El Paso

1 reviews & complaints.

Gorditas Meal Kit - Arriba!
Posted by on
I picked up a box of El Paso's Gordita Meal Kit at Big Lots (you know that's my sto') for $1.80 because I had ground chuck thawed at the house and I was sick of hamburgers on Friday night.

VERY easy to assemble, you get the gordita shells, spicy ranch sauce, seasoning packet for your choice of meat. I added our own tomatoes, chopped iceberg, chopped onion, jalapenos and refried black beans on the side.

Everybody (all 2 of us) built their own "their way" and I was surprised how delicious this was. Extremely surprising was the fact that I loved the spicy ranch sauce on them, as I am normally not much of a ranch person.

Don't expect to save on calories. Gordita means "little fat one" in Spanish, but for a timesaver that is delicous, I recommend this!
     
Read 36 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
BokiBean on 05/02/2009:
I voted myself helpful.. I rock.
Anonymous on 05/02/2009:
I voted not helpful. I suck.
Ponie on 05/02/2009:
Boki, I'm not much for Mexican food--that is Mexican, isn't it? :) But on your recommendation, I'm going to try it. I think you should go into business writing descriptives for foods. Just reading it sounds delicious. Think I'll pass on the refried black beans though. Had them only a couple of times and, to me anyway, they're tasteless. Good review.
Ponie on 05/02/2009:
I just negated C20's vote. :)
Anonymous on 05/02/2009:
Thanks Ponie! I can live with myself now.
Anonymous on 05/02/2009:
Boki babe, I need to teach you how to make some real Mexican food.
BokiBean on 05/02/2009:
Ponie, it IS Mexican food and I have just kind of discovered Mexican food in general. I never really liked it before that much, but my taste buds are changing again or something.

I'm glad you mentioned the refried black beans! I sprinkled cheese on top of them (they really are kind of tasteless) to make them more edible. I forgot to mention that in my review..good catch.

C2O - haha!!
BokiBean on 05/02/2009:
yaya, I can make a mean Mexican casserole, but I DO need lessons! I'll tell you something else..I have tried over and over again to make Chinese food and fail miserably...and I just adore it.
Ponie on 05/02/2009:
OK, the addition of cheese may do the trick. I put those beans in the same category as collard greens. Never met one I liked. Why are they (beans) 'refried' anyway? Don't they do a good job the first time?

Anything I can due to help, C20, anything I can due to help. Think we can work a small claims lawsuit into this review somehow?
Principissa on 05/02/2009:
Those sound good! I saw those at Kroger but was hesitant to get them because of the ranch. Now I will try them!!
BokiBean on 05/02/2009:
lol@Ponie! My hubby is the same way about peas. Anything that is called a "pea" is verboten. We have some great pink-eyed peas, and butterpeas, that seriously aren't in any way shape or form like a green pea, but he will NOT touch them! He HAD to eat peas when he was a child. This is why I don't believe in forcing food on children..they will try it on their own soon enough. Now he's "ruint".
BokiBean on 05/02/2009:
Princi - the ranch was good on it, and like I said, I was very surprised. Hubby loved it, but he's a ranch man...

I got a weird deli roast beef sandwich one time that almost turned me off of ranch dressing forever..
Ponie on 05/02/2009:
Boki, that'll teacha to go into a 'weird' deli! Got a couple of them living in my neighborhood. Oh, wait a minute! That's weirdos.

I had a few eating hangups during childhood, too. My parents never forced them on me--they just said you don't get anything else as a substitute. While growing up (I'm a work in progress) I like everything I despised back then--Brussels sprouts, asparagus, etc.--except raisins. I won't eat those on a bet! I even had enough martinis one evening to eat an oyster.
BokiBean on 05/02/2009:
OoooOOoo I love raw oysters! And clams. You got good tastebuds. :)
jktshff1 on 05/02/2009:
I got some bone-in chicken breasts I need to cook tonight. Was going to grill, but raining..any suggestions?
Anonymous on 05/02/2009:
I've had this meal kit before, it truly is really good.
BokiBean on 05/02/2009:
jktshff1, I'd rip the meat off the bone and make an easy chicken parmesan. There's not much substitute for grilled chicken though, its so good.
Anonymous on 05/02/2009:
Yes jkt, come to my house and use my grill
jktshff1 on 05/02/2009:
I thought about de-boning and doing something with it, but just can't decide what.
Anonymous on 05/02/2009:
lol Ponie! There's always the possibility of a lawsuit.

jkt, I don't know what the heck you a talking about there, but I don't like the sounds of it. Good luck to you.
Anonymous on 05/02/2009:
Sounds great, need to give it a try!
GenuineNerd on 05/02/2009:
Glad you enjoyed the Old El Paso Gordita kit; hopefully it wasn't a discontinued product...Big Lots usually sells food products that have been discontinued by the manufacturers; they would typically buy whatever inventory remains after a product, usually a failed "test market" item, is discontinued. Several years back, Nestle had a line of Disney-themed cake mixes, in which you mixed a small pouch of cake mix in a cup shaped like Mickey Mouse's face and ears, and put it in the microwave. I bought a bunch of those when Big Lots had them...I loved them. However, I never even heard of the product until I saw it at Big Lots; which made me think it was a failed "test market" item. The cake mix boxes even had a sticker on them which covered details of a sweepstakes tied to the Disney cake mixes; which was cancelled due to the product being discontinued shortly after introduction. Big Lots carries a lot of food items that didn't make it through regular retail channels; some good, some not so good.
BokiBean on 05/02/2009:
Yes! I was worried that I wouldn't be able to locate them in a local grocery store, but my mama said she saw them.. I find a lot of stuff I love at Big Lots in the food department and then am extremely disappointed to never see it again anywhere.

I DO know that we have a high end grocery store here in Mobile called Fresh Market and I've seen lots of their items in Big Lots (for tons cheaper).

I was fully expecting to be disappointed in this gordita dinner and was pleasantly surprised. One thing I always do there is check the expiration date, too.

Thanks, Nerd...very helpful advice!
BokiBean on 05/02/2009:
Also, I love their specialty items...I've gotten several Chef Emerill spices and things to try, and several really unusual hot sauces (I'm a heat freak). One we have now is Vampire Hot sauce..yum. And I love their specialty peppers and olives too.
Starlord on 05/03/2009:
Boki, sounded so good, I am going to try to locate that kit. Yaya, if you get down to Coolidge, be sure to eat at Casa Palomino, next to the Auto Zone on North Arizona Blvd, as you go into town. I love their chimichangas, and look on the wall over the pass window and see the scroll saw portrait I did for them of Pancho Villa. Their food is excellent.
Starlord on 05/03/2009:
jkt, my son and I grilled pork chops on the front porch during a toad strangler of a rain. Man, were they good!
jktshff1 on 05/03/2009:
I've grilled raining, but don't like it.
Anonymous on 05/03/2009:
I've drank Rainer in the sun. It was OK.
Anonymous on 05/03/2009:
BokiBean on 05/03/2009:
Hubby smoked ribs under the roof of the deck and they were awesome...it wasn't strangling toads wet but it was pizzlin down.
Marine 63 on 05/15/2009:
HEY...bokibean,GORDITA in Spanish (Puerto Rico) it stands for fat lady. FYI...
BokiBean on 05/15/2009:
Well, if I keep eatin' em, you going to SEE a fat lady cause I just bought another box of them yesterday! :D
BokiBean on 05/15/2009:
When I was in San Juan, I got this awesome suntan there and everybody spoke to me like I was a local. I wanted to move there and learn the language!
Marine 63 on 05/15/2009:
Hey, BokiBean I live here and it's not as glamorous as you think.
BokiBean on 05/15/2009:
I saw some of the poverty, and it was heartbreaking. But the land was beautiful and the people were friendly...I did this EVERY TIME I went to the islands..dream about living there.

And Marine, I live in Alabama..haha It doesn't have to be glamorous, believe me. :D
Marine 63 on 05/15/2009:
everything is screwed over here, politics...etc,etc,etc...but that's another forum.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >