Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Today - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 42 ratings and
76 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, IL 60014
800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empiretoday.com
customersupport@empiretoday.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Salesperson Was the Worst!!! (**)
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- Salesperson came to my house because I wouldn't sign right away got very mad at me. Told me I was cheap that I have two Mercedes sitting in the driveway. How could I be so cheap and started getting loud with me. I called my husband who was at the firehouse, I salesperson was so rude my husband told me to call the police. I called the Corp. Office and filed a complaint and was told someone would get back w/ me in two business day, well it's been a week. And to make matter worst why did the salesperson ** call me on 8/7/13 and wonder if I was still interested.

Company Response :

Deborah, we were disappointed to read about your sales appointment, as this is not the experience we expect for our customers. It is never our intention for our customers to feel pressured or uncomfortable, and we would like to speak to you further about this situation. We are not able to locate your account with the information posted here, but please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will follow up with you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Don't buy anything from Empire
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

The salesman was friendly but pushy. He kept saying that he was a decorator and knows what will work. He pushed certain carpeting and window treatments. I finally caved in and bought the whole thing. I believe I got the wrong carpeting and definitely got the wrong window treatments. The salesman then claimed to be sick for 3 weeks. I told him that I wanted one window blind and that there is a refund. He said he would look into it.

Three weeks later I called Empire and they said it will be under advisement for one week. The salesman never told them about the refund. Now I have to meet the salesman at a local Starbucks to look at a piece of carpeting to assess whether it's the right one. I hate Empire.

Company Response :

Thank you for bringing your situation to our attention, Deanna. It's disappointing that these issues have not yet been resolved, and we can assure you that we take your concerns very seriously. We will be following up with you shortly regarding your overpayment and to confirm you received the correct products. If you have any additional questions, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Empire Today - High Pressure, Ignorant Salesperson
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- I had an appointment with Empire today - the arrival window from 1-3. The sales girl called to say she was going to be late. Upon arrival - after 3 - she told me how she put another customer off to get here on time. Why would they book so many appointments for the same time? She seemed tired and overworked but rather pleasant. That was short-lived.

The carpet samples seemed cheap and junky. The promo was buy 1 room, get 2 free. I needed carpet in my living room, master bedroom, hallway and 2 other bedrooms plus a hallway. She wrote all of these different prices down on a sheet of paper. The starting price was close to 9800.00 - WHAT??? BUT with discounts and promos and the promise to sign on the dotted line for next day delivery the price dropped to 4,000.

When I told her I was going to price shop and get other prices, she threw the paperwork in her briefcase, proceeded to turn nasty and said she wasted her time filling out the paperwork. I explained to her that I never make any large purchase without shopping around and she should respect that. She went from pleasant and good humored to beyond ignorant in a matter of seconds.

I went to a local, privately owned carpet store. As soon as I walked in, right there hanging on the wall was an article about Empire and their sleazy tactics. It was in a carpet magazine. Made me laugh. Not only did I get a better carpet, I got it for over 1500.00 cheaper!!! Empire Today can keep their high-priced, low-quality carpet and their nasty, high-pressured sales staff.

Company Response :

Susan, we regret that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. Your experience is not in line with the world-class service we always strive to provide, as we never want our customers to feel pressured to purchase. We would like to make things right for you, and we will be following up with you shortly to discuss the situation. If you have any additional questions or concerns, you can also contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Not Great
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- First of all 99 dollar ad that made me call in first place was very deceptive. The salesman blew it off like what would we expect for $99. Salesman also spent a lot of time criticizing my old carpet and promising that their way of installation would be far superior. Specifically I was told that the steps would not be waterfall. When the steps were finished they were in fact waterfall and the installers said of course that this was the best message and that the salesperson did not know what he was talking about.

Additionally, the carpet was up for quality, and it does not feel that a pad is under it. In the end the money that I spent was definitely way over what I probably should have spent for the finished product. I wish that I would have waited until I could afford it a better product. Now I feel that I'm stuck with this for many years if it holds up. I plan to call the company back and ask them to redo the steps especially since they made such a big deal about it and put them in the same way that the previous installers did. Feeling taken advantage of in Pittsburgh.

