Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Today - Page 3

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 48 ratings and
81 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, IL 60014
800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empiretoday.com
customersupport@empiretoday.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Not Truthful on Estimate and Pushy Sales Man
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CHATSWORTH, CALIFORNIA -- We called for a free carpet estimate for 3 bedrooms (10x10) (12x10) & 16x12 and 13 stairs. We were shown cheap carpet stating it was high end and it didn't have the Company name on samples, but Empire's name. The sales guy tried to state it was Shaw, but I don't think Shaw would like that their name wasn't on these samples. Then he never showed us his true estimate just gave us a 50% off deal for installation, padding and carpet.

Our cost after the 50% was $2,250.00... We had other estimates for much less and it included better carpet and installation, padding & moving furniture. When we told him we're still shopping and not sure yet, he started that fake phone call to his boss to get a better deal and he was a horrible actor and you could tell he wasn't even talking to anyone. Then gave us $250.00 off, he became to change his attitude and putting down our carpet we had and tried to give us a week to think about it but with a $50.00 deposit refundable up to a week.

I didn't fall for any of his horrible sales antics and was done. We said "no thank you" and we did our research and read reviews and read our story over and over. Shame on you Empire for just not sending good sales men and being more honest. Funny thing is basically stating it would of originally cost us for 3 bedrooms not even large rooms and 13 stairs that it would of cost us for low grade $4500.00 without the sale? Please give us homeowners better credit!!!! Bad Business!!!!

Company Response :

Hi Deb, we were disappointed to read your review, but we appreciate that you've taken the time to share your concerns with your sales appointment. It's disappointing that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations, and we'd like to learn more about what happened. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. We also offer a price match guarantee. Unfortunately, we cannot locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email your contact info to customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will reach out to you. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Salesman Sold Us Two Types of Floors We Could Not Use
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SOUTH HACKENSACK, NEW JERSEY -- We ordered kitchen flooring from Empire. We agreed on wood planking. After a week the men came to install it. We were told the floors were not level and they could not install it without it cracking. We were frustrated and were willing to accept white tile and the salesman promised to have the floors leveled as well.

When the men came to install they AGAIN stated it too would crack and refused to install it: and there was nothing about leveling the floors on the paperwork. This was a week before Thanksgiving and our floors were a wreck. Empire offered $300.00 off of rugs we had installed as well, but it did not restore our trust in salesmen who misrepresent the facts to sell floors.

Company Response :

Hi James, thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We are aware of the issues that prevented your installation from being completed, and we regret any inconvenience that occurred as a result. We understand that we've been in contact with you about these issues, and we'd be happy to discuss this further and address any unresolved concerns. You can reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Jeanette Ramey, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Buy One Room, Get 3 Free Ads! "FRAUDULENT"!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

GLADSTONE, OREGON -- We responded to the TV ad (buy one room, get 3 free). The year before we had our living room carpet replaced for about $800.00, but because of a new carpet burn from our fire place, we decided to take advantage of the ad offer and get a couple small bedrooms done as well. Even with the ad I knew there was bound to be extra charges. So I expected to pay double the living room costs. The sales bid came in at over $5000.00!

I asked the sales girl, "How's that possible considering the ad"? She said the carpet was free for the extra rooms but we had to pay all labor. I asked how much per yard she was charging for the matching carpet. She had charged us 3 times the retail value for the carpet. Empire Flooring is the worst way to go for flooring. Go to a flooring store and find a reputable, local installer if you want a "real" fair rate for flooring and installation. Stay away from TV ads!

Company Response :

Carl, it's disappointing that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. We understand that you've gone with another company, but we would like the opportunity to learn more about your concerns and better explain our all inclusive pricing, as well as the promotion. If you're interested in speaking with us, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x3555 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Angelica Snell, Resolution Team Manager

Replies
Don't Waste Your Time or Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- We contacted Empire today for an estimate on new carpeting in our entire house. An Empire Today salesperson came out with samples of carpet and gave us an estimate of approx. $3000. He assured us that the carpet was good quality, and that there is a 10 year warranty should anything happen to it, such as excessive wear or stains. It also came with a 1 year installation warranty. We decided to purchase. Not even 2 months later, the new carpet looked worse than the 10 year old carpet we had replaced with it. It was worn down to almost nothing and it was falling apart from the seams and from the middle of the floor.

We do not by any means abuse our carpet. We never wear shoes in the house, we vacuum at least twice a week, etc. So we called Empire and they told us that they would send an inspector out to look at it. Instead of an inspector, an Empire salesperson came out, but even he told us that there was clearly a problem with the carpet and that he said he would request a full replacement of an upgraded carpet. He took pictures and went on his way.

Over 2 weeks later, after not hearing anything from Empire, I called them to check on our claim. The lady on the phone told us that the claim had been denied because, from the pictures, they could not see any defect in the carpet or the installation. When I asked to see a copy of the pictures, I was told that the salesman who took them passed away and they did not have access to his computer. After fighting with them for weeks, and filing a complaint with the BBB, they finally

Company Response :

Amanda, we regret that this matter has not yet been resolved. We understand that we have been in contact with you previously, and we will continue to work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Designer/ Contractor - "Empire a Good Value"
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

CLEVELAND, OHIO -- After reading the reviews of a few disgruntled consumers, mostly directed at sales persons tactics, I had to jump in and give a professional opinion...I have 30 years of national design and architecture experience specifying and installing the finest materials. Empire's commission based sales staff is as varied as any other group of people trying to make a living, but their products (out of necessity) are the same as any other retailer...you simply get what you pay for.

Of course anyone who has to foot the bill to schlep samples all over town with no promise of a paycheck is going to be disappointed, maybe even desperate, if a sale isn't made, and isn't it human nature to let those feelings show?
Nothing in life is free, including the gas it takes to show up at your door....so visiting a dealer where you really see multiple prices and qualities makes a much more informed buyer......recently I used Empire again for a house I was flipping and they did an absolutely superb job.

Maybe beauty, or irritation, is in the eye of the beholder, and the disgruntled Empire customers are simply inexperienced buyers whose limited purchasing expertise is showing.....and their evaluation of their salesmen overly critical.

Company Response 08/19/2013:

We're thrilled to know we were able impress you with our sales and service. Thank you for the recommendation, we look forward to working with you on your next project. – Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Carpet Does Not Hold Up to Traffic Wear Over Short Time
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- I purchased carpet for our living room, dining room and hall 1 1/2 years ago. At the 1 year mark they called wanting to know if we were satisfied. I had just been telling my husband how disappointed I was in how the carpet looked dull in the traffic areas and that the luster was gone compared to non traffic areas and how nice they looked. This was 1 year after installation and we had been gone to AZ for 4 months during this time. Empire came out, took samples, tested them and called back saying the manufacturer was replacing the carpet due to defect. All new carpet installed.

We're 5 months down the road, and again we had been gone for 2 months to AZ so 3 months of use and the traffic pattern is showing a definite wear and the luster is gone again. Empire came out, took samples, tested and called back saying there was nothing wrong.

This is actually too bad, because I was going to replace our carpet in AZ next spring using their services. At this point I am very disappointed that I have a carpet that will most likely need to be replaced in the next year or so because the wear is not satisfactory. I will never use Empire again and feel that they let me down and their name is one that can be trusted. To make it easy on yourself and save money long term, I would carefully select another carpet company.

Company Response :

Vickie, we regret that your product is not meeting your expectations, as we always want our customers to be completely satisfied with the products they receive. It's disappointing that you've still been experiencing issues, and we will be following up with you shortly to discuss the situation in more detail. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Salesperson Was the Worst!!! (**)
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- Salesperson came to my house because I wouldn't sign right away got very mad at me. Told me I was cheap that I have two Mercedes sitting in the driveway. How could I be so cheap and started getting loud with me. I called my husband who was at the firehouse, I salesperson was so rude my husband told me to call the police. I called the Corp. Office and filed a complaint and was told someone would get back w/ me in two business day, well it's been a week. And to make matter worst why did the salesperson ** call me on 8/7/13 and wonder if I was still interested.

Company Response :

Deborah, we were disappointed to read about your sales appointment, as this is not the experience we expect for our customers. It is never our intention for our customers to feel pressured or uncomfortable, and we would like to speak to you further about this situation. We are not able to locate your account with the information posted here, but please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will follow up with you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Don't buy anything from Empire
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

The salesman was friendly but pushy. He kept saying that he was a decorator and knows what will work. He pushed certain carpeting and window treatments. I finally caved in and bought the whole thing. I believe I got the wrong carpeting and definitely got the wrong window treatments. The salesman then claimed to be sick for 3 weeks. I told him that I wanted one window blind and that there is a refund. He said he would look into it.

Three weeks later I called Empire and they said it will be under advisement for one week. The salesman never told them about the refund. Now I have to meet the salesman at a local Starbucks to look at a piece of carpeting to assess whether it's the right one. I hate Empire.

Company Response :

Thank you for bringing your situation to our attention, Deanna. It's disappointing that these issues have not yet been resolved, and we can assure you that we take your concerns very seriously. We will be following up with you shortly regarding your overpayment and to confirm you received the correct products. If you have any additional questions, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Empire Today - High Pressure, Ignorant Salesperson
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- I had an appointment with Empire today - the arrival window from 1-3. The sales girl called to say she was going to be late. Upon arrival - after 3 - she told me how she put another customer off to get here on time. Why would they book so many appointments for the same time? She seemed tired and overworked but rather pleasant. That was short-lived.

The carpet samples seemed cheap and junky. The promo was buy 1 room, get 2 free. I needed carpet in my living room, master bedroom, hallway and 2 other bedrooms plus a hallway. She wrote all of these different prices down on a sheet of paper. The starting price was close to 9800.00 - WHAT??? BUT with discounts and promos and the promise to sign on the dotted line for next day delivery the price dropped to 4,000.

When I told her I was going to price shop and get other prices, she threw the paperwork in her briefcase, proceeded to turn nasty and said she wasted her time filling out the paperwork. I explained to her that I never make any large purchase without shopping around and she should respect that. She went from pleasant and good humored to beyond ignorant in a matter of seconds.

I went to a local, privately owned carpet store. As soon as I walked in, right there hanging on the wall was an article about Empire and their sleazy tactics. It was in a carpet magazine. Made me laugh. Not only did I get a better carpet, I got it for over 1500.00 cheaper!!! Empire Today can keep their high-priced, low-quality carpet and their nasty, high-pressured sales staff.

Company Response :

Susan, we regret that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. Your experience is not in line with the world-class service we always strive to provide, as we never want our customers to feel pressured to purchase. We would like to make things right for you, and we will be following up with you shortly to discuss the situation. If you have any additional questions or concerns, you can also contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Warranty Ignored - Good Job Empire
By -

CALIFORNIA -- I had some work done in the house by Empire before, and I had no complaint about it, so I called Empire for some more business. I was under the impression that I will have a pleasant experience as before, but I was in for a ride this time. May 2011 is when it all started, the salesmen showed up, and gave me a pressure squeezer must spend money today or else all prices will skyrocket... Yeah I bought into it. Got the papers signed money was placed in the guys hand, and the rest upon completion of work.

The crew showed up with one guy able to speak English and the rest, well, not too sure, but I cared less since I am more concerned about quality work, then if the installers can talk at all. They proceeded to tear out my good carpet, and start laying the laminate. The tools they used would make an OSHa representative pull out a thick pad and would have a field day writing up all the problems, no blade guards on saw, no protective eyewear, the cord they used was duct taped and electrical taped in several spots. I should have guessed how this will turn out...

Anyhow, the foreman of the group explained that the floor must be level grinded all the highs, and the lows should be filled so the laminate will not "bounce". They spent a good hour and a half grinding, but no fills. I guess it was all well, and they laid the padding and the laminate. It was getting into the afternoon, and I told them I was allergic to mosquito bites, and to keep screen door closed. They managed to poke a big hole with their fingers through my screen door damaging it. At 10:30 pm they called it a day, and wanted me to sign papers, which I did, but I told them I can't really look at it over since I am tired, and will look at it the next day.

Next day I find that the laminate bounces in several areas, and the joining area to the kitchen its totally crooked. Manager came out takes pictures, sets up appointment for crew to come out to fix. Crew comes back (even after I told manager not to send same crew)... they tear up half the area, and hall to patch the lows, put cement down and try to smooth it out, replace laminate. They discover that the worker who was on the job where the kitchen meets the room has cut things short, and that is why the transition is crooked to "cover up" this mistake.

While they were ripping the floors up to do this repair, they manage to scuff up my walls where the 4" wood toe boards go around the base of wall. After they left, I called the manager back up to complain about this terrible job. She looked at the screen, looked at the walls, looked at the way they placed one door stop so the door know would hit the wall. She took pictures, and left, but no call back. I re-initiated the contact around Sept 2011 and supervisor said they were waiting for me to get a third party for estimate on repairs, which I did for the walls, and screen door.

They said they will credit account. No credit. Called back. Oh now it's a check they are sending. No check. The company insisted again on their third party to check what I was talking about, cause they probably had no clue what the manager did with the picture, and her notes on this issue. Third party comes out discovers laminate is defective. Empire decides to replace it. But in order for them to replace an In Warranty I must sign a form that I will promise not to post a gripe, I will not talk about my problems. I refuse to have my freedom of speech trampled.

HERE IS MY GRIPE EMPIRE! They want me to sign a form prior to installation that says they did a good job! Amazing. I feel this is a threat, and let them know. The crew finally comes out, a manager is with them, and we talk calmly about this nonsense, and watch from 8 am till 4 pm as the laminate goes into the room. I watch as the crew removes molding and tear more paint off my wall further damaging my property, and I point this out to the manager. This is a different crew as before. (By now you could guess Empire has NO WORKING CREW, they SUB CONTRACT!!!!)

These guys lack of OSHA safety is as the others. No safety whatsoever, and I point this out to the manager. I inspect the install. Run my hand across the laminate where is is supposed to be a smooth transition, but it's rippled. I say nothing except to have the manager run her hand through it. Then the foreman... they both feel the same low quality of the material. (Another bad batch???) Then I point out the flexing areas, and I ask one of the workers if that could be fixed, and he said, "yes but the whole floor needs to be taken up." I said "go for it! Fix it." They look at each other as if I asked them how magnets work?

The manager calls another manager on the phone we wait about 20 min for response. Offer on table is to pick a different material, maybe that is not impacted with low quality. A few days later she shows up with another sales representative and samples. We pick the material, and she said her manager still has to approve this. I get an email from the manager, with a contract attached (as before trying to get me to sign a "you can't talk, post about your gripe" paper, and that I will make sure the California State Licensing board will be notified that all is well PRIOR TO INSTALL. Come on.... if it was maybe AFTER, but before? No thanks!

I sent a letter back stating that there were 4 options and I am willing to go either way. First option was to just replace the laminate with the laminate we picked original, give me money to repair damages to house, and I will not sign any documents. Second was replace laminate with the new pick of laminate and they still give me money to repair my property, and I still do not sign documents. Third was to give me back my old carpet which was in good to excellent shape, and give me full refund, and some money to repair my property, and I will not sign any documents.

The fourth was let's go to court and see how a judge likes a company not honoring warranty they claim to support. The date was set up for install and it was January 19th 2012 nobody showed up. By not showing up she has made her statement well known to me, and now to the world where Empire Today stands. Their warranty is nonexistent, and a consumer must go to extreme measures to get anyone moving in the way so the warranty is upheld.

If the representative of Empire Today dares to write any smart comment to contact her on phone or Email, it's pure fraudulent, and I have tried over the past months to get results. It is not working! I do hope lawyers are reading these "gripes." If you want work, please contact me. Los Angeles, California area. Looking forward to discussing legal action against Empire today with you.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >