Preview Review

Next Review

Frigidaire Refrigerators Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
If You No Longer Stock the Item, Don't Bill Me for It!
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

I ordered some replacement filters for the water dispenser in my refrigerator, and a wrench to go with them because the housing is impossible to get off by hand (and I didn't want to destroy it with a regular wrench). The shipping was fairly quick - within a week - and the ordering was OK though there was absolutely zero information about which filter my 'fridge uses (some Google searching later, I found it). I got an email with the billing information, items, the usual stuff. But when I got my package, two things were missing: a paper statement of the transaction (usually standard in online orders), and the wrench!

So I called customer service. After a couple of minutes trying to identify my order without a statement, and no order number in the email, the representative (who was lukewarm at best, but not rude) finally told me that they have not carried these wrenches in a good while. So I asked, why is it still on the website, and why was I charged for this item? No idea, of course. I'm not sure how much I will ever trust a company who charges for items they cannot give me. Now I'm waiting for a refund, which "will come in a couple days." I'll be keeping an eye for it, even if it was "just" $3.99.

Replies
Advertisement
Junk
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

PEABODY, MASSACHUSETTS -- Purchased this french door fridge in July 2011. November week before Thanksgiving was without a fridge for a week. Stockpile of food for the holiday's gone. Called company spoke to a rude lady got nowhere with that. Now February 2012 again service in my home 3 times in one week. Replaced circuit board, blower, another $2.00 part, 3 days later NOT working again. Lost all the food once again. So two weeks and still waiting.

We are a family of 5 and it is the worst thing to go through. Customer service stinks... Lowe's is giving us a new one (not the same brand) because Lowe's is standing behind us. A Big thank-you to Lowe's. Don't get me wrong it was a beautiful looking fridge but that's about it. I just want everyone to know that Frigidaire/Electrolux don't stand behind their products. Their motto is if it's repairable they will keep on fixing it no matter if it's new or not. Buyer Beware!!!

Replies
Horrifying
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

KEMAH, TEXAS -- Last night I was standing in my kitchen making dinner preparations. My back was to the Frigidaire side by side refrigerator model FFHS2622MB3. I heard a strange sound and said out loud what is that noise? Then I smelled a burning smell like an electrical fire. I thought someone was outside doing something associated with the noise and smell. The refrigerator is by the back door and when I reached to open the back door I saw smoke boiling out the back of the refrigerator! I called for help, unplugged the appliance, and put the fire out by blowing on it.

My husband then saw water dripping on electrical components in the back of the refrigerator. The water line is not connected since my cabinets were recently replaced and the refrigerator is new I have not had time to drill the holes to run the water lines. When I called Frigidaire they told me the product was manufactured Jan. 15, 2013, today is Jan. 20, 2014 and the product is no longer under warranty so they did nothing. I am just thankful that I was standing next to the appliance when it caught fire and not sound asleep with a house full of people! No help from Frigidaire!

I had a technician come to my home. He found a faulty relay capacitor and replaced it. The technician said this model was originally built with this obsolete relay capacitor (Frigidaire was aware of this) and after many problems started building the units with the updated version of this relay. I spoke to Frigidaire concerning this matter and all they had to say was sorry for the inconvenience. They re-checked their records and found no evidence of the faulty obsolete relay capacitor. This is seriously dangerous and I would warn anyone who owns one of these units to make certain they have the correct relay installed in their refrigerator!

Replies
Faulty Product, No Customer Care
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

MISSISSAUGA -- We are very disappointed with how our situation was dealt with. We had purchased the Frigidaire professional line (fridge, stove and dishwasher). Spending a little more for the better line we were made to feel we were buying quality.

Our fridge shelves that weren't lined with the rubber cracked within the first 6 months and subsequently completely broke within a year. Then last month just prior to our thanksgiving (Canadian) our fridge completely stopped working. We ended up losing over $250 dollars' worth of food! Then the kicker was that no one could see us for 1 WEEK! We had to go out and purchase a small fridge to get us by for the next week $150. When the service man came to fix the problem it ended up being a loose wire behind a panel in the freezer. We were also informed that this made the fridge work hard for the last few years... translation raising our energy costs. This cost us $100.

When we went to notify customer service of our experience they could not of cared less. It was just a rude "nothing we can do... it's off warranty". This makes us wonder why even have this service. When my husband asked to speak to someone else she replied "no one will speak to you about this matter". Wow! We called head office to let them know of how their customers are being handled and no one has even bothered to call us back. Both my husband and I are in marketing and advertising and know what just one dissatisfied customer can mean to a company.

Obviously this is a company that is willing to take that gamble. In the future I will better research how companies take care of their customers, with social media being such a part of our every day you think a company would take an opportunity to make a customer happy. Instead we will certainly let our circle of 300+ people to stay away from this line. Definite fail on your part Frigidaire. Could have just apologized or sent us a little product like a shelf with liner and kept a customer that spent $6000 on your products happy.

Replies
Advertisement
Beware - Frigidaire Gallery Refrigerator
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

Purchased this fridge on March 15, 2012... took delivery a week or two later. It is a beautiful fridge which does not leave fingerprints on the front except on the handles. The counter depth is nice. However, the fridge stopped cooling properly on September 5th, not quite to the 6 months mark. The thermostat and possibly the compressor both failed. Fortunately, still under warranty. Unfortunately, Frigidaire does not contract with the larger easier to get appointments and faster repair companies. I live in a large metro area and had 4 choices. Two of which are several counties away from me.

So now 11 days after the repairman was finally able to come to diagnose, they are waiting on parts and I am now 13 days into no fridge and taking my family out for all meals. First visit they diagnosed a problem with the fan and thermostat? Took them 7 days to get those parts! They arrived to install them, then realized there is also an issue with the door closing sensor. Now waiting on parts to fix that. I also bought the matching dishwasher, hopefully not the same issues?

I would recommend you purchase an extended warranty, which I will, but through a third party sufficiently able to provide proper service in your area. Most annoyed that my Kenmore/Whirlpool fridge this replaced never once had an issue in the 11 years I used it. It was just no longer a good fit in the remodeled kitchen. Also, funniest thing... when I tried to put this same review on the Frigidaire website, it sent me a link by email to click to confirm my review for posting, only the link is invalid. Too funny! You got to wonder if I tried again and this time rated it 5 stars instead of 1, if it would magically work.

Replies
Frigidaire Refrigerator
By -

I purchased a Frigidaire refrigerator in 2007. Two weeks after having the item delivered we started having problems with water leaking from under the refrigerator. We called the store where we purchased the frig, to put in a trouble call. To get a repair person to my home to fix the fridge was very difficult. They made me wait about 2 weeks. Also trying to get in touch with the repairman was even worst. Well finally one came up and attempted to fix the problem, only thing is that about a few months later the same problem happened again. The same repairman came back after a lengthy wait for service and claimed to have fixed the problem, well not so.

After a few months had passed the same problem occurred again. After another lengthy wait for service a different repairman came over to fix the same problem. This person found that the other repairman really had not addressed the problem correctly. He however finally corrected the problem with the water leaking from under my fridge. He showed me the area of concern and apparently corrected the issue. It took three service calls and two different repairmen to fix this one problem.

About two weeks ago my fridge went bad again. We put in a call for service and again had to wait. This time a different repairman handled the call. The fridge and freezer did not get cold. Well he located the problem but told us he had to order the part from the mainland and it would take about 5 days. Well, it has been more than 5 days and it seems other parts of the frig is now giving trouble. The clincher is this, the part that was ordered can be purchased here locally but the company has directed its repairmen to stop purchasing locally because of the cost, this part is about $75.

In the meantime my food has gone bad, and I have been without a refrigerator since our first service call was placed. This morning water was leaking from the ice maker and was all over my floor. Put in a call to the repairman we are dealing with and are waiting for a callback and status of the ordered part. Does the makers of Frigidaire appliances not stand behind their product? What has happened to customer service? I will never purchase another product from the Frigidaire company. Their product sucks and what's worst they don't stand behind their merchandise.

Replies
Never, Ever Buy a Frigidaire Product!
By -

If I had only known that Frigidaire does not care about their customers, I would have never bought one of their inferior products. My journey began when I bought a refrigerator from BrandSmart in August. From the moment I bought it, there was a loud humming noise that continued to get louder. A service technician came out in November and said that the compressor was bad and ordered a new one. After three weeks, he came back out to install the compressor.

Two days later, the refrigerator started defrosting my food and spoiled over $300 worth of food (Frigidaire's customer service people informed me that their contract stated that they would not replace spoiled food). The service technician came out and repaired the compressor problem the next day. Nine days later, the food was not freezing properly and the repairman was out again.

A month later, the repairman is back out to take care of clicking noise and food is defrosting again. The repairman put freon in and it again cooled. The next week, the food defrosted again. The repair company deemed it unrepairable and sent Frigidaire an invoice stating that needed to be replaced. When I called to find out where I stood, customer said that they didn't have the appropriate information from the repair company.

After numerous conversations with the repair company and after they faxed the information that was needed, I was told by the repair company to call customer service and they would rush approval through so that I could get a new refrigerator. When I called customer no-service, I was told that I would have to have a second opinion before they would consider replacing it. One repair service would not come on my side of town and the other one couldn't get here for a week!

As of today, I have been without a refrigerator for 4 days, and I have an idea that they will want to replace the compressor (again) once they finally get out here. I will never feel comfortable putting food in the refrigerator, even after the repair. Frigidaire's customer service is terrible and I, like others have noted, was given the run around constantly when trying to go above the customer service representative. I will never buy another Frigidaire. Bad customer service and cheaply made appliances are not worth the price that I paid. I hope that by posting this review that others will read it and think before purchasing these really, really bad appliances.

Replies
Frost Problems From The Beginning
By -

KATY, TEXAS -- I purchased a brand new Frigidaire side by side refrigerator for around $1000 at Lowes. When it got home it immediately started making a loud groaning sound. We ignored it to see if anything changed. Within a week our freezer started to freeze over where the ice maker connected to the door. The service man said the connection wasn't good and the flap needed to be replaced. They sent a new flap and a repair technician came out to install it. Then the problem came back, so I called the Electrolux company again to get it fixed.

The repair man came out again and said our door was the connection problem and needed to order a new one. When he came out the third time with a new door, I finally mentioned the groaning sound (since it was still happening); and the technician said it was the freon in the fridge and it was because we bought a cheap fridge that doesn't have good insulation. I'm sorry, but $1000 is not cheap.

But the frost came back and started to get even worse. The frost started to completely freeze over on the top and bottom of the ice maker, and blocked up the dispenser. No ice would come through, unless it was shredded to nearly nothing. When our door started having problems opening due to the insane amount of frost on it, I called again. The Electrolux company was rude and inconsiderate. They said their committee was still reviewing my complaint (months later) and even at the best would only be able to send me another refrigerator identical to this one; but at that time I wanted my money back and not a Frigidaire.

I went to Lowe's and explained the whole situation. They were nice and felt sorry for my situation and were instrumental in getting me any help to fix this problem. They refunded me for the full amount of the fridge and let me pick a new fridge out. My recommendation to Lowe's is to stop carrying this brand. If it wasn't for Lowe's and their understanding I would still be fighting with the Electrolux people. Long story short... stay away from this brand!!!

Replies
Advertisement
Frigidaire Professional Series Refrigerator and Freezer
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

We remodeled our kitchen and upgraded to stainless steel appliances. After research we settled on the Frigidaire Professional Series full size freezer with the full size refrigerator creating a stunning side by side look. The delivery date for both was February 18, 2013. The refrigerator stopped working the week prior to Easter, March 20, 2013... with all the Easter dinner food ready to go. It took several weeks with Frigidaire and Lowe's, through whom we purchased the appliance, to figure out what to do about it. A replacement refrigerator was delivered on April 5, 2013.

Then over the July 4th weekend the freezer went out. It was picked up by Lowe's on July 13, 2013 and a new one was delivered on July 29, 13. Yes, it took 25 days to get that problem resolved. NOW, while on vacation over the New Year Holiday, I returned to a smelly refrigerator that was not working. Today is February 3, 2014 and it has been a month. We have had two repairmen with differing opinions. In Frigidaire's initial report, they told us they would repair it, but it would stick out approximately 4 inches. People DO NOT purchase built in units to stick out 3 inches... there has to be a reason for this to happen so often.

Now Frigidaire is saying they will work with Lowe's to replace it... not sure if that is really as satisfactory response now that I have lost confidence in their product. Our luck is just not that bad. I have lost confidence in Frigidaire, but at this point, I really have no other option. I just wanted to get this out there so if more people are having the same issues we can get them to admit the recurring problem and FIX IT!!! I would love for one of their executives to go without a refrigerator for a month at a time.

We are currently using my daughter's small dorm room refrigerator for milk, eggs, and a few other items. Please let me know if you are having any similar problems: The first time the refrigerator went out it was freezer at the bottom and warm at the top. The freezer just stopped working as did the refrigerator the second time.

Replies
Noisy Refrigerator
By -

I have exactly the same problem. My Frigidaire refrigerator is so noisy that I have to turn the TV up to hear it when the fridge is running, which is often. I hear it in every room of the house and my nerves are shot. I can't relax in the kitchen where I like to sit and drink my coffee or eat meals. I called the Frigidaire dealer to have it checked it and was told it was normal and working properly. I have never had a fridge that was this noisy. It has been the same loudness since the day I got it. I've put up with at it a long time and it is driving me crazy.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Frigidaire Refrigerators Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 36 ratings and
69 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Frigidaire
Electrolux Home Products
P.O. Box 212378
Martinez, GA 30917
1-800-374-4432 (ph)
www.frigidaire.com
Product/Services
Compare Appliance Companies