ATLANTA,, GEORGIA -- My grandson and I stayed two nights at the Hotel Days Inn in northwest Atlanta located at 1701 Northside Drive this week.
There are not sufficient words to state how appalled I was at several facets of the motel, service, employees, etc.
The attendant at the front desk acted as though we were truly doing him a favor by being there. There were no smiles, no gestures of hospitality, no friendliness.
The motel was evidently an older structure, which is o. k., but even the older ones can be cleaned and updated to an extent. The room had a horrendous odor. There was chair-molding on some walls. It had not been dusted in some time. The bathroom floor had not been mopped. There were no plastic liners in the wastebaskets. I chased and kills four insects, one of which was up on the vanity where we placed our ice bucket and brushed our teeth.
The first morning we arose, I discovered that the cold water did not work at all. I ran some hot water into the tub and waited for it to cool. The maintenance man was the only "pleasant experience" we had while we were there. He expediently came to our room when we phoned the front desk and offered to make the appropriate repair while we were out, which he did. He came the next morning and inquired as to whether the repair had pleased me. He also gave us much needed directions @ town. KUDOS to him. He was a bright light in an otherwise dismal stay!!!!!
Let me begin, please @ the adjoining Waffle House. It, also, was not clean. My grandson asked where there health department grade sheet was!!! We sat in a booth. There was some sort of long pink thread or string on the seat behind him. No one had noticed or removed it. A loud, boisterous group of young people arrived (customers), composed of a man and four or five women. The women would come and go. They yelled at each other and did all the "jiving" singing type of music that so many people can do these days. The noise and commotion went un-noticed by the WH employees. It did not stop until two "adult, older male customers" walked in. That seemed to squelch the noise.
The silverware was laid down for us. A spoon had dried food on it and I mentioned it. I DID receive another spoon, but was told by the waitress that the steam machine just makes them look like that. It was not dirty.
The waitress stood over us, asking, "Are you ready to order?" She did not leave until we had placed our order.
There were at least two flies gliding and fluttering around inside the restaurant. No one made an attempt to grab a fly swatter or put forth any effort to kill them.
The tea was "brown sugar water." I have never tasted a beverage so sweet. There were no offers to refill our glasses.
I would not attempt to rate this entire business with the exception of the maintenance man. It would rate below a "1." He would receive a top rating. Whoever he is, Days Inn should give him a raise and request that he "run the place."
SPOKANE, WASHINGTON -- On Monday March 16th, I called Days Inn to reserve a room for this past weekend in Spokane. My daughter and I were going to be there for the Washington State Music Educators Association Junior High School Honor Band performance. I had looked through all the hotels near the high school where they would be playing at. Days Inn City Center was 0.3 miles away. I called and set up the reservation. I told them I would be paying with cash but would reserve the room on my debit card as they requested. Check in time was 2pm on Saturday afternoon. I reiterated that I would be paying with cash, so that I could use my debit card for dinner and fuel. I asked that they put a note on the file so that there would not be a question when I went to check out. The assistant said "no problem." She gave me my key card and room #. I drove down to the room only to find that the room had not been made and pillows in the chair and sheets on the floor. One of the maids came along and asked if everything was OK. I said "this is the room I was checked into however, there seems to be a problem." She looked into the room and then agreed.
She called the front desk and spoke to someone and then sent me back up to the office. When I got to the office I was asked what room (the same assistant that assigned the room) I had been given. She apologized with a half hearted laugh and then rescheduled my room. This one was cleaned as it should be. While in the office another maid came in and asked about the Maid I had first spoke to. "Was she rude? She has a tendency to have a mouth on her and I just want to make sure she wasn't rude to you." I told them the maid was very nice and I had no problems with her.
Fast Forward to Check out Sunday morning. I went in to check out and again said I would be paying by cash. The assistant (different one) said "oh your debit card was charged this morning." I start to hyperventilate. (I am out of work and have been since August. My parents had given me some money for the hotel, food and fuel. My dad had put money into my account for food and fuel and my mom had sent money to cover the hotel by cash.) I had charged dinner to my debit card the night before so there would not be enough $ in the debit card account to cover the Motel costs. Hence the cash option. The assistant didn't really apologize and made a comment to the effect of "oh the night clerk must have put the charges in early this morning. I can credit your account so you can pay by cash but it wouldn't be in the account for a few days." Now call me stupid, but how in the frak was I supposed to drive home with no $.
I asked again about the Note that was supposedly put on when I had called on Monday and then again when I registered the night before that I would be paying by CASH. She said no note existed on the reservation. Needless to say I was ticked off. I have thought several times about posting this "should I or shouldn't I?" I would have liked an honest apology for the room debacle or the debit card issue, but I didn't receive it. At this point I will not be staying there again after this. I will find somewhere else to stay.
RALEIGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- I Booked two vacation packages for a sudden death of a family member, These reservations were for 4 nights 5 days. One reservation for my Two adult children and my 23 Month old granddaughter. The other for myself and my husband. We all got to NC. dumped our luggage in the adjoining rooms and went to see family. We did not return until about 11 PM. Upon returning to the room we found the door ajar. I know for a fact I personally checked that the doors was locked. Thankfully nothing was missing. We put my granddaughter to bed and we sat in the other room talking. When my daughter went in to join my granddaughter to sleep, she found a roach crawling above my granddaughters head. Needless to say, that door was closed and we all slept in one room. The next morning my daughter observed pubic hairs in the bath top (which was painted with white wall paint) and we found that the rooms were really disgusting. Cigarette burns in the sheets and blankets, Torn blankets & filthy rugs. I called Travelocity at about 9 AM on Thursday to say that the accommodations were not what we were expecting. I was put on hold for about 20 minutes and was told by Travelocity that I must speak to the manager of the Days Inn Beltline (Roger). My husband and I went down and spoke to Roger, we explained why we were not satisfied. He offered us other rooms to look at. They were not much cleaner and were not adjoining. We told him that the hotel was not able to accommodate what we needed. (A clean room and adjoining rooms)
I again called back Travelocity and told them that we did in fact speak to Roger and that we would be checking out and trying to find a clean place to stay. We found a Holiday Inn. I called Travelocity back and they said at this point there is no refund so I would have to book a new vacation package. I just booked the rooms myself. On Friday I was on the phone with Travelocity for about 2 hours. The outcome was that I was being charged 432.00 for the two rooms for one night, and my refund would be 250.00 for the remaining three nights for both reservations. (My reply!) What kind of math do you do! How am I am getting charged 432.00 for one Night!!!!! I have to say at this point after many many hours I just hung up. I returned home and contacted the credit card company and stated I did not receive the service I was expecting and feel I should not have to pay even for the one night. When you book hotel you expect it to be clean and habitable. THIS WAS NOT!!!!
The response from Visa we can not go against the DAYS INN cancellation policy. Which is to charge $50 and fees and taxes even if you don't use the room. So I had to Pay 432.00 to stay in that pig sty with no other means to get my money back! I cancelled that Barcley Visa for sure!
WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- We recently decided to book a room at the Days Inn North, West Palm Beach Florida. We booked through Travelocity.com.
When I originally made the booking, I requested a non-smoking room. I was given a smoking room. Once I called Travelocity, they called the Days Inn, requesting it be changed. I was told that they could NOT change the reservation, as they would have to book a whole new room and reservation, therefore charging me again. This is not acceptable, as I am traveling with a 5 month old baby. I was told they would 'put a note on the reservation' and IF it was available, we would get a smoking room.
I attempted to call Days Inn myself, to see if I could get a change. A woman answered the phone, and I said, "I'd like to change my reservation." The woman promptly hung up on me. I called back. I said, "Hi this is the woman you just hung up on" and she hung up on me AGAIN! I called a third time, and got a little farther with her. I asked several times to speak to a manager, and the third time I asked she said, "Well, I AM the manager", then hung up on me AGAIN.
By this time I was furious. I attempted to work with Travelocity on this issue, and was told by them that only Days Inn could cancel my reservation. By this time, there was NO way I would stay in this hotel with this woman. Travelocity informed me that only Days Inn could authorize a refund. I called Days Inn customer service, and was informed by "Beth" there that only Travelocity could issue the refund. I called Travelocity AGAIN, and was again told it was only Days Inn who could issue the refund.
I called Days Inn CS AGAIN, and this time spoke with "Roxanne". She was one of the nastiest customer service people I have spoken with to date. She rudely informed me that only Travelocity could issue the refund AND hung up on me.
By this time I was so furious I couldn't even speak on the phone anymore. I asked my husband to try to deal with this further.
He called Travelocity, and after much time, spoke to a manager there. He attempted to call the manager at Days Inn himself, and was told he was not in, to call back in an hour. So, we called Travelocity back an hour later, and went through the same thing. Called back another hour later, and finally got a man named "David" on the phone. He 'claimed' he was the manager.
After much time going round and round with him, we find out that 'David' is indeed NOT the manager. He tells us that there is nothing he can do and we need to speak to the manager, which is what we were TOLD David was.
We were then directed to a voice mail (brushed off AGAIN), and left a message. This is where we currently stand with this. I have already booked another room with a different hotel, because I refuse to stay at such a place.
We at no point were ever rude with anyone at Days Inn. This company needs to be put out of business. I know for sure I will do my part to tell EVERYONE I know to never, ever stay at a Days Inn.
WASHINGTON, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA -- Upon are arrival we were told not to go outside at night period. The next day there were children carrying cereal and milk out of the lobby in the ice buckets. When I asked later that evening, I was told that the city of DC had contracted 147 out of the 190 rooms for "displaced families". Noise all night long. When we tried to locate other hotels in the area, we found out that all were booked because of spring break and the nearest using Expedia or other search sites found nothing under $400 a night within 20 miles of the capital. Maybe if the president would stay there he would used his famous PEN and write an executive order to close the place. Terrible this goes on in the Capital.
LEBANON, TENNESSEE -- We went to room108 and the bed was not made, no linens to make the bed.We were switched to room 110.WE moved the suitcases in and went to eat.The TV did not work and some of stations cannot be found, We watching a basketball game it was so blurry you could not see the ball in air.I complained and room 228 on the other side of building.I went [there] to see if the T-v worked and we packed up all suitcases and moved.The storm came in.This was all unsettling.It was under Mary Neibergall by Discover 2-20-14.MY account[snip] thanks Mary Neibergall
1009 Miss Belle, Excelsior Springs Mo 64024
MAPLEWOOD, MINNESOTA -- We paid for a room and when first opened door to room I sat on I think it was a chair waiting for my husband to park the car, up in the corner of room was a HUGE cob web (really!!! No way this could have been missed ) the carpet was stained and black, sticky. I could not set my bags down for fear what I might find in them when I left, I never made it to look at the beds however I knew I would not be sleeping in them . and the picture on the wall had no glass in it . .it had been busted out and put back on the wall! When my husband came in we went to front desk let them know how very NASTY and uncaring their place had become since it was sold to them . I was a housekeeper at that very place and I can't understand what in the world how the Days Inn even allows these places to represent them ! That was a 5 star hotel we cared how people thought and felt . What are they paying their housekeepers and staff because it is not worth min wage . And the one thing good we left with. .. .. . OUR MONEY!
NEWBERRY, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I asked for a wake up call at 6:30 am. I happened to wake up on my on before then. I left the room at 7:05 am and had never got a wake up call. Later that night when I got back in, I got online and was watching a movie on Netflix. When the internet suddenly went out I called to ask them to reboot. The thing was I had no dial tone on my room phone. I checked the plugs on both ends and that didn't help. I found a phone book and called the lobby with my cellphone. I asked the lady at the desk to reboot the internet and oh, by the way, I see why I didn't get my wakeup call because my phone don't work. She started out saying I was talking to her so it did work but I was on my cellphone. She kept telling me about the printout she had that said I did get the wake up call. I wasn't really worried about a wakeup call at that point, I just wanted my wifi back on. Any way, she kept telling me I was wrong, which is in effect, telling me I was lying about the wakeup call, and at some point I let slip a cuss word. I don't like being called a liar. After that I asked to speak to the manager and she had no interest in anything I had to say. She gave me a Jesus speech. I wasn't upset about the missed wakeup call until that lady insisted I was lying.
PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- Warning to others who are thinking of choosing Days Inn in Phoenix on 2420 Thomas Rd.
First, the free breakfast is not free to all, only daily guests not weekly guests. Second, watch out for Chelsea from the front desk. Very rude and unprofessional. However, Chelsea plays the good employee when management is around. Third, I'm aware it's under new management which explains a lot.
The women manager is horrible to deal with so be careful. Fourth, the maintenance men watches your every move, not helpful and quick to squeal. However, the cleaning staff are wonderful. Never had a problem with them. That's a plus. Overall not a good stay. So my advice to all is go across the street to La Quinta they know how to treat their guests. Free breakfast to all, amazing staff, and maintenance there are so helpful.
EAST STROUDSBURG, PA, PENNSYLVANIA -- Went to East Stroudsburg, PA for my uncle's memorial service. Was very unsure about the area so thought I would go with a Days Inn, for lodging, since it seemed like a reputable name. Couldn't have been more wrong. Upon check-in there were people asleep in the lobby and when we were directed to our room we had to step over individuals who were drinking and sitting in front our door. Not to mention the cat calls we got while walking to our room from the parking lot. Would have been able to stomach the bad decor and cheap furnishing if it weren't for the terrible smell. Like hundreds of cigarettes were recently smoked in this non-smoking room, as well as a dorm like smell of stale beer and vomit. We immediately checked out and rerouted to a much nicer hotel just down the street, the Staybridge Suites. We immediately took a shower, changed our clothes and returned to the Days Inn to give back the keys and explain that we weren't staying the evening. Once we returned home I called the Days Inn to complain and get some kind of retribution. Received nothing but sarcasm and a level of unprofessional ism I didn't think would or could exist in a company such as Days Inn. Truly the worst hotel chain ever, and would not recommend it to anyone!