[X]

Empire Today - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
60 Reviews & Complaints
customersupport@empiretoday.com

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Installers Never Showed Up
Posted by Avanhonsebrouck on 06/22/2013
The installers never showed up for the install. We waited from 8:00am-6:00pm. We contacted Empire on installation day all the managers were not answering calls because it was a Sat. We will cancel our order.

Read Company Response
Company Response on :
Andrea, we are disappointed that your installation was not completed as scheduled. We can assure you that your experience is not in line with the level of service we expect for our customers. We take your concerns very seriously, and we will be following up with you shortly to help make things right. You can also reach us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Add reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Not great
Posted by Motleyphillipslaw on 05/25/2013
PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- First of all 99 dollar ad that made me call in first place was very deceptive. The salesman blew it off like what would we expect for $99. Salesman also spent a lot of time criticizing my old carpet and promising that their way of installation would be far superior. Specifically I was told that the steps would not be waterfall. When the steps were finished they were in fact waterfall and the installers said of course that this was the best message and that the sales person did not know what he was talking about.

Additionally, the carpet was up for quality, and it does not feel that a pad is under it. In the end the money that I spent was definitely way over what I probably should have spent for the finished product. I wish that I would have waited until I could afford it a better product. Now I feel that I'm stuck with this for many years if it holds up. I plan to call the company back and ask them to redo the steps especially since they made such a big deal about it and put them in the same way that the previous installers did. Feeling taken advantage of in Pittsburgh.
Read Company Response
Company Response on :
We were disappointed to read about your experience, as we never want our customers to be dissatisfied with our products or service. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. The sale applied to the product cost only, and we also offer a price match guarantee. We would like the opportunity to speak to you so that we can learn more about you concerns with your product and installation. Unfortunately, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will reach out to you to work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Old Timer on 2013-05-25:
I would never do business with any carpet company that says they can do a room for $99. Or around here Empire says they will do three rooms free if we buy one room.

1. That one room will be overpriced by about 75%.
2. They will lay the most inexpensive piece of crap carpet they can.
3. What do you think is paying for all those TV ads?
4. Never trust a carpet company that only sells their own cheap brand of carpet. No brand names are ever available at the promotional prices.

JMHO
Posted by Alain on 2013-05-26:
Thanks for the warnings! I live in P'burgh and eventually we'll be putting down some new carpet. We were planning on using a local flooring store and this reinforces our decision.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor sales tactics
Posted by Salgro1 on 12/26/2012
DALLAS, TEXAS -- I will get straight to the point. Salesman comes out, shows me the most expensive carpet to choose from. Salesman Refuses to show the other carpet styles available. -leaving me with only 4 choices of style. (he stated they were cheap and I would not like them) Anyway, my home is a little over 1700 square feet. I needed 3 rooms and the living room done. He quoted me almost 4 thousand dollars! I asked the sales man how he derived at those figures. (he had no tape measure and gave no price per square foot on the carpet) He could not tell me. Next, he acts like he's getting on the phone with his manager. This jerk didn't know,,that I knew,,,he was a contractor. he gets 100% commission so there was no manager to call! Anyway, He came back and stated that his manager said he can come down off the price. He came down about 50 bucks. I told him no..that won't work. He tried the phone call scheme again. Came down off another 50. Basically, I threw his ass out. (Pack your stuff...I'm not interested)
Read Company Response
Company Response on 12/26/2012:
Saliem, we’re disappointed that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. It is never our intention for our customers to feel pressured, and we’d like to speak to you further about your concerns. We would be happy to discuss our pricing in more detail, as well as any other questions you may have. A member of our customer service team will be contacting your shortly. You can also contact us with any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by madconsumer on 2012-12-26:
most helpful company response!!
Posted by trmn8r on 2012-12-26:
I don't understand how a salesman could give you a meaningful quote without taking measurements, and entering them into a computer program that figures out the cuts to result in minimum usage.

Helpful review. Thanks for letting us know. I've had carpeting quoted in the past, and nobody tried malarkey like this with me.

The fact that he couldn't tell you how he came up with the alleged "quote" shows he was a charlatan of the worst kind. I've heard nothing but complaints about Empire.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad customer service
Posted by Grl4 on 12/01/2012
RANCHO CORDOVA, CALIFORNIA -- I had a two bedroom one bath unit done in ceramic tile. $6000 job. I asked that the grout be sealed at the time of the order. When I went to see the finished product, the toilet was leaking
Water from the seal, the grout color does not match through out. The doors were all taken off and not put back? The grout was never sealed. I went and met the installer on the 20th, he did nothing, but accused me of putting water on the floor. This is a rental and no one lives there.

It has now been 12 days and I can not get a call back or anything done. I paid for the whole job at once.

I would never use empire today again and I am going to the Better Business Bureau.

Read Company Response
Company Response on 12/4/2012:
Gene, we understand that we’ve been in contact regarding your concerns and have reached a resolution. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager



     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by face it on 2012-12-09:
I am sorry to hear yet another "victim" of Empire. All the issues you pointed out in your review point to inexperience on part of the installer. What you may not know is Empire uses the lowest pay scale in the flooring market, which in turn attracts a much lower skill set of the crews doing the actual work.
Contacting the BBB will not get you very far either. As an accredited member of the BBB as long as a few guidelines are met and the enrollment fees are paid you will not an accredited business with lower than a B rating.In regards to any beneficial outcome from contacting the BBB a response from Empire is sure to follow stating how they are in compliance with any and/or all contracts and will offer you an opportunity to contact them to fix there issue of poorly installed product(s). In short they will dance around the subject avoiding any action for as long as possible. See they can wait, as to where you the customer may not be able too. Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope that it is seen by potential customers before they get taken.

KEEP IN MIND THAT EMPIRE REQUIRES 100% PAYMENT UP FRONT!! On the first day of installation, 100% payment is required before any work begins. No reputable company would do that!
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Will NEVER use Empire again!!!
Posted by Ourgarbage on 12/01/2012
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- Hardwood flooring should be a pretty easy install by professionals. I had Empire install floors in a hallway, entry way and landing. The first time it was installed completely wrong, they were going to come back and fix it. Three months, 4 installers, calls to the west coast regional manager, calls to corporate it FINALLY got done. The job... ok, but certainly shouldn't have taken 3 months and could have been done much better. I will NEVER use Empire flooring again.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 12/4/2012:
Brian, we regret the delays in completing your installation, as we never want our customers to be inconvenienced. We understand that everything has now been completed to your satisfaction, but we would like to speak to you to learn more about your experience and any concerns you may still have. A member of our customer service team will be reaching out to you soon. Please also feel free to contact us with any questions at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by face it on 2012-12-09:
When dealing with a place like Empire what the average person might not know is that the pay scale is among the lowest in the industry. The installer must have insurance as well as workman's comp and taxes + expenses, which is nothing out of the ordinary. However all of that out of pocket expense is burdened by the installer on top of ridiculously low compensation for their time and efforts results to a pay scale in the same general amount one might expect from working at a fast food restaurant. These pay levels attract a "unique" class of installers. Any product replacement loss in absorbed by the installer as well. So that paints a picture of some one making $7-8 per hr under an assumed identity as a professional working in your home. Their operations are set up in such a way as to take the risk of loss out of the picture entirely, any loss to them is highly calculated and they have no reason to change these methods as long as new $ keeps rolling in for them.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Is It Really a Deal?
Posted by Johnny_D on 10/14/2012
MONTREAL -- When one thinks of auctions, what comes to ones mine? Estate clearances, people wanting to get rid of unwanted items? One of a kind items that you will never see again? A great deal, items sold well below retail? Used furniture. Right, well not so fast.

I have been going to this place for the last few years and find that I keep seeing in the furniture area items I have seen before. So, what does this tell you? There are people resupplying them or they themselves are with the same item and making a profit on them. Also surprisingly Chinese reproductions of classic furniture. I went to see today a dinning room set I was interested and it was estimated to have a value of $6400-$7400. On inspection I found a made in China sticker under the chair, what looked like marble on the the buffet was plastic. Having been going to China on business since 1989 and going to trade shows, I guess I could have bought it in China for $2,000. What kind of deal is this?

I bought a mechanical clock from them thinking it was a antique but found out it was well made reproduction. How did I figure that out, well the dome over the clock was made of some type of plastic. You can get good deals there on watches, rugs and antique jewelry. Don't get me wrong they in no way misrepresent what they are auctioning off. But on the furniture, I think they should come clean and say this is a new made in China reproduction. Also in their description they should state country of origin. Suppliers resupplying them or they themselves on the same item is also rather dubious.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-10-14:
This is just a thought...if you find they offer the same exact merchindise that was 'supposidly' sold before...do you think maybe there is some shilling going on? Someone planted in the audience to bid up the prices and if they bid one too many times, they have the winning bid. Shilling CAN backfire, then they can just put the item back in the auction again since no one really won the auction. Again, I'm not saying this IS what's happening, but it is something that does go on at some auctions.
Posted by ticia232 on 2012-10-14:
Did they sell the furniture? If they didn't it will stay there until it is sold. If it has been there a long time (years) and you want it, I say bid 1 Dollar. It will save them in storage fees and free up room for new furniture and you just might get it.
Posted by copper_works_ on 2012-10-14:
Ever watch Lovejoy TV series?
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Rude Customer Service Rep. hangs up on customers
Posted by Whcskaren on 08/31/2012
HIGHLANDS, NORTH CAROLINA -- Will never use Empire Today or recommend them.
Had to reschedule carpet installation because installers wanted to begin installation late in the afternoon in the rain. I didn't want them at my
house in the evening or trucking rain and dirt in the newly constructed
house. Rescheduled for later day that week, asked for morning installation,
when installers didn't arrive, I called customer service to see where they
were and the customer service representative hung-up the phone. It is
now afternoon and still no installers. My time is important too.
What a rude company. Won't recommend them or personally use them again.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 8/31/2012:
Karen, we regret any confusion regarding your installation appointment. A member of our customer service team will be contacting you shortly to confirm your installation time and answer any questions you may have. If you have any additional concerns, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by face it on 2012-09-11:
People are still buying from Empire?
Close commentsAdd reply

StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Sales Rep
Posted by Stitchaquilt3 on 08/28/2012
TEXAS -- I called Empire Carpet to schedule a Free in home estimate. I was told their professional representative would measure and give me an estimate. Well when he go to the house The first thing he did was try to talk me into higher grade product than I was interested in. (I am replacing floors in a rent house) He asked me if I measured the rooms. Dah! Not!! That's what you're here for. Next he commented that he's wanted to make this deal tonight because he didn't want to have to drive back out here. Said I lived out in the middle of no where. I live 14 miles from a very large town. So after he measured the 3 bedrooms, hallway, and living room, he had to get on the phone and play lets make a deal with his boss. I asked him several times for a per square foot installed price and all he ended up giving me was a total with tax price. I was like, Well I guess I can do the math and figure it out for myself.
Very unprofessional salesman. Empire will not get my business.

Read Company Response
Company Response on 8/29/2012:
Luanne, we’re disappointed that you were not satisfied with your sales appointment. We want all our customers to enjoy our world-class service, and we regret that this was not your experience. We would like to learn more about what happened and help make things right, so a member of our customer service team will reach out to you soon. If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by ok4now on 2012-08-29:
These people are a scam. Good for you not doing business with them.
Posted by melissa253 on 2012-08-29:
I think that I would have called Empire after the Sale guy left and requested someone else to come out.
Close commentsAdd reply

StarStarStarStarEmpty Star
Happy with Empire
Posted by Gpoinde on 07/21/2012
LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- After looking at many reviews of Empire Today AFTER I signed a contract with them (but before the 3 Day Cancellation) I was reluctant to proceed and was a little nervous. But, I called a friend who had 2 bedrooms done with new carpeting and padding who was perfectly happy with the product and installation so I decided to go ahead with Empire. I had about 2300 square feet of carpeting and padding installed about a month ago and so far I am VERY pleased.

The carpet that I selected looks nice and feels good and the carpet installation went really, really well. The installers were on time, professional and were very careful with moving all our furniture out and back in again. We had to take down our beds before they came, but they helped my husband put them back together. There was one minor glitch in that my living room carpet didn't arrive on time due to a special order, but they remedied that very quickly and everything was done one week later.

I (generally) compared EMPIRE to other quotes I got from another major company and a local neighborhood store, and the price was comparable, if not slightly cheaper - although comparing to the exact carpeting was probably not precise. So, I did not find them extremely expensive like other reviewers did. I would recommend EMPIRE to family and friends.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 7/23/2012:
Thank you for sharing your experience, Gwen! We’re always happy to hear feedback from our customers, and it’s great to know that we were able to exceed your expectations. We want to make the home improvement experience as easy and convenient as possible, so we’re glad to know that this was the case. Enjoy your newly renovated home! Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by madconsumer on 2012-07-22:
thank you for taking the time to write this positive compliment on our site. there are never enough people writing positive compliments about empire!
Close commentsAdd reply

Looking to Replace Carpet to Wood!
Posted by Nespahbodi on 07/18/2012
SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- We are thinking of replacing our upstairs carpet to wood. I saw a representative from Empire yesterday at a mall.
My husband did tell me to check their reviews before we make an appt with them. I am glad I came across this site!

I decided not to even bother. There are too many negative reviews.

Does anyone know of a great local company in San Diego, who can replace carpet to engineered wood?
Read Company Response
Company Response on 7/18/2012:
We would like the chance to speak to you about any concerns you may have and earn your business. We can assure you that we are dedicated to providing our customers with world-class service, and if ever customers experience a problem, we make them a top priority. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. We will be happy to discuss any questions that you have. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by KevinTX on 2012-07-18:
check Yelp . com
Posted by DELL Hell on 2012-07-18:
Maybe Angies List? Most of what you really need is on the install side. You can get the flooring anyplace from just about any flooring company and big box store. We had a great installer for our name brand wood floors which made all the difference in the world. An ex installer for Empire has posted a number of very good comments about Empire not paying the installers much so they get the bottom of the barrel on this board. Keep in mind a lot of the “promo” flooring Empire sells is their own junk brands with huge mark-ups which is why they run the buy one room get the rest free promos.

Find a quality name brand flooring material you like, then a qualified installer with references and you should be OK.

Best of luck to you.
Posted by raven2010 on 2012-07-18:
I agree, check Angie's list. companies cant pay to get good reviews there and those of us who write reviews pay a membership fee.

This in my opinion makes Angie's list one of the most reliable sources for good honest review from actual customers.
Posted by ok4now on 2012-07-19:
You were very wise not to let Empire do your floor replacement. They would have used cheap materials and did a shoddy installation. Like everything else in life you get what you pay for. Angie's list is a good place to start. One thing I have learned is don't always assume that the top A Plus listings are the best. They just have the most reviews. Look further down the list for a local guy, B Plus and you will pay less and be satisfied with the job.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >