[X]

Expedia Hotel Bookings - Page 2

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 7 ratings and
24 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Horrible Experience
Posted by on
I booked a double non smoking room through Expedia when I arrived at the hotel at about 8:30pm they checked me in and when I walked into the room I realized I was in a smoking room. I called to the front desk and they said they had overbooked and they had no more non smoking rooms and she offered me a non smoking king with a roll away bed. I immediately called Expedia to notify them of the problem only to be placed on and off hold for almost two hours. Then I finally got a lady who said she would rebook us into a hotel that's close by and there would be no extra charge and to hold again while she called the hotel and book the room only for me to be disconnected. I waited because they asked me for my phone number so they could contact me only for no one to call me back. So I called only to be placed on hold another thirty minutes and I had to explain the situation all over again and be transferred again and the rudest lady jumps on the phone and says why are you calling we called the hotel your already checked in we have no record of anyone saying they will rebook you so we can't help you I was trying to explain to the lady and she hung up on me. I called again and now its midnight I sitting in a restaurant with my husband and two children because we were hoping to get into another hotel that could accommodate us only for me to call and ask for the supervisor who gets on the phone and say I can't help you because it is after midnight and we can't go back to any reservation once the day has changed she did offer my money back that I had paid Expedia and said you will be responsible for paying the hotel if you stay so basically they did nothing. So my family of four are all sleeping in a king size bed together for the night because they couldn't do their jobs I WILL NEVER BOOK THROUGH EXPEDIA AGAIN. ANYONE LOOKING TO BOOK THROUGH THEM BEWARE IF SOMETHING GOES WRONG YOUR SCREWED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Helpful on 2010-07-18:
I've heard of too many problems with these third parties to trust them.
Anonymous on 2010-07-18:
I haven't been on here in a while to say this but this is the epitome of why you book directly with whom you want service from. Calling Expedia when the hotel says they're full isn't going to open up a room for you. I heard that 1000 times when I worked for an airline. Customer had a problem or we caused the problem and they say "I'm going to call my agent". Go ahead. I'm still the guy that needs to help you. Everybody......book directly with hotels, airlines cruise companies. If you have a problem, at least you know whom to call.
jktshff1 on 2010-07-18:
sup judge? good seein ya.
Weedwhacked on 2010-07-18:
Judge is 100 percent correct.
Ritchie107 on 2010-08-05:
When you reserve directly through hotel or hotel website, they also have a ranking system! So your feedback, will give them ranking and points.

But when you reserve through third party (the party that charges our hotels 25-35% commission and there is no way you can get anything out from us, you know that we will just make sure that you get the room type you requested!

That room will certainly not be one of the best rooms! Plus if there is any problem, we are going to cross all the limits to clear your problem! May be even give you a refund (some significant discount)... but when situation like this happens, I will simply blame the agents and politely say that (I really apologize madam, I totally understand the situation, but we received the reservation like this and unfortunately we do not have any other rooms available!!!)

And if it is not hotel's fault, hotel does not need to pay any refund. If there is a mistake by Expedia, as a manager, I would want Expedia to take care of that issue and give refund to the guest!

I have a question - why do u guys reserve through third party websites? Stop doing that!
IhateExpedia on 2010-09-09:
You said in your complaint that they gave you the money back. I bet you they didn't. What they actually did is give you a lousy credit, but not all of your money. That credit is good for using Expedia again! Yay! That's exactly what you want to do after they give you lousy service.
Close commentsAdd reply
Expedia lies and you pay for it
Posted by on
Expedia and the Hyatt Hotel are in bed together and are DANGEROUS. Not as Advertised. We booked our blanket vacation pkg. through Expedia (falsely advertised the Hotel, amenities & charges.) Expedia refuses to discuss it with me. I have telephoned them five times, and they refuse to discuss this with me. Expedia abandoned us at the Airport & refused our pre-paid rental car. The 2 room suite we had pre-paid for, didn’t’ exist. Hyatt squished us into a tiny, dirty shack (supposed to have 4 queen sized beds). Hyatt & Expedia have a contract. Both over charged us with double and triple charges. Expedia charged us 1st with their huge and embellished blanket package & 2nd charged us with itemized on Credit Card. Hotel charged us a third time. End of stay, 2 Hotel managers imprisoned us for 8 hrs. & demanded +++ money. Refused to show us bill. (Embellished bill: $2.99 for turning on free TV, $16.99 for free swim etc.) Falsely advertised spa prices by charging us 100% for spa services. Hotel refused extra blankets, pillows, towels & bottled water. Hotel concierge assistance charged us third time for already pre-paid tickets. Expedia sent us to wrong hotel. Had to take two cabs to arrive at the Hyatt. Arrived in AM. Hotel charged us anyway. Put us into a tiny, dirty hovel. Expedia left us hanging and wouldn't even speak to us. Took off a little money for not providing us with our pre-paid car and then, in addition to their over charging me they added the car rental charge. After leaving hotel room 1st day, someone broke into room safe & stole all of our cash. Both Hotel and Expedia refuses to make right. Rooms weren’t as advertised. Hyatt put us in hovels needing repairs: small, 0 cushions on patio furniture, dirty walls, worn out carpet, bad odor. Were charged for amenity of free breakfast. *Due to (1) wonderful hotel manager, we were given a comp & upgraded room.* Hotel charged us for it anyway. We were moved 3 times & each room was in need of repair. We never ended up in the room we had pre-paid for. Charges from Expedia doubled from beginning to the final bill on my Credit Card. Our beautiful “comp suite” had two rooms, but it had a patio wall that was broken away from the wall (dangerous). Our bill was pd! Last day, 2 hotel managers held us prisoners x 8 hrs. demanding more money. After arriving home Manager telephoned me demanding I pay this embellished bill again. “Asked me to send him the money directly, and keep it between the two of us.” Refuse to give us bill stating that it was a breach of confidentiality with Expedia.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

dan gordon on 2010-01-04:
unless you could reference the original 'ad' its hard for anyone to empathize with your rant. If you paid for a package deal I'm not sure hotel could cost out for you each detail.
Ben There on 2010-01-04:
Stuff is missing here. Why were you refused the rental car? Expedia doesn't refuse rental cars, the rental car company does, normally because you are not old enough, don't have a real credit card or your driving record is bad.

Also, how did Expedia send you to the wrong hotel? Did the cab driver call Expedia for directions?

Also, pre-paid room costs do not include mini-bar, spa packages, food, etc... When you pre-pay a room, any incidentals are extra.
Anonymous on 2010-01-04:
This doesn't seem right....
Close commentsAdd reply
The Worst Travel Company in Canada
Posted by on
KITCHENER, ONTARIO, CANADA -- Two years ago, my husband and I attempted to book a trip to Barbados with Expedia.ca.

Had I known that this site existed then, I would have submitted this review much sooner. We were told that the hotel we book, The Blue Orchid was full and that we needed to book a new hotel.

Later, we were contacted and told that they would book us there, but to a superior room and our cost. As a former travel agent, I found this odd. Usually when a lead in room rate is full, you receive an automatic upgrade at not cost to the consumer.

To make an extremely long and painful story short, they basically took our information, "booked" the trip and then told us the entire hotel was booked and that we would have to go elsewhere.

However, they took our deposit via credit card and told us that the remainder of the payment was due, even though they could not provide a hotel for us.
This was an IT issue, but these geniuses at Expedia.ca in KItchener, said they could not fix it.

Also, each time we phoned them, we were put on hold for an average of 45 minutes per call. Each time we asked for a supervisor, he was "unavailable".
We were then told that our supervisor no longer worked at Expedia. ca. Given our length of time on the phone with these perole I could see that they had time to hire and fire an entirely new team.

WE also had to phone our hotel in Barbados ourselves, as Expedia was either unwilling or unavailable to do so. They also outsource their work to a company in Florida and we began to receive annoying phone calls and emails from Florida telling us that our payment for the now non-existent trip was due.

After three weeks of this insanity, I contacted the customer Service person at Expedia.com in Washington state, who, after four more phone calls and numerous emails fixed it. She offered us a $1000.00 rebate on our trip, which we had booked with another company. Do not use this company.

Their customer service is non-existent and they have the worst communication skills I have ever encountered.
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

2nice4me on 2009-10-15:


Dear,

Thank you for contacting Expedia.ca regarding your hotel reservations.

We would simply need you to verify whether you would like to keep this reservation or cancel. We are showing currently that no cancellation penalty would apply and you would be able to cancel the reservations and receive a full refund. You would then simply need to rebook a new reservation. If you would like to keep the reservations, we would be able to further investigate this issue to verify what additional options would be available.

Unfortunately, we are unable to process or discuss any changes or cancellations via e-mail due to our strict customer security policy. We would simply advise that you call in to speak with a representative in order to cancel the reservation.

We apologize for any confusion or inconvenience that this may have caused.

If you have questions regarding this matter or require further assistance, please feel free to contact our Customer Support Representatives who are available to assist you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Thank you for choosing Expedia.ca!

Customer Support Team
1-888-EXPEDIA (1-888-397-3342)
Expedia.ca

_______________________________________________________________________________


Hi ,

I can’t believe that this is requiring so much communication in regards to your own website. As I mentioned before, I have booked most of our vacation trips with your company, not because of price, because any one of your competitors and travel agency will match pricing. I book with Expedia because I thought your company is large and reputable company and would know how to deal with customer complaints and concerns.

This is the first time that I have to complain about the service and your inability to verify what is posted on your own website. In my original email I mentioned the following:

“Are you able to contact the hotel and have them honor the offer as
advertised? If you are not I would expect that you will remove the All
Inclusive offer from your website.”

All I was asking for was to have the hotel (I didn’t say Expedia) honor the offer or for Expedia to update their website. However the seemingly inability to confirm my complaint is just making me more and more upset.

1. In my second reply to you, I had attached a work document with three images of today's Expedia.ca website. You must have not seen them since they show what it shown on your website!
2. I have attached them again for your review.
3. If you take a moment of your time, go to your own website and search for fairway and Bluewaters in Boracay, Philippines, you then will be able to see what your website states this resort is “All inclusive”.
4. I also placed images in this email body just incase you cannot open the MS Word document or the PDF file
5. The screenshots are NOT OUTDATED or an OLD LINK, the time is stamped on the bottom right corner of the windows screen.

If you still are not able to see what I am referring to and need more clarification in terms of where I found the information please call me at xxxxxxxx, any day between 9am and 10pm Pacific Standard time.

Thanks you for your time and response,
_______________________________________________________________________________


-----Original Message-----
From: support@service.Expedia.ca [mailto:support@service.expedia.ca]
Sent: Thursday, October 15, 2009 2:55 PM

Dear

Thank you for contacting Expedia.ca regarding your hotel reservation.

We have searched for the hotel to verify whether the reservation would include the option of all inclusive. Unfortunately, we are not showing a listing in the hotel details or room details that all inclusive is available. We are only showing that most of the rooms through the hotel would include a breakfast buffet.

Unfortunately, the link you provided is an old link and we were not able to view the page. We would simply advise that you provide additional information regarding this offer and to provide a valid link to the page that states the hotel as being all inclusive. We would then be able to further investigate this issue.

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused.

If you have questions regarding this matter or require further assistance, please feel free to contact our Customer Support Representatives who are available to assist you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Thank you for choosing Expedia.ca!

Customer Support Team
1-888-EXPEDIA (1-888-397-3342)
Expedia.ca


_______________________________________________________________________________
Sent: 10/15/2009 2:36:13 PM
To: support@service.Expedia.ca


Hi,

You must not have read my email properly NOR have you actually checked
your own website.

http://www.expedia.ca/pub/agent.dll/qscr=dspv/from=f/shtl=1/fgds=0/favl=
0/htsd=0/flag=1/fsam=1/htid=2328592/ihtl=0/smgt=3/crti=2/rfrr=-55114/itd
x=/itid=/itty=/hwrq=EX011F13B16EJGDCW3$D6$B2F3$D6$B22!70$1B$2D9!H0$0A!80
1000$40$3B$D2$0C$A0d$D2$0C!A070Dgsmxma!8070dgsmxma!6$FF!R010003000202000
4$0B10001000101100001000$1E000$1F000Mnn$2DJoxnvfjlp.gwyjgof.mlmjnmdnp!60
!4$FF

Even right now at this moment it is still being advertised as "All
Inclusive" and this is just upsetting me more than you don't make an
effort to view your own website and don't investigate complaints
properly.

Please respond with a solution

Thanks,

_______________________________________________________________________________
Dear

Thank you for contacting Expedia.ca regarding your hotel reservation.

We have searched for the hotel to verify whether the reservation would include the option of all inclusive. Unfortunately, we are not showing a listing in the hotel details or room details that all inclusive is available. We are only showing that most of the rooms through the hotel would include a breakfast buffet.

Unfortunately, the link you provided is an old link and we were not able to view the page. We would simply advise that you provide additional information regarding this offer and to provide a valid link to the page that states the hotel as being all inclusive. We would then be able to further investigate this issue.

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused.

If you have questions regarding this matter or require further assistance, please feel free to contact our Customer Support Representatives who are available to assist you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Thank you for choosing Expedia.ca!

Customer Support Team
1-888-EXPEDIA (1-888-397-3342)
Expedia.ca

_______________________________________________________________________________


-----Original Message-----
From:
Sent: 10/15/2009 2:36:13 PM
To: support@service.Expedia.ca

Hi,

You must not have read my email properly NOR have you actually checked your own website.

http://www.expedia.ca/pub/agent.dll/qscr=dspv/from=f/shtl=1/fgds=0/favl=
0/htsd=0/flag=1/fsam=1/htid=2328592/ihtl=0/smgt=3/crti=2/rfrr=-55114/itd
x=/itid=/itty=/hwrq=EX011F13B16EJGDCW3$D6$B2F3$D6$B22!70$1B$2D9!H0$0A!80
1000$40$3B$D2$0C$A0d$D2$0C!A070Dgsmxma!8070dgsmxma!6$FF!R010003000202000
4$0B10001000101100001000$1E000$1F000Mnn$2DJoxnvfjlp.gwyjgof.mlmjnmdnp!60
!4$FF

Even right now at this moment it is still being advertised as "All Inclusive" and this is just upsetting me more than you don't make an effort to view your own website and don't investigate complaints properly.

Please respond with a solution

Thanks,

_______________________________________________________________________________

--- On Thu, 10/15/09, support@service.Expedia.ca
wrote:

From: support@service.Expedia.ca

Dear xxx,

Thank you for contacting Expedia.ca regarding your hotel reservation.

Unfortunately, we are not showing on either itinerary that you had booked an all inclusive stay. Unfortunately, the offer may no longer have been available when you had booked the reservations.

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused.

If you have questions regarding this matter or require further assistance, please feel free to contact our Customer Support Representatives who are available to assist you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Thank you for choosing Expedia.ca!

Customer Support Team
1-888-EXPEDIA (1-888-397-3342)
Expedia.ca
_______________________________________________________________________________

From:
Sent: 10/13/2009 11:00:59 PM
To: support@service.Expedia.ca

Hello,

I have booked my Boracay hotel accommodation at the Fairway and Bluewater
resort:

I had compared the hotel on various websites but saw that on Expedia this hotel was All Inclusive which the deciding factor for me.I called tonight to change the room and at the same time inquired about this offer.

The operator advised me that the listing information was coming from the hotel directly and information should be correct. When I mentioned that the hotels own website did not have the All Inclusive offer, the agent responded that this could be an exclusive offer made between the hotel and Expedia.

She then said that I would have to call the hotel directly to confirm the offer. That does not sound right to me since I am booking via Expedia. As an agent between the hotel and the customer I would expect that your company would have the responsibility to contact the hotel and verify that the advertised information is correct.

Although I mentioned this to the agent she said that I had to call the hotel.

So I spoke to the hotel @011-63-36-288-5176 and they are saying that they DO NOT have an All Inclusive offer with Expedia.

I book the majority of my vacations via Expedia and this is the first time where I need assistance in resolving a discrepancy in the offer and would have expected a better response from your customer service person.

Are you able to contact the hotel and have them honor the offer as advertised? If you are not I would expect that you will remove the All Inclusive offer from your website.

Please advice what your steps will be in this matter,

Thanks,

2nice4me on 2009-10-15:


Hi ,

I can’t believe that this is requiring so much communication in regards to your own website. As I mentioned before, I have booked most of our vacation trips with your company, not because of price, because any one of your competitors and travel agency will match pricing. I book with Expedia because I thought your company is large and reputable company and would know how to deal with customer complaints and concerns.

This is the first time that I have to complain about the service and your inability to verify what is posted on your own website. In my original email I mentioned the following:

“Are you able to contact the hotel and have them honor the offer as
advertised? If you are not I would expect that you will remove the All
Inclusive offer from your website.”

All I was asking for was to have the hotel (I didn’t say Expedia) honor the offer or for Expedia to update their website. However the seemingly inability to confirm my complaint is just making me more and more upset.

1. In my second reply to you, I had attached a work document with three images of today's Expedia.ca website. You must have not seen them since they show what it shown on your website!
2. I have attached them again for your review.
3. If you take a moment of your time, go to your own website and search for fairway and Bluewaters in Boracay, Philippines, you then will be able to see what your website states this resort is “All inclusive”.
4. I also placed images in this email body just incase you cannot open the MS Word document or the PDF file
5. The screenshots are NOT OUTDATED or an OLD LINK, the time is stamped on the bottom right corner of the windows screen.

If you still are not able to see what I am referring to and need more clarification in terms of where I found the information please call me at xxxxxxxx, any day between 9am and 10pm Pacific Standard time.

Thanks you for your time and response,
2nice4me on 2009-10-15:


-----Original Message-----
From: support@service.Expedia.ca [mailto:support@service.expedia.ca]
Sent: Thursday, October 15, 2009 2:55 PM

Dear

Thank you for contacting Expedia.ca regarding your hotel reservation.

We have searched for the hotel to verify whether the reservation would include the option of all inclusive. Unfortunately, we are not showing a listing in the hotel details or room details that all inclusive is available. We are only showing that most of the rooms through the hotel would include a breakfast buffet.

Unfortunately, the link you provided is an old link and we were not able to view the page. We would simply advise that you provide additional information regarding this offer and to provide a valid link to the page that states the hotel as being all inclusive. We would then be able to further investigate this issue.

We apologize for any inconvenience that this may have caused.

If you have questions regarding this matter or require further assistance, please feel free to contact our Customer Support Representatives who are available to assist you 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Thank you for choosing Expedia.ca!

Customer Support Team
1-888-EXPEDIA (1-888-397-3342)
Expedia.ca
2nice4me on 2009-10-15:
Sent: 10/15/2009 2:36:13 PM
To: support@service.Expedia.ca


Hi,

You must not have read my email properly NOR have you actually checked
your own website.

http://www.expedia.ca/pub/agent.dll/qscr=dspv/from=f/shtl=1/fgds=0/favl=
0/htsd=0/flag=1/fsam=1/htid=2328592/ihtl=0/smgt=3/crti=2/rfrr=-55114/itd
x=/itid=/itty=/hwrq=EX011F13B16EJGDCW3$D6$B2F3$D6$B22!70$1B$2D9!H0$0A!80
1000$40$3B$D2$0C$A0d$D2$0C!A070Dgsmxma!8070dgsmxma!6$FF!R010003000202000
4$0B10001000101100001000$1E000$1F000Mnn$2DJoxnvfjlp.gwyjgof.mlmjnmdnp!60
!4$FF

Even right now at this moment it is still being advertised as "All
Inclusive" and this is just upsetting me more than you don't make an
effort to view your own website and don't investigate complaints
properly.

Please respond with a solution

Thanks,
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Expedia charges more than rack rate; some discount
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Booked through Expedia. 5 nights at. Montana b and b. $225/night. Arrived for vacation stay. Learned that others were paying $169 for this room. Furious. Complained to Expedia. No good response. Never using Expedia again.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2012-07-28:
I've found booking directly through the hotel is usually cheaper. I have AAA, and when I price the rates with my AAA discount, it's more expensive than the hotel's regular rates. Same as when I go to sites like Expedia or Hotels.com.
Ben There on 2012-07-28:
Hotels room rates are like plane tickets and cruises... The prices change all the time based on supply and demand. If your rate is flexible, you can normally get your price reduced to the new lower cost.
trmn8r on 2012-07-28:
You agreed to the rate when you booked. Unless there is some kind of a guarantee, I'm afraid you are out of luck.

I don't ask others what they paid when I stay at places, go on cruises, etc. Once I have paid, I judge my satisfaction by comparing the experience to the cost.

The lure of companies such as Expedia seems to be the prospect of saving money. I've never understood the concept, since adding a middle man should increase the cost. Like shorty, I still use AAA for reviews and discounts.
bhskittykatt on 2012-07-28:
Ben There is right that rates are flexible. At my motel, if the price at check-in is lower than what a guest booked it at, I give them the lower rate at check-in. The problem with a site like Expedia is that you've already paid them their money. Expedia then takes their cut, and passes the rest to the hotel or motel. It's out of the hotel's hands at that point what you were charged. That's why it's usually best to book directly; if something comes up, the hotel has the power to work with you directly.
bee on 2012-07-28:
TRMN8R - adding a "middle man" as you put it does not increase the cost. Travel agents do not charge any extra, and many times find the cheapest available rate for their clients. That's a third party right there and that saves money.

When booking travel, it is your responsibility to ensure you are getting the best deal for your travel dollar. Expedia is fine for searching hotels in a particular town. But I would never book through their site. Check the web page of the hotel chain directly or call that hotel and see what their rates are. Or, contact a travel agen who can do those things for you and many times has the ability to find other discounts due to contracts with various suppliers.

Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Multiple Issues
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
I work at a hotel front desk, and on TOP of third party reservations not having guaranteed room types (so don't expect that double you thought you booked), but when I had trouble finding a reservation for a guest, I was, actually still am, on hold. It has been, as of right now, 58 minutes and 45 seconds. I recommend booking directly through the hotel you wish to stay in.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

bhskittykatt on 2012-06-23:
Not to mention Expedia often wants up to a 30% commission and control over last-room availability. I'm so glad my chain doesn't deal with them. We work with a few other 3rd party site though and have had off-and-on issues with them misrepresenting our amenities and such.

I always advise that if you find a price through a 3rd party site, call the hotel and politely ask if they will match the rate. They'll likely be willing to, since that way they don't have to pay the commission, or deal with the headache, of a third party, so both the guest and the hotel will benefit that way.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Charged My CC for Incorrect Reservation and Would Not Cancel My Reservation Not Refund My CC.
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
Expedia charged my CC for a reservation that was incorrectly made by Expedia. When the mistake was found, Expedia refused to cancel the reservation and refund my credit card. They kept blaming the Westin for the mistake, even though the Westin advised me to not book through 3rd party again as the Westin always has a cancellation policy. Never use Expedia again.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

danie1442 on 2012-06-18:
I too believe it's best to book straight through the hotel. I have tried to use the services that say they have cheaper deals once but noticed that they were just about the same. The cancellation policy alone is always reason to go through the hotel.

Also, when booking with airlines look at their sites, you may be surprised that you get the same deal on those sometimes.

I hope they work this out for you.
Ben There on 2012-06-18:
Westin has rates that can come with hefty cancellation penalties as well, just like Expedia has rates that allow free cancellations. You just have to read the rules of what you are buying and never assume any rate is refundable regardless of how you book.
Old Timer on 2012-06-18:
Almost always best to stay away from these 3rd party sites unless you can afford to lose your money if something goes wrong. A direct booking with Westin would have provided a lot more wiggle room if an error was made by anyone.
Close commentsAdd reply
Booked the wrong date
Posted by on
Expedia reserved a hotel room for my family on the wrong date. I discovered the error within 24 hours and asked them to change the rooms from Friday night to Thursday night knowing that the hotel would much rather fill up their rooms during the week, rather than the weekend. There was no recourse for the special discount price. It appeared to me that I would be paying for Expedia's mistake. I suppose it's possible that I entered the wrong date, but I really don't think so. Maybe it was a computer glitch. When I wrote that I would never use Expedia again, they asked me for another chance. I replied that since they wouldn't give me another chance, I wouldn't give them one. Fair is fair. There are many other travel companies that will be glad to help us with our future travel plans.
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

unhappy999 on 2010-10-02:
Its always best to book directly with the hotel than through a third party site. Usually third part sitesdo not allow changes or refunds. In spite of this, I think you must have entered the wrong date because their website must be working properly, otherwise, there would be tons of people with the same problem. Learn from this mistake and book directly next time. Usually the hotel would allow you to make a change such as this or even cancel the reservation if need be.
Fufu487 on 2010-10-02:
Third party sites get prices for specific days. Keep in mind, Expedia is NOT the hotel itself. just book with the hotel, then they are accountable for any mistakes. It's hard to get any mistakes rectified when you book through 3rd party sites because you get this back and forth of "we're not accountable".
bob932304 on 2010-10-02:
I'm sure Expedia uses what was entered by you to make reservations. But even it you did make an error in your date entry what skin is it off Expedia to correct it. Did you check the hotel's website first to see if you would have even saved any money using Expedia?
getoverit on 2010-10-02:
I would expect that if you had made a non-cancelable/non-refundable booking directly with the hotel, they would have been just as inflexible as Expedia.

I'm not clear on what you mean by "no recourse for the special discount price". What were you expecting Expedia to do? Change the date and reduce the price because it was Thursday? Were they listing a lower price for Thursday?

A lot of hotels get mostly business customers and often reduce their rates on weekends. Maybe Friday's rate was lower.
trmn8r on 2010-10-02:
Unfortunately you don't know the source of the error, and admit it may have been your mistake. If it was your error, you should have been prepared to take responsibility for it. Since you don't know whose fault it is, IMO the assumption you erred is what Expedia should follow. Any customer could say they were sure they didn't make a mistake, if you see what I mean.
IhateExpedia on 2010-10-12:
I fully believe that you did NOT make a mistake, and that the error was Expedia. I found that they make it easy to make mistakes, through a rather quirky system that is their website. Something wrong with the cache? Your fault. Error on their site? Your fault. Read a price and they give you another? Your fault. Expedia loves to blame the customer, but would never admit to mistakes. It's in their policy to never do so, or ever give you refunds. Unless, of course, you are a high-profile writer or someone else of importance that would hurt their bottom line. If My3cents were just a tad more popular, you can bet they would send their hairy net trolls to put fake positive reviews.
David Bori on 2013-09-07:
EXPEDIA Hotels and Flights Application is also Garbage and rip off.Not user friendly the layout is clumsy crap, the selection input interface forced me to choose wrong date after I placed correct one. This will ultimately cause you to book wrong and together with Hotel refund policies will rob you. Had to file chargeback because of this lousy app check the reviews of Expedia.They own Hotels.Com ! Explains why they can do this crap.
tony allen on 2013-11-02:
booked a room in the afternoon for that very evening with a departure date of the next day. There is no chance whatsover the wrong dates were selected on my end and this is the first weekend of the month. The dates selected on the site were apparent and obvious.

saw that my reservation confirmation came across email. thought nothing of it. Went to the hotel and the reservation was not found in the hotel system. I retrieved my computer and she saw the header of the email and she said " oh, you booked with Expedia, I'll bet they changed the date. This happens all the time. Closer review of the email confirmed this. Expedia would not cancel and refund the payment.
Close commentsAdd reply
Terrible customer service/ botched itinerary
Posted by on
Please be wary before using Expedia to book your vacation. I had asked for certain ammenities and was confirmed those ammenities had been approved on my printed itinerary. Upon leaving the hotel I incurred $450.00 in fees which brought my bank account negative and ruined my entire vacation. After the fact I contacted Expedia to discuss these charges and their part in not having my itinerary correct, and at that time they told me they "were sorry for the inconvenience" and would give me $50 off my next booking with them. I told them I take vacation once a year (sometimes two) and an "I'm sorry" doesn't nearly cover it. I told them don't worry about the $50 I will never be booking through Expedia ever again.

Please be aware of my bad experience and don't let your vacation be ruined. We get so little time to enjoy a vacation in the first place, we deserve to have everything go to plan when we do book one.

Be Well and God Bless,

Ms. Luisa
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Weedwhacked on 2010-09-08:
How did a wrong itinerary make you incur $450 in fees?
Ben There on 2010-09-08:
What exactly happened? What amenities had you confirmed that you were double charged for?
IhateExpedia on 2010-09-08:
I think that she explained enough Ben. She wanted certain amenities, smoking, disability facilities, a bowl of M&M's without a single brown one, it doesn't matter. The fact remains is that between the hotel and Expedia, they were confirmed. She was lied to, as many Expedia customers find out sooner or later, & she wound up paying more than what she was told. They made a mistake, and their attempt to correct it was by giving her a fraction of the costs in form of a credit. Not good enough.
Ben There on 2010-09-08:
That's what I don't get IhateExpedia - most things like smoking, disability facilities, double beds, late check in, adjoining rooms, etc... don't normally cost extra. I don't understand where the extra fee came in... Was that for parking? Resort fees? A fee for smoking in a nonsmoking room?

Hotels just don't take $450 for no reason.
IhateExpedia on 2010-09-08:
It's none of our business. I once stayed at a hotel where the gentlemen next to me requested an extra refrigerator. He told me the hotel charged him very little. Why did he need that extra fridge?

I happen to know why he needed it, but I cannot say, because I swore to him that day I would not tell anyone. It's something you don't want people to know.

Hotels should be that way. Private. Some very unusual amenities can be requested. Perhaps Ms. Luisa should have called the hotel directly to confirm, but don't worry Ms. Luisa, I totally understand.
Ben There on 2010-09-09:
LOL... Last I looked, Expedia does not offer extra refrigerates. The last room I booked with Expedia I requested a king and a rollaway, and the hotel had all of those things for me when I checked in at no extra charge. Maybe the hotel messed up or even ripped off the OP. Guess we will never know.
getoverit on 2010-09-15:
If I had some extraordinary need, I would proably not book via Expedia, though I do use Expedia sometimes. But if you have an Expedia itierary that says certain things are paid for and the hotel staff says they aren't, you address that at checkout. If the staff says that your Expedia documentation is incorrect, you address that with Expedia. If they don't respond, you file a dispute with your credit card company.

If your Expedia booking covers certain ammenities, it would say so on the documentation. If it doesn't, don't take it for granted.
Close commentsAdd reply
Expedia overcharged me for a hotel reservation and refused to refund
Posted by on
I booked a room on Expedia.com and was charged $62 on my credit card before my trip. When I checked in the hotel, clerk gave me a receipt for $49. I then called Expedia and requested a refund since they always guarantee lower price for booking through them and I don't see why I should pay them $13 fee for a $45 hotel room. Customer representative not only refused to refund citing that Expedia doesn't have a refund policy, but also told me to feel free to file a complaint. But when I asked him if Expedia is a BBB member, he said no. Gladly I found out that Expedia is a BBB member and I will file a complaint there as well. All in all, will never book anything from them again. I checked the hotel I stayed in and in fact, it costs a lot less to book directly with the hotel.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

BEJ on 2010-06-23:
That is why it is best to use these 3rd party sites as research and book directly with the hotel etc.
MDSasquatch on 2010-06-23:
At this stage of the game, anyone that continues using these 3rd party reservations deserves what they get. How hard is it to book direct?

I am not blaming the OP, but there are way to many of these stories on this site.
Ben There on 2010-06-23:
I hate to break it to you, but most things you buy in stores for $62 probably include a much higher mark up that $13. I used to work retail, and clothes and jewelry can have a 50% mark up, so that purse you bought for $62 really cost the store $30. Do you expect a refund from Macy's for the difference?

The hotel should not have given you that receipt. That is the amount Expedia pays for the room, not you. You could not have gotten that amount as Expedia has bigger discounts with lots of hotels.
Close commentsAdd reply
False advertising cost me money
Posted by on
I have over 75,000 frequent flier miles on a credit card, which would allow me to purchase a package trip up to $750 in value. I purchased a roundtrip air faire and a hotel costing a total of $685.90. I called the credit card company in advance of booking to determine if this package would be covered in full by my miles and I was told by a human being that yes, indeed it would. I paid Expedia with my card - made one purchase and received one receipt from Expedia for the full amount. However, when I received my credit card bill the charges for air faire and hotel were separate and even charged on different days. Because the charges were separate my frequent flier miles were no longer adequate to cover both fees. As a result this trip which should have cost me nothing now cost me $263.70. Nothing on the website indicated that the charges would be separate. No one at Expedia was willing or even able to combine the charges on my card to reflect how I had actually paid since everything was computer generated. I think this is misrepresentation bordering on fraud. And it cost me money. I have another vacation package that I booked on Expedia but I will never use this company again.
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:

Anonymous on 2009-12-11:
I wasn't aware that airline miles can be used by a travel agent to book reservations. I was under the impression that you needed to book directly with the airline. Am I missing something?
justbeingnice on 2009-12-13:
well, as far as I am aware of, for someone to use frequent flier miles, it should have to be booked directly with the airline..I think travel agencies does not have any way to use the miles..they would just add up some miles using your new booking. I've been booking a lot of packages online using different websites and most of the time charges for the hotel and flights are separated.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >