Preview Review

Next Review

Dell Computer Corporation Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
More Waiting, Less Tech Service - Dell TOPS the List
By -

OLD HICKORY, TENNESSEE -- I ordered an Inspiron 6000 back in late July 2005. As part of my order, I upgraded the screen on the laptop to a 15.4 inch WXGA LCD Panel (this is supposedly a clearer screen for laptop on screen presentations). Unfortunately, within a few weeks, I began a very long, long meandering journey through the torrential HELL that Dell calls "Tech Support" based in India, Malysia, and other countries where the nationals speak broken English and adopt American names.

My ride began with a different problem than the ones commented about on this blog. However, during that very first conversation, I asked why my "upgraded" screen was "pixilated" -- the words and many graphics/photos appeared distorted and unreadable. When I mentioned this to the rep, I was told, "Well, that's just how that screen is." Unfortunately, 8 1/2 months later, it is STILL NOT repaired. From that initial phone call, reps have argued with me, refused to give me information, refused to pass me on to their supervisors, etc. It was all I could do to stay on hold for the hours and hours that I have had to wait for someone - anyone - to answer my calls.

To make this very LONG story brief, I continued to call about the screen. One rep took me through a troubleshooting process, and found no problems there. He transferred me to software support where I was expected to pay several hundred dollars for the help they provided. I was NOT about to pay for tech support for something that was internal. I called back again, waited more and more, hung up, called back again, waited longer - the process was repeated over and over again.

I finally got another rep who took me through the exact same troubleshooting procedure that I'd already gone through. He did finally admit that I needed to have something changed out. They sent someone within 48 hours, but the "repair" never changed the screen at all. I called back, and the rep wanted to go through the same troubleshooting exercise again. I refused. I called back again - same thing.

Finally, after waiting on hold over and over again, I refused to call back. I decided now that I'd send the computer back and just demand either a replacement OR a refund. The lid is now loose, the CD drive doesn't always open, the finish is coming off of the keys; when I "chat" online, the pop-up blocker warning appears (even when the pop-up blocker is OFF), etc., etc. More and more of the same.

I really wanted a Latitude, but was told by the initial rep I talked with that I could not get one because they were built for networking systems. I loved my Latitude at my last job, and had nothing but positive experiences with it. But, because I wanted it for "individual" use, they pushed me to buy an Inspiron 6000.

The service was and still is, crummy. The wait times are sheer torture. The reps cannot speak English very well, and they refuse to answer the questions they are asked. I finally met an employee here in town that is a manager in this area. But even he could not get me to an English-speaking rep. He says I have to call them back to get another service call, then MAYBE something else could be done IF the service techs they sent out were unable to repair the problems. He is NOW telling me it's a possible VIRUS or keyboard problem. Whatever it is, I need the computer repaired.

I am at the point where I plan on packing up the Inspiron, sending it back, and HOPING that they will respond positively. I spent over $1600 on this computer and feel very cheated by this system and the poor service that Dell supplies. After numerous contacts with Dell, I WOULD NOT EVER BUY THING from them. It is totally AWFUL. My next purchase will be a Sony VAIO computer - with AMERICAN tech support based in Florida.

Replies
Advertisement
Dell Has NO Customer Service
By -

KALAMAZOO, MICHIGAN -- Dell sold me a defective computer with multiple problems. They keep claiming they will make it right, but then they somehow forget to. Summer 2005 - I called Dell technical support, the phone for which is very hard to find (it's not even listed on their website under “support”) about an issue on July 12th, 2005. First off, the automated system asked me a question that required a verbal “yes” or “no” response. I said “no” clearly. The phone system said again for me to say “yes” or “no.” The third time it asked, I yelled “no.” It said it couldn't hear me and that it would transfer me to a representative.

I was on hold for about 45 minutes. The whole time I was waiting on hold, a recording said “this is for Dimension desktop support only...” Sure enough, when a representative came on the line, he told me I would have to speak with laptop support and that he would transfer me. The next representative picked up within a minute or two. He asked me if my issue was a wireless card issue. I replied that the issue was a CD-ROM issue. So, again I was transferred. Again, the recording said I was holding for Dimension support only. I waited on hold for another period.

Then, finally, a representative said, “Thank for your calling Dell. This is **.” Then, he hung up or the line was disconnected at Dell's end. Next, I went onto Dell's chat function on their website to type to a support agent. However, it said I am not a home user and, therefore, cannot access chat. I most certainly am a home user! My complaint of this is documented with eTrack # **. Next, I called Dell again and provided my Express ID from the computer (so they know it is a laptop!). A representative came on and said that she would have to transfer me to Inspiron technical support.

As I'm on hold, again, I hear the message that I am holding for Dimension support only. Sure enough, when a representative came on, he told me he'd transfer me to the laptop department. What does it take to speak with an Inspiron laptop representative? Fall 2005 - I was receiving memory error messages constantly on my computer. I couldn't even use my scanner because of this issue. Dell sent me out new memory modules, but that didn't fix the problem. Finally, I mailed my computer to Dell and was without my computer for a while. They told me the motherboard was defective and that they would replace it. They did so and then sent it back to me.

Winter 2005/2006 - Ever since the new motherboard was put in, the power cord slips out very easily. Dell technical support mailed me out another motherboard to replace it yet again on 2-2-06. I told them to only mail it out if it was something I could replace myself and if instructions were included. Before trying to install the new motherboard, I tested it by plugging the power cord into it. It was a snug fit. So, I proceeded to take the screws out of the back of the computer so I could install the new motherboard. However, there is one screw that will not come out. Furthermore, there was a CD included with no instructions as to what I'm supposed to do with it.

No instructions were included with installing the motherboard even though Dell agreed to send them with the motherboard. I contacted **, Dell's Executive Services Technician. His rude response was, “I sadly must inform you that your case has been closed, I will not be working on your issue(s) at this time.” When I replied to just have him fax me the receipt for my computer, all he said was, “You will need to go through proper channels. Please call customer service.” I brought ** response to me to the attention of Dell executives.

Lynn Antipas Tyson, Dell's Vice President Investor Relations and Global Corporate Communications, responded to me saying, “Your inquiry was not handled correctly or respectfully [by **]. The customer care team will be contacting you today. Please let me know if things are not resolved to your satisfaction.” Soon after I received Lynn's response, I received a phone call from **, a Dell Executive Support representative. She said my only option is to mail the computer back.

I replied that I had already done that regarding a motherboard issue previously and that I felt Dell should send someone out so I wouldn't have to be without my computer yet again for the same issue. This problem is a result to something Dell did — Dell replaced the motherboard that had a memory problem with a motherboard that doesn't fit the power cord properly. Why should I have to mail it back when it's Dell's fault? **, still not taking responsibility for Dell's mistake with this motherboard problem, said the only thing that could be done is to have me mail the computer back for repair.

** had the audacity to suggest that I could upgrade my warranty so they could send someone out! I shouldn't have to pay more… I should be receiving a major discount! I told her I wanted to file a complaint then about this issue, but she refused to accept the complaint. Later in the day, ** called me again and agreed to just send me another unit. She said Dell will be sending me a refurbished unit (even though I paid for a new unit). She said my warranty called for a refurbished unit. Again, this is Dell's problem…not mine. So, it should not be a refurbished unit.

On 2-4-06, Dell told me via e-mail that they would e-mail me a copy of my sales receipt within two days as I had requested. It never arrived. On 2-3-06, **, an executive support representative, told me Dell would just send out another computer to do a system exchange. I e-mailed ** on 2-13-06 to get tracking information, but she never replied.On 2-7-06, ** sent me an e-mail to resolve the issue once and for all. She told me to call her. I called her NUMEROUS times a day for the next four days, but she never answered the phone. So, I e-mailed her on 2-13-06, but received no response.

On 2-15-06, ** agreed to send out a new computer instead of a refurbished one as ** had stated. ** told me they would send me a new computer with each component being the same or better than what was in my previous system. However, on my original computer, I paid extra for a faster hard drive (7200 rpm). The new computer arrived with a slower hard drive (5400 rpm).

On 2/21/06, ** e-mailed me saying: “Please do not refuse delivery. I am happy to talk to you about the order, but I have checked with my tech and he assured me that unless you are sitting at your computer with and stop watch, you will not see the difference. Again, I am happy to talk to you over the phone because I think you are going to be very happy with the computer we sent. If not, the process will start over with a new system order and I cannot promise the current upgrades that we sent in this system.”

This response is unacceptable. Dell did not hold up their end of the bargain and then threatened to take away a couple of the small upgrades they did on the new system. On 2-22-06, ** said they would have the correct hard drive sent out with overnight delivery on the 22nd or 23rd. This did not happen.

Replies
Should IT professionals blindly stick with Dell business laptops and service?
By -

I am a consultant in corporate IT. I prefer to use my own PC on the job, when possible, because I rely on a handful of unusual legacy applications in my work. In July 2011, when a new client indicated that they wanted deliverables in Word 2010 format, I ordered my first Windows7 PC, a "business-only" Latitude E6520 from Dell, with Dell Gold Support, to replace my aging but trusty D830. Because of my lengthy experience with Dell, and in particular with Gold Support, I decided to stick with that brand - even though Dell's model with the required features cost half again as much as similar models from some other makers.

I took care to specify to the salesperson at Dell Small Business that I required a 32-bit operating system because of the legacy applications I run. After a 6-week wait, Dell delivered the PC - unfortunately, with a 64-bit OS. This should have been a minor inconvenience, but Dell managed to turn it into a debacle. I asked Customer Service if they could simply ship me a replacement drive with the correct image - it's a simple matter to swap hard drives. I even offered to pay for the extra drive. No, this was against their policy; I was instructed to ship the PC back and wait another 6 weeks for a replacement - which was out of the question.

Despite escalating the issue to the manager of Customer Service, their best offer (after intense haggling!) was to send me some install disks for the 32-bit system (also against their policy) - and, no driver disk was available. Well, I'd installed dozens of pre-Windows7 OS's on Dells and was always able to download all the necessary drivers from their support site with no problem, so I decided to take them up on the offer.

I purchased a new hard drive identical to the one in the E6520, popped it in and started the setup. But, when I attempted to obtain drivers from the Dell Support site, the drivers it provided for the 32-bit version of my model and service tag were mostly incorrect. Some were for a 64-bit system, while others didn't match the existing hardware devices at all. I blundered through the driver installation as best I could, and then went to a commercial driver site and paid to get more satisfactory drivers. When I tried using the PC at work, a problem appeared that rendered it completely useless; Windows Explorer crashed every 2 minutes.

A Google search showed that this problem was widespread, but nobody had posted a remedy. Dell Gold Support knew nothing about it and could make no sense of the error message I was receiving. I called them repeatedly and spent hours running every possible diagnostic - without success. A high-level tech at Gold Support finally offered to do a fresh remote Windows7 installation, using my disks. The PC was otherwise useless, so I agreed and asked him to let me do the install under his supervision, and then to pull the drivers for me while I watched.

He guessed it would take 1/2 hour for the whole affair...but then he encountered the same driver problems that I had experienced. With his knowledge of the drivers used in similar models, he was eventually able to find serviceable drivers and complete the installation in about 3 hours. The following day I took my PC to the office and promptly discovered that the crashing Windows Explorer problem was STILL THERE.

While experimenting in the office, I discovered that Windows Explorer only crashed when the PC was connected to the Enterprise network. Otherwise, it was rock solid. I finally learned in a tech blog that Microsoft actually had posted a hot fix for this exact problem - **. It worked. Another problem solved.

Next issue: When typing, the insertion point jumped erratically every minute or two. I couldn't type a sentence without having to mouse the cursor back to the correct insertion point. I assumed that this was because I was inadvertently brushing the touch pad during typing. The PC had no touch pad control utility, and not really satisfactory. Utility to disable the touch pad could be found online, so I covered it with a piece of cardboard. This helped somewhat, but the cursor was still not completely stable. A search of the internet found numerous commiserating complaints, but no solutions.

I decided to call Gold Support yet again to see if they knew anything about the cursor issue. This time, the tech guy knew exactly what the problem was... Dell had omitted the touch pad management app and driver from their support site: Dell Touchpad Driver R315893. While we were talking, I searched the site for this driver, and still couldn't find it, so I got the tech support guy to email me a link to it. When I installed it, not only was the problem solved, but I now have the previously missing utility to configure or disable the touch pad.

One final issue - which paled in comparison to the above - was that the audio level on the E6530 was disappointingly subdued. I'm a former orchestral musician, so this really steamed me. My old D830 was great by comparison. Again, searching the Dell support groups showed that dissatisfaction with the E6530's audio was widespread, the IDT sound card's simple on/off toggle offered no solution, and Dell Gold Support claimed to know nothing about it.

Thank heavens, some charitable soul posted the solution; there is ANOTHER audio control simply entitled "Sound", inconspicuous and not mentioned in Dell's literature, that allows you to configure the playback properties of your speakers and headphones. The sound level is still rather weak, but at least I can hear it now. After the PC was finally serviceable - more than 2 months from the time I received it - a Dell Customer Service person started calling and emailing me to try to patch things up and close my service ticket. The lady who called me repeatedly was nice enough, but couldn't begin to understood the technical issues. Sad.

I have 4 questions which I believe are reasonable and salient: Why couldn't Dell have simply swapped the hard drive for me? They surely had one with the correct image on hand. It seems their "policy" was specifically to NOT provide urgently needed service. If I and the Gold Support tech had the same driver issues on two consecutive installs - more than 6 weeks apart - this was clearly a problem that other corporate Dell users were having. Why didn't Dell (or Dell Gold Support) escalate the problem when I first reported it, and correct their site? And why couldn't they provide a driver disk, like most other manufacturers?

BTW, the Customer Support lady who kept calling me after I was up and running adamantly denied that there was ever anything wrong with the driver site, right down to our last conversation, although I'd given her the Gold Support tech's name and location. If the crashing Windows Explorer problem is sufficiently widespread on Dell corporate model laptops to have required a Microsoft hotfix, why didn't Dell even know about it? Finally, what kind of manufacturer would deliver these high-end PCs configured so unsatisfactorily? What were they thinking?

At one point in my career, I oversaw tech support for a chain of PC stores, so I had the requisite technical background to eventually get this PC working. But what are Dell purchasers supposed to do who aren't technical - or can't afford to invest the countless hours I spent? In retrospect, my allegiance to Dell was ill-advised. When I purchase my next PC, I will base my choice on price, repair record and reported customer satisfaction, without regard to brand.

Replies
Dell - Worst Customer Service in my Life
By -

I'm at the end of my rope. Let me give you an excellent example of why so many end-users are fed-up with Dell:
2 years ago, March 21, 2009, I bought an XPS M1330 for my son's high school graduation. From the first, every time he opened the laptop, we would see odd marks on the screen. By May, it was clear that the marks were an imprint of the keyboard, and this had gotten so bad that it was hard for him to decipher what was on the screen. We had purchased a 2 year warranty, so called tech support, and a very nice young man came out and replaced the screen.

Within a few months, the same thing happened again, and this time the tech replaced the bezel and the screen. My son went off to college, and the next year when he came home for the summer, he showed me that the screen was badly marked again. Again, the tech came, replaced the bezel, screen, and I believe the hinge that time as well.

Finally, on 2/14 of this year, when I knew that the warranty was about to run out, I called my son and asked how the screen was. All marked-up again, he said. So I called tech support and told them it was clearly an unfixable problem and that we needed a replacement laptop, as this one would never work correctly.

After an hour-and-a-half on the phone with tech and customer support, all in India (and let me assure you, language was a problem, attitude was a problem, lack of knowledge was a bad, bad problem), I agreed to try to have it fixed once more, this time replacing screen, bezel, hinge and keyboard. I was told by at least 5 individuals, including the tech who did this last work, that even if the warranty ran out, as long as the ticket was open, Dell would fix the problem for free. So the tech went to my son's dorm and did the work. I called my son yesterday, and he mentioned that the screen was getting marked-up again, after only 6 weeks.

That day, March 29, 2011, I spent 3 hours on the phone, went to 12 different departments, spoke with 17 different customer “support” reps, was told again and again that though they “didn't replace this model” (I was given many different reasons for this, none of which made any sense. I'm sure Dell had already spent more on tech support with this issue than a replacement would have cost), since the ticket was still open, they would replace everything again. This, of course, was not an adequate response, as it had already been well proven that this would not fix the problem.

Today, I was the unlucky recipient of a call from **, a member of the Executive Customer Support Team, a unpleasant and arrogant man, who told me that, not only wouldn't they replace the computer, they wouldn't even repair it again since it was now 8 days out of warranty, despite the ticket still being open. Did the many Dell reps who'd told me an open ticket would assure the problem would be fixed, lie? **, not at all a sunny man, would have me believe so, and told me that the problems with the screen were nothing but normal wear-and-tear, not a design problem or anything that deserved Dell's attention.

By the way, I was told by 2 techs that this has been a common problem across the model. Obviously, this model should have been recalled, but I guess if Dell won't pay Americans (10 percent unemployment in the US, and they sent thousands of jobs overseas) to work for them, they'll be too cheap to properly support their products. He told me that Dell would do nothing to fix the problem. Nothing at all. My son now has an expensive laptop that will be good for nothing but a door stop within 6 months, and Dell has refused to support this product.

Replies
Advertisement
Dell horror story, yet another
By -

I purchased a Dell xpsm2010 for around $3,000 in June of 2007. The ship date was 6/2/2007. The service tag is 5k0zmc1. I cannot find the exact purchase price on the Dell site. This was supposed to be the top of the line Dell laptop. The computer is still under warranty with around 450 days left. Out of the box windows did not work. I had too reinstall. No problem. The computer has never worked correctly for more than a couple of months. I have had 16 and am now on my 17th repair of the computer from Dell. I have had too reinstall windows probable ten times. I have probably spent over 24 hours of my time on the phone with them.

I asked for refund or a replacement they just keep sending parts too try and fix it. I have a email from Dell with all the dates and parts replaced. If you would like a copy let me know. I will list at the bottom of this anyway. I really can't even use the computer, even if I do it doesn't last long til it breaks down. It is currently broken and starts up but once in windows cannot run anything without taking ten years. They keyboard doesn't charge as well unless you stick a pencil or something under it. I eventually gave up and bought a desktop. I now need a laptop again for work and was using this but it is broken again. I would like a refund. It is costing me money not being able to be mobile and work.

I would like a full refund of the purchase price.

Replies
Dell = Horrible Customer, Dissatisfaction and Frustration
By -

ROUND ROCK, TEXAS -- It all started when I purchased a Dell Inspiron 1525 in 2007 or so from Best Buy. Within months of purchase the hard drive died. It happened 2 more times after that only months apart as well. I took it to Best Buy to have it replaced since I was covered. Then shortly after that it started overheating and shutting off. By then the Best Buy warranty was expired but the Dell warranty was active. I went through Dell and they replaced the heat sink but then it happened again just a few months later. The 1525 I bought was defective and Dell refused to admit it. I contacted the BBB to try to have Dell replace the laptop and they put up a fight.

They were also very rude and the customer service transferred me from person to person. They tried to blame Best Buy for my problems as well. Finally I spoke to someone willing to replace it but they tried to tell me I had to get a refurbished laptop. I fought that only because with all the trouble I had, I felt it was fair to get a brand new one. Finally they agreed. I got that replacement laptop but found they sent me the wrong charger. The replacement laptop was a Studio 1555 that needed a 90-watt charger and they sent me a 60-watt. After my bad experience with Dell I chose to buy the charger on my own. Shortly after that the battery died.

I called Dell Inc. and all they did was transfer me for 2 hours from person to person. No one wanted to help at all. It's like they don't care about their customers at all. They were rude and I didn't appreciate as a customer to be treated that way. One person told me that I did not buy anything from Dell and therefore they can't help me. I BOUGHT the original laptop from Best Buy but it was their product. Dell refuses to stand behind their product and take responsibility. All they know how to do is rude and disrespect their customers. The man said that I didn't buy directly from Dell and all Dell has been doing is helping me. Well duh! It's THEIR product. They should help.

Out of all the laptops I could've bought, I chose Dell. Isn't that enough for them to want to satisfy the customer? It's disgraceful and unacceptable. Something needs to be done because I am not the only one who has suffered with bad customer service. Why should we as customers stay loyal to a company that obviously can care less if they have unsatisfied customers? Now I have to shell out a lot of money to replace a battery that's defective after only 6 months. It's not acceptable at all. Something has to be done to fix this because all I see are bad reviews of Dell with bad customer service. Shouldn't happy customers matter to a company? We deserve better.

Replies
Dell - after you buy - hope you don't have any problem....
By -

I have a Dell laptop, approximately 3 months old, hardly used it as I have an Dell (5 yrs old) ready to die - just bought the new one in case this goes at least I won't have to wait as I have my business websites I need to use all the time. Now I also decided to get a mini, so I could take it with me. The salesman gave me the idea of remote access. Here my story starts. When I got the computer, I called Dell to activate my remote access, they told me I would be better off with file sharing, so I did - 6 hours later, done. The next morning something wasn't working, 2 hours later, OK again.

The next day I decided to open Musicmatch, I just wanted to download a song. As it did not open and sent me a non-compatible message, I called Dell again. 2 or 3 hours later, after opening and closing many things on my computer, nothing but error messages came up so he told me I need a new computer. I have too many issues. He would call the hardware department and let them know and he disconnected me. I called back as I needed to know what is going on I can't use my computer and the next technician said he would help me fix it. After about an hour he asked me if I had XP I said "No I have windows 7".

He informed me that Musicmatch shouldn't even be on my computer and would download another one for me. After he thought he was done, it had no sound, after another hour or so he backed up my files so he could reinstall the operating system, now another couple of hours and nothing opened. He also told me to call in the morning and ask for a new computer.

In the morning I spent approximately 5 hours trying to get a new computer, the only thing I got finally was that they would send a new hard drive. I was not happy with that and I finally got someone in the Customer service department that said they could send a replacement but it is refurbished. I did not want refurbished as my computer was new and they ruined it. He told me that I would be better off with a hard drive and if it did not fix the problem then get the refurbished. Now I get the hard drive, the programs are on it. By the way I thought I was set. Well the files they saved no one knew where they could by found.

Again after another 5 hours, "Sorry about that" I'm told. Every time I want to do something I would have to call Dell. I wanted to open a youtube, the picture wouldn't come on, they fixed it. I wanted to open a file, couldn't, they had to download Adobe. I wanted to print, couldn't, they work - "They do must have changed the settings", they say. They have a Dell dock, which are icons on top - it wouldn't stay. Approximately 3 phone calls for that, finally someone tells me the spyware one of the technician put on my computer is incompatible with the Dell dock, so they took it off. Now my email doesn't save, that gets solved.

O.K. do you get the idea? By the way it is still not working properly. My salesmen must have emailed the someone, I got a call from the Tech Dept. saying they would look at the records and let me know what they would do for me. I felt maybe someone would see what I am going through, I now have spent 56 hours on the phone with Dell in a one-week period, lost 3 days work, my family is ready to disown me and throw the computers out, so let's see what happens.

This is what happens, the corporate office calls me, doesn't really want to hear anything because he has the records, but I tell my story. He actually says "I see you have had a couple of instances", he corrected that quick with "quite a few instances", "but I can't send you a new computer, is it alright if I call you in 3 or 4 days to see if your computer is working?" Well what do you think about that? Not even the corporate office in a company as large as Dell can or will do anything to make it better. Now mind you each and everyone, almost, there were a couple of exceptions were polite and wanted to be helpful.

Every time you call Dell it takes about 10 minutes to get someone. Their system is "Tag number please, name, what is your problem, I'll get you someone, now here we go again", same, maybe 3 times before you get to where you have to. Now a couple of hours, then some other department because they can't do it. Every time they put you on hold you get disconnected and have to start all over again, same questions, everyone sends you to their manager who can make a decision, who then sends you to their manager who can make a decision. Guess what? No one can make a decision.

Well, this is the end of my story. I think the final straw was when the corporate office tells me knowing that I still do not have a properly working computer that was so obviously ruined by Dell technicians and my records show how many calls and issues I have had, with stress and disconnects and all those hours on the phone and still does nothing, something is really wrong with this picture. Thanks for listening, that's more than Dell did.

Replies
If I Had Only Known Then......
By -

I recently purchased, on the phone, the pc/printer pair selected by Dell's sales rep, who was slick as glass. I was looking for a nonrecreationally oriented pc for the sole purpose of creating and maintaining my own website for the promotion and sales of my current book online. I used the function on their website entitled "Everything You Want and Nothing you Don't" which seemed to be ideal for my purposes.

Actually, I have had the two items since the beginning of June 2010, about six weeks ago, and I don't know how the PC will do, other than the fact that from the beginning, a disc placed in the CD/DVD burner, which, due to the design, stands upright, and the disc is therefore standing on the edge upright, rather than lying flat, tips back and forth scraping as it is performing the current action.

I have used the pc very little, as the download of Office Suite 2010 Pro Plus they promised me for accepting the 2007 version, for temporary usage, which is technically obsolete, and a nightmare to try to use, was provided to me with an invalid Product Key, which is what they call the ID code for licensing. When I tried to activate it, Microsoft shut down my computer entirely, basically accusing me of being a "pirate".

This action caused me to be totally out of communications for over a week, and would still be the case, had I not been able to access one Indian "tech" who finally stayed on the phone through numerous disconnects from more "senior" techs she thought would help me, and phone me back when she had one on the line. I had to try to reach Dell by phone, since I could not even access the desktop of my pc. The full India runaround prevailed for over a week -- almost full time -- in attempts to get my pc turned back on. Dell knew exactly how the shut down had been done, and turned it back on, so it was all too familiar with them to have happened the only time.

Incidentally, if they also pull this stunt on you, the way to turn it back on, is NOT to try to use your mouse to click something it won't reach, to stop a threatened reset to factory default, that will not be possible to undo; (which even has a countdown by seconds to paralyze the user) you must realize that MS -- dear old MS -- has utilized an old DOS program, which is something archaic enough that most current users would not be familiar with, which requires you to use the arrow key to stop it, as it will neither recognize, respond to a mouse click, or provide you with the opportunity to navigate to select the option to stop it. That will effectively regain you access to your desktop again. Don't mention it; it is my pleasure!

However, the 2010 Office download sits in my programs without my being able to activate it. My computer would again be shut down! If I hadn't reached the Indian representative who took my phone number, and also stayed on the line through several transfers leading to only a dial tone, and finally phoned me back, in horror of what her (new, would be my guess) employer was perpetrating upon its customers, I would still be in possession of a very dead piece of expensive decor, instead of a semi-functioning device, short of the software with which to bring about the promised performance from Dell.

With the faulty Office 2007 software, I have had what would amount to full days, if the hours were pieced together, with my ISP techs trying to get the Outlook app to stay functional. It still won't let me format my outgoing email, and the block junk mail senders doesn't work. I still have mountains of the same junk mail daily, which I have to move about three times just to double delete it on each day's arrivals. Dell, without consulting me, added a 3-yr. warranty which I never would have bought, and which I will never be able to activate, in all likelihood, as I am securely barred from reaching anyone in the US, let alone in a position of authority.

I have had to find (thank Heaven for small favors) Open Office by Oracle and Sun Microsystems (I think) which approximates the best of Word. I haven't tried the other equals, such as Power Point, and Excel. By the way, if they leave you cut off from the communications technology you've bought and paid for from them, Google a no charge email program which has been around for years. I won't list the name here, but just search for a classic email program, which can be downloaded from the web for no cost. You'll get several mentions in the top half of the first page, with links to the website. It's very much like Outlook at its best version.

It's taken me many hours with my ISP special tier tech to try to get it to work with its servers, though, with another 2-3 hour session (I fear) scheduled 3 hours from now, to hopefully connect with their servers, as each ISP, I assume from this experience, partners with only one (major) software co. We all know who I'm referring to, I imagine. I had a very sleepless night stressing as to whether or not I will ever receive the services and equipment I paid out almost $1300 to Dell for. Oh yes, the printer, you ask? Well, it wasn't hooked up for the first three weeks, as with no promised software, there was nothing to print or scan.

About the time I began to acquire the substitute software from the web, I tried to install it. It turned out that it was shipped partially disassembled, with no instructions for the installation of what turned out to be the printhead. Who knew? Well, finally, I got it displaying some signs of life, but on a test run, the grinding sounds and shaking as if it would self destruct, were topped off by its failing to release the sheets, and holding them mangled in its clutches. I turned it off, worked the pages gently free as it maintained its death grip on them, to find that the ink was smeared on them. When I tried a second time, it would not turn on -- even the power switch.

Now, after having been ripped off by another electronics Company, Apex, over the Christmas Holidays, in connection with two dTV converter boxes for my TV sets, which had a button on the remote, which was located closely adjoining the number buttons, and assured to be accidentally touched, likely, sooner than later, which turned on closed circuit captioning which had no method of turning off, but remained forever covering the screen with moving text of the full dialogue, not just abbreviated subtitles as with a foreign movie, I have become assured of the futility of addressing the State Attorney General's Consumer Protection Department.

I received a letter from them a few weeks ago -- six months after the fact that they don't do anything to assist the consumer. Same deal with the Federal Trade Commission, and this time, after being run through the wringer, as all of you contributors, only will fully understand, the local ADA from the DA's Office Consumer and Environmental Protection Unit, after three weeks of telling me that I am placing him in overkill with the details of my saga with Dell and their rotating three Indian call center "techs" and the best he can do for me is to try to access some local technician on the warranty section of my sales paperwork to come out and fix the problems, minus, of course, the hundreds of $$$ for the promised 2010 Office Suite Pro Plus.

We all know how terrified that phone call is going to make Dell, don't we, kiddies? It is my very sad conviction that the country has become such an oligarchy that the mega corps will become even more brazen in their exploitation of the American consumer as time passes. After all, even on the small claims court level, have you ever sat and watched to see who loses and pays up? The consumer whose teeth have been ruined by the malpractice of the dentist the judge plays golf with twice a week? Not very likely, Quien Sabe!

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Experience
By -

I bought a Dell Inspiron 1470 from Best Buy sometime in Dec. Soon after, one of the keys popped up and was replaced by Dell through the mail where I had to remove the old keyboard and replace it myself. Keep in mind that I had no idea what I was doing and didn't have any instructions on how to do it. At the end of March while I was doing homework, the laptop crashed. I contacted Dell who sent me out a box (label provided) to return the laptop to be repaired.

I immediately took the computer and the box to a drop-off location (what they suggested). About a week later (first week of April), I called Dell to check the status and they said that the computer was still being worked on. I called about two weeks later and this time they said that they haven't received it yet. I called several times after that, and each time I called I had to tell the story from the beginning. I asked them how come they don't keep notations in my record so I won't have to go through this every time I call and they all claimed that they do.

After attempting to track the package by myself and Dell, it was discovered that the tracking number that was sent with the box was from Dell to another customer in another city in 2009. They then told me to call FedEx to help track it and they had the same info from 2009. FedEx did not take fault for this and I refused to. After calling several more times, explaining myself all over AGAIN, being left on hold for hours, waiting 5-6 business days for someone to call me back, Dell FINALLY sent me out a REFURBISHED replacement in early May because I had just past the 90-day mark to receive a NEW replacement.

I called Dell to let them know that the specs were not the same, but I could not be helped because the replacement's service tag # was not attached to my account (this was after she asked me if I had sent the original back and telling the whole story again). When the service representative tried to attach the service tag #, she said that I had to call back because she couldn't do it at that time. I have yet to call back because of the hassle.

Two weeks with the refurbished laptop, I have received letters, emails and phone calls to return the original because they have not received it yet. Are you kidding me?! It is now June and the last message I received was a threatening message that I will no longer be able to receive help until I return it. First of all, Dell HAS NOT helped me, has NEVER helped me, and this whole laptop situation was a horrible experience and very time consuming and I will NEVER buy another Dell or refer them to a friend!

Replies
Lack of knowledgeable customer service
By -

ROUND ROCK, TEXAS -- I am writing this letter about Dell due to my grave dissatisfaction with the support I have tried to receive after purchasing an Inspiron 1521 notebook in October of 2007. The notebook I purchased has not worked properly since the 5th day I received it. The computer will continuously shut itself off on a daily basis, sometimes only minutes after being turned on. I called the support desk immediately after encountering the problem and have spent countless hours on the phone with Dell Support trying to get this remedied.

On six separate occasions the support team had remotely logged into my computer, recognized there was a problem, restored my computer back to its original state and still the computer does not work properly. The support team even had me uninstall and reinstall the operating system twice. I am by no means computer illiterate, but I feel that I should not have to do this to a computer I paid over $1200 for. They also sent me a new hard drive to install, and again, as a consumer, I feel this was not a part of what I paid for.

As for actually getting through to Dell Support which took, on average, 17 minutes each time to get a live person, I would continuously get hung up on. I can't begin to count the amount of times I was hung up on. To give an example, on December 4th, I was hung up on 4 times. To me, this is just poor business practice. I asked to speak with a supervisor or manager and was told no one was there; again poor business practice.

My frustration level has been escalated each time because each time I was given a different response and clearly they recognized there was a problem with the computer. They even told me that the problem was with the operating system, but there was nothing they could do for me because they only warranty hardware. Again, I purchased the operating system with the computer because I had to, therefore I would have assumed there would not have been a problem with it.

At this point, I am going on over a year that the computer has not worked properly and it has been the same problem since I first got the computer. I was then told that I can no longer get service from Dell because my warranty expired and I would have to pay an additional $49 for them to talk to me. It is the same problem that was never fixed and yet Dell wants me to pay more money for an extended warranty. I can't go into detail every call I made with Dell Support or every service tag I had with them because that was all saved on my computer and I no longer have a working computer.

I have to believe there are ways for someone to research these calls to understand my frustration level. I purchased a Dell because of their reputation and I am beyond disappointed. I feel that as a consumer, if I purchase something that does not work, the company would or should stand behind their product. This has not been the case with Dell and I just feel that I should not still be dealing with an original problem on my computer that was there from day 5.

I have sent a letter to Corporate because I was not getting anywhere with Dell Support and I was hoping someone could look into the problem and actually give me a solution. I am just a consumer who purchased a computer that assumed would work. Dell never got back to me. It is 2 1/2 years later and I had to purchase a new computer. Rest assured it was not a Dell.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Dell Computer Corporation Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.1 out of 5, based on 23 ratings and
689 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Dell Computer Corporation
1 Dell Way
Round Rock, TX 78682-0001
800-289-3355 (ph)
512-728-4238 (fax)
www.dell.com
Product/Services
Compare Computer Companies