Preview Review

Next Review

Gateway Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Slow Repair Service; Poor Attitude Service Attitude
By -

ARLINGTON, VIRGINIA -- OK, so this doesn't compare to some of the horror stories I've been reading, but I find it annoying, frustrating, and unpleasant. Purchased new from Office Depot on Nov 17 2007 for Christmas present. Didn't open the box until Jan 10th 2008 only to discover that it didn't work. After 2 phone calls it was diagnosed as a problem with the motherboard. We'd have to send it back. (Note to self: open them up right away and test them before OD's 15 day return period ends).

First disappointment - I purchased a new computer and wanted a new replacement, not repaired one (maybe I expect too much?). They sent a box (with really minimal packing) and picked it up. It arrived at their warehouse 1/16/08. Didn't hear from them. Finally called on 1/28/08. They were going to 'expedite' our issue and we were told to call back in 24-48 hours.

Second disappointment - why can't they assume some responsibility for tracking repairs of faulty products? Call on 1/28/08. Apparently there is a back order on motherboards (not a good sign. Must have been quite a batch of faulty motherboards). But they should have a new shipment by 2/1/08 with possible repair and shipping by 2/4/08.

Called on 2/4/08. Looks like they might have motherboards in? They'll expedite my case (didn't we do that once already?) and see if they can get it done and shipped so I can have my computer back. I was instructed again to call back in 24-48 hours. When I started pushing back, the 'support' (and I use the term loosely) guy got a little defiant. I wanted some extension of my warranty, given that my new computer now comes with an 11 month warranty. I was offered an extended warranty, if I wanted to purchase it, that is.

When I asked for them to call me, that also wasn't possible (I blanked out on the response. Blah blah. Warehouse. Communication. Blah blah). When I asked to speak with someone with more authority, I was told that he was a corporate manager and the person overseeing him didn't have any more authority than he did. General message from them to me as a consumer? Sucks to be you!

Replies
Advertisement
Product and Customer Service
By -

PURCELLVILLE, VIRGINIA -- Purchased a 42 inch flat screen plasma TV from Gateway. Six months later the TV began making a high pitch whistle sound when it was turned on a continued until it was turned off. It took forever trying to get a Gateway rep. to listen to what was going on. Finally after a couple of days with continued calls to them, they agree to replace the TV. What we didn't realize at the time was that they replaced it with a refurbished model. Several months later, this TV stopped working all together. Called customer service to report such which took forever to get through to the right person.

Once I was finally able to speak to someone, I was informed that the warranty on the TV had expired and there was nothing they could do, but if I wanted to a rep. to come to my house, then I could pay $1200 for them to come and check the TV out. After complaining this was not right since the TV they replaced was not even a yr old, then they should have to replace it again.

I was told by the supervisor, "Sorry about your luck. But, there's nothing we can do for you now." We did agree to pay the $1200 and when the tech arrived and found out what the problem was, he reported they no longer make the item which was needed for the TV. I even took the TV to a repair shop afterwards and was informed by the tech that he sees this all the time from GATEWAY products and that they actually do not make the item needed for this TV.

This company is pretty sad. They have no problem taking your hard-earned money for the product and warranty, but when you need their help, you get nothing. I have since informed anyone who is thinking of purchasing any type of GATEWAY product, not to do so because their products are worthless and GATEWAY does not stand behind their products. SAD, SAD, COMPANY.

Replies
High-end Computer Junk
By -

I purchased a high-end Gateway at the end of January. The first hint of trouble was a 30-day delay in getting the system despite customer service stating that it was "almost ready". If it had ended there, I would have been a happy camper. Unfortunately, the computer has never worked since it arrived. When I enabled the Crossfire cards, the machine crashed and, after working with Gateway Support, had to be rebuilt. The tech support rep advised me to not enable CrossFire (why would you buy a machine with high-end graphics cards that can't be used???).

Over the past few months, I've had to rebuild the machine 6 times. I've tried updated drivers, different combinations of drivers, and different installation sequences but they the end result is the same - a quad-core machine that is slower, less stable and has worse graphics than my 5-year old computer.

I've been working with computers as a hobby and professionally for more than 20 years. I LOVE computers and technology and am generally very good at troubleshooting. However, I'm at my wits end. Despite multiple calls to Gateway, ATI (the video card maker), and complaints to the consumer protection agencies of three states, I can't get Gateway to refund my money or replace the video card (since it seems to be at the center of the problem).

My latest attempt has absolutely nothing on a clean install (number 6) except for Norton Internet Security and the game I'm using as a test program. The video is still horrible, performance is poor, and the machine crashes multiple times per day (even when idle - sleep is disabled). The machine is so bad that I can't use it because I have no confidence that it won't crash and I'll lose what I'm doing and the performance is poor. It just sits under my desk while I use my old machine to write complaint letters. Not exactly a good use of money. This was my third - and last - Gateway machine.

Replies
Gateway Sends Wrong Part but Won't Refund $
By -

NEW JERSEY -- About 1 & 1/2 months ago I e-mailed Gateway tech. support to order a video card for my computer. I gave them serial #'s, part #'s, customer #'s, but I still ended up with a part that was incompatible with my system. (There has been nothing done to my system to change it - and everything originally came from Gateway on the same order). I finally got around to taking my processor to my computer shop for them to install the card and was told that the card was the wrong speed and also my monitor plug would not fit into it.

When I called Gateway this morning I was transferred back and forth from tech support to customer service. Although everyone freely admits they sent me the wrong thing, they would not refund my money and insisted I purchase something in exchange. The problem was, they no longer make that v card. They wanted me to get a different card about the same price as the wrong one and then also buy a new cord so it would work.

After buying this new cord they informed me that I would have worse resolution on by monitor (because of the new cord). Of course I said no. Then they said there was another card that would work . But it was a lot more expensive. After 75 minutes on the phone the manager told me he was doing me a favor by offering me these 2 options and that they were the only two options I had.

TO SUM UP - They sent me a completely wrong item. -- Because I did not return it within 15 days, they would NOT refund my money - They insisted I exchange it for the correct part HOWEVER they no longer stock the correct part (even though it is their brand computer) and insisted I buy a more expensive combination of products that would give me a worse picture on my monitor or a significantly more expensive part.

I chose NONE OF THE ABOVE and told the manager, RYAN, that Gateway would not get another penny of my money. I had originally paid 50+ dollars for the wrong part. To get something from Gateway that would work I would have had to spend a lot more than that. I went back to my local computer shop and he got me the exactly correct part for $39.95. Money well spent.

Replies
Advertisement
Gateway Will Never Get My Business Again
By -

Two weeks after purchasing my Gateway computer, my husband wanted to copy some photos to a disk. It was then we discover the door for the CD etc. would not open. We tried to exchange it a few days later, but found the dealer obviously did not have faith in the product. They gave us 16 days to do returns. We were at 18. They said take it up with Gateway.

Gateway offered to trade it for a USED computer or repair it. One hour on the phone with a man who could not say the letter v therefore could not get my email address correct. I had a ship code to get the computer sent to Texas for repair. Went to shipping place. They did not accept the number. Need a different one they said. Another hour on the phone with a phonetically challenged man, instructed to drive 30 minuets to a facility that would ship, using this number and a new one.

Got the computer back a week and a half later. The quick turn around was impressive until I tried to put a disk in to check the repair. Would not open still. No repairs had been made. Forty five minutes on the phone with someone who could not tell me why computer had not been fixed. They said, "Ship it back and we will see if we can fix it this time." Livid is not even enough to express my disgust and frustration with Gateway.

Replies
Gateway Is Consistent Over the Years!!!
By -

It is so good to see that Gateway is so consistently bad. I purchased my PC in the year 2000. That was the worst experience ever. We purchased it because Gateway had a store in State College PA. What a mistake!!! They didn't know what they were doing and shortly after buying they closed the store. Customer Service was Terrible. There were times I was on the phone for hours trying to get help. Most of the time I was talking with people I couldn't understand because of language barriers. At least I got to travel the world over and never leave my home!!! I just needed someone who could speak ENGLISH!!!

Finally after a lot of frustration I turned to a friend that knows a lot about computers. He completely rebuilt my computer. The only thing that is Gateway is the shell and the monitor. It has been wonderful since. I am ready to get a new computer and was even considering another Gateway figuring they probably fixed all their problems!!! I must have lost my mind!!! BOY AM I glad I found this web site. Thanks to all you folks - I certainly will never never never consider Gateway again. 10+ Years is a long time to have such a consistently bad record.

Replies
Gateway LX6810 Shut Downs
By -

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA -- I bought my Gateway LX6810 in 2009. After three months, it started to turn off every 30 minutes. I took it to Best Buy. Best Buy sent it out for "repair." When it arrived, I had the same problem. Gateway told me to send it to them at my expense. I took it to a computer repair place and the computer worked okay. Four months later, and it's shutting down once again. I contacted Gateway - they told me it was shutting down because I had Windows 7 installed!! And gave me a link!

My question is this.. why can't we start a class action suit against them. Search Gateway LX6810, you will find loads of customers with the exact complaint. Gateway must know this and yet they ignore their customers. I will never buy a computer from Gateway again. I will never shop for a computer at Best Buy.

Replies
Don't Buy Gateway
By -

IRVINE, CALIFORNIA -- Let me review my many instances of unhappiness with my Gateway product:

Within a few weeks of purchase my hard drive crashed and ultimately was replaced at Gateway service center. In attempts to rectify the problem before shipping it for service your tech support person failed to send me the "systems cd" in addition to the "recovery cd." This mistake was acknowledged by your tech support person and delayed the ultimate repair of my computer by another week. I had to pay $35 to ship my computer to your service center. I estimate that I was without use of the computer for at least 3 weeks.

In my encounters with your tech support personnel, I found their accents to be so thick it was difficult to understand them many times. And I work in New York City with people from all over the world where I don't have a problem understanding accents.

Finally, even though I sent a scanned promotional statement from Gateway stating that I was eligible for a free upgrade to Windows 7, they later said I was not eligible. Follow-up emails to Gateway customer service and a company executive were not answered.

Replies
Advertisement
Does Anyone Have the Direct Contact Number for the Gateway Repair?
By -

TEMPLE, TEXAS -- GATEWAY has a repair center in TEMPLE, TX. There is also a contact phone number to speak with someone, but the GATEWAY SUPPORT PEOPLE, will not provide it. I had it once, since it was listed on the outside FEDEX label showing the shipper information. And I have called it and spoke with a representative about the item being sent to me. I have since misplaced this number, and in no way, will GATEWAY give it out... they tell you "There is no number, you have to just send in the item for repair..." etc.

So, if someone has it, please post it and send to me as well. GATEWAY does not want people to call this number, but the service at GATEWAY support (not meant for words I can type) is awful.

Replies
Gateway Failed on Many Accounts to Repair a Computer
By -

7565 ERVINE CENTER DRIVE, CALIFORNIA -- The newly purchased E-Machine computer locked up and cannot be used and is less than 100 days old. In conversing with Gateway Support we were told it would cost us more than we paid for the computer in the first place or that we could pay for customer support which might or might not support the fix for the computer. They advertise l00% American technical support yet when contacted it was found their technical services are based in India and we cannot speak to someone, even a supervisor who speak enough English to understand the problem. What can someone do?

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Gateway Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.7 out of 5, based on 6 ratings and
87 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Gateway
4545 Towne Centre CT
San Diego, CA 92121-1900
858-799-3401 (ph)
858-799-3459 (fax)
www.gateway.com
Product/Services
Compare Computer Companies