Empire Today - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 29 ratings and
63 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Carpet Does Not Hold Up to Traffic Wear Over Short Time
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- I purchased carpet for our living room, dining room and hall 1 1/2 years ago. At the 1 year mark they called wanting to know if we were satisfied. I had just been telling my husband how disappointed I was in how the carpet looked dull in the traffic areas and that the luster was gone compared to non traffic areas and how nice they looked. This was 1 year after installation and we had been gone to AZ for 4 months during this time. Empire came out, took samples, tested them and called back saying the manufacturer was replacing the carpet due to defect. All new carpet installed. We're 5 months down the road, and again we had been gone for 2 months to AZ so 3 months of use and the traffic pattern is showing a definite wear and the luster is gone again. Empire came out, took samples, tested and called back saying there was nothing wrong.

This is actually too bad, because I was going to replace our carpet in AZ next spring using their services. At this point I am very disappointed that I have a carpet that will most likely need to be replaced in the next year or so because the wear is not satisfactory. I will never use Empire again and feel that they let me down and their name is one that can be trusted.

To make it easy on yourself and save money long term, I would carefully select another carpet company.
Company Response :
Vickie, we regret that your product is not meeting your expectations, as we always want our customers to be completely satisfied with the products they receive. It’s disappointing that you’ve still been experiencing issues, and we will be following up with you shortly to discuss the situation in more detail. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Old Timer on 2013-08-15:
Empire are the biggest crooks in the carpet biz. Buy one room and they will carpet 100 more for free. Yeah right, with cheap crap carpet like this OP got.
dan on 2013-08-19:
you should look for carpet with 'appearance retention' warranties. Carpet normally mats down so what you describe as 'wear' is simply the way carpet performs. Better carpet has a high twist yarn and those products will carry an appearance retention warranty. Everything wlse won't. Look for a frieze textured carpet
Vickie Jones on 2013-08-26:
Empire sent out a 3rd party to test the carpet, Empire tol us the results came back that after a 2 month period of 2 adults in the house the carpet traffic wear appearance was normal. When we purchased this carpet I specially talked with the rep about not wanting a cheap carpet and getting one that would look good for several years. For the amount paid for this carpet it should not be showing major traffic wear patterns after 2 months. Very disappointed in Empire and will definitely not be purchasing any future carpet or any product from them. Save your money and save disappointment from poor quality carpet.
Vickie Jones on 2013-08-26:
Thank you, I wish I had known this prior to purchase and also had seen the 1 star rating. Lesson learned!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Salesperson Was the Worst!!! (Ken)
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- Salesperson came to my house because I wouldn't sign right away got very mad at me
told me I was cheap that I have two Mercedes sitting in the driveway.
How could I be so cheap and started getting loud with me. I called my husband who was @ the firehouse,
I salesperson was so rude my husband told me to call the police
I called the Corp. Office and filed a complaint and was told someone would get back w me in two business day, well it's been a week
and to make matter worst why did the salesperson ken call me on 8/7/13 and wonder if I was still interested
Company Response :
Deborah, we were disappointed to read about your sales appointment, as this is not the experience we expect for our customers. It is never our intention for our customers to feel pressured or uncomfortable, and we would like to speak to you further about this situation. We are not able to locate your account with the information posted here, but please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will follow up with you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't buy anything from Empire
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
The salesman was friendly but pushy. He kept saying that he was a decorator and knows what will work. He pushed certain carpeting and window treatments. I finally caved in and bought the whole thing. I believe I got the wrong carpeting and definitely got the wrong window treatments. The salesman then claimed to be sick for 3 weeks. I told him that I wanted one window blind and that there is a refund. He said he would look into it. Three weeks later I called Empire and they said it will be under advisement for one week. The salesman never told them about the refund. Now I have to meet the salesman at a local Starbucks to look at a piece of carpeting to assess whether it's the right one. I hate Empire.
Company Response :
Thank you for bringing your situation to our attention, Deanna. It’s disappointing that these issues have not yet been resolved, and we can assure you that we take your concerns very seriously. We will be following up with you shortly regarding your overpayment and to confirm you received the correct products. If you have any additional questions, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Read 0 RepliesAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Empire Today - High Pressure, Ignorant Salesperson
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NEW JERSEY -- I had an appointment with Empire today - the arrival window from 1-3. The sales girl called to say she was going to be late. Upon arrival - after 3 - she told me how she put another customer off to get here on time. Why would they book so many appointments for the same time? She seemed tired and overworked but rather pleasant. That was short lived.

The carpet samples seemed cheap and junky. The promo was buy 1 room get 2 free. I needed carpet in my living room, master bedroom, hallway and 2 other bedrooms plus a hallway. She wrote all of these different prices down on a sheet of paper. The starting price was close to 9800.00 - WHAT??? BUT with discounts and promos and the promise to sign on the dotted line for next day delivery the price dropped to 4,000. When I told her I was going to price shop and get other prices, she threw the paperwork in her briefcase, proceeded to turn nasty and said she wasted her time filling out the paperwork. I explained to her that I never make any large purchase without shopping around and she should respect that. She went from pleasant and good humored to beyond ignorant in a matter of seconds.

I went to a local privately owned carpet store. As soon as I walked in, right there hanging on the wall was an article about Empire and their sleazy tactics. It was in a carpet magazine. Made me laugh. Not only did I get a better carpet, I got it for over 1500.00 cheaper!!!!!!

Empire Today can keep their high priced low quality carpet and their nasty, high pressured sales staff.
Company Response :
Susan, we regret that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. Your experience is not in line with the world-class service we always strive to provide, as we never want our customers to feel pressured to purchase. We would like to make things right for you, and we will be following up with you shortly to discuss the situation. If you have any additional questions or concerns, you can also contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
John Nicholson on 2013-07-07:
Good info for people. Thanks. And, you did the right thing by going to a private firm. Why people buy carpet at big box stores and such is beyond me. When things go wrong---and they usually do at these places---what are you going to do? With a small, private firm, you deal with the owner, not some flunky.
No entitlement attitudes please on 2013-07-18:
Why is it that people drive miles out of their way to save 4 cents a gallon on gas but do not have the common sense to realize that all those tv ads and topogood to be true promises will always equall inflated pricing?
Canveat Emptor
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Not great
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- First of all 99 dollar ad that made me call in first place was very deceptive. The salesman blew it off like what would we expect for $99. Salesman also spent a lot of time criticizing my old carpet and promising that their way of installation would be far superior. Specifically I was told that the steps would not be waterfall. When the steps were finished they were in fact waterfall and the installers said of course that this was the best message and that the sales person did not know what he was talking about.

Additionally, the carpet was up for quality, and it does not feel that a pad is under it. In the end the money that I spent was definitely way over what I probably should have spent for the finished product. I wish that I would have waited until I could afford it a better product. Now I feel that I'm stuck with this for many years if it holds up. I plan to call the company back and ask them to redo the steps especially since they made such a big deal about it and put them in the same way that the previous installers did. Feeling taken advantage of in Pittsburgh.
Company Response :
We were disappointed to read about your experience, as we never want our customers to be dissatisfied with our products or service. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. The sale applied to the product cost only, and we also offer a price match guarantee. We would like the opportunity to speak to you so that we can learn more about you concerns with your product and installation. Unfortunately, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will reach out to you to work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Old Timer on 2013-05-25:
I would never do business with any carpet company that says they can do a room for $99. Or around here Empire says they will do three rooms free if we buy one room.

1. That one room will be overpriced by about 75%.
2. They will lay the most inexpensive piece of crap carpet they can.
3. What do you think is paying for all those TV ads?
4. Never trust a carpet company that only sells their own cheap brand of carpet. No brand names are ever available at the promotional prices.

JMHO
Alain on 2013-05-26:
Thanks for the warnings! I live in P'burgh and eventually we'll be putting down some new carpet. We were planning on using a local flooring store and this reinforces our decision.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor sales tactics
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
DALLAS, TEXAS -- I will get straight to the point. Salesman comes out, shows me the most expensive carpet to choose from. Salesman Refuses to show the other carpet styles available. -leaving me with only 4 choices of style. (he stated they were cheap and I would not like them) Anyway, my home is a little over 1700 square feet. I needed 3 rooms and the living room done. He quoted me almost 4 thousand dollars! I asked the sales man how he derived at those figures. (he had no tape measure and gave no price per square foot on the carpet) He could not tell me. Next, he acts like he's getting on the phone with his manager. This jerk didn't know,,that I knew,,,he was a contractor. he gets 100% commission so there was no manager to call! Anyway, He came back and stated that his manager said he can come down off the price. He came down about 50 bucks. I told him no..that won't work. He tried the phone call scheme again. Came down off another 50. Basically, I threw his ass out. (Pack your stuff...I'm not interested)
Company Response 12/26/2012:
Saliem, we’re disappointed that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. It is never our intention for our customers to feel pressured, and we’d like to speak to you further about your concerns. We would be happy to discuss our pricing in more detail, as well as any other questions you may have. A member of our customer service team will be contacting your shortly. You can also contact us with any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
madconsumer on 2012-12-26:
most helpful company response!!
trmn8r on 2012-12-26:
I don't understand how a salesman could give you a meaningful quote without taking measurements, and entering them into a computer program that figures out the cuts to result in minimum usage.

Helpful review. Thanks for letting us know. I've had carpeting quoted in the past, and nobody tried malarkey like this with me.

The fact that he couldn't tell you how he came up with the alleged "quote" shows he was a charlatan of the worst kind. I've heard nothing but complaints about Empire.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad customer service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
RANCHO CORDOVA, CALIFORNIA -- I had a two bedroom one bath unit done in ceramic tile. $6000 job. I asked that the grout be sealed at the time of the order. When I went to see the finished product, the toilet was leaking
Water from the seal, the grout color does not match threw out. The doors were all taken off and not put back? The grout was never sealed. I went and met the installer on the 20th, he did nothing, but accused me of putting water on the floor. This is a rental and no one lives there.

It has now been 12 days and I can not get a call back or anything done. I paid for the whole job at once.

I would never use Empire Today again and I am going to the Better Business Bureau.
Company Response 12/4/2012:
Gene, we understand that we’ve been in contact regarding your concerns and have reached a resolution. Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager



     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
face it on 2012-12-09:
I am sorry to hear yet another "victim" of Empire. All the issues you pointed out in your review point to inexperience on part of the installer. What you may not know is Empire uses the lowest pay scale in the flooring market, which in turn attracts a much lower skill set of the crews doing the actual work.
Contacting the BBB will not get you very far either. As an accredited member of the BBB as long as a few guidelines are met and the enrollment fees are paid you will not an accredited business with lower than a B rating.In regards to any beneficial outcome from contacting the BBB a response from Empire is sure to follow stating how they are in compliance with any and/or all contracts and will offer you an opportunity to contact them to fix there issue of poorly installed product(s). In short they will dance around the subject avoiding any action for as long as possible. See they can wait, as to where you the customer may not be able too. Thank you for sharing your experience and I hope that it is seen by potential customers before they get taken.

KEEP IN MIND THAT EMPIRE REQUIRES 100% PAYMENT UP FRONT!! On the first day of installation, 100% payment is required before any work begins. No reputable company would do that!
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Is It Really a Deal?
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
MONTREAL -- When one thinks of auctions, what comes to ones mine? Estate clearances, people wanting to get rid of unwanted items? One of a kind items that you will never see again? A great deal, items sold well below retail? Used furniture. Right, well not so fast.

I have been going to this place for the last few years and find that I keep seeing in the furniture area items I have seen before. So, what does this tell you? There are people resupplying them or they themselves are with the same item and making a profit on them. Also surprisingly Chinese reproductions of classic furniture. I went to see today a dinning room set I was interested and it was estimated to have a value of $6400-$7400. On inspection I found a made in China sticker under the chair, what looked like marble on the buffet was plastic. Having been going to China on business since 1989 and going to trade shows, I guess I could have bought it in China for $2,000. What kind of deal is this?

I bought a mechanical clock from them thinking it was a antique but found out it was well made reproduction. How did I figure that out, well the dome over the clock was made of some type of plastic. You can get good deals there on watches, rugs and antique jewelry. Don't get me wrong they in no way misrepresent what they are auctioning off. But on the furniture, I think they should come clean and say this is a new made in China reproduction. Also in their description they should state country of origin. Suppliers resupplying them or they themselves on the same item is also rather dubious.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
DebtorBasher on 2012-10-14:
This is just a thought...if you find they offer the same exact merchindise that was 'supposidly' sold before...do you think maybe there is some shilling going on? Someone planted in the audience to bid up the prices and if they bid one too many times, they have the winning bid. Shilling CAN backfire, then they can just put the item back in the auction again since no one really won the auction. Again, I'm not saying this IS what's happening, but it is something that does go on at some auctions.
ticia232 on 2012-10-14:
Did they sell the furniture? If they didn't it will stay there until it is sold. If it has been there a long time (years) and you want it, I say bid 1 Dollar. It will save them in storage fees and free up room for new furniture and you just might get it.
copper_works_ on 2012-10-14:
Ever watch Lovejoy TV series?
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Rude Customer Service Rep. hangs up on customers
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
HIGHLANDS, NORTH CAROLINA -- Will never use Empire Today or recommend them.
Had to reschedule carpet installation because installers wanted to begin installation late in the afternoon in the rain. I didn't want them at my
house in the evening or trucking rain and dirt in the newly constructed
house. Rescheduled for later day that week, asked for morning installation,
when installers didn't arrive, I called customer service to see where they
were and the customer service representative hung-up the phone. It is
now afternoon and still no installers. My time is important too.
What a rude company. Won't recommend them or personally use them again.
Company Response 8/31/2012:
Karen, we regret any confusion regarding your installation appointment. A member of our customer service team will be contacting you shortly to confirm your installation time and answer any questions you may have. If you have any additional concerns, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
face it on 2012-09-11:
People are still buying from Empire?
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Sales Rep
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
TEXAS -- I called Empire Carpet to schedule a Free in home estimate. I was told their professional representative would measure and give me an estimate. Well when he go to the house The first thing he did was try to talk me into higher grade product than I was interested in. (I am replacing floors in a rent house) He asked me if I measured the rooms. Dah! Not!! That's what you're here for. Next he commented that he's wanted to make this deal tonight because he didn't want to have to drive back out here. Said I lived out in the middle of no where. I live 14 miles from a very large town. So after he measured the 3 bedrooms, hallway, and living room, he had to get on the phone and play lets make a deal with his boss. I asked him several times for a per square foot installed price and all he ended up giving me was a total with tax price. I was like, Well I guess I can do the math and figure it out for myself.
Very unprofessional salesman. Empire will not get my business.
Company Response 8/29/2012:
Luanne, we’re disappointed that you were not satisfied with your sales appointment. We want all our customers to enjoy our world-class service, and we regret that this was not your experience. We would like to learn more about what happened and help make things right, so a member of our customer service team will reach out to you soon. If you have any questions or concerns, please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
ok4now on 2012-08-29:
These people are a scam. Good for you not doing business with them.
melissa253 on 2012-08-29:
I think that I would have called Empire after the Sale guy left and requested someone else to come out.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >