Preview Review

Next Review

Days Inn Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Complaints
By -

ATLANTA,, GEORGIA -- My grandson and I stayed two nights at the Hotel Days Inn in northwest Atlanta located at 1701 Northside Drive this week. There are no sufficient words to state how appalled I was at several facets of the motel, service, employees, etc. The attendant at the front desk acted as though we were truly doing him a favor by being there. There were no smiles, no gestures of hospitality, no friendliness.

The motel was evidently an older structure, which is o.k., but even the older ones can be cleaned and updated to an extent. The room had a horrendous odor. There was chair-molding on some walls. It had not been dusted in some time. The bathroom floor had not been mopped. There were no plastic liners in the wastebaskets. I chased and kills four insects, one of which was up on the vanity where we placed our ice bucket and brushed our teeth.

The first morning we arose, I discovered that the cold water did not work at all. I ran some hot water into the tub and waited for it to cool. The maintenance man was the only "pleasant experience" we had while we were there. He expediently came to our room when we phoned the front desk and offered to make the appropriate repair while we were out, which he did. He came the next morning and inquired as to whether the repair had pleased me. He also gave us much needed directions @ town. KUDOS to him. He was a bright light in an otherwise dismal stay!!!

Let me begin please @ the adjoining Waffle House. It, also, was not clean. My grandson asked where there health department grade sheet was!!! We sat in a booth. There was some sort of long pink thread or string on the seat behind him. No one had noticed or removed it. A loud, boisterous group of young people arrived (customers), composed of a man and four or five women. The women would come and go. They yelled at each other and did all the "jiving" singing type of music that so many people can do these days. The noise and commotion went unnoticed by the WH employees.

It did not stop until two "adult, older male customers" walked in. That seemed to squelch the noise. The silverware was laid down for us. A spoon had dried food on it and I mentioned it. I DID receive another spoon, but was told by the waitress that the steam machine just makes them look like that. It was not dirty. The waitress stood over us, asking, "Are you ready to order?" She did not leave until we had placed our order.

There were at least two flies gliding and fluttering around inside the restaurant. No one made an attempt to grab a fly swatter or put forth any effort to kill them. The tea was "brown sugar water." I have never tasted a beverage so sweet. There were no offers to refill our glasses. I would not attempt to rate this entire business with the exception of the maintenance man. It would rate below a "1." He would receive a top rating. Whoever he is, Days Inn should give him a raise and request that he "run the place."

Replies
Advertisement
Not Happy
By -

SPOKANE, WASHINGTON -- On Monday March 16th, I called Days Inn to reserve a room for this past weekend in Spokane. My daughter and I were going to be there for the Washington State Music Educators Association Junior High School Honor Band performance. I had looked through all the hotels near the high school where they would be playing at. Days Inn City Center was 0.3 miles away. I called and set up the reservation. I told them I would be paying with cash but would reserve the room on my debit card as they requested.

Check in time was 2 pm on Saturday afternoon. I reiterated that I would be paying with cash, so that I could use my debit card for dinner and fuel. I asked that they put a note on the file so that there would not be a question when I went to check out. The assistant said "no problem." She gave me my key card and room #. I drove down to the room only to find that the room had not been made and pillows in the chair and sheets on the floor. One of the maids came along and asked if everything was OK. I said, "This is the room I was checked into, however, there seems to be a problem." She looked into the room and then agreed.

She called the front desk and spoke to someone and then sent me back up to the office. When I got to the office I was asked what room (the same assistant that assigned the room) I had been given. She apologized with a half-hearted laugh and then rescheduled my room. This one was cleaned as it should be. While in the office, another maid came in and asked about the Maid I had first spoke to. "Was she rude? She has a tendency to have a mouth on her and I just want to make sure she wasn't rude to you." I told them the maid was very nice and I had no problems with her.

Fast Forward to Check out Sunday morning. I went in to check out, and again said, I would be paying by cash. The assistant (different one) said, "Oh your debit card was charged this morning." I start to hyperventilate. (I am out of work and have been since August. My parents had given me some money for the hotel, food and fuel. My dad had put money into my account for food and fuel and my mom had sent money to cover the hotel by cash.) I had charged dinner to my debit card the night before so there would not be enough $ in the debit card account to cover the Motel costs. Hence, the cash option.

