[X]
Feedburner count

Davis Vision

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
23 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Poor Quality & A Long Time To Wait
Posted by BHB on 05/29/2009
Sometimes you just have to voice your complaint! Two months ago I ordered glasses through my eye doctor and needed to use the Davis Vision Lab because of our insurance. Not to hit all the details but the Lab is on their third try making the glasses. They botched the lenses twice and eventually scratched the new frame. It takes three weeks to make the glasses, even though they are aware that a patient has been waiting and waiting.

I still do not have them. They'll be out of style by the time I get them. I can not believe such shoddy work leaves their lab at all.

     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by beyondsick on 2010-10-06:
Having the same problem. Only we are on the sixth remake of my husbands lenses. And the forth time supposedly a manager walked the lenses through the process. What a joke this place is. And they don't care because they are contracted with the company my husband works for to handle the insurance and the lab work. Terrible, terrible work and their patient advocate Justin Lambert is nothing more then a mouthpiece who lies for the company.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-10-06:
It sounds like people are stuck with this inferior product because of their particular insurance. Lenses shouldn't be that hard to make, especially if that's your business. These people need to get it together. Thanks for the post.
Posted by Linda on 2011-08-09:
This is the third time my glasses have been redone by Davis. While they are a little better than the last time, they still aren't correct. I'm having problems particularly at night and do not have this problem with my old glasses. I believe it is their lab. My previous glasses from the same doctor were completed in less than two weeks and were perfect the day I received them, but they were not done at Davis Lab. This has been going on since late April of this year and I'm convinced Davis Labs should not be in business.
Close commentsAdd reply

Poor Eyeglass Quality and Horrible Customer Service
Posted by Dautie960944 on 06/24/2011
As a Davis Vision provider, I am frequently stuck between a rock and a hard place. Patients receive poor quality eyewear from Davis Visions's lab and horrible customer service when they complain. Now that they are mad, they take it out on me and my staff; as if we have any control over their insurance company. We only act as intermediary for the insurance, supplying a prescription for glasses and fitting services. We have no control over the poor quality and service the lab provides, and Davis Vision really doesn't care at all if we complain or are unhappy with what they provide.
We have had several instances of lost frames which belonged to the patient, and Davis Vision tells us that they are not responsible for losing the patient's property. Even though they admit that it was received in their lab when delivered by UPS. They just don't care about quality or customer service.
When faced with choosing an insurance company for vision AVOID DAVIS VISION!!!!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by nancy harris on 2012-02-28:
Davis Vision is the worst vision plan ever 3 months and i am still waiting for my glasses.there customer service reps are rude and liars everyone has a different story.told there computers have not been updated in a month.they treat there patients all the same way.will never recommend them or use them again.anyone who has davis vision should consider changing plans.3 months next week and still waiting.
Posted by Brianna on 2012-03-26:
I ordered glasses 5 weeks ago. And I still do not have the glasses. The rep I talked to today told me that they were trying to cut costs and were making the glasses in house instead of sending them out. They are on the 4th set of lenses now - They have messed up 3 sets of lenses in house. How is that saving money? How can anybody be that bad at their job? I am so angry. When open enrollment comes around again, I am switching providers. These people are the worst. I do not know how they are not held accountable for their behavior.
Posted by rrichkats on 2014-01-31:
definitely the worst all around, service product and claims, can't believe their BetterBusiness rating
Close commentsAdd reply

Davis Vision should be shut down!
Posted by Mjams on 09/15/2010
NEW YORK -- Davis Vision is by far the WORST visual care plan. The do shoddy work and their customer service is useless. I have been waiting for new lenses to be put on MY frame for about 6 weeks! The lenses have come back twice with cloudy spots from the coating and they misplaced my frame! Davis Vision only cares about making money and there is absolutely no regard for their customers.

I will never use them again!
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by MDSasquatch on 2010-09-16:
I agree 100%! I had them for 1 year and as soon as I was eligible to switch, I did. They actually sent my glasses without the lenses; then took 6 weeks to fix the problem. I asked them how a quality control check could miss the fact that the glasses didn't have lenses and got no answer.

You should do what i did, ask you optometrist which insurance they recommend.
Posted by beyondsick on 2010-10-04:
Being stuck with Davis Vision as the insurance that General Motors pays for their employees is awful. They have made the lenses for my husbands glasses 5 times so far and still a problem. Going on the sixth time. The BBB can't do anything because they can't force the company to let you use another lab. Their patient advocate Justin lies when confronted with things he has said and is useless. We can go out of network and pay a higher out of pocket but why should we do that, if they are incapable of making the lenses correctly they should pay the other lab to make what they can't seem to.
Close commentsAdd reply

Beware! Davis Vision Poor Quality Workmanship and Customer Service
Posted by Waterfire on 02/19/2009
VIRGINIA -- My eye glasses came from Davis Vision labs defective. They are simple one line bifocals. The magnification part of the lens was higher and more "to the left" on the right eye, so they were sent back to be re-made. Tomorrow, it will be one month and still no glasses! I talked to Davis Vision today and was not offered any kind of compensation.

They only offered to fill out some kind of report to quality assurance!

     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2009-02-19:
I'm not sure what sort of compensation you would want. Give them a deadline to fit you properly or give your money back. Aside from providing you with glasses, you are otherwise entitled to no other 'compensation'.
Posted by Amy99Q on 2010-01-06:
Sure you can get compensation. I got 2 pairs of glasses with any lens, coatings (give her what she wants) AND made at a local lab, NOT DAVIS...
Close commentsAdd reply

3 Months and Counting
Posted by Seren_Dip_Ity on 05/10/2011
Davis Vision is completely and utterly incompetent. It is extremely obvious that they do not care one bit about their customers. I ordered (and paid for) prescription sunglasses over 3 months ago and still have yet to receive them. First, the company could not make the shape of the lenses I wanted. Ok, fine, I lost 2 weeks there. I can live with that. But, then, the company lost the frames (and it took them a while to notify anyone of this), had at least 2 "breakages" while making the glasses and have done nothing to try to expedite it since it was taking so long. And, it's not even a complicated prescription. I am just hoping that the glasses are correct when I get them so I don't have to deal with them anymore. I'm also thankful that the order wasn't for regular glasses that I absolutely needed.

I will definitely be switching to a different company next year. The price I pay for this insurance (over $450/year) is definitely not worth the aggravation of having to deal with Davis Vision/their customer service.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by MDSasquatch on 2011-05-10:
I had many of the same kind of issues with this company; they actually sent my glasses without the lenses, when I called to complain, they blamed it on the optometrist.

I switched to VSP after consulting my eye doctor's office. I suggest you talk to your eye doctors office and ask them to recommend a provider.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Incompetency of Customer Service Persons and Loss of Documents
Posted by Spugachp on 02/01/2014
ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO -- About 8/2013 I sent a claim form with a copy of the invoice for an Out of Network claim. I should have received about $75 reimbursement.
I got a letter saying I needed to list the date of service on the claim form. Note: it was on the Invoice but, they could not find the invoice!

I again filled out a claim form with the date of service, Xeroxed it and mailed it again. I waited and waited and did not hear back from Davis Vision.

On 2/1/2014, I called Davis Vision and asked where my claim was (second time I had sent in a claim form and the same supporting documents). This time I was told I needed to have a detailed cost breakdown, lenses, frames etc. I said
1) no one contacted me that anything was missing and that 2) the cost was not broken down for me in the invoice I had received. 3) In addition, if anything was missing it should have been listed in the first letter I got from Davis Vision.

They have no record of the documents I sent in, invoice etc. (they Obviously lost it again) The Supervisor (Escalation Team) now wants me to again send in the documents! They lose everything and then want the customer to repeatedly send in copies of the same documents. Their staff is not only inefficient, but irresponsible and they make the customer go in circles and waste more time. I will talk to my group and recommend that they drop Davis Vision. I asked the supervisor to track down the documents that I sent in and to have a manager contact me.
I recommend going with another optical insurer as Davis Vision is irresponsible and wastes the customers' time and energy. It might be that they save money by not paying claims in a timely fashion and making the customer jump hoops. They need to fire the staff that has 'lost' documents unless this is more a policy of Davis Vision rather than the inefficiency of the staff.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Paul on 2014-02-01:
From your complaint, it sounds like Davis Vision goes out of its way to lose documents and not contact customers, in the hope the customers will never follow through to get the reimbursements they deserve. This is a good warning for others to see.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Always a Fight for Reimbursement
Posted by Rrichkats on 01/31/2014
LATHAM, NY -- Went to OD Doctor for eye exam at Costco. Submitted OUT OF NETWORK claim for with the examiner's signature for eye exam and Costco's figure for frames and lenses filled in and signed by both OD, Dr and the glasses Vendor. Included a copy of my prescription which also included charge for eye exam and a procedure code of 92015 (not noted on claim form. Got a rejection of Exam charges do to unapproved procedure code "refraction 92015. Always something with these people and we pay for coverage under COBRA since GM canceled retiree eye care and dental many years ago. I do not go to their providers because the make so many mistakes and have poor quality frames and lenses. Called to question the rejection but the CS representative had no access to my paperwork so will request it be reopened, now I wait again with no confidence of reimbursement.
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Incompetent Service
Posted by Willgwitt on 11/02/2013
LATHAM, NEW YORK -- I have worn glasses since I was a small child (several decades), and never had problems with any prescription. My current employer uses Davis Vision as part of their insurance package. On 8/1/13 I had an eye exam but was not happy with the choice of available frames so I ordered a pair of frames elsewhere, and then returned to my optician who sent the frames to Davis. I was told they would be available in two or three weeks.

A month later I went back asking about progress. The next day, the optician called to say that Davis had mailed the glasses to the wrong address, and they could not be traced. The optician agreed to reorder the frames from where I purchased them, and Davis was to make a new pair of lenses. Three weeks went by and the optician called day before yesterday to say that the glasses had arrived, and Davis had not made the lenses correctly. I did attempt to cancel the glasses yesterday, but was told that any refund would have to come from Davis, not the optician, and that it was probably "too late" for a refund because Davis had already charged my insurance company. It is now 11/2/13, exactly three months since my exam, and I still do not have a pair of glasses. Meanwhile, I am out several hundreds of dollars for glasses that I have yet to see.

The optician told me that they prefer not to use Davis, but have no choice if Davis is specified by the insurance provider. The optician said that Davis quality is consistently poor. For example, bifocals or graduated lenses arrive with the graduation on the top of the lenses. Lenses are frequently reversed with the right eye lens having the left eye prescription, and vice versa.

I will never use Davis Vision in the future. I would prefer to pay a bit extra out of pocket to have good quality eyeglasses delivered in a reasonable amount of time. I have complained to my employer and asked them to drop Davis as part of their insurance package. Why should I pay extra for insurance coverage that is worse than no insurance at all?

     
Add reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad Customer Service
Posted by Pcalleja on 08/15/2013
Megan was rude on the phone and after being very short with me when I said thank you she just hung up on me without saying anything. Very rude.
     
Add reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bait and Switch
Posted by JennyL27 on 04/01/2013
LATHAM, NEW YORK -- Me: Why did you deny benefits?

Davis It's an out of network provider

Me: But, I called them because they're listed on your website as a provider. I called them and they confirmed they are a provider.

Insurance: Ma'am, we sell thousands upon thousands of different policies. Nearly every one is different. No provider can tell you they'll be reimbursed unless they submit a claim and it gets paid.

Me: Seriously? You can list providers and fail to inform consumers that they don't actually participate in the network????

Insurance: We had a meeting about that in our strategy group. We knew it would confuse customers, but our CEO decided to do it anyway.

I guess I need to go buy stock in this insurance company because their profit margin has to rock the world at the rate they rip off customers!
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Obsfucation on 2013-04-02:
If they really say that they work with thsi provider on their site, you need to get a screenshot then make a call to the insurance commissioner in your state.
Posted by DV Customer Service on 2013-06-23:
I am very sorry that you experienced this. However, ever policy is different. The employer elect who the providers for the specific policy may be. That is why we recommend that you contact us or view your vision benefits online. We can provide you with provider information that is accurate for your policy.

Sometimes members call around asking Dr offices if they "accept" DV. They are told "yes" and go. However, some Dr's may be approved on a certain policy and others may not. It all depends on who your group is, if they are a strict group and who they are allowing to service their members.

Davis Vision does not select your benefits or providers. We only administer the policy.

Most individuals have no idea how insurance works. But you have a dedicated customer service team that will take teh time to lead you in the right direction. All you need to do is call us.


Posted by kim hemmingway on 2013-12-27:
My husband company recently chose Davis Vision as their eye care provider for their employees. From what I am seeing they're a complete waste of time. Not only that their providers are not local. What an insult to their employees. I guess the big bosses are pocketing the money along with the crooks and incompetent people at Davis Vision.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >