Empire Today - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 34 ratings and
68 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Don't Waste Your Time or Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- We contacted Empire today for an estimate on new carpeting in our entire house. An Empire Today salesperson came out with samples of carpet and gave us an estimate of approx. $3000. He assured us that the carpet was good quality, and that there is a 10 year warranty should anything happen to it, such as excessive wear or stains. It also came with a 1 year installation warranty. We decided to purchase. Not even 2 months later, the new carpet looked worse than the 10 year old carpet we had replaced with it. It was worn down to almost nothing and it was falling apart from the seams and from the middle of the floor. We do not by any means abuse our carpet. We never wear shoes in the house, we vacuum at least twice a week, etc. So we called Empire and they told us that they would send an inspector out to look at it. Instead of an inspector, an Empire salesperson came out, but even he told us that there was clearly a problem with the carpet and that he said he would request a full replacement of an upgraded carpet. He took pictures and went on his way. Over 2 weeks later, after not hearing anything from Empire, I called them to check on our claim. The lady on the phone told us that the claim had been denied because, from the pictures, they could not see any defect in the carpet or the installation. When I asked to see a copy of the pictures, I was told that the salesman who took them passed away and they did not have access to his computer. After fighting with them for weeks, and filing a complaint with the BBB, they finally

Company Response :

Amanda, we regret that this matter has not yet been resolved. We understand that we have been in contact with you previously, and we will continue to work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Replies
Designer/ Contractor - "Empire a Good Value"
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

CLEVELAND, OHIO -- After reading the reviews of a few disgruntled consumers, mostly directed at sales persons tactics, I had to jump in and give a professional opinion...I have 30 years of national design and architecture experience specifying and installing the finest materials. Empire's commission based sales staff is as varied as any other group of people trying to make a living, but their products (out of necessity) are the same as any other retailer...you simply get what you pay for. Of course anyone who has to foot the bill to schlep samples all over town with no promise of a paycheck is going to be disappointed, maybe even desperate, if a sale isn't made, and isn't it human nature to let those feelings show?

Nothing in life is free, including the gas it takes to show up at your door....so visiting a dealer where you really see multiple prices and qualities makes a much more informed buyer......recently I used Empire again for a house I was flipping and they did an absolutely superb job. Maybe beauty, or irritation, is in the eye of the beholder, and the disgruntled Empire customers are simply inexperienced buyers whose limited purchasing expertise is showing.....and their evaluation of their salesmen overly critical.

Company Response 08/19/2013:

We're thrilled to know we were able impress you with our sales and service. Thank you for the recommendation, we look forward to working with you on your next project. – Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Replies
Carpet Does Not Hold Up to Traffic Wear Over Short Time
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- I purchased carpet for our living room, dining room and hall 1 1/2 years ago. At the 1 year mark they called wanting to know if we were satisfied. I had just been telling my husband how disappointed I was in how the carpet looked dull in the traffic areas and that the luster was gone compared to non traffic areas and how nice they looked. This was 1 year after installation and we had been gone to AZ for 4 months during this time. Empire came out, took samples, tested them and called back saying the manufacturer was replacing the carpet due to defect. All new carpet installed. We're 5 months down the road, and again we had been gone for 2 months to AZ so 3 months of use and the traffic pattern is showing a definite wear and the luster is gone again. Empire came out, took samples, tested and called back saying there was nothing wrong.

This is actually too bad, because I was going to replace our carpet in AZ next spring using their services. At this point I am very disappointed that I have a carpet that will most likely need to be replaced in the next year or so because the wear is not satisfactory. I will never use Empire again and feel that they let me down and their name is one that can be trusted.

To make it easy on yourself and save money long term, I would carefully select another carpet company.

Company Response :

Vickie, we regret that your product is not meeting your expectations, as we always want our customers to be completely satisfied with the products they receive. It's disappointing that you've still been experiencing issues, and we will be following up with you shortly to discuss the situation in more detail. If you have any additional questions or concerns, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Replies
Salesperson Was the Worst!!! (Ken)
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- Salesperson came to my house because I wouldn't sign right away got very mad at me
told me I was cheap that I have two Mercedes sitting in the driveway.
How could I be so cheap and started getting loud with me. I called my husband who was @ the firehouse,
I salesperson was so rude my husband told me to call the police
I called the Corp. Office and filed a complaint and was told someone would get back w me in two business day, well it's been a week
and to make matter worst why did the salesperson ken call me on 8/7/13 and wonder if I was still interested

Company Response :

Deborah, we were disappointed to read about your sales appointment, as this is not the experience we expect for our customers. It is never our intention for our customers to feel pressured or uncomfortable, and we would like to speak to you further about this situation. We are not able to locate your account with the information posted here, but please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or email customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will follow up with you. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Replies
Don't buy anything from Empire
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

The salesman was friendly but pushy. He kept saying that he was a decorator and knows what will work. He pushed certain carpeting and window treatments. I finally caved in and bought the whole thing. I believe I got the wrong carpeting and definitely got the wrong window treatments. The salesman then claimed to be sick for 3 weeks. I told him that I wanted one window blind and that there is a refund. He said he would look into it. Three weeks later I called Empire and they said it will be under advisement for one week. The salesman never told them about the refund. Now I have to meet the salesman at a local Starbucks to look at a piece of carpeting to assess whether it's the right one. I hate Empire.

Company Response :

Thank you for bringing your situation to our attention, Deanna. It's disappointing that these issues have not yet been resolved, and we can assure you that we take your concerns very seriously. We will be following up with you shortly regarding your overpayment and to confirm you received the correct products. If you have any additional questions, please contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Replies
Empire Today - High Pressure, Ignorant Salesperson
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- I had an appointment with Empire today - the arrival window from 1-3. The sales girl called to say she was going to be late. Upon arrival - after 3 - she told me how she put another customer off to get here on time. Why would they book so many appointments for the same time? She seemed tired and overworked but rather pleasant. That was short lived.

The carpet samples seemed cheap and junky. The promo was buy 1 room get 2 free. I needed carpet in my living room, master bedroom, hallway and 2 other bedrooms plus a hallway. She wrote all of these different prices down on a sheet of paper. The starting price was close to 9800.00 - WHAT??? BUT with discounts and promos and the promise to sign on the dotted line for next day delivery the price dropped to 4,000. When I told her I was going to price shop and get other prices, she threw the paperwork in her briefcase, proceeded to turn nasty and said she wasted her time filling out the paperwork. I explained to her that I never make any large purchase without shopping around and she should respect that. She went from pleasant and good humored to beyond ignorant in a matter of seconds.

I went to a local privately owned carpet store. As soon as I walked in, right there hanging on the wall was an article about Empire and their sleazy tactics. It was in a carpet magazine. Made me laugh. Not only did I get a better carpet, I got it for over 1500.00 cheaper!!!!!!

Empire Today can keep their high priced low quality carpet and their nasty, high pressured sales staff.

Company Response :

Susan, we regret that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. Your experience is not in line with the world-class service we always strive to provide, as we never want our customers to feel pressured to purchase. We would like to make things right for you, and we will be following up with you shortly to discuss the situation. If you have any additional questions or concerns, you can also contact us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Replies
Not great
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- First of all 99 dollar ad that made me call in first place was very deceptive. The salesman blew it off like what would we expect for $99. Salesman also spent a lot of time criticizing my old carpet and promising that their way of installation would be far superior. Specifically I was told that the steps would not be waterfall. When the steps were finished they were in fact waterfall and the installers said of course that this was the best message and that the sales person did not know what he was talking about.

Additionally, the carpet was up for quality, and it does not feel that a pad is under it. In the end the money that I spent was definitely way over what I probably should have spent for the finished product. I wish that I would have waited until I could afford it a better product. Now I feel that I'm stuck with this for many years if it holds up. I plan to call the company back and ask them to redo the steps especially since they made such a big deal about it and put them in the same way that the previous installers did. Feeling taken advantage of in Pittsburgh.

Company Response :

We were disappointed to read about your experience, as we never want our customers to be dissatisfied with our products or service. Because we are a full-service company, our pricing is all inclusive and covers product costs, installation labor, and any additional requested services. The sale applied to the product cost only, and we also offer a price match guarantee. We would like the opportunity to speak to you so that we can learn more about you concerns with your product and installation. Unfortunately, we are not able to locate your account with the information posted here. Please call us at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com, and we will reach out to you to work towards a resolution. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Replies
Poor sales tactics
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DALLAS, TEXAS -- I will get straight to the point. Salesman comes out, shows me the most expensive carpet to choose from. Salesman Refuses to show the other carpet styles available. -leaving me with only 4 choices of style. (he stated they were cheap and I would not like them) Anyway, my home is a little over 1700 square feet. I needed 3 rooms and the living room done. He quoted me almost 4 thousand dollars! I asked the sales man how he derived at those figures. (he had no tape measure and gave no price per square foot on the carpet) He could not tell me. Next, he acts like he's getting on the phone with his manager. This jerk didn't know,,that I knew,,,he was a contractor. he gets 100% commission so there was no manager to call! Anyway, He came back and stated that his manager said he can come down off the price. He came down about 50 bucks. I told him no..that won't work. He tried the phone call scheme again. Came down off another 50. Basically, I threw his ass out. (Pack your stuff...I'm not interested)

Company Response 12/26/2012:

Saliem, we're disappointed that your sales appointment did not meet your expectations. It is never our intention for our customers to feel pressured, and we'd like to speak to you further about your concerns. We would be happy to discuss our pricing in more detail, as well as any other questions you may have. A member of our customer service team will be contacting your shortly. You can also contact us with any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Replies
Bad customer service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

RANCHO CORDOVA, CALIFORNIA -- I had a two bedroom one bath unit done in ceramic tile. $6000 job. I asked that the grout be sealed at the time of the order. When I went to see the finished product, the toilet was leaking
Water from the seal, the grout color does not match threw out. The doors were all taken off and not put back? The grout was never sealed. I went and met the installer on the 20th, he did nothing, but accused me of putting water on the floor. This is a rental and no one lives there.

It has now been 12 days and I can not get a call back or anything done. I paid for the whole job at once.

I would never use Empire Today again and I am going to the Better Business Bureau.

Company Response 12/4/2012:

Gene, we understand that we've been in contact regarding your concerns and have reached a resolution. Please don't hesitate to contact us if you have any additional questions or concerns at 888-588-2315 x4195 or customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Rebekah Clerk, National Customer Service Manager

     
Replies
Is It Really a Deal?
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MONTREAL -- When one thinks of auctions, what comes to ones mine? Estate clearances, people wanting to get rid of unwanted items? One of a kind items that you will never see again? A great deal, items sold well below retail? Used furniture. Right, well not so fast.

I have been going to this place for the last few years and find that I keep seeing in the furniture area items I have seen before. So, what does this tell you? There are people resupplying them or they themselves are with the same item and making a profit on them. Also surprisingly Chinese reproductions of classic furniture. I went to see today a dinning room set I was interested and it was estimated to have a value of $6400-$7400. On inspection I found a made in China sticker under the chair, what looked like marble on the buffet was plastic. Having been going to China on business since 1989 and going to trade shows, I guess I could have bought it in China for $2,000. What kind of deal is this?

I bought a mechanical clock from them thinking it was a antique but found out it was well made reproduction. How did I figure that out, well the dome over the clock was made of some type of plastic. You can get good deals there on watches, rugs and antique jewelry. Don't get me wrong they in no way misrepresent what they are auctioning off. But on the furniture, I think they should come clean and say this is a new made in China reproduction. Also in their description they should state country of origin. Suppliers resupplying them or they themselves on the same item is also rather dubious.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >