[X]

ClassicCloseouts.com

5 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Fraudulent Transactions
Posted by on
In the fall of 2007 I ordered several clothing items from ClassicCloseouts for my toddler. Everything went fine with the transaction. However, today 6/26, I checked my account online and noticed a preauthorization on my debit card from this company for $49.99. I went to the website and checked on my order history, and found the transaction from last year ($24.99) and nothing else. I attempted to contact them through the site and could only find an email form. I sent an inquiry through the form, but do not anticipate a reply. I also did a whois search on their web address and found they are based in NY. I checked with the NY BBB and found they currently have an unsatisfactory rating and rarely respond to complaints through the BBB. I was able to find a toll free number for them, however when calling that number you are directed to a voicemail box, which is currently full.

When doing a Google search I found several others who found themselves in the same situation. They had also made a small purchase in the past, only to find this company attempting to take more from them months later.

I've already canceled my card and signed a dispute/affidavit against the charge with my bank.

Avoid ClassicCloseouts!
     
Read 34 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

madconsumer on 2008-06-26:
about all you can do, if they won't respond, is do what you did with the credit card company. hopefully, things will work out.
Carol_Lee on 2008-06-27:
The SAME thing has just happened to me! I made a small purchase from Classic Closeouts in May of 2007, and nothing since. On June 26, 2008 a FRAUDULENT charge of $49.99 was charged to me. I also called the toll free number repeatedly (my bank found it for me) and it rings and rings and rings and finally goes to an automated menu, but any selection you make just takes you to a voicemail box. I've left 3 messages on the "Contact Us" section of their website, but of course no reply. This is SICKENING.
maddashell on 2008-07-03:
Never been to teir site and have been charged $69.99. Here is the info I have on them.

Classicloseout.com
866-422-6397
516-569-5390
516-538-1616

110 W. Graham Avw
Hempstead, NY 11550

1150 Broadway
Hewitt,NY 11557

Hempstead PD 516-483-6200
Hempstead DA 516-483-6200

File a report with IC3.GOV
napagrl on 2008-07-07:
http://www.oag.state.ny.us/internet/litigation/urbanq_final_order.pdf

This shows what a cheat Daniel Greenberg is! His company UrbanQ stole money from victims like us in 2003 and he was sued for it!
napagrl on 2008-07-07:
And then he and Michael Koenig did it again in 2004, ripping off four old folk homes in Mass. for over 1.5 mil

http://www.frauddigest.com/fraud.php?ident=830

And here are some more of his companies...just to name a few:
Other Konig corporations included M & A/Comprehensive Health Care Management Systems and Grand Management Group in Florida, Slam, Inc., Reifer, Inc., List, Inc., Atzko, Inc.,Parnasah, Inc., Nicha, Inc., M.C.K., Inc., M.C.K.D., Inc., Likra, Inc., and Cheap Q, Inc.

These guys get hit with one lawsuit and start another phoney company to pay their bills with.
gingerkp on 2008-07-07:
Same thing happened to me. Out of nowhere on 7/4/2008 Classic Closeouts charged me $69.99. I didn't order anything from them, so I e-mailed and called, and big surprise, no response. I'm filing a report on ic3.gov right now. Glad I found these postings!

Kameron411 on 2008-07-07:
This also happened to me. After the long July 4th weekend, I was doing a tally of my credit card charges and noticed 49.99 hit on 6/19 via classiccloseoutscom. Like others here, I only bought for them some time ago (2007) and never again. If I didn't check diligently, I would've likely just paid my bill as usual but not this time. Someone should go to jail for this. I'm reporting this to ic3.gov too.
napagrl on 2008-07-07:
Please send your complaints to the New York Attorney General. They seem to be the only ones who prosecute these jerks!

http://www.oag.state.ny.us/online_forms/complaint_alert.jsp
czeburaszka on 2008-07-08:
My card was charged on June 20, 2008. $69.99!!!
Trying to get my money back through my CC company, because classiccloseouts are not responding.
aw1318 on 2008-07-12:
I just found that my card has been charged $69.99 on 7/11/08. I have not purchased anything since feb and on my account page it has feb as well. It also placed my bank account overdrawn! surprise no response from them and no phone number. What the hell are they doing all of the charges are the same amount?
Anonymous on 2008-07-12:
Sounds like a computer glitch that all of you have the same amount charged. What a nightmare!
lgwriter on 2008-07-15:
This happened to me too! I made a purchase late last year or early last year for like $6 and then yesterday saw a charge for $69.99! Filed a dispute with my bank, as well as complaints to the bbb and the attorney general. this is crazy! I am so outraged over this company.
LarryDan on 2008-06-27:
Carol, don't even bother trying to contact Classic Closeouts. Contact your bank and tell them you want to dispute the charge. You may have to go in to sign an affidavit, but they should credit your account back the same day (or as soon as the charge hard posts).
mlwolfe77 on 2008-07-16:
Add me to the list...I was just checking my bank balance online and noticed a $69.99 charge on 7/8. Just like everyone else, I placed 1 order there in July 06 for $11.98. Going to the bank right now to dispute charges. I am livid! Will also file complaint w/ site listed above.
MRM on 2008-07-16:
I think some of you may be a victim of identity theft where a thief gets a hold of your credit card number and charges them online.
cainerUNC on 2008-07-16:
Got charged $69.99 yesterday by ClassicCloseouts.com, hadn't purchased since 12/7/07.

Fraud, luckily I was able to do a chargeback with my Visa, and I doubt ClassicCloseouts will make fraudulent sales claims.

Filed with Attorney General, and IC3.org;

It's a shame, I really liked the Member's Only jackets I bought from them last year.
napagrl on 2008-07-21:
I heard back from the Atty General and they are not going to do anything unless you are unable to get your credit card company to reverse the charge. It is infuriating that they don't care to stop the fraud in the least!
Rocky J on 2008-07-21:
I ordered from Classic Closeouts in August 2005. Today, 07/21/2008, my account was charged $69.99. Tried contacting the company at the toll free number but no one answered. Now I'm fighting with my bank to refund the disputed amount. I will never make another online purchase.
darek on 2008-07-22:
Count me in too.. same story.. purchased something worht $2.99 in Aug 2007, went smooth until I found out on July 2008 that they have charged my credit card for $59.99 on 6/25/2008. Disputing the charge through my cc company
mikesbrat on 2008-07-24:
They got me too, for $69.99 (one order made in 4/08, but nothing since). Don't think it's a case of identity theft as the stories are too similar (same amounts from the same company). I've filed a complaint against them with Amazon (hoping they will kick them off) and the BBB. Now disputing the charge through my cc. Am continuing to investigate, and warning any websites that have anything to do with them (specially the ones that give them good reviews). Need to get the word out that these people are frauds!!!
pixiechic72 on 2008-07-25:
They are not going to stop, this is one of many websites I have just located with much of the same complaints about Classic Closeouts charging people when they haven't placed any orders. I too was just charged $69.99 and am disputing it with my bank (I used a visa check card) maybe with all the banks and credit card companies losing money because of this fruadulant company the government will shut them down. I filed a complaint just today with the Internet Crime Complaint Center on the governments website. With this many people being charged fraudulently I find it hard to believe that they won't do anything. I will wait and see what kind of response I get, there is always the local news.
gmc74 on 2008-07-27:
I had the same thing happen to me, 59.99 in June and 79.99 last week. Disputed the charges through AMEX, filed a complaint with ic3.gov and had to change my card number.
sbq3 on 2008-08-06:
I was charged $69.99 on 7/21 as well. I was also just charged $59.99 yesterday by this company. I don't use this card often so I don't check the balance but once in a while. Bank of America is reversing the charges and I cancelled my card. I'll be filing a report as well.
fizzics on 2008-06-27:
Hi...I have the exact same story as you, even down to the same dates! I ordered from this company in Aug 2007. Now, yesterday, 6/26/2008, there were two unauthorized charges, each for $69.99 made to my credit card. If you can send me the phone number that you have for this company, I would appreciate it. I have found about 6 numbers for them, they do not answer and do not have voicemail. Please let me know if you have any luck. fizzics@charter.net
cutebutpsycho on 2008-08-08:
I got my money back.

I think it might have been my subtle yet psycho tact of trying. First, I went to the website, dropped my card and then changed my password. Then on the site they have 25\7 customer support where you can email questions with a drop down list of 10 or so options that you can choose. And here is the message that I sent repeatedly. I WANT MY MONEY BACK. YOUR COMPANY HAS MADE UNAUTHORIZED DEBITS TO MY ACCOUNT. 7/30/2008 FOR 79.99 AND 8/1/2008 FOR 69.99. I HAVE CONTACTED MY BANK TO REISSUE MY CARD AND WILL BE CONTACTING NY BBB, THE NY ATTORNEY GENERAL ANDREW CUOMO, IC3.gov ALONG WITH ILLINOIS ATTORNEY GENERAL LISA MADIGAN ABOUT THE FRAUD. PLEASE RESPOND, to all the different options. Then this place sent me an email with their ‘new’ specials, so I fired back to that one the same message prolly about 10 to 15 times. I also called and left numerous messages on the voice mail system which has 7 different options. I tried them all. Yesterday I filed a complaint with the bbb of ny.



mikesbrat on 2008-09-05:
TRUSTe has terminated them from their program, but have been no help as far as receiving a refund...

They have a store on Amazon... if enough people complain to Amazon, maybe they'll kick them off. A small thing, I know, but the small things add up!

We can't let them get away with this any longer!!!!
dezigner1 on 2008-10-26:
It looks like I'm one of many having been defrauded by ClassicCloseouts.com. I bought one item from this merchant back in 2002. Apparently they kept my cc info on file even though I always check the box do not save . Out of the blue, I was charged $69.99 & $59.99 on my July 2008 and August 2008 statements. Capital One has been good about reversing these unauthorized charges and issued me a card with a new exp date and security code although I told them the card was already expired that I discovered and deleted online from my ClassicCloseouts.com profile.

No extra charges in September but now a $59.99 "Transaction Rebill" is showing up on my Oct 2008 statement. Pretty ambiguous but I don't use that cc for anything anymore so it's obvious due to the amount and the phone number and state (NY) listed for the transaction that this is once again ClassicCloseouts.com.

I guess the only option is to close the card and have Cap 1 issue a new one with a different number. (I probably should have done this the 2nd time it happened.)

Anyway, anyone who has ever bought anything from ClassicCloseouts.com, be sure to keep an eye on your cc statements. It doesn't look like this company is going to give up their fraudulent practices.
Memphischic on 2009-03-23:
I have an email for you all.

trish@classiccloseouts.com

Also, there is someone name K. Baker. Don't have first name but that is who signed for the certified letter I sent.
fizzics on 2008-06-27:
For all who have had these fraudulent charges placed to their accounts by Classic Closeouts: please go to IC3.gov to file a complaint. This is a Fraud Complaint site. I was advised to do this by the Clark Howard Consumer Action Center. The IC3.gov site is co-sponsored by the FBI and the National White collar Crime Center. If we all process a complaint, it might help.
TTCF on 2008-07-01:
I am having the same problem. I placed an order with them 8/14/07 totaling $19.37. I now have two charges on my credit card on 6/27/08 for $69.99 each. I have tried calling them at 516-538-1616 and at 866-422-6397. I call both numbers and it rings until I get disconnected. I've scoured the internet trying to find a "good" number and still nothing. I sent an email from their 24/7 online customer support and I'm still waiting for a response. From what I've read, seems like I'll be waiting forever. I found a fax # 516-538-1355 that I am doubtful I will get a response from. Please let me know if you have better luck reaching these thieves.
Carol_Lee on 2008-07-01:
LarryDan, thanks for the advice -- my bank is doing an investigation.

Fizzics, the phone numbers that I have are the same as listed by TTCF. Thanks for the tip about IC3.gov -- I'll file a report their next.

Sorry to all that were robbed by these thieves! :o(
Carol_Lee on 2008-07-01:
Aggie1138 on 2008-07-02:
The same thing happened to me on July 1st 2008, (yesterday). I found a charge for $69.99 from them and I have not purchased anything from them since 2004. The card info they had for me was outdated so the transaction should not go through since they have the wrong EXP date for the card. I did the IC3 complaint thing as well.
metfan729 on 2008-07-03:
I experienced the same issue with this company. I placed an order in 2004 and was charged 69.99 on 7/3/2008. I did some research and found that this company has been sued by North Face for counterfeiting their jackets. They also go by the name of Internet Value Group. http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0EIN/is_2006_March_3/ai_n26781120
I also have a problem with Bank of America who allowed this transaction to go through even though the credit card # I had used with them changed and the old number expired in 2007. Anyway I filed a complaint with IC3.gov and closed my account with Bank of America.
Close commentsAdd reply
Fraudulent Charges
Posted by on
HEPSTEAD NY, NEW YORK -- I have never ordered from Classic Closeouts but I had a charge posted to my credit card July of 2008 for 69.99 and I disputed it with my cc company and they immediately took it off my card. My August statement just arrived and now there is another charge from them for 79.99 and when I called my credit card company they gave me their number 516-538-1616. I called it immediately to find about this billing problem and was tossed form voice mail to voice mail. I then did number search on Google and was shocked at what I found. The only thing about this company was a zillion complaints with the same problem that I have encountered. People calling and leaving messages about fraulent charges; only to never get a response from the company.

This morning I filed a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission and I will continue to call whoever and however many places I need to in order to stop these people .They have already wasted countless hours of my life with their iligitimate business practices.

If everyone whom has had a run-in with this company would do the same we could probably put them out of commission!
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Hugh_Jorgen on 2008-08-11:
I've seen quite a few reports from people that did business with them a year or two ago and are just now getting hit with new charges, but you are the first person I have seen that has no history with them at all.

Thanks for the info - it pays to check your credit card statements closely.
Anonymous on 2008-08-11:
The FTC has been investigating the charges for a couple of months. No one seems to know or want to come forward on how the entire incident happened. Contact your credit card company and have them reverse the charges. Also have a block placed on all debit requests from them.
Anonymous on 2008-08-11:
The FTC has been investigating the charges for a couple of months. There have been thousands of complaints registered. No one seems to know or want to come forward on how the entire incident happened. Contact your credit card company and have them reverse the charges. Also have a block placed on all debit requests from them.
jsis on 2008-08-13:
Your situation describes what happened to me perfectly except I did make a small purchase in Dec 07, but nothing before or since. I have filed a complaint with the BBB; adding to the many already there. I called my CC company immediately and they removed the debit and I changed my card number right away as well. I don't understand how this company can remain in business. This was the closest to identity theft I'd experienced and it is a horrible feeling.
dryspell on 2008-08-19:
My claim was resolved (69.99 in June) finally. I went to my bank and shut down my debit card and filed papers against the company. I also contacted the BBB at Complaints@newyork.bbb.org and received forms from them and it was resolved. Good luck. I think someone should go to jail for stealing all this money.
Hope this helps.

Sharon
Close commentsAdd reply
Unauthorized Credit Card Transactions (Fraud)
Posted by on
BUYER BEWARE: The company placed an unauthorized charge of $69.99 on my credit card 8 months after my initial purchase. I disputed the charge and had it taken off my card. I logged into my account on Classic Closeouts and removed my credit card information on file. I received another unauthorized charge for $69.99 the following month.

A third unauthorized charge of $59.99 appeared on my statement today. They practice credit card fraud and should be shutdown. There are several other cases just like mine.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2008-08-28:
There are not several cases just like yours. There are thousands. It's best that you contact your bank and place a block on any future charges from them. Some have reported success in getting them to process a refund of the charges. Try calling them: 516-978-3707. If that doesn't work then cancel your credit card and have a new one issued with instructions that no previous charges follow to the new card.
MrBeanRocks25 on 2008-08-28:
I agree with PassingBy.
Memphischic on 2009-03-23:
Email:
trish@classiccloseouts.com
Also there is a K.Baker. Don't have first name, but that is who signed for the certified letter I sent.
Close commentsAdd reply
Wholesale Junk
Posted by on
NEWNAN, GEORGIA -- Classic closeouts.com took my and countless amounts of people hard earned money. Why is this "business" not being held liable? I really don't understand it. Seems like the same story for everyone, purchased from site years or months ago and they are blatantly making unauthorized charges on our cc's. When will it stop? I know, when it happens to the wrong person who can actually make a difference.

Until then all we can do is victimized by these creeps who are living it up right now at our expense. Thank god the economy hasn't gone to hell, oh wait.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2008-08-15:
The Attorney General for New York State is finally investigating the fraudulent charges.
sdnightlife on 2008-08-28:
BUYER BEWARE: The company placed an unauthorized charge of $69.99 on my credit card 8 months after my initial purchase. I disputed the charge and had it taken off my card. I logged into my account on ClassicCloseouts.com and removed my credit card information on file. I received another unauthorized charge for $69.99 the following month. They practice credit card fraud and should be shutdown. There are several other cases just like mine.
Close commentsAdd reply
$69.99 Fraud
Posted by on
Hi, I also faced this $69.99 fraud, twice!!! Unfortunately, last time I skipped $69.99 credit charge on my card. Today, when scanning through the transactions made on my card I noticed this. Tried so many times calling this store, but no use. No body pics your call. I contacted my bank and they have filed a dispute case. I have also registered a complaint against this sire at:
http://www.ic3.gov/default.aspx.

Do you think I will get my $69.99 + $69.99 dollars back??
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >