Preview Review

Next Review

DHL Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Terrible Service/All Management in Complaint Should Be Fired!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ONTARIO, CALIFORNIA -- On 3/11/16 DHL made a delivery attempt at 12:15 P.M. The carrier left a yellow contract for me to sign if I wanted my package left unattended the next delivery attempt on 3/14/16. The contract leaves DHL not liable for stolen/lost merchandise. On 3/14/16 a FINAL delivery attempt was made at 1:22 P.M. I sent an email to DHL regarding the delivery attempts and the lack of any way to request a pick up from the website which the yellow contracts specifically state can be requested this way.

They could not without an account number. I stated this fact and attached a print screen to show this is not possible on the website. The email contact is listed below. Julianna, Certified International Specialist, Customer Care DHL Express 1-800-225-5345 CustomerService@dhl.com www.DHL-USA.com. I contacted Lotus at the above DHL Express phone number and she put a "request pick up" in for me at about 10:10 A.M. on 3/15/16 and called the Ontario, CA station to verify that my package was with the carrier and would be redelivered today 3/15/16 because it was already with the carrier.

Lotus stated that the driver would be in my zip code at between 12-3 P.M. and that the request would not take effect until 24-48 hours later. I decided to come home and wait for the rescheduled delivery even though yesterday, 3/14/16 the contract stated it was a final delivery. Lotus also stated that a request could not be done online for the receivers, but only the shippers. This point was not mentioned in the email w/ Julianna listed above. I also sent an email on 3/14/16 after the missed delivery requesting the Ontario, CA management contact me. They refused.

On 3/15/16 at about 1:07 P.M. I called the 800 number once again to verify redelivery today on 3/15/16. I spoke w/ Walter who stated my package was redirected back to the station and would be available for pick up after 7 P.M. The office closes at 6:00 P.M. I asked Walter to call the Ontario station along w/ his manager Corey. Both Walter and Corey refused to call the Ontario station. Corey refused to put his manager Frankie **. They stated my package was redirected back to the Ontario station for pick up. I received an email from Julianna on 3/15/16 about 11:00 A.M. stating my package was with the driver for redelivery.

At this point, I really could care less if the package gets shipped back to Turkey. I do intend to continue my complaints about the terrible service, customer service, and DHL corporation standards/protocols. The phone number listed for the Ontario station is unlisted for customers. NO CUSTOMER is required to sign any contract w/ DHL for delivery. No customer. DHL is holding my package hostage. There also seems to be a lack of communication w/in the organization among their staff. My complaints will continue...

Replies
Advertisement
Slower Than Molasses Going Uphill
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Yes indeed, they are awful. Took over 3 weeks for a package to get from New Jersey to MA. The tracking numbers don't usually work either. I refuse from now on to order from any company if they use DHL. How about another package which sat in a DHL depot 61 miles from our town for 2 weeks, I could have driven there and gotten it. I emailed them to send it to Singapore then I would hire a drone to bring it here, guess they got the humor, and I got the package shortly after that, and then 2 weeks later, I got a duplicate package? DHL is the epitome of ineptitude.

Replies
Awesome
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

FLORIDA -- After dealing with my local post office on a daily basis and then experiencing DHL, I just had to write a review somewhere. After googling, this site came up. I ordered items from China on a Friday. It was about a 20 lb box. I just now received the package on the very next Tuesday. I have no account with DHL yet I received a text when shipped and when delivery was about to take place. Telling me that a signature was needed giving me time to get home to receive package.

Tracking online was superb. Every step of the way was accurate and quick. No I do not work for DHL nor do I have any ties. I have only written a few reviews in my life, but this was worthy of my time. If you are ordering internationally and have a choice, choose DHL!

Replies
Big Time Cheats and Crooks!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We used DHL for shipment from China to USA twice and both times, DHL charged $1000+ more than the all inclusive quote given. On inquiring, they keep sending you from one person to another to make sure you give up. Theirs sales, billing and customer care departments are completely disconnected.

On complaining, the customer care opened the case but their billing department kept threatening for payment of illogical amount for court action. The sales people who work with you will never contact you to resolve. It is such a mental torture. Can't believe US government has such companies allowed, they should be shut! Never use DHL. There are better services out there.

Replies
Advertisement
Tracking Information Inaccurate!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- I checked my tracking information for a package that I was expecting, the date to be delivered was 3/21 before the end of the day. I called DHL and was assured that my package would be delivered before the end of the day. The end of the day arrived and no package!!! Again, I called DHL and a representative informed me that it was in the computer at 12 0'clock noon that the package wouldn't be delivered until the following day! GET IT TOGETHER DHL!!! I spent an entire day waiting for delivery that they knew wouldn't be delivered!!! I will NEVER deal with DHL again!!!

Replies
Worst Company Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WASHINGTON -- They're simply a joke of a company. I had a parcel sent to me from my country (as a temporary shipment) and they cleared the item duty as a permanent import without even consult with me. First time I heard from them was by a message telling me that I should pay 250 dollars before to get my parcel.

When I did contact them telling that they shouldn't have cleared it as a permanent import their answer was that anyway they don't do any temporary import, so it will be my interest to contact and pay a custom broker whom would have to take care about - they get refund the import duty then do again for me the custom clearance and then get in contact with them and only at that point I will finally get sent what is mine... I WISH TO THEM BECAUSE OF THIS KIND OF BEHAVIOR TO LOSE ANY DAY MORE CUSTOMERS!!!

Replies
Absolutely Awful!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRESNO, CALIFORNIA -- I ordered several items to come from China, they use DHL express service and my first shipment I sent to a friend & arrived FAST, early actually & no problems! Then, my 2nd package I sent to my new apartment, it had already been delayed from China so I was eager for it to arrive. I was trying to track it pretty regularly and finally it arrived in California and was sent with the courier service from Stockton to my town which is VERY CLOSE.

That night, wondering what happen I got an email saying it was delivered and I requested a copy of the signature confirmation. They emailed it to me but it was blank! No signature! The next day I filed a complaint and requested another copy signature & it had one! So since I was expecting 3 more packages to arrive, I was determined to know there was no way to miss them. I invited several friends over to have an outdoor brunch and get together while I waited for the next package. Wouldn't you guess that evening almost 8pm I tracked it & it said delivered once again! & trust me from 11:30am until close to 8pm there was no absence of any 2 people outside at any given time!

I requested yet another signature and guess what it has the same signature as the other one that showed up a day after it lies saying it was delivered! I sent copies to DHL, I have spoke to customer service, emailed them, filed their lost package claims and all they say is someone will contact me! Yet all I get is an automated response through email saying someone will contact me! What is their problem? My address is verified and UPS dropped off 6 packages in 5 days without an issue! And the worst part is I have 2 more packages still to be delivered! UGHHHH!!!

I have never had more disgust and feelings of rage over something as much as I do for DHL! I will never, ever deliberately use DHL again!

Replies
Slowest Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Order was sent from New Jersey to Phoenix. Was received in Phoenix on 9.22.16 and is still sitting in their distribution center for who knows what reason.

Replies
Advertisement
Slow as Turtle
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Shipped from New York 20 Sep, expected to arrive 4 Oct, 2 whole weeks! The slowest among any courier service including the cheapest USPS. Tracking number is useless as it does not work. Probably they transport by foot! Suggest you tell your shippers to avoid DHL.

Replies
Never Use DHL!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DHL makes the process of receiving your package a confusing, time wasting exercise; their representatives really do not know what they are doing and have no respect for clients' time. I will never again use their service and will never recommend them to anyone. The level of incompetence of the DHL Brampton (Canada) office in particular and the service in Canada is unparalleled for being abysmally bad.

DHL advised me on their website via tracking that the package which I ordered from the USA was to arrive on a certain date. I stayed at home and waited all that day. The package never arrived. I called Customer Service and was attended to by a woman with a very contemptuous tone, who told me that the package was with Canada Customs and that I would have to provide them with a Power of Attorney if I wanted them to clear the package for me.

Of course I wanted the package cleared through customs – how else was it going to get to me? Did they think that I paid for it to remain there and not come to my house? If I had not called DHL, what would have happened to my package – more delays? Later in the evening of that same day, I received an e-mail from another female representative from DHL indicating that I needed to give them a Power of Attorney for them to clear the package through customs for me. I completed the PoA form and sent it back to the e-mail address to which I was directed.

At the close of business on the next day, there was still no update on the tracking information – which still stated that, at the end of that day, DHL “needed information” from me and that someone would call me. No one called. No package arrived. I called DHL again. The representative told me that this was an issue for the “Brokerage” department and that she would transfer me to them. Bear in mind that this is the same person to whom I sent to PoA.

The person from brokerage told me that the first representative never received the PoA despite the fact that I had confirmation e-mail from them stating that they had received my e-mail. They then tried to excuse their incompetence by drawing an artificial distinction between the person who sent the e-mail and the intended recipient when in fact the same person had the brokerage e-mail address in their e-mail signature. I still have not received the package and no updates were placed in tracking two days later. Ended up having to call the company which shipped the package in the USA to explain that I did not receive package.

In the future, use a carrier pigeon. Walk over. Take a cab. Deliver the package yourself but NEVER USE DHL - the higher fees charged by another courier service will save you the time and money which you would otherwise have wasted in using DHL.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

DHL Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 44 ratings and
218 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
DHL
333 Twin Dolphin Drive
Redwood City, CA 94065
650-593-7474 (ph)
800-216-5429 (fax)
www.dhl-usa.com
Product/Services
Compare Delivery Services