Preview Review

Next Review

Feather River Doors Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
These doors peel badly
By -

TACOMA, WASHINGTON -- My townhouse association bought 200 of the fiberglass doors and on almost every one the varnish coating on the outside surface began peeling off within 1 year, especially on doors exposed to the sun. If you follow the refinishing procedure as prescribed by the manufacturer, your door will never look good again. Also, we had several doors that had the glass blown out during a recent wind storm. If you are interested in low maintenance and security, do not buy this door.

Company Response 05/18/2011:

Hi,

This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.

Replies
Advertisement
Disappointed
By -

Despite reading the reviews posted here, we decided to order 3 Feather River Interior Doors from Home Depot in Fall 2010 because I really liked their privacy glass MultiSquare pattern. We ordered two doors primed white that had the MultiSquare Privacy Glass and a primed white bifold door that had matching glass on the top half of the bifold. We discussed the negative reviews extensively with the door salesmen at our local store. They promised to check out the doors before they released the doors to the installers.

After several weeks the doors were brought to our house by the installer who installed the bifold doors in the bathroom first. We assumed the Home Depot door people had checked them first. On the bifold door, there was caulking on the glass that the installers were afraid to remove because it might remove some of the frosting on the glass. There were a few problems with the glass but we were willing to overlook it as I really liked the glass pattern. We decided to look at the full length glass doors outside before proceeding.

How disappointing. Big swirls on the glass, damaged and so visible on both doors! The doors just had cardboard around the edges so it was very easy to see the damages. Home Depot never looked at the doors. We could not install these doors and called the Manager at Home Depot. Home Depot said we could reject the doors and eventually gave us a credit on our card for the doors. What a waste of our time and the installers. They had to reinstall our old linen closet door. Our Home Depot does not look at your doors at the store and depends on you to accept or reject doors at your house!

These doors were supposed to be installed before our bathroom was tiled. We had to just go with the doors we had and will have to find other doors to install after - which is not what we wanted. We were fooled by how nice the doors look in the catalog and what was hanging in the store display. It was a waste of our time ordering them and staying home to have them installed - we have nothing to show for it but aggravation.

Company Response 12/20/2010:

Hi, This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. We're sorry to hear about your experience and would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.

Replies
Paint on These Doors in Junk
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

QUINCY, ILLINOIS -- Purchased a custom set of Double Entry Feather River Doors painted Blue from Home Depot. Took 3 weeks to build (1 week of Custom BAKED ON BLUE PAINT PROCESS Extra $300.00). When I went to pick up doors I noticed several places where the original white paint on door was showing through, as well as where Home Depot had gently set it up against counter. And they really did set it gently I watched them. I told and pointed out the white showing through. Their answer "We will give you a discount on a matching touch-up paint". Ummmm No. I paid to have a custom paint job done by feather river.

So I told them I would like to have a new set or something. As we moved them off the counter, There was a dent/scrap in the door where it just barely was leaned against the counter! 1 Week baked on paint for $300.00. Ha Ha, so long story short, sent doors back.

Went to go pick up new doors yesterday. To realize Feather River used touch up paint on the doors and shipped them back to Home Depot/Me. Touch Up bottle was laying against the door in wrap and clearly had been opened and used! Couldn't even send me a new bottle. Not a bad thing except the dent where they leaned against counter prior pick up, was clearly visible and paint seemed not to match in that spot.

My biggest complaint about this Door company is that They hype up their paint process so much only to send me a touch-up bottle because apparently they don't even believe in their craftsmanship!!! Story will have a part 2 as I am waiting to hear back from Feather River.

Replies
No Quality Control!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I ordered two exterior doors through Home Depot, with whom I had just had an excellent experience with a kitchen renovation. I read the mixed reviews, but all brands seemed to have them. The doors came in and one was just fine. The other had a deep gouge in it. The second door that came to replace it also had scratches. Finally, 5 months later, the third door had only a minor painting lapse on the inside edge, so I accepted it. I would NEVER buy this door again, although I like the doors a lot now that they are installed.

Replies
Advertisement
Garbage
By -

EAST TACOMA, WASHINGTON -- The name is also under Trinity Glass International, Inc. I special ordered a front door from the Feather River company and I have to say it was beautiful until it shattered on Thursday for no reason. We left and it was fine and came home to a marbleized front door. I called Home Depot about the issue and they have been wonderful in trying to fix the defective door. I was instructed to call the warranty department today because the company representative told the gentleman from Home Depot it should be covered under the manufacturer warranty due to a defect between the light panes.

I called this morning hoping for a speedy resolution and what I received was accusations from the woman on the phone who said because the front panel of the light shattered it was no longer under warranty. I tried to explain to her that the reason for the shattered glass was a defect between the beveled glass panels. The more I tried to explain the issue the more belligerent she became and when I asked to speak to a manager she said he did not get in until eight in the morning.

I finally had to tell her in all my life I have never spoken to a representative of a company who was more of a detriment to the company than an asset. She caused me to distrust the company and its product. I have informed all of my friends on Facebook not to do business with this company because they are not reputable and in the end it will cost you double for special ordered defective door. Sadly I am now going to have to find a carpenter to fix the door and I can only imagine what that will cost me.

Company Response 05/18/2011:

Hi,

This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Our finish warranty has always been two years however, we would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.

Replies
Never Buy Feather River Doors
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We bought our Feather River Door through Home Depot and the warranty said it was manufactured by Trinity International. They tell us they don't sell doors in Florida. We called Home Depot who contacted Masonite who sells the door, so I am assuming it is a Home Depot product made by various manufacturers.

The two supposed warranties don't match. Masonite warranty that the customer service doesn't match what came with the door. They told the Home Depot customer service people here in Orlando that they would honor the warranty and repair the door, and they tell us they won't. They don't honor their warranty. Their customer service people are rude. It has taken over three weeks to resolve the problem that still isn't fixed.

I asked the customer service person for parts number to repair the door, and they have never given me the parts number to order or how to order the parts after three attempts. They just tell to go to the store. Moral of the story is go with Andersen or another brand name company but stay away from Masonite and Feather River Doors.

Company Response 10/25/2012:

Hi, This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. We're sorry to hear about your experience and would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.

Replies
REVISED!!! Do Not Buy This Door!!
By -

After posting my original negative experience about Feather River doors, a company representative contacted me today to offer assistance. Evidently, they are willing to stand behind their product and have offered to replace my door! Yahoo! I am very hopeful that everything goes without a hitch and I will be sure to follow up with additional info once my claim has been honored.

I originally purchased my Feather River Door on the advice of Home Depot. I have had issues with all wood doors that required constant maintenance and wanted to simplify my life. I was told that with their lifetime warranty I could rest assured that I would never have to replace my door again. Well... after six months the stain started to fade. This was AFTER I applied a layer of marine grade poly to protect it from the elements. As time passed it only got worse.

When I finally called their customer service department to take advantage of their warranty, they informed me that their warranty had changed and that my finish was only warranted for two years. They were polite, but absolutely unwilling to stand behind their product. In fact, they even sent me a copy of their new warranty and informed me that the new warranty would preempt anything that may have been provided earlier - isn't that special? Trust me on this. Don't waste your time spending $1500 on a door from a manufacturer that doesn't even believe in their own product.

Company Response 12/02/2010:

Hi,

This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. I'm sorry to hear about your experience. Our finish warranty has always been two years however, we would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.

Replies
Feather River Doors - Low Quality, Poor Customer Service
By -

I have a new feather river door set, very expensive leaded glass and two side lights. The quality is awful, there is apparently no quality control at the manufacturer. The door arrived weeks late. Once it arrived, the door would not open because it was larger than the frame. The leaded glass had a huge scratch in it and the weather strip was already destroyed.

To Co. said they would replace the too big door to go ahead and finish the installation and finishing (which I did). Then weeks later they said they were coming out to replace the whole unit because the door was the right size, but the frame was too small! So they ripped the whole thing out, now I have to finish the installation myself because the warranty only covers rough-in installation. These guys are jokes.

Company Response 11/19/2010:

Hi,

This is Bobbi from Feather River Door Customer Service. I'm sorry to hear about your experience and would like to work with you to resolve this issue. Please contact us at email@featherriverdoor.com. We hope to hear from you.

Replies
Advertisement
Toxic smell when sun hits door
By -

BALTIMORE, MARYLAND -- This front door looks like wood grain style, as a installer I notice a few things wrong with this door, first the hinges are not installed correctly they stick out at least a 1/8 inch each and won't close correct, second the stupid screw plug caps don't fit and probably never were meant to. Or they would have put them at the factory. And most of all when the sun hits the door the temperature between the storm and the door itself heats up so much that this toxic plastic smell starts to fill the inside of the house so bad that it makes the kids sick.

What the hell, they tell me to vent the storm door, and this fixes it. Oh and to refer to the warranty. Why would I have a storm in winter if I have to vent it. I think If this company wants to stay in business they need to seriously fix these many problems!!!!!!!!

Replies
Feather River Doors
By -

We just installed a Feather River, full glass entry door. It was ordered on Nov 11, 2009 and charged to our charge card for $1750. It is a full glass door, and two side lights. The special order was delivered to HD at the end of November, and it was DAMAGED. They sent it back, and ordered another one. It came in 3 weeks later, and it was DAMAGED, they ordered it again, and it came in before Christmas, and it was DAMAGED. It finally came in on Jan 27, and it appeared OK when we looked at it at the store.

We had it delivered, and upon installation, discovered a few things that really made us question the quality of this door. #1. The screw cap covers are not manufactured properly. There is an extreme amount of flashing left on the plastic from the molding process. #2. Why do we have to install these anyway? They should have been installed at the factory. #3. We paid extra to have the door primed. There is BARE pine visible on the outside of the door. #4. The weather strip at the top of the door is torn. #5. We paid extra to have the deadbolt holes drilled, and they were 1/8" off. It made it extremely difficult to install the deadbolt and lock. Overall..................... NOT happy with this door.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Feather River Doors Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.4 out of 5, based on 25 ratings and
40 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Feather River Doors
33615 1st Way South
Federal Way, WA 98003
1-800-375-8120 (ph)
www.featherriverdoor.com
Compare Home Improvement Companies