Elephant Bar

1 reviews & complaints.

Beware: Elephant Bar Food Can Cause Health Hazard
Posted by on
My family and I went out to lunch at Elephant Bar after my college graduation. I ordered some fried chicken strips with fries. I went home exhausted after a very long graduation ceremony. I had not eaten prior to eating at Elephant bar and I did not eat anything after that either. I woke up the next morning, went to take a shower and I almost screamed in horror! My whole stomach and a portion on my back was covered in a huge rash! A friend of mine is a waitress at this same Elephant bar so I called to tell her of the incident and she said it was most likely because Elephant bar fries fish, chicken, everything in the same oil!!! She said they have some kind of fish on their menu that some people are allergic to and therefore my rash could have been because of that. She also said for future reference I should not order any tea from them either because they make it early in the morning many times and leave it around until needed which can be hours later.

They later add ice and you'd never know it wasn't fresh...bad tea can also make you very sick. I will never eat there again!
     
Read 9 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Ponie on 2009-06-06:
How fortunate for the Elephant Bar to have an MD working there as a waitress. :)
PepperElf on 2009-06-06:
and ... if you just graduated from college... um, wouldn't you know by now if you had any fish allergies?


and a rash around the stomach can also just be from heat or having a small infection and getting it warm.


Starlord on 2009-06-06:
I have to agree with the others. too many people feel free to self-diagnoseif they feel there is a problem. Never mind going to a doctor or getting a professional opinion, just declare that you have been given bad food, and badmouth a local business that has passed health inspection after health inspection without a bobble. Even the MDs I know will not self-diagnose, because they know they are too close to the problem.
madconsumer on 2009-06-06:
as said, rashes canbe caused by many many reasons.

including fabric softener, nerves and scabies. scabies are known to be seen around the middle of the body where the pants and shirts meet. they breed in moist warm areas.

"Scabies - Topic Overview
What is scabies?
Scabies is a very itchy skin condition caused by tiny mites that burrow into your skin. See a picture of scabies."

source:
http://www.webmd.com/skin-problems-and-treatments/tc/scabies-topic-overview
Skye on 2009-06-06:
Not sure what state your in, but we went to the Elephant Bar for Mothers day, and it was great. No problems what so ever.

I also agree with what the other posters said.

Did you ever go to the doctor and have a "real" diagnosis??
LIGIAA on 2009-06-06:
Skye: Yes I was seen by a doctor, my father is a doctor and though there can always be other possibilities for why people get rashes, this time it couldn't be any other possibility.
PepperElf: Yes, I just graduated from college and if you read the review again it says I had chicken NOT FISH. But fish gets fried all day long in the same oil as the chicken so I guess you can say I unwillingly had fish as well.
BokiBean on 2009-06-06:
Um, that's the way you make tea... Nobody makes iced tea when you order it.
DigitalCommando on 2009-06-06:
Tea doesn't go bad in one day either. Heat you say? I think sun tea pretty much kills the heat angle if you were going to blame it on that.
Anonymous on 2009-06-06:
"We have to find someone who can not only fly this plane, but who didn't have fish for dinner."
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >