Preview Review

Next Review

Comcast Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 5

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALPHARETTA, GEORGIA -- Contacted Comcast on Sept 22nd to cancel services, spoke with a representative who was processing the request and informed me the prorated balance would be refunded to my account. November 7th, received a bill from Comcast for service, contacted once again and discussed situation with another rep. In review he saw that the account was supposed to be cancelled, according to him, on the 24th. I argued and stated I had called on the 22nd but after a minute conceded the two days wasn't worth arguing any further. The agent agreed to backdate the cancellation to the 24th and refund the unused portion of my services.

November 16th, opened a bill from Comcast showing an outstanding charge of $67. Contacted Comcast immediately and after 2 reps found out this was a $90 charge for non-return equipment. I stated we had never been told we needed to return the equipment and that we would do so immediately. Equipment was returned on Nov 17th to a Comcast brick and mortar facility and a receipt showing the return was obtained.

Early December, contacted Comcast again to complete closing out the account. Agent stated it was in process but didn't see the returned equipment. December 29th, contacted Comcast yet again as I had not received the outstanding credit. Spoke to an agent who informed me that I had not received any credit because I was being charged for services from the backdated cancellation of Sept 24th through to November 17th when I returned my device. I disputed stating I had done what was required and it was Comcast's issue if they couldn't disconnect service after it was requested.

I was told a research ticket was filed for their back office team to investigate internet usage to determine if they could complete the credit. I was told if there was no usage that the credit would be applied. I was told a supervisor would contact me within 2 weeks with the results – no contact ever.

January 15th Contacted Comcast, was routed through 4 agents, finally to a retention agent. After providing a detailed update of what has occurred provided a $60 credit and stated the Supervisor would have to provide the remaining amount but he/she was not in and would not be back in the office until that Thursday but when they arrive back they would process the remaining credit to 0 out the account and contact me – no contact ever.

I contacted Comcast on January 22nd, finally reaching an agent after working my way through the sales department. I again explained my situation to a Billing representative who stated he couldn't help. I asked for a supervisor and was promptly disconnected. Second call January 22nd, again routed through sales - got a hold of an agent named **. He reviewed my account and was working on making the credit to the account when, surprise, promptly disconnected.

It has been 4 months since cancelling my services. I am due approximately $23 in refund, yet Comcast has charged me $90 for equipment that I returned and haven't been credited, in fact they have refused to provide a credit for the equipment yet they are in possession of it. I still don't have my refund, I have been put into collections and threatened to report the past due amount to the credit bureaus. I have performed my duties in this relationship while Comcast has continually failed to follow up on their commitments. I want the account closed, my payment refunded and a guarantee nothing will be reported to the credit reporting bureaus.

Replies
Advertisement
Comcast Lies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KNOXVILLE, TENNESSEE -- Since July 27, 2014 I have had nothing but issues dealing with your company. I have reached out to you and it continues to serve as no help. It all began when I was going to cancel services that Sunday because I was paying too much and the 300gb data cap. Not sure if any of you all have kids that require service for school, but I do. Which means we need data. We have not once gone over, but I was looking into going back to school myself. Well if I could have got my cap increased.

Anyway, so I make a call to Comcast. The lady was real nice - sold me on the x1 digital preferred plus, 105 tier internet with unlimited data and the phone, for under 150 a month for 1 year. Great let's do this. Scheduled an appointment for Wednesday, I don't know why but I felt like it was too good to be true. Well I researched it and it turned out that you all don't offer unlimited data. But I saw locations that offer 600gb. I called back on Monday - explained what I found.

The lady was like, "Yeah we don't do unlimited data." She was like, "We do have the 600gb that comes with the 105 tier." I was like great. I asked her check and make sure it was all in the system correctly. She said it was not. She said they didn't include the internet. She said she fixed it. Tuesday rolls around and since there was already 1 error and already been misinformed once thought I would just verify. Lady got on the phone - confirmed all the information, I confirmed the 600 gb. Everything was ready to go.

Wednesday tech shows up 2 minutes late, not too bad. Looks at the paper work as "I oh can't do nothing - codes are wrong." Makes a couple calls and leaves. So I call again, ** was like, "Yeah codes are all wrong," said, "No problem. We will get them fixed and get a tech back out there to you." He told me had to put the schedule in for Monday just to hold a time. Went over what I had ordered and confirmed the data limit of 600gb. Said he was giving it to his supervisor so we could rush a tech out, plus just to make sure he got all incorrect codes off.

Thursday rolls around - no word so I call, said no tech was available today maybe Friday. Said ok - had representative confirm what was ordered. Had her confirm the data cap. She said 600. Friday arrives. No word. I called and explained this needs to be done today cause otherwise will increase the proration and cause me a double bill. She said would take care of that. Had her confirm the account again and what was the data cap 600. Said ok. Saturday no tech confirmed all. Sunday I took a day off from dealing with Comcast.

Monday arrives tech showed up, and was only going to install the internet. Explained no supposed to be internet and x1. He agrees to go and get a box. Finally all installed. Finally. Well wish that was the end. That night pulled up my data cap info still reporting 300. Figured maybe it takes 24 hours to update. So I look the next morning still 300. Called and was told all those people I spoke to were wrong. Asked for a supervisor, I got with attitude "will not do you any good. Will tell you the same thing." I said ok.

Reached to corporate, nothing but "sorry and we will take care of teaching" but not happening. Even at 1 point ** with corporate was like, "Yeah you are a part of the 600gb data area." 2 hours later "sorry no you're not." Plus the internet is no faster and constantly drops. They sent a Tech out and that night it was great.

Next day same thing. COMCAST I am calling you out. I have given you the chance to honor what was promised. I have listen and defended for years. You have promised a better Comcast and better customer service. Here is your chance to deliver what your people have promised. Not asking for anything but was promised, if can't make it happen in residential give me my package as a business customer. Do whatever is necessary. Now you all will not even return my call.

So Comcast, here is your chance to prove you are that company you claim to be. Brian Roberts CEO this is your company - make changes. Also someone truly fix my internet. I am starting to think it is being done intentional because you want to get back at me for calling you out on promises you have yet to deliver. But I don't think it's a conspiracy. Just think most of your reps are incorrectly trained and have no empowerment. But what does Brian Roberts care, it's not affecting his paycheck. Since 8/22/14 now corporate will not even return my calls.

Replies
Feeling Lied To and Frustrated
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICO, CALIFORNIA -- I have had Comcast for 4 years now. Overall, the product works and I am pleased. However, when there is a problem, it is HORRIBLE! These last few months have been the worst service I have gotten from any company ever! To be honest, I am frustrated at the lack of customer service and what seems to be poor communication within the Comcast Company.

From March 1st until the end of May, I did not receive Comcast Internet service because of ongoing and unresolved issues. During this time I still paid anywhere from $48-$79 per month. The Internet was shutting off multiple times a day, leaving a small window of an hour or so to use it. We would attempt to reset the modem, check for loose cables, stop and restart everything, but most times this did not work. When that was the case, I had to call the Comcast office and have them restart our modem from their end. I did this anywhere from 2-7 times a week for three months.

Since March 1st, I have called numerous times! I have called to have a technician come out and check the internet connection at least four times, I have called to have assistance restarting our modem 30+ times, I have gone in to exchange our modem twice, and I have even called to attempt to resolve our billing 6+ times. It took THREE MONTHS and EIGHT DAYS, for the Internet issues to even begin being resolved! I feel that I have been paying a company to lie to me in order to placate my anger while they do nothing to resolve the issues.

Here is a short summary of my life with Comcast in the last three months: Four Technicians came to the home and claimed they had “fixed the problem.” Within an hour, the Internet was once again broken. On the phone daily, employees promise that the issue is resolved. The Internet would crash within the hour. Told that wiring in the house may need to be fixed to resolve issue. Rewired home and problem persists. Told that Comcast wiring in the neighborhood is broken. Neighborhood technician fixes the problem and the problem continues. Went to the Comcast office to try two new modems. Problem unresolved and monthly bill is raised.

I have noticed my service bill has gone up since April 1st. I do not understand nor do I want to pay since I have not received any services promised for March, April or May. When I call, I am told a supervisor is not in, they are on a trip, and they are too busy to answer my call. I called the billing department around May 28th and was promised that a supervisor would be calling me back no later than June 4th to resolve the issue. This never happened. I called back in an attempt to have the conversation I was promised and was told that my credits are on hold and a supervisor is not in at the moment to discuss it further.

Many times I have been told that I will get a credit on my account but this is never given. It wasn't until I spoke with someone from the Loyalties department that I was finally helped with my billing. This was, however, after I threatened to cancel my service due to the employee demeaning and accusing me! I am unimpressed.

Replies
Comcast Rips Off the Disabled
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PALM BEACH FLORIDA CORPORATE OFFICES, FLORIDA -- We became members in 2011 Oct 30. They hooked up the equipment wrong and had to return. I had issues within 24 hours. The real problem started Dec 2011. When we could not watch channels due to all kinds of different interference on different channels. The internet did not work and they told us we had to buy a splitter and router from Wal-Mart at our cost. To use the internet we had to unhook the TV and then hook up the internet. This went on for 2 years.

My husband was disabled and had a feeding tube in his stomach - he had cancer. I have a FDA recall implant in my back - my spine is broken and the implant grows into my organs so it rips my organs every time I had to change TV to internet back to TV. Then you could not watch the TV because the internet was on. They said I had too many walls in my house - 1400 square feet 2 bedroom home. They promised they would credit us for all the trouble when the issue was fixed.

Well I had over 50 tech here and 278 hours on the phone with this company. I know I should have thrown their junk in the street. 4 other neighbors on a 10 house block had the same problem and was promised the same compensation.

They changed my DVR boxes on all 3 TV because they said the boxes were bad. Well again it's their equipment. I should not have to pay for boxes that do not work. Replacing the boxes never ever fixed the issue. They told me they ran and changed the wires from our phone pole where the signal come through to the house 7 times. According to an independent company it was never change and was a lie.

Another issue - they steal, every time they took a box out to be changed the did not take it off the bill I was paying for 3 boxes on each TV - 3 TVs for 2 years before I caught that issue. I was also paying for HD - never hooked until Dec 2013. Their customer service team is well trained to quote "We will compensate you." All I got was the refund for the boxes they overcharged me and the no shows tech credits. They did allow us HBO and Starz for free for a couple of months but you could not watch those either.

Due to both of us being disabled, my husband fighting cancer with no insurance after being fired from his job, the last thing we need was to fight a cable company. We were kind, understanding and gave them 3 years to fix the issues. I have my DVR's that shows issues until the day we were disconnected.

On May 31, 2013 they quoted me a special bundle package for 119.00 month for phone, internet and TV. I was paying over 200.00 a month. I spent 9 hours on the phone because the new package discounted channels. I was quoted wrong 3 times and had to speak to 7 supervisors to fix the price issue which shows as a credit on my bill of 30.00. That was the only way the supervisor could fix the billing issue. Well the phone did not work. People from landlines just received a dead line - no sound.

After 3 years I finally said, "Fine. You can not fix the issues." I can live with that but I am due a credit for 3 years of services issues. Not a 3 year credit some reasonable refund for the time, pain, and no service. When the love of your life is dying changing cable not top of the list but I believed they were honest. MY BAD. I watch whatever channel is working, I bought a cell phone so I took care of the phone issue for now. They did finally fix the internet in DEC 2013. But all the pain the techs in and out of your house when you are both in such pain is crazy.

The last issue was they wanted again to come in and change the boxes. They said our boxes are old. So again bad boxes. Their tech department told me and I quote, "1 box might go bad but not all 3." They just change them. Their equipment, techs, and corporate office are the worse I have ever talked to. I am a customer service manager for 30 years and we always stood behind what we promised. I believed they would also. NOT TRUE and changing TV boxes does not fix the phone. They blamed that on Verizon issues, however the people calling me also have AT&T and Comcast.

Join us make a complaint with the FCC. It's the old bait and switch - they will cheat you. So far, I have had 362 people change in 3 states and that one week's work. DO NOT LOSE YOUR HARD EARNED MONEY.

Replies
Advertisement
Devious? Or Merely Stupid?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CONCORD, CALIFORNIA -- So, we rely heavily on WiFi in our house, and Comcast was the only company that could offer enough mbps to meet our needs (AT&T came close, but we had 'have cable, too' in order to get the higher WiFi). The sales representative I got on the phone way over-promised and utterly undelivered. According to her, we could get a Triple Play of the high speed Internet we needed, as well as phone and 80 channels of cable (including HBO) - all for $119 per month. Additionally, she said, she could charge us $30 for the install fee (usually $99). I told her I needed to talk to my wife about it, and she agreed to call me the next day.

What she did instead - She proceeded to process the order, and the next day (unbeknownst to us) had a technician come over and flip the Comcast switch (previous occupant had Comcast). At that point, Comcast started charging us for service, even though there had been no install, and I had not yet determined what package I wanted. Additionally, when I called back the next day I was told that the actual cost of the package was going to be $159 per month, and there was no way that the install could be done at $30 (which I was fine with, but why lie?). The person assisting looked at the order she had placed and it was a mess.

The following month - Received a whopping bill for both service and install, since they started billing us 2 weeks before the actual install. Called to complain, and was told that there was nothing they could do: service started the day they flipped the switch. As I was happy with the phone/internet (we dropped the TV because the original representative had lied to us and there was no HBO included), I agreed to pay the bill.

I paid the bill, and 5 days later received a notification threatening that our service would be pulled due to non-payment. Checked my bill pay and saw that the payment I had sent to them had been deducted from my account. Called them up and asked if they'd received payment. They said they typically receive notification of payment within 3 days of being paid online.

I pointed out that it was FIVE days, and is my service at risk of being pulled? I was advised that I should check it again in a couple of days ('because it takes a few days for payments to post,' though I again pointed out that it had been), and if my service gets interrupted they would reinstate it upon receipt of payment for 'ONLY A $25 RECONNECT FEE!!!' Total bargain, when you pay your bills online and on time... ARE THEY KIDDING ME???

This is by far the worst customer service I've experienced, bar none. If their products didn't work acceptably (and weren't the only ones who could offer the wireless speeds we need), I would drop them faster than a politician can lie. I cannot believe these folks haven't gone bankrupt. Yet.

Replies
Comcast Reps Are Very Good at Apologizing, and No Wonder.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS -- Comcast service representatives are so good at apologizing because they must have to do it so often. My experience started with over 40 minutes on the phone attempting to request a simple disconnect of services, which included: Waiting on hold, only to be finally transferred to a representative on the west coast, after providing my name, address and account number. I live on the east coast. The west coast representative then told me he would have to transfer me to someone else. Another 5 to 10 minutes on hold. I was then asked to repeat all details I had just provided; i.e., account number, name, address, etc.

This was the first week of July, and I identified my disconnect date as July 31st. The representative then asked me for a forwarding address to send the final invoice. Since I'm moving to Canada, I provided the address of the house I'm moving into, there. The representative was confused, asking me what state the Canadian province of Nova Scotia is in... He then asked me for the zip code there. I explained to him that Canada has postal codes, which are made up of numbers and letters. I then read the 6 digit postal code to him. He told me he was unable to accept it, and that the address had to be in the United States.

I told him that after July 31st I would not have a US address, and that it shocked me that a company like Comcast can't sent a piece of mail outside American borders, especially to a country like Canada that shares international borders with the US. I told him that this was Comcast's problem, not mine and we ended the call.

About a week later, on July 15th, I decided to take my Comcast television cable-boxes to a local Comcast service center and asked the fellow behind the counter to double check that my disconnect date was still July 31st, as I wanted to continue having access to my email account. He happily assured me that there would be no issues. And just to be sure, as I was leaving I asked him to confirm it again. He told me there would be no problem, that his system said it was, in fact, July 31st.

Of course about an hour later, when I attempted to access my email account from my girlfriend's home office, I could not get into the account. The prompt told me the account was closed. So another 30 minutes on the phone with an apologizing representative, but eventually just to be told that I would have to call back the next morning to speak with another department.

The next morning I called again, and was assured by another apologizing representative that my email was back online. I asked her to wait while I checked. I couldn't get in, and she sounded shocked. She apologized again and transferred me to another representative. This person told me that I would have to re-boot my router. The problem here was that I was not at home, I was still at my girlfriend's. I was an hour away from my condo, and was planning on leaving town and not returning to my condo for 10 days.

I was getting angry and the representative told me there was no other alternative. So after nearly another 40 minutes on the phone, I hung up and drove back to my condo (an hour's drive), turned on the computer, and called Comcast, again. She checked the router remotely and told me all was fixed. But then, I couldn't even get on the internet. The rep, continually apologizing, told me the only solution was now to send a service person to the condo, but couldn't get someone there for two days.

Remember, by this time, I had planned to be 3 hours north of the city on my vacation and I could not wait any longer to leave. I told the Comcast representative that I was extremely frustrated and that their customer service was nothing short of abysmal. I told her that I would put rabbit ears on my roof before ever purchasing Comcast services again.

And finally (the fun continues) yesterday, the new tenants of the condo who move in August 1st emailed me to tell me that they can't open a new account with Comcast because there is no disconnect in place from me. After blowing about 2 gaskets, I called Comcast, again. After another 40 minutes of apologies and comments like "I really don't know how this happened" by the rep, I was able to re-activate the disconnect. Again, lots of apologizing.

I'd estimate that this series of events ate up nearly 3 hours of my time, and caused me to be extremely late for my first stop on my working vacation. And that doesn't account for the stress and frustration I experienced. Comcast is a large company, which benefits from a monopoly on neighborhoods in Boston. In other words, my neighborhood in Boston, which is an older established area, is not serviced by Verizon, RCN, or any other providers of internet, TV and phone. Therefore I had no choice but to use Comcast.

At the end of the day Comcast, which promotes their 24/7 customer service guarantees and trains people to apologize endlessly, doesn't really have to care about their customers. Hell will freeze over before I would ever use them again, and that will be a long time, even with global warming.

Replies
Don't Take an Attitude With Me
By -

COLORADO -- So I just noticed my voice mail light blinking on my phone, and checked the message. It was a call from Comcast, telling me if they cannot get in touch with me, my appointment for today would be cancelled. What! I have a scheduled appointment for tomorrow, October 12, 2011.

When I call them back to tell them, they are insisting my appointment is for today, October 11, 2011. I tell them no, it's for tomorrow, because we have dental cleaning appointments today, and have had this dental appointment for 3 months, so I know not to schedule anything for today. I would not waste some technician's time by having them come out when we aren't home. I was very polite, and just wanted to clear things up, which is the error on their part.

The guy on the other end cops an attitude with me, telling me he'll try to reschedule me for tomorrow. I say, "No we already have an appointment for tomorrow, and here is my reference number." I can hear him sighing loudly as if I'm annoying him. I'm not crazy, I know when I make appointments and mark my calendar. I made this appointment last Tuesday, which was October 4, 2011, for tomorrow October 12, 2011. I understand errors happens, but I didn't make the error and should not have to be treated rudely, when I was polite and remained polite during the entire phone call. I said thank you and good bye, and was just hung up on.

All I wanted was for them to make sure my scheduled appointment for tomorrow is still scheduled, and for some reason, they keep insisting I'm wrong. Is it that difficult to understand that today is not our appointment. So at this point, he says someone should be out here tomorrow. We'll be here waiting for our scheduled tech to arrive, tomorrow October 12, 2011 between 1-3 PM.

Has anyone been having this issue? This is our problem, when we go into the free section for movies, the TCM (Turner Classic Movies) which is free, now all say "BUY," but we get the channel so this category is free. It's been free for 4 years, and it's part of our package. So the tech department could not do anything for us by phone, so they said we need a tech to come to our home. I think it's so weird this is happening in our free category, but hopefully the tech, if they show up, can help us.

Replies
Comcast Came Through for Me -- Again
By -

TROY, MICHIGAN -- For about the past eight months, I've experienced occasional problems with the TV in my bedroom. The picture looked like the loose pieces of a jigsaw puzzle and the audio had static. Being the expert in electronics that I am, I very professionally attempted to resolve the problem: I jiggled the cables behind the set and it seemed to straighten out. :) After numerous episodes, I deduced it was a problem with the cable coming from the box to the TV. There were teeth marks from pliers I used quite often on this one part — loosening or tightening it.

Got to the point where my expertise was lacking so the afternoon of 7/14/11, I had to give in and contacted Comcast. The tech told me it was probably a problem with the cable box. He agreed with me that this particular box must have been brought over by Columbus. It was the big, clunky one: 19” x 11” x 3”. He said he could make an appointment for someone to come in to switch out the box and cable or, if convenient for me, I could take it into a service center and they'd do the exchange. I knew that on 7/18/11 I had to be in the area of the nearest center about 2-1/2 miles from me, so decided to take it in myself.

When I arrived, there were three people in line ahead of me. There were eight windows operating so I was called up in just a few minutes. The gentlemen who assisted me knew immediately what the problem was and went into the warehouse to get a new box and cable. He came out with a neat looking one, 6-1/2” x 5-1/2” x 2-1/2”. As he was punching in the information for the exchange, he commented: ‘You know, I can give you about 75 additional channels at no extra charge.' I told him I'd gladly take it.

While continuing to do his magic, he added: "You've been with us for quite a while. I can give you a discount on your service which will be good until the end of the year." I didn't question how much the discount would be. I also didn't mention the fact that just a short while ago I was given a $15.00/mo. discount but I'm sure he saw that since he had my account in front of him. I now have two channels I especially wanted but was too frugal (read: cheap) to pay extra to get: National Geographic and a financial channel. CNBC just doesn't give me what I want.

I post this because of all the complaints I read about Comcast. All the years I've been with them, I've had fantastic service with the exception of three months when they first came into our area. During those first months when I had a host of techs out here, one mentioned to me that the problem was Comcast bit off more than they could chew. They had to hire a lot of new techs who needed more training and AT&T's equipment (our previous supplier) was not compatible with Comcast.

I've sent an edited version of this letter to Comcast, supplying names, so that the appropriate employees could be acknowledged for their friendly, helpful service. I wish all of Comcast could use our service as training so they could avoid the many complaints they receive.

Replies
Advertisement
Online Chat Rep Much More Helpful Than Calling Comcast
By -

PHILADELPHIA, PENNSYLVANIA -- I cancelled my Comcast service at the end of April when I moved from my apartment to my house. After I cancelled, I was informed that I had to return the equipment to a Comcast location. I wasn't in a hurry to do this, but saw that there was a drop off location 5 minutes from my house.

When I called Comcast to make sure I could return my equipment to that location, I was informed that I could not return my equipment there because it wasn't a drop-off location. Instead, I had to go to one of two different locations. Both locations were about a 60-75 minute drive from my house (or a 50-65 minute drive from where my apartment was). I wasn't pleased about this, but knew I didn't have a choice. I planned on returning it, but I kept delaying it because of how busy I was getting.

Eventually I got an invoice in the mail from Comcast saying that I owed $380 for the equipment that wasn't returned yet. I was actually a little surprised that they didn't just take it from my credit card since I was on autopay when I was a customer of Comcast. Stupid me didn't really do much about the invoice.

Yesterday, I had some free time and remembered to talk to Comcast. I went to their website to see where the drop off locations were. Amazingly, the one close to my house was now classified as a drop-off location. I had to call Comcast though, just to make sure that I could return my equipment there. When I got a hold of someone, I explained to them that I had equipment to drop off and asked if I could return it to the Willow Grove location (close to my house). They pulled up my account and said that I could return the equipment there. I double checked to make sure that I absolutely could, and she said that I could. I was quite pleased about this.

Knowing Comcast hasn't always given me the right answers, I saw that Comcast had an online help chat available. I figured I'd give it a try to make sure I could actually return the equipment to Willow Grove. When the person came on, I explained my situation about how I was told before that I couldn't return equipment there, but I am now being told I can, so I wanted to know which is the correct answer.

She pulled up my account and informed me that I could not return the equipment there. She said I couldn't because that location is not the local Comcast branch from where my apartment was. I found that to be odd, since that location is closer to the apartment than the local branch. She did inform me that Comcast could send me a UPS box (free of charge) so that I could mail in my equipment. She gave me a link. When I clicked on it, I noticed that I could only do that if I still lived in the same place. Since I don't, I informed her of that. She said that I could mail it still, but I would have to pay for postage. I was very much happy about this.

Instead of wasting a few hours driving Comcast, waiting in line to drop off the equipment, and driving back, I can just mail in the equipment. I then proceeded to ask her how much of a credit I would be issued once the equipment is returned. She gave me exact answers so I know what to expect. She updated my address as well so that when I do return the equipment, they will send me a check for the money they owe me to my current address.

The best part about the online chat, in my mind, is that I was able to print a transcript out so that if there are any disputes about what was said, I have it in writing. Comcast has told me things in the past that they later denied, but now that I have the transcript, that won't be happening anymore. If Verizon ever does fail me in customer service and I switch back to Comcast, I will be making all of my inquiries on the online chat system.

Replies
Comcast Offers Norton but Resolution for the Problems Associated With Installing It
By -

PALM BEACH COUNTY, FLORIDA -- After Comcast notified my husband and I by e-mail that the McAfee security suite included with our Comcast internet service would be expiring, we were prompted to installed their "new, free, Norton Security suite which would automatically remove McAfee (the previously offered internet security protection software program included with our internet service).

While I attempted to install the Norton onto my computer, I began receiving messages that it was having problems installing because of my operating system (Windows 7). I immediately aborted the installation and removed all part of any of this Norton program ended up partially installed into my computer and continued using my McAfee (since I had a lengthy subscription included with the purchase of my computer).

My husband on the other hand did not have any other security software program installed on his computer, other than the McAfee previously offered by Comcast. Immediately following the installation of the Norton program, onto my Husband's computer he noticed his Microsoft Outlook would no longer send and receive my e-mail.

Since we found this problem, we have already wasted more than 30 hours of our time since last week, talking to Comcast techs and supervisors on the phone only to be walked through the same basic steps we had already done every time and then ultimately told the same thing by all of these Comcast employees.... "it's a problem with Norton & you need to contact them."

Most recently, over the last two days, we have spent over 12 hours on the phone and internet with Comcast's techs and Norton customer service techs located in India in an attempt to fix the issue. Much of this time was wasted asking the customer service rep/tech in India to repeat what they said because we were having a very difficult time understanding what they were saying.

What we experienced with the Norton techs is that they appeared to be very well trained in mostly being able to say "I'm sorry" and they want to remotely removed the Norton program from your computer while you sit at your monitor and watch them fumble with your mouse opening and closing many programs on you computer while they guess as they try to figure out what to do to fix the problem.

After the tech said he had successfully removed every trace of the Norton software from the computer and the computer should be back to normal, we then attempted to send and receive e-mail from the outlook program and it still was unable to perform the task. I asked the tech if he knew how to fix the problem and after he did everything he could to avoid answering the question, finally after asking him the same question 4 times, he finally admitted he did not know how to fix the problem... WHAT?

Again I asked to be transferred to someone that knew how to fix the problem, specifically asking for a supervisor. He responded by telling me he would transfer me to a higher trained technician. I then (after waiting on hold for 21 minutes) spoke to the "higher trained tech" and this person said Norton did not have a fix for this problem and I needed to now go back to Comcast and tell them to reconfigure my e-mail set up... since it was a problem with Comcast and that I should call them to fix it.

UNBELIEVABLE BUT TRUE. Interestingly enough, the lesser trained Norton tech told me he did hear about several customers having this same problem with their Microsoft Outlook immediately after downloading the Norton software. During the past week, my husband and I have had a multitude of conversation with Comcast techs and Comcast Customer Service Managers and Norton Techs and Norton Advance Service Tech and Norton Tech Supervisors. The problems and issues still have yet to be resolved through either of these conglomerates.

My next step is to spend a minimum of $59 for a phone call to Microsoft and hope that one of their techs can resolve the issue... if that doesn't work I'm afraid I may have to remove Microsoft Outlook from my computer and then reinstall it (which will include copying all of my address lists and groups and all saved and sent e-mail and more, or take the computer into a professional computer repair service company to have it fixed..

I am exhausted and totally frustrated from this nightmare. It is sad to know what little professional assistance and limited troubleshooting capabilities is offered when speaking with many of the Comcast service reps before telling you it's not their problem and we should uninstall Norton if it's not working properly or just call Microsoft... it's their problem. All of the Comcast customer service seem to have the same textbook responses to the complaints and problems. What a horrible way to do business!!!

You would think with so many Comcast customers complaining and posting all over the web; the multitude of problems they are having with Comcast service and Norton antivirus and security, they would do something about it. Comcast executives should be made aware of this by their lower level employees and react to fix the problems people are having since the switch from McAfee to Norton.

In my opinion Comcast needs to provide their customer service reps with more and better technical training instead of teaching them to say "I'm sorry about your inconvenience but... you need to contact Norton or Microsoft to resolve your issues..." This is truly the worst experience I have ever had with any company and a rampant "IT'S NOT MY PROBLEM" attitude.. I wonder if these companies are aware of the customer satisfaction statistics... if you make a customer happy they will tell a couple of people, but if you make a customer unhappy, they will tell everyone they know.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Comcast Corporation Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 122 ratings and
417 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Comcast Corporation
1500 Market St FL 33e
Philadelphia, PA 19102-4782
215-665-1700 (ph)
215-981-7790 (fax)
www.comcast.com
Product/Services
Compare Cable/Satellite Services