Preview Review

Next Review

Coach, Inc. Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Inability to Receive Money Back Using Gift Receipt
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTIC CITY, NEW JERSEY -- I received the Coach bag at an event. The gift receipt was included. I don't see the allure of Coach; I'm not a fan of their product. First, it was purchased at an Coach outlet and it couldn't be returned to a Coach store in a mall. Then, even with a gift receipt, I could not receive the value of the item. I would only receive store credit. If I don't like Coach bags, why would I want store credit.

Any other store I deal with, if I have a gift receipt, I can get the price of the item at that time. Coach will not do this. With a return policy like this, I definitely will not ever shop Coach. They are not worth the price. The manager and store clerks kept referring to the back of the receipt and would not even attempt to work with me. If you want customer business, this is not the way to achieve it.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Business Practice
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I ordered a purse online on Nov 24. On December 8th, I received an email stating they did not have the product I ordered and they would refund my money in 72 hours. On the third business day I called them. They then told me they had up to five days and that it should be back in my bank on Friday which technically would have been the 6th business day. Never mind the fact that it took them two weeks to tell me they didn't have my purse and they collected their money up front but they want to make me wait to get mine. I have never ordered anything that was out of stock and it took a company 15 days to let me know.

Not to mention the fact that this is a Christmas present and I need the money back to purchase another purse for my daughter. I also love the way they contact me early Friday morning which would count as business day number one and then on the following Tuesday which would count as the third business day. They tell me I won't have my money till probably Friday. Actually I'm being nice about the business days because the email actually said 72 hours. They're a sorry company and I will never order from them again.

Replies
Worst Quality Products and Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MPLS, MINNESOTA -- Been a customer for over 30 years but NO MORE. Coach products are the lowest quality, overpriced handbags around. About a year or so ago I bought a zipper wallet that holds a cell phone. After 4 months the wallet's zipper broke. I shipped it off to Coach repair and they repaired it. Two months later, the zipper broke again. This time I decided to buy another Coach Wallet but a different style thinking it would last longer. Two months later the same thing - the zipper broke. Unbelievable since these wallets cost about $140 each. I shipped it off to Coach Repair - the same way I did previously. I got an email saying they had received it and would repair it about 10 days ago.

Today, I received an email from Coach telling me that I had to pay them $25 to have the wallet repaired. I told them to forget it. A wallet should last more than 2 months. We went back and forth and they continued to tell me I owed them $25. I have emailed the CEO and another "executive" informing them of my dissatisfaction. I'm sure they don't care and I'll never hear from them.

I told the repair service to send the crap wallet back to me. When I receive it I am tossing it in the garbage and will NEVER purchase another Coach anything in my life. They lost a customer for life over crap customer service and $25. I'm sure this strategy will work well for them. Look for them to file bankruptcy in about 12 months. A company this crappy will not survive in this competitive environment. Do I feel sorry for them? Hell no. Crap products and customer service. They get what they deserve.

Replies
Poor Quality and Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BETHLEHEM, PENNSYLVANIA -- I am very disappointed with the lack of customer service I received at the Coach Outlet store located at the Sands Outlets in Bethlehem, 77 Sands Boulevard, Bethlehem, Pennsylvania on Friday, June 10th at approximately 9:30 PM. I know this was awhile ago. I was just going to let it go, but two months later I am still upset, so I decided to write this post.

Anyway, June 10th I went into the store because the zipper on my Coach bag broke. I asked the sales associate what they could do about it. The woman I spoke to said she was a manager and my only option was to pay $55 and have the bag sent out for 4-6 weeks in order for it to get fixed. The manager I spoke to was not helpful and she made a snide remark about the bag being a year and a half old as if that was ancient. Yes, the bag is a year and a half old. I hate to break it to Coach employees, but that's not that old. A well-made purse shouldn't break after 1.5 years.

All the employees I spoke with had the same condescending attitude like I was ** because I wanted Coach to reap some of the cost of repairing a bag that was over a year old. I spoke to another manager who said the same thing. Although I was very angry at this point, I kept my composure, was nothing but polite, and explained that I only buy Coach bags because of their quality, and because in the past the company has backed their product.

All of the Coach employees acted as if they didn't care at all what I had to say. They didn't validate my feelings and they made me feel like garbage. I find this unacceptable. I should have not been treated this way. The employees should have at least tried to keep me happy as a customer and should have at least attempted come to a solution. There was no attempt at a solution and they showed no care whatsoever that I was upset. Again, I was polite, but communicated the issues I had. Their customer service was plain horrible.

I absolutely love my bag and I am devastated that it is broken. I don't feel after a year and a half later that I should have to pay $55 and wait over a month to have my bag fixed. Whether it is policy or not, I feel that Coach employees could have made more of an effort to fix the issue and make an exception being that it isn't that far out of the year warranty. They could have at least tried to help me, especially since I thought that the policy stated that the bags were guaranteed for life.

I understand if the bag would have been 5 years old and I wanted the company to reap the cost of the repair that they would say it is my fault and I would have to pay, but this was only a year and a half. I started buying Coach handbags about 15 years ago because I liked the style and the quality. Also, I was misinformed, but I buy the bags because I thought they were guaranteed for life.

In the past I have had top-notch customer service from Coach and Coach Outlet employees. I became a loyal Coach fan when 6 years ago I had an issue with one of my bags, which was approximately 2-3 years old. I don't remember what, but something on the bag broke. I went into a different Coach Outlet store to find out what they could do.

At this time the sales associate was incredibly helpful and understanding. They credited me for the amount of the bag and I was able to pick out a brand new handbag, which I didn't expect whatsoever, but greatly appreciated. After this I was hooked on Coach and from this time on the only brand handbags I bought was Coach. I told everybody I knew about my amazing experience (even years later) because it really showed that the company was dedicated to selling quality products and the customer service was out of this world!

When I went into the Sands Outlets Coach I didn't expect or want a new handbag. In fact if they would have offered that I would have turned them down because I want to keep my bag. It's just the point that they didn't even try to help me or make me happy. Coach employees showed me that they didn't care at all. The handbag was approximately $220.00. It seems pretty ridiculous that Coach bags over $200 only last a year and a half. This is really a hassle and upsetting.

I love my handbag and I want it fixed, but I don't want to put more money into the bag because I am afraid it is going to break again. I don't want to have to pay $55 every year and a half to have this handbag. At this point I haven't gotten it fixed on principle, which stinks because I want to use the bag!!!

Over the years I have spent thousands on Coach products buying purses, perfume, shoes, jewelry, wallets, a headband, wristlets, makeup bags, a passport cover, umbrellas, scarves, key chains, gloves, hats, etc. I have spent so much money at Coach, and they can't wave a $55 fee for my handbag to be repaired??? That says A LOT about Coach as a company.

I have reached out to Coach and the only response I received from them was one that was generic and told me to go into a store to have them evaluate my bag, which I told them I did in my original email. So basically they didn't even read my questions and/or complaints. I am really disappointed and will never buy Coach products again. Coach lost a customer for life, but I am sure they don't care.

Replies
Advertisement
Sweet Repair however, what happened to the customer service...
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- I have a bag I love bought back in the 80's. I keep it in extremely great shape but, one day a lady at a restaurant tripped, knocked my bag off and tore the strap away from the bag. I went to a retail shop to get it sent off for repairs. $35 later I am amazed at the repair job! Looks like it never happened. HOWEVER, why wouldn't they give it a polish? Spruce it up and say, "Here this is why you love our product, isn't it lovely!"

My main confusion/complaint is that I requested to have the bag mailed back to me at my home. Repair time might take up to 6 weeks and at month two I was about to make a trip to the shop to see what was up when I got a call asking if I dropped a bag off for repair. Because they found a bag floating around the back of the shop and the only reason they thought to call me was because I put my business card in the inside zip pocket of the bag!! WTH!!! How long was it floating about, where is the paperwork, why was it shipped to you, not me and thank goodness I put my card in the purse in case.

