Preview Review

Next Review

E-trade Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Why Do I Bother Wasting My Time and Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

BRISBANE -- Oh my God if their systems could be anymore outdated, irresponsible and downright stupid. Here we go. Their portfolio section which you trade from to see your holdings does not communicated with your account balance all the time so you may have holdings you don't know about. So this is the second time where shares that have been full sold down then reappear on my account balance.

I am then told that I haven't sold them all and that this is my fault, I should have contacted them. WTF is my statement as you are trying to use what is meant to be a trading platform where you are charged an arm and a leg to trade and they can't get it right but you're wrong. I hate the way they take forever and I mean forever to settle. I wish they could fix the errors or admit that they have an issue and make amends not charge me like I have millions of dollars.

Replies
Advertisement
E-Trade Relies on "Babies" for Customers
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

E-trade's talking baby ads are no joke. The company tries to appeal to young techy business types who don't know much about investing. I very glad they only had a portion of our portfolio. Markets and investments go up and down, but you can be certain that your ups will not be as high with E-trade, and your downs will go much lower. They eat you alive with hidden costs and fees. During a downturn, they would not let me sell or close an account. They needed the last thousands for sell-offs and fees.

Then, they started charging me every month. My 15 grand in stocks investments went negative with these guys. Customer service was apologetic and ineffective. Stick with Fidelity, Schwab, Well Fargo and any number of other reputable financial service companies that treat customers as adults and talking babies. E-trade is a sure thing bad move.

Replies
Left Hand Doesn't Know What the Right Hand Is Doing
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA CLARA, CALIFORNIA -- I want to transfer my ETrade i401K account to my Vanguard traditional IRA account. ETrade's left hand doesn't know what the right hand is doing. They misinformed me that the securities can transfer in kind to Vanguard. After back and forth with ETrade and Vanguard over several days, I find out ETrade requires liquidation of my securities (why didn't they tell me initially?). After a couple more phone calls, I find out they require that I manually sell them. Robo calls from them are vague. I return their call and I have to repeat what I've already in detail told a previous representative in a previous call. Time burner.

2/13/12 I was told their computers would automatically know the securities are sold and proceed with transferring the money. I sold the securities 2/14/12. 2/15/12 I was told that the request must be re-submitted. 2/16/12 I was told that funds must be sent by a check to me or wired to Vanguard for a $25 fee. I approved the wire and the wire fee. I was told the funds would wire 2/17/12. 2/17/12 I receive a robo call from ETrade. I call and I have to repeat ALL I said on 2/16/12. I am told that the funds will wire 2/21/12. I hope it happens, I am so done with ETrade.

Replies
Close You Account While You Can
By -

I had several accounts with E*Trade. Nothing was on margin and no checks every bounced. They closed out all my accounts on me. Customer service said you will get something in mail explaining why. Well later came and it was basically we reserve the right to close out your account at any time for any reason. 2 weeks later I'm still chasing my money from them and the customer service has no clue.

FDIC will not do anything because they say it is a OCC issue. OCC will not get back to me. So now I'm waiting till they decide it is a right time for me to have my money back. I will just make sure I let everyone I know about the problems I have had with them. Maybe they will not join or will switch their accounts elsewhere. This is a poorly run business.

Replies
Advertisement
Wrongful Account Balances
By -

I have a Brokerage Account with E-Trade and every time I have to call and ask for a balance update. Why? Ex: I will get my jobs direct deposit. Let's say &700.00 I will withdraw 100.00 from the ATM. My account will view $500.00, ATM fees are reimbursed that's why I'm giving you single digit numbers. Then I would fill up my Tank of my car for approx. 46.01 my account will then view $353.30. Do anyone see how crazy this is? Then when I'll call and explain to them the wrongful account balances they'll give me some lame excuse that for every transaction Visa/ or a Merchant will put a hold on your funds for a certain amount of money "for protection".

Protection from what, when the money was already withdrawn and this is 2-3 days later. So then I started only using debit. And the same thing happens today. This is causing me late fees on paying my insurance and car note. I work hard for my money for it to be tied up in god knows what. And to hear poor excuses. What are they doing with my money why do I have to wait 3-10 business days for my money to be available. I need help, a lawyer or something. I need to be reimbursed for all my late fees due to the banks negligence.

Replies
Lousy Customer Service
By -

I have been an E*Trade customer for many years. Ten days ago my money market account was suddenly frozen. No word of explanation. No notice. I emailed customer service repeatedly and spoke with four different representatives. Not one was able to explain what happened or tell me how to solve the problem. I was promised repeatedly a case manager would call me. None did.

I contacted the Corporate Information Officer by email and the Chief Operations Officer by fax. NO ANSWER. They refuse to honor my credit card charges and keep sending me overdraft notices, when my "available balance" is more than 100 times the charged amount. What can I do when even the Chief Operations Officer does not care?

Replies
E*Trade Exorbitant Inactivity Fees
By -

I was hoping to find a way to reverse 5 (FIVE) years of inactivity fees which they started charging me once I turned off paper statements. If I had been getting a paper statement I would have done whatever it took to stop these exorbitant fees. I only had 2 stocks with $2000 in the account and actually forgot about them until I wanted to transfer them to another brokerage account. They have been stealing all of my cash dividends which I have been paying taxes on for five years and STILL charging me $40 a quarter for an Inactivity Fee! Now before I can transfer these stocks I have to pay over $800 in Inactivity Fees and $60 to transfer and close the account.

Replies
Deceptive Fee Policy
By -

If you are a small investor or just starting out, beware of the quarterly $40 fee that ETrade will charge you for not having any activity on your account (you pay them for letting your money sit in their coffers!) When I learned of this fee, I spoke to a representative who said that all I had to do to avoid getting charged was to make a trade once per quarter. Fair enough. So I made a trade on 6/23/09.

When my statement came in, I saw that there was that $40 charge for the 2nd quarter. So I called to inquire, and guess what... the cutoff date was 6/22. So the trade didn't count towards eliminating the fee, AND I paid the $12.99 trading fee as well. The representative was quite condescending when I complained, and wouldn't put me through to her supervisor. Shame on them for taking advantage of their customers with hidden, small print fee policies!

Replies
Advertisement
Complaint
By -

After notifying Etrade in Feb. that I did not either sell or transfer funds from my Roth IRA to an external account, (after ten phone calls), they informed me that it was not a fraudulent transfer. Who else can I report this to. Don't the police have to do an investigation since the bank routing number and checking account number to which it was transferred ($17,000) are known. I called Bank of America to which it was transferred and they told me that that account was fraudulent and is now closed, however, etrade refuses to investigate. I have 24 separate accounts (family and friends) with Etrade.

Replies
Beware the Float
By -

I first called E*Trade to close a CD instead of rolling it over on 2/12/09. I finally received the check 4/2/09. In the meantime, I faxed, refaxed, and re-refaxed a letter of instruction to close the account, together with all the supporting documentation. I spoke to at least 3 customer service staff, and each time, there was no new information in the computer. Now, having received the check, it has been placed on hold. Although the assistant manager of my bank would not explicitly say so - "they have had some trouble collecting funds from some banks and insurance companies". This was for an amount well under $10,000.

I cannot imagine why customer service would be this bad. AND, although I received the check, the account was now closed well after the rollover period, but the check was not accompanied by a statement describing the transaction - so I have no idea how much the penalty for early withdrawal was. So, I cannot either confirm that amount, or report it on next year's taxes. Do you think they are doing this in order to get the float?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

E-trade Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
53 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
E-trade
1271 Avenue of the Americas, 14th Floor
New York, NY 10020-1302
1-800-387-2331 (ph)
ww.us.etrade.com
Compare Online Finance Services