The assistant didn't really apologize and made a comment to the effect of "Oh, the night clerk must have put the charges in early this morning. I can credit your account so you can pay by cash but it wouldn't be in the account for a few days." Now call me stupid, but how in the ** was I supposed to drive home with no $.

I asked again about the Note that was supposedly put on when I had called on Monday, and then again, when I registered the night before that I would be paying by CASH. She said no note existed on the reservation. Needless to say I was ticked off. I have thought several times about posting this "should I or shouldn't I?" I would have liked an honest apology for the room debacle or the debit card issue, but I didn't receive it. At this point I will not be staying there again after this. I will find somewhere else to stay.

Replies
Don't Ever Use Travelocity or Book In Days Inn!!!
By -

RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I Booked two vacation packages for a sudden death of a family member. These reservations were for 4 nights 5 days. One reservation for my Two adult children and my 23 Month old granddaughter. The other for myself and my husband. We all got to NC, dumped our luggage in the adjoining rooms and went to see family. We did not return until about 11 PM. Upon returning, to the room we found the door ajar. I know for a fact I personally checked that the doors was locked. Thankfully nothing was missing.

We put my granddaughter to bed and we sat in the other room talking. When my daughter went in to join my granddaughter to sleep, she found a roach crawling above my granddaughters head. Needless to say, that door was closed and we all slept in one room. The next morning my daughter observed pubic hairs in the bath top (which was painted with white wall paint) and we found that the rooms were really disgusting. Cigarette burns in the sheets and blankets, torn blankets & filthy rugs.

I called Travelocity at about 9 AM on Thursday to say that the accommodations were not what we were expecting. I was put on hold for about 20 minutes and was told by Travelocity that I must speak to the manager of the Days Inn Beltline (**). My husband and I went down and spoke to **, we explained why we were not satisfied. He offered us other rooms to look at. They were not much cleaner and were not adjoining. We told him that the hotel was not able to accommodate what we needed. (A clean room and adjoining rooms.)

I again called back Travelocity and told them that we did in fact speak to ** and that we would be checking out and trying to find a clean place to stay. We found a Holiday Inn. I called Travelocity back and they said at this point there is no refund so I would have to book a new vacation package. I just booked the rooms myself.

On Friday, I was on the phone with Travelocity for about 2 hours. The outcome was that I was being charged 432.00 for the two rooms for one night, and my refund would be 250.00 for the remaining three nights for both reservations. (My reply!) “What kind of math do you do! How am I am getting charged 432.00 for one Night!!!” I have to say, at this point after many many hours, I just hung up. I returned home and contacted the credit card company and stated I did not receive the service I was expecting and feel I should not have to pay even for the one night. When you book hotel you expect it to be clean and habitable. THIS WAS NOT!!!

The response from Visa, we cannot go against the DAYS INN cancellation policy. Which is to charge $50 and fees and taxes even if you don't use the room. So I had to Pay 432.00 to stay in that pig sty with no other means to get my money back! I cancelled that Barclay Visa for sure!

Replies
Don't Even Think About Booking Days Inn!
By -

WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- We recently decided to book a room at the Days Inn North, West Palm Beach Florida. We booked through Travelocity.com. When I originally made the booking, I requested a non-smoking room. I was given a smoking room. Once I called Travelocity, they called the Days Inn, requesting it be changed. I was told that they could NOT change the reservation, as they would have to book a whole new room and reservation, therefore charging me again. This is not acceptable, as I am traveling with a 5 month old baby. I was told they would 'put a note on the reservation' and IF it was available, we would get a smoking room.

I attempted to call Days Inn myself, to see if I could get a change. A woman answered the phone, and I said, "I'd like to change my reservation." The woman promptly hung up on me. I called back. I said, "Hi, this is the woman you just hung up on" and she hung up on me AGAIN! I called a third time, and got a little farther with her. I asked several times to speak to a manager, and the third time I asked she said, "Well, I AM the manager", then hung up on me AGAIN. By this time I was furious. I attempted to work with Travelocity on this issue, and was told by them that only Days Inn could cancel my reservation.

By this time, there was NO way I would stay in this hotel with this woman. Travelocity informed me that only Days Inn could authorize a refund. I called Days Inn customer service, and was informed by ** there that only Travelocity could issue the refund. I called Travelocity AGAIN, and was again told it was only Days Inn who could issue the refund. I called Days Inn CS AGAIN, and this time spoke with **. She was one of the nastiest customer service people I have spoken with to date. She rudely informed me that only Travelocity could issue the refund AND hung up on me.

By this time, I was so furious I couldn't even speak on the phone anymore. I asked my husband to try to deal with this further. He called Travelocity, and after much time, spoke to a manager there. He attempted to call the manager at Days Inn himself, and was told he was not in, to call back in an hour. So, we called Travelocity back an hour later, and went through the same thing. Called back another hour later, and finally got a man named ** on the phone. He 'claimed' he was the manager.

After much time going round and round with him, we find out that ** is indeed NOT the manager. He tells us that there is nothing he can do and we need to speak to the manager, which is what we were TOLD ** was. We were then directed to a voice mail (brushed off AGAIN), and left a message. This is where we currently stand with this. I have already booked another room with a different hotel, because I refuse to stay at such a place. We at no point were ever rude with anyone at Days Inn. This company needs to be put out of business. I know for sure I will do my part to tell EVERYONE I know to never, ever stay at a Days Inn.

Replies
Advertisement
Disgusting Room And Absent Employees
By -

MOREHEAD, KENTUCKY -- First of all I must say that I would've never stayed at this hotel if a Hampton Inn was around and if the Quality Inn wasn't booked! Now, that being said, I had a horrible stay here at the Days Inn Morehead, KY. The only "good" part to my stay was when I first checked in. The lady at the front desk was so nice and friendly.

I get up to my room and when I walk in I notice some napkins lying on the floor and an ashtray that is completely full of cigarette butts sitting on the bed. I'm thinking not a problem, housekeeping could have overlooked this. I used to be a manager for Hampton Inn in Gulfport, MS and I know how much work goes into cleaning a room with little time to clean it. So, I sit my son down and we start to eat our dinner before its bath time.

After we eat I go into the bathroom to run is bath and notice a huge amount of pubic hairs all in the bathtub and on the floor. Honestly, it was like someone had, how do I put this nicely, put one leg in the tub and one out and "trimmed"!! Also, hanging on the shower curtain rod was a used, dirty wash cloth. I immediately go to the phone to inform the front desk that I want to move rooms, but no one answered.

I tried for 30 minutes and still...NO ANSWER! So, I go back into the bathroom and clean the tub up myself and throw a hand towel over the rest in the floor. As I sit on the side of the tub I look on the floor beside the toilet and there is, well I'm not sure what it was but it was very nasty and I still keep telling myself that it's not someone's vomit. I am so disgusted by this point that I finish giving my son a bath and return to the phone. STILL NO ANSWER!!

I tried for over an hour this time. I am so tired by this point I just want to leave a wake up call, but I can't get anyone on the phone, so I set the alarm clock in the room. I needed to be up by 4:40 am so that I could leave by 5 am. I woke up at 8:10 am because the alarm clock in the room was broken. I should have checked before I trusted it. I was 3 hours late! So I rush to get my son and myself ready. I am running up and down the stairs to load up the car and finally make it to the lobby to check out. I stand there waiting... waiting... waiting... waiting and NO ONE COMES TO CHECK ME OUT!!

I can hear ladies back in the back just talking away. I say, "Hello?".. Nothing... I say it a little bit louder...NOTHING... I am so furious by this point that I yell HELLO!!! And still no one comes to check me out!! I leave the keys on the desk and run out of the lobby. As I go to buckle my seat belt I see the lady come walking up front talking on the phone. So I call her on my cell to let her know that I am checking out and she said "yea, I saw your cards laying on the desk. I was in the back talking to housekeeping."

No apologies...Nothing...I ask to talk to management and of course no one is there. This is at 9 am and NO MANAGEMENT IS THERE??? So I hang up and I'll deal with this after I get home. Well I called back just a few minutes ago to speak with management and guess what...No Management is there again.

I asked her for corporates' number and she had no clue what it was. I asked her when management would be back and she said, "Um. I don't know, maybe later on." I am so sick of this company already!! What kind of company runs a business without management? The Days Inn does and that's why you see all these complaints. Oh how I wish I had stayed at a Hampton Inn! NEVER AGAIN WILL I STAY AT A DAYS INN. ANYWHERE!!!

Replies
Stayed Less Than 5 minutes... Website Misleading
By -

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I made reservations 2 months in advance for a work trip to Tucson. I booked a queen suite using a promotional code for $49; the pictures of the queen suite online looked great, and I figured I was getting a good rate because I booked in advance.

I went to the hotel and checked in earlier today. The clerk was unable to run my corporate card, so she called Tech Support, who she said, "Are pretty good... They usually answer the phones." They said they were going to check if the charge went through but they didn't call her back right away, so she called them again and ran my card again while she was on hold, and this time it went through.

She asked me, "Your card went through, should I hang up on them." I told her I wanted to make sure I wasn't billed twice, and she assured me I wouldn't be. While she was on hold with Tech Support, a young-ish man came in and asked for a room, then proceeded to tell me he liked to come into town and get "drizz-unk" and stay in a hotel room. Thanks, because I asked you???

I went to my room, and the keys didn't work, so I went back to the desk and she re-keyed my cards and was finally able to enter the room. The living room part of the suite was very small and very dim with no working lamps. The bedroom part was tiny, with no headboard on the bed. I couldn't find a light switch in the bedroom. When I moved the pillows, there were pieces of bent metal screwed into the walls (brackets for headboard?). Where there is normally a dresser with a TV in the bedroom, there was a bathroom sink. Come to think of it, I'm not even sure if there was a dresser in the room.

It looked absolutely nothing like the photos on the website, which showed a bright, sunny, clean and nice-looking room. The floors were dirty and I could see that there was a closet, but it was so dark (and I couldn't find the light switches) that all I could see was a dark area. There was an exterior door in the bedroom also, but the deadbolt didn't work. I couldn't imagine staying in this room for 5 nights.

I went immediately back to the front desk and gave the clerk my keys and told her I wasn't going to stay in that room, and I wanted to cancel my reservation. She told me that I was unable to cancel it, but she could move me into another room which was identical to that room. I told her that I wasn't going to stay at the hotel and that I just checked in 5 minutes ago so she decided to cancel my reservation. She printed out a copy of my reservation, wrote a cancellation number on it, and then on my insistence, wrote on it that I wouldn't be charged. As I was leaving I realized that there were no other cars in the parking lot; the only thing there was a discarded hot tub.

I am really not a drama queen; I am a trainer and I travel for work 2-3 weeks a month, and I usually stay at Days Inns. I have *never* checked into a hotel and was so disgusted by it that I had to leave. I know I should have realized that such a good deal couldn't be true; I have learned my lesson. This was only a few hours ago, so we will see if they actually don't charge my card.

Replies
Disgusted and Then Insulted...
By -

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- Service Issues: Carpet by the front door was soaking wet, Bathroom light was not functioning, the tub in the bathroom was not clean, bed was not made fully and was dirty, garbage and personal products on the floor (women's used hair tie), candy wrappers on the floor, phone inside room barely functional, very very loud noises from pool area until well after 11 pm (pool closes at 10 per posted signs).

Loud party from room below us well after 11 pm (open drinking, music and general disorderly conduct), front desk staff was extremely rude and unhelpful, the keys for the doors did not work when you exited the room (I noticed about 10 people who also had the same issues with their keys). I have pictures and video to show all of this information.

Advertising Issues: The pictures online showing the rooms, front lobby and other areas are less than similar than the real product. The building did not look to be in shape at all, not to mention the less than secure parking lot with people who were not guests of the hotel coming through the parking lot and through the common area. My fiancee planned this hotel stay as a part of my birthday weekend. When we arrived at the hotel and we entered the room there was garbage and advertising papers everywhere on the floor. When we began to look at the room we noticed the rooms, "less than clean" appearance.

I immediately took pictures and called the front desk to inform them of the room's appearance. My conversation centered around the room's appearance and with the noise level (also noted above). I was assured that security would promptly remove everyone from the pool area, the "prompt" removal took about 45 minutes and even that did not stop the party downstairs.

We checked out after being at the hotel for approximately one hour and about twenty minutes or so. When I checked out I asked for a refund on the room because of the circumstances and I was informed I would have to call back on Sunday to speak to **, the assistant manager because no one on staff at that time could secure another room based on the hotel's occupancy level or give us a refund.

I called back on Sunday and I spoke to **. Our conversation was less than pleasant or professional as she argued with me back and forth on what happened and mentioned they had sent someone to our room to take care of the room's "problems". I asked ** to provide me with the time, specific problems the maintenance person went to service and his/her name- she could not provide me with a record of any of the above (I have since spoken to the General Manager and he could not provide this information either.) ** explained that if I wanted a refund I would need to call back on Monday.

Today (Monday, July 28) I spoke to Mr. ** (I may not have the correct spelling of his last name). Our first conversation was very pleasant and he expressed his concern over what had happened and asked to call me back so that he could conduct an investigation. When I spoke to Mr. ** approximately 2 hours later he said that the only amount he could offer me was $20. He explained that this was the most he could do. I advised him that I was not asking for even a complete refund based on the fact that we were in the room for one hour plus but for a prorated amount.

I figure at least a prorated amount based on the time we occupied the room would be more around $50 based on the check in time of 3 pm and the check out time of 11 am. We checked into our room at 9:37 pm and I checked us out of our room at 10:48 pm. I feel that asking for $50 back is fair business practice especially since we had to drive to Davenport (Hwy 27 - Quality Inn) and did not find another hotel until 1 am.

I will never stay at another Days Inn or any Wyndham owned hotel again! Seriously, in today's competitive market can you afford to lose one customer, much less have that customer tell his circle of influence (which mine happens to be a lot) about his experience? Over $50!

Replies
Horrible Experience With Days Inn in Lima, OH
By -

LIMA, OHIO -- We stayed in the Days Inn in Lima, OH for one night. We were there to go to our daughter's graduation from college. There was a monster truck meeting in town. Many of these truckers stayed at the same Days Inn...unfortunately for us...we were not aware of this until we were in the hotel.

That night there was loud partying, shouting, beating on doors (including ours). There were open containers of alcohol all over the place during the night. This lasted until at least 5:00 A.M. I was going to ask the front desk to do something about the noise but our room phone did not work when we tried it. The commode quit working during the night...but no phone to call the front desk.

On check-out my husband told the desk clerk we would like a discount because we got no sleep, the phone and toilet didn't work. The clerk said he could not reduce the price. He said it was not their fault that the place was so noisy and loud that night. My husband told him that yes he is responsible because it is the private property of Days Inn. The clerk said, "No, we cannot do anything about stuff like that." He then said, "We called the police for you last night." My husband told him it was not for us. My husband told him that he wanted to talk to the manager. They reply, "He is out of the county."

This clerk was in no way helpful or apologetic. My husband told him that if he wasn't willing to help us, we would take care of it in other ways. So we are listing this on the reviews, contacting AAA (yes they are a AAA hotel) and some other contacting we will do. The computer that was provided in the lobby with "high-speed internet" was one of the slowest I have ever seen. When it was time to log off it seemed it was not going to work and it took forever to get logged out.

At breakfast we found out that our relatives in another room had called the front desk that night and complained about the noise. On their third call to the front desk they told the clerk to call and get the sheriff out there or they were going to make the call. They said the clerk said, "No, no...we will call the sheriff." When the police arrived they went to my relatives' room, knocked on their door and when they answered the door...the cops wanted to know what they wanted. The cops had to walk right through all the loud partying and open alcohol. The cops really were NO help.

When my relatives checked out of their room another customer was in front of them in line and complaining about the same thing. The clerk gave them a business card of whom to contact and make their complaints. When he did this, my brother-in-law said "You might as well go ahead and give us one too."

The cops told my relatives that "It is like this every year." Well, they should have told me when I called them that there was going to be all these people who would be allowed to party and drink in the parking lots all night. I would have never made reservations. The rooms were not even close to nice. The bed was so worn out I would guess it wore out 10 years before. I WOULD NEVER RECOMMEND ANYONE STAY AT THIS MOTEL.

Replies
Advertisement
Cancelled Group reservation with Days Inn Lancaster PA
By -

LANCASTER, PENNSYLVANIA -- This is a copy of a letter I wrote to our bank disputing a charge from this hotel. I called and wrote the hotel manager and he has NEVER responded and to this day has not refunded my $$. I called the hotel NUMEROUS times and left messages and NEVER received a call back from him. I am a professional Travel Agent and have not ever experienced such POOR management in ANY form! Please BEWARE as I found the staff to be totally incompetent and rude.

We are writing in dispute of a charge that posted to our company credit card on July 3, 2007. The charge originated from The Lancaster Days Inn located in Lancaster PA. The person we had been working with is Bibi, the Assistant Manager.

On Monday morning, July 2, Michele ** (an agent in our office) contacted the Days Inn to request an extension on our Group Deposit. Bibi told her that she would hold the group until Thursday if she faxed over a copy of the Group contract and the credit card information we would be using and that she would not charge anything until Thursday, July 5. Michele faxed over the information that morning. Early that afternoon the group cancelled their plans. Michele proceeded to call the hotel and spoke with Solomon who advised her that Bibi had left for the day and that she did not have voicemail to leave a message.

On Tuesday morning, July 3, Michele called once again and was told that Bibi was on the property but unable to come to the phone to please call back. When Michele called back she was told that Bibi had left for the day and would not be returning until Thursday. At that time Michele asked that Solomon take a message that it was URGENT that Bibi contact her and that the group reservation needed to be cancelled immediately to avoid charges on the credit card. Solomon told Michele that he could not touch group reservations but he would be sure that Bibi got the message.

On Thursday morning, July 5, still having NO word from The Days Inn, Michele once again called the hotel and spoke with Bibi. She told Michele she had received the message to cancel the group and had done so. At that time, she did not say anything about credit card charges. Later that afternoon, Connie ** (owner) noted that a charge of $800.90 had posted to our credit card on July 3. This was Not what Bibi had agreed to and immediately Michele phoned the property and was told Bibi had left for the day. She left a message for either Bibi to return her call.

On Friday morning, July 6, Michele called the hotel and spoke with Brigitte who told her Bibi had someone in her office. Michele left an Urgent message for Bibi to phone her back and Brigitte told her it would be about ½ an hour. Michele's call was not returned and she called again about 45 minutes later to find that Bibi had left the property again. Michele left a message then for Bibi to return her call.

Later that morning Bibi called and spoke with Michele. Michele told her that she had not been authorized to charge the card on Monday and that she had promised she would allow us to hold it until Thursday. She told Michele that the charge was not processed and that she was not in charge of credit card charging that was Brigitte's area. Michele reminded her of our agreement and she told her that unfortunately that as long as she had the contract that did not matter. Michele again asked to speak to Jay ** the General Manager and was told he was not in and that there was no way to reach him. Michele left a message for Jay ** to return her call.

In light of all that transpired and the reluctance of the Hotel to honor their word, Connie called Wells Fargo and disputed the charges to the card. On Monday morning, July 9, Michele called once again and left another message for Jay ** to call and has continued to do so every day. To this date, no message has ever been returned. She called Days Inn Corporation and filed a formal complaint against the property with Lauren. The complaint number is **. She was told the hotel has 7 days for upper management to respond.

Replies
Days Inn Super Nightmare
By -

ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO -- I wish to report an alarming incident that happened at the Days Inn Hotel Circle in Albuquerque, NM. I checked in on November 17, 2007 at 2:14 pm and paid for one night with my VISA. The day clerk listed here was not on duty. I left to spend the day with my daughter. When I returned at about 2:00 am I decided I needed to stay another night. I went into the lobby and asked if the same room was available for another night. When I offered my credit card again, the night clerk asked if it was the same card. Since it was, he assured me he did not need to run it again.

After a nap, I went about my business and returned to my room late that night. I had forgotten to have the card re-keyed, so the night clerk took care of that for me. The next morning at 7:00 am, the day clerk phoned me. He was very irate and stated that my card had been declined and to come to the lobby immediately to take care of it. I went into the lobby and logged onto my credit union. The card showed I owed less than $250. My credit limit is $10,000. There was nothing wrong with my card.

I approached the front desk, identified myself and offered my credit card. He took it and then began yelling that he had run the card four times and it had been declined. Until this moment, he did not access to my card. It was my feeling that he had simply typed the incorrect numbers from yesterday's transaction. He yelled that it was my responsibility to take care of the bill and that because I had not paid for the previous night I had broken the law by breaking in and he would call the police and have me arrested. I was not allowed to speak. Whenever I tried to speak, he would thrust his palm at me. He is significantly taller than me and I was taken by surprise at this attack.

The day clerk repeated the threats and shook his finger at me repeatedly while yelling. I was frightened very badly. I have never had my card declined. There is nothing wrong with my card. He refused to run my card and handed it back. I was extremely frightened by his violent temper and threats. There was no reasoning with him. He said to call my credit card company. I stated that the credit union would not be open until 9:00; it was now 7:10. He yelled that I needed to take care of the bill right now. He kept yelling the threats and yelling “What is your problem?” Several times he approached me in a threatening manner and shook his finger in my face. I was frightened very badly and only wanted to escape to a safe place.

I left the lobby and tried to get back to my room, 102. The door had not closed completely, so I ran in and locked it. He banged on the door, threatening to call the police because I had broken into the room. I called my daughter. My hands were shaking so badly, I had to dial the number three times before I input the correct number. I heard him pacing back and forth outside the room. He tore off the window screen, probably trying to get in. I heard him on the phone calling the police, still yelling at me that I was going to be arrested.

When I completed the call to my daughter, I opened the door. He grabbed all of my luggage and my purse and ran out, yelling that they were going to the dumpster. One of the maintenance people helped me gather the rest of my belongings and I went to the lobby. The day clerk kept yelling that the police were on their way and that I would be arrested for breaking into the room. It was very embarrassing to sit in the lobby in my pajamas. I had not showered because it felt the situation would be resolved immediately. The items that were not taken to the dumpster, such as yesterday's laundry, were piled on the table.

Other guests were getting their breakfast. It struck me that the maintenance man who helped was very calm and knew immediately what he needed to do. Later, when I was at my daughter's house, we conjectured that this might not be the first time he has treated a customer like this. When I stayed in July, he was not the day clerk; I assumed there has been a change in management. I was still shaking very badly when the two police officers arrived. The law regarding the situation was relayed to me. I told a short version of what happened. The officer explained to me that the clerk had no right to remove my belongings and said he would talk to him.

My daughter showed up a few minutes later and put the second day's stay on her credit card. My luggage and purse were retrieved from the back room and returned to me. The police officer suggested I check to make sure the contents were intact. Since I had my wallet in my pajamas pocket, there was nothing of real value left in the purse; I checked my purse. Nothing was missing. My daughter and I left; the police officers remained in the lobby. The check out is listed as November 19, 2007, 7:48 am. The police did not create an incident report.

At 9:00 am, I called my credit union. They checked the hits against my card from Days Inn. The approval and charge for the first day were there. There was no hit for the second day on their system. The VISA network was checked. There were no hits for the second day. If there was a declination, it would have shown up as a request for approval and a decline. I called my credit union Wednesday morning from my home in Phoenix. There were two requests for approval and two denials. ** at my credit union explained that the two denials were because the system was down for routine maintenance.

This entire incident would have been avoided if he had run my credit card Tuesday morning. I am contacting my lawyer about filing a civil suit for harassment and threatening behavior, as well as for unlawfully confiscating my belongings. I expect you will be conducting an internal investigation. Do not use my name as I fear retaliation. I do expect to be contacted about this incident within 7 days. I no longer wish to be a trips rewards member if this reflects the caliber of personnel you employ. I also intend to share my experience.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Days Inn Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 38 ratings and
204 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Days Inn
9 West 57th St.
New York, NY 10019
212-413-1800 (ph)
www.daysinn.com
Product/Services
Compare Hotels/Motels