Family Auto Mart

Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
3.0 out of 5, based on 10 ratings and
14 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bought the Vehicle Less Than a Week Ago and I'm Experiencing Major Problems
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- I purchased a Honda Accord from Family Auto Mart Feb. 2014. A week after purchasing the vehicle I experienced problems. The door was getting caught into the fender. I reported the problem to the company and they tried to deny responsibilities for the damage. They wanted me to do an insurance claim which I refused. They stated the car wasn't like that when I purchased it. It was clear that previously the car was involved in an accident. Which I didn't complain because there weren't any noticeable damages.

I had to drive the vehicle back to Melbourne to allow their mechanic to inspect the car. The following day they verbally refused to fix the vehicle. After disputing with the company they finally agreed to fix the vehicle. My payments are still rolling and they've had car for a week. They're a total rip off and I wish that I didn't have any involvement with the company! You view their website and those vehicles aren't on their car lot. They company isn't honest at all! If you're from another city I wouldn't recommend anyone to drive there.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Paul on 03/11/2014:
It sounds like they really took you for a ride. Sorry this happened to you.
FoDaddy19 on 03/11/2014:
Did you purchase the car "as is" or "With all faults"? Because that's a really important piece of information.
joe c on 11/13/2014:
I just recently bought a 2006 Mazda. From them. I used my truck as a trade in they gave me $1500.00 for the trade and after we missed one payment they repossessed the car... the finance company that they use will not finance us and told us we had to pay the full price of the car plus $500 repo fee... so i told them to keep the car and i want my truck back or at least th money they gave me for it and they told me nope not happening. ...Now we only had the car for a week.. I WAS ROBBED OF MY MONEY... i was wondering is there anyplace i can go to try to get somthing out of this.. these people played us like a fiddle now i have no car/truck/or money ............ family auto mart needs to be shut down because I WIL CALL THE BETTER BUSINESS BURRO. TO SEE WHERE I STAND maby. The news channels to
Close commentsAdd reply
Cars that shouldn't be able to resell!-Family Auto Mart
Posted by on
MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- I bought a 98 pontiac grand prix at Family Auto Mart in melbourne fl. The total price was 11,900 and the cars only worth 2500. We'll I wasn't informed on the problems it had until after I bought it..First its a total rust bucket I m praying that it will at least last until I'm done paying it off..2900 left. I already had to replace the brake lines and have been seriously worn to get rid of car cause anytime something else can rust off. Its a sad thing I try not to cry when I think about it. I did buy my other car from them a 99 chevy lumina but it got wrecked when I got rear-ended and the remaining balance had to go on this one that I have now which is why I'm in this jam. The finance company are aware of my dilemma and they said the I have 2 choices 1. I can drop off at the dealership and walk away clean no credit problems 2. Trade in and add the remaining balance on to another car of theirs. My response to number 1 is heck no what will I drive??? ha after paying all that money I think I should get refunded back some. and 2 heck no how do I trust another car?

Paying way too much money for a used car that is in very unsafe shape is totally ridiculous! There should be a law to protect the consumer against the sleaze balls at the dealerships and the resale of cars. Don't go to Family Auto Mart take my advice they only have high mileage cars with hidden defects! Oh my back windows never worked but yet the back window on driver side passengers window is held up by duck tape I swore to myself that I would never put duck tape on my car and what the heck I cannot fix it its a 300 dollar part not for my rust bucket!
     
Read 19 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
FoggyOne on 07/03/2007:
I am a little suspicious of your statement that the finance company said "I can drop off at the dealership and walk away clean no credit problems". The finance company could not care less about the car, you owe them money, that is what they want. The dealership is out of this equation. The only possible explanation is if the dealership is financing your car. I can only say, before you drop it off make sure it won't affect your credit.
Anonymous on 07/03/2007:
Pontiac are the worst. When I was younger, I had 2 of them. Pontiac are cars for short-term ownership like leases. They tend to have lots problems after warranty expired. I perfer foreign cars like Honda and Toyota. They have better built-quality. I drive a BMW'06 3 series now. The car handle like a dream. Average Bimmer engine life is rated around 350,000.
rhondam718732 on 07/03/2007:
How did you not know the car was a rust bucket before you bought it? How long have you had this car?
runaway on 07/03/2007:
This is another case of not carefully loooking into what you are throwing money at. You should have known how much you were paying for the car when signing the paperwork; ask for the total payoff and the interest rate or use a financial calculator. Check in Kelly's Blue Book or online for the car's value based on the condition it's in, and for reviews on how well they hold up and common problems. Take a used vehicle to a reputable mechanic for a pre-purchase inspection.
ANY used car is going to have to be repaired at some point, some more than others. Things wear out over time, and the previuos owner's care has a lot to do with it.
I have a '97 Grand Prix (work car) and you can look forward to a lot more repairs and problems (I pray you don't have the turbo - it took three NEW replacements before they found one that worked!)
poppapia on 07/03/2007:
If I'm understanding this complaint, you purchased a car without doing any research, on the value and history (Carfax, etc.), and it's the dealer's fault because they sold it to you? I believe it's in a car dealer's best interest to sell vehicles, and it's in the consumer's best interest to do some research before purchasing. Others may have sympathy for you, but I don't.
bill on 07/05/2007:
You definitely need to do more research before you buy your next used car. You paid almost $12k for a 9 year old car that originally sold for $19k.
gprimr1 on 08/05/2007:
Did you not look at the car? Not to be an ass but know what your getting into.
Pissed Off Lizard on 08/20/2007:
The whole point of this is to warn other users not to take the actions that he took, and not to trust that particular dealership.

It does look like he did not exercise good judgment in the sale and made the error of purchasing a vehicle from one of the worst dealerships in the state of Florida.

However, swindling a person out his hard earned money is never right and my sympathies are squarely on the side of this poor gentleman and not on the side of the ex-cons who run Family Auto.
nolesfan00 on 05/16/2008:
I have to agree with him. I bought a 2003 neon that was only blue book 6000 and I paid over 12k for it.I only had the car for 11 days and it was braking down. something about the sensor. I got it fixed. they paid. then about 2 weeks went by and it happened again. I tried to get help towing to where it was being fixed after countless calls and promises I had to have my boyfriend tow it. I waited 3-4 days and finally I got it back. My boyfriend paid for the fix even though the cars problem was originally from the fixing of it. I am now carless. the repoed the car because I suspended the ins. I think that they are crooks!! no one buy from them!!!
jr68 on 07/26/2008:
wow...could things get any worse...I know that there are individuals out there that take advantage of people by selling them cars that should not be in the road and for WAY too much money...however, if u gots no common sense, u needs to be on a bicycle....
ManFromUncle on 02/27/2009:
They did same thing to my Nephew, paid twice what car book value was, That is criminal to take advantage of someone, young, old, it's just wrong and they should be punished.
Wrenchman on 04/02/2009:
sounds like you were upside down in your old car and the 12000.00 is what you financced. what was the price of the rusty car?
ejack053824 on 04/02/2009:
You bought from the Fat Family Man? I used to love his commercials when I was living in Orlando for a bit. Him doing flips and cartwheels was funny.
jasonx on 08/31/2010:
I bought cars from there, and I got a reaaly good price, I bought an 06 Nissan altima for $6,500. I have sent my sisters and cousins there in the past 2 mths.
soilo11099 on 01/01/2012:
BEFORE I PURCHASED MY VEHICLE I ALWAYS CHECKED IT BY A MECHANIC. HAD MANY FRIENDS AND FAMILY BUY FROM THEM SINCE 1998 UNTIL NOW AND NEVER HAD PROBLEMS.
Doughlas on 10/05/2012:

Very great people to do with. When questions were asked I had the answers provided for me on spot. Will definitily come back when it is time to look for another vehicle.
kevin on 10/05/2012:
Very great people to do with. When questions were asked I had the answers provided for me on spot. Will definitily come back when it is time to look for another vehicle.
Lisa on 02/03/2013:
DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE!!!! After seeing several SUV's at great prices, I decided it would be worth taking the 2 hour drive to buy one.Being it was a long way to drive, I called ahead of time and was told the SUV I wanted was there. Once I got there, with 3 pages of print outs of 16 cars under 4000. There wasn't one!! Every car I had on the list were supposedly sold!! I had just spoken with them 2 hours earlier. I had My ex-husband call to ask about the same truck for me and he was told they were selling it right now. Lie!!! I was there and the SUV wasn't!! The other SUV's(same year and mileage as cheaper ones on website) were much higher. All the manager talk about is financing..Don't believe any price you see on their site!! The prey on people driving from all over because they figure if you drive that far you won't leave their lot without something. Even if it's overpriced!!
Anonimus ex-buyer on 05/26/2013:
Don't trust none of their positive comments here or on Google.....its done by their own employees....look at the comments above...Doughlas? and Kevin? posted the same comments....the same on google....bunch of cons.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Stay Away
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- I purchased a 2003 Cadillac CTS from you guys on 7/25/2014. Since then I have had nothing but problems. I have given you guys numerous times to fix it, and to this day I am still having issues.
8/17/2014 car broke down on 528 going to Orlando
8/18/2014 called several times no answer about car
8/25/2014 engine light on again same codes as before
9/5/2014 replaced bearings and brakes on entire car
9/8/2014 engine light on again same codes as before took to Cadillac dealer
9/11/2014 replaced calipers and brake hose
10/1/2014 thermostat
10/7/2014 the pulley and belt

this is what I have paid personally out of my own pocket
364.85 calipers and brake hose
319.49 thermostat
312.68 bearings and brakes
206.01 to get it diagnosed at Cadillac and find out it is the same codes it has been throwing since before
74.39 rental car 10/6-10/8
69.54 rental car 9/8-9/10
plus what you guys are charging me from when I brought it in
i spent over $1700 repairing the car and now you say I still owe you 136.60 which I just paid you 200 2 days ago and you block my tag

this is unheard of any the lady in the office cares less about the conversations me and Edwin have which promises me stuff and NEVER FALLS THROW WITH THOSE PROMISES

SINCERELY,
BARBARA RODRIGUEZ
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Excellent Buying Experience!
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- My wife and I went to Family Auto Mart on 5/28/2014 and talked to Chris the salesman who was extremely helpful answering our questions. After looking for a while we found ourselves going back to a Infinity. This vehicle drove like a new car and Chris was very honest telling me of two small problems with the car that I have repaired at no cost. Chris handled the paperwork in a timely manner. And the finance manager, she did a great job of getting us out even though our finance is not very good. In all it was a great experience and I would advise anyone looking for a car to please check them out and talk to Chris as he was helpful with all aspects of our purchase.

Thanks again Family Auto Mart
Darell@Vickie Adams
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't Buy From Family Auto Mart
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
1900 AURORA ROAD, FLORIDA -- Family Auto Mart pick up my SUV to go to the repair shop and I told them when they call me what there shop was charging was to much tried to get it towed back to me home they gave it to the gold Card Finance Company because I was two weeks behind in my payment no we are in court. To everyone Family Auto Mart is not a good company to mess with also I made a payment arrangements and they still took the vehicle.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
The Services That I Received From Family Auto Mart Were Excellent.
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
The services that I received from Family Auto Mart were excellent. All my accommodations were met and Rockin Reggie made sure I found the right vehicle that suited me. I would gladly recommend more people to them.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Edwin Is the Best Ever!
Posted on
Rating: 5/51
MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- Edwin is the best ever. Highly recommend family auto and if you are here please ask for Edwin!
     
Add reply
Happy Manny & Wolfman Dave @ Family Auto Mart
Posted by on
MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- My first car was 2008 in from Wolf-Man Dave. My second and my third car from Happy-Manny. He has a nice easy going style and makes you feel like family at home. I recommend this place to all my friends and family. I still love the family Man YouTube commercials. I will be back for another car in the near future. Thank you Manny and Wolf man Dave.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Glad I Went
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- I called about Honda accord for $3000, the guy on the phone said on super sale and told me to come early in morning. I showed up at 8:30, I got the car. So glad I made the drive.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Bad Everything
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MELBOURNE/FL -- Almost every car I looked at on their website was not on the lot. The cars that were on the lot were a mess. They are very unwilling to make things right. The sales person was so over weight that he was unable to keep up and work with me throughout the sales lot. He also had very little knowledge of the vehicles on the lot. It was an awful experience.
     
Add reply
Top of Page | Next Page >