Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Today - Page 3

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 77 ratings and
110 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, IL 60014
800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empiretoday.com
customersupport@empiretoday.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
BEWARE! Faulty Installation and Terrible Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA FE SPRINGS, CALIFORNIA -- BEWARE!!! Faulty installation and terrible customer service to repair – Purchased from the Santa Fe Springs, CA location - After my new Berber style carpet starting coming apart, I called customer service for repair. They scheduled my appointment for a Saturday between 9-12 and then I was called at 8:30 am on that Saturday that they had to cancel but rescheduled for the following Saturday. The following Saturday, I received a call at 8:15 a.m. that again they had to cancel but for sure they would do it on the next Saturday between 9-11 and give me a call one hour before arriving.

I called at 9:30 am on that 3rd Saturday to find out the status and they said I was still on the schedule and should receive a call one hour before. At 11:20, I called again and I was told that they will be there 12-2 which is far off of the 9-11 window I was given. I told the representative that I needed an answer right away about where they were so I could plan my day. She could not give me an answer. I have lost total faith that they will ever come out. They advertise good customer service but believe me, it is FAR FROM GOOD!

Company Response 08/15/2016:

Dear Lissa,
We are sorry to hear that your experience was not a positive. We want to help and will be in contact with you soon to discuss your concerns in more detail.
Thank you.

Replies
Advertisement
DO NOT USE! The Rep Came to My Home, Measured, Gave Me an Estimate and Disappeared After She Took My Deposit.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This is the worst company I've ever done business (if you can even call it that). The representative never sent in my order. I have a receipt stating my installation would be on August 15th. When I called to confirm, they said they had no record of the sale or my deposit. I tried calling the representative who said she'd look into it and get back to me that night. She never did.

When I asked customer service to connect me to a manager to straighten this out, they put me on hold for 30 minutes and never came back. I called several more times and was told the same thing every time. Finally, last night, I was told someone from corporate would get back to me today. I'm still waiting. Everything they tell you about how wonderful their company is is a lie. I went to Lowe's and Home Depot and their selection was better and the carpeting cost a lot less money. Whatever you do, DON'T BUY ANYTHING FROM EMPIRE.

Company Response 08/12/2016:

Dear Sheryl,
We have read your review and sincerely regret that your experience has not been a great one. We take matters such as this one very seriously and assure you that we want to help you. Unfortunately, we are unable to verify your account. Please email is at customersupport@empire-today.com with you account information, and mention my3cents in the subject line, so we can follow up with you.
Thank you.
-Empire Customer Support

Replies
Out of Stock?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BASKING RIDGE, NEW JERSEY -- I had an Empire Today sales representative come in on 7/22 to take measures and give me a quote. He assured me that they can even install the next day which was Saturday. I had prior engagements so I made appointment for Monday.

Monday morning, I get a call at 6:50am telling me that the laminate I ordered was out of stock and they cannot install today. They tell me they will check when it will be available and give me a call back. At 3pm, I had not received a call from the installers or my sales representative so I called customer service. They assured me they will send out urgent message for people to get back to me regarding the situation.

Tuesday morning (today), I still have not received a call from anyone so I called customer service. Same story so far. I have told the customer service that I will cancel order unless I get a call back from my sales representative by noon. It's 11am now, let's see what happens.

Replies
Salesperson
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- Our salesperson was Larry **. He was knowledgeable. Took time to show us many samples so we could get what we wanted for a fair price. He is a great person, his sales tactics are good and not pushy. We want to commend him for our sale and we can't wait for our flooring. 👍 for Mr. **. He is a great employee.

Replies
Advertisement
Carpet And Laminate Flooring
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NASHVILLE,TN -- My wife and I are currently dealing with Empire. It is slowly turning into a nightmare. We did our due diligence and had three estimates done for flooring. My wife at the time of the estimates was eight months pregnant. The sales representative from Empire came out. He was a pretty nice guy. Did his song and dance and we told him our problems. We needed carpet in two bedrooms and laminate in our kitchen and living room. The problem is our living room is not level and is off as much as an inch in some areas, we told our representative that and he was completely aware of the problem. He sold us what I will assume is good carpet and a nice laminate.

Fast forward two weeks to install. The carpet was to be installed Tuesday and the laminate on Thursday. Empire called to confirm our appointment on Tuesday only to cancel it the day of install and they want to come Wednesday. Great, we had set up all of our dr. appointments for Wednesday so now we are scrambling to figure out what to do.

I called customer service and stayed on hold well over an hour and only made headway when I mentioned they had breached their own contract by not installing when they said they would. They ended up giving us a discount that covered my day's wages as that is what I would lose if I had to stay home for them. The install crew was awesome! Very courteous and quick. The carpet looks great. You have to remember they are contractors not really part of the company.

Now for the laminate. Install was supposed to be there between 8-10. They didn't show up until 4:30, as if they were going to get anything done. Then the install leader tells my wife he can't install the type of laminate we selected that it will crack because of the uneven floors.

Wait a minute??? That's what we told the rep? Then our installer tells us of a cheaper material that could be used LPV. He calls the install manager who has someone bring out a book of choices for us and they say "if you pick one today we may be able to install on Saturday." My wife picked one out and that was the last we heard from anyone for two days. No one would answer their phones. I called customer service and they couldn't reach anyone as well. Now I'm getting mad. They have a $900 deposit for a floor that salesman sold me that won't work. Now I feel like I've been had.

Yesterday sales representative calls and says he will be out tomorrow to see what we can do. My wife is now almost due and we were ensured this would be done within two weeks let alone a month. Today my wife got three call attempting to confirm Monday as an install day. To install what??? We haven't picked anything new out? I'm wondering if they are just going to send out another install team that doesn't care to attempt to install. I guess I will find out if the sales representative shows up tomorrow.

At this point Empire has violated their own contract and it's getting old. Their customer service is the absolute worst I have ever dealt with. I should have known something was up when there was only one number you can call. And they will never transfer you to a supervisor. Bad business if you ask me. I have never treated a customer the way they have treated me and my wife. I will keep this thread updated as things go along.

Replies
Horrible Product and Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- If I could give them a zero I would! We got carpet installed less than 2 years ago and about 2 1/2 months ago the carpets were cleaned in all 3 rooms. A day later the smell that came from one of the rooms was so bad I had to tear it off and remove it because it was right next to my kids rooms that are 2 and 4 years old.

When I called empire to report this they told me that all I can do is create a case and they would get back to me. About 4 days later they told me that they wanted to send someone out there to take a look at the carpet, which I had no problem with but he could only do it in 3 days. Now we are talking about a week later, which I had to keep my kids away from the carpet because I tore it out and they wanted to mess with the threads.

Once the guy came out he took pictures and asked if he could take the carpet I ripped out with him and I said yes. About another week and a half later a woman named Janet ** called me and said that the carpet didn't dry correctly. So I told her that it sounds like a product defect because all three rooms were dried the same way.

She told me that they can replace the section I tore out with new carpet, which was not even up for discussion because a 2-year old carpet even with cleaning looks completely different from a brand new carpet. So she then proceeded to say that they will pay for material and I have to pay a $400 dollars for labor. I told them that it was unfair that I had to pay again for a defect that their product caused and they should absorb the whole cost. She told me that she would need her supervisor to agree to this and that she would call me back.

One month later with 3 phone calls and 2 voicemails unanswered I was finally able to talk to a supervisor named Linda ** that decided to tell me that they would lower the price to $200. I told her that it was ridiculous how they have treated me and that they should be ashamed of themselves. I had to get the carpet replaced because I had a hose hole in my floor for the past month and a half and I couldn't live like that anymore so I agreed to pay the cost.

A day before the appointment they decided to call me and tell me that they over booked and can't make it. They did tell me that they would now install it for free, which was the first decent thing that they have done for me. We rescheduled and the second time they came they told me that they were going to install gold or silver floor transitions, which I told them that there was no way they were going to do that because they originally installed wood transitional and it was even noted on my original order form. So yes once again I had to reschedule.

The third time they came out I told them to come early but the gave me a window of 9-11 which they ended up coming at 11:30. This time they told me they couldn't replace the carpet because I needed my husband to remove the closet folding door. I told them the original time they were here that they removed it and put it back together. The guy said he doesn't do that and I should call my husband. I told him that there wasn't going to be anyone here till 6. By this time I was so upset, I have missed 2 days of work for them and moved furniture twice by myself all for this crap.

I called Linda again and left a message. The guys told me that they were going to go and I told them to wait till I got a hold of someone so I knew what was the next step, but before I could get someone on the phone that I was on hold for 25 minutes they left my house. So now I still have a hole in my floor, I still need to miss another day of work and I have to put everything back and take it out again. Still no one called me back!!!!! PLEASE! PLEASE!! PLEASE LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE AND STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!!

Company Response 10/12/2015:

Hi Hila, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we understand your frustration. We can assure you that we are taking your concerns seriously, and we will be following up with you to ensure that everything gets completed to your satisfaction. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.

Replies
Complaint Against Empire
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- July of 2014, we called Empire Today. The pushy sales lady came to my house the same day. She did not leave until we signed the contract with her. The next day, I called the company and wanted to cancel because their price was very expensive, and they would not cancel. They gave me a couple of hundred dollars off the carpet and tile installation.

We did not have a major problem with the tile people, but we started replacing the carpet August of 2014. The installer was at my house July 28th and inspected my furniture and my house and the flooring to make sure that they have ordered enough carpet and to see how they would move the furniture. There were supposed to install the carpet the next day which would have been Tues July 29th. Based on his suggestion he said for us to start August 1st so that he can bring more people and that they can finish the job sooner on Saturday. I said okay.

They started the replacement of my carpet August 1st 2014. Two people came and literally hostage in my house. They were using laundry room door and front door to come into my house. They put all the heavy furniture with no coverage on my front entry, which is marble which was in perfect condition before they started working. They moved the rest of my other furniture in my kitchen and in my breakfast area and we were held hostage because we couldn't use our kitchen and refrigerator and front entry. So, we were literally living on the front yard or backyard. We were not able to get into the house to see what was going on, or in some case use the restroom.

At 7:30pm on Friday, we were informed that they would be back Saturday and he would bring 4-6 people to finish the job. They put some furniture back and some furniture on my front entry. Saturday Morning they came back around 11am and there were about 4-6 people working. We stayed outside again, and blocked out again hoping that they would finish the job today.

Around 2:30 when my husband left the house to get something to eat, the installer came to me to tell me bad news, that they cannot finish the job today. This was because the carpet he had was different than the carpet he had yesterday. The color is the same, but the lot # is different. He wouldn't be able to match the seam and that I would be unhappy.

All my upstairs furniture, they shoved it in the balconies of my master room and my daughter's balcony, and he said that he feels really bad for us because he has to bring back the furniture to the room, but can't put the furniture back because he will be coming back on Monday to fix the problem. He brought everything from the balcony and shoved them more into the bathrooms and we were all blocked out of our closets and showers, and restrooms and changing clothes. Everything was shoved in a small place.

The only place we were able to use was the downstairs powder room, which has no shower. And we were able to only use the kitchen and family room. He said he feels really bad, but Empire would take care of you and give me some kind of credit, which they did not do that yet.

He came back on Monday August 4th, and he said that he will fix the problem for me. He has the right carpet he said and he left Monday around 8pm and he wanted a signature from my husband, and checked marked for where we would survey him. I told him I am not happy with the carpet change, and furniture was very much damaged and the seam of the carpet all over the house was very much visible. He told me the carpet is not thick enough for my home, and will shed. So basically, Empire needs to re install the carpet again, and he would come do the change.

Knowing that he knew from the beginning that the carpet is not thick enough, and knowing that the carpet they gave him was not the right carpet, and also knowing that he would have to come back and re install new carpet because of this. Saturday August 2nd, 5 people had to sleep in the family room on the floor with no pillow and blanket since we had no access to anything in our house and everything was locked out. We didn't have access to toothpaste and toothbrush and had to go out and buy them since the no access. We had to use the powder room downstairs to brush our teeth.

Based on his suggestion we had to call Empire today and tell them what was going on immediately. And since August 5th 2014, we are calling Empire and letting them know what happened and what's going on and little by little that 4 door stopper were missing in my house, the base board was broader, doors were not closing. Baseboard and walls and paint have been damaged, and also couches. Also formal living room couches, and glass dining table has been chipped at so many places. The house was painted In Nov of 2013, and most of my paint upstairs have been damaged, including the kid's bedrooms, master bedrooms, etc.

All paint is damaged, and all bedroom sets also have been damaged. The installer did not put all the screws on the bed, and the bed was loosened. The formal dining room and buffet which has been covered with sheets since we moved in have also been damaged with scratches and dents. The chairs and coffee table and side table have scratches and also book case and office and room desks have been broken.

Also master place fire place marble have been damaged, and also the casing around the patio door because of the moving of the furniture. He broke the casing of the patio door in front of my husband, and told him he would come back and fix it but never did. All my marble have been scratched and chipped where the carpet meets the marble.

There have been so many damages on the marble that I cannot describe anything. The staircase has been deeply scratched and it is so excessive that I do not know what to do about it. Small picture frames in the hallway fell and damaged the frame and also the wall. And bigger tapestry pictures have been broken due to being fallen.

We have been following all the installers instruction to put things in box, and put the small items away, and I have 3 or 4 days to put things away. He never told us to remove any picture frames. Empire changed my flooring of my 5 bathrooms with the tile, and he also damaged the tile which was connected from my daughter's room to the bathroom. There are so many chips in my kitchen flooring, and breakfast area.

Pieces of the tile are gone, and he came back and shaved some of the pieces of the tile in my kitchen and laundry room to make the pieces straight. He did the same to my daughter's bathroom, and for it to not be noticeable. But, I have more carpet there, more than tile, which you are supposed to have more tile than carpet. Due to the rolling in of the heavy carpet, my washer and dryer have been scratched and paint has been damaged.

We have sent pictures to Empire, they have sent supervisors to my house to look at the damages, and each time they tell me they are going to fix the damages of my kitchen flooring and marble. They said they are going to order marble to replace your chipped marble, and someone is going to come and paint where has been damaged and change the flooring for kitchen and laundry room with the same tile of the bathroom. When the painter came to look at the damages, he said he has to paint the whole house to make it all even.

For the staircase, even with sanding and staining, it will never go back to when it was normal in the beginning, so little by little they changed their mind, after all the promises Howie (installation supervisor), me to directly and Janet (Cus. Serve. Rep), to fix everything, they have only decided to give me 10% of the purchase price, which is about $830 dollars, and I rejected the offer.

They reported this to installer insurance company, and they came over and looked at everything, and rejected the damages due to previous existing damages. What I want to ask them, is if the damages are pre existent, the first of installer should have told me and had me sign some sort of paperwork. The first installer came to inspect my house on July 28th, and if there were any pre existing damages, he should have taken a picture, and sign something like two other installers that came and changed the carpet again.

Most of my furniture were new, and were kept really well since they were covered until the first installment. This tells any logical person, that there were no pre existing damages, and no furniture damaged. If so, he should have said something about it. After the second installer came to inspect the house, and when he was changing the carpet, while he was dissembling my bedroom set, purposely put the foot board and head board in the wrong place for me not to see the damages on my cherry wood furniture. I have trusted Empire due to the false advertisement on TV due to what they have promised.

For the second time the carpet has been changed for the second time in Nov. 12th of 2014. The second carpenter took an hour to look at the furniture and the damages, and let me know the damages have been done previously to show me that they are previous damages, and he would not be held responsible. He did a terrible job of carpet installation. The cuts were horrible and easily seen and it took him 3 days to finish the job. He left the Friday at 4pm and said that this was the best he can do.

Meanwhile we are paying for the carpet every month through Wells Fargo. We asked Wells Fargo to help us to get our money back through them, and Wells Fargo is not helping us and we are disappointed with Wells Fargo because they are telling me to deal with Empire and not them. Wells Fargo is a credit card company, and I don't know why they want us to deal with Empire, and Not Wells Fargo to get my money back for an unfinished job.

Anyhow, now the carpet has been changed for the 3rd time. The supervisor's name is Juan, and he came over. He said that everything is wrong with the carpet and it has to be changed for the third time. On June 10th, the carpet was finished. I called the next day. We still have a problem with the stairs, with the size of the nails, and the carpet is pushing out on both sides.

I hope to never do business with Empire again. My life has been changed since August of 2014. I am still dealing with them and getting nowhere. I am calling them daily. It is frustrating not to get a response from them. I am only getting an email once in a while, and keep getting promises made but not getting any of them.

Replies
A Company That Rips People Off
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SHAME COMPANY, FLORIDA -- I decided to do laminated floors in two rooms. So the first thing the saleslady says when she walks in is "today is your lucky day because we have a 50/50/50 sale." She does all the measuring and it's about 350 sq ft. She sits down and comes up with a price of 4600$, I almost fell out of my chair. Then she goes with the 50/50/50 sale, we cut the 4600$ down to 2300$ like she's doing me the biggest favor in the world.

Then I showed her an estimate that I got the day before that was for 1045$ From US Wood Flooring here in South FL. I asked if she will match or beat that price. She put me on the phone with one of her bosses. He basically was trying to get me worried not to go with that product from that company. I've done plenty of home remodels and renovations in my life and the product from the cheaper price was better. Bottom line is that Empire Today overcharges people that don't know any better about cost of flooring.

Company Response 09/25/2014:

Hi Lenny, thank you for bringing your pricing concerns to our attention. We'd like to know more about the situation, and we will be following up with you shortly. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Empire's Cancellation Policy Is a SCAM
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHICAGO -- A customer can sign an order on the sales rep's tablet but try to cancel and one is forced to use USPS (never by fax number or email) and such written notice MUST be received within 3 business days of the rep's visit! One look at Empire's cancellation policy, one can clearly see why it's best NOT to do business with Empire Carpet. If you ignore this warning, DO NOT sign nor pay a deposit, unless you're 100% certain of your order.

As of 2016-JUNE: "Late Cancellation: I understand that I have 3 business days to cancel this agreement, as described on the Notice of Right to Cancel. I understand that if I want to cancel this agreement after those 3 days, Empire does not have to allow that. If Empire does allow that, however, I agree I will pay to Empire a late cancellation fee of 15% or as otherwise allowed by applicable law, of the agreement's purchase price. However, if I have placed a special order with Empire, Empire will have incurred extra costs in preparing and beginning processing of such special order.

Therefore, I understand that if I want to cancel a special order after those three days, and Empire does let me cancel the special order, I will have to pay to Empire a special order late cancellation fee of 15% or as otherwise allowed by applicable law, of the agreement's purchase price for special order carpet/flooring and 33% or as otherwise allowed by applicable law, for special order window treatments. I also agree that if I do not pay Empire any of the money owed when it is due, I can be charged a late fee of 1.5% or as otherwise allowed by applicable law, on the amount owed for each month the money is owed and not paid.

I also agree that if my payment is returned unpaid by my financial institution, I authorize the electronic debit or use of a bank draft from my account in the amount of the payment plus a service charge of $25, or the maximum allowed by law. I also agree that if I default on my promises under this agreement, and Empire hires an attorney to enforce this agreement, that I will pay Empire its reasonable legal fees and related costs or expenses, as long as it is legal for me to do that."

Replies
DO NOT HIRE Empire Today--Save Your Money and Time. Worse Experience Ever.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE -- I was comparing prices for my project and the only reason I hired Empire Today is because the sales representative assured me that if anything goes wrong Empire will make sure that they FIX it. Even if it is a wood color that I didn't like. I had my floor installed a couple of months back. I was told that they only work weekdays and the project will take 6-7 hours.

The installers didn't show up until 10:30 am. They didn't finish the work and started packing up without even telling me that they are leaving at 4 pm. When I asked they said they will come back tomorrow, like I DO NOT HAVE A JOB??? They were supposed to show up at 8 am the next day and I got a call at 6:45 am that "HE" is standing outside my door. I told him that his appointment was at 8 am and he didn't respond. Two other installers showed up later and they were just rushing to "FINISH" the job. When I did the inspection I told them that the installation is not right and the quarter rounds have nails visible. They said "this is the best they can do".

I called the sales representative and he assured me that it will be taken care of. Another day, another appointment and the installer comes in to inspect the floor and realized it is not glued properly, it creaks when you walk on it. He said he will need to order more wood and needs to schedule another day for installation. He scheduled a Sunday on a long weekend since he can not work on Saturdays. We didn't make any plans for the weekend since we had this appointment and sent a text to my sales guy to confirm the appointment on Friday evening. I was told that my appointment is on Saturday - SURPRISE!!!

I got a call from Empire today on Saturday morning at 8 am that the installer had a family emergency and they will need to reschedule. I told her that my original appointment was on Sunday and she said that she will call the installer and call me right back to confirm. Have not heard back from her yet -- been a week already.

I wish I would have read reviews online before trusting them. This 6-7 hours job has tuned into few months and I am still waiting for a resolution. Take my advice do not hire them. Just go to Lowe's or Home Depot. At least they stand behind their work. I have hired them for other projects in past and never had an issue.

Update 06/18/2016:

UPDATE - June 17, 2016

I had someone contact me from customer service after I wrote my review. They scheduled an appointment to fix the installation issue on June 17, 2016 (two weeks from the day we got a call from customer service). I asked them for a Sunday appointment and they insisted that I make an appointment on Saturday so they can track if someone doesn't show up. I agreed to the appointment and was hoping to have this resolved. I got a text from my sales person on June 15, 2016 begging me to change my appointment to Sunday so the installer who was scheduled last time can come to fix the issue. I told him that Empire customer service specifically told me not to schedule Sunday so they can track the progress. He kept on insisting to move my appointment to Sunday and I stopped responding. On June 16th around 11 am I got a call from the local empire office just telling me that my appointment for June 17th has been cancelled and an installer will be at our house on Sunday. I called the local office back and told them that they can't keep on cancelling my appointments like this and the guy who was talking to me said "this is the only day the installer who is qualified to fix your floor can work". I told him that they have done this to me on numerous occasions and I am tired of wasting my time like this. Besides I made plans for Sunday since my appointment was on Saturday, and your customer service specifically told me not to schedule Sunday. He said that customer service and the people talking to me have no idea what is going on and I should listen to him.

At this point I am sick and tired of dealing with Empire and I just want a refund. The wood was never installed right to begin with and now I have to hire someone to take it out and reinstall.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >