Preview Review

Next Review

DHL Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Missing Mail From Germany
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- I'm waiting since 23.Nov.2017 for a letter "Registered Mail" from DHL Germany where my brother send me. Here is what the description says: "Status Thu, 23.11.17 17:45 a.m./p.m. The shipment has arrived in the destination country". I be told "USPS International Inquiries, it is still at the Customs New York." This letter is very important to me. I would appreciate if I get it soon. ** DHL. Thank you.

Update 03/27/2018:

The worst Mail delivery it is the 2nd letter who get lost in ISC New York,NY what kind of poeple working there? The Customer pay a lot of money for shipping and it did not even arrive on the destination.
It is not a pleasure t mail stuff with USPS.!!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Very Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EUGENE, OREGON -- As a shipper of live plants across international borders, I have few choices for carriers. But, I will not be using DHL again. I paid for "value protection", and for insurance, and for DHL to do the paperwork to get the plants through the border. They had all required documentation, including a phytosanitary certificate and commercial invoice accompanying the shipment. The plants were delayed for 14 days at the border, with no explanation. The customer called every day and was told nothing.

Finally, after receiving the half dead plants, he called to put in a claim and was told that only I, as the shipper could do that, but I was out of the country. When I got back I put in the claim, but it was four days after their 30-day deadline, so they denied the claim and would not offer me any explanation why there was a delay. I appealed. Still denied by the supervisor. I wish I could give them 0 stars! All I can do is warn others and NEVER use them again!

Replies
Lies Lies Lies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FARMINGTON, MINNESOTA -- I was told that I could ship prescription medication for my daughter in Sweden. I had called twice, asked again in person, as I was not entirely convinced this was true as the USPS said it was not possible. The person said that DHL and FedEx both had "special licenses to ship prescription medicine." The person, from Farmington, MN assured me he could do this.

After spending $75.00 to ship them to Sweden, they were "confiscated" by Swedish customs. I tried to contact DHL in many different ways and in different forms. Fax, Emails, and phone calls. Each phone call resulted in a different answer. One person said I should not have to pay import charges as it was a return and not an import.

I then got a text stating I had to pay an import charge of $21.00. This again, was followed up with several calls, faxes and emails. One month later, I got a friendly voice that said she would do a "thorough investigation" and that I should not have to pay an import charge. Over a month later, I received an email stating that because it was pharmaceuticals, they had to charge me. I did get the medications back, but not per the instructions I had requested. They had put them in the spot I asked for, but did not contact me when I requested that to be done.

I am very disappointed and extremely frustrated by this experience. After seeing all the complaints waged by both customers and employees against this company, I am amazed they are still in business. I for one will NEVER use this company again.

Replies
They Screw Up but Won't Fix
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

I ordered something online, for some reason I have to sign for it even though I didn't ask to. So in a confirmation text I received it told me I had to sign for it all of a sudden. So since I probably wasn't going to be home when they deliver it they gave me the option to have it delivered somewhere else. I changed it to my office. Behold I get a text saying they attempted to deliver it... they tried to deliver it to my house even though I had the address switched.

Since it was Friday the next day they will try to deliver it is Monday, but that is a problem because I need it on Sunday. I tried calling them but they couldn't get a hold of the driver right away and then when they did get a hold of him he was "too far away" to fix their stupid mistake. I had the option to drive over an hour away to pick it up at their shipping center. UNBELIEVABLE... I paid $20 for shipping just so I could get it in time but then they screw up and won't fix it. Now I'm out $60.

Replies
Advertisement
Terrible Service/All Management in Complaint Should Be Fired!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ONTARIO, CALIFORNIA -- On 3/11/16 DHL made a delivery attempt at 12:15 P.M. The carrier left a yellow contract for me to sign if I wanted my package left unattended the next delivery attempt on 3/14/16. The contract leaves DHL not liable for stolen/lost merchandise. On 3/14/16 a FINAL delivery attempt was made at 1:22 P.M. I sent an email to DHL regarding the delivery attempts and the lack of any way to request a pick up from the website which the yellow contracts specifically state can be requested this way.

They could not without an account number. I stated this fact and attached a print screen to show this is not possible on the website. The email contact is listed below. Julianna, Certified International Specialist, Customer Care DHL Express 1-800-225-5345 CustomerService@dhl.com www.DHL-USA.com. I contacted Lotus at the above DHL Express phone number and she put a "request pick up" in for me at about 10:10 A.M. on 3/15/16 and called the Ontario, CA station to verify that my package was with the carrier and would be redelivered today 3/15/16 because it was already with the carrier.

Lotus stated that the driver would be in my zip code at between 12-3 P.M. and that the request would not take effect until 24-48 hours later. I decided to come home and wait for the rescheduled delivery even though yesterday, 3/14/16 the contract stated it was a final delivery. Lotus also stated that a request could not be done online for the receivers, but only the shippers. This point was not mentioned in the email w/ Julianna listed above. I also sent an email on 3/14/16 after the missed delivery requesting the Ontario, CA management contact me. They refused.

On 3/15/16 at about 1:07 P.M. I called the 800 number once again to verify redelivery today on 3/15/16. I spoke w/ Walter who stated my package was redirected back to the station and would be available for pick up after 7 P.M. The office closes at 6:00 P.M. I asked Walter to call the Ontario station along w/ his manager Corey. Both Walter and Corey refused to call the Ontario station. Corey refused to put his manager Frankie **. They stated my package was redirected back to the Ontario station for pick up. I received an email from Julianna on 3/15/16 about 11:00 A.M. stating my package was with the driver for redelivery.

At this point, I really could care less if the package gets shipped back to Turkey. I do intend to continue my complaints about the terrible service, customer service, and DHL corporation standards/protocols. The phone number listed for the Ontario station is unlisted for customers. NO CUSTOMER is required to sign any contract w/ DHL for delivery. No customer. DHL is holding my package hostage. There also seems to be a lack of communication w/in the organization among their staff. My complaints will continue...

Replies
First and Last Time to Use DHL
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I ordered stuff from Shein, I paid for 3-5 day delivery once it was processed. As of tomorrow (August 29) it will have been 14 days. I received a text that it would be delivered on August 24. I sent a reply that I was out of town so I wouldn't be there to sign for it. I rescheduled it to be delivered on August 27.

On Wednesday the 26th I got a call that they needed the gate code so they could drop it off. I gave them the gate code and was told to leave a note on my door with the tracking number and my signature and they would leave the package. I did just what I was told but when I came home yesterday, there wasn't a package.

I called today, August 28 and was told they never tried to deliver because they "didn't have my address". I called to make a complaint and was told that it wouldn't be delivered until Monday. I told the lady I spoke to that it was unacceptable because there were dresses in there for a wedding this weekend. She said she would see what she could do and call me back. I never heard back from her.

I then called the same number from Wednesday that I gave the gate code to and was told that the drivers didn't even take the package with them and that if I needed it, I could drive to DFW airport and pick it up. At this point it was around 1:30 in the afternoon and I was at work and unable to drive 40 minutes to pick up a package that I PAID to be delivered to me. I will Never again use your services and plan to repost this as a negative review on your company.

Replies
Absolutely Awful!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

FRESNO, CALIFORNIA -- I ordered several items to come from China, they use DHL express service and my first shipment I sent to a friend & arrived FAST, early actually & no problems! Then, my 2nd package I sent to my new apartment, it had already been delayed from China so I was eager for it to arrive. I was trying to track it pretty regularly and finally it arrived in California and was sent with the courier service from Stockton to my town which is VERY CLOSE.

That night, wondering what happen I got an email saying it was delivered and I requested a copy of the signature confirmation. They emailed it to me but it was blank! No signature! The next day I filed a complaint and requested another copy signature & it had one! So since I was expecting 3 more packages to arrive, I was determined to know there was no way to miss them. I invited several friends over to have an outdoor brunch and get together while I waited for the next package. Wouldn't you guess that evening almost 8pm I tracked it & it said delivered once again! & trust me from 11:30am until close to 8pm there was no absence of any 2 people outside at any given time!

I requested yet another signature and guess what it has the same signature as the other one that showed up a day after it lies saying it was delivered! I sent copies to DHL, I have spoke to customer service, emailed them, filed their lost package claims and all they say is someone will contact me! Yet all I get is an automated response through email saying someone will contact me! What is their problem? My address is verified and UPS dropped off 6 packages in 5 days without an issue! And the worst part is I have 2 more packages still to be delivered! UGHHHH!!!

I have never had more disgust and feelings of rage over something as much as I do for DHL! I will never, ever deliberately use DHL again!

Replies
Big Time Cheats and Crooks!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We used DHL for shipment from China to USA twice and both times, DHL charged $1000+ more than the all inclusive quote given. On inquiring, they keep sending you from one person to another to make sure you give up. Theirs sales, billing and customer care departments are completely disconnected.

On complaining, the customer care opened the case but their billing department kept threatening for payment of illogical amount for court action. The sales people who work with you will never contact you to resolve. It is such a mental torture. Can't believe US government has such companies allowed, they should be shut! Never use DHL. There are better services out there.

Replies
Advertisement
Slower Than Molasses Going Uphill
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Yes indeed, they are awful. Took over 3 weeks for a package to get from New Jersey to MA. The tracking numbers don't usually work either. I refuse from now on to order from any company if they use DHL. How about another package which sat in a DHL depot 61 miles from our town for 2 weeks, I could have driven there and gotten it. I emailed them to send it to Singapore then I would hire a drone to bring it here, guess they got the humor, and I got the package shortly after that, and then 2 weeks later, I got a duplicate package? DHL is the epitome of ineptitude.

Replies
Tracking Information Inaccurate!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PENSACOLA, FLORIDA -- I checked my tracking information for a package that I was expecting, the date to be delivered was 3/21 before the end of the day. I called DHL and was assured that my package would be delivered before the end of the day. The end of the day arrived and no package!!! Again, I called DHL and a representative informed me that it was in the computer at 12 0'clock noon that the package wouldn't be delivered until the following day! GET IT TOGETHER DHL!!! I spent an entire day waiting for delivery that they knew wouldn't be delivered!!! I will NEVER deal with DHL again!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

DHL Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 51 ratings and
225 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
DHL
333 Twin Dolphin Drive
Redwood City, CA 94065
650-593-7474 (ph)
800-216-5429 (fax)
www.dhl-usa.com
Product/Services
Compare Delivery Services