Preview Review

Next Review

Feather River Doors Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Good Experience, So Far So Good, Lots Of Compliments
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

TRUSSVILLE, ALABAMA -- My contractor recommended the Feather River brand door. We chose the Chocolate Mahogany Woodgrain Home Depot SKU#0000-806-449, Slab Only. No frame as it was a replacement for our old wood door. My entry way gets lots of rain, and lots of sun from the West. The only surprise I had was Home Depot did not carry any of the doors in stock or any color samples. They only carried Masonite doors. Feather River was Special Order only. My contractor contacted Feather River and they sent samples to him. I did not like the looks nor finish of the Masonite doors compared to the fiberglass samples from Feather River.

After two weeks as promised the door arrived for pick up. I removed the door from the carton in the store and inspected it. The finish was truly amazing. It looks like real Mahogany. Heavy like a wood door. The contractor asked me to order it not pre drilled for entry handle or lock. It came pre milled for hinges. It also came with weather strip on the bottom of the door.

My contractor said he had installed Feather River doors before but this particular door was really striking and the finish amazed him. He did have to router for new hinges as he had suspected due to a long shot of matching up to the 18 year old wood door. The door has been up for a few months now and still appears to be excellent. We have had many compliments on the door and no one can believe it is fiberglass.

My warranty states "Lifetime". I am not sure why some people that has rated the doors indicate the warranty has changed to one year. If you have a paper in your possession, and receipt of purchase they can't change the warranty on you. Keep pressing if they try! I have had this experience with other products. Having my warranty paper that came with the unit and the sales receipt has made me a winner every time.

It is my opinion part of the issues we.... consumers have is not having a product installed and checked by a professional. Someone that is experienced as my installer was and someone that has a relationship with the seller, in my case Home Depot.

I believe if there is a problem going forward my contractor will be able to help me get it resolved as he has a personal relationship with the seller he buys a lot of remodeling material from on an annual basis and has personal relationships with the manager and store specialists. I would order another Feather River door for another entryway if I need one. I know folks typically only write a review if they have a problem but I like to do both, report bad and good experiences.

Replies
Advertisement
Disappointed
By -

Despite reading the reviews posted here, we decided to order 3 Feather River Interior Doors from Home Depot in Fall 2010 because I really liked their privacy glass MultiSquare pattern. We ordered two doors primed white that had the MultiSquare Privacy Glass and a primed white bifold door that had matching glass on the top half of the bifold. We discussed the negative reviews extensively with the door salesmen at our local store. They promised to check out the doors before they released the doors to the installers.

After several weeks the doors were brought to our house by the installer who installed the bifold doors in the bathroom first. We assumed the Home Depot door people had checked them first. On the bifold door, there was caulking on the glass that the installers were afraid to remove because it might remove some of the frosting on the glass. There were a few problems with the glass but we were willing to overlook it as I really liked the glass pattern. We decided to look at the full length glass doors outside before proceeding.

How disappointing. Big swirls on the glass, damaged and so visible on both doors! The doors just had cardboard around the edges so it was very easy to see the damages. Home Depot never looked at the doors. We could not install these doors and called the Manager at Home Depot. Home Depot said we could reject the doors and eventually gave us a credit on our card for the doors. What a waste of our time and the installers. They had to reinstall our old linen closet door. Our Home Depot does not look at your doors at the store and depends on you to accept or reject doors at your house!

These doors were supposed to be installed before our bathroom was tiled. We had to just go with the doors we had and will have to find other doors to install after - which is not what we wanted. We were fooled by how nice the doors look in the catalog and what was hanging in the store display. It was a waste of our time ordering them and staying home to have them installed - we have nothing to show for it but aggravation.

Company Response 12/20/2010:

Hi, This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. We're sorry to hear about your experience and would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.

Replies
Paint on These Doors in Junk
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

QUINCY, ILLINOIS -- Purchased a custom set of Double Entry Feather River Doors painted Blue from Home Depot. Took 3 weeks to build (1 week of Custom BAKED ON BLUE PAINT PROCESS Extra $300.00). When I went to pick up doors I noticed several places where the original white paint on door was showing through, as well as where Home Depot had gently set it up against counter. And they really did set it gently I watched them. I told and pointed out the white showing through. Their answer "We will give you a discount on a matching touch-up paint". Ummmm No. I paid to have a custom paint job done by feather river.

So I told them I would like to have a new set or something. As we moved them off the counter, There was a dent/scrap in the door where it just barely was leaned against the counter! 1 Week baked on paint for $300.00. Ha Ha, so long story short, sent doors back.

Went to go pick up new doors yesterday. To realize Feather River used touch up paint on the doors and shipped them back to Home Depot/Me. Touch Up bottle was laying against the door in wrap and clearly had been opened and used! Couldn't even send me a new bottle. Not a bad thing except the dent where they leaned against counter prior pick up, was clearly visible and paint seemed not to match in that spot.

My biggest complaint about this Door company is that They hype up their paint process so much only to send me a touch-up bottle because apparently they don't even believe in their craftsmanship!!! Story will have a part 2 as I am waiting to hear back from Feather River.

Replies
No Quality Control!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I ordered two exterior doors through Home Depot, with whom I had just had an excellent experience with a kitchen renovation. I read the mixed reviews, but all brands seemed to have them. The doors came in and one was just fine. The other had a deep gouge in it. The second door that came to replace it also had scratches. Finally, 5 months later, the third door had only a minor painting lapse on the inside edge, so I accepted it. I would NEVER buy this door again, although I like the doors a lot now that they are installed.

Replies
Advertisement
Garbage
By -

EAST TACOMA, WASHINGTON -- The name is also under Trinity Glass International, Inc. I special ordered a front door from the Feather River company and I have to say it was beautiful until it shattered on Thursday for no reason. We left and it was fine and came home to a marbleized front door. I called Home Depot about the issue and they have been wonderful in trying to fix the defective door. I was instructed to call the warranty department today because the company representative told the gentleman from Home Depot it should be covered under the manufacturer warranty due to a defect between the light panes.

I called this morning hoping for a speedy resolution and what I received was accusations from the woman on the phone who said because the front panel of the light shattered it was no longer under warranty. I tried to explain to her that the reason for the shattered glass was a defect between the beveled glass panels. The more I tried to explain the issue the more belligerent she became and when I asked to speak to a manager she said he did not get in until eight in the morning.

I finally had to tell her in all my life I have never spoken to a representative of a company who was more of a detriment to the company than an asset. She caused me to distrust the company and its product. I have informed all of my friends on Facebook not to do business with this company because they are not reputable and in the end it will cost you double for special ordered defective door. Sadly I am now going to have to find a carpenter to fix the door and I can only imagine what that will cost me.

Company Response 05/18/2011:

Hi,

This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Our finish warranty has always been two years however, we would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.

Replies
Fiberglass Entry Doors
By -

BADA BING, NEW JERSEY -- Being in the door business for many years, few companies come along and change things for the better. Having the opportunity to order and install many doors, I have found that the Feather River Door Company is one of the best door manufacturers to deal with.

Every door I purchase has the quality you look for in a fiberglass door. Some of my customers ask for Thermatru doors but when I show them the price and the fact that they would need to stain that company's door, it is an easy sell to Feather River. I am told that every one of their pre-finished exterior doors are all stained by hand. All I can say is, WOW!!! I have to pay my painter $600 to stain a door and don't get the consistency that Feather River offers for a lot less money. The finish is warrantied too.

Out of the 30+ Feather River orders I make per year, I have to say every single door except for one came in on time. The one I waited for was that new Mahogany grain door. It turns out, the lead time was 28 days but the store guy told me 14 days like the OAK grain doors so it was not Feather River's fault. I had to hear it from the homeowner though.

Home Depot now stocks these mahogany grain doors too. Once, I needed to get a replacement part for a damaged sill (probably hit by Home Depot fork lift guy) and I spoke to a sweetheart in customer service that sent me the part free of charge in just a of couple days. Easy installs too. I would recommend this company any day of the week and I would even put one in my mother's house. THE DOOR GUY.

Replies
The Bitterness of Poor Quality
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO -- I have a Fiberglass Feather River French Entry door. These are full glass doors with the blinds inside the glass panels. It is no more than 5 years old. First thing we noticed was the finish peeling off. We called Feather River to see if there was any warranty against this. We were told there is not, and they offered instructions on how to refinish them ourselves.

This past weekend we installed a storm door with low E glass hoping to protect the doors after we refinished them. During this process we discovered that the fiberglass panel on one of the doors was coming loose. This was the working door. Upon further inspection we discovered that the same thing was happening on the stationary door. And not only that, but the trim that holds the glass in place was also loose. The screw holes on the opposite side are rotted and there is no way to fix this. We talked to Home Depot about this and they offered their sincere apologies and nothing more. Our only choice is to replace the doors, jambs and everything.

These doors face east so they are somewhat exposed to the sun in the morning but not all day. We also live at high altitude, around 7000 ft. so the sun is a bit more intense. But this kind of thing should not happen to any door in any location. There is another steel entry door on the same side of the house that is over 10 years old and no problem with it. We are replacing these Feather Rivers with the same type of steel door. Bottom line is that if you have to replace a door with any sun exposure, don't buy Feather River.

Replies
Expensive Door, Poor Quality and Customer Service Doesn't Stand Behind Their Product.
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

LACEY TOWNSHIP, NEW JERSEY -- My $4000.00 Fiberglass front door from Feather River and bought at Home Depot has been problem since I have had it installed. The first year the glass and sidelights leaked water with rains. The covers for inside screws didn't fit into the holes either. Had a horrible fix it man come out, very unprofessional, sent by the company. Another couple of rains and water still coming in all over my kitchen floor. Had to put down towels around the door whenever it rained hard.

I sent pictures in to company of the door leaking. They sent out another repairman. He replaced frames and showed me that the last repairman never caulked the windows under the frames and that is why water was coming in. We also discovered that the wood jam is now rotting in places and mold is growing on the bottom of the jam where it had been getting wet forever (over two years now).

I have a claim in again but the manager says my door isn't under warranty due to the jam not having been caulked on the outside. The door has been caulked with clear seal from the time it was installed. They don't think that the previous problems caused the damage to the door? Seriously? I have many general contractor clients and construction workers to tell about my complaints on this company's way of handling product defects. If it's not taken care of then I will pass on my experience to them.

Replies
Advertisement
Never Buy Feather River Doors
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We bought our Feather River Door through Home Depot and the warranty said it was manufactured by Trinity International. They tell us they don't sell doors in Florida. We called Home Depot who contacted Masonite who sells the door, so I am assuming it is a Home Depot product made by various manufacturers.

The two supposed warranties don't match. Masonite warranty that the customer service doesn't match what came with the door. They told the Home Depot customer service people here in Orlando that they would honor the warranty and repair the door, and they tell us they won't. They don't honor their warranty. Their customer service people are rude. It has taken over three weeks to resolve the problem that still isn't fixed.

I asked the customer service person for parts number to repair the door, and they have never given me the parts number to order or how to order the parts after three attempts. They just tell to go to the store. Moral of the story is go with Andersen or another brand name company but stay away from Masonite and Feather River Doors.

Company Response 10/25/2012:

Hi, This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. We're sorry to hear about your experience and would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.

Replies
REVISED!!! Do Not Buy This Door!!
By -

After posting my original negative experience about Feather River doors, a company representative contacted me today to offer assistance. Evidently, they are willing to stand behind their product and have offered to replace my door! Yahoo! I am very hopeful that everything goes without a hitch and I will be sure to follow up with additional info once my claim has been honored.

I originally purchased my Feather River Door on the advice of Home Depot. I have had issues with all wood doors that required constant maintenance and wanted to simplify my life. I was told that with their lifetime warranty I could rest assured that I would never have to replace my door again. Well... after six months the stain started to fade. This was AFTER I applied a layer of marine grade poly to protect it from the elements. As time passed it only got worse.

When I finally called their customer service department to take advantage of their warranty, they informed me that their warranty had changed and that my finish was only warranted for two years. They were polite, but absolutely unwilling to stand behind their product. In fact, they even sent me a copy of their new warranty and informed me that the new warranty would preempt anything that may have been provided earlier - isn't that special? Trust me on this. Don't waste your time spending $1500 on a door from a manufacturer that doesn't even believe in their own product.

Company Response 12/02/2010:

Hi,

This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Our finish warranty has always been two years however, we would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Feather River Doors Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 27 ratings and
42 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Feather River Doors
33615 1st Way South
Federal Way, WA 98003
1-800-375-8120 (ph)
www.featherriverdoor.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies