Preview Review

Next Review

Freedom Mortgage Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
NO Monthly or Year End Statements Received EVER! Overcharged My Account to Title Co as Kept My Money!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MOUNT LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- Freedom Mortgage IS A FAIL in EVERY DEPARTMENT! How does a company get away with this crap!! SERIOUSLY??? We sold our home literally to get rid of Freedom Mortgage! The title company we worked with was told what a MASSIVE nightmare this company is and still are... Yes still!! So From November 2015 our mortgage was transferred to Freedom Mortgage. We received 8 days notice of this change before our payment would be due.

I HAD TO CALL FREEDOM MORTGAGE TO GET INFORMATION SO I COULD MAKE MY MORTGAGE payments! I called again... STILL NOTHING..! What's up? "Hello are you ever going to be sending us any information on our mortgage?" Customer service comes back at me with "Well I guess just use your old account number with your original lender..." Wow what a joke.

DEC 2015. "How do I get my statements? Why have I not received any statements?" January 2016 Still no statements. I have been sending in my payments over and above my minimum amount due via bill pay through my bank. I'm Hopeful my money is being put toward my account? February 2016 SAME AS ABOVE... Now I'm getting a bit angry. 😡 Where are my monthly statements? Where are my tax documents? 9 calls now into Freedom Mortgage. I get the same story. They have ZERO clue of what's going on. So once again we requested our docs we have NEVER SEEN.

Customer service continues to tell me I can always view these online and print them. No I can't and I have said this for months now. I am not able to view anything on the Freedom Mortgage website let alone view or print my statements to my account. March 2016, Call after call after call NOTHING YET! NOTHING!

April 2016, SAME STORY DIFFERENT DUMMIES. May 2016, 21 calls so far!!! (21 CALLS SO FAR) NO EXAGGERATION!!! June 2016, I am completely exhausted with this moronic, incompetent idiotic company!!! July 2016 I'm completely done with this FREEDOM MORTGAGE. I have exhausted myself just trying to get what is mine. I have paid my mortgage every single month without ever being even one day late EVER...! I'm DONE. LISTED MY HOME FOR SALE!!!

August 2016 SOLD MY HOME in 12 days!!! Even accepted LESS MONEY just to be RID OF FREEDOM MORTGAGE FOREVER!!! September 15th 2016 NOTHING RECEIVED STILL... Closed escrow. Wait what? I paid Freedom Mortgage on August 29th 2016. My last house payment and yet it's not even showing up on the closing documents WHAT!!!

Title company says "Freedom Mortgage has 30 days to give you your money back or they will get in trouble..." I laughed and said, "OK we will see." You have no idea how bad this company is so it's been eight months now I still am owed money to this day from Freedom Mortgage! These IDIOTS sent my property tax money out after closing escrow and receiving the payoff!! To this day have never seen one of my statements or my tax documents that were legally due to me. I haven't seen my money.

I've even been charged fees that we already paid at closing with our Title Company that Freedom Mortgage charged them for. And yet FREEDOM MORTGAGE, yes... Freedom Mortgage charged us for...! GIVE ME MY MONEY YOU OWE ME WITH INTEREST!! Give me my documents you owe me!! I'm sure an AUDIT would find... What THIEVES FREEDOM MORTGAGE REALLY IS!!! Total & Complete Incompetence of this company is PATHETIC! I will now be hiring an attorney to get my money!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Refinance
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ARIZONA -- My husband is a Service Connected Disabled Veteran. He chose to refinance and began the process with Freedom Mortgage. Joe ** was his first contact. I carry a Durable General Power of Attorney for my husband. So he requested that I step in due to the stresses that he was dealing with regarding this company and the refinance. Now mind you that I have been a Disability Advocate for 25 yrs. To which I dealt extensively with mental health issues. In order to accomplish my jobs appropriately, I had to learn extreme patience.

Since I have taken over the completion of this refinance, I can honestly say this company cares less about their customers. They have had us send “extremely personal information” to them. Only to find that the information was sent directly to a personal phone of the agent. This information was also sent via reply e-mail and/or faxing. Only to be told that they didn't receive it. The people that they call a team. Well they are a team of miscommunications, rude, blame placing and dishonesty. I have spoken to each person in the team. Only to be treated rudely and down too.

This refinance started in August and here is November. Now we are told that the manager is going through documents to see what else they need. We have given everything to them. Most in double or triple. Due to the fact that they stated that they didn't receive. Yesterday Christine was complaining that they had numerous duplicates. Hmm how did they have duplicates? They said that they didn't receive the other documents. The online portion of the company is a joke. Beth told me that they don't use the online accounts. She also stated that she was not trained how to use and/or help clients.

I signed on got an account and was able to upload one (1) item. My Termite Inspection. Guess what they kept having me send. Yep Termite Inspection! Sent that Inspection by message, reply email, and fax. Only when I got stern and asked why is this client sending documents to a street phone and where is this private information going. Did Christine find the document sent to the phone!

The only thing online that I can see is that the loan is sent to underwriting. If I try to go any further I get, ”You entered the wrong email format, then I put the email format and it says, you have entered the wrong username format!” This Veteran has been placed into an extremely unnecessary stressful situation. FREEDOM MORTGAGE does not care about their customers. In fact it is my opinion, “Freedom Mortgage” is abusive to their clients!

Replies
This Company Is Very Shady and Shouldn't Be Trusted
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MT. LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- Freedom Mortgage is extremely untrustworthy. There are three different addresses on my monthly statement, and not a single phone number to reach anyone beyond a recording with options that do not apply to my inquiry. It is very unsettling to not be able to reach an actual human to ask questions of, and I am beginning to question whether this company even has any actual humans employed.

I may try withholding my monthly payments until somebody calls me. My inquiry was about my escrow account, and before I had exhausted their automated options, the recorded message was attempting to collect a delinquent debt from me! Not at all the situation, and I am insulted by their pathetic customer support and even more pathetic online system.

Replies
Terrible Experience, Steer Clear
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

COLUMBUS, OHIO -- Steer Clear of this company. If you do business with them, be sure to ask for another loan advisor if you get Jordan **. I was taken through the wringer for 30 days, jumping through every hoop presented. Jordan said the loan was approved beside the appraisal. The appraisal came back perfect, more than expected. I was still denied, for the reason I told them I would be from day 1.

I am self employed and have started a few companies, the most recent, has seen huge growth, fueled with debt. Perfect credit, income more than sufficient. They are a joke and very misleading and unethical. Darryl **, the underwriter, didn't even have the decency to reach out, he sent an email. Just a terrible company all around.

Replies
Advertisement
Extremely Money Hungry, Rude and Arrogant Loan Officers!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MT LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- I spoke with a guy named Dylan and his slimy personality was oozing through the phone line. This guy couldn't be more bothered to help me. He must not give a hoot about making money if he treats people the way he treated me. He was extremely arrogant and not very knowledgeable about the market he is licensed in.

I finally just told him it didn't seem like I was worth his time and he hung up. I tried to talk to a supervisor about his behavior but never got a callback. I would never do business with a company like this, very shady. In addition I found out that Freedom Mortgage settled a lawsuit in 2016 with the United States government with allegations of violating the False Claims Act for $113 million dollars. Steer clear of this company!

Replies
Horible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OREGON -- I got behind a few payments, but I got caught up and paid my late fees. They added 5 extra late fees. I paid these fees so I thought I can just call them. It's a glitch in their system right? WRONG!!! The customer service people are so RUDE and not willing to help or problem solve. Any time I have an issue I refuse to call anymore. I have to file a Better Business Bureau to have them even look at my account. The customer service just blames you. It's always your fault. They flat out lie to you just to not help you. I am fixing this issue then will refinance to a company with better service.

Replies
Terrible Refi Experience!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MOUNT LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- It started out great. A consolidation refi, fast, great rates, too good to be true! Yep, that's what it was alright. 90 days into jumping many many hoops, answering all requests within 24 hours, having promises to close, then no communication. Having a scheduled close date and no communication. We had approval throughout the entire process. Our current mortgage company told them we had one missed payment back in Nov (during a hardship).

Freedom told us to pay it off immediately and it would not affect our loan. So we did that very day. They confirmed payment and all was well for another month. Then on the very last day they pulled another credit report and that late payment for the mtg showed up. They were already fully aware of it, we followed all of their requests, even writing a letter to explain why it was missed and they denied us the loan based on that one item alone! No other reason, no call from our processor after all of the time, just a letter in the mail.

We are out a lot of money for inspection and septic testing, not to mention creditors that were waiting for a payoff so they agreed not to take payment during the process. Now we are behind in everything. A TOTAL NIGHTMARE! We may have dodged a bullet though. The BBB rating has a 87% negative rating, and same holds true all across the review sites.

Replies
Poor Customer Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 2/51

We have had our mortgage with Freedom for three years now and have had two issues with our escrow for taxes. The first year, the wrong amount was being held back so we didn't have enough saved to pay the taxes - the extra money we paid went to principal which was OK but we were not able to plan accordingly to pay our full tax bill. It took a month to work through customer service to resolve the issue.

The second issue came two years later after they refinanced us. They sent the tax escrow check to the wrong address so we were not reimbursed for the over $3000 we paid the county in taxes over a month ago. They finally are getting their check back but won't send us the money we are due for another 3 weeks while they run an escrow analysis (hopefully). Overall, their customer service is easy to get a hold of but doesn't call back when they say they will and tell you mistaken information.

Replies
Advertisement
High Recommended- Fast and Efficient With Competitive Interest Rates
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MOUNT LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- The loan officer was very knowledgeable and relayed information on a general and personal level which gave me confidence that I should streamline refinance without any further assistance from another company. Also everything he discussed was true and was executed quickly and efficiently; and when all the documents were completed; then the deadline for the interest rate was about 1-2 days late. The interest rate was locked without any payment and I was very grateful even though the deadline was lapsed.

Replies
Complete Incompetence
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

NEW JERSEY -- The worst customer service I have ever dealt with. No one there seems to know their job. They keep blaming each other on who is in charge of it. Taking 3 months just for paperwork on their part. No one there answers the phones. Don't call back. It was only that I left a nasty email about the whole situation that I received a response. And of course that response still had no answers. You're better off banging your head against a wall to get any answers. Such a waste of time.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Freedom Mortgage Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
2.0 out of 5, based on 20 ratings and
24 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Freedom Mortgage
907 Pleasant Valley Avenue, Suite 3
Mount Laurel, NJ 08054
800-847-9937 (ph)
www.freedommortgage.com
Compare General Finance Companies