Consumer Cellular - Page 3

Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.8 out of 5, based on 26 ratings and
38 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Illegal Practice
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 3/51

FLORIDA -- About 2 months ago I obtained phone services with Consumer Cellular. I thought I would be saving money by didn't as I was spending more than the basic unlimited plans to 2500 minutes. I decided that this does not make sense and have been trying to have my number released back to my prior carrier. Folks, it has been over a week and the excuses are beyond me. I finally had to obtain a new number and you can well imagine the inconvenience this has caused... I am very dissatisfied with this action and will be having individuals I referred to this service terminate.

     
Replies
Sales Rep Lied to Me to Sign Me Up! Read Below
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALL USA -- Stay away from them. They will lie to sign you up. I spoke with their representative and before I gave her my SSN, I asked her several times if she is going to hard pull or soft pull my credit (soft pull does not show on your credit report). She said it will be a soft pull. I told her that I am buying a house and that I can't afford any inquiries on my credit. She assured me that will be soft credit pull and there will be no inquiry on my credit. There is one. She lied.
I tried to dispute it with the credit bureau, but no luck. Consumer Cellular doesn't want to take any responsibility for it!

They will tell you any lie to enroll you in their service. Now I'm stuck with extra inquiry on my credit that will cost me money on my APR of my house purchase. If I was told the truth I would not sign up for service until I buy the house. I tried to dispute it with BBB, but their answer was ongoing "yes, we pull credit". They didn't want to acknowledge the fact that I was lied by the sales representative I called and asked to speak with a manager, because supervisors don't care. I was told that the manager will call me but he never did. No interest in solving the issue.

     
Replies
Charging Bank Card After Service Terminated
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Cancelled service in Sept 2013 before due date of Oct 2nd. In Nov 2013 they billed my card $92, which is more than the monthly payment of $62. What is with all these cheap cell phone companies? I guess they are cheap as they plan to take you one way or another.

     
Replies
Consumer Cellular Has Some Bad Phones
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

FAYETTEVILLE, GEORGIA -- My wife and I joined Consumer Cellular about 6 months ago and the service is good. However after the first month my Motorola 340 stopped sending and receiving phone calls. Consumer Cellular sent me a replacement because I was within the 45 days window since I am an AARP member also. I got the replacement phone in July and this one died with the same symptoms after about 3 months. Since I am disabled and this is my only phone I quickly ordered a phone similar to my wife's since she has had no problems with it.

However - Consumer Cellular will not provide any retroactive compensation for the two bad Motorola phones they sent me. Rather they are telling me to send it back to the manufacturer to get it fixed or replaced. I would have hoped Consumer Cellular would provide a partial credit to my account for the bad phones they sent me under their name. After talking with 4 different Customer service reps I could get no answer any better than that. This has been my only negative experience with Consumer Cellular but it is a huge one for me.

     
Replies
Continued to Charge Me When Phone Was Unusable.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PORTLAND, OREGON -- When I ordered the phone and service, I was unaware that the battery could not be replaced easily. The battery didn't last very long at all and CS told me I would have to mail it back in and then wait about 2 weeks to get it back. They ran a diagnostic on it and agreed the battery was bad. However, they continued charging me for service I didn't have access to. I refuse to pay the remaining balance because I did not have the use of the phone. I am appalled that AARP would allow themselves to be associated with a company like Consumer Cellular.

     
Replies
Not Like Real iPhones
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PORTLAND, OREGON -- Last August, Consumer Cellular advertised that they now have iPhones (refurbished 3gs) available for $200 each. Only after getting them, do you realize that you can not attach a picture to a text message that you are sending. Nor, can you receive a picture with a text message.

Now who in these United States, besides Consumer Cellular customers, have the fabulous iPhone that will not allow the simple task of attaching a picture to a text?

I requested a return of my two iPhones or for them to send me two phones that would allow pictures on texts. They told me that I had exceeded my 45 /days, 45/minutes, 45/text message, 45/mb (whichever comes first) timeframe to return any phones. They basically told me that they would do nothing about my phones and that I could buy new phones from them or...........I could change carriers and use my iPhones like everyone else.

I filed a complaint with the Portland BBB. Which cost me two weeks of back and forth banter with the Consumer Cellular “We do not care” department? But, they stuck to their ........you have 45/days, 45/minutes, 45/texts, 45/mb. (Whichever comes first) ..........and did nothing.

Well tomorrow, I am changing carriers. And, Consumer Cellular....GOOD RIDDANCE!!!!

     
Replies
Phone Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEENAH, WISCONSIN -- Received a bill a month after my phone died. Technical support was unable to fix my problem after two calls. Data service was bad and non existent when traveling. After a month and a half received a $53.00, bill. Called and was told to pay it or be turned over to collection.

     
Replies
Horrible Service
-

ARIZONA -- What a week. I will never tell anyone to buy this Consumer Cellular phone service. They never did their job. The truth is my first priority not theirs. I now have my service from Sprint again. They should be investigated. Please share this complaint. The phones are poorly made. I had trouble getting them on the phone, the only good thing is I cancelled the service.

     
Replies
Pre-Paid Phone
By -

I saw the commercial like everyone else, said to myself why not. Didn't know they prey on the elderly and people with not so perfect credit that why they don't require a credit check. I received the phone on June 21, 2011 and didn't get in touch with them until June 22, 2011 because of the sorry customer service. They paged me on the same day said that the minutes was at the limit and I needed a more advanced plan, (keep on mind they have already been charging me since June 13, 2011). When I talked to customer service that expressed to me that it was not PRE-PAID (What a Lie).

So June 23 I when to the Post Office and sent it back to them and put a tracker on the package. They want you to use the number you already have so that you are dependent on them and you don't have a choice but to continue using their services, but I made them give me a number instead of canceling my old phone. Touched basis with my bank so they may be aware of any advance charges, and they are going to replace my funds.

Don't deal with them unless you want to loss money on a not so PRE-PAID PHONE as they would put it. They are crooks and customer service knows it.

     
Replies
Unfair non-disclosures and handling.
By -

PORTLAND, OREGON -- 4/28/2009 I went online to order cell phone service and make comparisons.
I found Consumer Cellular and ordered. They neglect to inform you that they have zero, zip, nada, free minutes either nights or weekends or between phones. So I cancelled my service on 5/18/2009. There policy is 30 days. They did not send a Return shipping label so that I could mail the phones back to them. They ship the phones already activated so they are sure of getting there $35.00 per phone activation whether or not you ever use the phone. They credit this as soon as they receive the phones. They have on my account message board that I was to have called back but lo and behold they have no record of me calling back. To make a long story short they will not send me a Return Shipping Label and therefore I am out $70.00. Just an aside with doing business with this company I received my first bill closing on 5/11/2009 with a due date of 6/2/2009. Nice Huh!

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >