[X]
Feedburner count

Frank Myers Auto Maxx

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
9 Reviews & Complaints
www.frankmyersauto.com

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Misrepresentation
Posted by Rockin j on 08/27/2009
WINSTON-SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA -- I recently stopped by Frank Myers Auto Maxx in Winston-Salem NC after looking at their selection of vehicles via the internet. Their website boast in great detail about a select number of vehicles are available for only a $17.00 acquistion fee and take over low monthly payments reguardless of credit. They "promise" there are no catches and lead one to believe that a $17.00 payment and you will be on your way in your new vehicle. In reality, they must find you outside lending and this lender may require an additional downpayment. This discloser is located on their vehicle window sticker in small print. I'm sure what they are doing is legal but is it moral to word your ads in such a manner? Also, I am not so sure about their Certified Autos. Having been licensed in the past as an auto inspector I noticed more than 1 vehicle marked "certified" that could not legally pass a NC inspection. An example is a Chevy cargo van they currently have for sale as certified. Three of the four tires are almost completly bald. One is on the verge of having steel tread starting to show on its outer edge and one has a large gash on its sidewall. If such obvious poor quality and safety items are left on one of their vehicles being sold as certified, it makes me wonder how well the rest of the vehicle was inspected by their shop? The bottom line is, like all car dealers let the buyer beware. Do not rely on what they tell you and do not count on any written agreements unless you have an attorney look at it first. Most of all make sure to have your own trusted mechanic inspect any used vehicle you are planning to purchase.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 08/31/2009:
Hello, my name is Tracy Myers and I am the owner of Frank Myers Auto Maxx in Winston-Salem, NC. While I appreciate this consumer stopping by my dealership, he/she seems to have a misunderstanding about one of our most popular programs. Yes, the ads state "pay a $17.00 acquisition fee and take over low monthly payments regardless of credit." Please allow me to explain the details.

We don't own the vehicles at our dealership...the bank does. My dealership makes a monthly payment to the bank on our vehicles until they are sold to a consumer or to another dealer at auction. The $17.00 acquisition fee is simply the fee involved for a consumer to "take over" payments from the dealership by securing financing. As the ad states, there are NO catches. The fee is still only $17.00 whether the consumer has great credit or bad credit.

As far as the disclosure being in small print, there are finance disclosures on all of our window stickers. This is done not only as a courtesy to our customer but, by federal law, we must clearly post disclosures if we are posting payments (and we post a price and payment solutions on every car). If I am not mistaken, our disclosures are in the same font size as the list of options. However, if you think it should be larger or more conspicuous then I would gladly consider changing it.

As far as the ads not being moral, I am not sure what we could differently except to do away with our $17.00 acquisition fee program entirely. We have never claimed that the $17.00 was a down payment and that you wouldn't need any additional money to buy a vehicle. As a matter of fact, our window stickers clearly show a price...a down payment...a term and an interest rate. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

There are a couple of other things that I feel I must address to clarify this opportunity for improvement. The first is our finance guarantee which states: "We'll offer you a finance solution or we'll pay you $1,000". It may sound like an "ad hook" but it is 100% real. How? Because we own our own finance company. While it is true that any dealer can offer you financing with enough down payment (usually 30-33% with really bad credit), our finance company can generally offer financing with an average of 10-12% down payment for the worst credit. Of course, there are limitiations...living in a 45 mile radius of the dealership, valid NC drivers license and auto insurance. Other than that though, the offer stands. With good to great credit, we can use one of the local credit unions for financing and a down payment is usually not necessary.

And concerning our Certified vehicles, they all go through a 165 point mechanical and safety inspection. While I'm not familiar with the particular vehicle you spoke of in your review, I will find it ASAP. If the tires are indeed as "bald" as you suggested, please know that the person that inspected it will be discliplined according to our strict company policy. Passing vehicles that don't live up to our quality is not acceptable. It would be my pleasure to walk my inventory with you so you can point out the things that wouldn't pass NC inspection. That is the only way I can improve my business. Heck, I'll even pay for your gas up here.

We encourage our potential customers to take any vehicle they are considering, regardless of what dealership it is at, to buy to their mechanic. That makes our job a lot easier and, as my grandpa always said, puts the proof in the pudding. The worst case scenario is buying a Certified vehicle, taking it to their mechanic, finding something wrong with it and bringing it back. All of our Certified vehicles come with a free 100% iron clad money back guarantee.

In closing, please know that I agree with almost everything the review said. I simply think it is all a misunderstanding and I hope that I have cleared some of the things up here. If there are any other concerns or questions, please contact me here and I will always help.
     
Read 7 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by MSCANTBEWRONG on 2009-08-27:
Ok, their ad states this:
There is NO CATCH -- REALLY! For a LIMITED TIME, you simply pay a $17 Acquistion Fee and assume the low monthly payments on the car that you select... REGARDLESS of your good OR BAD CREDIT! And if we can't find a finance solution for you, we will pay YOU $1,000... GUARANTEED!

To me that says the car will need to be financed and if they can't find a finance solution for you they will give you 1,000...it doesn't say that you can drive the car off the lot after giving them 17.00...you need to read more carefully!!


Posted by PepperElf on 2009-08-27:
so you can pay the 17 and still not get the car if they can't work out a finance program for you

but then they'll give you 1k if they can't do that
Posted by rockin j on 2009-08-28:
They will never have to pay the $1000 for being unable to find you finanacing. In fact they could make it a $1,000,000. The fact is that any dealer can promise you financing if you have a large enough downpayment.
Posted by rockin j on 2009-08-28:
They will never have to pay the $1000 for being unable to find you finanacing. In fact they could make it a $1,000,000. The fact is that any dealer can promise you financing if you have a large enough downpayment. Their ad on the $17.00 acquisition fee vehicles reguardless of credit is geared to attract people with poor credit and little money to put down. People with good credit can buy vehicles almost anywhere with no money down, not even a $17.00 acquisition fee.
Posted by teamscon on 2010-05-13:
I dont want anyone else to loose ALOT of money over a bad car sold by these people.
PLEASE PLEASE take the car your buying to a certified mechanic and get it checked GOOD before buying from this place.
Frank myers 160 point inspection is bogus I was sold a car with bent axle/leaking oil pan gasket/radio not picking up channels (took car back 4 days after signing papers and they claimed I did all the damage and its my fault for not getting it checked by a CERTIFIED MECHANIC!!) dont trust this place.
Posted by unlucky 1 on 2012-07-19:
yes have the car ck'd out other than there, their 165 point inspection is a joke, i brought a car there, on way home the a/c quit working, the nexi morning, a/c started working, nothing wrong with a/c i was told, several time over the next two weeks it quit working, took car back on july 5 as i was told by salesman to do so, their jackleg mechanic, said it was only low on freon , the next day at 11:30 in the morning a/c quit again, i got back to dealer at appox 3:15,this time i'm told it's the a/c compesser that's bad, they said they would have to order me one,they would call me monday with update, i sat here like a fool all day monday till 5 pm, i called them thursday at 10:30 in thee morning, i was told it would cost ME close to $600 to have an a/c compresser,ME? like i said it went on the way home the day i bought it, was Told i needed to take this matter up with salesman, so i called him, one week later i'm still waiting for is return call,i need to mention i sent e-mail to tracey myers last saturday and tuesday ,it's now wednesday night,still no reply, there is no inspection, or they would have found out both ends of my bumper were GLUED on, which the GLUE broke and both ends of my bumper dropped down 2 inches, i am going to return this car and their 165 point inspection back to them as soon as i can find an honest dealer and get another car
Posted by mad mother on 2013-07-10:
My son purchased a car from auto maxx in ftworth and his car has been more hassle than he needs the back wheels are feeling like they are loose and have taken it back 6 times to have them check and inspect the vehicle and now were told that it was the shocks and we're warned that it would go on his credit .were told to change shocks and bring it back for them to check but the wheels in the back move when you shake them . I don't believe that it right . Then they asked him how much he had to put down on another car .. I really wished we never stopped at this place . All my son said :"I literally will drive it till the wheels fall off then".
I will never advice anyone to shop here or at anyother of there places.
Close commentsAdd reply


StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
I was fooled!
Posted by Lilcandygirl31 on 11/15/2012
WINSTON SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA -- The sales staff are some of the best!!! But, yes there is a but to the situation. I have purchased four vehicles from Frank Myers Auto Maxx in the last 10 or so years and have never had a problem until now. Also i’ve never had an opportunity to deal with the shop part being all of the cars up to this point were good reliable cars. I purchased a used Chevrolet tahoe on or about 10-26-12, within a week I called my salesman, told him of the problems I was having was told to bring it in being I hadn’t even had the vehicle a week! Took it and left it overnight and made sure to tell them what the problem was thinking it would be fixed, I called the next day only to be told they had to order a part and it would be finished the next morning at 8 A.M. I picked my Tahoe up around 3 o’clock the next day. I drove it down the highway and everything seemed to be fine. Boy was I fooled!!! My mechanic had checked what we had already knew was wrong with the vehicle, instead of fixing the problem they only made it look like they had actually done something to the vehicle. I called the shop to ask exactly what was done, and was told they had only put fluid in my power steering and ordered a gasket for my oil pan. Funny thing is if they ordered it wasn’t put on, and the power steering pump needed to be replaced. The intake manifold (which is plastic) is also leaking, now this is something you can see leaking so if they had even looked at the vehicle they would have seen this. On top of all that I thought it was quite funny that someone tried to spray paint the brake rotors on the back and painted the wheel in doing so. I mean if you are going to try and cover up something up at least cover the mess up too and take the wheel off so I can’t see your art work. After all that I ask if I could take it to my mechanic and they reimburse me for the charges only to be told no they can’t do that. Well at this point i’m going to eat the cost of the repairs because I don’t trust their shop for even changing the oil correctly, so much for their warranty on the powertrain if that’s the way they fix things!! After reading some of the other reviews let me add this in closing I'm not a disgruntled employee nor do I have a desire to be ugly to the sales staff, again the sales staff are great people, but the service department needs an overhaul.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by trmn8r on 2012-11-15:
When you buy a used car you can't trust whoever sells it to you to have completely checked it over, even if it is a dealer. A dealer doesn't want to put money into a used car, so they aren't going to go out of their way to look for issues.

When buying a used car, have a mechanic take a look at it, even if you have to pay $100-200. The only exception is if you have the skills yourself or if the car is sold with a manufacturer's CPO warranty.
Close commentsAdd reply

Complaint
Posted by Sallymay on 08/14/2010
WINSTON SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA -- BOUGHT A CAR AT FRANK MYERS THEY TOLD ME SOME OF YHE BIGGEST LIES ALL RICH PEOPLE KNOW HOW TO DO IS USE POOR PEOPLE. THATS WHY THIS WORLD IS LIKE IT IS TO DAY. THE CAR I GOT WAS 9000 RIGHT I PAID 3000 DOWN THIS CAR HAS 96000 MILES ON IT. AFTER THEY GOT DONE WITH ALL PAPER WORK THEY THINK THIS CAR IS GOING TO COST ME 14000 I DONT THINK SO I NEEDED A CAR BUT NOT THAT BAD. THAT IS VERY WORNG. IM VERY POOR AND IF I LET THEM DO THAT TO ME I WILL BE EVEN POORER THAT IS NOT FAIR TO ME. A CAR WITH 96000 MILES ON 317 A MONTH FOR PAYMENT. WOULD NOT LET YOU GET THE CAR YOU WANTED. THEY PUT YOU IN WHAT THEY WANTED. THAT IS SO WRONG I WILL DO WHAT EVER IT TAKES TO BEAT THIS YOU SOULD NOT DO PEOPLE THIS WAY IM JUST A POOR GIRL VERY POOR THAT NEEDED A CAR. NOW THEY TOOK MY HARD EARNED MONEY 3000 BUT I WILL FIGHT THIS BECAUSE LIKE I SAID ITS VERY WRONG TO DO ANY BODY THIS WAY IF THEY ARE RICH OR POOR ITS WRONG. YOU WILL BE HEARING FROM ME. THANK YOU MISS TONIA BURNETTE.
     
Read 6 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by myersauto on 2010-08-14:
Dear Miss Tonia Burnette,

My name is Tracy Myers and I am the owner of Frank Myers Auto Maxx in Winston-Salem, NC. I just received your email and want to apologize for your dissatisfaction with my company. Please know that if the certified car you bought is not in your monthly budget, then it would be a pleasure for you to take advantage of our 100% money back guarantee. Since I'm not sure when you purchased your car, then there is a possibility that your return period has expired. If that is the case, then please bring the car you purchased back and trade it for something that fits your budget better. And I can assure you that you can choose the car that you want. It simply needs to fit your budget concerns as well as the banks approval terms. I'll make it as easy as possible.

Since I have never personally heard from you or spoken to you about your unhappiness with your car, It is my wish that you will call me or email me so that we can find a time to discuss your situation. My goal is to offer you a resolution that you are completely satisfied with.

My direct phone number is #336-831-0646. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Tracy Myers, Owner
Frank Myers Auto Maxx
Posted by Helpful on 2010-08-15:
This was an extremely difficult review to read. As near as I can make out, Tonia purchased a vehicle and paid $3000 towards the car, financing the remainder. Her credit only allowed her to have a somewhat high interest loan, costing $14,000 by the time of the final payment, or $5,000 in interest.

Tonia, as it seems it may be difficult for you to understand the contract you've probably signed, you may want to consult an attorney to get their honest opinion.

In my opinion, I'd begin by getting the true value of the car by consulting NADA or Kelly's Blue Book. Based upon this information, you may want to sell the car and get out from under it. If the value is less than the $9,000 principal, which it could be considering the millage posted, you'd just be out that difference. Hopefully your contract doesn't have charges associated with an early payoff in this case. If it does, you'd be out those charges too.

You could also consider refinancing the car, but if you've paid too much for the car, most finance companies won't want to get involved because the collateral, being the car itself, wouldn't be worth it.

Please, let us know how things turn out for you and if we can be of any further help. Thanks for the post.
Posted by Fufu487 on 2010-08-15:
OP, did you try contacting the dealership and speaking with them? Have you contacted the owner above? If not, it seems your doing little to help yourself.
Posted by myersauto on 2010-08-15:
Dear Helpful,

Thank you for your input and I agree...this was a difficult review to read. It saddens me when my customers buy a vehicle and don't understand the paperwork they sign. While I won't discuss Ms. Burnette's personal information on this forum, I will reiterate that I very much want to find a resolution that makes her happy. We have several opportunities that may work for her...trading the car for something that fits her budget or using our money back guarantee to simply walk away from her contract could both be available to her.

Once again, thank you for your input and for caring enough to take the time to give some pretty good advice to a total stranger. If there were more people like you in the world, it would certainly be a better place.

Tracy Myers
Frank Myers Auto Maxx
Posted by myersauto on 2010-08-15:
Dear Fufu487,

I have yet to hear from Ms. Burnette but as I stated earlier, it is my goal to offer her a resolution that she is happy about. Once again, my direct number is three three six, eight three one, zero six four six.

Tracy Myers
Frank Myers Auto Maxx
Posted by Helpful on 2010-08-15:
Just thought I'd reiterate that last comment, or the most important point thereof:

"Dear Helpful,

...If there were more people like you in the world, it would certainly be a better place."

I think my head may be swelling ;-) LOL!
Close commentsAdd reply

Bogus Warranty on Certified Vehicle
Posted by Lilrn33 on 06/02/2010
WINSTON-SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA -- I purchase a car 10/31/09, and began having problems with the heating system I went back to the deelership to report the problems to the Service Mgr., Robert. He treated me awful and refused to help me. I complained to Tracy Myers who via email responded and via email gave me permission to take the car to Flow Mini. They did not repair the correct part which was a $12.00 hose. The car kept leaking antifreeze unknown to me so Flow Mini's repair of $458 (radiator, etc..) did not help. The car began to overheat on a stretch of highway with construction so I couldn't pull over. The engine melted basically, the car was towed to a local mechanic with a 38 year stellar history in Clemmons. They diagnosed the car which cost me $1,000 approximately (including rental car fees). The supposed Warranty on the Frank Myers Certified Vehicle would not honor the warranty to fix the engine for $4,600, so the car had to be repossessed, ruining my credit. I consulted an attorney at the cost of $800 but she indicated they would prolong the issue and cost me more monies. AVP warranty and Tracy Myers did nothing to help. I bought the car 10/31/09 and the car blew up in Mid March. The warranty company was wanting to know my history of how I kept up my previous vehicles, what maintenance I had done on this one. My question to all people in the community is this? If Tracy Myers gets on TV promising a Life Time Warranty on Certified Vehicle why didn't he come through for me? I had owned the car a little over 4 months with 75K on it and less than 3,000 miles put on the car. What kind of repairs should I have made within 3,000 miles on a newly purchased car???

Tracy Myers indicated to my mechanic that AVP warranty would not honor the warranty on my certified car because Flow Mini Cooper had misdiagnosed the vehicle. This was devastating to me financially and emotionally. A promise is a promise.

I am a RN and my analogy to this whole mess is this: If a man or woman gets a heart cath and the doctor accidently misdiagnoses the condition or messes up, does Blue Cross & Blue Shield have the right to refuse coverage???? It is the same principal! Tracy Myers and the warranty he provides is only worth the paper it's written on, from the beginnig, AVP warranty and Tracy Myers weren't going to honor the warranty they promise on paper and TV. I had to buy a $1,500 and file bankruptcy, chapter 13 because of Tracy Myers and AVP warranty. All it takes nowadays is one (1) thing to push the average person into financial hardship.

I believe there is a God though and he's watching, so when any of us do wrong by a customer, neighbor or patient, etc... it will come back to us.

CCM
     
Read 8 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by myersauto on 2010-06-02:
My name is Tracy Myers and I am the owner of Frank Myers Auto Maxx. Thank you for allowing me to address the concerns you have about your Mini Cooper. To make things simpler for us both, I will share the responses one at a time below.

1) We have discussed your dissatisfaction with our Director of Service, Robert Thomas. Without going into a lot of details, I hope that we have already come to a resolution regarding your past experiences with him. If not, please let me know so that I can answer any questions that you still have.

2) When you took the car to Flow Mini, they initially told you that it was overheating because it needed a radiator and was going to cost $486. We (My dealership) agreed to pay for that and we all assumed that the problem was fixed.

3)Per your post, "They (Flow Mini) did not repair the correct part which was a $12.00 hose." That is when your vehicle overheated and caused the engine damage which "melted your engine." After this unfortunate incident, you had it "towed to the local mechanic with a 38 year stellar history in Clemmons". I personally spoke to that mechanic and you are correct...he is excellent at what he does. He is the one that told me that Flow diagnosed your car wrong and that it what caused it to overheat which, in turn, caused your engine to melt.

4) Even though I felt in my gut that AVP would deny the warranty claim on your Mini because of the problem not being diagnosed properly by Flow (which eventually caused the breakdown), my service department still submitted the repair to them. They (the warranty company) agreed to send an adjuster to consider the repair and that's when they asked for your maintenance records on the Mini. All they wanted was a receipt showing that your oil had been changed. Since you didn't provide that, the warranty company had no choice but to deny the claim.

Please know that our Engines For Life warranty is honored by a 3rd party (Assured Vehicle Protection) and administered by Marathon Administrative Company. They are both legitimate companies with stellar reputations that have served our clients well over the years. I can assure you that if Flow had properly diagnosed the problem with your Mini and they had submitted the proper claim the first time, we wouldn't be having this conversation. Or if you had simply provided an oil change receipt, AVP would have gladly sent an adjuster out to consider the repair. Either way, I feel that your hardships could have been prevented.

In closing, let me say that I appreciate you as a customer. Your story truly makes my guts hurt and I wish there was something...anything that could be done to make your frustration go away. If you have any ideas, I am always here to discuss them and will gladly do so.

Sincerely,
Tracy Myers
Frank Myers Auto Maxx
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-02:
I must be missing something? What does a receipt for an oil change have to do with Flow Mini misdiagnosing your problem? A) Not many folks keep receipts of oil changes, although some do. B) That's a fine job of redirecting to mislead you from the true fault!

I would suggest a different lawyer/attorney. An oil change receipt has no bearing on another company's wrong diagnosis of repair. They are attempting to make up a loop hole to discourage you pursuing the matter any further. Don't give up!
Posted by MaggieMcT on 2010-06-02:
Seems to me that the complaint should be against the people who mis-diagnosed the problem. Why isn't the OP holding them responsible?
Posted by myersauto on 2010-06-02:
Dear Justice-4-All,
Thank you for your input. You are correct...the oil change has nothing to do with Flow misdiagnosing the problem. As I shared on #4 in my original post: "Even though I felt in my gut that AVP would deny the warranty claim on your Mini because of the problem not being diagnosed properly by Flow (which eventually caused the breakdown), my service department still submitted the repair to them. They (the warranty company) agreed to send an adjuster to consider the repair and that's when they asked for your maintenance records on the Mini. All they wanted was a receipt showing that your oil had been changed. Since you didn't provide that, the warranty company had no choice but to deny the claim."

In hindsight, I should have clarified that when the car was originally diagnosed (or misdiagnosed in this case) the warranty claim should have been submitted to the warranty company by the repairing dealer (in this case it was Flow Mini). By the time the vehicle arrived at our service facility, we were simply trying to "resurrect" the claim (which we were successful at).

I will also agree with the fact that most folks don't keep their oil change/maintenance receipts. However, in this case, it was a clearly defined obligation of the warranty company since it was Lifetime Engine coverage. The warranty company simply attempts to protect themselves against fraud. So I can understand the position of AVP.

In closing, please allow me to say that Flow Mini and the entire Flow organization is a class act. In my heart, I am positive that no one at Flow intentionally diagnosed the Mini wrong. However, I tend to agree with you. If it can be proven that a proper diagnosis could have possibly prevented the engine in the Mini from melting, then I would also pursue this matter. I believe it has merit.

Sincerely,
Tracy Myers
Frank Myers Auto Maxx
Posted by myersauto on 2010-06-02:
Dear MaggieMcT,

Thank you for taking the time to read the comments and join the conversation.

If you'll read my reply to Justice-4-All, I think you'll see that I agree with your viewpoint.

Sincerely,
Tracy Myers
Frank Myers Auto Maxx
Posted by goduke on 2010-06-02:
J4A, almost all extended warranty companies are going to make you prove that you have performed routine maintenance on the car. If you can't, you will often see the claim denied. In fact, most warranty documentation tells you that you have to keep the records of the maintenance performed on the car. The warranties on every car I've ever had required that I do so. Got a big envelope at home where I keep them.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-06-02:
Am I missing something here? Why isn't this complaint against Flow Mini: "Tracy Myers indicated to my mechanic that AVP warranty would not honor the warranty on my certified car because Flow Mini Cooper had misdiagnosed the vehicle."

Also, how could you not realize that your vehicle was leaking anti-freeze? And...regardless of where I was at, if my car started overheating, you can bet I'd be pulling over right away.
Posted by 30 Year Auto Pro on 2013-10-18:
Looking at your well written letter I see several problems. First, Myers offering and paying for a repair at Flow is rare and generous. Perhaps Flow did a repair that was needed and missed the hose. How is this Mr. Myers fault. Having represented several extended warranty, service contract companies, they ALL ask for receipts. Second, how is it Mr. Myers fault that there was construction on the road? Pull over next time, the possible citation will be less. Again, this occured after the dealer paid a Mini Dealer to repair the vehicle. You cannot expect a warranty to cover an blown engine because of construction. I have very similar situations inthe past, and although my heart felt for the customer, I could not just write checks to fix each case and remain in business. Last, after reading your report I searched as many sites as I could fine that allow reviews. For every complaint there are 6 reviews that love their experience. Also, Mr. Myers responded to all with his personal cell. Based on your letter, if I needed employment in the Auto Dealer business, I would apply there and hope to join Mr Meyer. Sorry for your persistent conedy of errors, but none appear to be the Dealers fault. A used vehicle needing some after six months is not uncommon. Best of luck. And perhaps stick with new cars in the future.
Close commentsAdd reply


Issue is resolved
Posted by Crmd on 05/12/2010
I have to say I really didn't expect anyone to get back to me from Frank Myers.. I was very wrong. Tracy contacted me right away and has done everything in her power to help us with our situation.. For that I am thankful and grateful. the issue has been resolved and I'm very satisfied with the outcome.. thanks and blessings
Read Company Response
Company Response on 5/15/2010:
Thank you for the kind words and for allowing me to work with you in making this situatioin right. Please know that you can always call me or email me if you need my assistance.
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by saj80 on 2010-05-12:
Good news, and kudos to Frank Myers for taking responsibility to resolve this.
Close commentsAdd reply

Do not trust this place
Posted by Teamscon on 05/12/2010
+PLEASE PLEASE TAKE THE CAR YOUR BUYING FROM THESE PEOPLE TO A CERTIFIED MECHANIC BEFORE SIGNING ANYTHING!!



+DO NOT TRUST THEIR "160 POINT" INSPECTION



+MAKE SURE YOU LOOK AT THE CARFAX REPORT FOR WRECKS ... WE WERE TOLD "99% OF USED CARS HAVE BEEN WRECKED" BY THEIR SALES MANAGER. I THINK WE ALL KNOW THATS NOT TRUE



Bought a car with 16,990 miles on it (2009). Miles on sticker/car were different by 700 miles (They went off the last inspection mileage.)

Deal finalized 5-4-10. 5-8-10 The knocking sound from front end that was very quiet gets 100% worse. Took it to a mechanic and they said the
right front axle is bent with a rubber block keeping the noise quiet. The rubber block became loose and no longer masked the sound. Also found oil leak right side of oil pan. Further inspection, car has been wrecked and the dealership is not obligated to tell you the car has had damage done.

We take the car back to the dealership first thing Monday morning thinking "oh they will understand ... after all the car HAS been wrecked in its history and there is still damage from the wreck ... So they must be willing to make it right?" Wrong. They start off by telling us there is nothing wrong with the oil pan that the bolts were loose (Seriously doubt it unless it was installed by their mechanics) Then they tell us there is no way the bent axle and oil pan slipped by their "160 point inspection" They claim we did this damage, and told us there is nothing we can do to get the damage that the vehicle had WHEN they sold it to us fixed at their cost.



END RESULT: Car is now at Frank Myers. They aggreed to replace the axle for 150.00 out of MY pocket. Now I get to keep a car that I don't trust
and feel VERY bad about this deal. My kids have to ride in this car. They lied to lenders etc ... Too many downfalls to list. Please people be
VERY cautious when buying from this place. Very very crooked. Frank Myers Auto Maxx is the new generation of greaseball used car salesmen. I will
do everything I can to detur anyone I know from buying from this place.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 5/15/2010:
Thank you for your feedback. Please allow me to apologize for any misunderstanding that we may have had. Since you posted this, I believe that we have taken great strides in reaching a resolution. As far as the $150.00 you paid to repair your vehicle, it was actually a warranty deductible. While the deductible IS $150.00 per occurance, I am in agreement with you...I don't think you should have to pay it since you only had the car a few days. That is why I am wanting to reimburse you. Please contact me at the dealership so we can discuss where you would like for me to mail the check.

Hopefully, it is a great comfort to you that your vehicle is still completely covered not only be the remainder of the factory warranty but also the Lifetime Engine Warranty that we gave you at the time of purchase. In addition, as a sign of good faith, I would like to give you your next oil change at no cost to you.

I appreciate you as a Frank Myers customer and I look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Tracy Myers
Frank Myers Auto Maxx
     
Read 2 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Alain on 2010-05-12:
The dealership says (via cardealercheck.com) they have a resolution team of sorts available at 336-831-0656. If you're still dissatisfied you can file a complaint through your AG's office at http://ncdoj.gov/Consumer.aspx or call 877-5-NO-SCAM or 919-716-6000.
Posted by teamscon on 2010-05-19:
The 150.00 we had to pay as the deductible would be greatly appreciated. However, the car is in the shop again because of busted cv joints and radio not picking up stations. Busted cv joints were found by mechanic the same day after your dealership replaced the axle, and the "stable link between the a-frame and stabilizer bar" Keith assured us we wouldnt have to pay another deductible but it looks like we will as long as they decide to cover it under warranty. If they decide the damage is from the wreck the car was in before we got it, we will be paying for the cv joints/radio to be fixed out of pocket. The check can be mailed to my home. Im sure you all have my address as I would rather not call. If not, please email me daniel.george4@yahoo.com and I will respond with the address. I just dont understand why the damage to the car wasnt found before it was sold.
Close commentsAdd reply

Do Not Trust Them They Are Liars
Posted by Crmd on 05/11/2010
WINSTON SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA -- What a crock of crap with rebuilding your credit.. We needed a new car and a way to build our credit. we had no active credit and we needed it to get our points up to buy a home.. so we decided to go to Frank Meyers. They told us a couple of lenders to try so we could get the "extra down payment" we needed to purchase a car. so we wasted a day of trying to get a loan and were told our scores were to low. so we took more hits on our credit file which made it even lower and did not get the loan.

Then they talked my husband into trading his truck in order to meet the down payment requirement and tax, title and tags. against my better judgment he did it.. we told them we do not have the money for the taxes, title and tags this trade in has to cover everything not a penny from us.. I quote "this will cover everything you will not have to put out a penny".. that was a joke.. they are now telling us we need to pay $200 for the tags, taxes and title. needless to say we have not paid them for that yet.

So today I called to check with the lender as to when they would start reporting our payments to the credit bureaus because we need that reported to raise our points to qualify for a mortgage. I was told we do not and will not report to the credit bureaus.. you can get your history and report it yourself. now what the hell is that going to do and why should I have to report it. this was to help suppose us build our credit and now I find out they knew this company would not report this.. so we now can not get the mortgage to buy our home. we are paying on a loan for 3 years that is doing us no good with our credit.

I will NOT recommend any one buy from them under any circumstances. I hope you all rot in hell for lying to people.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 5/15/2010:
I am glad that you allowed me to speak with you and resolve our misunderstanding. When you return from your missions trip, please call me and we will find a time that's convenient for you to visit the dealership. It would be a pleasure to meet with you and move forward with your request to manually submit your info to Equifax.

Have a great day,
Tracy Myers
     
Add reply

Credit score may be inaccurate
Posted by Rebecca2010 on 04/09/2010
WINSTON SALEM, NORTH CAROLINA -- I went to Frank Myers today to fill an application on a vehicle. I already knew what my credit score would be. I have a 569. I know that it is not a good score. In fact, I think it is horrible. I have some inaccuracies to take care of on my report. I also have a trade in that could take care of my down payment. When my credit was checked, the report said that my score was 446. I looked over the credit report and my inaccuracies was still there, but my score should still have been the 569. The sales lady did a sales pitch on a company that could "fix my credit" for a fee. I don't buy into companies that promise to fix your credit. If you have inaccuracies, then you can do it on your own by disputing the information with the credit bureau. Well when I got home, I subscribed to another credit monitoring agency to check to see if the one I had was giving me a false credit score. Well my credit score was 540. True credit has it at 569 and Freescore has it at 540. Both of these scores are bad, but no where near the 446 that Frank Myers says I had. So are they trying to sale a care or a referral to a "fix my credit" company? I don't know. I'm not going to give up my trade in and $1800 dollars in cash. I can take the $1800 dollars and fix up my trade in. I'm also not going to bug my relatives to be my co-signer. That's a awful thing to ask someone. They will always guarantee that you will be approved, but the requirements are ridiculous. There is something up with this company. Its a shame because they do offer nice vehicles. I'm not sure if there credit monitoring is up to par or if their deals seem to good to be true.
Read Company Response
Company Response on 04/16/2010:
My name is Tracy Myers and I am the owner of Frank Myers Auto Maxx. First of all, let me say "Thank You" for your feedback and for giving my company the opprotunity to earn your business. Please allow me a moment to address your concerns.

Since your name isn't posted in the review, I can't pull your credit file to discuss specifics. However, I can say that you are correct...our score would not be the same as the ones that you have because we use credit bureaus with a feature called "auto enhance". Here is a quick synopsis explaining the auto enhance feature:

What is an Auto Enhanced score and how do I leverage it?

Most people do not realize there is a difference between your normal FICO score, and the score you are graded on when you apply for auto credit. Your normal credit score is simply referred to as "Classic FICO Score (also referred to as your BEACON score)". The auto score is usually referred to as your "FICO Auto Industry Option". This score it not available for you to purchase and only dealers\finance companies are able to pull it. Here are the major differences between Auto and Classic scores:

-The major difference between FICO scores and FICO auto scores is that the auto scores rate you more on how you've managed your previous auto credit. Most car lenders primarily care about how you’ve paid your auto loans. The auto score gives them this information.

-Have you made late payments on a current or previous auto loan or lease?

-Have you ever settled an auto loan or lease for less than you owed?

-Have you had a car repossessed?

-Have you had an auto account sent to collections?

-Did you include your car loan or lease in your bankruptcy?

All of these things will affect your "Auto Enhanced Score".

Hopefully, this answers your concerns about the difference between "our score" and "your score".

Now to address your questions about the credit restoration service that we offer. They are through a company called Prime Credit. We have been offering both our customers and non-customers the services of Prime Credit for almost a year and the response has been incredible. However, we also understand that credit restoration services are not everyones cup-o-tea and we respect that. If you feel that these services were pushed on you, then please accept my apologies. That was never anyone's intent.

In closing, let me once again tell you how much I appreciate you bringing our shortcomings to my attention. Without knowing how our clients feel about the experiences we provide, then we can never improve.

It would be my pleasure to meet you in person, discuss the vision of the dealership and how we can better serve our guests. My direct number is 336-831-0646.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by idontthinkso on 2010-04-09:
Yeah.. it sounds like a scam by the Stealership. Remember, the more your credit is run, the lower the score is. Most places won't take your own printed reports, but by getting them done first, you can blow scammers like this out of the water!
Posted by rebecca2010 on 2010-04-16:
Moved From Other Review: Thank you Tracy Myers for responding to the claim about the difference about FICO score (credit score, which most companies use) and your auto score. well your auto score report can't be very accurate due to that I have a paid off car on my report and when I went in I had a trade in (different vehicle which is not on my report). I actually have two paid off vehicles, one which is on my report, and I never had any late payments. The one I wanted to trade in was not on my report but I have a great reference with the company who financed with me. I'm not really sure why you want to sell the credit repair agency, since everything that they do, the consumer can do for free. Since my credit was pulled, I was able to find a few discrepancies on it and was able to dispute them with the bureau itself (equifax). I just want to thank you for your time and I will seek other methods. Fico scores are more important anyways. You can't buy a house on a unknown score business. I have two vehicles paid for on credit which I made good on. I will find someone else. Good luck with the economy.
Posted by myersauto on 2010-04-16:
You are very welcome for the response. It has been my pleasure to share the differences in the 2 bureaus with you. As far as the FICO score is concerned, I am in full agreement with you...it is much more important when buying a house. However, there are many automotive finance companies that won't even consider a car loan for a car shopper without the auto enhance feature. I'm not saying I agree with it but that's just the way it is. As far as accuracy goes, we'll have to take that up with Equifax because it is their service...not ours. lol Regarding the credit restoration service, we sell it simply because it is very convenient and not nearly as time consuming as doing it yourself. I suppose it is like having a maid. Yes, you can clean your house yourself for free but having a maid would free up a lot of time even though it would cost money. I hope that example makes sense. By the way, good for you that you took the initiative to report your bureau discrepenices to Equifax yourself. I can tell that you are a true "go getter". Once again, "thank you" for the dialogue and the offer still stands for the face-to-face meeting here at the dealership. Not to sell you anything. Simply a discussion on how to make my business better. PS: I also appreciate the well wishes in this economy. We are blessed to be in the midst of our 7th straight record month and to have been named one of the top 50 small businesses in NC for the 2nd year in a row. God is so good!
Posted by myersauto on 2010-04-16:
Dear idontthinkso, Thank you for your input into the conversation. Please know that I wish there were a way for us to use the credit bureaus that our customers bring in. What most folks don't understand is that our dealership isn't allowed to use those bureaus per the dealer agreement we enter into with banks and finance companies. Believe me...it would be so much easier if they would let us use those PLUS it would save the dealership a ton of money. Take care and the best to you
Posted by idontthinkso on 2010-04-16:
@myersauto
Hmm.. A professional and polite person that works for a dealership.. may wonders never cease. Please understand that I have had mostly negative dealings with car dealerships and some of them have been epic. The fact that you take the time and patience to reply to a negative situation with facts and requests that require work on your part speaks well of you and yours.

My own disastrous dealings have left me quite cynical. Were my location a BIT closer, I might try your services when required.

One thing.. This *IS* the Internet. You might want to:
A)Put some spaces, hyphens, or letters in that phone number. Bots are known for picking them up off of search-able archives.
B)NOT put your personal phone number up in a message board for ranting. There are people here with issues, and sadly, some social malfunction.. You might be getting unpleasant contact.

Next time, type the message, PM the phone number. If you want it out for anyone concerned, for whatever insane reason (this *IS* the internet...) put up a post stating you'll PM the phone number to interested people. You will regret a bit less that way...
Close commentsAdd reply


Not true to their word
Posted by Newkid on 11/06/2009
I first spoke to a lady on the phone which I told my exact and total situation and that I really needed a car fast or loose my job and was told to come in and "something" would be worked out for me and told me about the "unsung heroes" program which as a single parent would qualify me for a special no money down program. When I got there I got told the very opposite and they wanted a co-signer or 1500.00 down. I was really disappointed as they knew my situation already and said it was because I had no job. I had a job, I just had not been working since my car was stolen a week or so prior to that. I told them I had a job and that I was going to loose it if I did not hurry up and find a car. Got turned down anyway, not everybody rides. I was also told that they are Christian based and that they would help me out and NOT!!!!!!!!
Read Company Response
Company Response on 04/02/2010:
Hello, my name is Tracy Myers and I am the owner of Frank Myers Auto Maxx in Winston-Salem, NC. First of all, please allow me to apologize for any confusion about how our Unsung Heroes program works. Since you didn't leave your actual name in the review (which is against this websites policy), I can't research your particular situation. However, please let me say that this sounds like a huge misunderstanding. Please allow me to share with you the actual wording of the Unsung Heroes program directly from our website:

Here are a few of the benefits of our Unsung Heroes Program (Available to most Unsung Heroes...even those with CREDIT CHALLENGES).

1) Reduced Down Payments - Qualify with as little as $0 Down in many cases.
2) 90-days to first payment through participating lenders with approved credit!
3) FREE gas with purchase!
4) First oil change FREE!

Please notice that #1 states "Reduced Down Payments - Qualify with as little as $0 down in many cases." We have never claimed that a person entering into the Unsung Heroes program could get approved with no money down.

The Unsung Heroes program certainly exists. Here is one of the many examples of the program in action: http://xtremesatisfactionteam.blogspot.com/2009/12/honoring-unsung-heroes-at-frank-myers.html

In closing, I want to say that I AM indeed a Christian and I would never intentionally mislead you about any of our programs. I appreciate you sharing your concerns with me and giving me the opportunity to improve the way we communicate with our clients and guests. My hope is that you will call me directly at the dealership so I can pull your account information from our database. If you were indeed turned down for financing, even through our EVERYBODY RIDES program, we owe you $1000 because that is our guarantee.

I sincerely look forward to speaking with you soon.
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by redmx3racer on 2009-11-06:
Sorry to hear about your troubles, but be aware most dealers will tell you anything to get you to come into their dealership. Keep looking-there are dealers out there who will finance just about anyone-but you'll end up with a high interest rate and an older vehicle-but you can use it to get to work, build your credit, and get back on your feet. Best of luck!
Posted by redmx3racer on 2009-11-06:
And-"something" was worked out by them for you-no $$ down with cosigner.
Posted by warddw1526 on 2009-11-06:
Unless you go into your credit history over the phone, they do not know what they can truly qualify you for over the phone.

As for the "Unsung Heroes" program, it might exist. Was there any sort of discount? Maybe without that program, the downpayment may have been higher.
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >