[X]
Feedburner count

Crest Foods


1 Reviews & Complaints

Soda Machine: Use at your own risk
Posted by on 10/26/2009
Crest foods, "Home of Rock Bottom Prices", is a long time Oklahoma City Metro original. It's a locally owned and operated supermarket with prices that are consistently lower than that of even a Walmart Supercenter. Throw into the mix they are one of the few supermarkets that sell Oklahoma-raised, grass fed, antibiotic-free and hormone-free beef then you got yourself a winner.

The other day I'm exiting Crest with my semi-full basket. I attempt to get a diet coke from the soda machine. I get it from the machine instead of the checkout soda cooler because it's eleven cents cheaper because the machine charges 1.25 while in the store they charge a $1.25 PLUS sales tax. A penny saved is a penny earned. I put two dollars into the machine. The first bill registers just fine. The second bill after much gyration gets stuck in the machine. The soda machine locks up. Two bucks for nothing.

I go inside to the customer service counter. Tell the woman of my problem. She tells me I need to call the number on the machine because it's not their machine. I flash the baby blue charm but to no avail. She said there was simply nothing she could do. I respected that answer then asked if there was somebody who could do something.

The manager comes over. I tell him my troubles. He told me Crest didn't own the machines and it was 'use at your own risk'. I says, I don't recall seeing a sign stating 'use at your own risk. I reasonably assumed that since the soda machine was in the Crest lobby that any machine errors or malfunctions could be handled by Crest'. He said nope, you need to call the number on the machine. I asked him, 'Can you see where I might have the expectation that if the machine malfunctioned I would receive a refund from Crest? Considering that there is no disclaimer on the machine?' He kind of shook his head and said, 'Sorry, I can not issue you a refund'.

At this point I was in no mood for a two dollar confrontation. I also didn't want to call the vendor's number nor did I want to walk out empty handed. So I says to the manager, 'How about this. I grab two diet cokes from the check out cooler and then we call it even'. He looked around for a second and then said, 'Okay'.

In my book that was an acceptable solution since the retail price including sales tax for the two diet cokes was $2.72 and the vending machine cost sans sales tax was $2.50 yet I was getting them for two bucks. I can live happily with that.

I find in incidents like mine it pays to be rational, polite and persistent. What could have been a downer moment turned out to be a happy bargain. Sweet.

     
Read 93 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Apple Mac on 2009-10-26:
Great post - the grocery store does make money from having the soda machine on their property.

Since you wanted a Diet Coke, the incident should be called "sweet-free".
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-10-26:
It's POP, not soda...just pop...P-O-P..Pop!
How do you expect to get a 'helpful' when you use words like...*cough* soda *cough*?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Good business decision on the CSR's part, I would have let you "steal" the pop just to get you out of my store.
(H)
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Basher, I respect your use of the word 'Pop'.

Zz, That was plan C. :)
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-10-26:
coke
Posted by bargod on 2009-10-26:
You stuck to your guns and didn't take no for an answer. Good job. By the way what's a soda machine?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
"You stuck to your guns".
No, he whined.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Zz my friend, the difference between you and I besides 300 FICO points and a felony wrap sheet is that I'm not afraid to ask for what I want and stand my ground till I get it. I know to you that must seem like a foreign concept considering how you were backed down by your upstairs geriatric bully she-devil neighbor. Instead of standing up to grandma walker-bound you saw fit to solicit community forum advice on how to be a man. Obviously you didn't listen. Learn!
Posted by JR in Orlando on 2009-10-26:
ZZrokk - you are right - he whined. Instead of calling the soda machine owner, he whined to the manager. The problem is that he got more than he paid for. He should have offered to pay the other 50 cents. This is the problem in America, anytime anything happens people expect to be compensated or profit on the deal. P.S. I think all vending machines are use at your own risk and he could have avoided the entire problem by not being so cheap for 11 cents.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
JR, What you call whining I call conflict resolution. Why in the world would I call the soda machine owner when I could and did get satisfaction right there at the store. Problem solved. In this world you can't be afraid to make your demands known. The worse anyone can do is say 'No'. Last year I was a few days late with my Capital One CC payment. They tried to hit me with a $29 dollar late fee. I stood my ground and the fee got waived. Is that whining? Well of course not. It's called being a savvy consumer. Like I said in the review a penny saved is a penny earned.
Posted by Slimjim on 2009-10-26:
So Stew you used the soda machine to save the tax and then jumped through hoops, with those that didn't even own it, to recoup a couple bucks. Somewhere pirate is crying right now, and not this time because he dropped his bottle. Evidently his prodigy is all grown up. The student becomes the teacher.
Posted by JR in Orlando on 2009-10-26:
I absolutely agree that one must make their demands known, but I also believe you should not get more than you pay for, and that the demand must be against the one who is responsible for the problem. Sure you got the store to pay, but that is not vending machine owner, nor were you entitled to more than you paid for.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Sadly Slim I didn't recoup my couple of bucks. I got two sodas instead. If it were Pirate in the same situation he would have gotten the two bucks back, two free soda's and a monthly 10 dollar Crest stipend for being an internet reviewer. Like most I haven't achieved Pirate status but I keep trying.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Back when I was in High school, we had a Soda machine that would lock up just about every other day. I must of lost 20 bucks in that thing through the years. But it said on the machine call up the manufacture if you had any issues. Or bug the coke guy when he came over to refill the machines.
Posted by Nohandle on 2009-10-26:
Stew, you really must quit picking on my favorite weekend chum ZZ. You might have a much more favorable credit score but in the meantime you find yourself existing Crest rather than exiting. Whatever my friend, the one with the higher FICO score and no felony arrests we know of. Send me your full name and Social and I'll attempt to check that out.

I've got a sneaky feeling this review might just go down in M3C's history as one of those more memorable. Might even top Pirate's informative about that unfortunate incident at his local 7-11 with the drink machine. You spent half the day to save a few cents? Actually, you initially lost several dollars and received complete and total satisfaction. That works for me since it obviously did for you. I expect Crest will be keeping a keen eye out for you on your next visit.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Stewart, standing your ground and conflict resolution are far from being a PEST as you were at Crest! The customer is not always right and you proved that and besides who has time to argue with some schmuck with a "hand basket" full of marked down meat?!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
JR, I merely made the offer it was the store manager who accepted the offer. Surely you can't hold me responsible for the store manager's decision.

"entitled to more than you paid for". I don't get that statement. My brother and I have a business where we "Buy Ugly Houses". We usually offer around 50% of the going per sq ft neighborhood rate. When people accept our offer we are getting far more than we pay for. I don't feel guilty about it. I never coerce anybody to an offer. It's just business. Same as with my two diet cokes for two bucks. I made the offer the manager accepted. What's a poor boy to do?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Stewart do these houses have pictures? SUV's that go "poof?"
Posted by JR in Orlando on 2009-10-26:
When you make an offer and buy something in an arms length deal, that is no problem. When you have a problem and then demand, offered, advised, requested, asked, for more than you pay for, that is getting something you have not paid for. This takes advantage of the store's desire to make things right by requesting more. When people always demand more, stores and companies in the end just end up saying "no."
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
ZZ, Au contraire poppa smurf. I did not argue with the manager. I reasoned with him. There is a difference.

Nohandle, Less than ten minutes hardly equates to half a day. Thanks for the edit advice I spiffied the existing review with the proper 'exiting'. Perhaps next time you'll do me the honor of proofreading my missive before I post it. Thanks!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Jr, I don't get told 'No' very often by the stores and companies I frequent mainly because my demands are always reasonable and I am a very patient, humble and good looking man. In fact to be honest I can't recall the last time I was told 'No' by any business. You gotta work it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Stewart, you whined. That is the "tall and short" of the matter. Ten minutes is NINE minutes to long for the CSR to endure your bellyaching over a friggin' Diet Coke.
Pantload.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Zz, I think somebody has a case of the MON-DAZE. Anyway, call it what you like Zz but in the end I got my customer satisfaction. You'd do good to learn a lesson or two from me my friend.

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
OMG, this rant has gone green! *shakes head*
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
You're not getting the last word ZZ.
Posted by Nohandle on 2009-10-26:
I would be more than delighted to proofread your next missive my dear. Just send it to me. DB and I would thoroughly enjoy that.**snickering at what we could accompolish**
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-10-26:
I have to agree with Stew here...Stew's offer of getting the two Cokes from the store instead of calling the number was a simple, "Deal Or No Deal" situation and the store manager hit the buzzer and said, "Deeeeeeeeeeeeeeallll" and everyone was happy!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
I appreciate that Nohandle. You're a good troop.

DB, that's why you got the five my3cents stars because you 'Get It'. You understand the modern 'give and take' in today's topsy turvy consumer world.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-10-26:
Yeah Stew, that ^^^^^^^^^ and by listening to our Pirate when he spoke. That man was like a walking Encyclopedia. Or should I say, a walking Google search.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
The manager is like just take the dam cokes and get the heck out of my store. *Securitey* escorts stewart out lol
Posted by klobbersaurus685 on 2009-10-26:
I honestly am taking the view of you stole the two diet cokes from the store. I get the 'give and take' arguement you are using, but that doesn't apply here.
machine is a different company and you stole 2.50 from the store.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Wallace, That's not how it went down.

Basher, Everything I know about being a good customer I learned from Pirate.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Stewart, please refrain from getting off of the topic.
If you were truly a "good customer" you would have given praise to the CSR's superiors but you couldn't because you would have gotten them CANNED for letting you walk out with unpaid merchandise. *sad*
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
klobbersaurus685, Under Oklahoma law no theft occurred unless the manager was coerced or the manager and I were in collusion to steal from the store. You simply lack any evidence that either is true ERGO your accusation of 'stole the two diet cokes' is complete baseless.

The vending machine in the Crest lobby took my two dollars without returning anything of value. The store manager simply corrected the situation and is free to recover the two diet cokes from the machine owner or the two dollars. Either way I did nothing wrong. I simply exercised my rights as a consumer.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
A consumer that steals!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Look perry mason no theft occurred. The manager had the legal right to give away those diet cokes to rectify the vending machine fiasco. Here's a case of the customer winning one and it drives you blame the customer who is always wrong naysayers absolutely bonkers.

Basher agrees with me ERGO I AM RIGHT!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
The manager in effect allowed Stew to steal from the store's inventory.

The soda machine doesn't belong to the store, no more than the McDonald's, Red Box Movie machine, Stuffed animal crane, inside Walmart belongs to them.

You should have called the number on the machine for the refund. I do not call what the manager did as good customer service. I call it creating a monster that the rest of the stores will have to deal with next.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
I agree with LadyScot.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
LadyScot, Under Oklahoma law no theft occurred. In fact under Oklahoma law Crest is responsible for the vending machines on it's property. The manager simply did the right thing. He should be applauded for his actions.
Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-10-26:
I have to agree with Stew...can't believe I said that but okay...since the store deals with the soda machine vendor most likely on a daily basis, they would be more apt to get the refund for the 2 Diet Cokes that didn't dispense. I think the store manager was trying to be customer service oriented.
Posted by jktshff1 on 2009-10-26:
Stew, the manager of the store needs to be congratulated for what they did to promote customer service. Most managers have the ability to make decisions on the spot and this one made a good decision.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
It goes against the "bottom line" Mr. Trump. Two wrongs don't make a right. E-mail corporate and lets see what their take is on this.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
I would also like to know what Crest corporate would say about the manager giving away their products.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Zz, They're not a corporation. It's a family owned local business. Did you even read my review before you started picking up stones. There's no wrong here. Just a manager who knows how make sound rational business decisions.

Thanks jkt and MSCANTBEWRONG. You guys 'Get It'.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
http://www.crestfoodsok.com/
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
LadyScot, Perhaps next time you should read the review BEFORE commenting. As stated previously it's a locally owned and operated store not a corporation. As far as the owners of Crest goes they'd probably applaud the manager for good customer service and at the most ask if he recovered the diet cokes from the vending machine operator.

You people crack me up. It just kills you to see good customer service and see the customer prevail.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
I am not picking at you. I am just giving you another point of view.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
What point of view would that be ZZ? That a manager shouldn't step in for a customer who lost two dollars in a vending machine located in the store's lobby?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
THEY ARE NOT CREST'S MACHINES!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Ok Stew. Excuse me. What do the OWNER'S think of the manager giving away their product?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
ZZ, The machines are in the Crest lobby. Crest has a contract with the company to place the vending machines on Crest property. Oklahoma law makes Crest responsible for the vending machines on their property. Just ask convenience store owners who tried to dodge fines by stating they didn't own the machines on their property. They were told DOESN'T MATTER the machines are on YOUR property.

Zz, Why do you hate good customer service?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Stew how is the manager supposed to know you actually lost two dollars in that machine. There is no proof. Did he take your word for it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
LadyScot, Asked and answered. (see above)

Wally, I guess I have that kind of face that screams 'Trust Me'.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Stew, anyone can just come up to that manager and say. Oh I lost two bucks in the soda machine err can I get two free sodas instead.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
wally, Asked and answered. (see above)
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Stew, nowhere did you answer what the owner's said.

Aside from that, and reading your post again, I find it ironic that YOU didn't want to lose a buck, yet you forced a store to lose not only 2 bucks, BUT made a profit since the price was MORE than you lost.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Good point, Wally.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
I guess I have that kind of face that screams 'Trust Me, you gonna have to do better then that bud.

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
No Stew, I have the kind of face that screams 'Trust me.'
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
LadyScot, True because I'm sure the owners didn't know anything about a simple transitory day to day event and your original question wasn't "what the owner's said". As to forcing the manager to do anything you flatter me but I assure you as cool as I am I simply lack the power to force the manager to do anything.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Did you at least share your good fortune with the "the other half?"
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
wally, People in Oklahoma don't automatically assume that everybody is lying or out to get them. Heck, I went to a Halloween parade Saturday night in the beautiful Oklahoma City. There was a huge turn out. Streets were crowded. Beer was flowing at two dollars a pint YET I never saw one police officer. That's how it is in Oklahoma. We're a good people, we think well of others and we congregate on the city streets without setting cars on fire or looting. I guess that's hard for the rest of the country to comprehend. So yeah when I told the manager I lost two dollars in the machine the thought that I was lying probably never crossed his mind.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
A halloween parade? How old are you, TEN?
What a waste of time! How'd the cow tipping contest go?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Sorry Stew, out here in Phoenix, we have haunted houses, malls, and bars that serve more than moonshine
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Zz, The Ghouls gone Wild OKC celebration is a thing of wonderment. It's really cool. The floats are awesome. Lots of bands playing, got a pocketful of wooden nickels redeemable for a free bottle of beer at The Blue Note. Heck, even one of the floats had a hot chick on a strippers pole. Top it off the parade is ended with Oklahoma native Wayne Coyne of the Flaming lips bringing up the rear of the parade walking in his hamster ball. Sure it lacks the sophistication of a lion hunt in the streets of Denver but we okies like it.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Interesting, no opinion, just interesting. Zz, can I borrow $2.00?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Apology accepted Yaya.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
You got it, Supes.
Stewart, you drink diet pop but drink beer. Doesn't the beer cancel out the calories that you saved from the pop?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Zz, I drink diet soda because I like it better than the syrupy corn syrup concoctions. I can stomach a regular Coke or Pepsi.

As far as beer goes I had to severely limit my intake because it was making me fat. And that just makes me sad.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Sad indeed.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-10-26:
"In fact under Oklahoma law Crest is responsible for the vending machines on it's property."

this would be true if crest holds the keys to open it and fill it and retrieve the money. never heard of any laws surrounding this. what does the label on the machine say is the owner?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
They are not responsible for refunds, Stewart.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-10-26:
Ok...the bottom line here is this....if a store WANTS to give a refund (or in this case, POP), whether they are required to or not, is up to the store. In this case, the store satisfied a customer. What's wrong with that? Stew didn't steal or take anything without permission...now, let's all sit back and hope Stewie will educated us further with another excellent review that we can all learn from tomorrow.

It would be different if the store WAS required to do so and they didn't...which would have resulted in a complaint instead of an informative (Which I personally think should have been a compliment)....
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Wow. Glad you straightened us all out on this matter.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
The Bottom line is stop takeing advice from Pirate.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Indeed Basher it's just that simple isn't it. Ya know though as odd as it sounds it just really rubs some members the wrong way when a business provides excellent customer service to a customer. Go figure.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-10-26:
Stew, is it my imagination...or am I seeing a repeated pattern going on? Basher comment, ZZ comment, Wally comment? Not just this thread either, I guess they just like to 'follow their leader' eh?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Me and ZZ are the same person, you found us out basher.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2009-10-26:
Aha! I knew it!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Indeed Basher. I've often thought Zzrokk to be wally's Svengali.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Stewart, don't you have some domestic work to do? Paint Sue's nails maybe?
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Zz, Don't you have some Wally tutelage to do. Perhaps inspire wally to give up the sentence fragment fetish.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Take that up with Wally, big guy.
Posted by dan gordon on 2009-10-26:
and when this happens at an airport the airport should give you a refund? Busniness I know have a Pepsi machine and they make no $$ from it. Its just for convenience for customers and employees. You make some big asusmptions.
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Who ever brought up the Trials of the Swashbuckler, seems the correct version is as follows: One slightly dimwitted pirate thinking he could avoid the sales tax on a .75 cent store bought soda, chose to instead pay $1.00 at the vending machine outside (the tax is included in the price). So, our ever so sharpe Swashbuckler thinking he was saving a nickel in tax ended up paying 25% more for his soda. Yep, he was one sharpe guy when it came to doing the biz.
Posted by madconsumer on 2009-10-26:
lol superbowl!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
Zip it Stewart
Posted by Anonymous on 2009-10-26:
I can type my sentences whatever way I want court Jester.
Posted by klobbersaurus685 on 2009-10-27:
if you could, please provide the statute numbers for the laws you are siting, that would be appreciated.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-04-08:
Albeit a late comment, I'm fairly new to this site, and you seem to post on my comments, so I dug into yours to see what wonders awaited. I actually used to live in Midwest City,OK (a suburb of Oklahoma City for the readers that don't know)for a few years. I then moved to VA for a few as well, before settling in NM. What strikes me as funny is the use of the term "pop" or "soda pop" for that matter. I phrase it the exact same way, yet on the East coast they looked at me in bewilderment when I asked for a soda pop. I explained what I was asking for, and the locals would say, "Oh, you mean a coke"! Which is a generalizaton for all soda beverages, since they didn't really mean the actual Coca-Cola product. Thanks for a trip down memory lane my friend!
Posted by MRM on 2010-04-08:
Oh Lawd, here we go with the soda pop thing. DB shall comment on this thread soon to defend her sode pop.
Posted by Churro on 2012-04-26:
Hey DIRM74 remember this review!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-04-26:
It's POP, not soda...just pop...P-O-P..Pop!
How do you expect to get a 'helpful' when you use words like...*cough* soda *cough*?
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >