[X]
Feedburner count

Elite Skin Rejuvenation Spa


1 Reviews & Complaints

Unlicensed Botched Photo Facial
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 11/20/2010
REHOBOTH, MASSACHUSETTS -- I went to elite skin rejuvenation spa on December 2,2005 where the owner gave me a photo facial that she was NOT trained or licensed to perform(she got her cosmetology licensed April 2006), as a result I have several small scars left on my face from where she burned me so badly with blistering scabs I had to visit a Dermatologist. where they told me that the laser technician had no Idea what they were doing. I went back to show the owner what my concerns where with all the scars that I was left to deal with, and she could NOT have cared less, she was more concerned with the fact I had reported her to the Better Business Bureau rather than the scars on my face that she gave me, she gave me a check for half my money back, said I was lucky to get that! I also reported her to the Attorney Generals office(on Jan.5,2006) where this spa has more than one complaint on file with the A.G. office, I wish I could have sued this business but at the time my father was Ill and dying, I had to care for him. I then did the only thing I could do I went to on an online review site telling others about my horrible experience with elite, when The owner Wendy Almeida(on her aol.account) sent out these VERY INAPPROPRIATE emails to people on this review site, CALLING ME HORRIFIC DEROGATORY NAMES saying in this email(that I have sent to everyone around the world)that I must have burned and scarred my own face, practicing SICK UNGODLY SEX where I must scar my own face while performing sick UNGODLY SEX ACTS???(what kind of business engages in this type of behavior???)She also goes on to lie some more saying that I go around bashing business's for money to shut me up(as if I were some modern day al copone or just trying to discredit me) and that she had to contact the police, to remove me from her property, which never happened, also saying that I am a HARRASSING **** She goes on to say that she is in the process of filing a law suit against me(for telling the truth???) The owner is actually getting angry at me for speaking out about her UNLICENSED BOTCHED LASER PHOTO FACIAL that resulted in me paying elite skin rejuvenation spa to scar my face!!!!
     
Read 40 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Venice09 on 2010-11-20:
What is a photo facial?

You should never have gone back and confronted the owner. It would have been better to take your documentation to court or have an attorney handle it for you. Too bad you didn't research this place before letting them come at you with a laser. It looks like you might have dug up a lot of dirt. Did you know they were unlicensed before the treatment? That's the first thing I'd look for.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-20:
Did you sign anything before you had the procedure done? Are you still having ill effects from it?
Posted by leet60 on 2010-11-20:
The OP has posted this same complaint in numerous review sites on the web on an ongoing basis since October.

Her claims of the facility being unlicensed are not correct - Per the Division of Professional Licensing for the state of MA:

LicenseeName: WENDY B. ALMEIDA
Business: ELITE SKIN REJUVENATION
REHOBOTH, MA

Licensing Board: Cosmetology
License Type: Aesthetic Shop
License Number: 59352
Status: License Renewal Period
Expiration Date: 12/31/2010
Issue Date: 4/16/2006
Exam Date: 4/16/2006

This web site displays disciplinary actions dating back to 1993.
This license has had disciplinary actions taken during this time.

There are two types of "photo facials" one uses LED light and is low intensity - this is the most common. The other is known as an IPL (intense-pulsed light - a type of laser), which the OP's post makes it sound like she received. If this is the case, I have little doubt she signed waivers and disclaimers before the procedure.

Posted by Venice09 on 2010-11-20:
The words disciplinary actions would be enough to keep me away from a laser at any intensity!

Good info, leet.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
She had her procedure in 2005. The license was granted in 2006 - 5 months after the procedure. At any rate, this is 5 YEARS ago. I understand the OP's frustration but (according to the post), the statute of limitations has passed, she accepted a partial refund, and reported the incident to all of the appropriate authorities. What else can be done?
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
I am the O.P. and until recently I could NOT afford a computer to do any research or review any companies, I took the owner at her word when she said she had been trained and licensed to do laser photo facial skin treatment, she lied to me! This is a true story and I have sent that nasty very INAPPROPRIATE EMAIL calling me HORRIFIC DEROGATORY NAMES to everybody I could think of I have never been to the ATTORNEY GENERALS OFFICE or the B.B.B. for any other company before this, but I can't let this one go, every time I look in the mirror I see the owners IRRESPONSIBLE BEHAVIOR(scars on my face) and just curse her name, I believe in KARMA because you can't screw someone over and not expect anything back!!!! she sure rushed out and got that cosmetology license fast, but not fast enough because she should never have picked up a laser in 2005 when she had NO LICENSE get a copy of the report from the A.G. office(they keep a report for 15 yrs. they also have the nasty email as part of my complaint they were socked by it as I was!
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
I am the O.P. and I am a guy, but I still have skin on my face that used to be clear and even toned with NO SCARS Until I met Wendy Almeida and her UNLICENSED LASER, anyone who thinks it is a good Idea to give this kind of treatment without training or licensure has got to have something wrong with them! She used too high of an intensity on my skin and I blistered with thick scabs and when they healed there were the scars that I was left to deal with, I have gone through 30 tubes of mederma and other scar therapy treatments just to soften them. Wendy has complete and utter disregard for what she has done to me and after receiving that INAPPROPRIATE EMAIL that calls me HORRIFIC DEROGATORY NAMES I know what kind of person she really is!
Posted by madconsumer on 2010-11-21:
sounds like you had a hoirrible experience. are any of the scar reduciong creams available for you? did your dermatologist offer type of reduction cream?

have your tried to contacted someone over their license and file a complaint?

thank you for warning others of your horrible experience.
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
I can't afford to have a filler injected for the scars that I could only soften so much with products like Mederma and Dr. Blaine scar care but can't afford the inject-able(I had to save up to get this Botched photo facial as it was) and just wanted people to know what I went through when I went to this spa! Check out elites yelp page my review it is in the filtered section you have to look for it there is a comment from the owner calling me a liar, when anyone with common sense would see that in 2005 she had no license or training to use a laser on someones skin. I believe she was prejudice from the get go, and didn't give me a second thought if I would have a bad reaction from a higher intensity of her I.P.L laser and she still couldn't care less and Bad Businesses should be exposed!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
Have you considered a series of chemical peels? Package prices are pretty reasonable, and the aesthetician can adjust the aggressiveness of the peels depending on the condition of your skin, and your particuar concerns.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
Ript, do those work? I'm reminded of that scene from Sex and the City where Samantha got a chemical peel and it made her face look like it got peeled off
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
Prejudiced how?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
Yes they work little shorty, but it needs to be done professionally, not with those do-it-yourself products you get at the store. Have to expect some skin downtime though, depending on the type of peel and the level of aggressiveness, because they do remove damaged layers of skin. Best to consult with a dermatologist first, they will counsel you on the best treatment plan and expected outcome for your particular condition and areas of concern.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
OP, fillers are not the best option for your issue unless you are extremely wealthy and enjoy physical pain. They are expensive and temporary, and to maintain the results you will have to have the procedure done again and again, indefinitely.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
I've got pretty good skin so I don't think I'll be trying one any time soon
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
I can't afford a chemical peel. I have been in a lot of contact with the MASSACHUSETTS DIVISION OF PROFESSIONAL LICENSURE and they are investigating this matter, they are good people over there very nice, very helpful I forwarded that nasty email full of lies and HORRIFIC DEROGATORY NAMES ABOUT ME back to the B.B.B. and the A.G. office I had to send them a hard copy so they could put it in my original complaint from January 5,2006, just because it just shows what kind of person the owner is, It has her name WENDY ALMEIDA on it defending her UNLICENSED BOTCHED PHOTO FACIAL lying about me saying that I go around bashing business's shaking them down for money like I am a modern day al capone , she really has got some gall, because she had no license and she doesn't even acknowledge that in this email which I have sent to everyone I could think of, I WOULD NOT BE ABLE TO LIVE WITH MYSELF IF I DIDN'T DO ALL I COULD TO EXPOSE THE TRUTH!
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
I also have gone to the MASSACHUSETTS COMMISION AGAINST DISCRIMINATION(or M CAD) with this email that the owner sent me and they too are investigating this matter because that email was truly was adding insult to injury!!
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
yes I have posted my experience on other review sites, that is what you do when you have had an experience like I have had! I still have the receipt from the UNLICENSED (BOTCHED) photo facial(says photo facial right on it) and the original Attorney Generals report along with the Inappropriate email sent by the owner so why wouldn't I post on other review sites??
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
OP, after almost 5 years, why are you and Wendy still going at it?
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
Why wouldn't I want to let everyone know the truth she scars my face with her UNLICENSED Botched Photo facial then sends out these nasty lying very Inappropriate emails calling me nasty names defending her Unlicensed photo facial (that was Botched due to her lack of knowledge and training) to others on this review site and am I not supposed to defend my self or the truth???, is that your question to me "why are you defending yourself??"
