Colorado Attorney General Office

2 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Xcel energy
Posted by on
DENVER, COLORADO -- As a consumer from your state, I felt it was my responsibility to bring to your attention the following incident.

In October 2004 my company, Primacy Relocation, moved me from Denver Colorado to Memphis, TN. In 2005 as part of my relocation package my company sold the house I owned in Denver at 3300 West Union Ave, Englewood 80110.

In the fall of 2006 a $900 delinquency for Xcel energy showed up on my credit report. I called Xcel to find out about the delinquency but they didn't know anything about it. The charges were protested and the delinquency was dropped from my credit report.

In November 2007, my daughter who lives in Highlands Ranch received a bill from Xcel for $990. When she inquired about the charges she was told they added a $911 charge for a past due amount from the house on Union Ave. the house that was sold in 2005.

When I called Xcel concerning this issue, they indicated the charges were for utility services on the Union Ave house from November 2004 through November 2005. I requested bills from that time period to show the billings. To date I've only received statement a from July 2005 indicating a balance due of $667, no monthly statements have been provided indicating what comparises this amount. The amounts on the July invoice do not add up to the charges on the statement.

Also my company's records indicate the Union Ave property was sold to an outside buyer, the sale closed September 15, 2005. Billing for services are through the end of November 2005, two months after the property was sold.

On December 12, I made a $220 payment towards the liability so they wouldn't shut off my daughters utilities. This payment is not reflected on the statement I received today.



As a resolution, I would like the following:

1. I want the actually statements that were sent out with the billings for each month, a month by month accounting of the charges.

2. The address where the bills were sent.

2. Remove the amounts from the period following the date the property was sold in September 2005.

3. An explanation from Xcel as to why it took so long to get this figured out and how they allowed a bill to go unpaid for a year without my knowledge or any contact.

4. In addition I want to know why no one was able to explain the delinquency on my credit report when I called Xcel in the fall of 2006.

Please contact me if you need more details regarding this incident.
     
Replies
Significant HP Privacy issues and Consumer Fraud
Posted by on
LOVELAND, COLORADO -- As a consumer from your state, I felt it was my responsibility to bring to your attention the following incident.

We purchased a new HP Pavilion October 30, 2006 and it began freezing up shortly after. After numerous contacts with customer service and trying everything from System Restore to System Recovery (twice) computer still froze up. Very helpful customer service people said our hard drive was dead and needed to be replaced. That's where the 'helpful' ended and the 'extremely troubling' started. We were sent a 'new' hard drive for our almost brand new computer which ended up being a hard drive pulled from someone else's computer that STILL HAD ALL THEIR PERSONAL INFORMATION ON IT. When we contacted the 'Hard Drive Help' people, they didn't seem to understand our concern - first we were told - "that's how it is supposed to be, you just need to install the operating system". When we told them how upset we were because 1)we had someone else's personal information and 2)they were obviously sending out old parts and marketing them as new, we were put on hold for 15 minutes and then told to "send back the 'new' hard drive immediately" that there had been a huge mistake. They had our credit card number and said that if we didn't receive the hard drive back in x number of days, we would be charged for it. We contacted the people who had owned the hard drive and let them know what was happening and that we had to send it back because we couldn't afford being charged for it. The saga is still continuing weeks later, we still don't have a hard drive, but we were told today by a HP Customer Service Representative that they NEVER send out new hard drives, that they are always pulled and wiped. My husband is a broker for electronic components and in his area of the industry it is illegal to send out refurbished parts without representing them as such. We have a new computer, we would like new parts for that computer.

As a resolution, I would like the following:

We just want to make certain that HP is sending out new parts to customers who believe that is what they are receiving. Plus, we are required by them to send back our old hard drive or be charged the full price of a NEW hard drive (more than we paid for our computer), so we would like to know how we make certain that our private information is safe. Can you help us or suggest who we can talk to that can?

Please contact me if you need more details regarding this incident.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >