Preview Review

Next Review

Diamonds International Consumer Reviews - Page 2

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Overpriced and Not as Stated
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- While on a cruise in Feb. we were told by the cruise line that Diamonds International was the go to place for diamonds. We went into the store in Cozumel and purchased a 1.5 carat diamond ring. I was told if anything was wrong with the ring or the grading I would be able to return it. Upon returning home I discovered that I had paid $4000 more for the stone than I would have if I had bought at a local jeweler. I had the ring appraised by an independent GIA appraiser and was told that what I thought was an SI2 diamond was in fact an I1.

I contacted the NY Customer Service Dept. and submitted all my paperwork. They offered me a smaller stone as an even exchange or I could paid an additional $4700 for a better stone. I had already been ripped off once and they want to gouge me for more money. DO NOT EVER BUY FROM THIS COMPANY! You're guaranteed to get scammed. Legal extortion at its best.

Replies
Advertisement
Scam
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

N.Y, NEW YORK -- I have been trying to dispute a jewelry transaction for a year now. As soon as I got back to the U.S after my cruise, I went to 2 jewelry appraisers and was told I had paid way too much for the CROWN OF LIGHT diamond ring. To make a long story short, I sent back the jewelry for the gift certificate to get it off my hands (also what I felt was the right thing to do as it doesn't belong to me), Requested for T.D Bank to do a chargeback which they adamantly refused to do (is this legal?), No gift certificate in my possession (been a year) and a debt collection agency trying to get me to pay since I agreed on the gift certificate.

I have filed a consumer complaint against D.I. (Diamonds International) to the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau. CFPB reported my dispute to Consumer Sentinel Network, a secure online database operated by the Federal Trade Commissions. Civil and criminal law enforcement authorities worldwide, including CFPB investigators, use the CSN to identify questionable business practices that may lead to investigations and prosecutions.

It is up to everyone who have felt they have been scammed by D.I. to file a complaint. Increased number of complaints will certainly help to trigger a red flag against D.I. As of now, my credit score had taken a dive due to this issue. I am not a happy camper and have no intention of allowing D.I. to get away with this.

Replies
Complete ripoff
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ST. THOMAS -- I was recently on a trip to St Thomas aboard Princess cruise lines. Once I arrived I was immediately ushered to Diamonds International who I was told by a shopping guide they have on the boat that they would have the best prices and to avoid other places. Once I arrived I was very pleased with the look of the store completely disgusted by the sales practices and price of diamonds and jewelry inside the store. I had previously worked in jewelry business and have an idea of what retail prices should actually be. Although I have many contacts in jewelry still to get good prices I decided to take a chance on Diamonds International. Total waste of time.

They will lie, cheat and try to swindle you for your money. I did not tell them that I knew so much about jewelry so I just let them do the talking. They throw out things like will take 75% off of an item. Would you buy a Porsche if somebody took 75% off, or would you think that's a little too much maybe something's wrong with that? Or that maybe they're so overpriced they're still making ton of money off of it. Also they only have a 30 day return policy. How often do you plan on going on vacation every 30 days? Doubtful.

The best way to buy jewelry is to find a reputable Jeweler in the town you live in otherwise you have no recourse. Just my opinion, seriously do not get stuck on the hype that they try to sell to you on the boats. Unless you love the look of tanzanite it is not going to go up in value in your lifetime - there is still plenty of it.

Replies
Ripped Off By Diamonds International
By -

NEW YORK, NEW YORK -- Date of sail: 11/29/2009 to 12/06/2009. Date of original complaint: 12/07/2009. Ship: Carnival Pride. Destination: Bahamas. Purchase made: Diamond Tennis Bracelet. Amount in dispute: $2850. Date: 12/03/2009 Purchased from store # 651. Actions taken by Carnival: NONE. Referred me to PPI Group. Actions taken by Diamonds International: REFUSED TO REFUND.

I AM SO DISAPPONTED IN THE SCAM CARNIVAL HAS WITH DIAMONDS INT'L AND WILL GET MY MONEY BACK IF IT IS THE LAST THING I DO. I was pressured to buy an item with Diamonds International and the response I got was that they could not give me my money back because of buyer's remorse. WHAT???? I took this item to my jeweler and he also is willing to place into writing that this item had a clasp that was defective, which I did not know until I paid for another appraisal for this piece. He advised me NEVER to wear this bracelet until I have it fixed (this item is 4 days old, mind you) because it will fall off of my wrist.

This item IS NOT AS IT WAS STATED TO ME - the color & clarity are not as good as DI has stated, in other words, they are not accurate. The appraisal that we received from DI was given higher marks than it should have been given. I was taken for a ride, so they say in the USA. My jeweler is a highly trained professional (Master Benchmark Jeweler), so I know that I have been misrepresented by Carnival and Diamonds International and will pursue this to the fullest extent of the law.

I will not accept your response and will take this to a higher level. We will be in dispute with DI through PPI Group, (like everyone else after I have read the FRAUD reports about Diamonds International) which is about useless because after looking on the back of my receipt, I see that they will only take merchandise back for store credit and I have also read that if they do agree to this that somehow diamonds have been "lost" in the mail even though they have been insured and sent via Certified Mail. How is this so? (I can trust them to not "lose" my diamond to give me what I am paying for??)

I am willing to drive to New York to get my money back. DI is trying to wear people down so we'll just give up and accept their store credit offer. I'm in for the long-haul. I will NOT give up fighting. I will contact the States Attorneys General, the Better Business Bureau, and post their names all over the internet if they do not give me my money back. I will also open up a claim with my credit card company. I was told that 'buyer's remorse' was not an excuse for a return? Are they kidding me? If you buy a dress and then decide to take it back a month later you are perfectly within your rights to do that.

Now if that dress is DEFECTIVE and MISREPRESENTED to the buyer I think you have a case for a lawsuit if they do not honor that return. We as cruise ship passengers should be protected under the laws of the United States, but it seems as though we were at the mercy of the unfair laws of wherever you buy the merchandise. We were also assured by the Carnival "expert gemologist" that DI was based in New York and that we were indeed protected by US laws. Not true. He warned us of the dangers of buying overseas from unscrupulous shop owners. Little did we know that we were being scammed by Carnival and Diamonds International.

Will I sail with Carnival again? Probably not. Will I ever purchase anything of value overseas again? NO! Diamonds International? ABSOLUTELY NOT and I will tell everyone I know! Read all of the threads! BUYER BEWARE!

Replies
Advertisement
BEWARE: Low-Quality Merchandise
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COZUMEL, FLORIDA -- Purchased a tanzanite and diamond ring in February 2015. In less than 9 months a diamond was missing. A reputable local jeweler replaced the stone and reported that others were very loose. The setting was so poorly made that metal had to be added to the prongs so that they could hold the diamonds. The cost was $489. Diamonds International offered to evaluate the ring and estimate the cost to repair the less than one-year-old ring. There was no warranty on the ring. Why would I spend more money with a company that makes low-quality merchandise? BEWARE - don't get ripped off like I did.

Replies
Purchased a Pair of Tanzenite Earrings Also Received a Necklace With Purchase
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

ST. MAARTEN -- Talked to people at two different locations in St. Maarten and one store sold mostly large tanzenite stones. Went to other store and dealt with a young lady named ** and helped me find a size stone I was looking for. She did try to get me a combined deal with a bangle that I looked at but was not pushy about it at all. I couldn't afford to make that purchase at that time so I just got the earrings/necklace and went on my way. She was helpful and courteous and I was glad to have talked to her for my purchase. I realized it wasn't a large purchase but I was not treated poorly at all. Thank you ** for helping me out!

Replies
Liars
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GEORGETOWN, GRAND CAYMAN -- On 12/13/2013 I purchased a ladies Movado watch. At time of purchase I was told this was a newly released style. Well guess what, it was released in 2009 (5 years ago). What made me suspicious was that the battery died after 3.5 months. When I contacted these crooks, they were very glib and arrogant about their sales practices. They were also highly recommended by Carnival Cruse Lines. I brought this issue up to Carnival and they were very uninterested. Save yourself the grief by AVOIDING this store.

Replies
Refuse To Give Refund For Item Not Purchased
By -

GEORGE TOWN, GRAND CAYMAN -- May 4th, after attending several lectures on how great/cheap Diamonds International were by the cruise shopping specialist (Carnival Freedom). At the store, I found a ring I liked, not sure I wanted to purchase. Ring was 4200.00. After speaking with store manager. We agreed I put 300.00 (cash) on the ring, and when I returned to the states Monday May 9th. I would contact the store, let them know if I were going to purchase ring. If I decided not to purchase ring, the 300.00 was to be refunded. I ask for receipt, sales clerk filled out invoice. It contained my name, address, information about the ring (4200.00-300.00 with balance).

If I decided to purchase. Monday May 9th I contacted the store, only to be told, MANAGER NOT AVAILABLE. I explain I wasn't going to purchase ring, and I wanted a refund. Clerk stated "would have to speak to manager". I e-mailed manager, no response, e-mailed shopping specialist from cruise. She responded via e-mail. She would contact store manager for me. Three weeks had passed. I e-mailed manager explaining that husband had lost job, could not purchase ring and wanted a refund. No response, called store, manager said she had taken vacation. I told her I wanted refund, did ask her to send picture of ring.

She did, I e-mailed her back told her I wanted refund. That's when she responded via e-mail she would give me IN STORE CREDIT. I contacted D.I. via phone, was told I would have to file complaint. I then contacted then via e-mail. Told them I wanted refund, they responded next day via e-mail. Told me I would receive IN STORE CREDIT.

Please help me get my money back. D.I. hasn't lost any money, no restocking fees. They gained 300.00 dollars of my hard earned money, and I trusted the store manager that if I didn't purchase ring this money would be refunded to me. I DON'T WANT A STORE CREDIT, I WANT MY MONEY BACK. Warning: Don't make a haste decision as I have, don't believe what you hear and only half of what you see.

Replies
Advertisement
Diamonds International Customer Service/Merchandise Beware
By -

Purchased a $7000 Crown of Light Diamond bracelet while in St Maarten. Mistake #1!! They were like Carnival barkers even after we decided to purchase the bracelet. Still trying to sell us more. That should have been our first sign that we should not buy anything from them. Then... the clasp on the bracelet would not stay closed. Thought I was not closing it properly so made sure it was tight each time. It would fall off and I hesitated to wear it. Finally "lost" it in an antique store and luckily I noticed it missing before I left store and retracked my steps and found it. The clasp was broken and was not going to work no matter what I did.

Called Holland America/PPI Group on March 18. Took DI more than two weeks to "understand" that I needed a return/claim number and shipping information. Kept sending me a form letter but not info needed. Mailed bracelet and they received next day. It has now been two MORE weeks since they received the bracelet and after 6 phone calls and 4 e-mails, I have not received any response for information status of repair. Talked with representative this morning and she informed me they handle hundreds of claims and that was the reason for no answer from her and that my original representative was no longer with DI.

They couldn't care less since they have my bracelet and my $7000. Told that it would be 3-4 weeks before the repair will be finished and she would confirm that later today. I am certainly not holding my breath to get that call. I would NEVER purchase jewelry again in this manner. I am very conservative and can't even believe I did this in the first place. The bracelet is beautiful but no good to me if I can't wear it. Diamonds International couldn't care less about customer service and hope that those reading this will think twice before purchasing from them.

Replies
Diamond Fraud
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CARIBBEAN ISANDS -- Do not listen to Royal Caribbean or any cruise lines who tell you that you can trust Diamonds International. Purchased a $9800 loose diamond that I got home and got appraised for $3000. Spend a lot of time and money for a GIA appraisal to finally get a refund from them. It cost me $400 total including appraisals, return postage, faxes, etc. The clarity grade was 3 grades lower than the SI2 they told me it was and the color was one grade lower. They would NOT have given a refund unless one of the gradings was 2 or more grades below, not if every one was 1 below.

Royal Caribbean supposedly guarantee that you will be happy, but that is not true either. They were no help, I got the refund through my own efforts and expenses. And I still have a pair of diamond stud earrings which are worth $500 less than I paid. I am not willing to go through a month of hell and a bunch of money for them. I did not get any type of apology from RC or from Diamonds International for deceiving me. So.... BEWARE!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Diamonds International Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 18 ratings and
30 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Diamonds International
10600 W. Charleston Blvd.
Las Vegas, NV 89135
702-684-8000 (ph)
www.diamondresorts.com
Compare Cruise Ships