-26-08 I went to Dover Circuit City to purchase their advertised 52" Sony Bravia plus Sony Blu Ray player sales deal. Upon purchase, the clerk told me there were no Blu rays in the store, that it would be restocked in a few days. I gave it a few days, called. They said wait another few days. Waited another few days, stopped by the store. Another clerk said wait till following Wednesday. I requested store credit and she as well as another clerk said "absolutely not."

I called back the following Wednesday evening, no blu ray. Asked to speak to the manager. Got the manager on duty that night (1/7/09). She told me that no one ever told me to call back Wednesday (even though my fiance was there to witness the statement) and was absolutely nasty. I became quite irate at the runaround and her attitude and instead of her trying to help a customer that ALREADY PAID FOR THE BLU RAY AND TV, she yelled at me over the phone to calm down or she would hang up on me.

Are you kidding? I'm glad it was a phone conversation and not in person! Eventually she realized that someone in fact did tell me to call back Wednesday, and she apologized. She then asked me to wait another 2 days. In 2 days I went to the store (45 minutes away). They gave me a Playstation 3 instead of the Blu ray. I said I didn't want a Playstation (already have several game systems). They said that was all they would do for me. Reluctantly I took it and went to another Circuit City and exchanged it for a surround sound system (what I originally requested from Dover store and was told no).

I hope these people go out of business and no one ever has to deal with not only the Yenta that yelled at me, but the other uneducated clerks that should be tending a French fry machine. DO NOT BUY FROM DOVER CIRCUIT CITY. DOVER CIRCUIT CITY IS INCOMPETENT. YOU WILL GET SCREWED TEN FOLD IF YOU BUY FROM DOVER CIRCUIT CITY. PS. I'm not done here. I will not stop until complaints about this transaction are strewn about the internet.

Replies
Person Purchasing Online Has To Be The One Picking Up Or Have Install
By -

ROUND ROCK, TEXAS -- Items found online and purchased over the phone as a gift for my wife. I emailed the receipt to her so she could have it installed. She arrives at the store and Circuit City employee wants to see the credit card and ID of person that made the purchase. Since obviously my wife is not me, they made her re-purchase these items and credited my card (or at this point I hope). Then they made her carry these items out of the store, to the vehicle and drive around back to have installed. (Don't they have a door between the store and the garage?)

My wife called me and I was able to talk with the store employee. Employee said that this policy is to keep fraud down. I told her that it is quite a coincidence that the lady in front of her has the same last name, same ID address as the order, can tell you the phone number on the account, receipt in hand and the vehicle that these items fit in. I explained to Customer Service 800 number that crediting my account does not fix this as I had already paid for it. I hope their fraud policy is driving away more bad people than it is people like me?

I explained too that I buy items online all over the world but don't expect to be the one to personally go pick them up? Do not buy a gift online and expect this company to take care of the gift recipient when they arrive at the store. Also, no verbal warning about the fraud policy when purchasing as that would have been a deal breaker for me. I received a Case ID number but expect that to fill "file 13" up. If they fix this you all will be the first to know. Customer Service Rep at 800 number was very pleasant, understanding and apologetic but could only open up a case number. If Circuit City thought my wife was trying to "steal" the radio, why didn't they just call the cops?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Circuit City Rating:
199 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Circuit City
9950 Mayland Dr.
Richmond, VA 23233
804-527-4000 (ph)
804-527-4164 (fax)
www.circuitcity.com
Compare Electronics Companies