Preview Review

Next Review

College Works Painting - Page 3

Star Star Star Star Empty star
4.2 out of 5, based on 64 ratings and
72 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
College Works Painting
1682 Langley Ave.
Irvine, CA 92614
888-450-9675 (ph)
www.collegeworks.com
info@collegeworks.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Excellent Service, Diligence in Effort, Excellence in Results
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

NORTHVILLE, MICHIGAN -- Travis ** contacted me and asked if I wanted my house painted. After negotiations, we agreed to a contract, and he began work. It was hard-working, punctual, has attention to detail, took any suggestions from me seriously and provided an extremely satisfying finished product. Many neighbors have commented on his work!

Replies
Advertisement
Did the Extra Efforts to Make It Right!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

FREELAND, WASHINGTON -- College Works Painting pressure washed and then painted the exterior of my house. I appreciated their responsiveness to my suggestions and concerns. After the pressure washing did not seem to be high quality, the team manager worked an extra 2-3 hours himself one evening to make it right! The team members were always positive and friendly. They completed the job in a way that allows me to recommend College Works Painting to others!

Replies
Exterior House Painting
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

EAST LANSING, MICHIGAN -- Our Log Home really needed an exterior stain. So, Matthew our Intern sold us on the job. His team came out on a Wednesday 8/9/17 and was finished on 8/17/17, which was our deadline date. Matthew and his team were very professional and considerate of our time and our home. They power washed all the exterior, decks included and then stained the entire home and trimmed out all of our windows. Our home looks brand new now. Would definitely use College Works Painting again!!! Thank you.

Replies
Painting of My House
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

OKEMOS, MICHIGAN -- Working with Josh was an outstanding experience from start to finish. He bid the job very effectively, kept us informed of scheduling and did an extremely good job on the painting. Fast and high quality. I will certainly hire these folks again the next time my house needs painting.

Replies
Advertisement
Exterior Painting of Stucco House and Wooden Garage
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

MINNEAPOLIS, MINNESOTA -- Shawn and his team at College Works were very professional and courteous. They painted quickly and efficiently even though they had to quit several times because of rain. As soon as it stopped they were back painting again. It took a little extra time but the team seemed to work well together. I am very pleased with the new clean look of my house and garage. I will hire them again to paint the house and garage when it needs it again next.

Replies
Bad Experience With College Works Painting
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ELKHORN, WISCONSIN -- Initially things started off well. We pointed out things that we needed to be done as well as things that needed to be redone and some of them did get done. After two days of work I was told that they were done. During the walk around I pointed out areas that I felt were either not completed or poorly done. I was assured that they would come back and correct any and all problems to my satisfaction. They came out on a Sunday and within two hours I was told that they were done again. I felt that they were rushing through the job indicating to me that they did not care about the end result.

One of our main concerns was could they match the existing colors that we were already using. I was assured that the Sherwin Williams product was excellent and the color match would be very close. The end result is that I am not impressed with the Sherwin Williams product and we are left with a poor color match. They then informed me that they could not do anything about it.

The paint on the trim of the house is sloppy with missed areas. Sloppy work was also done around the windows with paint on some of the windows with no cleanup attempt made. There is an area where new windows have been installed with aluminum trim. Paint was applied on the aluminum trim around the windows not sure why they did this because it was not needed. The cleanup of their equipment was using my garden hose leaving an area of damage to the lawn because of paint residue and water running too long in one area.

The paint coverage for Sherwin Williams calls for one coat but it does not perform well applying a light-colored paint over a dark stain without an additional primer or two coat application. The team leader assured me that it had two coats but it is clearly visible that the dark stain is bleeding through indicating that two coats were not applied. When the job was not complete and I pointed out that two coats were needed I was told that additional paint could be ordered at my expense but with their discount.

I pointed out areas of concern where the painting was not done correctly or not done at all. I had to continually point out areas that needed to be corrected which they should have seen for themselves without having to be told. Finally after much frustration I told them to just leave the job site and I will fix the problems myself and do them correctly.

This will create a need to have more paint purchased and my time spent all for what after giving them almost $6000 for the job. I feel as though there was a lack of attention to detail, sloppy work, a rushed job and the poor paint color match. Advice to anyone considering using College Works Painting, go with someone else. You will save money and time in the long run. College Works Painting is not worth the effort. I would not use them again.

Replies
Poor Paint Job
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RACINE, WISCONSIN -- Do not use College Works painters for a Stucco house. They were inexperienced in preparing our Stucco Home for painting. Did not fully clean or brush the dirt off the stucco. Did not fill cracks or inspect the house prior to painting. They are not neat or careful. Did not caulk around window to prevent water intrusions.

Stucco has a lot of cracks, hairline and others. These crack were to be filled prior to painting. They did a few on one side of the house and found it very labor intense and choose not to do the whole house. All cracks must be filled prior to washing or painting for a good job to be done. We were very clear when we spoke to Karl about the work we expected to be done.

Without any advance notice on Friday a young man arrived at about 7:30 pm and began power washing our house. He did not come to our door to tell us he was going to work on our house. He just showed up and unhooked our garden hoses and hooked up his power washer. He did not move anything away from our walls. Just tried to sprayed around thing and avoid our open windows.. He did not power wash the 2nd story or front entry.

We had windows open and he did not care. He left by 8:30 pm and he did not reconnect our hoses. We were told by Karl work was going to start our house Monday. Karl, claims he told us work would start before. NO, NO we had work to do to clear areas for the painters on the weekend.

Two College Works (Jesse and Mercedes) arrived on Monday morning and started painting. They did not have a broom or long brush to finish cleaning the Stucco. They had a small hand held whisk broom which hardly, if every, left the plastic box it came in. Power wash from Friday night was a very poor job. Jesse acknowledge that the wash was very poor, but he painted right over the dirty stucco. I informed Jesse I could still see bleed though and told him a second coat is necessary as the paint they chose states for coverage; Karl stated it would. I asked why Mercedes wasn't back rolling with a thick nap roller. They ignore me and kept working.

Contract note: Fill all cracks - They choose not to fill all cracks, in fact only did a couple. Fill needs to cure before painting but they painted over and then told us they mixed they used to fill is coming out. Did not go back and repair. I personally talked to the young man to be sure all cracks were filled. He got on his phone to Karl and ignore my statements. They taped very few areas, and the amount of over spray on our black light fixtures and railings was totally unacceptable. They do not cover well if at all. All side of our house had over spray and all of our wall fixtures.

BE very specific on your contract. Karl verbally ensured us they would clean our house. Contract note: power spray as necessary – therefore they did not power spray the 2nd story nor brush or remove dirt or mildew from most of the house. They did not move anything that was along the walls, they spray around. We explain our house had not been sealed or painted for over 15 years and we needed it done right. Karl assured us it would be.

When choosing a paint be sure to state how the paint should be applied: brushed on rolled on or sprayed on with back brush. College Works chose to spray and not back brush. And did a very poor job applying. They missed or just did not paint behind things. If they could not spray it did not get painted. They did not have proper tools, like good paint brushes and rollers or pan to put paint in. They only used the cans of paint to get paint out of.

Paint quality: Karl recommended a very good paint. He emphasized how good the paint was and how it will cover and beautify our home. Contract note: one coat. Very strange when we saw the poor coverage we were getting we look up the paint. Sherwin ** states for coverage two coats are required. College Works would not honor what paint spec call for. We ended up with a lot of bleed through and missed areas that were not finished correctly. Finish is not uniform and cut line is so jagged it looks terrible.

During contract discussions, WE made Karl aware that several area of our home had stains. He assured me that paint would cover and we would be happy. We would not need to prime any areas. If you have stains on your Stucco insist on a stain covering primer be applied before that paint. Every day the two painters arrived whenever. We were never informed of a start or finish time. They did not introduce themselves. They just entered our yard and set up. One morning while we were still in bed we were woken by very loud music from a radio. We did not appreciate the loud music at 7:30 am.

Clean up was washing a small roller with our garden hose, spraying all the excess paint on our grass. I told them this was not good. The young girl said it is biodegradable and would not hurt our grass. OK, it does not hurt our grass, but we now have an area of white grass and brown grass. They did this every day and it looks terrible. They store what little equipment they had under a tarp in our yard.

Inspection per contact: We were to have a nightly walk around with Karl. This is THIRD night and we still have not had one. He is the team leader – shows up when Jesse, calls or text him with our concerns. I do not feel Karl is addressing any of our concerns. Listens well, nods well, and then ignores what we are telling. He is telling us this is normal and we will be happy before the job is done.

Thursday, work continues and no change to how they paint or protect our house or clean up. Now our front evergreens are sprayed white in various spots. Our porch railings are more white than black. Over spray is everywhere. We are told they have to do touch up and will clean our rails. They did not.

Thursday evening Karl shows up and ask how we like the job. Our reply was it looks terrible. He was stunned. We confronted him about the contract note: nightly walk around. Karl said why didn't we call him. Like we are to do his job for him and he was not concerned. It in the contact KARL. WE knew His painters were calling him daily with our concerns, because they stopped doing anything and hung out in the yard on the phone.

After the walk around they spent another couple of hours painting the unpainted areas and trying addressing our concerns. WE are not happy with all the work. We must do the make our house look like what we expected from College Works. They offered a small dollar adjustment for the over spray and agreed it was unacceptable. Karl took our check and left. Karl stated if we did not pay them they would put a 10 year lien on our house.

Company Response 07/17/2015:

Hi, we are so sorry to hear about your experience. Your interaction with our company has certainly been unacceptable on our part and we'd like to do everything we can to make this right for you. We have limited information here on the site. Can you call us at 888-450-9675 or email us at info@collegeworks.com so we can help you out ASAP?

Replies
Great Job!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

CATONSVILLE, MARYLAND -- Contracted with Trey ** of College Works in March of 2017 to power wash and paint double-deck, front door, shutters, and concrete surrounding base of house in the spring preferably May 2017. After signing contract, Trey kept in touch as promised to begin work early May.

Color choices were made and guys showed for work as scheduled though the week proved to be one of the hottest for spring in May. All prep work of scraping, pounding nails into wood, etc. performed and finished product left house ready for spring flowers. Workers were prompt and efficient leaving no mess for cleanup by homeowner even though job took several days. I would definitely use Trey and his crew again if the need arose.

Replies
Advertisement
Nightmare, Inexperience, Constant Renegotiating After Contract Signed, Sloppy Unprofessional
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VANCOUVER -- It was time to have our 105-year-old house painted again after 12 years. We decided that we would give a college student the opportunity to do the work having had great success with another company called College Pro painters. When the student came to our door from College Works Painting based out of Irvine CA, we thought "let's give them an opportunity." Turns out the company is run like a pyramid. They do not provide adequate paint training and send teams out into the workforce green, without proper tools.

Some of the reasons for why things were being done were so far off the mark we had to finally say STOP before more damage is done to the house. What took our previous workers 3 weeks to complete once College Works arrived we were told they would be here for 4 days which included pressure washing, scraping, priming, and a spray coat so thin you could see the bare wood underneath.

We were told that they pressure wash and scrape and prime right away because the wood is soft from the pressure wash and the paint scraping is easier. As they gouged their way through the soft wood I couldn't believe my eyes and a few hours later came home to find they had primed the wet wood and an hour or two later sprayed the paint.

The next day told the story. Paint was blistering, and bubbles under the old paint had formed. To cut our losses we had a stop order and have been forced to find someone qualified to paint and repair damage done by inexperience students. I don't blame them entirely but College Works Painting is the one that should be held accountable for taking student money and having them invest in this business.

Yes, they are student investors whose source of income is based on speed not a job well done. I can only say that if anyone in Canada or US is considering using College Works I say be careful and buyer beware because you are not going to get what you think you are. We were lead to believe the house was going to be brushed and they came with a sprayer that holds one quart at a time nothing of commercial quality.

Think twice before you hire the student and do you due diligence when it comes to researching the company. You are not going to get what you have signed on the dotted line for. Reviews for this company are strictly from investor perspective and customer reviews are non-existent. In summary, sales pitch great you know--help a student, quality of work in the basement.

Company Response 07/17/2015:

Hi, we are so sorry to hear about your experience. Your interaction with our company has certainly been unacceptable on our part and we'd like to do everything we can to make this right for you. We have limited information here on the site. Can you call us at 888-450-9675 or email us at info@collegeworks.com so we can help you out ASAP?

Replies
Hard but Worth It.
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

EAST CENTRAL, KANSAS -- I interned with College Works Painting during the spring/summer of 2015. The internship focuses on sales in the spring and producing the work in the summer. I had a very rough time getting started with sales and was very discouraged throughout the spring semester that I was not going to do well. Instead of quitting, I decided to throw myself as hard as I could at this internship so that at the end I could at the very least tell myself that I had done my best. I poured myself into my work every weekend until I got results.

Producing the work I had booked turned out to be even more of a challenge than selling it in the first place. This was the first time I had really been put in charge of people, and I didn't always hire the best. On some occasions, even after pouring myself into projects I still had customers and workers who were hard to work with.

I bet at this point you're wondering why I rated this 5 stars. It's because even though this was really hard, I would still do it again in a heartbeat. This internship challenged me in ways I would not have been challenged otherwise. I met some awesome lifelong friends and went on some fantastic adventures with them. No matter how hard my job got I had support from the people above me and when I got written letters and thank you notes from my customers it made me feel like I really accomplished something.

“Nothing in the world is worth having or worth doing unless it means effort, pain, difficulty… I have never in my life envied a human being who led an easy life. I have envied a great many people who led difficult lives and led them well.” Theodore Roosevelt

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >