Preview Review

Next Review

Comcast Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Incorrect Billing Has Taken 4 Months and Is Still Not Resolved!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MARION, VIRGINIA -- In May, my Comcast bill was raised by $10 and I was not able to determine what the charge was for. When I called to find out why, I was first told it was a sports package I had signed up for. I let them know that I would not sign up for a sports package because my husband and I do not watch sports. They then changed the story that it was for the HD channels on my TV and that they would adjust the bill.

When I signed up for Comcast in July, 2014 I asked several times if the price they quoted was for 1 year or 2 years. Every time, the person on the phone said 2 years. So, I was shocked to find a different amount on the bill. While $10 was not a big difference, it would amount to about $120 over the rest of my contract life. I was assured by the gentleman on the phone, the one who changed his story of what the money was for, that it was taken care of and that I would not have any other increases. He gave me the amount to pay, which I paid.

I signed up for Comcast on July 1, which means that the modem special, which should have been for 12 months, was only for 11 months, if that is why I was charged extra. My June bill arrived, and not only was the amount not fixed, but I was charged another $10 fee, which again I could not determine why I was now charged an additional $20. Thinking that it was an error and that somehow the credit for May's bill was not registering. When I called, the person I talked to explained that the original $10 fee charged on my May bill was for the modem special that had expired.

I related the conversation when I signed up for Comcast that the fee I was being charged was for 2 years and was not informed that the special would expire in 11 months. I do give her credit for attempting to make the situation right. She did check and I was able to sign up for another 1 year special and she said she would take care of the $20 billing problem. She gave me an amount that I would pay for the June bill, which I did.

In July, my bill arrived and it was well over $100 higher than it was in June. I called Comcast again and the lady investigating the charge said I had been charged an early termination fee when the change for the new modem special was made in June. Again, I give this lady credit for attempting to make the mistake right. She removed the fee, according to her, and had it ready for her supervisor, who was not there, to sign so it could get submitted to the billing department. I was told that this would correct the problem and that my bill would be correct after this. Why, oh why did I believe her?

My August bill arrived today, and when I looked at it, I was now $254 past due on the account. I was very frustrated that it was taking a fourth call to attempt to correct the error. I spoke with a customer service representative who, after hearing my story, said I had to speak with someone in the billing department. This is where my day went downhill. She was very condescending.

When I explained what was going on, she looked at the bill and told me that I was incorrect, the adjustments had been made and that I only owed $10 for the month. When I questioned her, she said it takes several months for the bill to appear correct (why had no one said this?) and that their billing was confusing. She said I hadn't bothered to open the bill, but I had it open on my computer.

When I told her that, she insinuated that the problem was mine since I didn't know how to read the bill. When I questioned her on the fact that 1) her statement that the bill was confusing and 2) that it still showed it was incorrect, she condescendingly repeated that the problem was mine for not understanding. She cut me off several times in the conversation to repeat her statements throughout the call.

I asked to speak with the supervisor and surprise, a supervisor was not available. Do the supervisors work??? If the billed showed $254 past due, one would assume that is the amount due for payment, whether it is viewed through the email or online. When I called, the automated voice said I had $254 past due. When I opened the bill online through Comcast, the bill showed the amount due was $254.

I am so over Comcast. They will not get my business in the future and I will be sharing this story with people so they can evaluate their desire to be aligned with a company who makes so many errors and treats customers as though they are 5-year-old errant children.

Replies
Advertisement
Most Corrupt/Inept Company We've Ever Dealt With
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WOODBURY, MINNESOTA -- In Jan. of 2014 we signed on with Comcast for cable TV/phone/internet. They were offering a two-year "special" (with a cancellation fee for the first year) and, per my request, our sales representative wrote on our Purchase Order exactly what it would cost for the second year. Immediately our bills were way too high, but after my husband argued with them, they dropped down to the agreed amount. But after the year was up, sky-high went the bills again.

I requested a better copy of our signed Purchase Order with the rep's notes, as our customer copy wasn't totally legible. This seemed like such a simple request, which any decent company would comply with. I made multiple phone calls and got multiple stories - the Service Order had been archived; it no longer existed; if we went to our local Comcast store, they would have a copy for us.

I went there and was told it had been scanned and shredded. I asked for a copy of the scan. I was yelled at. I called my husband and the "Customer Support" person yelled at him on the phone. She said, "Our sales reps promise this stuff all the time, but we can't make any money THAT way!" When she finally looked at the Service Order copy I did have, she said she could see there was more writing on it, and she would talk to her supervisor and they would call us the VERY NEXT DAY to reduce our bill to what we felt it should be. She insisted on shaking my hand. No one ever called.

I filed a Complaint with our state Attorney General - merely asking that Comcast provide us a better copy of our Service Order and then abide by it. Then we received a copy of an "Agreement" from them in the mail. It claimed we had "requested" this new Agreement, which locked us into a two-year contract with a large cancellation fee.

Yesterday we received a call from a Comcast representative (she only called because of the AG Complaint - plus we had complained to our local cable franchise office). We recorded the call. She said that on the date I had been in their store, one of us asked for this two-year contract. That is hogwash. But to make things worse, she insisted that this "Agreement" had then been verified with us over the phone by their "3rd-party verification vendor."

Neither of us has ever taken a call from such a person (and, no one else lives here…). When I asked her which one of us did that, she said WE should know that. When I asked for proof (like a recording?), she said they would not give us that, and we could take them to court.

We are now giving up cable TV (they're the only provider here), and switching our phone/internet company. The representative threatened a cancellation fee. I have a feeling this isn't over yet. I cannot describe how stunned we are by all this. The Comcast store promised me a refund of the overcharges, but I know that will never happen. But if they try to charge us one more penny, we will be in Conciliation Court. Also, thank you to our state Senator Franken who was instrumental in today quashing the Comcast/Time Warner merger. This company is already w-a-y too big for its britches.

Update 04/26/2015:

I am adding part of that recent conversation with Comcast. (In our state, you can record your own phone conversations. However, I did tell her at the end that it had been recorded.)

Comcast: Our position remains the same in regards to the response that I forwarded to the Attorney General… I did inform him that we do have an Agreement on file… where the Agreement was placed through a third-party verification process on March 24th of 2015... Third-party verification means that you agreed to the upgrade or the promotional pricing that was offered.

Hubby: On March 24 of 2015??

Me: Nobody agreed to anything, ma'am… We got [an Agreement form] that was dated this year which … locks us into two years with a big cancellation fee. Nobody agreed to that…

Comcast: Well, [it's] correct because we did get that third-party acceptance.

Hubby: Can we talk about that third-party acceptance?

Comcast: I'm trying to explain it to you. When you agreed to the promotion and the promotion was added, we send all of our customers through third-party agreements whenever there's any contracts or you're signing up for a special promotional offer that lasts for up to 24 months. And with this particular Agreement … either you had called because the Agreement had bumped up… and so when you agreed to another Agreement, then that nulls out the first one, so you did get a copy … of the recent one that was agreed upon on March…

Me: Who agreed?

Comcast: The upgrade was placed. And you had contacted us in regards to it. Because the Agreement…

Me: Who agreed?

Comcast: … a verbal agreement over the phone.

Me: Who agreed?

Comcast: Why don't you tell me. Why don't both- because both of you are on the phone.

Me: But who agreed?

Comcast: Both of you are on the phone, so one of you can tell me who agreed.

Hubby: Neither one of us agreed.

Me: Neither one of us agreed. Do you have this recorded?

Comcast: We have it on file.

Me: You do. We would like a recording of who agreed.

Comcast: Well, you won't get that recording.

Me: I'm sure we won't because no one did.

Comcast: But the Agreement has been sent to you…

Hubby: I want to make sure I'm clear on this. You are saying that either C___ or I talked...

Comcast: That is correct.

Me: Which one? Which one of us? If you have it recorded…

Comcast: Either you…

Me: Well, we don't sound the same.

Comcast: Ma'am, that's done through a third party. It's not even done by Comcast. A third party has this information.

Me: Who is the third party, ma'am?

Comcast: It is our vendor…

Me: I'm sorry, who is the vendor?

Comcast: If you want that information, then you can either take us to court to get it because that's not…

Me: Take you to court to figure out who signed up for a two-year…??!

Comcast: But you're asking me questions that are not relevant to the issue here.

Hubby: Of COURSE they're relevant!

Comcast: OK, so what I'm saying to you is that we have an Agreement on file, which you agreed to … on March 24 of 2015 …

Me: You say that some third-party vendor (quote, unquote) signed us up over the phone, somebody gave permission, you won't tell us who this vendor is, and you say go to court to find out?

Comcast: No, here's what I'm saying to you, to clarify it. You agreed with Comcast to accept this promotion.

Me: No…

Comcast: OK, you're saying “No,” so it's OK to disagree, but this is what we're showing happened. So during the agreement process, to validate it, we forward it over to a third-party verification process or vendor…

Me: So PROVE that.

Comcast: Ma'am, we sent you a copy of the Agreement.

Me: It is not in my opinion legal to tell somebody they have a contract they have to opt out of when they haven't signed up for it…

Hubby: Before we finish- and this is a yes or no question, and I'd like to complete it before you answer. Are we clear that you won't send us any proof that we participated in a third-party verification and that we-

Comcast: No, no, I'm not going to-

Hubby: You were supposed to let me FINISH.

Comcast: Oh, you go right ahead, sir, I apologize, I thought you were finished.

Hubby: I want to be perfectly clear that you will not send us any proof that we participated in a third-party verification, and that we agreed to something, and that we signed off on something. I want you to just answer yes or no.

Comcast: No, I won't send you any information other than the Agreement that we've already sent you… What I've stated to you is that what she put when she put in that new order…

Me: Who is she?

Comcast: Uh, whoever you spoke with, whenever you upgraded your service, and agreed to with the third-party verification in regards to changing your contract.

Replies
Cancellation of Service - Constitute Cancel of Service Agreement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I return to Comcast/Infinity on December 10, 2014. Wrong move on my part! Since then I have had to return the modem 3 times, not once but three times! Days after my enrollment on December 27, 2014, 5:23 pm chatted with a representative where someone had utilized my information to setup an account and had access set up security questions to which I was not aware. I contact Customer Security assurance department and I advise this was a breach in Security and if the situation was taking care I would handle the situation accordingly to the law of Texas against the right of a citizen.

This has been an ongoing battle and I am just over it! On May 6, 2015 spoke with a representative who could not care less about their communication skills nor the customer, advising the cable needs to be change out due to the Internet service was not uploading and downloading as to the speed to which I am paying! The technician came out and change the internal cable inside my office but the connection was not up to the plan I had purchase. Contact Comcast on the March 30, 2016, technician show up advise needs to replace the cable connection located in the back yard! The cable is above surface and the weather is affecting the connection.

Technician walked around the backyard and then proceed to his truck and stayed there for about 30 to 35 minutes talking on the phone; arriving to my home at 9:20 am and was gone by 10 am! Not a thing was done! Contact Comcast on Friday July 29th, time 2:45 pm advising no signal and advising to setup appointment for a technician to come to examine the outside cable. The appointment was schedule for Sunday, 31st of July 2 pm! I had already made arrangement to attend an event, and decide to reschedule the appointment for Tuesday 2nd of August, time 10 am!

The representative shows up at 10:15 am - 10:20 am. I told him I really need him to check the outside cable connection. He first verify the cable connection on the inside of my office, then I had to contact my neighbors to place their dogs in the backyard within the garage, due to the fact the cable connection is connect to their cable box! Why on earth would anyone in their right mind would connect a cable connection to a neighbor's box, therefore any issue with the cable wiring I have to bother the neighbors to allow the service technician for repairs! Can you describe these action in one word! I can!

The technician replaces the cable due to the neighbor's dogs had chew the wire and had buried the cable! However, he did connect the new cable on my side, but the cable is still above surface being submitted to all the heat and sprinkler system. The technician did advise he had made an appointment to have the cable bury using my Comcast email address but I do not see any confirmation within my email address or to say the least if the confirmation was even made for someone to bury the outside cable.

Furthermore, within my account the download speed I am paying for is for 250 Mbps and upload speed is 25 Mbps. Well the speeds shows download is 40 to 48 Mbps and upload is 25-30 Mbps! This is false advertising and I am not getting what I am paying for a 80 dollars monthly fee! This is not what I agreed upon and this is false representation! This goes against the consumer right and I will succeed in getting out of the contract. I have everyone name, time, dates I spoke with regarding this matter and I will succeed! I have retain a copy of this message for my file!

Replies
Poor Service, Poorer Care
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ATLANTA, GEORGIA -- So, I was a loyal Comcast customer for over 10 years, beginning in 2000. Then, I started having trouble with some of my services and decided to give AT&T Uverse a shot, since they finally showed up in my community. Loved it, loved them, and loved their consistent attention and care for their customers... not to say they don't have issues at times, but they handle things so very well that they make you feel bad for even bringing it up. That said... I had to move, just up the street to a new community, and I am being forced to use Comcast (Bulk services?).

I upgraded to the triple play back on the 5th of June, and was told that the equipment would be delivered within 3-5 business days. Great. Fantastic. On the the 10th I called just to see where things were... to ask when I might be receiving my equipment... and was told that the order was still sitting in their system with a "pending" status, so had never been forwarded to the warehouse that ships the equipment -- I asked how that could possibly have happened, and I also asked what would have been the outcome had I not called to check. Dude said, "... no one would have known if you had not called..." What?!

So I said, "...alrighty then... let's get that fixed -- and by the way... can you send that to me fast-tracked, since I am now without TV, Internet, or phone?" He said, "...no problem... just one thing though, you're gonna need to pay $29 for the quicker shipment." At that point I was so frustrated that I just said, "Whatever." And he said they would "share" the cost with me. You know, like it was MY fault that they didn't do their jobs correctly the first time. Fine. On the 15th, still no equipment.

Third call. "Oh, wait... we just now sent that package out to you... and we don't have any actual tracking information to help determine when you will actually get the package. Could be tomorrow, could be a couple of days after that." Package showed up on the 16th. But wait, there were only two of the four pieces of equipment I was expecting. Fourth call. Rep says, "Your account activity actually shows that it's been cancelled... and it looks like prior to the cancellation, there were only two pieces of equipment ordered." What?! "Yep..."

Four reps and two supervisors later, I am being told that I now have to wait for a call tomorrow (18th) for the account to be straightened out. And if I try to make any changes to the account (since none of the reps actually got my itemization correct), then "...the audit department would make it so that NO SERVICES would be connected at my location..." What?!

The last representative I spoke to acted as if I had called back all those times to make changes to my order, when in fact, each time I called back -- BECAUSE OF THEIR TOTAL AND COMPLETE LACK OF COMPETENCE -- I had them read back to me what was shown in the order and IT WAS NEVER CORRECT. How is that my fault?

These folks really don't give a crap about customer service or just plain SERVICE for that matter. I just don't get how they can all be so callous regarding how they affect our lives. I know they have a ton of customers, and I know they have it so that you are basically stuck in certain situations or areas; however, know this... depending on where you live, work, & play, YOU DO NOT HAVE TO USE THEM AT ALL. I have the option to split up my services and only take the Basic/Expanded that the complex forces us to use... and I will use another company for my internet and phone. ANY OTHER COMPANY.

Almost everything you watch on Cable can now be accessed through the internet and all sorts of apps. Hulu Plus, Netflix, Amazon Prime, HBO Go, etc., are now viable options to completely do away with cable. Comcast has basically ensured that I will now be one of the loudest voices in the "down-with-Comcast" arena.

My puny little dollars may not make a big difference to them... but by God, I will spend the rest of my days trying to convert as many folks as I can reach. THEY ARE RIDICULOUS. They need to train their employees to actually know their product and to actually care about the customers on the other end of the dollars they collect every dang month!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALPHARETTA, GEORGIA -- Contacted Comcast on Sept 22nd to cancel services, spoke with a representative who was processing the request and informed me the prorated balance would be refunded to my account. November 7th, received a bill from Comcast for service, contacted once again and discussed situation with another rep. In review he saw that the account was supposed to be cancelled, according to him, on the 24th. I argued and stated I had called on the 22nd but after a minute conceded the two days wasn't worth arguing any further. The agent agreed to backdate the cancellation to the 24th and refund the unused portion of my services.

November 16th, opened a bill from Comcast showing an outstanding charge of $67. Contacted Comcast immediately and after 2 reps found out this was a $90 charge for non-return equipment. I stated we had never been told we needed to return the equipment and that we would do so immediately. Equipment was returned on Nov 17th to a Comcast brick and mortar facility and a receipt showing the return was obtained.

Early December, contacted Comcast again to complete closing out the account. Agent stated it was in process but didn't see the returned equipment. December 29th, contacted Comcast yet again as I had not received the outstanding credit. Spoke to an agent who informed me that I had not received any credit because I was being charged for services from the backdated cancellation of Sept 24th through to November 17th when I returned my device. I disputed stating I had done what was required and it was Comcast's issue if they couldn't disconnect service after it was requested.

I was told a research ticket was filed for their back office team to investigate internet usage to determine if they could complete the credit. I was told if there was no usage that the credit would be applied. I was told a supervisor would contact me within 2 weeks with the results – no contact ever.

January 15th Contacted Comcast, was routed through 4 agents, finally to a retention agent. After providing a detailed update of what has occurred provided a $60 credit and stated the Supervisor would have to provide the remaining amount but he/she was not in and would not be back in the office until that Thursday but when they arrive back they would process the remaining credit to 0 out the account and contact me – no contact ever.

I contacted Comcast on January 22nd, finally reaching an agent after working my way through the sales department. I again explained my situation to a Billing representative who stated he couldn't help. I asked for a supervisor and was promptly disconnected. Second call January 22nd, again routed through sales - got a hold of an agent named **. He reviewed my account and was working on making the credit to the account when, surprise, promptly disconnected.

It has been 4 months since cancelling my services. I am due approximately $23 in refund, yet Comcast has charged me $90 for equipment that I returned and haven't been credited, in fact they have refused to provide a credit for the equipment yet they are in possession of it. I still don't have my refund, I have been put into collections and threatened to report the past due amount to the credit bureaus. I have performed my duties in this relationship while Comcast has continually failed to follow up on their commitments. I want the account closed, my payment refunded and a guarantee nothing will be reported to the credit reporting bureaus.

Replies
The Worst Service - Their TV Commercials Are Such Lies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FLORIDA -- Tallahassee. I moved but stayed in Tallahassee within 7 miles of each address. In trying to schedule the service move with a request for the exact same service that I currently had. Getting the service transferred took me over 3 1/2 hours of on-telephone time. All the transferring, waiting on hold, transferring again, getting cut off, was ridiculous.

Lo & behold, the move happens, the tech arrives to hook up the service (quite smoothly here) but my service is NOT the same as I had. Many channels I no longer get & the on-screen messages is that I need the "subscription". Well finally, about a month after the move, I have time to spend on the phone to try to get it corrected. Again over an hour on the phone on hold & being transferred to no resolve. So I try their online chat. The tech actually, at last, tried the reboot of the equipment several times to no avail. Although I asked, never explained why the service was different (or less) and what the "subscription" meant.

They sent me a new box. Wanted to charge me $9+ for shipping - of thank you - supposed being waived. So now I get to try to self-install. Because I moved a small 7 miles, I no longer have the identical service, have spent about 5+ hours trying to accomplish things by phone and another 90 minutes on a phone chat with a tech.

Christ - I hate Comcast and will voice it repeated and as soon as another service is available I will be gone from that company. (Oh and typical - in another state when visiting my sister, they had "an appointment" with a Comcast tech for a technical issue with their services. Sure the Comcast van showed up almost exactly on time, but drove by the house, went around the cul-de-sac and simply drove away. Failed appointment - like everything else Comcast does).

Replies
Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHUA, NEW HAMPSHIRE -- I have been through hell this last week with this company. I was part of a bulk plan through my apartment complex and left with no choice but to use the company and forced to pay for cable whether I wanted it or not. The crazy thing is it would seem not a single customer representative has ever heard of a bulk account or at the very least has no clue how to manage these accounts.

It was a nightmare setting up and was a nightmare to give back the box for the cable and transfer my internet when I moved out. Endless call transfers that get you nowhere! And some of the nastiest/rudest customer service I have ever received from any company! I was very clear about wanting the exact same internet service I was already receiving in my old place moved to my new place, when they told me the price it had gone up. I asked why and was told it is just the price being offered, come to find out they upped my speed and were charging me extra!

I went into the store to give the boxes back after I actually moved. They informed me my set up that I was assured several times over the phone was all good to go was actually not processed because they forgot to disconnect the previous tenants service. I was again assured it was all taken care of, but then I got home only to find my internet was not working in my new place even though it was prior to going into the store. I then had to call Comcast yet again to try and resolve my issue.

I was called "ma'am" despite repeatedly saying my name was Mathew which I corrected them on only to be called ma'am 1 min later by the same (barely English speaking) representative. I asked to speak to a supervisor but was instead transferred to IT. I would drop Comcast in a heart beat but just like my previous apartment, my current apartments only option is Comcast, what a nightmare! I would strongly recommend if you have other options than Comcast to seek them out and don't get stuck in their trap, you will never get out, just transferred, and transferred, and transferred....

Replies
Told One Price and Then Charged Way More
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MODESTO, CALIFORNIA -- My mother, which I help out at times since she's 87 years old, has had Infinity for a few years with TV, phone and Internet. Her modem started having trouble so I took it in to Infinity to exchange. The person at the counter claimed she could save money each month by switching to a new bundle, adding security. I told the lady several times that we didn't need security but she said it'd be worth it so she could lower the total monthly bill from $192 to $153. There would only be an installation fee of $16.50 for 6 months. Sounded good and my mother had the package changed, thinking now her bill would be around $170 a month for six months and then down to $153 a month.

Her first bill came and it is $314.17. That's way higher! She didn't cancel the security system before 30 days because she'd no idea her bill would be higher than they originally told her in the Infinity office. Now they want $1000 + to cancel the security system that she didn't need or want in the first place, plus she has installation fees and a higher monthly bill than before! They definitely tricked her into something she doesn't need. She has never used the security and never will. So we'll end up paying $1000 plus for absolutely nothing.

Comcast was very dishonest on this matter. Sounds like elder abuse to me. I've called several times to Comcast plus gone to their office several times and I get various excuses and a refusal to budge, just saying we signed and are stuck with it. The installer told her she could cancel within 30 days with no penalty, but of course the first bill, charging way more than they originally told her, didn't come tell after 30 days so we didn't know we should cancel before the bill came. They clearly are taking advantage of an 87 year old that trusted what they said.

Replies
Advertisement
Improper Troubleshooting, Trouble Tickets Canceled, Flawed Management, Lied to Repeatedly
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 3/51

WOODBINE, GEORGIA -- Tuesday 28 April 2015, a technician arrived to troubleshoot the loss of reported failed channels. Before his arrival two of three channels had been restored remotely. The technician was unaware the reported channels were missing on all TV sets in the house. When replacing the LR TV coax connector and observing the signal was not restored, he was surprised. I asked why he replaced that connector as the report I made stated it was a loss to all TVs, not the LR set. He replaced numerous coaxial connectors, and talked to someone several times, but did not correct the fault or identify where the fault existed.

When I received an automated Comcast call requesting a performance rating, my responses triggered two responses; notification a supervisor would be calling me to discuss the work and I was asked to give an oral report via their message system. No supervisor ever called, as promised; perhaps my oral report emphasized the technician was improperly trained... but not why his supervisor could not lead him to understand how to use his equipment. I requested the technician compare other signals to observe what the strength of the missing channel should have, to no avail.

Thirty six hours later, I called to ascertain when the next technician would arrive to conduct troubleshooting, I learned the earlier trouble ticket was cancelled without repairs being completed and without my consent or knowledge. I initiated a new ticket. Saturday, 2 May 2015, a different technician arrived and immediately identified the fault was off my property entirely, and was isolated to the amplifier for the entire subdivision. Exactly what I reported to both technicians, as the most recent other faults had been isolated to that equipment. This technician was quick, efficient, accurate, in short... perfect.

He explained he could not perform the repairs as his department had separated those duties to more senior personnel. The repair now fell to the maintenance group. The next Tuesday, 5 May 2015, I called Comcast for an update. Again, someone had cancelled my trouble ticket. No new ticket for Maintenance group repairs had been created, until I promoted them to issue a new ticket. The fault still exists, and IMO, no trouble ticket should ever be cancelled until a new ticket is issued and the customer is apprised of the shift to the new ticket... along with scheduling a repair timeframe.

In this case, my presence is not required, as the technician can observe the loss of signal before repairs and the restoration of a signal at the remote repair site itself. Despite being told a supervisor would call me via automated message once and twice by live agents, no such call was made. We have an answering machine, should I have not been available. I have spoken to supervisors twice in the last 15 years while at this location.

Replies
Comcast Deceptive Customer Retention Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EAST BAY, CALIFORNIA -- I am a Comcast residential customer, fresh off several phone calls with two different Comcast reps in Billing and, thirdly, a supervisor. The reason I originally called is to inquire about contract renewal pricing, given that I am at the end of my original 12 month promo pricing as of this month.

The first two reps insisted I signed up for a "2 year contract" when I initially established my service in Jan 2014. I said I wasn't aware of this, that I had no record or recollection of anything beyond a 12-month promotional rate period. When I insisted they provide me evidence of this, the first representative gave me a non-working Internet link to follow "on my own" to see the terms of my agreement. I hung up and attempted to find the material, to no avail. I called back, and the second rep, **, said he could not send or direct me to anything, it was just "what we have in our records."

He further indicated the notes from he first representative reflected that TODAY I signed up for a new 2-year agreement. Whoa??? I asked him to ID the name of the first representative I spoke with, said "he didn't leave his name" on the note. (As if the system doesn't record that?!) I very pointedly insisted on a supervisor, was told none was available. (Actually it is believable there are no supervisors of these people.) Eventually after 5 minutes of insisting, I was transferred to ** in the "escalation department."

First off, I asked ** what is going on in the notes, why the first representative would make such a misrepresentation and why no one could send or direct me to written evidence of a so-called 2-yr contract. ** kept changing the subject, instead tried to find me better pricing, though he could not. So, just to see, I asked ** to confirm the contract termination date in their system. THE PUNCHLINE... ** conceded I was NOT UNDER A CONTRACT, THAT I WAS PAYING MONTH TO MONTH.

I asked why the first two representatives flat out told me I was, ** said he did not know, "Perhaps they had the wrong information." I am inclined to believe **, both because he shares my understanding, and further he is at a separate call center likely not "in" on the angle of trying to convince customers of nonexistent contract terms.

So, today I had two Comcast reps TELL ME FLAT OUT LIES in order to protect their non-promo pricing and/or keep me from switching. More amazingly there are droves of internet posts that I find going back years on this same theme; either Comcast management doesn't read the feedback, doesn't care, or encourages this sort of thing. All three are reasons not to business with this fraud of a company. I am cancelling my service, and plan to broadcast far and wide online of my above account.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comcast Corporation Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 107 ratings and
405 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comcast Corporation
1500 Market St FL 33e
Philadelphia, PA 19102-4782
215-665-1700 (ph)
215-981-7790 (fax)
www.comcast.com
Product/Services
Compare Cable/Satellite Services