Preview Review

Next Review

Conn's Appliances Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Defective/Used Products and Horrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHANDLER, ARIZONA -- Had a couch delivered Monday July 7 at 11 AM, I did not notice the problem area(s) until after the delivery. On the back of the couch (where the back panels meet in the corners) it's peeling back on most of the corners and you can see screws and Staples. There is also material that has been rubbed off on the corners, like its been dragged on the ground.

I was told by delivery that I had 72 hours to call if there was an issue. I called 623-882-2400 at 8:30 am on July 10 (NOT YET 72 hours). Once I received a call back at 1:53 PM (now after 72 hours) I was told that it's over 72 hours (because Conn's counts days not hours) and they will send someone out to repair it. Why do the delivery drivers say 72 hours if it's not really 72 hours?

I called customer service and no one can help you. They tell you to call the store, the store tells you to call customer service and they in turn transfer you to the "correct" department, but it's never the correct department. They open tickets and then close them as resolved without ever communicating what the resolution is. They tell you, "Oh I am waiting for corporate. Let me call you back" And they never call. On Saturday July 12, I finally called the manager at the Chandler store, **, and he told me that they were going to replace the defective section of the couch.

The delivery people called that same day to set up a time to come out and replace the defective couch. Sunday, July 13, the delivery driver is at the house and tells me that Conn's ordered the wrong one. You deliver a couch that is already falling apart and then when you try to correct the problem you mess that up too. I had other items that we purchased (oven, rug and microwave) that have not been delivered and I have already canceled those.

On Monday July 14, I called customer service yet again and asked them to come pick up their defective couch and to close the credit account.. I was told they could come get the couch, for a $129.00 fee and then I could exchange it for something else, or I could do a voluntary repo but I am still responsible for payment.

When you make a big purchase, such as a couch, you are not only paying for quality merchandise, you're paying for quality customer service. Since the couch was delivered defective and then you sent the wrong couch out to "fix" my issue and the complete lack of customer service, I would like for Conn's to come pick up their defective couch, which still has all the tags on, and close my credit account with no negative impact on my already good credit.

Replies
Advertisement
Conn's Refuses to Replace Defected Computer and Loses It!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

THE WOODLANDS, TEXAS -- I am or should I say I was a long time customer of Conn's. I purchased numerous TVs, lawn mower, TV mounts, refrigerator, but my complaint is on the computer that I purchased in January 2013. The computer stayed in the box for 3-4 months due to office remodelling and once we opened and started using it the computer crashed after about 6-10 hours of use! It didn't even last a week!

I took it to Sugar Land to get it fixed and when it was being fixed I contacted the store I purchased it from, which was in The Woodlands, and spoke to manager. The manager agreed to replace it and if there was a cost difference I would pay. It took me some time to go over to The Woodlands. I live about an hour plus away from there, and when I was ready to head over I called to let him know and he said it was too late!

Apparently there was an expiration on the replacement! Too bad he failed to mention that the first time he spoke. Why he wouldn't, I have no idea. We argued over the phone and I gave up. So I went to Sugar Land to pick it up and spoke to the manager there, he suggested that I contact Conn's directly. So I left the computer and tried with no success to get it resolved, no returned calls, nothing! All the while, I had paid my bill every month for a computer that I did not have and did not even work!

I finally went back to the store to go pick up my computer, and even though it was in the store (yes I said in the store) Conn's refused to let me pick it up because their computer showed it was "in transit." So I left again with no computer and extremely angry. What a waste of my time and money! I am finally at the point where I refuse to pay for this computer. I get 3-4 calls a day on my payment, but NO calls on the lack of their customer service, no calls on the repair or replacement of my computer that they have!

Today the last straw I spoke with Conn's and they show in the computer that I picked it up! NO, Conn's you still have or lost or sold or whatever you did to it, I don't! I am not a complainer. I typically don't write review or anything online, but this is just ridiculous! I will tell everyone I know about this experience and tell them to never to go Conn's! Don't waste your money at this store.

Replies
Does Not Stand by Their Return Policy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HUMBLE, TEXAS -- On 6/1/2014 went with Humble Conn's because they stated if we did Not like the mattress we could exchange it for $129 fee. Bought the set for $1515.00. Brought it home... HATED it. Woke up stiff with achy hips. Called our sales lady. She told us she would talk to manager and call us back.

3 hrs later she called and said we would have to sleep on mattress for 7 nights then we could proceed with exchange or we could call customer service and they would come and inspect the less than 24 hr old mattress and decide if it was in a exchangeable condition. Are you kidding me? Their policy states "You May Return/Exchange Mattress Within 14 Days Of Purchase!!"

Replies
Additional Charge Added to Your Payment for Processing Center
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LEWISVILLE, TEXAS -- We bought a table from Conn's and have been making monthly payments. Somewhere along the line they changed to Bank of America for card processing. Bank of America is supposedly charging them $3 for every payment processed and rather than consider it a cost of doing business they passed the charge on to their customers. I have a hard time believing that such a big company could not negotiate a better deal on processing and feel that they are actually charging more for this than they are being charged. I will not purchase from them again. I can't bring myself to do business with a company that charges you to pay your bill.

Replies
Advertisement
Tucson Conns You Out of Money.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- My mother went to this place to get a refrigerator, (she is on a fixed income) bought one with cash. They offered free delivery and set up on a rebate type system ($80.00) so they dropped off the unit inside the front door. That's no setup and it wouldn't fit. I called Conns the next day to see what the return policy is and the salesperson told me we will get a call from the salesman who sold it. Of course, no call.

I took it to their store and they said they don't take back returns at the store and laughed at us, and this is a manager. I informed them that they will take it back and give the money back and we will not be doing business with them. They informed us that we will be charged for delivery and setup and restock fees will apply. So, they conned us out of $250.00. Very bad service. Please never do business with this company. May they end up like all the other companies that go against the big box stores.

Replies
Conn's Just a Bunch of Con Artist
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- We went to purchased a big screen TV and stove top. We were going to pay cash but the representative talked us into starting a same as cash credit account. We made our payments and a few months later went back and paid cash for a washer/dryer, and camera during a black Friday sale. We were still making payments on the TV and stove top when we were notified that we weren't sending in enough money. When we called to check this out we were notified that our purchases made on black Friday were also added to our credit account. We argued, sent in copies of receipts and did everything else within our power but they still would not remove it.

When we withheld payment, they took the voided check we had to give at the start of the account and began removing money from the acct. We tried doing stop payments but they changed the check number and dollar amount every time. And it was legal because of the authorization you have to sign when writing a check to them.

We ended up having to change our banking info because everything the bank did to stop them... they were a step ahead. To this day the account is unpaid and with the money taken from my account the TV and range has been paid for twice with interest.

Replies
Defective Ashley Furniture and Lack of Repair Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CONROE, TEXAS -- Conn's - Ashley Leather Couch Set. We bought an Ashley set of leather couches at Conn's three years ago. Within a month or two the leather was peeling on the Reclining Love Seat left side. I didn't know REAL leather peeled. We called in for repairs and they came and the repairman from Kelly's Furniture Service in San Antonio told us that the leather was no good and he's have to order a new cover.

Waited weeks for the parts to arrive. By that time the couch was doing the same thing, and the reclining mechanism on the right side had quit working properly. Called to complain and once again they sent out a different guy from Kelly's repeat of the same story, had to order parts, waited waited waited. After four months another repairmen showed up with the correct cover to fix the love seat left side, by then the right side was peeling too, needless to say ordered more parts. I asked about the reclining part of the couch and was told it was back ordered due to a rush of the same problems.

Months went by called to complain more times than I can count, same story. Finally the furniture was in such bad shape I had to replace it with real leather furniture from a real furniture company. Told Conn's I refuse to pay the balance for furniture that they failed to repair and wasn't even real leather as it was represented.

Replies
Given the Run Around
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LUFKIN, TEXAS -- In March of 2011 my husband and I bought a bedroom set with mattress and box springs. We had to have it delivered/setup, the delivery guys would not come into our home and did not set up our bedroom set. We noticed when we were setting the bed frame up that the head board and foot board had some problems. The head board had a crack all the way down the back of it (like someone stepped onto it) and the foot board had spots were someone had touched it with glue on their hands then tried to stain over it letting the stain run all the way down the foot board.

I called Conn's and spoke with my salesman about it. He said "hold" and got the manager on the phone then the manager told me "we will order you a new head and foot board it will be here in 3 days." 4 days later I called to check on the bed and found out it was never ordered. The salesman then ordered it and hand delivered it plus set the whole thing up for nothing for all the problems I had with the bed and the manager.

In February 2012 I called to set up service for my mattress I had purchased in March 2011 due to the mattress starting to sag and push out the sides it was set up for. March 2012 the service tech came out took his pictures and measurements and sent in his report. I called 2 weeks after the service tech was out and check the status of the report I found out that it was closed due to "nobody was home to do a service call for." I gave them the name of the person who came out the time they arrived and the time he left. They then informed me he no longer works for them and they will set me up for another service call in 6 months since I missed the last service call.

In October 2012 the service tech came out and took pictures and measurements again. (This time it the sagging was much worse than before.) The guy said he would file the report and I could call in 3 days if I have not heard anything. 3 days came and I was about to call them and a voice mail came in telling me to go pick out a new mattress. They were replacing it.

In early November of 2011 my husband and I purchased a living room set from Conn's. Had to pick it up because it was going to be after Thanksgiving before they could set up delivery. We picked it up and set it up at home. On the loveseat the whole chair started falling toward the left and it was becoming noticeable when you looked at it. In March of 2012 I called and set up service the first of 4 (8 if you count the 4 for pictures and then 4 for the service) service people came out did his pictures and said we need to order parts. They will be shipped here and a tech will come out and replace the parts.

The parts arrived and set in my living room for a week before I called service to ask when they were coming out. I was told there had been no request for a tech to come out and they would schedule one. He came out replaced the parts and that was that about a 2 weeks later. I had to call service again for the same problem (this time you would just fall to the arm of the chair.)

The service guy came out took pictures and ordered the same parts and told me the same thing about "when the parts arrive the service tech will be out here to fix/replace the parts." I waited 3 days and called to make sure a service guy would be coming. (He was.) He came out and fixed it again and told me the same thing "if there is anymore problem just call service".

In July of 2012 I called for service to come back out for the same problem. They again did the same service and I ended up call for them again. In September 2012 when the tech came out to do the pictures and all that he does. I let him do it. Waited a few days. Called to check on the service. Was told the man was going to be there Monday between 8 am-11am to fix the problem. I said that was fine. The guy arrived with the part fixed and was about to leave when UPS dropped off the part.

He told us to keep the extra part if we wanted to which we did. I called in again but told them this was going to be replaced because they have already been out to fix the same issue 4 times. They told me I could not get it replaced because I did not buy the warranty. I then told them that I have not even had this a year and it was sold to me broken. They said all they can do is keep sending out service techs to fix the issue and I could only have it serviced 6 times before I was charged the service fee.

I told them that there would be no reason to set up service because I was going to the press about this and would be bring the furniture back to their front door. I hung up with that person. Got on the computer and sent emails to the local paper about what was going on I also called BBB and Cat napper (the maker of the living room set).

I was called in September 2012 by Conn's head office saying that a new loveseat was ordered and I could pick it up whenever I wished. I went to pick it up and the store manager told me that I would have to load it myself that her employees would not touch that couch. I said "that was fine with me." I went to go find it and she told me I was not allowed to go in the back room. That she would have it brought to the front door for me then I must load it myself. 2 really nice young men brought it to the front and loaded it for me and told "Here. She could not do that to a customer." (They were both fired 2 weeks later).

In April 2013 we had to buy a microwave due to ours catching on fire, so I went to Conn's and picked it out. I had to do an in house credit for personal reasons, got everything done and even showed them my homeowners insurance. I was going to have an 11.00 a month payment for 12 months. I went in on May 19, 2013 and made a payment of 11.00. Before I made the payment my balance due was 105.33 so, when I made the payment my payoff should have dropped to 94.33 which I thought it had.

I went in on May 21, 2013 to go ahead and pay it off. The new pay off was 106.48 after the 11.00 was taken off for a payment. The cashier called customer service. They told her the computer was right and the customer was wrong. I asked to speak with them. She then told me that because I was paying it off sooner than the 12 months that there is interest. That is where the balance of 106.48 comes in.

When asked why my sale slip says 105.33 due in full, she said it was an error and Conn's is not responsible for errors like that. I told her my payment book tells me that I owe Conn's 94.33 and that is what I will pay. If there is any problem then Conn's can take me to court. She then told me that I was being rude and not giving here a chance to fix the mistake/misunderstanding.

I asked her if she could please tell me why there was and additional 5.00 charge on this account and she said "it was for insurance." I told her she was wrong because the salesman took my papers and made copies of them showing my home owners insurance. So I asked her "So I was being charged for insurance which I already had, plus I'm being charged more for paying it off early." She said, "No, you are going to pay the 106.48 owed on the account or it will be turned over to collections." I said, "I will not give you a dime. You can turn me over to collections and I will contest this and see you and Conn's in court." I then hung up.

Two hours later, my cell phone rang and Conn's was calling me to tell me there was a misunderstanding and my balance due is 95.00. My husband went and paid it off, even after telling him not to.

Replies
Advertisement
No Interest scam, three ways.
By -

MCALLEN, TEXAS -- A couple of years ago, we got a front loader Whirlpool Washer and Dryer from Conn's in McAllen, Texas. They were promoting a "No Interest" payment plan. So, like naive idiots, we jumped in with both feet, since our washer was on the fritz. They had the monthly payment price figured so the interest would kick in, so we asked the salesman to figure the payments so we would have everything paid off in full by the final payment, with no interest.

He did (supposedly) and we made our payments of $118 on the due date, or during their 10 day grace period, though they released the hounds on you, calling you with extremely harassing calls if you were in the "grace period". We were never, ever late.

Well, we were getting down to the last payment, and I noticed that if I made my last payment of $118, I would be $3 short of having the total amount paid off, and the $500 of interest would kick in. I realized that despite our request to have the entire amount paid off before the interest kicked in, they were making it a few bucks short. So if we didn't catch it, they would still make their money from us off the interest. Feeling good that we didn't get caught in their little deceptive trap, I knew I had to pay $121 on my last payment. (August 2009) And I'd have it paid off, and would be saved from having to pay $500 in interest.

I went in a Conn's store on Monday, August 3rd to make my final payment, and was told that because I didn't make the final payment the day before on Sunday August 2nd, that I was going to have to pay ALL the interest. I told the checker that I didn't even know they were even open on Sundays to take payments, which she said they were. I asked her what about the 10 day "grace period" to make the payment, and she said that it doesn't apply on the last payment. She said that all the interest was accrued at midnight on August 2nd, and even though I was paying just a few hours after that, I would have to pay ALL the interest, and not just some of it for being a few hours "late."

So, we got the people on the phone at Conn's "Customer Service" and they gave me the same old lines they probably tell all the other "suckers" like me that had been screwed over by Conn's on this deceptive "no interest" program. So, I asked for a manager. And she explained to me that she could put in a request for "forgiveness on the cash option," and that it would be reviewed by senior management. And that I would be notified within a week.
Never heard from anybody after a week, so I called them up. And was told that the request was on file, but it had not been reviewed yet.

She said that there were so many of these requests, that they were taking a long time to get through all of them. I guess a lot of other people were getting screwed over too. She finished the conversation by saying that I should call by the end of the month. So, I called at the end of the month, and was told the same thing (hadn't been reviewed due to huge backlog of similar requests, and to call again next week). Well, today, on September 4th, we started getting harassing calls from their collection people wanting us to pay up. So, I called to talk to the customer service, and was told the same thing, it hadn't been reviewed and to call back later.

I told her if I did that, the payment would be late, if it wasn't "forgiven." She said that's all she could do, so I talked to her manager. This person, who was talking so ghetto, I could barely understand her, started out saying the same thing. She said I could fax in the receipt with an explanation, and that would be reviewed by Senior Management, which had never been mentioned by any of the previous people I had dealt with at Conn's.

Then after going around and around with her for about 10 minutes, she finally came out and said, "No one is going to even look at this, because you were supposed to make the payment on that Sunday, and even if you didn't know we were open, and made your payment a few hours later on Monday, all the interest is now due. There's no way out of it, and there's no use in waiting any more, because you will be denied." Then, when I tried to explain the situation. She wouldn't even let me explain, she would just butt in during the middle of my sentence, saying we had nothing else to talk about!

When I told her I would appreciate it if I could finish my sentence, she started getting really rude! She said there was nothing more for us to talk about and I had to pay the extra five hundred bucks, and there was no way out of it. That she was the highest level of management I could talk to, since senior management did not take phone calls. I asked her, so why she told me to fax the receipt to them then, and she just kept telling me how I just needed to make the payments, and then she hung up on me.

So, beware of Conn's "no interest" program, because if you make every payment in full, and on time, they'll figure the payments deceptively so you'll have to pay the interest anyway. And, they'll set it up for you to make your final payment on a Sunday, (which isn't a typical day I pay bills since I'm in church and spending the day with my family), so you'll hopefully pay a day late.

Then, they'll tell you to keep jumping through hoops and giving you hope after the fact, and wasting your time by telling you they're going to review the situation, which they were never planning to do from the start. None of the things that they said was true, and all they are out for is a one-time customer, and not return customers.

Our next purchase after getting this washer/dryer paid off is for a 52 to 55 inch LCD flat screen TV, and Conn's would have been one of the companies we would have shopped. But after their deceptive practices, we will NEVER, EVER step foot in a Conn's store again!!!! Somebody else will be getting our business. And with a family of four young children, we will be buying a lot more appliances, computers and furniture that Conn's could have been considered for. But not now. Plus, we own a photography business, which uses camera and computer equipment which Conn's sells.

Sorry Conn's, after this little rip off scheme you pulled on us, you burned the one and only bridge between us! You, Conn's, are the losers in the long haul. And it's kind of a bad time to be alienating and ripping off your customers that have made on time payments over two years, when the economy is this bad. As a business owner, we know it's much easier to keep an existing client, than to go beat the bushes to find another faithful client. We'll make sure to tell all our friends and family (which are a bunch), and will post this all over the web and on Facebook, on which we have hundreds of friends.

The good thing is we have come out a little wiser (though this lesson cost us $500) to these types of schemes and will hopefully be able to not fall for this sort of thing in the future. We just hope this helps someone else out, and can keep someone else from getting ripped off by Conn's (which is such an appropriate name!!!)!!!!

Company Response 1/29/2010:

Dear Conn's customer,

We would like to apologize for the problem you have had with our company and would like to resolve your complaint for you. Please contact us at:

1-877-358-1252 or via the web at http://support.conns.com

Thank you

Conn's customer support

Replies
Conn's Appliance Store Automated Calling System
By -

HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I am a customer of Conn's and have been for over 10 years. I have bought every major appliance I own plus smaller items from Conn's. When I need anything electrical, I go to Conn's before anywhere else. I am extremely shocked and appalled with the way Conn's has been treating me. After YEARS of never missing one payment on my Conn's accounts, I have begun receiving numerous phone calls from an automated system from Conn's reminding me to make my payment. This wouldn't be so bad if it was once, but is numerous phone calls for several days on every phone number which belongs to me, even if I have already made the payment!

When these phone calls started in August, I called their customer service department to ask why I was suddenly receiving these calls. The representative gave me a stock answer that it was just a simple system set up to remind the customers about payments. He agreed with me when I pointed out my excellent payment history with Conn's and he told me that he'd get the system to stop calling me.

Imagine my surprise when just TWO days after Hurricane Ike badly affected my area, Conn's automated system called every phone I own 5-7 times each day again. Did they honestly believe that in the middle of recovering from a hurricane my family needed the added burden of dealing with these relentless phone calls?? Again, a one time reminder would have been sufficient, IF they felt the need that you had to it all, which I still cannot comprehend. How about after a natural disaster, they just turn the system off for a few days?

This morning I took the time out of everything else I had to contend with to actually make the payment to my Conn's account (via the telephone so it would be immediate) just so that Conn's would stop tying up my phones with these relentless reminders. Imagine my disgust, when Conn's called three more times to remind me that my payment is due.

I have just called the customer service number again after the THIRD time they have called today, only to be told by their representative that "that's just the way the system is set up..." I asked the representative to please only deal with those customers who are delinquent with payments and leave me alone, or suggesting to call just ONE time if they really felt the need to call all loyal customers. I told him that I had actually MADE the payment this morning and could he please get the calls to stop?

He gave me a verbal shrug and just kept repeating that "that's the way it's set up."I asked him who could fix it and who I could talk to. He then gave me the number of a "corporate office"713-676-1153guess what? It's not a working number. Can I now call and harass Conn's several times a day to "remind" them to give customers working numbers?

You'd think a company who could come up with a system who could "speak" my name every time it called, could at least have a working phone number for a corporate office or have a representative who could give me the correct number. I didn't dare call him back again to actually get the correct number and waste more of my precious time.

I am going to find every public forum I can to let the public know of the insensitive and shameless methods Conn's uses of "getting" money, especially during this trying time. It's bad enough when families are not recovering from life changing disasters, but to have this happen only two days after my family has suffered losses, is trying to reach family members, and is trying to get life back to normal is absolutely unforgivable.

I also feel that the system should be "set up" in a much more accommodating manner. It should not call customers who are not delinquent or late with payments and it should not call so many times, for so many days, on so many phone numbers.

For heaven's sake, we have NEEDED our phone lines the last three days for more dire purposes. I am sorry I ever did business with them and I am even more sorry that I was such a good customer who gave them all my business and who made my payments on time each month, as I've been given no accommodations for that whatsoever. I've only been harassed.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Conn's Appliances Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 25 ratings and
111 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Conn's Appliances
3295 College St.
Beaumont, TX 77704
409-832-1696 (ph)
409-832-4344 (fax)
www.conns.com
Compare Appliance Companies