Preview Review

Next Review

Comcast Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 5

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Ongoing Issues
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRANKLINVILLE, NEW JERSEY -- I moved in in May. Comcast is the only service in my area. I was with DirecTV for 7 years and never had problem like Comcast has given me!!! Since May there's been a TV if not both with something going wrong. From no DVR to no channels to now our internet kicking you off every other hour and so much more. Then when you call they put you on hold forever. I pay close to $200 a month and this is the service I'm stuck with. I even had a employee argue with me over them being the best!!! Comcast is a joke and they don't care about their customers or the service as long as they get paid!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Comcast CS Lacked on Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HYATTSVILLE, MARYLAND -- I called Comcast to request a service transfer to a different city of MD. We agreed upon the date to return all of the equipment. To my big surprise the service was disconnected few days later. When I returned them they apologized and opened a new account under my name. One week later again it was disconnected. I called to complain and they fixed it. Again after few days it was discontinued. They told me that I needed to call the Collection Department. When I contacted them they asked me to provide a credit card for payment of the amount of $332.98. I requested a detailed explanation about the amount. No one in Comcast could explain, but still they want the money.

Every time I talked to one of them it was a new story. Finally a CS went over the whole year payment history to conclude that I used a credit card that was declined in July 2013. I was happy to ask at least the last four numbers of that "so called credit card" since there was not any such thing. They promised to fix their mistake. However they never did despite their lack of evidence. It does affect my credit for no good reasons and they keep dropping the ball.

Replies
Comcast Reps Are Very Good at Apologizing, and No Wonder.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- Comcast service representatives are so good at apologizing because they must have to do it so often. My experience started with over 40 minutes on the phone attempting to request a simple disconnect of services, which included: Waiting on hold, only to be finally transferred to a representative on the west coast, after providing my name, address and account number. I live on the east coast. The west coast representative then told me he would have to transfer me to someone else. Another 5 to 10 minutes on hold. I was then asked to repeat all details I had just provided; i.e., account number, name, address, etc.

This was the first week of July, and I identified my disconnect date as July 31st. The representative then asked me for a forwarding address to send the final invoice. Since I'm moving to Canada, I provided the address of the house I'm moving into, there. The representative was confused, asking me what state the Canadian province of Nova Scotia is in... He then asked me for the zip code there. I explained to him that Canada has postal codes, which are made up of numbers and letters. I then read the 6 digit postal code to him. He told me he was unable to accept it, and that the address had to be in the United States.

I told him that after July 31st I would not have a US address, and that it shocked me that a company like Comcast can't sent a piece of mail outside American borders, especially to a country like Canada that shares international borders with the US. I told him that this was Comcast's problem, not mine and we ended the call.

About a week later, on July 15th, I decided to take my Comcast television cable-boxes to a local Comcast service center and asked the fellow behind the counter to double check that my disconnect date was still July 31st, as I wanted to continue having access to my email account. He happily assured me that there would be no issues. And just to be sure, as I was leaving I asked him to confirm it again. He told me there would be no problem, that his system said it was, in fact, July 31st.

Of course about an hour later, when I attempted to access my email account from my girlfriend's home office, I could not get into the account. The prompt told me the account was closed. So another 30 minutes on the phone with an apologizing representative, but eventually just to be told that I would have to call back the next morning to speak with another department.

The next morning I called again, and was assured by another apologizing representative that my email was back online. I asked her to wait while I checked. I couldn't get in, and she sounded shocked. She apologized again and transferred me to another representative. This person told me that I would have to re-boot my router. The problem here was that I was not at home, I was still at my girlfriend's. I was an hour away from my condo, and was planning on leaving town and not returning to my condo for 10 days.

I was getting angry and the representative told me there was no other alternative. So after nearly another 40 minutes on the phone, I hung up and drove back to my condo (an hour's drive), turned on the computer, and called Comcast, again. She checked the router remotely and told me all was fixed. But then, I couldn't even get on the internet. The rep, continually apologizing, told me the only solution was now to send a service person to the condo, but couldn't get someone there for two days.

Remember, by this time, I had planned to be 3 hours north of the city on my vacation and I could not wait any longer to leave. I told the Comcast representative that I was extremely frustrated and that their customer service was nothing short of abysmal. I told her that I would put rabbit ears on my roof before ever purchasing Comcast services again.

And finally (the fun continues) yesterday, the new tenants of the condo who move in August 1st emailed me to tell me that they can't open a new account with Comcast because there is no disconnect in place from me. After blowing about 2 gaskets, I called Comcast, again. After another 40 minutes of apologies and comments like "I really don't know how this happened" by the rep, I was able to re-activate the disconnect. Again, lots of apologizing.

I'd estimate that this series of events ate up nearly 3 hours of my time, and caused me to be extremely late for my first stop on my working vacation. And that doesn't account for the stress and frustration I experienced. Comcast is a large company, which benefits from a monopoly on neighborhoods in Boston. In other words, my neighborhood in Boston, which is an older established area, is not serviced by Verizon, RCN, or any other providers of internet, TV and phone. Therefore I had no choice but to use Comcast.

At the end of the day Comcast, which promotes their 24/7 customer service guarantees and trains people to apologize endlessly, doesn't really have to care about their customers. Hell will freeze over before I would ever use them again, and that will be a long time, even with global warming.

Replies
Don't Take an Attitude With Me
By -

COLORADO -- So I just noticed my voice mail light blinking on my phone, and checked the message. It was a call from Comcast, telling me if they cannot get in touch with me, my appointment for today would be cancelled. What! I have a scheduled appointment for tomorrow, October 12, 2011.

When I call them back to tell them, they are insisting my appointment is for today, October 11, 2011. I tell them no, it's for tomorrow, because we have dental cleaning appointments today, and have had this dental appointment for 3 months, so I know not to schedule anything for today. I would not waste some technician's time by having them come out when we aren't home. I was very polite, and just wanted to clear things up, which is the error on their part.

The guy on the other end cops an attitude with me, telling me he'll try to reschedule me for tomorrow. I say, "No we already have an appointment for tomorrow, and here is my reference number." I can hear him sighing loudly as if I'm annoying him. I'm not crazy, I know when I make appointments and mark my calendar. I made this appointment last Tuesday, which was October 4, 2011, for tomorrow October 12, 2011. I understand errors happens, but I didn't make the error and should not have to be treated rudely, when I was polite and remained polite during the entire phone call. I said thank you and good bye, and was just hung up on.

All I wanted was for them to make sure my scheduled appointment for tomorrow is still scheduled, and for some reason, they keep insisting I'm wrong. Is it that difficult to understand that today is not our appointment. So at this point, he says someone should be out here tomorrow. We'll be here waiting for our scheduled tech to arrive, tomorrow October 12, 2011 between 1-3 PM.

Has anyone been having this issue? This is our problem, when we go into the free section for movies, the TCM (Turner Classic Movies) which is free, now all say "BUY," but we get the channel so this category is free. It's been free for 4 years, and it's part of our package. So the tech department could not do anything for us by phone, so they said we need a tech to come to our home. I think it's so weird this is happening in our free category, but hopefully the tech, if they show up, can help us.

Replies
Advertisement
Comcast Came Through for Me -- Again
By -

TROY, MICHIGAN -- For about the past eight months, I've experienced occasional problems with the TV in my bedroom. The picture looked like the loose pieces of a jigsaw puzzle and the audio had static. Being the expert in electronics that I am, I very professionally attempted to resolve the problem: I jiggled the cables behind the set and it seemed to straighten out. :) After numerous episodes, I deduced it was a problem with the cable coming from the box to the TV. There were teeth marks from pliers I used quite often on this one part — loosening or tightening it.

Got to the point where my expertise was lacking so the afternoon of 7/14/11, I had to give in and contacted Comcast. The tech told me it was probably a problem with the cable box. He agreed with me that this particular box must have been brought over by Columbus. It was the big, clunky one: 19” x 11” x 3”. He said he could make an appointment for someone to come in to switch out the box and cable or, if convenient for me, I could take it into a service center and they'd do the exchange. I knew that on 7/18/11 I had to be in the area of the nearest center about 2-1/2 miles from me, so decided to take it in myself.

When I arrived, there were three people in line ahead of me. There were eight windows operating so I was called up in just a few minutes. The gentlemen who assisted me knew immediately what the problem was and went into the warehouse to get a new box and cable. He came out with a neat looking one, 6-1/2” x 5-1/2” x 2-1/2”. As he was punching in the information for the exchange, he commented: ‘You know, I can give you about 75 additional channels at no extra charge.' I told him I'd gladly take it.

While continuing to do his magic, he added: "You've been with us for quite a while. I can give you a discount on your service which will be good until the end of the year." I didn't question how much the discount would be. I also didn't mention the fact that just a short while ago I was given a $15.00/mo. discount but I'm sure he saw that since he had my account in front of him. I now have two channels I especially wanted but was too frugal (read: cheap) to pay extra to get: National Geographic and a financial channel. CNBC just doesn't give me what I want.

I post this because of all the complaints I read about Comcast. All the years I've been with them, I've had fantastic service with the exception of three months when they first came into our area. During those first months when I had a host of techs out here, one mentioned to me that the problem was Comcast bit off more than they could chew. They had to hire a lot of new techs who needed more training and AT&T's equipment (our previous supplier) was not compatible with Comcast.

I've sent an edited version of this letter to Comcast, supplying names, so that the appropriate employees could be acknowledged for their friendly, helpful service. I wish all of Comcast could use our service as training so they could avoid the many complaints they receive.

Replies
Online Chat Rep Much More Helpful Than Calling Comcast
By -

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- I cancelled my Comcast service at the end of April when I moved from my apartment to my house. After I cancelled, I was informed that I had to return the equipment to a Comcast location. I wasn't in a hurry to do this, but saw that there was a drop off location 5 minutes from my house.

When I called Comcast to make sure I could return my equipment to that location, I was informed that I could not return my equipment there because it wasn't a drop-off location. Instead, I had to go to one of two different locations. Both locations were about a 60-75 minute drive from my house (or a 50-65 minute drive from where my apartment was). I wasn't pleased about this, but knew I didn't have a choice. I planned on returning it, but I kept delaying it because of how busy I was getting.

Eventually I got an invoice in the mail from Comcast saying that I owed $380 for the equipment that wasn't returned yet. I was actually a little surprised that they didn't just take it from my credit card since I was on autopay when I was a customer of Comcast. Stupid me didn't really do much about the invoice.

Yesterday, I had some free time and remembered to talk to Comcast. I went to their website to see where the drop off locations were. Amazingly, the one close to my house was now classified as a drop-off location. I had to call Comcast though, just to make sure that I could return my equipment there. When I got a hold of someone, I explained to them that I had equipment to drop off and asked if I could return it to the Willow Grove location (close to my house). They pulled up my account and said that I could return the equipment there. I double checked to make sure that I absolutely could, and she said that I could. I was quite pleased about this.

Knowing Comcast hasn't always given me the right answers, I saw that Comcast had an online help chat available. I figured I'd give it a try to make sure I could actually return the equipment to Willow Grove. When the person came on, I explained my situation about how I was told before that I couldn't return equipment there, but I am now being told I can, so I wanted to know which is the correct answer.

She pulled up my account and informed me that I could not return the equipment there. She said I couldn't because that location is not the local Comcast branch from where my apartment was. I found that to be odd, since that location is closer to the apartment than the local branch. She did inform me that Comcast could send me a UPS box (free of charge) so that I could mail in my equipment. She gave me a link. When I clicked on it, I noticed that I could only do that if I still lived in the same place. Since I don't, I informed her of that. She said that I could mail it still, but I would have to pay for postage. I was very much happy about this.

Instead of wasting a few hours driving Comcast, waiting in line to drop off the equipment, and driving back, I can just mail in the equipment. I then proceeded to ask her how much of a credit I would be issued once the equipment is returned. She gave me exact answers so I know what to expect. She updated my address as well so that when I do return the equipment, they will send me a check for the money they owe me to my current address.

The best part about the online chat, in my mind, is that I was able to print a transcript out so that if there are any disputes about what was said, I have it in writing. Comcast has told me things in the past that they later denied, but now that I have the transcript, that won't be happening anymore. If Verizon ever does fail me in customer service and I switch back to Comcast, I will be making all of my inquiries on the online chat system.

Replies
Comcast Offers Norton but Resolution for the Problems Associated With Installing It
By -

PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA -- After Comcast notified my husband and I by e-mail that the McAfee security suite included with our Comcast internet service would be expiring, we were prompted to installed their "new, free, Norton Security suite which would automatically remove McAfee (the previously offered internet security protection software program included with our internet service).

While I attempted to install the Norton onto my computer, I began receiving messages that it was having problems installing because of my operating system (Windows 7). I immediately aborted the installation and removed all part of any of this Norton program ended up partially installed into my computer and continued using my McAfee (since I had a lengthy subscription included with the purchase of my computer).

My husband on the other hand did not have any other security software program installed on his computer, other than the McAfee previously offered by Comcast. Immediately following the installation of the Norton program, onto my Husband's computer he noticed his Microsoft Outlook would no longer send and receive my e-mail.

Since we found this problem, we have already wasted more than 30 hours of our time since last week, talking to Comcast techs and supervisors on the phone only to be walked through the same basic steps we had already done every time and then ultimately told the same thing by all of these Comcast employees.... "it's a problem with Norton & you need to contact them."

Most recently, over the last two days, we have spent over 12 hours on the phone and internet with Comcast's techs and Norton customer service techs located in India in an attempt to fix the issue. Much of this time was wasted asking the customer service rep/tech in India to repeat what they said because we were having a very difficult time understanding what they were saying.

What we experienced with the Norton techs is that they appeared to be very well trained in mostly being able to say "I'm sorry" and they want to remotely removed the Norton program from your computer while you sit at your monitor and watch them fumble with your mouse opening and closing many programs on you computer while they guess as they try to figure out what to do to fix the problem.

After the tech said he had successfully removed every trace of the Norton software from the computer and the computer should be back to normal, we then attempted to send and receive e-mail from the outlook program and it still was unable to perform the task. I asked the tech if he knew how to fix the problem and after he did everything he could to avoid answering the question, finally after asking him the same question 4 times, he finally admitted he did not know how to fix the problem... WHAT?

Again I asked to be transferred to someone that knew how to fix the problem, specifically asking for a supervisor. He responded by telling me he would transfer me to a higher trained technician. I then (after waiting on hold for 21 minutes) spoke to the "higher trained tech" and this person said Norton did not have a fix for this problem and I needed to now go back to Comcast and tell them to reconfigure my e-mail set up... since it was a problem with Comcast and that I should call them to fix it.

UNBELIEVABLE BUT TRUE. Interestingly enough, the lesser trained Norton tech told me he did hear about several customers having this same problem with their Microsoft Outlook immediately after downloading the Norton software. During the past week, my husband and I have had a multitude of conversation with Comcast techs and Comcast Customer Service Managers and Norton Techs and Norton Advance Service Tech and Norton Tech Supervisors. The problems and issues still have yet to be resolved through either of these conglomerates.

My next step is to spend a minimum of $59 for a phone call to Microsoft and hope that one of their techs can resolve the issue... if that doesn't work I'm afraid I may have to remove Microsoft Outlook from my computer and then reinstall it (which will include copying all of my address lists and groups and all saved and sent e-mail and more, or take the computer into a professional computer repair service company to have it fixed..

I am exhausted and totally frustrated from this nightmare. It is sad to know what little professional assistance and limited troubleshooting capabilities is offered when speaking with many of the Comcast service reps before telling you it's not their problem and we should uninstall Norton if it's not working properly or just call Microsoft... it's their problem. All of the Comcast customer service seem to have the same textbook responses to the complaints and problems. What a horrible way to do business!!!

You would think with so many Comcast customers complaining and posting all over the web; the multitude of problems they are having with Comcast service and Norton antivirus and security, they would do something about it. Comcast executives should be made aware of this by their lower level employees and react to fix the problems people are having since the switch from McAfee to Norton.

In my opinion Comcast needs to provide their customer service reps with more and better technical training instead of teaching them to say "I'm sorry about your inconvenience but... you need to contact Norton or Microsoft to resolve your issues..." This is truly the worst experience I have ever had with any company and a rampant "IT'S NOT MY PROBLEM" attitude.. I wonder if these companies are aware of the customer satisfaction statistics... if you make a customer happy they will tell a couple of people, but if you make a customer unhappy, they will tell everyone they know.

Replies
Customer Commendation
By -

COLLEGE PARK, GA, GEORGIA -- The matter concerning a credit to my account has been an ongoing, agonizing situation for me since November, 2010. I was charged for a month's service I did not receive and an upgrade I did not request. Since November, 2010 I have called continuously about once a month in reference to this matter. Various customer service representatives indicated to me that my account was noted, yet did not care enough to note the records. Frustrated with requesting return phone calls from supervisors, I turned in my equipment to AT&T.

I am a previous telephone employee and know the importance of noting the records when customers call regarding various concerns. On June 17, 2011, I got lucky when Ms. Beverly ** answered my phone call. It took quite a long time reviewing and re-reviewing my account. She asked if I had the time to look over my records and took the time to actually listen to my concerns.

After re-reading the records and looking at the date that I actually picked up the equipment, November 14, 2010 and checking and noting that the date the service technician came to activate my service was a month later, she realized that I could not have been receiving the digital service for which I have been charged from November to December. Ms ** read the notes indicating that I still had the limited basic plan that ran around $15.00 a month until December 13, 2010 when the service tech came to my home.

Only she also realized which was clearly noted in the records that the 49.95 credit to my account was requested from the service technician because he had to call the office for them to activate the box. And per Comcast policy, if the equipment is hooked up correctly, the customer is not charged. Thus, she realized the credit received was for the activation only.

It a shame that it has taken so long for someone to understand and comprehend what I had stated endlessly and what is written plain for any representative to view. Before this fiasco, I was very pleased with my Comcast service. I had been a customer for years, paid faithfully and paid my account in full just before turning in my equipment. Because of continued phone calls to closed ears and what I considered as uncaring and inefficient customer service, I returned my equipment. Hopefully, with this resolve, I can reinstate for service in the future.

I would like to render a gracious ‘thank you' to Ms. Beverly ** located in the Hazelwood, Missouri customer call center. She took the time to make me feel that my concern's important. She didn't put me on hold for long periods of time, she informed me when she was reading the notes and kept me abreast of what she was doing. You advertise your commitment to customer service, yet I can vouch for one Comcast employee who has demonstrated this promise and displayed the time and professionalism to illustrate that she does care and that I am considered as a significant person to Comcast. She made me feel that ‘I matter'.

Replies
Advertisement
Repeated Lies!!
By -

Comcast complaint. One consistent theme of Comcast is that no one ever does what they promise. You will be done and no one ever calls back to follow up!! We decided to get Comcast service for the first time when moving from Kansas to Indiana in November 2010. My wife has a brother who works for Comcast and our landlord also has family working for Comcast. Therefore, we began this experience with a positive outlook about the company.

We ordered Comcast's Double Play – Phone and Internet service package for $39.99/month. This was ordered online on Wednesday, November 17, 2010 at 12:56 P.M. Our confirmation shows Bridgevine Order Number: **. We have a printed copy of this. Our Order Reference Number was: **. Installation was scheduled for Monday, November 22, 2010, between 1-5 P.M. Ticket Number was: **.

Service was installed on time and worked fine; for exactly one week! The installation man would install only one connection for our whole home. We had a phone and two computers hooked up to it, a desktop and a laptop. On the afternoon of the next Monday, November 29, the laptop started receiving a message that Comcast was having problems connecting with it. Then began a series of trying to seek correction of this Comcast problem, beginning with online assistance and then many phone calls to their tech support.

Everyone I spoke with was polite; they just were all lacking any ability to correct the problem. They would tell me they had to send it to more technical staff within Comcast and that they would then contact me. No one would allow me to actually speak with a more technical person and I was never called back by anyone! After almost two weeks of this, I thought the problem might be with my laptop, although the messages from Comcast online always said they were having problems connecting. I wiped the computer memory clean and reloaded everything back onto it. I got the same exact message from Comcast.

A friend has AT&T Internet service, so I took my laptop there to see if it would work on AT&T. It worked immediately from first plugging it in! At this point, I decided to switch to AT&T. Even though the same service was more expensive with AT&T, at least it worked. I terminated Comcast service, effective Monday, December 20. Since it was still within the Comcast 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee, I was told that I would receive a full refund of the $98.29 I had already paid. This first bill that I'd paid billed me $47.20 for monthly service, instead of the $39.99 that I had ordered!

When AT&T was here to hook up their service, they informed me that Comcast had cut all of the AT&T lines which had been in the house, running service to every room. Comcast uses totally different types of lines, going to a different location, and there was no legal reason for them to cut the AT&T lines. In fact, it was a criminal action!

On Tuesday, December 21, at 10:35 a.m. I spoke with ** at Comcast. She issued a work order, number **, for Comcast to repair the cut AT&T lines; agreeing that the lines should not have been cut! She told me that a ** (spelling?) at the Anderson Comcast office would be contacting me to get it fixed. His phone number was given as **. He left one voice mail message for me and has not returned any on the messages I have left for him! She told me that I would receive the full refund check within 4 to 6 weeks.

This guaranteeing of the refund to be in the mail within 4 to 6 weeks is a habit of Comcast, a delaying tactic that they used with me every month. They can issue bills promptly, but seem unable or unwilling to issue refund checks! At 3:45 P.M. that same day I returned the Comcast modem and power cord to their office at 335 E.10th Street, Anderson, Indiana.

On Wednesday, January 12, 2011, at 3:53 p.m., after receiving another bill from Comcast, I called them and spoke with ** in North Carolina. She told me that their records did show that I had returned the modem for which they were billing me and that I should ignore the current bill. The 'final bill' should be received by me 4-6 weeks after December 21, 2010. Then the 'refund check' should be received by me 4 weeks after that. She said they would follow up on the damage claim. No one had contacted me to repair their damage.

I next received another bill from Comcast, showing current account activity through January 14, 2011, adding more money due! It was charging me $70.14 for 'unreturned equipment'!!! On Friday, January 21, I received a COLLECTION ACTIVITY ALERT from Comcast, dated January 18, for the full amount of the bill dated January 14. After only 4 days from issuing a bill, they sent the COLLECTION ACTIVITY ALERT for the amount of $119.29!

On Thursday, January 27, 2011 at 1:54 P.M. I called Comcast and ended up speaking with ** from Fort Wayne. He was nice, polite and assured me he would take care of everything and that I'd receive the refund check in 4 weeks. However, the only thing that actually got changed was to show the return of their modem!

On February 14, Comcast billed me for $49.29 (monthly service charge, including tax)! I had terminated service two months prior and they still owed me the refund of $98.29. But, instead of refunding me, they were still charging me more!!!

On Wednesday February 22, at 4:18 p. m., I called Comcast again and spoke with ** in Indianapolis, and his supervisor **. They reassured me that I would actually get the refund check in 4 weeks, saying they could not expedite it despite its long delay. They also issued a new work order to repair my cut AT&T lines, **.

On Saturday, February 26, I received another COLLECTION ACTIVITY ALERT for the new amount of $49.29. Now, on Tuesday, March 22, I received a COLLECTION NOTICE from a collection company trying to collect this $49.29 for Comcast! I still have not received my refund check, many months promised and far past due, while Comcast still tries to collect unjustified charges! Plus, they are ruining my good credit rating!!! Can anyone help me with this monster?

Replies
Comcast Un-Support
By -

I have been working with Comcast to solve a problem with my signal being unacceptable for over six months. I moved from a thirty-five year old home with neglected wiring and minimal issues to a fifteen year old home in great shape. Since this move I have had serious pixelation issues with my cable signal, my phone signal breaks up so horribly the person on the other end of the line cannot hear me much of the time.

All of this began in June of 2010. I called Comcast due to the pixelation preventing my family from watching any television whatsoever. The picture and audio signal were so badly broken up we could not make heads or tails of the shows. They informed me that the entire neighborhood was having problems and to be paitent; it would clear on its own. I took them at their word and waited for three weeks for it to clear. I gave them the benefit of the doubt that they were continuing to work on the problem.

I called again. This time there was heavy rain in the area and they blamed the pixelation on that, stating that I need to be patient still; they had just finished repairs on the neighborhood lines. I took them at their word again. Come the end of the second month, I began to become a bit frustrated. I am generally a patient person. I call again and this time request someone be sent out. I did not describe the issue as pixelation; rather I said the television signal was broken up. I later learned they wrote this down as "HD problem."

A couple of days later the technician arrives to fix the problem and replaces the wires directly on the outside of the house, stating he is sure that is the problem and to be patient as it may take the lines some time to clear the reception. I wait two weeks again and call. The problem is no better. They send another technician who says, "Oh it's the box." They replace the box and the wires in the back to the wall. Two weeks later, we are still having pixelation.

I think it is minorly improved, but it is still too bad to watch anything. I call again. This technician says the previous technician did not inspect the wires they replaced and that they were bad: the male and female ends were too far in and too far out. I hope this is the end and thank him. He tells me if I have to call again to explain the problem as pixelation so they know clearly what they are dealing with.

Two weeks later, the pixelation is still present. The next technician comes out and replaces the box again. Two to three weeks later, the pixelation, although still somewhat improved, is too horrible to make sense of any shows. I call again; they send out another technician. He says he can't find the problem. I am told to bring the box in to a local Comcast box store and swap it. I do.

On a side note, in the last month we replaced our television. It was having trouble with lighting, so we thought perhaps the unit was the problem. Nothing about the pixelation changed with a brand new television. After the last six months of excuses and run around and finally getting the problem solved, I call up Comcast. (I had requested a credit when the first technician was sent out. I was told to wait a couple of weeks after the problem was solved.) I called and explained the last six months of problems, asking for a credit again. They say they only see one month of problems in their records. What!

I calmly explain what has been going on. I can tell him there have been at least five different technicians to my house. I can tell them everything that was replaced each time. They keep repeating they only see the last month. When pushed, ** tells me that she does see a history back to September, but that was an HD issue, not a pixelation issue. I explain that I have no idea why the technicians worded it differently but the problem has been the same all along.

I also have to argue the point of the second DVR box replacement. She states that they show we made an upgrade. The DVR box that was replaced was the older version with a smaller hard drive in comparison to the new one. However they are both Comcast brand DVR boxes. I would never consider this an upgrade. Conveniently, Comcast has labeled the box replacement thus to avoid having to tie the two service calls together. I have things I need to do, so I have to let her go.

I call again the next day and speak to **. She is much nicer and agrees to give me a $50 credit easily. However, I have been paying over that each month for the television service I was not receiving for six months. I explain this fact again. She says they only have thirty days of history on this issue. I explain again each thing that was replaced by all the different technicians and how long ago. She is quiet, but I would not say she listened. During this conversation she notices my telephone service is breaking up so badly she cannot hear me. She quickly uses this as a reason to transfer me to tech support and not have to talk to me anymore.

Tech support repeats the fact that I am really broken up and sets up an appointment for my phone to be serviced. I have also been dealing with the phone problem for six months, but it has not caused me to be unable to use the phone for long periods of time and has been intermittent. When I called Comcast service once before, they told me that as the problem was intermittent they could do nothing unless I called when it was occurring. The problem is when it is occurring was usually in the evening, when no tech is available. I didn't see the point. So, I have been putting up with it.

I wait until the technician comes out for the phone, hoping that after this is fixed, I can make some headway with Comcast on a reasonable credit for my bill. I have always paid full and on time. The technician, **, comes out to the house and tests the modem, the lines, even the neighborhood box and says everything is in the green. He can't find the problem. So he leaves me his number and takes off, telling me to call if the problem reoccurs. He is the nicest person I have dealt with during my talks with Comcast. I decide to wait to call them about a credit as the phone is not fixed.

I receive a call from customer service asking me to take a survey about my satisfaction with Comcast. The automated voice says they want me to be fully satisfied. I am not, and I say so. The automated service transfers me to customer care as a result of my statement. I speak to an entry level support person and receive the same rigmarole of excuse and “We don't see records that far back regarding this issue.” Apparently they change the wording on their records so the problems don't match and then lose the majority to avoid having to take responsibility for their screw ups. I ask to speak to someone who can help me. I am transferred to **.

I speak to her for all of thirty seconds when she hangs up on me. This entire time I have spoken calmly and quietly to each person, regardless of my frustration. I realize they are only pegs in the machine and do not have real power. I wait a couple of minutes to see if she will call back. I don't know why I did. Part of me wanted to give her the benefit of the doubt that she did not do so intentionally and it was an accident.

I call back and ask to speak to ** again; explaining I think she accidentally disconnected our line. The person I am speaking with places me on hold and then returns to state in a strained and odd voice that ** is “not able to come to the phone.” I ask if there is someone else available. I am transferred to **. He is pleasant enough, as pegs go. However he repeats the same load of junk I have been told before. I may as well have been talking to a brick wall.

What is the point of having a customer service department when not one individual is individualistic? They are all robotic drones and none of them will give any credit to the reality of my situation. I have been patient for six months on the basis of the idea that Comcast will see reason when I call up and give me at least one month's bill credit for six months of frustration.

** calls me back three hours after he was here and offers to come out and replace the modem on the chance it will fix the phone, despite the fact that everything tested green. I take him up on the offer. He does so, and again is very nice and apologetic about the service issues we have had despite the fact that he has even less responsibility regarding my satisfaction than customer un-service.

After the experience I have just had, I cannot see how any satellite company could be any worse. I will be letting everyone know that aside from their technician, **, Comcast does not give a damn about their customer satisfaction. It is simply a catch phrase for sales and nothing more. Stay the hell away from this horrible and careless company. We have a satellite dish on our roof from the last individuals who owned this house. We were going to take it down. I'm glad we have not yet. I am talking to the satellite company first thing tomorrow.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comcast Corporation Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 97 ratings and
395 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comcast Corporation
1500 Market St FL 33e
Philadelphia, PA 19102-4782
215-665-1700 (ph)
215-981-7790 (fax)
www.comcast.com
Product/Services
Compare Cable/Satellite Services