Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Carpet Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Robbed Me Blind... Literally
By -

30102, GEORGIA -- I had an in home visit from one of their salespeople and it was great. She was helpful and the price was really good. I scheduled the installation and was very excited about getting fresh new carpet for my house. The installers came on time. The crew manager was great, he answered all of my questions and was generally very friendly. He had 2 Hispanic guys working with him. They spoke no English. They finished in 3.5 hours and I was so excited. The carpet looked great. I was thoroughly satisfied. I really thought I would get to go out onto the internet and write a good review of the company. That is, until I started unpacking my stuff that I boxed up to get out of the way.

I unpacked a box and thought that there was some CD's and a DVD missing, but I wasn't sure. That prompted me to check my jewelry box that was in a box under stuff in the bathroom. When I did I was shocked to find 6 rings missing from my jewelry box. One of which was my grandmother's wedding rings (she passed away last Feb and that's all I have left of her). Those rings were on a gold chain. The chain was snapped and the rings gone. I was so upset, I was literally devastated.

I immediately called the crew manager that was at my house and told him that I had belongings missing. He was able to stop his crew. One of the men was working with him for the very first day ever. This guy handed over 2 of my rings, but nothing else.

By that time I had contacted the local police and they were at my house. Long story short, what ended up happening was the crew manager and his wife came all the way back here from the warehouse in rush hour traffic to give a statement with me to the police. It was really great of him to do that and he didn't have to do anything.
If that wasn't bad enough, Empire was notified also and they told me that someone would call me in 24 hrs. They should have made that a priority.

The lady called me the next day got information and said she would call back. She took 4 hours to do so. When she called back (after 2 msgs from me) she gave me the B. S. line of "we are going to cooperate with the police". When I asked what the company was going to do for me, she repeated that line FREAKING PARROT! She wouldn't explain anything.

I spoke with the Installation Manager here in Atlanta and he basically told me that b/c legal is involved they can't discuss it with me. They aren't doing anything to resolve the fact that I paid $1800 to be robbed! This could happen to anyone with any company. My point is that EMPIRE has no customer service to speak of. I wish I had gone with someone else even if I had to pay more money. Beware of Empire.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HILLSBOROUGH, NORTH CAROLINA -- Worst installation: Berber rug. Spent over $4000. First time came out said I would have to have all carpets cleaned. New rugs. My husband & I senior citizens hardly walk on them!! Berber piling customer serviceman said bad carpet. Nothing done. I refused to get carpet clean wasn't dirty it was piling. Now bubbling up in family room said over warranty would cost another $250 to stretch carpet!!! Nice way to treat your Senior Citizens. Will tell EVERYONE I KNOW DON'T Use EMPIRE CARPET!!!

Company Response 02/11/2015:

Hi Catherine, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we can assure you that we are taking your concerns seriously. We'd like to know more about the issues you've been experiencing and help make things right for you, and we will be contacting you shortly. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Nice Durable Carpet and Really Good Installers
StarStarStarStarStar-
Rating: 5/51

CHICAGO, ILLINOIS -- We needed new carpet for my basement, so I called Empire Today. They had a lot of samples. I was concerned that the carpet was going to be durable since I have kids and a dog. We've had it for about three years and it still looks as good as the day we got it! The installers were very friendly and did a great job. They even moved a treadmill that I had. I'm very happy with my purchase and would recommend Empire Today to anyone.

Company Response 09/15/2014:

Thanks for sharing, Gina! We're thrilled that you're still enjoying your product years later, and we truly appreciate your recommendation. We love hearing from our satisfied customers, and we hope to assist you with future home improvement projects.
Thanks!
Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Poor workmanship Poor service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

WEST SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- 07/29/2013: Funny, their commercials indicate uniformed professionals do the install. My installers were not uniformed and not professional looking. I was concerned but got passed it. My mistake because a year later the carpet started peeling from the floor. Now, Empire wants me to pay $50 per room to repair their own poor workmanship and they want me to move the furniture out. Never again!

Resolution Update 08/07/2013:

First of all, thank you my3cents, thanks to you the company reconsidered and fixed the issue at no charge.

Company Response :

It's disappointing that you've been experiencing issues since your installation. We understand that we've been in contact with you regarding this matter, and we will be following up again shortly to work towards a solution. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Way too expensive
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW RICHMOND, OHIO -- They wanted four thousand dollars just for two rooms which aren't very big. Then they wanted 500 more just to move our furniture and said we still had to help move the TVs. I told the sales guy I wanted pink carpet and he keep bringing in the wrong colors trying to talk me into the most expensive options.

Company Response 2/20/2013:

Kelsey, it's disappointing that you were not satisfied with our pricing. Because we are a full service company, our pricing is all inclusive, and we also offer a price match guarantee. We never want our customers to feel pressured into making a purchase, and we would like the opportunity to discuss our pricing with you in more detail. A member of our customer service team will be contacting you soon to discuss your concerns and answer any questions that you may have. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Seemed like a good idea .... I was wrong
-

I'll start by saying that even though I read all the reviews, I just had a morbid sense of humor and wanted to see first hand just how sketchy Empire was.

I filled out the online in-home estimate request and then noticed somewhere that it stated if you weren't spending at least $750.00 that they would not come out so I emailed a cancellation request (only needed 20 sq. yards of carpet). Not only did they send me the cancellation confirmation, but right behind it, they rescheduled my appointment again. When I called, I had to jump through hoops to actually speak to a human being, explained my situation, and the woman stated that no job was too small and that they would be here today, Monday, January 31.

My sales guy called and was super nice, he was close to my home so he was coming an hour early if that was OK. Sure, no problem. Now I have already spoken with Lowe's, Home Depot and Molyneaux over the weekend and each provided a rough quote of around $540.00 - $560.00. So I figured hey, Empire says they save you money, why not let them come in for an estimate.

Well, my salesman arrived happy as a child on Christmas morning. I quickly escorted him to the small bedroom and hallway that I wanted to have carpeted and explained what I have explained above. Suddenly, this kind old man became so enraged that he literally turned 4 shades of red and began shaking. He told me that unlike these stores, he only installs quality product. I told him that I was looking at Stainmaster carpet with upgraded pad and I thought that was quality. He then threw his metal briefcase on the floor and fumbled his phone out of his pocket to call "his boss" and told me that I had to tell them I canceled my appointment.

When he put me on the phone, I told them that no, I didn't cancel, I was told that 20 sq yards of carpet would be no less than $900.00 and that I was going with another quote. He ripped the phone away from me, hung it up, called me an ** and dropped his phone. At this point, I felt I was under attack. I kicked his phone towards the door, grabbed it, threw it out into the snow and politely told the old man that he was about to meet Jesus unless he left this moment. I won't make this mistake again, and I hope this helps you avoid it as well. It was good for a Monday laugh, but that's about it. Thanks all :)

Company Response 02/02/2011:

I've read your recent post and I'd like to follow back with you regarding some of the things you've described. I'm sorry you had difficulties cancelling your appointment. It's our normal process to contact a customer that cancels to see if there is anything we could have done differently or to see if you've reconsidered cancelling your appointment. However, we don't automatically reschedule since we need to be sure of the customer's availability.

Please accept my apologies. The situation you described with the sales representative is not in line with our standard of service. If you're willing, I'd like the opportunity to send another sales representative to your home to better show you our dedication to world-class service. If you're interested, could you email your contact information to customersupport@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x4195 and we will follow back with you to address your concerns.

Replies
Outrageous Sales Pitch and Bully Tactics
By -

We knew we were in trouble as soon as we all sat down because we were forced to get a history lesson on Empire when all we wanted was a carpet and install quote. We were held prisoner in our own home (unless we wanted to be rude) while he spewed his sales pitch, and spew he did, sending spittle into the air. When the first words out of your mouth are showcasing all your awards we became suspicious. Why is this necessary? Doesn't your workmanship speak for itself?

We found out later why because he gave us this outrageous quote of $3100 for ~ 350 sq ft of room, next quote was what Empire could provide it for at $2100 but if we signed TONIGHT, we could get it for ~$1300. By producing the first quote you think you are getting the deal of a lifetime, but the caveat is that you HAVE to sign a contract that night or else the deal is off the table. When we did not fold to his sales pressure he got mad and defensive claiming he would not be back as it costs $350 for him to even come out. He tried to guilt us into signing by saying Empire would not do business with us otherwise. What a awful sales approach.

I work for a sales oriented company and our guys cold call all the time. It is the nature of the business and if we ever tried to bully a customer into buying from us we would never get through the front door again. Your deal or no deal tactic will not work in this economy. Bully sales tactics don't work. He also claimed the commercials do not say anything is free, "pay for this room and got this room and this room for free" is not what they say. Really? I am complaining here, to them and to Better Business Bureau.

Company Response 11/23/2010:

We are currently researching your concerns. We are dedicated to service and satisfaction. A representative from our customer service team will continue to be in contact with you to assist with all your concerns.

Replies
Awful installation service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DENVER, COLORADO -- We needed to have our entire home re-floored after we flooded in a bad storm. Initially the salesman was nice and informative. He made a quote that was quite high and when we balked, he then "pretended" to call his boss to see what kind of deals he could give us. After ordering a laminate floor and carpets for the bedrooms we got a decent price compared to other companies. They told us they could be in to install within 2-3 days.

A week later a carpet team showed up hours late (they called once to say they were behind). One of the installers was ill and went into our family bathroom for 42 minutes and got sick!!! He continued to use the bathroom frequently and it ended up taking he and his partner 6.5 hours to do a bedroom roughly 15X12 feet! I urged him to go home several times and that we could reschedule, but he barely spoke English and refused.

A week later as we already put a deposit on our laminate floor we had a contractor in for other repair. He told us the slab we wanted to put the floor on was badly damaged and would need significant repair before a laminate floor could lay flat and click together. I got a second opinion and they said the same thing. The empires salesman was ignorant and sold me something I could not even use. He had no understanding of the floors structure or make-up and what would be needed for prep-work.

Finally, we went for carpet and after paying and expecting the carpet the next morning, we got a call at 7:48 the night before saying we owed $648.00 more dollars. We fired them. The entire team from salesmen, schedulers and installers were idiots. Poor quality and would NEVER recommend them. EVER. And I still do not have my last room of pre-paid carpet in. Three weeks later we are "on the schedule". I made a total mistake with Empire!

Company Response 7/6/2012:

Kristin, we regret any inconveniences that occurred during your installation process. The experience that you've described is not in line with the world-class service that we expect for our customers. A member of our customer service team will be contacting you soon to discuss your installation experience and work towards a resolution. You can contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com if you have any questions. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Lousy Carpet & Installation
By -

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- In March 2011, we foolishly hired Empire Today to install Laminate and Carpet in our home at a cost of over $11,000. Salesman stated Laminate must be installed before carpet and he schedules it accordingly. Laminate crew arrives and discovers that they do not have all the materials to do all the rooms paid for. Laminate crew chief returns 4 days later, which happened to be same day carpet scheduled for install, and completes Laminate job.

Carpet crew consisting of two men in shorts, flip flops, and undershirts arrive to install carpet in four rooms. They immediately yell at me because Laminate was installed first. I told him that is how salesman stated it MUST be done. They then complained about having to move furniture which they were required to do per our contract, and complained that job was going to take them longer than the 90 minutes they like to spend doing a job. They rolled out our carpet in the middle of the road and proceeded to cut the pieces.

I inspected each room upon completion and noticed the carpet was not tacked down in most rooms along the walls and none of the thresholds had been tucked in all four rooms. I complained to the I staplers and the told me it was supposed to look that way and it would probably work itself out over next 6-8 weeks. That has to be the dumbest thing I ever heard.

I called Empire Today in May 2011, to have someone come out and properly install the carpet. Have been getting the runaround for two weeks now. Finally got a day and time for someone to come out to fix, take off early to meet them for the 2:00 pm appointment, and they don't show up and don't call. I call them again, get on schedule for next day (June 3) same time, and as of 5:33 pm, no show and no call. I complained to corporate office, someone named **. She just said she would call me Monday, June 6 to see if they showed up.

We are SO SORRY we chose Empire Today. They advertise buy one room get rest free. It's NOT free. You only get material free, and have to pay out the ear for labor and installation. Carpet is of very poor quality and poorly installed. DO NOT purchase anything from Empire Today. They are a total nightmare and complete rip off.

Company Response 06/23/2011:

Michael, it's always our goal to make the installation process as convenient as possible for our customers and I'm sorry for the issues you've experienced. It's my understanding after working with our customer service team a few weeks ago, your repair was completed and that you're satisfied with the results. Please feel free to call me at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email me at customersupoprt@empiretoday.com if you have any further questions or concerns. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Way too expensive...
By -

I was in need of a new window covering on a large picture window in my living room. I had a shade that finally gave up after many years and after research, decided to go with a vertical blind. I saw an ad for Empire Carpets on window coverings. I visited the website and found that they do handle vertical blinds. I called and they made an appointment for the following day.

The salesperson showed up late, and gave me a rather substantial quote of $875 for a basic vertical for a window 126 X 56. No next day installation as they claim, as it takes two weeks, which I thought was probably the case. As this was my first estimate, I was shopping around. The salesperson was very pushy when I told him that this was my first estimate and that I wanted others before I made a decision. He told me to put the order in, and that I could cancel it if I found a cheaper quote.

They also said that Empire would beat any quote I received which led me to believe right away that it was overpriced. The written quote had no dimensions on it, and I also asked for a price on another window in the area, in the dining area. That had no dimensions on the so called "quote" only a price. I thanked the salesperson, but they kept repeating that he can make a phone call and Empire will beat other quotes. I did not feel comfortable with this person.

I went to a local store that handles paint, flooring and window coverings that I had used in the past and they gave me a quote of $360 for the same verticals, including installation. Yes, it would take two weeks for the vertical to be ordered and made. Less than half of what Empire wanted and the salesperson at this local establishment was not pushy, only wanted a third down and even suggested getting other estimates. (I did have another estimate and it was higher, $500, but still cheaper than Empire).

I immediately gave a deposit and my verticals are on their way... The local store even took measurements for the other window and the order is ready to go, when my budget allows.. just one phone call. Oh, and the salesperson from Empire kept asking about floor coverings, even though I told him that the carpeting and floor covering in the kitchen area was new and provided by my landlord and I was very satisfied with what I have. Stay away from Empire... Shop around!

Company Response 07/19/2010:

Thank you for bringing your window treatment sales experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you. We are dedicated to service and satisfaction, should you have any questions please contact us at 800-588-2300.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Empire Carpet Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.6 out of 5, based on 22 ratings and
78 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Empire Carpet
333 Northwest Ave
Northlake, IL 60164
1-800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empirecarpet-flooring.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies