Preview Review

Next Review

Conn's Appliances Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Purchase and Return
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- I will never EVER buy anything from Conn's again!!! Anybody thinking to buy from these people better "buyer beware"!! We purchased a Bose system from them last weekend ($1625.00) and after hooking it up, it wasn't all it was cracked up to be. Today I want to return it but noooo... it won't be that easy. Apparently in their return and exchange policy, you have to pay 15% restocking fee!! In other words... I have to pay $244.00 to return a product that I'm not satisfied with! What a rip off!

The kicker is the salesman that sold me this thing, didn't mention a WORD about the restocking fee while he was busy selling me the extended warranty, but he was all about telling me how I would get a phone call from Conn's asking if he gave me good customer service.

Even better, I was thinking to buy new furniture from them after Christmas, but according to their "return policy", you "can't return furniture, mattresses, décor OR accessories unless it's inspected by a Conn's Service Tech and found to have a manufacturer's defect". What the hell?? I would NOT have had these problems if I would've just used Best Buy!! With Black Friday around the corner... Consider yourselves WARNED!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Given the Run Around
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LUFKIN, TEXAS -- In March of 2011 my husband and I bought a bedroom set with mattress and box springs. We had to have it delivered/setup, the delivery guys would not come into our home and did not set up our bedroom set. We noticed when we were setting the bed frame up that the head board and foot board had some problems. The head board had a crack all the way down the back of it (like someone stepped onto it) and the foot board had spots were someone had touched it with glue on their hands then tried to stain over it letting the stain run all the way down the foot board.

I called Conn's and spoke with my salesman about it. He said "hold" and got the manager on the phone then the manager told me "we will order you a new head and foot board it will be here in 3 days." 4 days later I called to check on the bed and found out it was never ordered. The salesman then ordered it and hand delivered it plus set the whole thing up for nothing for all the problems I had with the bed and the manager.

In February 2012 I called to set up service for my mattress I had purchased in March 2011 due to the mattress starting to sag and push out the sides it was set up for. March 2012 the service tech came out took his pictures and measurements and sent in his report. I called 2 weeks after the service tech was out and check the status of the report I found out that it was closed due to "nobody was home to do a service call for." I gave them the name of the person who came out the time they arrived and the time he left. They then informed me he no longer works for them and they will set me up for another service call in 6 months since I missed the last service call.

In October 2012 the service tech came out and took pictures and measurements again. (This time it the sagging was much worse than before.) The guy said he would file the report and I could call in 3 days if I have not heard anything. 3 days came and I was about to call them and a voice mail came in telling me to go pick out a new mattress. They were replacing it.

In early November of 2011 my husband and I purchased a living room set from Conn's. Had to pick it up because it was going to be after Thanksgiving before they could set up delivery. We picked it up and set it up at home. On the loveseat the whole chair started falling toward the left and it was becoming noticeable when you looked at it. In March of 2012 I called and set up service the first of 4 (8 if you count the 4 for pictures and then 4 for the service) service people came out did his pictures and said we need to order parts. They will be shipped here and a tech will come out and replace the parts.

The parts arrived and set in my living room for a week before I called service to ask when they were coming out. I was told there had been no request for a tech to come out and they would schedule one. He came out replaced the parts and that was that about a 2 weeks later. I had to call service again for the same problem (this time you would just fall to the arm of the chair.)

The service guy came out took pictures and ordered the same parts and told me the same thing about "when the parts arrive the service tech will be out here to fix/replace the parts." I waited 3 days and called to make sure a service guy would be coming. (He was.) He came out and fixed it again and told me the same thing "if there is anymore problem just call service".

In July of 2012 I called for service to come back out for the same problem. They again did the same service and I ended up call for them again. In September 2012 when the tech came out to do the pictures and all that he does. I let him do it. Waited a few days. Called to check on the service. Was told the man was going to be there Monday between 8 am-11am to fix the problem. I said that was fine. The guy arrived with the part fixed and was about to leave when UPS dropped off the part.

He told us to keep the extra part if we wanted to which we did. I called in again but told them this was going to be replaced because they have already been out to fix the same issue 4 times. They told me I could not get it replaced because I did not buy the warranty. I then told them that I have not even had this a year and it was sold to me broken. They said all they can do is keep sending out service techs to fix the issue and I could only have it serviced 6 times before I was charged the service fee.

I told them that there would be no reason to set up service because I was going to the press about this and would be bring the furniture back to their front door. I hung up with that person. Got on the computer and sent emails to the local paper about what was going on I also called BBB and Cat napper (the maker of the living room set).

I was called in September 2012 by Conn's head office saying that a new loveseat was ordered and I could pick it up whenever I wished. I went to pick it up and the store manager told me that I would have to load it myself that her employees would not touch that couch. I said "that was fine with me." I went to go find it and she told me I was not allowed to go in the back room. That she would have it brought to the front door for me then I must load it myself. 2 really nice young men brought it to the front and loaded it for me and told "Here. She could not do that to a customer." (They were both fired 2 weeks later).

In April 2013 we had to buy a microwave due to ours catching on fire, so I went to Conn's and picked it out. I had to do an in house credit for personal reasons, got everything done and even showed them my homeowners insurance. I was going to have an 11.00 a month payment for 12 months. I went in on May 19, 2013 and made a payment of 11.00. Before I made the payment my balance due was 105.33 so, when I made the payment my payoff should have dropped to 94.33 which I thought it had.

I went in on May 21, 2013 to go ahead and pay it off. The new pay off was 106.48 after the 11.00 was taken off for a payment. The cashier called customer service. They told her the computer was right and the customer was wrong. I asked to speak with them. She then told me that because I was paying it off sooner than the 12 months that there is interest. That is where the balance of 106.48 comes in.

When asked why my sale slip says 105.33 due in full, she said it was an error and Conn's is not responsible for errors like that. I told her my payment book tells me that I owe Conn's 94.33 and that is what I will pay. If there is any problem then Conn's can take me to court. She then told me that I was being rude and not giving here a chance to fix the mistake/misunderstanding.

I asked her if she could please tell me why there was and additional 5.00 charge on this account and she said "it was for insurance." I told her she was wrong because the salesman took my papers and made copies of them showing my home owners insurance. So I asked her "So I was being charged for insurance which I already had, plus I'm being charged more for paying it off early." She said, "No, you are going to pay the 106.48 owed on the account or it will be turned over to collections." I said, "I will not give you a dime. You can turn me over to collections and I will contest this and see you and Conn's in court." I then hung up.

Two hours later, my cell phone rang and Conn's was calling me to tell me there was a misunderstanding and my balance due is 95.00. My husband went and paid it off, even after telling him not to.

Replies
No Interest scam, three ways.
By -

MCALLEN, TEXAS -- A couple of years ago, we got a front loader Whirlpool Washer and Dryer from Conn's in McAllen, Texas. They were promoting a "No Interest" payment plan. So, like naive idiots, we jumped in with both feet, since our washer was on the fritz. They had the monthly payment price figured so the interest would kick in, so we asked the salesman to figure the payments so we would have everything paid off in full by the final payment, with no interest.

He did (supposedly) and we made our payments of $118 on the due date, or during their 10 day grace period, though they released the hounds on you, calling you with extremely harassing calls if you were in the "grace period". We were never, ever late.

Well, we were getting down to the last payment, and I noticed that if I made my last payment of $118, I would be $3 short of having the total amount paid off, and the $500 of interest would kick in. I realized that despite our request to have the entire amount paid off before the interest kicked in, they were making it a few bucks short. So if we didn't catch it, they would still make their money from us off the interest. Feeling good that we didn't get caught in their little deceptive trap, I knew I had to pay $121 on my last payment. (August 2009) And I'd have it paid off, and would be saved from having to pay $500 in interest.

I went in a Conn's store on Monday, August 3rd to make my final payment, and was told that because I didn't make the final payment the day before on Sunday August 2nd, that I was going to have to pay ALL the interest. I told the checker that I didn't even know they were even open on Sundays to take payments, which she said they were. I asked her what about the 10 day "grace period" to make the payment, and she said that it doesn't apply on the last payment. She said that all the interest was accrued at midnight on August 2nd, and even though I was paying just a few hours after that, I would have to pay ALL the interest, and not just some of it for being a few hours "late."

So, we got the people on the phone at Conn's "Customer Service" and they gave me the same old lines they probably tell all the other "suckers" like me that had been screwed over by Conn's on this deceptive "no interest" program. So, I asked for a manager. And she explained to me that she could put in a request for "forgiveness on the cash option," and that it would be reviewed by senior management. And that I would be notified within a week.
Never heard from anybody after a week, so I called them up. And was told that the request was on file, but it had not been reviewed yet.

She said that there were so many of these requests, that they were taking a long time to get through all of them. I guess a lot of other people were getting screwed over too. She finished the conversation by saying that I should call by the end of the month. So, I called at the end of the month, and was told the same thing (hadn't been reviewed due to huge backlog of similar requests, and to call again next week). Well, today, on September 4th, we started getting harassing calls from their collection people wanting us to pay up. So, I called to talk to the customer service, and was told the same thing, it hadn't been reviewed and to call back later.

I told her if I did that, the payment would be late, if it wasn't "forgiven." She said that's all she could do, so I talked to her manager. This person, who was talking so ghetto, I could barely understand her, started out saying the same thing. She said I could fax in the receipt with an explanation, and that would be reviewed by Senior Management, which had never been mentioned by any of the previous people I had dealt with at Conn's.

Then after going around and around with her for about 10 minutes, she finally came out and said, "No one is going to even look at this, because you were supposed to make the payment on that Sunday, and even if you didn't know we were open, and made your payment a few hours later on Monday, all the interest is now due. There's no way out of it, and there's no use in waiting any more, because you will be denied." Then, when I tried to explain the situation. She wouldn't even let me explain, she would just butt in during the middle of my sentence, saying we had nothing else to talk about!

When I told her I would appreciate it if I could finish my sentence, she started getting really rude! She said there was nothing more for us to talk about and I had to pay the extra five hundred bucks, and there was no way out of it. That she was the highest level of management I could talk to, since senior management did not take phone calls. I asked her, so why she told me to fax the receipt to them then, and she just kept telling me how I just needed to make the payments, and then she hung up on me.

So, beware of Conn's "no interest" program, because if you make every payment in full, and on time, they'll figure the payments deceptively so you'll have to pay the interest anyway. And, they'll set it up for you to make your final payment on a Sunday, (which isn't a typical day I pay bills since I'm in church and spending the day with my family), so you'll hopefully pay a day late.

Then, they'll tell you to keep jumping through hoops and giving you hope after the fact, and wasting your time by telling you they're going to review the situation, which they were never planning to do from the start. None of the things that they said was true, and all they are out for is a one-time customer, and not return customers.

Our next purchase after getting this washer/dryer paid off is for a 52 to 55 inch LCD flat screen TV, and Conn's would have been one of the companies we would have shopped. But after their deceptive practices, we will NEVER, EVER step foot in a Conn's store again!!!! Somebody else will be getting our business. And with a family of four young children, we will be buying a lot more appliances, computers and furniture that Conn's could have been considered for. But not now. Plus, we own a photography business, which uses camera and computer equipment which Conn's sells.

Sorry Conn's, after this little rip off scheme you pulled on us, you burned the one and only bridge between us! You, Conn's, are the losers in the long haul. And it's kind of a bad time to be alienating and ripping off your customers that have made on time payments over two years, when the economy is this bad. As a business owner, we know it's much easier to keep an existing client, than to go beat the bushes to find another faithful client. We'll make sure to tell all our friends and family (which are a bunch), and will post this all over the web and on Facebook, on which we have hundreds of friends.

The good thing is we have come out a little wiser (though this lesson cost us $500) to these types of schemes and will hopefully be able to not fall for this sort of thing in the future. We just hope this helps someone else out, and can keep someone else from getting ripped off by Conn's (which is such an appropriate name!!!)!!!!

Company Response 1/29/2010:

Dear Conn's customer,

We would like to apologize for the problem you have had with our company and would like to resolve your complaint for you. Please contact us at:

1-877-358-1252 or via the web at http://support.conns.com

Thank you

Conn's customer support

Replies
Conn's Appliance Store Automated Calling System
By -

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I am a customer of Conn's and have been for over 10 years. I have bought every major appliance I own plus smaller items from Conn's. When I need anything electrical, I go to Conn's before anywhere else. I am extremely shocked and appalled with the way Conn's has been treating me. After YEARS of never missing one payment on my Conn's accounts, I have begun receiving numerous phone calls from an automated system from Conn's reminding me to make my payment. This wouldn't be so bad if it was once, but is numerous phone calls for several days on every phone number which belongs to me, even if I have already made the payment!

When these phone calls started in August, I called their customer service department to ask why I was suddenly receiving these calls. The representative gave me a stock answer that it was just a simple system set up to remind the customers about payments. He agreed with me when I pointed out my excellent payment history with Conn's and he told me that he'd get the system to stop calling me.

Imagine my surprise when just TWO days after Hurricane Ike badly affected my area, Conn's automated system called every phone I own 5-7 times each day again. Did they honestly believe that in the middle of recovering from a hurricane my family needed the added burden of dealing with these relentless phone calls?? Again, a one time reminder would have been sufficient, IF they felt the need that you had to it all, which I still cannot comprehend. How about after a natural disaster, they just turn the system off for a few days?

This morning I took the time out of everything else I had to contend with to actually make the payment to my Conn's account (via the telephone so it would be immediate) just so that Conn's would stop tying up my phones with these relentless reminders. Imagine my disgust, when Conn's called three more times to remind me that my payment is due.

I have just called the customer service number again after the THIRD time they have called today, only to be told by their representative that "that's just the way the system is set up..." I asked the representative to please only deal with those customers who are delinquent with payments and leave me alone, or suggesting to call just ONE time if they really felt the need to call all loyal customers. I told him that I had actually MADE the payment this morning and could he please get the calls to stop?

He gave me a verbal shrug and just kept repeating that "that's the way it's set up."I asked him who could fix it and who I could talk to. He then gave me the number of a "corporate office"713-676-1153guess what? It's not a working number. Can I now call and harass Conn's several times a day to "remind" them to give customers working numbers?

You'd think a company who could come up with a system who could "speak" my name every time it called, could at least have a working phone number for a corporate office or have a representative who could give me the correct number. I didn't dare call him back again to actually get the correct number and waste more of my precious time.

I am going to find every public forum I can to let the public know of the insensitive and shameless methods Conn's uses of "getting" money, especially during this trying time. It's bad enough when families are not recovering from life changing disasters, but to have this happen only two days after my family has suffered losses, is trying to reach family members, and is trying to get life back to normal is absolutely unforgivable.

I also feel that the system should be "set up" in a much more accommodating manner. It should not call customers who are not delinquent or late with payments and it should not call so many times, for so many days, on so many phone numbers.

For heaven's sake, we have NEEDED our phone lines the last three days for more dire purposes. I am sorry I ever did business with them and I am even more sorry that I was such a good customer who gave them all my business and who made my payments on time each month, as I've been given no accommodations for that whatsoever. I've only been harassed.

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Customer Service
By -

FORT WORTH, TEXAS -- I would like to first thank you for reading this email. I feel it very necessary to tell you about my recent experience with your store manager at the Cherry Lane Fort Worth Texas Store. After many purchases made at this store and receiving wonderful customer service each time, my husband and I decided to purchase an HD TV. On January 7th 2008 we went to the store and ** was our salesman. He was a nice young man and we looked at several TVs but ** pointed out that he had a TV on clearance that should be just fine for us.

This was an AKIA 32" Flat screen HD TV. I told him that I felt unsure because I had not heard of this brand before but he assured me that it was a really good brand and your store had been carrying it for quite some time and never had any problems. So we purchased this TV for $499.99.

Well sometime in July 08' while watching TV it just turned off. After looking around and trying to plug it into a different outlet, I determined that it was the TV. I asked my husband to take it to Conn's and find out what we should do (we had purchased a service warranty). When my husband got to the store he approached a salesman and explained the problem. The man directed him to a phone, dialled customer service and handed my husband the phone and walked away.

After waiting on hold for about 10 minutes my husband got frustrated, hung up and left. So then a few days later I went to the store myself and requested to speak to the store manager. This was Mr ** and at the time he was busy so I patiently waited for him.

When he approached me I pleasantly told him of my dilemma and requested he tell me what I need to do to fix the situation. Well this is where it gets good. Mr **, in a VERY condescending way said: "Mrs. **, just as we probably explained to your husband, this TV is no longer carried in this store so there is nothing we can do to fix it. Now what we CAN do is sell you a more expensive TV as long as you are willing to pay the difference in cost."

This confused me a little since I purchased a warranty so I said: "Can we not send the TV to get repaired?" and his response was this "Mrs. **, we could send it to our service department but MOST likely the problem will turn out to be customer abuse so it would be in your best interest to let me see what we have in stock and you can upgrade as I said before."

All of these things were said to me in a very condescending way with him standing over me as if I was some really stupid little girl. So I stood up and told him that "there is no way it could be customer abuse because the TV has not been moved." And then he says (I cannot believe this one), he says: "Ma'am have you ever heard of a power surge!"....

At this point I am so stunned by his tone with me and his inability to just simply say "Mrs. **, here at Conn's we try to make sure that every one of our customers have a wonderful experience with their purchases and I am very sorry that this has happened to you. I will be happy to refer you to our service department or you could upgrade your TV today its up to you." These are very easy and non confrontational words but Mr. ** is VERY incapable of such. I ended up leaving very upset (to the point of tears) and calling the AKIA warranty department.

This of course brought me nothing because AKIA no longer exists (which may explain why the TV was on clearance and ** was so eager to sell it to us and with a boss like **, who has no integrity, I would not be surprised that his employees are the same way.) Anyway the warranty company had some man come and pick up my TV and they kept it for 6 weeks before giving it back to me the same way he took it.

AKIA is not shipping out power supplies and so any AKIA unit can not be repaired. So here I am back to square one... Well the point of this email is really to let you know how horribly I have been treated by ** at this store so I will get to it.

My next trip to the store was Friday September 5th. I had been speaking to ** in Beaumont. She said that she would call Mr ** and tell him to get me a new TV. When I arrived at the store he said he had not talked to her and then he starts calling service. (This is of course after he made sure to condescend me some more by explaining that he couldn't possibly remember me since he deals with so many customers everyday.) Well this email is already too long and I am just going to say that he humiliated me in front of other customers and my husband and refused to satisfy me as a customer of Conn's.

He had a Toshiba 32" Flat Screen HD TV for 569.99, which is only $70.00 more than what I paid but he refused to write off $70.00 and exchange my TV. As he and several other employees at your company explained to me, Conn's does not and will not ever write off $70.00 in order to keep a customer's business. The funny thing is that all the times I was on hold with your customer service department, I get to hear a recording that says that Conn's has been doing everything in its power to make sure every customer is satisfied since 18 something. What a joke!

The interest that I have paid on this TV that does not work is $109.75 so why is it that I cannot have the Toshiba for $70.00 more. That does not include the interest that I paid from purchasing a dishwasher, dryer, stove, 2 laptops, 3 I-Pods, a flat screen monitor, microwave, pots and pan set, freezer, sweeper and a futon.

I think that my service to Conn's is well worth $70.00 and I am so very disappointed by the way that I have been treated that at this point it is all principle. I will never ever purchase anything from Conn's again and I will definitely let everyone I talk to know how I was treated. Strangers and friends alike will hear my story since I plan to contact the local television station here who loves to catch businesses practicing unethically.

I am very sorry that you had to be bothered by this as I really did make GREAT attempts to reach ** who is the District manager in this area. However after being told by several of his managers at others stores that he would not help me anyway, I finally gave up. (I did leave many messages for him with no response.) I would strongly advise that you remove ** from contact with customers as I cannot see how there would be any way he can manage this store that is in a very bad location without running it into the ground. I appreciate your time.

Replies
Cons at Conn's
By -

First of all in my line of work I deal with the public and I mean a lot of people which are now not shopping at Conn's due to my personal experience. Conn's has owed me a little over 100.00 dollars for 5 months which they took out of my personal checking account after I paid off my mattress set. They have given me the runaround at least 2 times a week since October. I have been a loyal customer for 3 years. I should have been aware after the dishwasher I bought for 475.00 broke down 3 days after warranty and they would not send out a repairman.

I paid 75.00 for a repairman from my area to come to fix it but, he said that the dishwasher had internal problems and could not be fixed. Because 3 days is 3 days and I try to follow the rules of a establishment that I do business with, I accepted the situation and bought one from Sears, which is still working great after 2 years. Well a good sell at Conn's turned my head and I again bought from Conn's, a mattress and box springs. Which I paid in good faith, even paying off early. Conn's let the consumer set up payments 3 months in advance so that is the how I set my payment plan up with Conn's. Every 3 months I called and set up the 3 payments from my checking account.

I paid off my mattresses off early and told Conn's to not take out any more payments due to pay off. The next month they took out a payment. I called them and told them of the mistake on their part. They wanted proof so my bank sent proof. They said they would send me a check in 10 days. In ten days, no check. But 10 days late another withdraw to Conn's was taken out of my account. I called, was sent to 3 different departments, said again to send the proof. I did this. I called a week later and found that I had been taken out of the system. It took 2 more phone calls to get me back in the system. I have ask to talk to a supervisor and have been told to leave my number.

Five months later I have never received a phone call from a supervisor or anyone else for that matter. So, I have taken the matter to a Lawyer, and me and about 32 other people are sending out mass emails and forwards telling people to stand together and don't let the big businesses take our hard earned money out of our pockets anymore. And start holding them responsible for how they treat the people that have made them who they are. We have lined their pockets the least they can do is return to us respectable, fair and courteous relations.

Conn's will lose a lot more if everyone stands together and stops buying from businesses like Conn's that get rich off of people that look for deals and have to watch their pennies. Most people that buy from Conn's live from paycheck to paycheck. We deserve better treatment. I now save my money and pay cash and only when the item is on sale. That interest that you will save by not buying at Conn's on Credit will hit them hard if you take your business elsewhere. Thanks.

Replies
Beat Conn's
By -

If you buy a product from Conn's and it's not working properly, simply call Conn's 409-832-1696, the operator will pick-up, just simply ask for the Legal Department. Tell the legal department that you are hiring a lawyer to represent you in court. Ask the person for their name and extension number. Ask them who should the citation be issued to?
Ask them if they have notated your account properly that your product was sold to you defected? *More than likely Conn's Legal Department will not sue you on default payments if it's notated properly that the product was sold defected and you have not gotten proper service on it. Call as soon as you feel your product is not right.

Also, if you have a medical issue that is keeping you from making payments make sure you tell them the exact medical issue. Conn's do not like to notate cancer, hospital, death, shot, fire, etc. Because this will keep the attorneys from pursuing it as a legal matter. Listen to me! Always call this number and ask for the legal department and give your exact medical situation. Do not talk to LDRT-Legal Dispute Resolution Team, they do not care! You want the Legal Production team. Have Legal repeat to you what they have notated in your notes. Never settle for the terms "medical issue" or "health issue".

Tell them what you want it to say, it's your account. *You have a 99% chance that your account will never go to court. You may get a demand letter, sue letter. If a case is filed, more than likely it will be dismissed. *THEY WILL SEND YOU A REINSTATEMENT LETTER, BUT NEVER SIGN IT. Another smart move is to have the Post Office send your mail back to them as Temporary Away. Don't answer the phone, do not have your name on your voicemail, tell neighbors do not answer questions concerning you, other than you moved to Mexico. LOL. Conn's will call you from personal cell numbers in your area, don't answer the phone.

They won't leave a voicemail, they will wait for you to call the number back and say "Hi.... this is Conn's." You simply state, "I don't know you." and hang up. They have 5-10 local numbers to call you on. It's not unheard of for people to buy a house full of merchandise and move to Mexico, or become suddenly ill, or suddenly die. They won't sue in Mexico or a dead person! Also, never say you are married, they will harass your spouse... Never say you are married, they will harass your spouse.

Don't take my blog as a means of legal advice, contact a lawyer. This is my sole opinion, just in case you have someone that try to retaliate. There are plenty lawyers right now suing Conn's for harassment, record your conversation and call one today. I almost forgot. If you have an unauthorized payment on your account, call the Legal Department and tell them. For sure they will not sue. Fax proof to Legal Department fax number. Make sure you get it from them. As always, I hope you are dancing!!!! Conn's cannot win................

Replies
Conn's, The Name Says It All!
By -

TEXAS -- I have been without an oven since 3/9 on a stove that has only been used for a little more than 2 years. This means we were unable to have our traditional Easter family lunch and dinner. The stove was purchased brand new with an extended warranty from Conn's. The stove and the extended warranty have been paid in full for some time. The stove is a GE glass top, stainless steel model number GLEFZ379FC also not recommended. The extended warranty is through 11/16/2010. Total paid was $1,004.54; all paperwork is available for proof. I previously purchased a chair, a refrigerator, a dishwasher, a microwave, air conditioner, and a TV.

I have repeatedly called and I have been repeatedly promised that someone will call me back. There was to have been a service person to repair the stove on 3/20. The person never called and never showed up. When we called the following Monday we were promised that someone would call us back, but we also found out that no part had been ordered. This game went on and on and we were repeatedly promised that the part had been ordered and that someone would call us back with an explanation.

On 4/03 someone slipped and admitted that the part had not been ordered, but that it could not be ordered until Monday 4/6 because of inventory and we were promised a call back confirming the ordering of the part. Needless to say no call came Monday 4/6 and 4/7 I called and no part had been order and there was no explanation of why, when a part would be ordered, an offer for a manager to call us back, and no apology whatsoever!

The customer service is beyond atrocious and the only responses I get are sarcastic "I do not knows" and "I cannot answer for someone else" and there is NEVER a manager available to speak to me. I called one of the stores in an attempt to get some help and they openly admitted that they cannot get any further with the situation than what I can. The store number I called is 512-335-1001 and the customer service number, if you can call it that, is 1-800-280-1514. The store that attempted to help me called and acted as if they were me and they were equally as appalled by the customer service attitude.

The person at the store repeatedly apologized that there was nothing he could do, but there was no way for him to push anything any further and that his service manager said that I needed to call customer service; the manager still said this even after the helpful person told him that not even a Conn's employee could get an answer out of customer service.

With this experience, I am MORE than shocked to see A+ BBB rating especially coupled with the number of complaints filed in the last 36, which totaled 1,930! These circumstances are making me rethink my belief in using and the credibility of the BBB itself and businesses that are BBB accredited.

Update 5/5/2009: This all started with a repair issue on my oven, see above. Well, once I filed a complaint with the Texas Attorney General and the Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation (they deal with warranty issues) my stove was magically fixed the following day. People need to file complaints with state and/or federal organizations, these entities work off of numbers and unless the public registers complaints they never know there is an issue to be investigated. The real kicker is that it took 5 minutes, yes 1, 2,3,4,5 whole minutes for the part to be replaced and the oven to once again work. Conn's is so messed-up that they called 3 days later to schedule a repair person.

However, now what is most concerning is that the BBB actually sent me a response from Conn's that was 2 sentences. The stove was fixed on 4/20 and we are sorry for the inconvenience. In my BBB complaint I specifically requested an explanation of why it took so long, what would be done to improve customer service, and a full apology from Conn's.

I obviously rejected the BBB letter as settling the matter and stated I wanted what I requested along with an explanation from the BBB as to why Conn's still has an A+ rating with 1,972 complaints in the last 36 months as of 5/5 and why the BBB would accept such an unbelievably weak response from Conn's on my complaint. I requested this explanation from the BBB on 4/18 in a separate e-mail to the BBB of Southeast Texas and in my rejection letter on 4/22 to the BBB.

I have yet to receive an acknowledgement of my request for an explanation from the BBB, much less an explanation. I will wait a full month for a response from the BBB and then I will file a report with the Federal Trade Commission for deceptive practices and contact one of the local news stations. All I can say is do not trust the reports on the BBB and look-up complaints on the BBB; once you do you will see that there are many legitimate complaints on the organization! People need to be educated on what a scam the BBB really is!

Replies
Advertisement
Never Shop Conn's!!!
By -

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I will start this review by stating that this is my first (and LAST) experience with Conn's appliance store. My husband and I have been shopping for a new TV for some time, we found the exact TV we wanted at Conn's for an amazing price. We live in Central, TX and the closest Conn's store that had our TV was located in Houston, TX. We called the Houston Conn's store and told them our situation. We lived 3 hours away but really wanted this TV, we were told as long as we showed up that day the TV was ours and that our sales representative would hold it for us. We offered our credit card number but were told it wasn't necessary.

My husband was in love with the TV, so we packed up myself, my husband and our 4 year old son for a road trip. Borrowed a truck and drove 3 and a half hours to Houston, TX. Upon arriving we waited 15 minutes for our sales representative to wait on us. He then had us go and sit at a desk. After typing in several numbers in his computer he said "well, we have a small problem." By small problem he meant that they didn't have our TV.

He then started to try to sell us a completely different TV at a no way discounted price. ($100 off when the TV was more than $800 more expensive than the one we wanted.) He then went on to explain that he understood our frustration and that now we probably "just wanted anything." I informed him that we didn't want anything, we wanted the TV we came here for, not anything. He then told us that it was OUR fault that he didn't have our TV because we hadn't given him a credit card number when we called to ask about the TV.

I then informed him that we had offered a credit card number and we were ASSURED that as long as we arrived that day that we would get the TV. He said he was sorry for the miscommunication and then went on to assist other customers and to chit chat with co-workers. I asked for the manager's name and district managers name and phone number and we left to make the long trip home angry and without our TV. After spending most of our afternoon there we arrived home at 11 pm.

I called the warehouse that stores Conn's TVs this morning and was informed they have two of the TVs we wanted at their warehouse and if our sales person had taken our money we could have picked it up from the warehouse the same day. For all of you thinking about going to Conn's for ANYthing, buyers beware!!! I was also listening to Conn's "policies" while I was on hold this morning and was surprised to learn that "if we don't have something in stock we will give you the next size up at the same price."

Replies
Worst Company Ever!
By -

CEDAR HILL, TEXAS -- Do not ever buy anything from Conn's. The salespeople are very nice until you make your purchase and walk out the door. Everyone is really nice until the sale is complete and you have any problem. All the things they say about their "€œguaranteed satisfaction" is a crock. I will personally guarantee you will not be satisfied. I purchased a laptop in October and it crashed the second week of November. I took it in to be repaired and was told that "€œthis happens with these all the time."€ Not what they said when I bought it but OK.

It was sent to the repair department and six weeks later I started calling everyone from Dallas to Louisiana to try to find out what is going on. Everyone I spoke to was rude. The only nice young lady I spoke to promised to turn it over to the escalation department and I would definitely hear from them within 48 hours, that was a week ago. I started being rude too and all that will get you is hung up on. They acted like they were my customer. Acting like they were doing me a big favor and asking really dumb questions. What is the serial number of your computer? When I said "I wasn't sure", they told me to just look on the back of my laptop.

When I said "I do not have the laptop, you do" they hung up on me. One manager said to me "€What is it that you want me to do?"€œ I said "either get me my repaired computer or give me back my money." He said "€œI cannot do either of those."€œ I have never been so angry and frustrated in my whole life. I started Googling "Conn's Complaints"€ and found out that I am not alone. Washers, dryers, TVs etc. No one can believe the after purchase customer service of this company. I finally was told to call Hewlett Packard and then I got to speak to everyone in Asia.

Finally after two days I found a lady who told me that they had already authorized Conn's to replace my computer. When I told Conn's they started explaining to me what I NEEDED TO GET FROM HEWLETT PACKARD TO GET THAT DONE! I did not buy my computer from Hewlett Packard. I finally got what they needed and they promised to call me back and never heard a word. Finally I waited a day and started over. They told me that my computer was at the store repaired. Then I called the store. I was hung up on 5 times. I finally spoke to the manager who promised to call me back and never did.

Do not believe anyone at this company. They do not do their own repairs like they say. But from what I have read on the internet I was lucky they sent it to Hewlett Packard. If anyone promises to call you back, get it taken care of or ask you to hold you can forget it. Check the internet there are lots of us. I got my computer back, cancelled my extended warranty and purchased an extended warranty directly from Hewlett Packard. I plan on never having any contact with Conn's again. Do your homework. I can say that one day I will get to smile - WHEN I READ HOW THEY WENT OUT OF BUSINESS!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Conn's Appliances Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 28 ratings and
114 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Conn's Appliances
3295 College St.
Beaumont, TX 77704
409-832-1696 (ph)
409-832-4344 (fax)
www.conns.com
Compare Appliance Companies