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
That was not my question OP. If Wendy is currently slandering you on websites, that is an offense punishable by law, and should be dealt with on that level. The two of you going back and forth accusing and defending on different sites accomplishes nothing. By accepting compensation for your alleged scarring at her hands, you effectively absolved her of any liability for your injuries.
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
She sent these emails out to people on this review site so I don't know if she used my last name on the other emails or how many emails she sent but she uses my first name in the one I got along with HORRIFIC DEROGATORY NAMES ABOUT ME I simply want people to know what kind of deception and dishonesty that this spa engages in! Nothing more and yes I am still pissed off about paying for getting my face scarred! you would be too!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
You never answered my question about "prejudice"...Prejudiced toward you how?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
I would be more pissed off at myself for not doing something about it at the time of the incident. Realizing that the ball was in my court at that time and I chose to drop it, would make me not pick it back up years later, I would leave it where it lay, lesson learned.
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
I don't absolve her of any liability remember she didn't get her cosmetology license until 5 1/2 months later and she would have had to have a laser technician license(which is more training), had I been able to sue her(and not caring for a dying father) she would have had no defense in a court of law, even though I took a check for half my money back, she was completely without conscience or any regard for my well being or safety and was WRONG for picking up a laser with no license or training that is indefensible !!!!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
Your accepting compensation is indefensible.
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
Prejudice against gay men, They offer facials for men as well, so no wise cracks huh! but don't go here if you are gay, they don't like us! tend to call us nasty names in e mails along with a bunch of lies!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
No wise cracks. I have zero problems with men taking care of their skin. I was just trying to see if you were of a darker skin tone - black, indian, etc... If you were, she would have been SERIOUSLY negligent in giving you the laser treatment and any licensed professional worth their salt should have known that. It would have been a slam-dunk case. But even if THAT, it would have needed to be filed in a timely fashion. I understand you are pissed, and rightfully so! But you are out of steam on this.
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
Well not completely out of steam the Board of registry license cosmetology will have a say in this matter and I was visiting with the A.G. office a couple of times they did say that budget cuts were a deciding factor(even though this spa has more than one complaint), but I am still waiting for the M.C.A.D. decision on whether they will allow me to sue for discrimination I don't think anyone would want to be treated the way elite skin rejuvenation spa has treated me and that is why I am speaking out!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-11-21:
I hope one of those has some type of remedy for you - even if it isn't monetary at this point. She could have AT LEAST behaved professionally and/or PRETENDED to be sorry. In the future, use a dermatologist. It is a little more expensive but worth it in the long run. Cosmetic surgeons sometimes offer skin rejuvenation services as well. Again, more expensive but way less risk. Good luck to you!
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-21:
Thank you incredible lee, take care of yourself!
Posted by Pissssedoffconsumer on 2010-11-23:
Check out this spas google reviews the good ones have also been flagged and that is because this spa is so dishonest that they must write their own good reviews because they have all been flagged for inappropriate content which is something the owner knows all about considering how INAPPROPRIATE that email she sent out was!!!
Posted by Disciplined by DPL on 2012-01-25:
License# 59352 has been disciplined by the Massachusetts Division of Professional Licensure, Case #20110323HS433 in the amount of $1000.00 for an unlicensed photo facial!
Posted by Pissed Consumer on 2012-04-22:
This owner took so much away from me. Not only did she scar my face with an unlicensed photo facial that she was disciplined for, but she took away my feelings of well being and feeling good about myself with an email that you can find where ever you are allowed to upload a jpeg. The email is self explanatory and shows how reckless and dismissive she has been towards a consumer, as well as to the length she will go, to cover up her unlicensed status in front of the public at large! She will demean and verbally abuse her customer to no end and without provocation! Before she was found guilty of performing an unlicensed photo facial, she covered up the incident and eventually had to admit her involvement in a charade, but continues to be unwilling to repay me the amount of the purchased photo facials, so I can get professional help to recover my skin condition! I am upset that she continues to deny her involvement in the damage to my face and will not be decent enough to admit her errors and reimburse me so that I can find a doctor who can help recover my facial integrity!
Posted by TOTELLTHETRUTH on 2012-06-02:
Under Aesthetic Shops on the Division of Professional Licensure, License # 59352 has three disciplinary actions actions taken> #1.Case #20070227HS394, fine assessed and closed 3/22/07. #2.Case #20110323HS433 for unlicensed photo facials to which I still bare the scars, fine assessed at $1000.00, the highest fine the Board can render! During an undercover inspection of the spa, the owner was found to be guilty of letting her staff perform facials which they were not licensed to perform! Case #20110523HS624 closed 4/13/2012, fine assessed $300.00. This type of unlicensed conduct is unacceptable and deceptive to her customers! All in the name of the "Almighty Dollar! How low can you sink!!!
Posted by Hip Hop Man on 2012-06-02:
OBVIOUSLY IF YOU ARE FOUND GUILTY BY A STATE AGENCY FOR UNLICENSED PROCEDURES AND FINED SIGNIFICANTLY AS THE OWNER HAS, THEN THERE IS SOMETHING WRONG WITH THIS ESTABLISHMENTS BUSINESS PRACTICES TOWARDS CONSUMERS!!!! I THINK THE OWNER NEEDS TO REVIEW HER BUSINESS PRACTICES AND MAKE AMENDS TO PREVIOUS CUSTOMERS WHICH SHE HAS BETRAYED BY HER PAST INFRACTIONS!!!!
Posted by Pissed consumer on 2012-07-22:
WHEN I RECEIVED A PARTIAL REFUND CHECK DRAWN ON SLADES FERRY BANK, THE TELLER WROTE MY SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER ON THE CHECK BECAUSE I DID NOT HAVE A CHECKING ACCOUNT! THIS IS HOW SHE GAINED ACCESS TO MY SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER! I STRONGLY SUSPECT THAT THE OWNER OR A REPRESENTATIVE OF HERS, HAS HACKED INTO MY COMPUTER, SIGNED ME UP FOR VERY DISTURBING X-TUBE, YOU TUBE AND AOL ACCOUNTS. I SUSPECT SHE HAS ALSO HACKED INTO MY EMAIL ACCOUNT ONLY TO REMOVE MY TRUE REVIEWS, OTHERWISE, WHY WOULD I HAVE PICTURES OF A NASTY AND CRUEL EMAIL WITH NO REVIEW! THIS PASSIVE AGGRESSIVE BEHAVIOR IS DIABOLICAL IN NATURE AND UNWORTHY OF SOMEONE POSING AS A PROFESSIONAL SKIN CARE SPA OWNER! DID YOU KNOW THAT IF YOU BRING A COMPLAINT AGAINST HER, SHE WILL HAVE YOU INVESTIGATED BY A PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR??? SHE TOLD ME THAT SHE HAD ME INVESTIGATED AND SUBSEQUENTLY SENT OUT AT RANDOM A DISTURBING EMAIL WHICH WAS HOMOPHOBIC IN NATURE, TO DEGRADE ME PUBLICLY! AN UNAUTHORIZED FACE BOOK ACCOUNT IS ALSO ON THE INTERNET WITH MY IMAGE. THE OWNER WHO SEEMS TO HAVE NO BOUNDARIES OF CONDUCT HAS HAD TWO RECENT DISCIPLINARY ACTIONS IN JANUARY AND APRIL OF 2012 AND THE SECOND ACTION WHICH RESULTED IN A $300.00 DOLLAR FINE SPEAKS TO THIS ISSUE! SHE HAD UNLICENSED PEOPLE DOING FACIALS ON THE PUBLIC AND THE EARLIER FINE OF $1000.00 WAS DUE TO HER CONDUCT OF PERFORMING UNLICENSED PHOTO FACIALS, WHICH LEFT ME WITH SCARS TO MY FACE, THAT I HAVE TO CONCEAL EVERY DAY OF MY LIFE. THIS IS UNACCEPTABLE BEHAVIOR AND IT WILL NOT BE TOLERATED! SHE NEEDS TO REFUND MY MONEY AND APOLOGIZE FOR HER HORRIFIC BEHAVIOR!
Posted by Pissed consumer on 2012-08-13:
YOU WILL REAP WHAT YOU SOW!!!!!!!!
Posted by Pissedconsumer on 2013-08-10:
I was inundated with emails calling me "The Spa F*g (homophoic slur), a total F*g and of course "SCARFACE". The same place that had scarred my face was making fun of me! This is called Intentional Infliction of Mental Anguish, You see in the diolog above that I am thanking "Incredible Lee". It is my belief that someone on the owners pay role was posing as my deceased mother, because her name was also "Lee". This is unforgivable! This place scars you on the outside and then they scar you on the inside!
Posted by Pissedconsumer on 2013-08-10:
On July 16, 2011, I also went to the Rehoboth Police Department to file a formal complaint against this spa's owner without result.
Close commentsAdd reply


Top of Page | Next Page >