Preview Review

Next Review

Craftsman Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Craftsman Products Are Now Junk and Sears' Service Is Even Worse!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

TROY, MICHIGAN -- Beware craftsman quality has gone away. Craftsman used to be good stuff. We own over $100,000 of Craftsman tools and equipment all of which use to be great. In recent years the quality of craftsman products has gone way down and the "service" from sears has disappeared.

The most recent episode with Sears (which absolutely disgusted me and my employees) took place may 12, 2016. We purchased a craftsman air compressor, took it to the shop, plugged it in, and nothing. Took it right back to Sears and could not find a single employee working in the department nor any other department near by. Went back again (2 more times) and even tried to phone the Sears store manager, after 25 minutes listening to music and prompts, no one, let a lone the manager, ever came on the line.

Took the compressor to another Sears store and after an hour of wasting my time I was told that "This Sears store is not a company store, it's a franchise" and they do not take back sears company store products. I then went to a large sears company store in Troy, MI where I eventually had the misfortune of speaking with Pedro, Sears Troy Store Manager. What a belligerent representative. Not only was he rude and did nothing to assist us with our issue, he even refused to tell me who his boss / who he reports to's name. A real shining example of Sears' (lack of) quality.

I next contacted sears customer relations and was transferred to "Anna" in the Philippines (call center) who's English was so poor I could hardly make out a word she said other than no. I asked to speak with her boss, hoping for better communication skills and was (after a long hold) connected with "Connor" allegedly her supervisor and what he called, a case manager. Connor told me to go back to the Sears store and tell them my store again.

I now have probably 9+ hours trying to exchange a never used compressor. I have sent employees to do the same, and I am now at the end of my rope with Sears. It is easy to see why sears is going out of business at a rapid pace and apparently taking Kmart with them. There was a time Craftsman spelled quality, now Craftsman = TROUBLE!

Replies
Advertisement
Craftsman Rider Mow-Fix, Mow-Fix, Mow-Fix, Etc.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MORA, MINNESOTA -- Bought a new 21 HP rider (917.288525) from Sears 2 years ago (July 2014). Have had nothing but trouble. Seat cracked first summer. Seat slide quit latching. 2 spindles replaced last summer. Cooling fan on transmission melted (June 2017), transmission will probably be next ($600). Speed lever (hydrostatic) won't stay in place going uphill, have to hold it with one hand and steer with other (dangerous). Now mower blows heavy blue smoke, hope it's minor - I'd be surprised though, repair shop in town says these Briggs motors are "throw aways" if any repair other than minor is needed. Drive belt replaced 2015.

Deck is very thin gauge steel, have had to straighten a number of times, steel brackets to strengthen thin deck break off. Tough to keep it cutting level. Don't buy a new Craftsman (anything), the Craftsman name used to mean quality - not anymore. Buy an older Craftsman mower, my last one went about 17 years and worked fine when I sold it.

Replies
Craftsman Does Not Back Up Warranty on Lawn Tractors
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WARREN, OHIO -- I bought a Craftsman Lawn Tractor for $1600 from Sears in October 2012. In September 2013. Less than a year later (and the tractor Sat in a garage for the winter) it quit shifting. The repairman from Sears came out because I had a 2 year warranty. He said there is a hole in the transaxle and Sears does not cover that under the warranty. He wants $717 to fix it. Thanks Sears and Craftsman for not honoring your warranty which is the reason I decided to purchase from you. Never again. BUYER BEWARE! The warranty from Craftsman is not what they promise and they plain and simple do not care about the customer after the purchase is made!

Replies
Poorly Handled Complaint by Sears Store Manager
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KATY, TEXAS -- I have a 30 gal. upright Craftsman air compressor. I had this compressor for a long time, but it wasn't used daily. However, just recently I started to inflate small truck wheels. I wasn't getting enough pressure 15-20 PS. while the motor kept running forever, still extremely low pressure.

This past Nov. 11th, 2012 I took said Compressor to Sears Repair Shop at Park 10 just off I-10 fwy, Katy, TX. to see what's going on with this compressor. The store worker said to me this will take two weeks before they can get to it. I agreed. He also said it takes $43+ for shipping. I said to him you have repair section in this location what happened to it? He said they closed it. After paying him the requested fee of $43.00 with assistance of another person, which pointed out the fliers on the store bulletin board, which said a recall items and after checking the serial number on my compressor it matched on of the posted serial numbers in the flier on the bulletin board.

So, I was told by the same sales person usually the repair bill should not exceed the amount of $110.00 on this type of compressor. "We will apply the $43.00 and you pay only the difference between 110 and 43 dollars." On that recall list it displayed Sears customer relation Tel. number. The following day I contacted the people who were in charge of the recalled items/product and gave them all the required info. serial number, date.. etc.

At the same time I asked them the following question: If this item was on a recall list, then why do I have to pay for shipping fees? The person on the other end of the phone replied no they should not have to charge you for shipping said compressor. Then I brought up the question of what applies to to the recall as far as the case of this compressor, their answer was, it includes the plastic housing (cover)which is located on top of the motor. My question was why? Their answer was the old plastic cover which, it came with the compressor when it was sold was unsafe, it will make the motor overheat which cause great damage to the unit, it even can cause fire.

I was not aware of any of this and have not been informed by Sears Roebuck People. Two weeks after Sears Repair Shop received my compressor I had a call from them informing me that the repair charges for this compressor is going to be around $227.00. My next question was why so high? She said the cylinder and the piston are messed up.

Then I said this compressor is a recalled one. Her reply was No it isn't. I said to her check the serial on the compressor with that on the recall list. After putting on hold she came back telling me I was right, they are going to follow the recall procedure, and the they update me on that matter which they never did. I said to myself may be it will take care of itself since it is on recall.

On 12/26/2012 I went back to Sears store park 10 in Katy, TX. and I asked if they have any information on my compressor. They told me it will be here on the 12/28/2012. At the same time and at this store I asked for the store manager I needed to get a clear picture, whether, this over heating of this poorly designed motor, had anything to do with the damage which has done to this compressor.

I have listen to his nonsense analysis, then I explained to him that I work on air cooled engines, which runs the old Beetles, if the on top of the cylinder not sufficient it overheat the surroundings components, it cause a serious damage. and for me there was no way to be able to tell if that compressor was overheating, without some kind of warning light or temp gauge.

He got his opinion and I got true experience. However, on 12/28/2012, again I received a 2nd call from the recall dept. at Sears, on this day telling me, "the bill for repairing your compressor is going to be $227.00." With all due respect to you folks I am not confident of the way these people are handling this simple case. These people gives me the impression that they believe that money grows on trees.

Finally, this what I want Sears Roebucks to do for me in putting this case to bed: A: refund for the amount of $43.30 which I paid for nonsense service, wasting my time. B: Give me back my compressor, which it will remind of what a great product which backed by great service. Or you can do better yet and that in order to keep your customer coming back give some credit on the old compressor in trade in with 33 gal. which your company has now on special. I will pay the difference. The final option is, to have the old compressor repaired free of charge. Good luck.

Replies
Advertisement
Why Craftsman Has gone To The bottom
By -

I have a Craftsman 16.8 volt Craftsman drill that is about two years old, and the charger simply stopped working. Sears which is now Kmart told me that they did not repair chargers. They would sell me another for $60 plus shipping. I paid $99 for the drill, including two batteries and the charger, brand new yet they refused to repair the charger. Without the charger the drill won't work.

Upon opening the charger case I discovered that there is a 4A fuse that was open (no continuity). That means there is no power to the charger. It took me about 10 minutes and a $2.00 fuse to fix the item that Sears/KMart refuse to consider repairing and only wanted to sell me a replacement after two years of use.

Sears at one time had a good reputation but now that Kmart is in charge they have the same reputation as Kmart, which is at about the bottom of the scale of reputable companies. In my opinion as a person who knows about electronics and hand tools I would never ever buy a product with Craftsman or any other Sears related name. The quality of their products have deteriorated to a point of being marginal and the service from the people at Sears has sunk even further. Buy a better product and stay away from Sears/KMart products or services.

Replies
YTS 3000 Major Malfunction
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BETHPAGE, TENNESSEE -- Just purchased a Craftsman YTS 3000 this spring to replace my 11-year-old Murray lawn tractor. It performed well during the first mowing. While mowing the yard a second time I noted a vibration. On the third mowing it threw the belt off twice. On the fourth attempt to mow my lawn I parked the mower because I noted that the right hand side blade bearing housing was cracked and causing the vibrations. What a disappointment! The Murray had mowed this yard over 300 times with minor problems. The Craftsman didn't survive three.

That's right... three mowings and it is in worse shape than the Murray. Will repair the Craftsman and put it on Craigslist for half what I paid and will take a lot less. Really... this is the best Craftsman can do? Contacted customer support and had a really interesting conversation with a robot named Robert who really wanted to help me find my order. Gads.

Replies
Bad lawn mowers
By -

CLEVELAND, OHIO -- I am here to tell you how terrible Craftsman products are in my opinion. It never fails that they do not work properly or do what they claim to do. I have owned a lawn mower, snow blower and a weed wacker and all were garbage. Today I have spent hours trying to cut my grass only to be so furious with all the trouble shooting I had to do that I gave up in despair. The worst part is my lawn mower isn't even three years old. I also had these problems last year as well. The funny thing is my lawn mower is supposed to be a quick start engine and is anything but that. So if you are thinking of buying a new mower, weed wacker, or a snow blower read this first!!!

Replies
16.8 volt Battery Charger
By -

GEORGIA -- I have been looking for a 16.8 Battery charger for a cordless drill made by Craftsman. Mine just stopped for no apparent reasons. I replaced 2 of the four components and cannot seem to find the diode or capacitor in my area. The reason for this post is that it is next to impossible to find a replacement charger from Sears. They do not carry in the stores or at least any I have been to (10). If there is anyone who has been through this and knows where to get one please reply to this post. Oh by the way it is not the three prong type, it is the post type - one on the left and one on the right.

Replies
Advertisement
Top of Page | Next Page >

Craftsman Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
8 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Craftsman
3333 Beverly Road
Hoffman Estates, IL 60179
1-800-549-4505 (ph)
www.craftsman.com
Compare Consumer Product Companies