Company Response :

We were disappointed to read about your experience, as we never want our customers to be dissatisfied with our products or service. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. The sale applied to the product cost only, and we also offer a price match guarantee. We would like the opportunity to speak to you so that we can learn more about you concerns with your product and installation. Unfortunately, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will reach out to you to work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Warranty Ignored - Good Job Empire
By -

CALIFORNIA -- I had some work done in the house by Empire before, and I had no complaint about it, so I called Empire for some more business. I was under the impression that I will have a pleasant experience as before, but I was in for a ride this time. May 2011 is when it all started, the salesmen showed up, and gave me a pressure squeezer must spend money today or else all prices will skyrocket... Yeah I bought into it. Got the papers signed money was placed in the guys hand, and the rest upon completion of work.

The crew showed up with one guy able to speak English and the rest, well, not too sure, but I cared less since I am more concerned about quality work, then if the installers can talk at all. They proceeded to tear out my good carpet, and start laying the laminate. The tools they used would make an OSHa representative pull out a thick pad and would have a field day writing up all the problems, no blade guards on saw, no protective eyewear, the cord they used was duct taped and electrical taped in several spots. I should have guessed how this will turn out...

Anyhow, the foreman of the group explained that the floor must be level grinded all the highs, and the lows should be filled so the laminate will not "bounce". They spent a good hour and a half grinding, but no fills. I guess it was all well, and they laid the padding and the laminate. It was getting into the afternoon, and I told them I was allergic to mosquito bites, and to keep screen door closed. They managed to poke a big hole with their fingers through my screen door damaging it. At 10:30 pm they called it a day, and wanted me to sign papers, which I did, but I told them I can't really look at it over since I am tired, and will look at it the next day.

Next day I find that the laminate bounces in several areas, and the joining area to the kitchen its totally crooked. Manager came out takes pictures, sets up appointment for crew to come out to fix. Crew comes back (even after I told manager not to send same crew)... they tear up half the area, and hall to patch the lows, put cement down and try to smooth it out, replace laminate. They discover that the worker who was on the job where the kitchen meets the room has cut things short, and that is why the transition is crooked to "cover up" this mistake.

While they were ripping the floors up to do this repair, they manage to scuff up my walls where the 4" wood toe boards go around the base of wall. After they left, I called the manager back up to complain about this terrible job. She looked at the screen, looked at the walls, looked at the way they placed one door stop so the door know would hit the wall. She took pictures, and left, but no call back. I re-initiated the contact around Sept 2011 and supervisor said they were waiting for me to get a third party for estimate on repairs, which I did for the walls, and screen door.

They said they will credit account. No credit. Called back. Oh now it's a check they are sending. No check. The company insisted again on their third party to check what I was talking about, cause they probably had no clue what the manager did with the picture, and her notes on this issue. Third party comes out discovers laminate is defective. Empire decides to replace it. But in order for them to replace an In Warranty I must sign a form that I will promise not to post a gripe, I will not talk about my problems. I refuse to have my freedom of speech trampled.

HERE IS MY GRIPE EMPIRE! They want me to sign a form prior to installation that says they did a good job! Amazing. I feel this is a threat, and let them know. The crew finally comes out, a manager is with them, and we talk calmly about this nonsense, and watch from 8 am till 4 pm as the laminate goes into the room. I watch as the crew removes molding and tear more paint off my wall further damaging my property, and I point this out to the manager. This is a different crew as before. (By now you could guess Empire has NO WORKING CREW, they SUB CONTRACT!!!!)

These guys lack of OSHA safety is as the others. No safety whatsoever, and I point this out to the manager. I inspect the install. Run my hand across the laminate where is is supposed to be a smooth transition, but it's rippled. I say nothing except to have the manager run her hand through it. Then the foreman... they both feel the same low quality of the material. (Another bad batch???) Then I point out the flexing areas, and I ask one of the workers if that could be fixed, and he said, "yes but the whole floor needs to be taken up." I said "go for it! Fix it." They look at each other as if I asked them how magnets work?

The manager calls another manager on the phone we wait about 20 min for response. Offer on table is to pick a different material, maybe that is not impacted with low quality. A few days later she shows up with another sales representative and samples. We pick the material, and she said her manager still has to approve this. I get an email from the manager, with a contract attached (as before trying to get me to sign a "you can't talk, post about your gripe" paper, and that I will make sure the California State Licensing board will be notified that all is well PRIOR TO INSTALL. Come on.... if it was maybe AFTER, but before? No thanks!

I sent a letter back stating that there were 4 options and I am willing to go either way. First option was to just replace the laminate with the laminate we picked original, give me money to repair damages to house, and I will not sign any documents. Second was replace laminate with the new pick of laminate and they still give me money to repair my property, and I still do not sign documents. Third was to give me back my old carpet which was in good to excellent shape, and give me full refund, and some money to repair my property, and I will not sign any documents.

The fourth was let's go to court and see how a judge likes a company not honoring warranty they claim to support. The date was set up for install and it was January 19th 2012 nobody showed up. By not showing up she has made her statement well known to me, and now to the world where Empire Today stands. Their warranty is nonexistent, and a consumer must go to extreme measures to get anyone moving in the way so the warranty is upheld.

If the representative of Empire Today dares to write any smart comment to contact her on phone or Email, it's pure fraudulent, and I have tried over the past months to get results. It is not working! I do hope lawyers are reading these "gripes." If you want work, please contact me. Los Angeles, California area. Looking forward to discussing legal action against Empire today with you.

Replies
NEVER use Empire Today for Carpet, Laminate, Hardwood Flooring
By -

I contracted with Empire Carpet to install carpeting in 4 rooms and a vinyl floor in my kitchen during their "Buy 2 Rooms and Get the rest for free" sale. That was my biggest mistake ever. I met with the salesman that reviewed my home on a Saturday morning. He was nice. That's the best thing I can say about him (more on him later). I purchased 5 total rooms of flooring that was to be installed the following Tuesday (all carpet) and Friday (vinyl kitchen floor).

Only one person that showed up on the carpeting team spoke English... not good. He promised me when he arrived he would do a professional job in all of the rooms. That pleased me. About 4 hours later, he told me he only had enough carpeting to put in 3 of the 4 bedrooms and that he would have to come out again to finish the job. I told him to either credit me BACK the money I paid that Tuesday morning or bring another role of carpeting to finish the job today. HE SAID HE COULDN'T DO EITHER!!! I quickly got on the phone to my salesman who could make absolutely no decision whatsoever when I explained the situation to him. All my salesman could do is apologize.

Finally, after a couple hours on the phone with the Empire "team"... they agreed to take off $750 my Tuesday bill. I was happy with that at the time (but wait! There will be more on this!) Since I agreed to have the vinyl floor put in on Friday, I stated I wanted the carpeting team there at the exact same time as the vinyl floor people to minimize the time I would be out of work...

The vinyl team showed up Friday morning and finished early Friday afternoon. The carpeting team arrived at 2:00 pm Friday afternoon as the vinyl team was leaving. I placed numerous calls to the Empire team... nobody cared. Nobody agreed to do anything. I was out of work another entire day. The vinyl looks nice in my kitchen... However, I have a sliding door to a bathroom off of my kitchen, and they put a threshold in that blocks the sliding door from opening. I had to schedule a time for the Empire Team to come and fix my sliding door problem.

Also, when they were installing the carpeting in one of the bedrooms, they broke a wood threshold between the carpeting and the hallway. This took 3 (yes, THREE) visits from the Empire team to fix. All of this time I had to miss work. The lying Empire Today team NEVER gave me a credit for my $750... they only told me they did. Empire Today's management team did not care. They just stated "your work is done, and you've paid your money".

I will never use Empire Today team again. What a worthless outfit. If you enjoy headaches, missing work, getting lied to, and listen to the English speaking Empire employees complain about the company they work for, then by all means... please use Empire Today. Everybody else should stay far, far away.

Company Response 03/23/2011:

Kevin, we're sorry for the inconveniences you were caused before and after your product's installation. It's my understanding you've spoken with a member of our Customer Service Team yesterday and that we were able to verify that your credit was processed approximately two weeks ago. It's my understanding that you're satisfied at this time, but if there's anything else we can do for you, please let me know. You can email me at customersupport@empiretoday.com or contact me via phone at 888-588-2315 x 4195. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service

Replies
Dissatisfaction with Service/Treatment Letter
By -

2918 BRICK CHURCH PIKE, NASHVILLE, TENNESSEE -- I am writing to notify you of how unhappy I am with the service and treatment my husband and I have received. On May 21, we placed an order for new vinyl to be put in our kitchen and laundry room. I paid in full that day for the total cost of the materials and installation order in the amount of $1349.00. We were told that it would all be done and finished in a week. The installation should only take 4-5 hours or so. The installation was scheduled for Tuesday June 1. Our check was cashed a week later.

The installer called about 9 am that morning to notify me that he would be at our home soon but needed to stop and Home Depot for supplies. He said to expect him in about 30 minutes. An hour and a half later he called to tell me that he forgot something at the office and had to go back to the warehouse and pick it up. He finally arrived that day around 1 pm with another installer. This installer's name was ** and during his time at our home repeated told us how we didn't need to contact Empire for any other work because he could get us a much better deal through him and the people he works with.

He stapled our floor down along the edges - telling us that that is how you install flooring now because it's the best way (I don't know. I believed since he was your installer he must know what he was doing.) He and his fellow installer informed me that I could not walk on the floor for at least 24 hours. They even made sure to point out a small area that I could walk but nowhere else.

The next morning when I could "walk" on the floor is when I noticed the horrible job that was done. The laundry room (one of the areas I supposedly couldn't even get to in order to look at) was cut 1/2" short of the wall. That was a large star shaped tear alongside the doorway from the laundry room and kitchen where the installer had glued it back.

The Staples that he placed in the floor were so far away from the wall that we wouldn't be able to cover with the molding/quarter round. The floor had huge air bubbles in it and anytime I sweep the floor it would roll along with the broom. The vinyl would create waves and rolls when my computer chair was rolled on it as well. I called that very day and filed a complaint.

I was told by customer service that they would have to schedule for the "review" installer to come out and determine if "it really needed to be completely replaced or if it can just be repaired". I was told that you only have one person who is qualified to determine these matters and I would have to schedule a time with them. The time was scheduled for him to come out on Tuesday June 8th. We would be his first stop that morning.

June 8th at 9 am (after I called to determine where the installer was) I received a phone call from the installer, who in broken English informed me that he wouldn't be able to be at my house for at least another 2.5 more like 3 hours. I asked why since I had things I needed to take care of. He told me that he had other customers to take care of first and that he wouldn't be there for another 3 hours. I verified with him that he would be there around 11:30 am or 12:00 pm and he once again repeated that it would probably not be till 12:00 pm. I told him that I would run my errands and be back to meet him then.

I got home at 11:20 am to find a message on my machine. The installer had gotten there at 11:10 am and left stating that we had to reschedule. When I called and my husband called we were both told that the installer could not come back out that day. We were told that we should have stayed at the house that it was our job not your company's to arrange our schedule around them. Once again we were told that he was the "only one" qualified to check the floor to see how bad it was they would not send a manager or anyone else out.

After called again, my husband took off Friday June 11 to be able to have installer come out to look at the horrible installation that had been done. (Of course this was a different guy. Not the "only one" installer that I had dealt with on Tuesday.) This installer confirmed the installation was completely unacceptable and arrangements were once again made. Because our family vacation / daughter's National Dance competition was the following week, we scheduled for the replacement installation to be done on Tuesday, June 22. (The first Tuesday after getting back.)

I received a voicemail message this morning (June 22) at 8:15 am stating that your company couldn't preform the installation today and it would have to be rescheduled again. The vinyl for the order was somehow left off the truck. It was left in the warehouse in Atlanta, GA. When I called back and spoke with ** in the local office, I asked why it hadn't been shipped before now and held locally for this job. "Well that's not how we do it" was the reply I got.

She told me that it was standard policy to order and ship the supplies/merchandise the night before the job. The order should have been placed and shipped into the local warehouse/holding dock to make sure all supplies were ready for the job but when I mentioned this, she once again told me that was not how you handle it.

After crying and letting her know how I was upset because this has been ongoing for a month now, she said she could "put a $100. credit to our bill for the inconvenience". I made sure to let her know that I had already paid in full and the check had been cashed and I still don't have my floor done. She never even acknowledged that she or your company were sorry for all the trouble. When I asked for the address and name of a person to contact, I was given this email and told that I might just have to keep sending emails. I couldn't talk to anyone or get a physical address.

I have since contacted the sales representative who sold us the floor to notify her that I will not be ordering the hardwood flooring that we had discussed and I would never recommend Empire to anyone because of everything we have had to deal with and the way we have been treated. My washing machine, dryer, and stove are now out on my front porch. My refrigerated, dining room table, boxes of pantry items, and computer file cabinet, computer, etc. are all in my living room. My China cabinet, computer desk and various items are in my garage.

I have been living like this for a month now because of these circumstances. I just got back from a week's vacation and have laundry to do and now I can't even do that today. I want a FULL REFUND of my money. I don't want to have to deal with any of this or your company anymore. I intend on contacting the Better Business Bureau and filing a formal complaint. I will not be doing any further business nor will I recommend Empire to anyone else because of the way we have been treated.

Company Response 06/23/2010:

Thank you for bringing your installation experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience this situation may have caused you. Our customer service team is currently reviewing your concerns, and will continue to be in contact with you

Replies
Lies and Defective Flooring from Empire Today LLC
By -

333 NORTHWEST AVE, NORTHLAKE, ILLINOIS -- The salesman for Empire Today LLC, made several claims regarding the performance of their laminate flooring. We told him we had dogs; in fact, the dogs were under food. We shared with him our concern about 2 dog-related issues: 1) scratches from the dogs nails, and 2) moisture (if you catch my drift). ** said that the laminate flooring was very resistant to scratches and dents. He said the floor would not dent even if we dropped a pot on it. He also said that the boards were tested under water and did not de-laminate. We asked him what we should used to clean the floor and he said that we should go on to Empire's website.

**, also told us the boards were random length and that each board was unique (a different pattern from all the others). The floor was laid the next day. As the floor was being laid we noticed an oily film on the floor. We asked the installers about this and they said that the film should come up after cleaning. I asked them what we should used to clean the floor and they said just water. The boards were not random length. There were only 5 different boards. The installers laid them so that identical boards were laid next to each other with 8 inch offsets. This gave the floor a bizarre diagonal pattern.

The day after the floor was laid I set out to clean the oil film off the floor, because it looked terrible and left footprints everywhere you walked. I went on Empire'€™s website to look for cleaning instructions. On the webpage titled "Laminate Flooring€“ - Subhead Maintenance"€ it advises me to vacuum frequently or to use a dust mop. On the webpage titled "€œCleaning"€ there are no recommendations.

Well, I know that vacuuming or dust mopping will not remove an oily film, so I used water. I put tap water in a spray bottle and mopped with a microfiber dust mop putting only a minimal amount of water on the floor. It didn'€™t do any good. The floor still looked terrible and wherever you stepped you left a footprint in the oily film.

In the next few days I tried various things to clean. I thought that may be the fact that our tap water has both chlorine and fluoride in it might have something to do with it. So I cleaned the floor again with filtered water (no chlorine, no fluoride). It still didn't look any better. So I went online and Googled ways to clean laminate flooring. Several people recommended 1 cup of vinegar in a gallon of water, so I tried that. That didn'€™t work. Other people recommended equal parts of water, alcohol and vinegar, so I tried that. That didn'€™t work. To this day I have found nothing that will clean the only film off the floor.

Exactly 5 days and 1 hour after the floor was installed we notice that several boards were starting to bubble up on the edges. The lamination was coming apart. By this time we were quite frustrated with this floor and decided we just didn'€™t want it. I called Empire. After a lot of trouble (customer service offers no customer service), I was finally able to speak with **, the National Customer Service Manager. I told her my complaints and she said she would send out an independent flooring inspector.

Between that telephone call and the inspection we noticed more boards becoming de-laminated in addition to several dents (we have not dropped anything on the floor). In fact, every week that goes by we find more boards coming delaminated. The inspector came and did his thing. I asked him how to clean the floor and he said to use a half cup of ammonia to 2 gallons of water. So after he left I tried that solution, but that was the worst of all!

Empire has offered to replace the damaged boards but has offered no assistance or advice on how to clean the oily film off the floor. More boards are becoming delaminated every week. We cannot live with a floor that is constantly needing to have boards replaced or a floor that looks terrible because it can'€™t be cleaned. We believe the floor is doubly defective. We have filed a complaint with the Illinois Attorney General and have file a civil lawsuit (small claims) against Empire for the cost of the floor ($5900).

Company Response 03/24/2010:

Thank you for bringing your flooring experience to our attention. We apologize for any inconvenience, and our customer service team would like to work with you to explore a resolution. Please contact us at 800-588-2300 so we can assist you.

Sincerely,
Consumer Advocate Team
Empire Today, LLC

Replies
Advertisement
Bad Empire Floor!!
By -

BAYSIDE, NEW YORK -- 1st day: One guy came to do estimate and said $9400 for about 600 sq ft floor. Expensive.. but what can I do.. signed for paper. 2nd day: 4 guys came around 9 am. A little later, had problem about removing old hard wood floor b/c I didn't get permission but solved it in 1 hr. Plan: Not remove old one and put new floor above it. Now it's $8900... still expensive.. 4 guys went to lunch about 2 hr 30mins. Removed some of moldings and old fake laminate. Went home about 4 pm.

3rd day: 4 guys came. They didn't go for break. Couldn't do more work about 4 pm b/c they didn't bring enough moldings. So they did some small work and left about 6 pm. OK.. I can wait.. Until that time, I was very happy to have new floor with empire.

4th day: 3 guys came and also didn't go for lunch. When I asked something, guy A said they still have lots of details to do. 'OK..then..OK'. I even bought PIZZA for them. They almost finished but they didn't do 'Details'. Some of my walls are broken when they removed moldings and one small molding wasn't nailed which means they didn't do 'DETAILS'. I also see some holes on my walls. They tried to leave those like that but I told guy A to cover the hole. He just did 2 which I pointed at but I found more when they left.

When they removed old moldings, they took out one of outlet line. And guy B tried to tell me 'Be careful with that outlet'. He tried to leave that outlet lying on the floor. It was INSIDE of the wall NOT LYING on the FLOOR. Of course I told him to put it on the wall but lines still stays OUT OF THE WALL. It looks so ugly. I need to call someone to fix it. And guy C came to us and asked 'what's going on with it?' and the guy B said "Don't speak in English". And they kept talking in Spanish.

They were in a hurry to leave. I also asked to guy A 'Is this how empire working?' but didn't get proper answer for that. He just covered 2 hole that I pointed. They left. They even avoided eye contact with me last few hours. I found more holes and broken wall and details are very very ugly. If anybody wants to do the new floor, don't call empire. If you don't have any choice except Empire, and if you are woman and not American, call someone who is American and if possible call MALE person. They wouldn't do work like they did to me. I'm very sorry I couldn't show the pictures I took after they left.

Oh, I almost forgot. I needed to make emergency call to sales person who came the 1st day to estimate. It was about 6 pm but I'm pretty sure it was before 6 pm. He picked it up and said 'hello hello' and hang up. I called again of course and he turned his cell phone off. I called few times more but it didn't go through. He set up his cell phone that wouldn't let me leave a message. No wonder, he didn't call me back next day. Is this how Empire working with people? I will never work with them again and I wouldn't let people who I know work with them either.

Replies
Didn't Offer Service As Advertised
By -

MIDDLETOWN, PENNSYLVANIA -- I was doing research on have a few floors in my home redone with laminate flooring. After deciding not to take on the project myself I got a few quotes on having the work done for me. I did got a few from local companies and decided to check out Empire since they advertised the lowest price around and next day installation.

First of all it is a very high pressure salesman who comes to your door. They will spend the first half hour making small talk and trying to charm you. Then after lots of wasted time they will try to give you a quote. Our initial price was $5900.00 but they were running a %30 off sale so he recalculated and said the price was now $4700.00. As I said I had done some homework and new that he was more than double prices elsewhere. They try to tell you it is so much more because the competitors will all hit you with hidden fees, and their product is superior.

After asking him to leave he gave me the "I really like you sales pitch" he said he needed to call his manager to see if he could give me his employee discount. Anyway after all his games we negotiated a price of just over $2100.00. This was still a little high but my wife was very excited about having it done the next day so we figured we were paying for that service.

The next day arrives and so do the installers. They are both very nice but say that the salesman didn't give them the proper SF so they don't have enough product to do the job. So now I have a kitchen and dining room and main floor hallway that are a complete mess. Oh yes and to get the 2100.00 I had to remove the carpet and pad myself before they arrived. So now they can't do the job and will need to return tomorrow. I complained to him and he said it happens quite often with this salesman.

I also looked at the product and noticed it was not the same as the sample shown to me. I talked to "Steve" some kind of manager and he assured me it was. It is not, the installer told me that just about everyone complains that the thickness in the product being installed is not what they were shown. Trust me it is not so do not listen to the speech of a thicker superior product. It is not and they will not do anything for you. The installer also asked what warranty I was offered. Most of the installed product because they are thinner do not have the same warranty as the thicker stuff they show you.

Bottom line, stick with the locals who pride themselves in the business and their reputations. Empire is only a high pressure sales type company who only want to close the sale. They will not give you what they offer in their attempts to make the sale. And they will not back up their products.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >