Preview Review

Next Review

Cox Communications Inc Internet Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Incompetent Cable
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HERNDON, VIRGINIA -- The Internet was a joke. The TV connection buffered and the Cable box we were provided clunked out on the HD Protocol. Cox booted me from the Internet. I don't recommend this incompetent company. If you can, just stay the Van Heusen away from Cox.

Replies
Advertisement
Failure and Refusal to Honor Verbal Agreements or Give Written Confirmation
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OMAHA, NEBRASKA -- 9/27/11 - Got deal from Cox from contract solicitor cold call - one month free premier internet, then $59.60 per month for digital cable plus premier internet - for as long as I have both services. Called Cox again because bill was more than quoted 9/27. Was told the permanent package I was quoted was never available. Was given package with lowest web speed and digital cable for $59.85 including taxes, but it expires in May – see below on 3/29/12 - Cox called and offered 24-month price lock on this deal. Took it, expires 3/29/14. $59.85 6/4/12 – Bill not as promised.

** at Cox gave me cable + net for $49.80 for six months - expires 12/3/12 – tape recorded on phone. 9/15/13 Modem ceased working. Called Cox. Was told I had to buy a new box. Found one on Amazon and ordered it. Installed it and still had problems, so called Cox.

9/20/13 got two-year price lock at $71 from Cox with 4 Starz channels free and 5X faster internet speed. This was because I had to buy new modem/router for $150 from Amazon when I should have gotten one for free!!! Lady I talked to had been with Cox for 25 years – **. Requested written confirmation – was told it wasn't possible. Professional troubleshoot and install set up for 9/27/13. 10/21/13 - Bill came – not as promised. Talked to ** in Customer Retention.

Got HD box plus 1-70 plus Stars plus BTN plus other assorted channels with insurance and Essential Internet with price lock guarantee (no price hikes for two years, other than those listed below) for two years: First six months $99.63 including tax (through 4/21/14) Then $109.63 for the next six months (4/22/14 through 10/20/14) Then $124.10 for the next year (10/21/14 through 10/20/15). This is the regular price, so going forward after two years, it should only go up a little, if at all, EXCEPT have to cancel Starz or will be billed for movie channel at regular rate!!! Requested written confirmation – was told it wasn't possible. Recorded conversation.

3/10/14, got a bill for $105.80. Called and talked to ** in Customer Retention. Said I wasn't price locked on internet and price expires 3/21/14. He said it was impossible to give me the deal I was promised. Gave me a credit of $6 for current bill to bring it down to $99.80. Gave me yet another new deal for internet and cable with supposedly same exact terms, except bill will be $107.40 starting with April 2014 bill through October 31, 2014. Then bill will go up to $122 through October 26, 2015. He said he would make detailed notations in case something happened again, but could not give me anything in writing, as usual. Recorded conversation.

Replies
Never the Truth!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- I had been having issues w/ Cox about 4 months, mostly 'trying' to pay my bill. The worst was December 2013 when payment was REFUSED! I had signed up for auto pay on the phone w/ a rep, but I got a bill in the mail, something said 'call Cox' & I came to find out customers CANNOT sign up for auto pay w/ a representative on the phone, so it was not in effect. So I wrote out a check & took it to 750 Rancho Dr store.

When I walked into store I was told there was no drop box (which used to be there), so I walked over to counter on left & put it on counter in front of representative who said "I'm not accepting this." I left it nonetheless, but I was pretty pissed, so I went to building on Martin Luther King & Vegas Dr.

This was after 2 phone calls & all telephone reps telling me Rancho WAS a payment center. Last night my modem died, so I called & was told a tech would come out today to replace it - LIE - they DO NOT replace modems. So the representative told me Rancho was open till 7 pm so I quick drove there & it was closed at 6 pm. So tech finally showed up at my residence after I had again been to Rancho to rent new modem/router combo. Through all of this I never saw 1 human [though] I was at Corporate [headquarters] Martin Luther King.

I was consistently given false/bad info, different info from last representative I talked to. This Communications Company has no way to call their retail centers... WHAT!? In 2014, are you serious?I am going to change to a different ISP as soon as I can, I suggest the reader also find a provider that actually can communicate w/ itself & its customers.

Replies
Worst Customer Service I Have Ever Seen
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WICHITA, KANSAS -- Called over 20 times try to reach a person. CSR answers phone and transfers me to tech support. Then hang up on me. This happened 7 times in a row. Even after got through to a manager I waited 40 mins. Then hang up on me. Still no tech to install device. Was supposed to be here yesterday to reconnect to the pole. Which was disconnected because my bill was late (I was out of town) and I paid reconnect fee and tech could not even connect computers to the internet. Some friend in digital age. More like take money and give nothing!

Replies
Advertisement
Scour Your Bills for Re-Occurring Charges for Cable and Internet
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

HERNDON, VIRGINIA -- Trusting that Cox Communications was like a utility and would not charge me for services not requested, I did not review my bills carefully. Re:TV, I found they made recurring charges for movie packages I did not request and monthly charges for "a signal" going into a box they were already renting to me for $9.00 a month (I thought the cable WAS a signal). But the biggest problem was that, since they do not charge for tech problems with the TV, I thought they would not charge me for calling for help with the Internet.

Looking at my bill mounting every month, I found that I was paying for THREE ongoing tech services I never requested and for over a period of months! This became especially disturbing because I called in for one technical problem once, I was transferred three times because two departments could not help me and I was charged for all three contacts. Most of the techies never let me know about or clearly describe charges at all when I called for help.

Add insult to injury, later, when calling in about these recurring charges, I was transferred around five times to several departments and was continually told each tech assistance charge (of three) had to be handled by a different department. I finally was able to find a solution with a supervisor in the billing department for past 60 days after threatening to terminate with them. I am now going to shop around and also explore FIOS/Verizon.

Company Response 10/27/2013:

Hi Csaint,

I agree—being transferred multiple times when calling a company for help makes the experience miserable, and I sincerely apologize that we caused this aggravation. It sounds like we definitely dropped the ball in communicating prices and fees, also. I'm glad that it we were ultimately able to find a solution for you. If you have further questions or any issues in the future, feel free to reach out to us at CoxHelp@cox.com.

Sincerely,

Becky K.
Cox Social Media Support Specialist

Replies
After Cancelling All Three Cox Services, Poor Service Didn't End!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KENNER, LOUISIANA -- Today I cancelled all three COX services (telephone, cable TV and Internet) after TWENTY FIVE (25!) of tolerating poor, arrogant, Cox Cable service - customer service and TV/Internet service. You would think that as a loyal 25-year old customer, the speed of my internet connection would at least be in the mid-range. No, not possible. Cox connected me, without my knowledge, after 24 years of uninterrupted internet connection, paying for internet connectivity for those 24 years, to their SLOWEST internet speed. It's significantly slower than it was about three years ago. It has been slowed down to the slowest speed!

I called and asked and they offered 6-months of a free upgrade, even after I told them that I wouldn't stay connected with them unless it was permanent, or as the service speed was before - double what it is now. In addition they throttled me down when we used "too much" data. TODAY I cancelled and they attempted, albeit way too late, to convince me to stay with them. I told them it was too late.

HERE'S THE ICING on the cake by a really bad and vindictive company: They sent me to 501 Williams Blvd., in Kenner, LA instead of the correct address, 10 miles away to return their malfunctioning recorder and modem. The 501 Williams Avenue address was a local theater. Will I ever go back or refer any other human being to Cox for anything related to cable or internet? Never, NEVER, again.

Replies
EasyPay Nightmare
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EAST WINDSOR, CONNECTICUT -- Never ever Use EasyPay!!! In mid March I noticed that my cable bill was more than a car payment so I called customer service to get rid of a bunch of my services and cancel my EasyPay. My paycheck wasn't getting deposited for 2 days after the bill would have been withdrawn so I just wanted them to send me a bill for balance after the service cancellations. Well they didn't cancel my services and they took the money out anyway so my account ended up getting overdrawn. I called and complained. They assured me that it was a mistake - they would credit my account and they cancelled my service.

Well 1 week later they took the money out again and the whole thing started all over again. Except my account was not credited and my bank account was over drawn again. I called again only to find out that it takes 30 days to cancel EasyPay with this company and they had no intentions of ever crediting me anything. No one told me it would take 30 days to cancel EasyPay when I signed up. Now I am forced to cancel my bank account and create a new one so this company no longer has access to my account. This whole thing has cost me over $200 in overdraft charges.

Oh and by the way I cancelled high speed Internet and reduced it to regular speed Internet... there is absolutely no difference in download speed. Save your money and go to another company. This is not a reputable company.

Replies
Cox Strong-Arming People Into Buying Modems From Them?
By -

We have Cox cable internet, which we would love except that it goes out for long periods of time, and that it seems like they are scamming people into buying new modems. We got an email yesterday stating that they have found problems with the model of modem we have and people with this modem should buy a new one from them for a discounted price. Our modem has worked perfectly for over a year and a half, no problems. Until mysteriously, the day after this email is sent to me, our internet goes out completely. They claim it is because they upgraded their services and now this modem is not compatible.

I wanted to know why, if it's caused by something THEY did, that I didn't ask for, that I have to pay for this new hardware. I didn't ask for upgraded service, and am not even really getting much of an upgrade as far as speeds go, with this alleged "update." They said that if we had bought our modem from THEM in the first place, they could've upgraded it for us for free, but since we bought ours elsewhere, there's nothing they could do. That, to me, is a horrible way to treat people who have used your service for over 10 years but just didn't purchase a modem from you.

They also told us that we could keep our modem and it would work fine, so long as we downgraded our service. So, basically, my options are to pay them $40 to keep the service I have, or downgrade to slower internet even though I was having a fine time with the service I had until they decided to blacklist my modem. After getting the run around from associates at the store and on the phone, we found out that we never even should have gotten the email we did, as the "upgrades" they did shouldn't have affected our service because of the package we have.

However, when we went into the store, they were happily selling brand new $40 modems to people without even letting them know that the email was inaccurate and they didn't need it. They are causing problems ("upgrading") and blacklisting a popular modem to drive sales for their own sponsored brand of modem, more or less, it would seem. And they claim that our modem is "outdated," but it worked perfectly until the day after their email came. I don't think that's a coincidence. They do have pretty good internet, when it actually works, but I think their business ethics are horrible.

I was disgusted as I watched the sales guy sell an elderly man a new modem that he probably didn't even need, just because the guy asked about the email he got. He didn't check his plan or anything to see if he even needed it, just sold it to him and promised him it'd make his internet go faster. He completely took advantage of this man because the man didn't know any better and took his word for it. I am assuming they are making a lot of money off of people who got the email and didn't call to find out that they didn't need a modem and just went in and bought one, just like that poor elderly man.

Replies
Advertisement
We Have Had Nothing but Problems With the System and the Customer Service
By -

PHOENIX, ARKANSAS -- I have had to have the box replaced about 6 or 7 times already, so for what they referred to as "A most valued Cox bundle customer" they offered me 1 yr free of Cinemax On DEMAND. I called and asked what I had to do. I was told I would get channels 220 to 224 plus 780 and channel 1. I said "But if I pick a movie from channel 1 I had to pay", she said "No, it is free and included with the Cinemax on DEMAND." I hung up. I haven't used channel 1 before since I don't pay for movies through them - it is cheaper with Netflix, but what the heck. I cancelled my Netflix and started watching the shows on channel 1.

Then the bill came and I owed them $123.00 for the movies on channel 1. This was just from last month, not to include the movies I had watched this month, so it would end up about or over $200.00. I called customer service, told them that I wasn't informed properly, that I had to scroll down and find Cinemax On Demand and only those movies were free, when I was told that Channel 1 was free, and told that it was included in the Cinemax On Demand - That I could get the movies on channel one for free.

Basically I was told that I must have misunderstood what was told to me, but he, the billing supervisor, would be willing to take off $100.00 but I would be responsible to pay the rest. I have used Cox Cable for 17 years, and at no time ever purchased a single movie from them until this offer had been given to me. I have had trouble with the computer high speed freezing up, my cable going out, my boxes freezing up, not recording what I had programmed, only recording 1/2 of the show, going through 6 or 7 boxes, and they won't say "Yes there must have been a misunderstanding, we can take that off of your bill."

I asked them to listen to the taped recording of the call, and listen to the sales representative and how I could make a misunderstanding because she did not clarify that Cinemax On Demand on channel 1 is the free movies.
He offers me a take it or leave it. I agree to pay the remaining balance right then or pay the total amount. "If they listening to the tape and find me at fault", I said "I know she didn't clarify that only Cinemax On Demand, on channel 1 was free, and that I shouldn't have to pay for movies. I would have never watched if it were explained properly, that he needed to listen to the tape."

He called me back and said that the sales representative did explain to me that on channel 1, that Cinemax On Demand was free. I said "I want to listen to the tape", he told me I had to have a subpoena to get the tape recording, and since I declined on the $100 off of my bill he now will only take $20 off of my bill.

I spend $140 a month for the service and have for many years, and this manager is being obnoxiously rude and a bit snotty, he kept interrupting me, when I told him, "Why would I, all of a sudden, start buying movies after this phone conversation with this sales rep, and only after this phone call, I watched a movie a day, sometimes 2 movies a day, and some of them I didn't even watch the entire movie, I thought they were for free."

I just couldn't make this man understand that I needed more proof that I was at fault, and not that his employee didn't explain it properly, I asked specifically if it were for free because my husband kept telling me "It's not for free, you will end up having to pay for something, they always get you some way or another." Well I am, because he just kept telling me it was my fault, and since I didn't take the offer before he listened to the tape I would end up having to pay about $180. It ended with me asking to be referred to his supervisor, he said this conversation is over and he will have his supervisor call me if that is what I wanted.

After making thousands of dollars from me it is just so remarkable to me that they would be willing to lose me as a customer over a $200 bill. Can all customers who have been overbilled or mistreated get together and take legal action?

Replies
Overall Bad Service
By -

HENDERSON, NEVADA -- I have the 3-package bundle at Cox in Las Vegas. What a nightmare! I have phone, internet and HDTV cable. About 2 years ago it started. We've been with them since 1991. My husband passed away so I went down, with death certificate to put it in my name. They assured me, nothing would change. The next month, the bill did NOT autopay, as they had put a dash 1 (-1) on the end of the account and my bank didn't recognize it. Like others, I had to pay a reconnection fee.. but worse, I had to worry that my 805 credit rating might be dinged. From thereon in, the nightmare started. And I can't remember all, this is just some.

First, I've had techs out to my house 7 times, due to my HD picture FREEZING on certain channels (conveniently, always during an NFL game). Prior to the tech though, I spend 45 minutes each time, having them tell me to unhook all cables (My Sony weighs 378 pounds and is NOT fun to pull out of the cove it's in).. They then reboot, which takes 12 minutes to fully load. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn't, in which case a tech is sent to the house. They first said it was a splitter for the wires that split to my computer... Bing, my internet went down.

Luckily, I was smart enough to check the net before the guy left but he ARGUED with me that he hadn't done anything to cause it.. but I stood my ground and he finally radioed in for help and got it fixed. A few other times, they said it was the metal connector.. They change it, leave, and within weeks it's doing it again. So they bring another tech and replay the scene. One time, they said it was the junction box in the neighborhood, but isn't it suspicious that when I asked 3 neighbors, I was the only one with a problem.

Another time, he said my cable box was so hot that he was amazed I could even get the time to display (it sits on a shelf, by itself so nothing I did caused it to get hot) - Another insane issue. I use their Webmail. I'm a developer.. I wrote a suggestion that they move their Entertainment Link a little further away, or lessen the size of the 'radio button' so that when we attempt to hit 'SEND MAIL' that it doesn't accidentally click the Entertainment button. Can you believe, I received an email back saying, "We are sorry you are having problems logging in."

So I wrote a step-by-step procedure on how to duplicate the problem and sent it straight back to the person who wrote his response. This time, a second tech answers, "We are sorry you are having connection problems." I then hit 'reply' and ask him "Where in my email does it mention any such connection problems? I'M NOT HAVING CONNECTION PROBLEMS".. I then asked for this to be forwarded to a supervisor.. The supervisor answers, "We are sorry you are having problems logging in." GRRRR.

Another problem, I decided to take the 'bundle' package (net, phone, cable) for $99. Well, first off, if you want call waiting, it's an extra $15. I had been paying $30 for my old phone service. With the bundle she quoted, it would have saved me $10 per month.. OK, I CLEARLY asked if any phone worked with their digital service. They said "yes". Nope! After the first day, my phone wouldn't dial out. They sent a tech (who always shows up on a different day or time than scheduled) so my teen didn't have a clue what to tell the guy. The tech picks up the phone, says, "She has a dialtone" and writes the ticket as fixed. So, I call them back out.

Second guy can't fix it and doesn't know why.. leaves with the ticket 'unresolved'. Now we are in to 12 days without a phone. I finally get a tech on the phone who informs me, those $19.99 phones that I had, do not work. They have to be X megabyte digitals (I think 56mb). I call back to the sales lady and demanded to speak to the VERY person who sold me the package and said all phones worked. She gave me a $50 credit towards a new phone. Then, after 3 months, my bill jumped up $10.

When I called they said, "Oh, that was a 3-month special." I answered, "Why would I have bothered with all these changes and phone outages for a $10 savings only for 3 months?" Her reply, "I'm sorry. She should have told you that." Another issue... when I signed up with them, I had a published number with the old company. Using my first initial of my first name so that nobody knew I was a single woman. When the book comes out, they have my full name. So in October, I call and decide to just list it as unpublished. From having worked for a phone company for 4 years, I KNOW there is a deadline to get the info to the phone book company.

So I verify that I'm not paying $2.75 per month for unpublished, if I have just missed the deadline. He promises I'm within the time frame. The phone book comes to my house on January 9, STILL WITH MY FULL NAME. This time, I asked to speak to a supervisor. Her and I walk through the whole 2 years of issues.. one by one. She was very kind.. and asked if I would allow her to use my account for training purposes. Absolutely. And my whole phone call, prior to speaking to her, was to just stop the unpublished and quit charging me the $2.75.. Why pay for something each month once the damage is done?

Well, lo and behold, I receive a letter in the mail yesterday that says, "Thank you. This is a confirmation that you want your number UNPUBLISHED." First off, didn't any nitwit that looked at this, question why an unpublished number was being requested to be unpublished? HELLO? ANYONE OUT THERE? But more so, don't you think that supervisor would have said, "Hey, let's make sure we do it right this time, being this account is going to Executive Escalations for training?" I then go sit on my couch to watch the evening news.

Lo and behold, my picture starts freezing again. It is so bad that when I called, the automated voice says, "We see you just called today. Is this regarding the same issue you had earlier?" (Do they really have a voice recording for people who call multiple times a day?) So after waiting 24 minutes (my new, digital phone has a display of how long you've been on the phone)... a guy reboots me.. and when that doesn't work, he says, "well, until the tech gets there next Wednesday (it's Saturday), there is a trick. Just plug your cable wire straight from the wall, into the TV. You won't have HD anymore, but that will get you through tomorrow's playoff games."

So, another tech is scheduled for Wednesday. That's 8 times in 20 months... equaling, once every two months I have Cox in my house.. maybe I can write them off as dependents. But I'm obviously not 'head of household' as I have no control over nothing.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Cox Communications Inc Internet Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
50 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Cox Communications Inc
1400 Lake Hearn Dr. NE
Atlanta, GA 30319
404-843-5000 (ph)
404-843-5975 (fax)
www.cox.com
Product/Services
Compare Cable/Satellite Services