Preview Review

Next Review

Freedom Mortgage Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
NO Monthly or Year End Statements Received EVER! Overcharged My Account to Title Co as Kept My Money!!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MOUNT LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- Freedom Mortgage IS A FAIL in EVERY DEPARTMENT! How does a company get away with this crap!! SERIOUSLY??? We sold our home literally to get rid of Freedom Mortgage! The title company we worked with was told what a MASSIVE nightmare this company is and still are... Yes still!! So From November 2015 our mortgage was transferred to Freedom Mortgage. We received 8 days notice of this change before our payment would be due.

I HAD TO CALL FREEDOM MORTGAGE TO GET INFORMATION SO I COULD MAKE MY MORTGAGE payments! I called again... STILL NOTHING..! What's up? "Hello are you ever going to be sending us any information on our mortgage?" Customer service comes back at me with "Well I guess just use your old account number with your original lender..." Wow what a joke.

DEC 2015. "How do I get my statements? Why have I not received any statements?" January 2016 Still no statements. I have been sending in my payments over and above my minimum amount due via bill pay through my bank. I'm Hopeful my money is being put toward my account? February 2016 SAME AS ABOVE... Now I'm getting a bit angry. 😡 Where are my monthly statements? Where are my tax documents? 9 calls now into Freedom Mortgage. I get the same story. They have ZERO clue of what's going on. So once again we requested our docs we have NEVER SEEN.

Customer service continues to tell me I can always view these online and print them. No I can't and I have said this for months now. I am not able to view anything on the Freedom Mortgage website let alone view or print my statements to my account. March 2016, Call after call after call NOTHING YET! NOTHING!

April 2016, SAME STORY DIFFERENT DUMMIES. May 2016, 21 calls so far!!! (21 CALLS SO FAR) NO EXAGGERATION!!! June 2016, I am completely exhausted with this moronic, incompetent idiotic company!!! July 2016 I'm completely done with this FREEDOM MORTGAGE. I have exhausted myself just trying to get what is mine. I have paid my mortgage every single month without ever being even one day late EVER...! I'm DONE. LISTED MY HOME FOR SALE!!!

August 2016 SOLD MY HOME in 12 days!!! Even accepted LESS MONEY just to be RID OF FREEDOM MORTGAGE FOREVER!!! September 15th 2016 NOTHING RECEIVED STILL... Closed escrow. Wait what? I paid Freedom Mortgage on August 29th 2016. My last house payment and yet it's not even showing up on the closing documents WHAT!!!

Title company says "Freedom Mortgage has 30 days to give you your money back or they will get in trouble..." I laughed and said, "OK we will see." You have no idea how bad this company is so it's been eight months now I still am owed money to this day from Freedom Mortgage! These IDIOTS sent my property tax money out after closing escrow and receiving the payoff!! To this day have never seen one of my statements or my tax documents that were legally due to me. I haven't seen my money.

I've even been charged fees that we already paid at closing with our Title Company that Freedom Mortgage charged them for. And yet FREEDOM MORTGAGE, yes... Freedom Mortgage charged us for...! GIVE ME MY MONEY YOU OWE ME WITH INTEREST!! Give me my documents you owe me!! I'm sure an AUDIT would find... What THIEVES FREEDOM MORTGAGE REALLY IS!!! Total & Complete Incompetence of this company is PATHETIC! I will now be hiring an attorney to get my money!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Extremely Money Hungry, Rude and Arrogant Loan Officers!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MT LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- I spoke with a guy named Dylan and his slimy personality was oozing through the phone line. This guy couldn't be more bothered to help me. He must not give a hoot about making money if he treats people the way he treated me. He was extremely arrogant and not very knowledgeable about the market he is licensed in.

I finally just told him it didn't seem like I was worth his time and he hung up. I tried to talk to a supervisor about his behavior but never got a callback. I would never do business with a company like this, very shady. In addition I found out that Freedom Mortgage settled a lawsuit in 2016 with the United States government with allegations of violating the False Claims Act for $113 million dollars. Steer clear of this company!

Replies
Horible
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

OREGON -- I got behind a few payments, but I got caught up and paid my late fees. They added 5 extra late fees. I paid these fees so I thought I can just call them. It's a glitch in their system right? WRONG!!! The customer service people are so RUDE and not willing to help or problem solve. Any time I have an issue I refuse to call anymore. I have to file a Better Business Bureau to have them even look at my account. The customer service just blames you. It's always your fault. They flat out lie to you just to not help you. I am fixing this issue then will refinance to a company with better service.

Replies
Terrible Refi Experience!
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MOUNT LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- It started out great. A consolidation refi, fast, great rates, too good to be true! Yep, that's what it was alright. 90 days into jumping many many hoops, answering all requests within 24 hours, having promises to close, then no communication. Having a scheduled close date and no communication. We had approval throughout the entire process. Our current mortgage company told them we had one missed payment back in Nov (during a hardship).

Freedom told us to pay it off immediately and it would not affect our loan. So we did that very day. They confirmed payment and all was well for another month. Then on the very last day they pulled another credit report and that late payment for the mtg showed up. They were already fully aware of it, we followed all of their requests, even writing a letter to explain why it was missed and they denied us the loan based on that one item alone! No other reason, no call from our processor after all of the time, just a letter in the mail.

We are out a lot of money for inspection and septic testing, not to mention creditors that were waiting for a payoff so they agreed not to take payment during the process. Now we are behind in everything. A TOTAL NIGHTMARE! We may have dodged a bullet though. The BBB rating has a 87% negative rating, and same holds true all across the review sites.

Replies
Advertisement
Poor Customer Service
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star-
Rating: 2/51

We have had our mortgage with Freedom for three years now and have had two issues with our escrow for taxes. The first year, the wrong amount was being held back so we didn't have enough saved to pay the taxes - the extra money we paid went to principal which was OK but we were not able to plan accordingly to pay our full tax bill. It took a month to work through customer service to resolve the issue.

The second issue came two years later after they refinanced us. They sent the tax escrow check to the wrong address so we were not reimbursed for the over $3000 we paid the county in taxes over a month ago. They finally are getting their check back but won't send us the money we are due for another 3 weeks while they run an escrow analysis (hopefully). Overall, their customer service is easy to get a hold of but doesn't call back when they say they will and tell you mistaken information.

Replies
V.A. Home Refinancing
StarStarStarStarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 4/51

MOUNT LAUREL, N.J. -- The professional assistance I received from **. She was consistent in getting delays handled. With 2 months delay, this lady kept me updated and sped up the final loan. I will say that if it was not for her, I would be with another co. I thank you Mary and Freedom Mortgage. As a DAV member, I will highly recommend your co. For other veterans.

Replies
A Pleasant and Easy Experience!
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MT. LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- Thank you for making my refinancing so easy. Everything was handled through e-mail or phone. I only had to meet with the notary to do the signing. She (Gloria) was very professional. A special thanks to Jeremy ** who always kept me up to date, was always available to answer my questions, and was also the epitome of professionalism.

Replies
Everyone Was Very Helpful and Friendly. Never Felt Like I Was Just a Number to Them
StarStarStarStarStarBy -
Rating: 5/51

MOUNT LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- From the first call I made till the deal was finished, Jarred and Dee were so helpful and answered all my questions. Never felt like they did not want to talk or that I was bothering them. They knew everything about their job. I would recommend Freedom Mortgage to my friends and family. Great job guys.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrendous
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

This is the worst experience I have ever had with any business. Trying to refinance our mortgage and I have had to do most of the work that the mortgage company should have done. They are completely incompetent. Then they closed our refinance without completing the process two months after the scheduled closing date. To top it off they NEVER TOLD US.

Replies
Incompetence Abounds With Everyone I've Dealt With at Freedom.
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MT. LAUREL, NEW JERSEY -- Our neighborhood has deteriorated over the last 3 years, so my wife and I decided to buy a home in a nicer neighborhood and turn our current home into a rental. Freedom Mortgage bought the mortgage on our current home about 6 months ago, so we figured a new mortgage with them would be an easy process. We were wrong. So very wrong.

From the beginning we have been asked several times to provide the same documents (tax returns, pay stubs, employment verification, sales contract, etc.). It seems that as the mortgage application moves from 1 step to another, it also moves from 1 department to another, WITHOUT the documents we send them. So, we have sent them the same documents 4 times, each time to be told "We don't have such and such documents, can you send it again?"

Their online document delivery/signature system doesn't work, and they can't figure out how to make it work for more than one applicant, so they shipped our application to us overnight for signatures, except they sent it to the wrong address. We got it 3 days later when a neighbor that lives a block away brought it to us, after he opened it. These are documents with our social security numbers and other personal identification information on them! Did I mention our neighborhood isn't the greatest anymore? Thanks to their mistake we now have to place a fraud alert on our credit reports.

They have refused to give us an accurate estimate of closing costs and have repeatedly told us we will have to pay items that the VA and our state do not allow lenders to charge the buyers. They are also telling us we need to pay into escrow at closing the current property tax bill, due in 2 months, that is for last year's taxes, and enough to cover taxes for this year prior to closing. It is not the buyer's responsibility to pay property taxes for a time period before they purchased the home, it is the seller's responsibility to pay the taxes for the time they owned the home.

Now, 3 days before we were scheduled to close, their agent sent an email stating we will not be able to close on time because they don't understand the documents we provided that prove our income and employment. What's hard to understand about the last 4 years' income tax returns and last 4 months' pay stubs? They now want written and signed statements from us explaining so-called discrepancies in our taxes and pay stubs. I've explained in an email that the so-called discrepancies don't exist and are a result of their mathematical errors, but they still want written and signed explanations.

I suspect this is an effort on their part to delay closing since they haven't been able to calculate actual closing costs and provide us with the Closing Disclosure that is required by law no later than 3 days prior to closing. Now, because of their incompetence and unprofessional behavior, we have to ask the seller for an extension of the sales contract, and hope the seller doesn't object, or we lose the house.

So far, everyone we have dealt with at Freedom Mortgage has demonstrated an absolute lack of knowledge, competence and professionalism. I would not recommend this company to anyone I know. In fact, I've told everyone I know to avoid this company like the plague!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Freedom Mortgage Rating:
Star Star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.9 out of 5, based on 14 ratings and
18 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Freedom Mortgage
907 Pleasant Valley Avenue, Suite 3
Mount Laurel, NJ 08054
800-847-9937 (ph)
www.freedommortgage.com
Compare General Finance Companies