Preview Review

Next Review

DHL Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
First and Last Time to Use DHL
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I ordered stuff from Shein, I paid for 3-5 day delivery once it was processed. As of tomorrow (August 29) it will have been 14 days. I received a text that it would be delivered on August 24. I sent a reply that I was out of town so I wouldn't be there to sign for it. I rescheduled it to be delivered on August 27.

On Wednesday the 26th I got a call that they needed the gate code so they could drop it off. I gave them the gate code and was told to leave a note on my door with the tracking number and my signature and they would leave the package. I did just what I was told but when I came home yesterday, there wasn't a package.

I called today, August 28 and was told they never tried to deliver because they "didn't have my address". I called to make a complaint and was told that it wouldn't be delivered until Monday. I told the lady I spoke to that it was unacceptable because there were dresses in there for a wedding this weekend. She said she would see what she could do and call me back. I never heard back from her.

I then called the same number from Wednesday that I gave the gate code to and was told that the drivers didn't even take the package with them and that if I needed it, I could drive to DFW airport and pick it up. At this point it was around 1:30 in the afternoon and I was at work and unable to drive 40 minutes to pick up a package that I PAID to be delivered to me. I will Never again use your services and plan to repost this as a negative review on your company.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Service/All Management in Complaint Should Be Fired!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ONTARIO, CALIFORNIA -- On 3/11/16 DHL made a delivery attempt at 12:15 P.M. The carrier left a yellow contract for me to sign if I wanted my package left unattended the next delivery attempt on 3/14/16. The contract leaves DHL not liable for stolen/lost merchandise. On 3/14/16 a FINAL delivery attempt was made at 1:22 P.M. I sent an email to DHL regarding the delivery attempts and the lack of any way to request a pick up from the website which the yellow contracts specifically state can be requested this way.

They could not without an account number. I stated this fact and attached a print screen to show this is not possible on the website. The email contact is listed below. Julianna, Certified International Specialist, Customer Care DHL Express 1-800-225-5345 CustomerService@dhl.com www.DHL-USA.com. I contacted Lotus at the above DHL Express phone number and she put a "request pick up" in for me at about 10:10 A.M. on 3/15/16 and called the Ontario, CA station to verify that my package was with the carrier and would be redelivered today 3/15/16 because it was already with the carrier.

Lotus stated that the driver would be in my zip code at between 12-3 P.M. and that the request would not take effect until 24-48 hours later. I decided to come home and wait for the rescheduled delivery even though yesterday, 3/14/16 the contract stated it was a final delivery. Lotus also stated that a request could not be done online for the receivers, but only the shippers. This point was not mentioned in the email w/ Julianna listed above. I also sent an email on 3/14/16 after the missed delivery requesting the Ontario, CA management contact me. They refused.

On 3/15/16 at about 1:07 P.M. I called the 800 number once again to verify redelivery today on 3/15/16. I spoke w/ Walter who stated my package was redirected back to the station and would be available for pick up after 7 P.M. The office closes at 6:00 P.M. I asked Walter to call the Ontario station along w/ his manager Corey. Both Walter and Corey refused to call the Ontario station. Corey refused to put his manager Frankie **. They stated my package was redirected back to the Ontario station for pick up. I received an email from Julianna on 3/15/16 about 11:00 A.M. stating my package was with the driver for redelivery.

At this point, I really could care less if the package gets shipped back to Turkey. I do intend to continue my complaints about the terrible service, customer service, and DHL corporation standards/protocols. The phone number listed for the Ontario station is unlisted for customers. NO CUSTOMER is required to sign any contract w/ DHL for delivery. No customer. DHL is holding my package hostage. There also seems to be a lack of communication w/in the organization among their staff. My complaints will continue...

Replies
Big Time Cheats and Crooks!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We used DHL for shipment from China to USA twice and both times, DHL charged $1000+ more than the all inclusive quote given. On inquiring, they keep sending you from one person to another to make sure you give up. Theirs sales, billing and customer care departments are completely disconnected.

On complaining, the customer care opened the case but their billing department kept threatening for payment of illogical amount for court action. The sales people who work with you will never contact you to resolve. It is such a mental torture. Can't believe US government has such companies allowed, they should be shut! Never use DHL. There are better services out there.

Replies
Slower Than Molasses Going Uphill
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Yes indeed, they are awful. Took over 3 weeks for a package to get from New Jersey to MA. The tracking numbers don't usually work either. I refuse from now on to order from any company if they use DHL. How about another package which sat in a DHL depot 61 miles from our town for 2 weeks, I could have driven there and gotten it. I emailed them to send it to Singapore then I would hire a drone to bring it here, guess they got the humor, and I got the package shortly after that, and then 2 weeks later, I got a duplicate package? DHL is the epitome of ineptitude.

Replies
Advertisement
Tracking Information Inaccurate!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- I checked my tracking information for a package that I was expecting, the date to be delivered was 3/21 before the end of the day. I called DHL and was assured that my package would be delivered before the end of the day. The end of the day arrived and no package!!! Again, I called DHL and a representative informed me that it was in the computer at 12 0'clock noon that the package wouldn't be delivered until the following day! GET IT TOGETHER DHL!!! I spent an entire day waiting for delivery that they knew wouldn't be delivered!!! I will NEVER deal with DHL again!!!

Replies
Worst Company Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WASHINGTON -- They're simply a joke of a company. I had a parcel sent to me from my country (as a temporary shipment) and they cleared the item duty as a permanent import without even consult with me. First time I heard from them was by a message telling me that I should pay 250 dollars before to get my parcel.

When I did contact them telling that they shouldn't have cleared it as a permanent import their answer was that anyway they don't do any temporary import, so it will be my interest to contact and pay a custom broker whom would have to take care about - they get refund the import duty then do again for me the custom clearance and then get in contact with them and only at that point I will finally get sent what is mine... I WISH TO THEM BECAUSE OF THIS KIND OF BEHAVIOR TO LOSE ANY DAY MORE CUSTOMERS!!!

Replies
DHL the Worse Shipping Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I ordered stuff from UK on 26 Aug. 2015 and was provided the tracking number. After five day I checked online and saw that my packing arrived in Calgary, Canada. It was pretty quick. They requested to pay the shipping fee and I did as soon as I could so that the delivery would be in my place. The morning after I checked the tracking number again and found that my packing re-route to Beijing, China!!!

I called DHL to report (unfortunately it took me almost 2 hours to talk to the agent). They just said sorry for the mistake and would call me back when they updated the status - which they never called (I wondered if I did not call them what was going on with my package...). After 8 days my package returned to Canada on 08 Sep. 2015, DHL called me that my package arrived in Canada and would delivery same day. When the driver delivered the box I looked at the package, I could not believe that the box was shattered on the corners (stuff in side fell apart).

It's been over a month. Today I received the invoice from DHL for the shipping fee. I called DHL to tell them about the fee which I paid before the package arrive in Canada, the lady said she did not see any payment (online) in the system! Then she provided me the email to contact... which I did and I sent the copy of payment receipt. DHL sucks!! This company is worse and lack of communication, useless, and incompetence. Avoid this company at all cost!!

Replies
Absolutely Awful!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRESNO, CALIFORNIA -- I ordered several items to come from China, they use DHL express service and my first shipment I sent to a friend & arrived FAST, early actually & no problems! Then, my 2nd package I sent to my new apartment, it had already been delayed from China so I was eager for it to arrive. I was trying to track it pretty regularly and finally it arrived in California and was sent with the courier service from Stockton to my town which is VERY CLOSE.

That night, wondering what happen I got an email saying it was delivered and I requested a copy of the signature confirmation. They emailed it to me but it was blank! No signature! The next day I filed a complaint and requested another copy signature & it had one! So since I was expecting 3 more packages to arrive, I was determined to know there was no way to miss them. I invited several friends over to have an outdoor brunch and get together while I waited for the next package. Wouldn't you guess that evening almost 8pm I tracked it & it said delivered once again! & trust me from 11:30am until close to 8pm there was no absence of any 2 people outside at any given time!

I requested yet another signature and guess what it has the same signature as the other one that showed up a day after it lies saying it was delivered! I sent copies to DHL, I have spoke to customer service, emailed them, filed their lost package claims and all they say is someone will contact me! Yet all I get is an automated response through email saying someone will contact me! What is their problem? My address is verified and UPS dropped off 6 packages in 5 days without an issue! And the worst part is I have 2 more packages still to be delivered! UGHHHH!!!

I have never had more disgust and feelings of rage over something as much as I do for DHL! I will never, ever deliberately use DHL again!

Replies
Advertisement
Never Use DHL!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DHL makes the process of receiving your package a confusing, time wasting exercise; their representatives really do not know what they are doing and have no respect for clients' time. I will never again use their service and will never recommend them to anyone. The level of incompetence of the DHL Brampton (Canada) office in particular and the service in Canada is unparalleled for being abysmally bad.

DHL advised me on their website via tracking that the package which I ordered from the USA was to arrive on a certain date. I stayed at home and waited all that day. The package never arrived. I called Customer Service and was attended to by a woman with a very contemptuous tone, who told me that the package was with Canada Customs and that I would have to provide them with a Power of Attorney if I wanted them to clear the package for me.

Of course I wanted the package cleared through customs – how else was it going to get to me? Did they think that I paid for it to remain there and not come to my house? If I had not called DHL, what would have happened to my package – more delays? Later in the evening of that same day, I received an e-mail from another female representative from DHL indicating that I needed to give them a Power of Attorney for them to clear the package through customs for me. I completed the PoA form and sent it back to the e-mail address to which I was directed.

At the close of business on the next day, there was still no update on the tracking information – which still stated that, at the end of that day, DHL “needed information” from me and that someone would call me. No one called. No package arrived. I called DHL again. The representative told me that this was an issue for the “Brokerage” department and that she would transfer me to them. Bear in mind that this is the same person to whom I sent to PoA.

The person from brokerage told me that the first representative never received the PoA despite the fact that I had confirmation e-mail from them stating that they had received my e-mail. They then tried to excuse their incompetence by drawing an artificial distinction between the person who sent the e-mail and the intended recipient when in fact the same person had the brokerage e-mail address in their e-mail signature. I still have not received the package and no updates were placed in tracking two days later. Ended up having to call the company which shipped the package in the USA to explain that I did not receive package.

In the future, use a carrier pigeon. Walk over. Take a cab. Deliver the package yourself but NEVER USE DHL - the higher fees charged by another courier service will save you the time and money which you would otherwise have wasted in using DHL.

Replies
DHL - Dishonest Shipping Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CANADA -- On a recent trip to India, we purchased 3 carpets which we arranged, through the shop, to be shipped home. After we returned home, we were notified that the shipment arrived in the country and required customs clearance. We provided credit card information to a DHL representative to clear the carpets on our behalf. A few days later we checked the website to determine the status of our shipment and were surprised to see that DHL was indicating that they had been delivered and that no signature was required; BUT, we received nothing!

We DHL over the course of 2 weeks and when we were able to connect with someone we were told that they were investigating and needed to talk with their driver. After a week and a half of chasing DHL, they told us they checked with their driver who claimed that he did make the delivery. We asked for some evidence that this was the case - a paper or electronic trail of the driver's routing that day, anything. To which we received an e-mail restating that they had indeed delivered the package and that they were now leaving it up to the shippers in India to resolve the situation i.e. they absolved themselves of any responsibility without providing some level of satisfaction that they had indeed actually made the delivery.

I cannot believe a company in North America can behave the way that they have and still stay in business. The lack of any evidence and the way they brushed us off leads us to suspect that we are dealing with some sort of cover up and dishonest people working there from top to bottom. We sent e-mails to everyone in the chain of command including the Canadian president **. ** did not reply even though the DHL web site says "GO STRAIGHT TO THE TOP". What nerve - if you don't mean it then don't say it.

Someone by the name of ** followed up and we were led to believe that this was a result of our e-mails to ** and his office. But, she was virtually impossible to contact and when she did make contact she merely told us that the driver said the package was delivered. No response was forthcoming from ** when we asked for some sort of proof that this really did happen. Before ** came on the scene we were told our case was being handled by ** in customer service. She too was impossible to reach and when contact was made she was rude and uncooperative and for a week or more told us that she left a message with the driver who hadn't call back.

After lodging a complaint the case was taken away from ** and transferred to her team lead ** who, even though he made commitments to keep us informed daily, never did. In fact he just disappeared from the scene and took the day off. The entire ordeal has left a bad taste in our mouths and leaves us strongly suspecting someone at DHL as having stolen our goods and the rest of the organization covering up. I cannot believe that a Canadian company can operate in such a manner.

If anyone out there knows of any other option that we might pursue, we would like to hear from you. We are amazed that as consumers we have no protection from an unscrupulous company like DHL. This company's real business is dealing in fraud. If this is not the case then why were they so difficult to deal with? Why were they so unresponsive? Why were they so reluctant to satisfy us by providing some level of evidence to back up the claim that the package was delivered? DHL - Fraud and scam company run by dishonest people from top to bottom. Get the word out that there should be NO BUSINESS FOR A COMPANY THAT OPERATES LIKE DHL.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

DHL Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 41 ratings and
215 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
DHL
333 Twin Dolphin Drive
Redwood City, CA 94065
650-593-7474 (ph)
800-216-5429 (fax)
www.dhl-usa.com
Product/Services
Compare Delivery Services