*Note to all: do what your mum told you to do when packing for a trip and put a tag on the inside with your name and number in case. Thank you mum! How did it get so lost and again where did the paperwork go? What happened to the superior customer service?

Thanks to you repair person for the beautifully repaired tear, a little buff up would have had me singing your praises from the mountaintops and would have probably made me forgive immediately the lack of customer service on the front end of your shops. But, in the end, I got my beloved bag back looking like it was not torn at all.

(And no, the lady who accidentally tore my bag did not offer to pay for the repair. She just looked at me and shrugged then flounced off). I would give repair a 5 star and customer service a reluctant 1 star = my 4-star review. I have a duplicate bag in for repair (Yes, I love that bag!!). Crossing my fingers things go smoother this time around!! (And yes, I sure did put my business card in the zip pocket again ;) )

Replies
Purse Repair
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I bought a Coach leather black purse for around $500 from Nevada outlet Stateline, about 6 or 7 years ago. At that time, the store clerk said the Coach stores repaired or replaced purses for lifetime. In Dec. 2015 I took the purse to Macy store in Torrance, CA for repair. The store clerk said the Coach consider 5 years a lifetime for their purses, and the store refused to send my purse for repair. I also took the Coach purse to Nevada for repairs and they also refused to do so. Watch out. I will never buy another $500.00 Coach purse.

Replies
Replacement Policy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW HAVEN, CONNECTICUT -- I am extremely disappointed and taken back by Coach not honoring a policy that is blatantly expressed by their employees. I returned my bag to have the straps replaced, the last thing I expected to see was my bag nicely repackage and returned in the same condition with a 40% off coupon. That is not resolving the issue with my bag nor is that honoring Coach's policy.

You expect your customers to spend their hard earned money on your products and then when your product fails the customers you send a coupon instead of a guaranteed repair or exchanged which was the initial promise, that is bad business and customer service. I do not appreciate being left without a Coach bag or having to spend out of pocket for a replacement bag. Sincerely, Former Customer.

Replies
Bad Customer Service, Discriminate the Clothes I Was Wearing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LONE TREE, COLORADO -- I went into a Coach store at a mall. Someone walked right by me and did not acknowledge that I was there. I walked around the whole store until I got near the register and finally a salesperson said Hi to me. There was one girl helping a customer but, there was 3 people behind the counter. I guess it takes 3 people to wrap up one bag. There was no other customers beside one at the register.

I wanted to get a satchel, wallet and a watch for Mother's Day. They might have discriminate against my race or by the way I was dressed. I was wearing a sweatshirt, leggings and boots. I guess it wasn't good enough. This was by far the worst customer service I have ever received. I saw that Michael Kors was across the way so, I got my Mother's Day presents there. Coach ruined my shopping experience but, Michael Kors put a smile on my face.

Replies
Advertisement
Discriminated to Chinese American Customer
By -

GILROY, CALIFORNIA -- I am a Chinese America and speak English with my accent. I shopped at Coach Factory outlet Store in Gilroy, California for three years. Most time when I pay the money at counter the cashier shows the madness and disdains to me. If I bring some items to return, they look at me more like enemy.

5/18/2010, when I was in front of cashier's counter to pay some bags, a white young girl who is front manager asked my ID and very rude threw it on the counter, yelling to a cashier: "Check her, Check her!" Her face expression shows: "She is a Criminal, check her background"! I felt so bad and so embarrassed.

(Before a couple times they bring away my ID and Credit card to look some books without tell me anything. It is made me nervous and worried: What's wrong, what happened on me? Also I felt my private information kept by others is a danger things. My private information maybe stolen by somebody and used. I try to ask them so many times, they just ignore my questions, pretend they did not hear.) This time the cashier made a mistake. She did not take an additional 50% off for a markdown leather bag, so I have to go back the store for price adjustment second day.

5/19/2009, after the price correction, I saw three colorful Poppy bags which I bought yesterday on the shelf and I got them to pay. The same girl front manager walked over and took away the three Poppy bags yelling to me: "You cannot buy those bags, you bought yesterday." I asked "why?" She turned her eyes away and answered: "it is Coach new Policy." I asked her: "The policy you told me last time is "not over three items of same style at one transition and total together not over 10 items in 7 days." She said: "This is also a policy, You cannot buy same items every day in Coach store".

I requested to talk with store manager who above her. After a while, store manager ** walked over. I told her every time I come to this store and these cashiers not nice to me and always have new policy to against me. She is so cold and said: "Look the policy in front of you, we reserve our right to limit the customer buying quantity."
I read the policy, there is not policy saying: customer cannot buy same items over three at one time and Customer cannot buy same bags at second time. The only limitation is cannot buy over 10 items in simpler products.

I said Policy did not mention anything about customers cannot buy those bags again. She answered: "It is new corporate policy, we did not tell you, because you did not ask". I told her "if your cashier did not made mistake, I will not need to drive 80 miles back and this will not be happened". She answered: "People make mistakes, you paid that transition by credit card, you signed the sale's sheet without check, so this is all your fault!" Is a store manager should said like those? She threw over the cashiers mistake to my responsibility. Should we trust Coach store anymore?

From her eyes, I felt discrimination, hate and disdain only!!! If I am a white lady and speak perfect English, will she still does those??? I just don't get it, they don't have a common sense: only customer buy, Coach can make money, and keep store in business, so you can be hired. That is the reason Coach Products quality and service going to toilets - They don't care the customers, they only want the money!!! Please do not buy from Coach anymore and let all our friend to know: Stop shop at Coach!!!

Replies
Bag Sent In For Cleaning
By -

JACKSONVILLE, FLORIDA -- I dropped off my bag personally to the Pentagon Coach store in Arlington, VA for Cleaning & Upholstery (if necessary) on 8/3/08 with the understanding that it will be returned to the same store for pickup. I got a call around the 1st week in September of 08 from the Coach store in the Pentagon Mall where I originally dropped it off saying that my bag could not be cleaned or upholstered so they're sending my bag back to the store along with a 40% discount coupon.

I realized on 10/4/08 that I did not receive a call saying that my bag was back so I called the Coach store in Pentagon where I dropped it off originally & they put me on hold to check the back of the store to see if it was back, it wasn't so they called the repair store... they came back & told me that the store mailed it out via Fedex and left it by my Apartment door and there was nothing more the store could do so I told her that is unacceptable and demanded the Fedex tracking number. She said they didn't give it to her & she had already hung up from them.

I then demanded to speak to the repair store. She gave me the repair store number and I called and spoke to a ** who told me the same thing that they had actually sent my bag via FedEx with no insurance and had just left it at my Apartment door which is strange as all the times I have ordered from Coach, they always send their packages securely & requiring a signature. ** called FedEx again to track the signature & he claimed that FedEx said they could not track the package or who signed for it as it was 3 weeks already, I mean it was just 3 wks to the day!!! Ridiculous!!!

I asked again for the Fedex track # and still did not get it... he changed the subject & offered me a replacement coupon of the 40% one that was originally mailed along with an additional 10% making it a 50% off coupon... but this was only replacing the original 40% coupon that I was originally receiving which got lost, what about the value of my lost bag? I'm still out a Bag! That is when I spoke to a Manager ** who offered me an additional 50% coupon to be sent via mail.

Here lies my dilemma... I tried to place an order with the 1st coupon that was given to me by ** and was told when I called back the Coach Repair store that it was invalid and deleted by Manager ** & replaced only with her 50% coupon. That is unfair & I'm still out a bag or an additional 50% off coupon. If anything they can keep their coupon and just mail me a bag equal to the one that they lost. That is what I want - A REPLACEMENT BAG! Thanking you in advance for your assistance in this matter.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Coach, Inc. Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 20 ratings and
38 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Coach, Inc.
516 W. 34th Street
New York, NY 10001
800-444-3611 (ph)
800-553-1422 (fax)
www.coach.com
Compare Clothing Stores