Feit Electric

1 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Junk Home Depot Sold Colored CFL Bulbs
Posted by on
Compact fluorescent bulbs have been popular long enough now that anyone manufacturing them should be able to make a decent one, but these colored versions sold at The Home Depot are just junk. I though they would be a great addition to our holiday display, allowing me to replace many of our house's existing outdoor soffit lights with these colored ones for the season. Bought 7 red/green mix and installed 4 first, which started running after Thanksgiving. Within a week, one of the reds failed and I had to exchange it. Now three weeks later, another died with a third coming and going intermittently.

That's 3 of eight with problems. Home Depot lists them as usable out doors, and mine are even covered from the elements. Says they last seven years on the packages and I'm just hoping to get 7 days more out of them.

I use white CFLs in these cans year round and never have issues. These things are extremely poorly made and a waste of $5. Look for another brand like I will next year or suck it up and buy incandescent. Far better to have a reliable bulb for a couple of cents more in electricity.
Resolution Update 04/10/2012:
I'll give them this. I called up to complain and they just asked for the numbers on the bulb and sent me two replacements without an argument. Hopefully I got a bad batch or bad luck. We'll see what next season brings with the new ones installed. I do thank them for good and accommodating service on this resolution.
     
Read 24 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
trmn8r on 12/20/2011:
The package looks attractive with the exception of the name "Feit". Might as well say "Feet" or "Foot".

Great review, and a good warning for HD shoppers..
Slimjim on 12/20/2011:
I just did a quick search and found many complaints about these, even a class-action filed,
http://www.sueeasy.com/class_action_detail.php?case_id=315
What a shame, they appear to be American made in Michigan. I would have thought better.
Churro on 12/20/2011:
I've been using CFL bulbs getting close to a decade now and I've yet to have one go out. I'll be sure to avoid this brand at all costs.

Thanks for the lesson learned Slimjim.
Old Timer on 12/20/2011:
For once we can't blame the Chinese. Good info to know.
Anonymous on 12/20/2011:
I remember back in the day having the solid blue bulbs, red ones, yellow, etc...and thought they were the coolest thing this side of grilled cheese. Good review! I will try and avoid these on my next trip.
Slimjim on 12/20/2011:
Pretty sad huh OT. Same here Churro. Maybe I had one burn out after a couple years of running all night, every night. These just appear to be a bad brand, white or colored.
DebtorBasher on 12/20/2011:
Those are not only crap but they are ugly too!
I'm hoarding all the regurlar bulbs in different watts and three ways...won't be long before they are completely off the shelves.
DebtorBasher on 12/20/2011:
I didn't know you lived in the red light district!
Venice09 on 12/21/2011:
You'll have to beat me to it, DB. I'm hoarding those bulbs, too. There's nothing like a good, old-fashioned light bulb.
DebtorBasher on 12/21/2011:
You hoard them in your state and I'll hoard them in Ohio. Internet orders are first come first served!
Venice09 on 12/21/2011:
Deal!

My husband and I have been having an ongoing argument over those dumb bulbs. I take them out as fast as he screws them in!.. haha
DebtorBasher on 12/21/2011:
You can't even dispose them...and you have to call in the men in spacesuits if you break one!
Churro on 12/21/2011:
I'm sure one of my ancestors hoarded buggy whips.
DebtorBasher on 12/21/2011:
I'd like to buy one of those Churro! And I'm sure YaYa and Skye would like one as well.
Venice09 on 12/21/2011:
You can't even dispose of them.. that's another reason. I wonder how many people just throw them away.
Churro on 12/21/2011:
LOL, okay. Ya know aside from putting them in a bag and into the trash or dropping them off at many recycling drop offs at big box places like lowes or Home Depot.
Alain on 12/21/2011:
Slimjim, thank you for the warning. I'll avoid these Feit junkers. In fact, given this information, I'll be avoiding their brand all together.
MRM on 12/21/2011:
DB, it was just announced that the government will not get rid of the regular light bulbs. There was one guy on the news who bought 200 bulbs and stored in his closet.
CowboyFan on 12/21/2011:
He only bought 200 bulbs? When I heard the announcement I bought about $200.00 worth of bulbs which were on sale, so that I bought something like 600 - 800 bulbs (two-thirds were 100 watts, one-third 60 watts). How many bulbs does one need for the rest of your life? I like the soft glow of regular light bulbs, better than the harsh glow of the energy saving bulbs.

The news say that a congressional ban to spend money to enforce the prohibition against these bulbs was passed, which means although the regulation is still in effect, there is no money to enforce. The article indicates that at least though 2012, there would be no enforcement action against sellers or manufacturers.

The thing to buy now is Primatine Mist, which is not being sold after the first of the year because it contains aerosol or some such nonsense.
trmn8r on 12/21/2011:
"What a shame, they appear to be American made in Michigan. I would have thought better."

Yep - I myself have bought "Made in America" only to discover I ended up with unreliable junk. There are capitalists everywhere looking to make a buck, some produce better goods than others. The ones who make junk sometimes go out of business after earning a black eye.
Slimjim on 01/03/2012:
I actually had yet another one go completely dead on New Years eve. Unbelievable! These may be the crappiest light bulbs I have ever seen.
KevinTX on 01/25/2012:
I've had two of their Feit yellow bulbs in my front porch lights for over 6 months now.. no problems at all. I bought mine from Amazon, and I don't think they are considered 'Party Bulbs' as they sell at Home Depot.
fmr on 01/25/2012:
With Home Depot or Lowe's, I simply return material or devices that don't live up to their advertised specifications and either get a credit or a replacement.
pcp on 02/12/2013:
I'm not sure what's wrong your bulbs I've had mine for 2months running in my lamp. I'm and horrible at turning my lamp off sometimes it goes three days on non stop. I recently bought the pink one thanks to my new addiction to pink. I gave my brother my old red and its fine
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >