Family Auto Mart

Star Star Star Empty star Empty star
3.1 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
18 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Used Car Dealership
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- I bought a car "as is" for my son from Family Auto Mart, Inc in August 2014. We did "test drive" the car around the block like they allow you to do, but by the time my son drove it home, 45-60 minutes away, the transmission was shifting hard and had a heavy clunking sound. We called the dealership and was told ** would have to call us back.

The next day, Saturday, my husband called again. He eventually spoke to ** and he told my husband to bring the car up on Monday. My husband called again Monday morning to confirm that we were bringing the car for them to look at, but when we got there ** acted like he knew nothing about the problem. I called my husband and he spoke to ** and again told him the problem with the car. ** quickly assured us they would have the problem fixed and make it right.

A few days later, we received a call that the car was ready to be picked up. ** told us that the transmission had a bolt missing and was moving around while driving and that's what the noise was. He also told us that there was a 1 year warranty on the transmission and if anything else happened to immediately call him so they could take care of it. He again assured us that he would make things right.

My son drove the car home and everything seemed to be OK until about a couple months later when the transmission started shifting hard again. We called Family Auto Mart, spoke to ** and after reminding him of the problem and the 1 year warranty on the transmission, he said he would call his mechanic and get back to us. He called back a few minutes later and asked us to take the car directly to his transmission guy, an hour away from us.

We left immediately and dropped the car off at the transmission place. After explaining the problem to the receptionist she asked if they had worked on this car before. I told her ** said they had and she said ok they would call us when it was ready.

A day later, ** called us and said we could go pick the car up. He again apologized and assured us that he makes things right and the transmission should be good now but it has a 1 year warranty and to call him if it happens again. AGAIN a few months later, February 2015, the car started shifting hard and now wouldn't go into third gear. My son actually got stranded in Orlando and had to have the car towed 100 miles back home.

My husband again called Family Auto Mart, Inc and spoke to ** only this time he refused to help or "make things right". My husband reminded him about the 1 year warranty on the transmission and ** denied it. After several minutes on the phone and getting nowhere, my husband hung up. We took the car to a local, reputable transmission shop to have it looked at. The mechanic there assured us the transmission had been worked on, but there were metal pieces all inside it and it was completely useless.

Now, we have a car we bought 6 months ago and still have over a year of payments sitting in my driveway until we can put a new transmission in it. Family Auto Mart and the sales manager, **, are NOT good business people. They do Not care about ethics or honesty. If I could give them Zero stars I would. Do NOT buy from them, I learned my lesson the hard way.

     
Replies
A Wonderful Experience!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- My husband and I had the pleasure of purchasing our vehicle from Family Auto Mart, and I would like to share our experience. Upon arriving we were greeted by a sales representative by the name of ** and from then on the experience was lovely! He helped us to purchase a beautiful family vehicle and even though we had a few hiccups along the way, ** (the owner) took ownership and resolved the issue immediately. They were very honest and upfront and that shows great integrity and character! I highly recommend them if you're looking for honest, respectful people to do business with!

     
Replies
Stay Away
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- I purchased a 2003 Cadillac CTS from you guys on 7/25/2014. Since then I have had nothing but problems. I have given you guys numerous times to fix it, and to this day I am still having issues. 8/17/2014 car broke down on 528 going to Orlando. 8/18/2014 called several times no answer about car. 8/25/2014 engine light on again same codes as before. 9/5/2014 replaced bearings and brakes on entire car. 9/8/2014 engine light on again same codes as before took to Cadillac dealer. 9/11/2014 replaced calipers and brake hose. 10/1/2014 thermostat. 10/7/2014 the pulley and belt.

This is what I have paid personally out of my own pocket. 364.85 calipers and brake hose; 319.49 thermostat; 312.68 bearings and brakes; 206.01 to get it diagnosed at Cadillac and find out it is the same codes it has been throwing since before; 74.39 rental car 10/6-10/8; 69.54 rental car 9/8-9/10 plus what you guys are charging me from when I brought it in. I spent over $1700 repairing the car and now you say I still owe you 136.60 which I just paid you 200 2 days ago and you block my tag.

This is unheard of and the lady in the office cares less about the conversations me and ** have which promises me stuff and NEVER FALLS THROUGH WITH THOSE PROMISES.

     
Replies
Excellent Buying Experience!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- My wife and I went to Family Auto Mart on 5/28/2014 and talked to ** the salesman who was extremely helpful answering our questions. After looking for a while we found ourselves going back to a Infinity. This vehicle drove like a new car and ** was very honest telling me of two small problems with the car that I have repaired at no cost. ** handled the paperwork in a timely manner. And the finance manager, she did a great job of getting us out even though our finance is not very good. In all it was a great experience and I would advise anyone looking for a car to please check them out and talk to ** as he was helpful with all aspects of our purchase.

     
Replies
Bought the Vehicle Less Than a Week Ago and I'm Experiencing Major Problems
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- I purchased a Honda Accord from Family Auto Mart Feb. 2014. A week after purchasing the vehicle I experienced problems. The door was getting caught into the fender. I reported the problem to the company and they tried to deny responsibilities for the damage. They wanted me to do an insurance claim which I refused. They stated the car wasn't like that when I purchased it. It was clear that previously the car was involved in an accident. Which I didn't complain because there weren't any noticeable damages.

I had to drive the vehicle back to Melbourne to allow their mechanic to inspect the car. The following day they verbally refused to fix the vehicle. After disputing with the company they finally agreed to fix the vehicle. My payments are still rolling and they've had car for a week. They're a total rip off and I wish that I didn't have any involvement with the company! You view their website and those vehicles aren't on their car lot. They company isn't honest at all! If you're from another city I wouldn't recommend anyone to drive there.

     
Replies
Cars that shouldn't be able to resell!-Family Auto Mart
By -

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- I bought a 98 Pontiac grand prix at Family Auto Mart in Melbourne Fl. The total price was 11,900 and the cars only worth 2500. We'll I wasn't informed on the problems it had until after I bought it.. First it's a total rust bucket. I'm praying that it will at least last until I'm done paying it off.. 2900 left. I already had to replace the brake lines and have been seriously worn to get rid of car cause anytime something else can rust off. It's a sad thing I try not to cry when I think about it. I did buy my other car from them a 99 chevy lumina but it got wrecked when I got rear-ended and the remaining balance had to go on this one that I have now which is why I'm in this jam.

The finance company are aware of my dilemma and they said the I have 2 choices 1. I can drop off at the dealership and walk away clean no credit problems. 2. Trade in and add the remaining balance on to another car of theirs. My response to number 1 is heck no what will I drive??? Ha after paying all that money I think I should get refunded back some. And 2 heck no how do I trust another car?

Paying way too much money for a used car that is in very unsafe shape is totally ridiculous! There should be a law to protect the consumer against the sleaze balls at the dealerships and the resale of cars. Don't go to Family Auto Mart. Take my advice. They only have high mileage cars with hidden defects! Oh my back windows never worked but yet the back window on driver side passengers window is held up by duct tape. I swore to myself that I would never put duct tape on my car and what the heck. I cannot fix it. It's a 300 dollar part, not for my rust bucket!

     
Replies
Excellent Salesmanship...
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- My name is **. I was referred by my son in law to Family Auto Mart stating that they are pretty good about dealing with cars. I was greeted by **. We spoke a little about what kind of vehicle I was looking for. He showed me a few vehicles and I narrowed it down to a Ford Escape. We took it for a test drive, and turned out very impressed with the SUV. When we got back to the office we started with the paperwork. ** assisted me with everything and boy oh boy we were wheeling and dealing with the final numbers.

When it was all done I drove home with my SUV... All I was saying to ** was "Thank you so much for helping me with my Birthday Gift..." Bunches and Bunches of Haloes and Kudos going out to ** at Family Auto Mart in Melbourne Fl...

     
Replies
Bad Everything
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MELBOURNE/FL -- Almost every car I looked at on their website was not on the lot. The cars that were on the lot were a mess. They are very unwilling to make things right. The sales person was so over weight that he was unable to keep up and work with me throughout the sales lot. He also had very little knowledge of the vehicles on the lot. It was an awful experience.

     
Replies
Don't Buy From Family Auto Mart
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

1900 AURORA ROAD, FLORIDA -- Family Auto Mart pick up my SUV to go to the repair shop and I told them when they call me what their shop was charging was too much. Tried to get it towed back to me home. They gave it to the gold Card Finance Company because I was two weeks behind in my payment. No we are in court. To everyone Family Auto Mart is not a good company to mess with. Also I made a payment arrangements and they still took the vehicle.

     
Replies
Very Nice
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MELBOURNE, FLORIDA -- I had a great experience and didn't have any problems. Everyone was great. I got the car I wanted, the price I can pay, and an easy financing. What else you can ask for?????? Thank you very much.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >