Preview Review

Next Review

Cox Communications Inc Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Rebate SCAM
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA -- We contacted Cox Communications to sign up as new customers in the hope of saving money on our internet, TV and phone services. Not only were the bills overcharging us every month, but the rebate promised to us never arrived. We called to correct the billing, and would request information on our rebate. Each time, we were told it was being processed, until we received a postcard saying we did not qualify.

We again called Cox and were told that an error had been made, and that they would "send an email" to correct the situation. SIX months later, we were told that we did qualify, and that they would again send an email. I suggested, that they keep the rebate, and just credit our account the $200 that they owed us. I was informed by the Manager, that they couldn't do that. I asked what they would be willing to do to satisfy a very upset customer. The Manager stated, that they had no customer promotions to offer us. I then told them that they would lose a good customer, his reply was that we had that option.

I signed up for service with another company (the one I had been with for eight years prior) and had all services switched over the next week. We are saving about $50.00 each month, but the best part is that we now do not have to worry about the continued billing errors, rude customer service, and to be honest... the lies.

It has now been seven months, still no rebate, but no headaches as well. I would not, nor will I ever recommend this company to anyone. If you want a good company, switch to DirecTV... email me and I will give you my account number, and we both could save $10.00 per month on our bill, and they really will honor that promotion. Good luck.

Replies
Advertisement
Cox Customer Service: How To Lose Customers
By -

September 24, 2010 - Service request submitted for relocation of service, sales representative was helpful and courteous. The transfer of service was set for 10/1/10, and to be a "self install." Friday October 1, 2010 - 10:00 AM Phone services were disconnected at the originating address. 2:00 PM Service was not connected at the destination address. A call was placed to Cox customer service. Cox customer service stated that "self installs" are done no later than 7:00 PM.

8:15 PM Service was still not connected. Another call was placed to Cox customer service. Supervisor ** indicated that the technician was on-site, but could not find the drop - where the connection arrives to the house - and documented that a "professional installation" would be required. The technician neglected to leave a door tag. Upon looking in the back yard, it was located within 20 seconds - literally, 20 SECONDS! Supervisor ** offered assurances that someone would call the next day (Saturday) to offer further information on the soonest that a technician would be able to come out. At the time Supervisor ** said it would be 4 days out (Tuesday).

Saturday October 2, 2010 5:00 PM By the end of the day Cox had not called. A call was placed to Cox customer service. A woman representative, utterly unmoved and unapologetic by the poor service experience, caused greater frustration which resulted in a request for the account to be cancelled. 6:45 PM A second call was placed to Cox customer service. Supervisor ** was updated on the events that preceded the call, and the status of the installation and the failure on Cox's part to follow up. ** was most apologetic and understanding (kudos) and promised that he would email the sales department and would see that someone calls the next day (Sunday).

Sunday October 3, 2010 (Still no phone service.) 3:15 PM The day almost over, a call was placed to Cox customer service. Supervisor ** clarified that the notes had been made on the account and that someone from the sales department was going to call on Monday. When asked why Supervisor ** would promise that someone would call on Sunday when the sales department is closed, Supervisor ** said that, "he must have made a mistake." Supervisor ** was unapologetic and failed to acknowledge a problem. A request was made to receive a call from the Supervisor's supervisor.

Cox has failed to deliver as promised and has mismanaged expectations to astonishing levels in relation to this installation at every point. This is the first of MANY posts/blogs on this issue. Considering it costs 4 to 7 times more to acquire new customers as it does to keep a customer, it is surprising that such poor service exists. I strongly suggest everyone seeking new service choose another provider. Cox is the worst.

Replies
Cox Has Horrible Customer Service!!
By -

VIRGINIA BEACH, VIRGINIA -- I had basic cable through Cox and an e-mail address, not the internet, just e-mail. I had the e-mail for over three years. I was late on my payment, but made a payment at a Farm Fresh on March 24th. Two days later my cable and e-mail were cut off by a technician that came the house. I even called the technician and he told me that all had to do was make a payment of $65.00. I called back and he never called back. Then I called again and he stated it was out of his hands.

I made numerous calls to Cox and got the run around and was passed from person to person. I was supposed to be called back within 24-48 hours. No one ever called back. I sent an e-mail and was never contacted. On their web site it says you will be contacted within 24-48 hours. All I want is access to my e-mail account just long enough to get all of my information off of it. Cox will not allow that unless I pay $80.00 to reconnect.

My complaint is that I made a payment and two days later my service was shut off. Granted, I did make a payment at a Farm Fresh location, but they can certainly see that I made a payment. Then I got a bill stating my account was seriously delinquent. I owed $67.00. I went in to a Cox location and again was told that I had to pay $80.00.

I was also informed that I should never of had my e-mail account for 3 years, yet it was their mistake that I had it for so long (which I didn't even realize I wasn't supposed to have it). I told them that I have important tax info as well as letters from my lawyer, but they won't budge unless I pay $80.00. I will never use Cox again and not only that I will let everyone know how their customer service is.

Replies
Waste of Time and Money
By -

OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- I called Cox and the salesman talked me into signing up for a bundle. He told me that there might be a $150 deposit, depending on my credit. He called later that day and said that the deposit was taken off because my credit was checked and it was good enough. I thought all was well until I received my first bill with an extra $150 tacked on (which, according to the automated system, was overdue). I called and complained and the guy on the phone said that I was supposed to show a photo ID at a Cox store and they might be able to take it off.

He said he was seeing that I talked to two different people the day I signed up and the second person saw that I would have to pay a deposit. This was news to me considering I know nobody else from Cox ever called until installation day. I don't care what kind of hoops you have to jump through to get it taken care of, when someone says you don't have to pay a deposit, they need to take it off. I don't buy it that something miraculously popped up. They're just a greedy company looking for any way to screw people out of their hard earned cash.

The installation process was a pain too. My installation was supposed to be done one morning between 10 and 12. I get a call at my old home phone number (which I told them was only a secondary number, that they need to call my cell if they actually want to get a hold of me) at 12:05 to let me know that the guys are running an hour late. When I finally talk to someone at 12:15, the lady says that I can always reschedule the installation.

I shouldn't have to work around their schedule, they should work around mine! I told her to just call me when they're on their way. They finally give me a call later in the afternoon, and it was 3:00 by the time they came out! If you tell someone you will be there between 10-12, show up at that time, not 3 hours late!

The people at Cox can't even make an effort to spell names correctly. My parents had service with them 5 years ago (only for a month because they didn't like Cox either) and the bill had their last name spelled wrong. When I got my first (and probably last) bill in the mail, they spelled my first name wrong. I know I spelled it out for the guy on the phone. I've only had service for 5 days and I have not had one good experience yet. This company is so worthless that I think it is time to move on. I would not recommend Cox to anyone. It is not worth the hassle at all.

Replies
Advertisement
Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OKLAHOMA -- On Feb. 20, 2015 I phoned Cox Communications to make arrangements to have our cable vision and internet service terminated. I spoke with Cox representatives in customer service, billing and tech support and each representative from the respective department confirmed that our account was paid up until March 9 of this year, so I requested that our service be stopped on March 8 as I did not want an outstanding balance due to the fact that my wife has cancer and medical bills are continually increasing.

On March 12, we received a bill in the mail from Cox saying we owed a balance of $86.57. I phoned Cox billing and explained that we had made arrangements to have our service cancelled a day before the date we had been told we were paid up to. The person I was speaking to (**) continually interrupted me when I was trying to explain what we had been told and when I asked if I could speak with a supervisor I was told I could not as none were available. So, I asked if a supervisor could call me back when one was available. I was then told that supervisors do not call customers.

We have been Cox customers for many years but when our services decreased and our charges increased, Cox Communications simply priced themselves out of our house. I have read and heard from numerous sources that in 10 years time, cable TV will be a thing of the past but with the kind of customer service displayed by Cox Communications I wouldn't be surprised to see it happen even sooner.

Replies
Tired of COX Ripping Me Off
By -

I am in the military and live in base housing. I have had internet service with Cox for a while now and have been happy with their service until recently. In November 2010 my bill was $19.99 per month. By June 2011 they raised my rate to $21.99 per month. I called to find out what was going on. I was told that the $19.99 service was not available and the new rate was $21.99. The next month my rate was raised again to $24.99. No explanation or anything.

I looked on their website and the $24.99 in the 3 month introductory fee and it will go to $34.99. This is outrageous. I am sick and tired of COX getting rich off of their monopoly and charging more money for the same crappy service. The internet service was 3 mbps when I paid $19.99 and it is still 3 mbps at $34.99. What gives? I hope COX goes out of business and all of the owners go bankrupt and lose everything they have. Maybe then they will remember the little man trying to make an HONEST living!!! CROOKS!!!

Replies
Fraudulent Advertising
By -

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- Having had the Cox Bundle for almost a year I can honestly say it's the biggest load of bollocks ever. When I originally signed up for the service they represented a price of $67.00 for their "Bundle" (Cable TV, High Speed Internet and Phone) as being a non-promotional offer. However, after six months I was suddenly being billed over $150 per month for their lame services. Their internet is adequate but their cable is awful.

As a customer of Satellite TV for over 20 years before trying cable I can tell you that Cox Hi-Def is tantamount to Standard Satellite TV. In fact, most of Cox's Hi-Def programming is horrible. In my view, switching to Cox Cable after years as a satellite TV viewer is like trading in your Mercedes s500 for a Skoda. When I contacted Cox to question the more than doubling of my bill, they tried to tell me that the original $67 was a promotional price good for only six months. When I told them that their service had been mis-represented to me they were unapologetic. I tried to cancel the service with them but they did everything possible to try to talk me out of it.

I still haven't cancelled their service. There is no place to do it on their website - surprise, surprise. I know that I'll have to call them to complete the cancellation but I really have no desire to talk with these worthless dunderheads. Please learn from my mistake. Don't deal with Cox lest you become a Cox Sucker!

Replies
False Advertising and BAIT and SWITCH
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PARMA, OHIO -- I have had Cox cable over a year now. I started out with only cable with one box. I thought I could get a better deal so I contacted other providers for quotes. Not long after I got off the phone with DirecTV did COX contact me and tell me "as a preferred customer we have a special deal for you" - they quoted me at $89.99 price lock guarantee for 24 months if I bundled internet, cable and phone. Well I received my first bill since the change and come to find out I did not get the deal I was promised..Instead they are charging me $142.47 before taxes!! I think this is wrong and I am Very Upset.

Replies
Advertisement
Very Poor Service Along With False Advertisement
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WARWICK, RHODE ISLAND -- I have been a Cox customer since 2009. I have never been late on a payment and I always pay the full amount. I noticed the past year of 2013 they been adding on things that they should not have, such as 411 calls that I never made, mind you I am alone. They also say they will credit your account and never do! When you call them to ask questions they are extremely rude and do not correct the problem. The beginning of this year I was told that I was locked in at 120.00 monthly! NOT! They started charging me more and more!

So one day before my bill was even due I was shut off (their fault). The woman from tech support apologized and then turned my service back on saying "I would not be charged for the shut off." Well I was... I want everyone to know how much they have scammed me and warn others not to go with them!

Replies
I Learned Not to Trust Anything They Told Me!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SAN DIEGO -- Two or three times in past years, we received ads from Cox Communications about changing our phone service. Each time, I wrote down all their information their phone reps gave, and each time I called back, their answers changed, so I just wasted my time.

Well this time, they had some package deal with phone service, updated cable TV, and internet service, and this time, the stories did not change, so we agreed to switch. No one showed up for our appointment! No one called to explain! When we left a message for the person who took our order, she didn't call back. A couple of days later, we called for a manager and were told that they had canceled our order! No explanation but to say that they had called us a few days earlier and left a message on our machine saying that we were required to also have our long distance service with them.

First, this was a lie - they left no such message! Second, the phone reps had never told us that we were required to have our long distance service with Cox in order to get the package. Third, there was no justification for standing us up and not calling us back.

You cannot trust what Cox tells you. In fact, when we placed the order, because of past bad experiences, I asked the representative to email to me the details we had discussed. She promised to do so but never did! I imagine that's because with Cox changing their story constantly, she didn't want our understanding to be on record!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Cox Communications Inc Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 26 ratings and
79 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Cox Communications Inc
1400 Lake Hearn Dr. NE
Atlanta, GA 30319
404-843-5000 (ph)
404-843-5975 (fax)
www.cox.com
Product/Services
Compare Cable/Satellite Services