Preview Review

Next Review

Frigidaire Freezers Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Freezer Runs Continuously and Noisy!
By -

My husband and I purchased a Frigidaire freezer, Model No. FKFH21F7HW about 2 weeks ago. I was told in the store, when I asked if the freezer was on because it seemed to be running quietly. The salesman said, "Yes, and this is as loud as it will ever get." It was noisy from the start, and I called and complained. A serviceman came, checked it out, and said everything was fine. My husband, who has hearing loss said it didn't bother him at first, but now he says it is louder.

I am going to call the business where we purchased the freezer and return it, hoping that they will be willing to have the freezer returned without a hassle. Also, I just felt the sides of the freezer and they feel hot. I don't think that is normal. The way I feel at this moment, I will never purchase another Frigidaire appliance. Don't forget that the same company who manufactures Frigidaire also manufactures Electrolux, Tappan, Westinghouse, Kenmore, Affinity, Gibson (hate my Gibson dishwasher) and many others. Google who makes what.

I will do a follow-up with the return experience. I don't know how they will be when we return the freezer, so it's unfair at this time to even mention where we purchased the freezer.

Company Response 03/27/2009:

I am contacting you on behalf of Electrolux Major Appliances in relation to your posting on www.my3cents.com. I would like to apologize for the difficulty you have had with your appliance. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss this issue with you so that I can personally look into this matter. In order to do so, please send me your contact information, and the best time to contact you. I would also need your model and serial number and a file number if available, so that I can research this matter. Again I regret your disappointment with your appliance and look forward to resolving this issue with you.

Sincerely,
Chris Polk
Escalation Specialist
Electrolux Major Appliances
chris.polk@electrolux.com

Replies
Advertisement
Is Our New Freezer Defective?
By -

MADISONVILLE, KENTUCKY -- We bought our new freezer last Friday, it's a Frigidaire (Model # FFU21F5HW) and it doesn't seem to be freezing right. I've got the temperature set all the way down to 10, any higher and the panel says HI TEMP. But nothing is frozen solid. I've got a bag of rolls, a couple frozen snacks, a chicken carcass, frozen veggies, hot dogs, and some unsalted butter for baking. Nothing is as frozen as it should be. It's almost like it's partially frozen. The hotdogs we had in there, you could squeeze, the butter you can press down and dent, and the ice cream was soft.

Now this is a brand new 700.00 freezer. Is it because I don't have enough in the thing that it's not freezing right, or do we need to go return this thing? In two weeks I'm going up to Missouri with a buddy of mine to pick up a cow that we had slaughtered. The wife is going to make me sleep outside if this thing is broken and I tell her that it is fine.

Replies
Bad Performance, Service
By -

WEST PALM BEACH, FLORIDA -- We purchased a refrigerator freezer in August of 2003. In December 2007 it stopped working and all food had to be thrown away. An authorized service man came and charged $65.00 and only noted on his bill that it was a service call. He had me make the check out to his personal name not the company name. On 2/28/08 the refrigerator stopped again and food was discarded again. This time I am told there will be another $65.00 service charge as well as any repair charges. We are 77 and 87 years old and on social security. I think this is deplorable.

Replies
Frigidaire Complaint - Piece of Junk - 13.7 cu ft upright freezer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

AUGUSTA, GEORGIA -- Our Frigidaire upright freezer Model FFU14F5HWB was purchased November 2008. After three and a half years of residential use the service tech found that the evaporator and heat exchanger have failed. Electrolux offers no help stating the freezer is out of its one year warranty. Obviously there is a design flaw for this unit to fail after three and a half years. I will not purchase any more Frigidaire products.

Replies
Advertisement
Makes annoying high pitched ringing sound
By -

The compressor of this freezer makes an annoying high pitched ringing sound.

Replies
How hard can it be to produce a quality product?
By -

My upright, self-defrosting Frigidaire freezer (model # LFFU14F5HW) failed. Hundreds of dollars of expensive food lost. It didn't even last two years. What a waste of space in the landfill and my hard earned money. I wonder if there is a Japanese company that can at least make a quality freezer...

Replies
Frigidaire Upright Freezer Noisy
By -

This freezer runs a lot and is so loud it frightens the dogs and can be heard in the bedrooms. I will contact Lowe's to see if this is normal for this model freezer. Lowe's advises that the buyer has only seven days to return an appliance. My freezer was in the washroom for the first ten days (where I couldn't hear it running) before moving it into the kitchen. Next step is to call the Service Department. Wish me luck with that.

Replies
The Side By Side Freezer Door Is A Rusty Mess
By -

MOUNT VERNON, INDIANA -- Within 2 years of owning it, rust appeared under the front of the plate for the ice and water. I called and they would not stand behind it and replace the door. The rust is now about three inches by 8 inches. My neighbor bought the same product about 2 years ago and she just had a new door put on hers today. I warned her to keep an eye out for hers and to keep it under warranty.

Replies
Advertisement
Brand New Won't Work
By -

PALMYRA, NEW YORK -- I bought a brand new fridge on 12/22/06. After it was delivered and set up I loaded it with food. After 3 days I noticed it was not working. In the meantime I lost over $300.00 worth of food. Now no one is willing to do anything about it. It was over the holidays. I didn't think I would need to check a brand new appliance.

Replies
Beware of Frigidaire
By -

FRANKFORT, KENTUCKY -- I bought a new Frigidaire Commercial freezer at Lowe's in late August 2004. It lasted about 3 weeks before it stopped cooling and ruined some meat. Lowe's brought me a new freezer and swapped them out. The second one lasted until mid-December and it did the same thing. And ruined more meat. Lowe's swapped them out again. The third one lasted until the end of May 05 and did the same thing. I had it sent off for repair rather than get a fourth new one.

The repair company says they replaced the 'dryer'. I haven't been able to find out what a dryer is, and the person I called at the repair company didn't know either. Maybe its the same thing as an evaporator? Anyway, this was without a doubt the worst purchase I have ever made and I am still not confident that I have a reliable freezer. The problem is 100% Frigidaire's fault, but Lowe's would be well advised to stop selling these things to their customers.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Frigidaire Freezers Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.3 out of 5, based on 6 ratings and
32 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Frigidaire
Electrolux Home Products
P.O. Box 212378
Martinez, GA 30917
1-800-374-4432 (ph)
www.frigidaire.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies