Preview Review

Next Review

Empire Today - Page 3

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 68 ratings and
101 reviews & complaints.
Company Profile
Empire Today
333 Northwest Avenue
Northlake, IL 60014
800-588-2300 (ph)
www.empiretoday.com
customersupport@empiretoday.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies
Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Experience! Do Not Use!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA -- I wish I could give them less than one star. Horrible service! DO NOT GO WITH EMPIRE! We scheduled an estimate and the person NEVER showed up! We were canceled on THREE times and not notified until the day before or the day of!

They also rescheduled the install and never notified us. We were sitting around waiting for them to show up and had to call the company to find out it had been rescheduled! Carpet installers came without notice. We were painting a room and had to stop the project for them to do the install. This company wanted to give us very limited discounts and we ended up canceling the order. We are very simple people to work with and understand things happen, but this was absolutely ridiculous!

At the time, we lived over an hour away from the property and it was beyond inconvenient to have people not show up after we rearranged our schedules to be there! I will NEVER go with Empire again! I am telling all of my friends and family to NEVER use this company!

Replies
Advertisement
Installation Sloppy and Not as Promised
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

UNION, NEW JERSEY -- At time of sale we were given the option of moldings. The molding we requested was not given at time of installation and we settled for quarter-inch molding which we didn't want in the first place. The installers had quarter-inch molding on the paperwork and had nothing else in their truck and their paperwork said quarter-inch molding but the paperwork that we signed did not. The quarter-inch molding was of a cheap material and the cutting of it sloppy.

My husband is taking it up and in doing so has discovered just how sloppy the laying of the flooring is with uneven gaps along the borders making us have to cover these gaps up with molding that we do not care for. The installers seemed nice but one spoke no English at all and the other very little making it hard to communicate with. They had no warranty or care information with them as well. The product itself (laminate) is beautiful however the sloppy job overshadows it.

Company Response 04/11/2016:

We appreciate you letting us be aware of your experience. We are unable to locate your account. Please contact us at customersupport@empiretoday.com, so we can address your concerns. Thank you.
-Empire Customer Support

Replies
Still Waiting on Empire Today to Finish Our Floor. Half Done on Feb. the 3rd... It Is Now March 22!!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Horrible service. EMPIRE TODAY is HORRIBLE. First of all, the people that are suppose to help you are rude and uncaring. Half of the hardwood floors was installed on the 4th of Feb... Two rooms are being worked on, and we moved all the furniture to other rooms. One big mess. It is now the 3rd of March and they have yet to finish the job. Both rooms are halfway done and we have received 5 emails giving us different dates of when they would return and finish. The second appointment they did not bother to call and let us know they would not be there, and that was a missed day of work for my husband.

We are still waiting on our floors to be finished. This not acceptable! I will be calling the Better Business and I am thinking of cancelling this contract and finding someone else! I'm sure there will be more lies coming my way from these people.

Company response 03/03/2016: "Hi James, we know it's frustrating that your installation was not completed as initially scheduled, but we can assure you that we are taking your concerns very seriously. We understand that we've been in contact with you about the situation, and we will continue to follow up with you until everything has been completed to your satisfaction. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Bill **, National Customer Service Manager". Attention Bill **: It is now March 22,2016 and we are still waiting for you to finish putting our floors down... What will it take for our floors to be finished?

Company Response 03/24/2016:

Hi James, we regret the delay in completing your installation. We understand that we've spoken with you and scheduled the installation for next week. We want to make this right for you, and please don't hesitate to contact us with any additional questions or concerns. Thank you.

Replies
Still No Baseboards
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA -- We ordered carpet and baseboards for three rooms in our house. The carpet was installed 2 weeks later at which time we were informed that the baseboards had not been ordered yet, therefore would be installed at a later date. The woman I spoke with told me she would order them that day and that they should be in and installed in 10 days to two weeks. I waited the two weeks before calling to find out when they would be over to install the baseboards and a very rude person hung up on me.

Since then I have been calling several times a week and every time I call I am told someone they can see on their computer that I have called several times and they will try to get someone to resolve the issue. So far no one has called me back even once. Each time I call, the customer service representative apologizes and promises they will leave a message with management and I should get a call back within 24 hours. Still no callback. I am ready to sue.

Company Response 03/24/2016:

Hi Barbara, the lack of follow up you've received is disappointing, and we can assure you that we are taking your concerns seriously. We will be contacting you shortly to discuss completing your installation, as well as any other questions or concerns you may have. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MEMPHIS, TENNESSEE -- First of all, the people that are suppose to help you are rude and uncaring. Half of the hardwood floors was installed on the 4th of Feb... Two rooms are being worked on, and we moved all the furniture to other rooms. One big mess.

It is now the 3rd of March and they have yet to finish the job. Both rooms are halfway done and we have received 5 emails giving us different dates of when they would return and finish. The second appointment they did not bother to call and let us know they would not be there, and that was a missed day of work for my husband.

We are still waiting on our floors to be finished. This not acceptable! I will be calling the Better Business and I am thinking of cancelling this contract and finding someone else! I'm sure there will be more lies coming my way from these people.

Company Response 03/03/2016:

Hi James, we know it's frustrating that your installation was not completed as initially scheduled, but we can assure you that we are taking your concerns very seriously. We understand that we've been in contact with you about the situation, and we will continue to follow up with you until everything has been completed to your satisfaction. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you. Bill Allivato, National Customer Service Manager

Replies
The Worst Experience
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

INDIANAPOLIS, INDIANA -- I was real excited about having Empire to come out to my home to give me an estimate on laying new carpet on my floors. But I was just needing an estimate and the associate Damien ** Independent Contractor attempted to make me sign a contract. I advised him that I was just needing an estimate and I would get back with him. He was trying to loop me into signing something that made me obligated to the sell.

It was a horrible feeling and it reflects the company poorly. If older person would have signed the paperwork not know what he was doing. But I was well aware of his scam tactics and I was not going for it. I believe no one should be pressured to sign documents if they just want an estimate. To weigh their options. BAD BUSINESS.

Company Response 01/27/2016:

Hi Leandra, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We can assure you that we never want our customers to feel pressured to purchase, and we regret that this was your experience. We would like to know more about your concerns, and we will be contacting you shortly to discuss the situation. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.

Replies
Salesperson
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TAMPA, FLORIDA -- Our salesperson was Larry **. He was knowledgeable. Took time to show us many samples so we could get what we wanted for a fair price. He is a great person, his sales tactics are good and not pushy. We want to commend him for our sale and we can't wait for our flooring. 👍 for Mr. **. He is a great employee.

Replies
2 No Shows for Estimate
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANFORD, NORTH CAROLINA -- Twice I cleared my schedule and Empire was a no show. Repeatedly requested corporate office number to contact and complain. Could not receive number.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrible Product and Services
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- If I could give them a zero I would! We got carpet installed less than 2 years ago and about 2 1/2 months ago the carpets were cleaned in all 3 rooms. A day later the smell that came from one of the rooms was so bad I had to tear it off and remove it because it was right next to my kids rooms that are 2 and 4 years old.

When I called empire to report this they told me that all I can do is create a case and they would get back to me. About 4 days later they told me that they wanted to send someone out there to take a look at the carpet, which I had no problem with but he could only do it in 3 days. Now we are talking about a week later, which I had to keep my kids away from the carpet because I tore it out and they wanted to mess with the threads.

Once the guy came out he took pictures and asked if he could take the carpet I ripped out with him and I said yes. About another week and a half later a woman named Janet ** called me and said that the carpet didn't dry correctly. So I told her that it sounds like a product defect because all three rooms were dried the same way.

She told me that they can replace the section I tore out with new carpet, which was not even up for discussion because a 2-year old carpet even with cleaning looks completely different from a brand new carpet. So she then proceeded to say that they will pay for material and I have to pay a $400 dollars for labor. I told them that it was unfair that I had to pay again for a defect that their product caused and they should absorb the whole cost. She told me that she would need her supervisor to agree to this and that she would call me back.

One month later with 3 phone calls and 2 voicemails unanswered I was finally able to talk to a supervisor named Linda ** that decided to tell me that they would lower the price to $200. I told her that it was ridiculous how they have treated me and that they should be ashamed of themselves. I had to get the carpet replaced because I had a hose hole in my floor for the past month and a half and I couldn't live like that anymore so I agreed to pay the cost.

A day before the appointment they decided to call me and tell me that they over booked and can't make it. They did tell me that they would now install it for free, which was the first decent thing that they have done for me. We rescheduled and the second time they came they told me that they were going to install gold or silver floor transitions, which I told them that there was no way they were going to do that because they originally installed wood transitional and it was even noted on my original order form. So yes once again I had to reschedule.

The third time they came out I told them to come early but the gave me a window of 9-11 which they ended up coming at 11:30. This time they told me they couldn't replace the carpet because I needed my husband to remove the closet folding door. I told them the original time they were here that they removed it and put it back together. The guy said he doesn't do that and I should call my husband. I told him that there wasn't going to be anyone here till 6. By this time I was so upset, I have missed 2 days of work for them and moved furniture twice by myself all for this crap.

I called Linda again and left a message. The guys told me that they were going to go and I told them to wait till I got a hold of someone so I knew what was the next step, but before I could get someone on the phone that I was on hold for 25 minutes they left my house. So now I still have a hole in my floor, I still need to miss another day of work and I have to put everything back and take it out again. Still no one called me back!!!!! PLEASE! PLEASE!! PLEASE LEARN FROM MY MISTAKE AND STAY AWAY FROM THIS COMPANY!!!!!

Company Response 10/12/2015:

Hi Hila, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We never want our customers to be disappointed in our service, and we understand your frustration. We can assure you that we are taking your concerns seriously, and we will be following up with you to ensure that everything gets completed to your satisfaction. You can also reach us at customersupport@empiretoday.com. Thank you.

Replies
Complaint Against Empire
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA -- July of 2014, we called Empire Today. The pushy sales lady came to my house the same day. She did not leave until we signed the contract with her. The next day, I called the company and wanted to cancel because their price was very expensive, and they would not cancel. They gave me a couple of hundred dollars off the carpet and tile installation.

We did not have a major problem with the tile people, but we started replacing the carpet August of 2014. The installer was at my house July 28th and inspected my furniture and my house and the flooring to make sure that they have ordered enough carpet and to see how they would move the furniture. There were supposed to install the carpet the next day which would have been Tues July 29th. Based on his suggestion he said for us to start August 1st so that he can bring more people and that they can finish the job sooner on Saturday. I said okay.

They started the replacement of my carpet August 1st 2014. Two people came and literally hostage in my house. They were using laundry room door and front door to come into my house. They put all the heavy furniture with no coverage on my front entry, which is marble which was in perfect condition before they started working. They moved the rest of my other furniture in my kitchen and in my breakfast area and we were held hostage because we couldn't use our kitchen and refrigerator and front entry. So, we were literally living on the front yard or backyard. We were not able to get into the house to see what was going on, or in some case use the restroom.

At 7:30pm on Friday, we were informed that they would be back Saturday and he would bring 4-6 people to finish the job. They put some furniture back and some furniture on my front entry. Saturday Morning they came back around 11am and there were about 4-6 people working. We stayed outside again, and blocked out again hoping that they would finish the job today.

Around 2:30 when my husband left the house to get something to eat, the installer came to me to tell me bad news, that they cannot finish the job today. This was because the carpet he had was different than the carpet he had yesterday. The color is the same, but the lot # is different. He wouldn't be able to match the seam and that I would be unhappy.

All my upstairs furniture, they shoved it in the balconies of my master room and my daughter's balcony, and he said that he feels really bad for us because he has to bring back the furniture to the room, but can't put the furniture back because he will be coming back on Monday to fix the problem. He brought everything from the balcony and shoved them more into the bathrooms and we were all blocked out of our closets and showers, and restrooms and changing clothes. Everything was shoved in a small place.

The only place we were able to use was the downstairs powder room, which has no shower. And we were able to only use the kitchen and family room. He said he feels really bad, but Empire would take care of you and give me some kind of credit, which they did not do that yet.

He came back on Monday August 4th, and he said that he will fix the problem for me. He has the right carpet he said and he left Monday around 8pm and he wanted a signature from my husband, and checked marked for where we would survey him. I told him I am not happy with the carpet change, and furniture was very much damaged and the seam of the carpet all over the house was very much visible. He told me the carpet is not thick enough for my home, and will shed. So basically, Empire needs to re install the carpet again, and he would come do the change.

Knowing that he knew from the beginning that the carpet is not thick enough, and knowing that the carpet they gave him was not the right carpet, and also knowing that he would have to come back and re install new carpet because of this. Saturday August 2nd, 5 people had to sleep in the family room on the floor with no pillow and blanket since we had no access to anything in our house and everything was locked out. We didn't have access to toothpaste and toothbrush and had to go out and buy them since the no access. We had to use the powder room downstairs to brush our teeth.

Based on his suggestion we had to call Empire today and tell them what was going on immediately. And since August 5th 2014, we are calling Empire and letting them know what happened and what's going on and little by little that 4 door stopper were missing in my house, the base board was broader, doors were not closing. Baseboard and walls and paint have been damaged, and also couches. Also formal living room couches, and glass dining table has been chipped at so many places. The house was painted In Nov of 2013, and most of my paint upstairs have been damaged, including the kid's bedrooms, master bedrooms, etc.

All paint is damaged, and all bedroom sets also have been damaged. The installer did not put all the screws on the bed, and the bed was loosened. The formal dining room and buffet which has been covered with sheets since we moved in have also been damaged with scratches and dents. The chairs and coffee table and side table have scratches and also book case and office and room desks have been broken.

Also master place fire place marble have been damaged, and also the casing around the patio door because of the moving of the furniture. He broke the casing of the patio door in front of my husband, and told him he would come back and fix it but never did. All my marble have been scratched and chipped where the carpet meets the marble.

There have been so many damages on the marble that I cannot describe anything. The staircase has been deeply scratched and it is so excessive that I do not know what to do about it. Small picture frames in the hallway fell and damaged the frame and also the wall. And bigger tapestry pictures have been broken due to being fallen.

We have been following all the installers instruction to put things in box, and put the small items away, and I have 3 or 4 days to put things away. He never told us to remove any picture frames. Empire changed my flooring of my 5 bathrooms with the tile, and he also damaged the tile which was connected from my daughter's room to the bathroom. There are so many chips in my kitchen flooring, and breakfast area.

Pieces of the tile are gone, and he came back and shaved some of the pieces of the tile in my kitchen and laundry room to make the pieces straight. He did the same to my daughter's bathroom, and for it to not be noticeable. But, I have more carpet there, more than tile, which you are supposed to have more tile than carpet. Due to the rolling in of the heavy carpet, my washer and dryer have been scratched and paint has been damaged.

We have sent pictures to Empire, they have sent supervisors to my house to look at the damages, and each time they tell me they are going to fix the damages of my kitchen flooring and marble. They said they are going to order marble to replace your chipped marble, and someone is going to come and paint where has been damaged and change the flooring for kitchen and laundry room with the same tile of the bathroom. When the painter came to look at the damages, he said he has to paint the whole house to make it all even.

For the staircase, even with sanding and staining, it will never go back to when it was normal in the beginning, so little by little they changed their mind, after all the promises Howie (installation supervisor), me to directly and Janet (Cus. Serve. Rep), to fix everything, they have only decided to give me 10% of the purchase price, which is about $830 dollars, and I rejected the offer.

They reported this to installer insurance company, and they came over and looked at everything, and rejected the damages due to previous existing damages. What I want to ask them, is if the damages are pre existent, the first of installer should have told me and had me sign some sort of paperwork. The first installer came to inspect my house on July 28th, and if there were any pre existing damages, he should have taken a picture, and sign something like two other installers that came and changed the carpet again.

Most of my furniture were new, and were kept really well since they were covered until the first installment. This tells any logical person, that there were no pre existing damages, and no furniture damaged. If so, he should have said something about it. After the second installer came to inspect the house, and when he was changing the carpet, while he was dissembling my bedroom set, purposely put the foot board and head board in the wrong place for me not to see the damages on my cherry wood furniture. I have trusted Empire due to the false advertisement on TV due to what they have promised.

For the second time the carpet has been changed for the second time in Nov. 12th of 2014. The second carpenter took an hour to look at the furniture and the damages, and let me know the damages have been done previously to show me that they are previous damages, and he would not be held responsible. He did a terrible job of carpet installation. The cuts were horrible and easily seen and it took him 3 days to finish the job. He left the Friday at 4pm and said that this was the best he can do.

Meanwhile we are paying for the carpet every month through Wells Fargo. We asked Wells Fargo to help us to get our money back through them, and Wells Fargo is not helping us and we are disappointed with Wells Fargo because they are telling me to deal with Empire and not them. Wells Fargo is a credit card company, and I don't know why they want us to deal with Empire, and Not Wells Fargo to get my money back for an unfinished job.

Anyhow, now the carpet has been changed for the 3rd time. The supervisor's name is Juan, and he came over. He said that everything is wrong with the carpet and it has to be changed for the third time. On June 10th, the carpet was finished. I called the next day. We still have a problem with the stairs, with the size of the nails, and the carpet is pushing out on both sides.

I hope to never do business with Empire again. My life has been changed since August of 2014. I am still dealing with them and getting nowhere. I am calling them daily. It is frustrating not to get a response from them. I am only getting an email once in a while, and keep getting promises made but not getting any of them.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >