[X]

Drivetime/Chevrolet

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1 Reviews & Complaints

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Vehicle will not pass inspection after hundreds of dollars worth of work.
Posted by Danbjack81 on 02/18/2012
GREENSBORO, NORTH CAROLINA -- I'm two months past inspection. The check engine light keeps coming on. The first place said it was the fan clutch. I replaced it. Light came back on. Then it was the water pump. I replaced it. Light came back on. Then it was the thermostat. I replaced it. Light came back on. All the mechanics said to just keep driving and eventually the light would reset itself.

Yesterday I got pulled over and was given a $355 dollar ticket because of this. I am not happy. So far...

$355 ticket
$300 water pump
$200 fan clutch
$200 thermostat

Some warranty from Drivetime huh???? And Chevy??? What gives!!!???

     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by clutzycook on 2012-02-18:
Where are you taking your car to be fixed? Have you tried multiple shops?
Posted by bigal on 2012-02-18:
The thermostat should have been changed when the water pump was replaced. That alone would have saved you $195.00. Here is an important question. Did your car show signs of overheating or was the only problem the check engine light?
Posted by tnchuck100 on 2012-02-18:
There should be a grace period from the time of a failed inspection to allow for repairs and re-inspection. Did you allow this grace period to expire before getting this ticket?

It also appears your mechanic is not very competent. Find a new one. Ask what codes are being set. Better yet, go to Auto Zone and buy your own code reader. Then YOU KNOW what is going on. $40.00 for a reader is cheaper than the typical $80.00 a dealer will charge to plug theirs in a read the codes.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-02-18:
Auto Zone doesn't charge me when they use their reader to read the codes. But I don't know how accurate their reader is. You might want to take Chuck's advice and buy your own code reader
Posted by MRM on 2012-02-18:
$200 for thermostat?!? Thats a rip off! Should only costs $8.
Posted by Terminator's ghost on 2012-02-18:
The problem doesn't appear to be the repair shop's fault. It is that for some reason the readiness monitors are not ready. It takes a certain amount of driving to do it, as they advised.

Multiple tries to repair a cooling system aren't unheard of. One reason is that breaking it open can release dirt/debris that goes and clogs another portion.

Posted by tnchuck100 on 2012-02-18:
ls, accuracy is never an issue. The device simply reads the numeric values from the vehicles computer. No processing is involved.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-02-18:
Got it, Chuck. Good to know
Posted by Starlord on 2012-02-18:
You make your complaint about Drivetime, but give no further info on it. Is Drivetime a used car dealer? If so, with the exception of Massachussetts, I believe, when you buy a used car, it is AS IS, unless you are given an express written warranty, and most dealers I know won't do that, they glad hand you and tell you they will take care of any problems. Verbal statements by a sales person aren't worth the breath to say them. If it isn't within the four corners of the sales contract, it doesn't exist.
Posted by Where's my horse? on 2012-02-19:
Did you check your gas cap?
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >