Preview Review

Next Review

General Motors Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Hummer H3 2006 Lacks Child Safety Door Locks. Dangerous For Children
By -

In October of 2010 I purchased a used Hummer H3 with approx. 70k miles on it. I at the time of purchase had two young children both under the age of two so essentially I was looking to purchase a "family safe vehicle." For the four months that I have had the Hummer h3 I thought that it was a child safe vehicle because it was car seat approved with the anchors and it also had window locks. Unfortunately, three weeks ago I had to find out the hard way that the H3 is lacking such a simple feature that could save children's lives, the child safety door lock.

I was driving along and my 18-year old daughter was playing around with the window. I kept telling her to knock it off. I had the doors locked but the next thing I know she was able to open the door while I was driving and she almost fell out of a moving vehicle. I reported the incident right away to GMC corporate office and of course did not get a person in the United States. I was outsourced and was trying to talk about a severe safety issue that needs to be addressed with this vehicle. I finally was able to convince the representative to transfer me to a US representative.

When I waited 45mins for a US representative to come on the phone she was extremely rude and told me that there is NOTHING that they can do for me. That is not a good enough answer for me. Why did you leave out a common feature found in 99% of the cars on the road today AFTER 1999. When I bought the hummer especially it being a luxury vehicle I was expecting it to be equipped with a lot of safety features because of the nature of the SUV but I was wrong.

In the H3 because of its design a child sitting in a car seat (which you say is car seat approved to be in those seats) can not only reach the windows but can also open the door when in motion. The only thing that saved my daughter was the two leg straps to her car seat that was holding her in. When I was telling the US representative about this she just kept saying, "I am not sure why this year of the H3 did not have the child safety door locks. Ma'am there is nothing I can do for you. You can go to the hummer dealership and maybe have them installed but you will have to pay for it yourself."

Then she calls the hummer dealership herself and then comes back on the phone and says, "you are not allowed to install the child safety locks on this model of h3." Basically, I fear having my children in this vehicle because it is not SAFE when a 18-year old can open a car door while the vehicle is in motion there is a SEVERE problem!

IN 2006 HUMMER MANUFACTURED OVER 194,000 H3'S. Within 3 months after the hummer h3 was released there was over 100 complaints filed to hummer in regards to the child safety door locks. They still 5 years later have neglected to fix this problem and continue to make excuses on why this was never recalled. This is extremely dangerous for families with children due to the risk of a child falling out of a moving motor vehicle. In 2007 hummer added the child safety door locks to the h3. Why I ask did they not simply add it in the first place to the 2006 h3?

GMAC SmartLease is taking advantage of innocent people
By -

AUBURN HILLS, MICHIGAN -- December 4, 2009 “GMAC SmartLease is taking advantage of innocent people”. Much to my surprise I've recently discovered that GMAC SmartLease has changed the way they treat their lease customers. Someone ought to hire a lawyer; this may even qualify for class action status. I can hardly wait to reveal their indiscretions but first let me explain why I feel that I am qualified to discuss this issue.

“Someone ought to hire a lawyer; this may even qualify for Class Action status.” I have been involved in some capacity in the retail automobile business since 1964. I retired in 2007, so I can safely say that I have 43 years exposure to the car business. I have always been involved in the General Motors business. I have been a Salesperson, a Sales Manager, a Finance Manager, a General Sales Manager, a General Manager, and a Dealer/Owner. I feel that I have some idea of what I am talking about.

Now the story... Since the 70's I have arranged retail leases using GMAC as the leasing company. I have even leased several for my personal use. In each of my personal leases I have sold or traded my vehicle prior to the end of the lease. It was simple. I would call GMAC SmartLease and they would tell me the payoff. If the vehicle was worth more than I owed, I would sell it to a dealership (often my own) and they would pay me for my equity. Suddenly GMAC SmartLease has changed their program. What has changed is how GMAC SmartLease has decided to interpret the early termination language of their contract.

“If it was worth more than I owed, I would sell it to a dealer and they would pay me for my equity.” Currently I am leasing a 2007 GMC Acadia. There are only a few payments remaining and the lease will be complete. When I called GMAC SmartLease to inquire as to the payoff, they gave me a figure that appears to be correct. (Residual value plus remaining unpaid payments less unearned interest.) The new change that GMAC SmartLease has incorporated into their business plan is that if anyone other than me were to pay this lease off, GMAC SmartLease wants them to pay approximately $5000.00 more than my payoff.

This means that if I were to drive into a GM dealership (or any dealership GM or Non-GM) and work out a new lease or purchase. Using my Acadia as a trade in, there would be a $5000 penalty assessed against me for me trading early.

I consider myself lucky because I understand that this is really a GRAB on the part of GMAC SmartLease. I am able to protect myself in this situation but I wonder how many unsuspecting people have allowed this sort of thing happen to them. I bet that during the past several months or years there have been hundreds if not thousands of GMAC SmartLease customers who have been taken advantage of. This can not be a good thing.

“There would be a $5000 penalty for trading early.” I wonder if GMAC SmartLease realizes that they are compromising future business. Why would anyone want to ever do business with a company that evokes arbitrary practices designed to take advantage of the public. I like GM vehicles; I did have Cadillac at the top of my list of new cars to consider. However, now I wonder if I can ever force myself to drive a GM vehicle again.

Is this a good long term business practice? Will GM survive with their financial arm attempting to take unfair advantage of customers? A very smart man who coached and trained me in the early years of my career taught me the following: Is it the TRUTH?; Is it FAIR to all concerned?; Will it build GOODWILL and BETTER FRIENDSHIPS?; Will it be BENEFICIAL to all concerned? I think not. If you want to know more about this issue feel free to call or e-mail, my contact information is: **.

GM truck sunroof leak/Dealer performance.
By -

I just wanted to post this where it will get some exposure. I have had an ongoing issue with GM and GSL Chev City in Calgary Alberta Canada regarding my leaky sunroof. 2007.5 Chevy Silverado Crew Cab. Many owners out there are having problems getting their trucks fixed, including me and I'd like to share my story. I'm hoping that GM will pick up and run with this once they see that there are enough concerned customers out there. Here is a letter that I recently wrote to GM regarding the poor performance that I have experienced.

Recently I purchased a 2007 Chevrolet Silverado Crew Cab used in a private sale. Unfortunately, I have been having ongoing problems with the truck regarding water leaking into the cab of the truck during rainstorms. I purchased the truck in December 2008 and initially did not have any problems as the temperature was most often below freezing. As summer arrived, so did the rain and almost every time it rained I noticed that the headliner, seatbelts, and carpet in the truck would get wet. I was due to have the oil changed in the truck and also intended to have washer fluid heater repaired due to a GM recall.

11/05/2009 I brought my truck to GSL Chev City in Calgary as it is very close to my home. The recalled washer fluid heater was repaired without issue. I asked GSL to investigate a squeaky driver's side front window. The technician noted a TSB regarding lubrication of window hardware and billed me ½ hr. labour $62.50. I also asked to investigate a slight delay in the washer fluid when pumped. The technician tested the washer fluid pump and deemed it to be working properly. I was billed ½ hr labour $62.50. I also asked GSL to identify and repair a leak that caused the headliner, seatbelts and carpet to get wet after rain.

The intake employee ** told me that these leaks often occur when owners use touchless car washes as the high pressure spray overwhelmed the sunroof seal and sunroof drains. I told the ** that I do not, and have never, used a touchless car wash and that a light rain would cause the truck to leak. The technician tested the water tightness of the truck with a rain tower and came to the conclusion that everything was working properly. I was billed 1 hr labour $125.00.

When I heard of these charges I contacted the service manager ** and told him how upset I was regarding them. I told him that they were outrageous and he agreed with me. All of the charges in question were reduced to zero other than a ½ hr. diagnostic charge for the sunroof leak $62.50. When I went to pick up the truck I noticed on the work order “Suspect touchless car wash was used and water overflowed front sunroof tracks (normal). No sign of leak at this time”. This, after I specifically told the GSL employee ** that I did not use those car washes. I was insulted. I paid the bill and hoped that there were no more leaks.

08/07/2009 The truck continued to leak so I took it back to GSL service. The technicians again tested the sunroof with rain towers and told me that there was no leak therefore there was nothing to be fixed. Fortunately, there was no charge. Once again on the work order/invoice it was written “leak not present at this time. Suspect customer is using high pressure car wash and over coming sunroof drain's ability and causing water to flow through headliner and into B pillar trim”.

This comment even after I specifically told GSL on two occasions that I did not use touchless car washes. During a follow up conversation with ** I was asked if I was sure I was closing the sunroof properly as that may be a possible cause of the leak. I was insulted once again. The truck continued to leak.

16/07/2009 I took the truck back to GSL service and asked them to drop the headliner as that would surely enable the technicians to identify the leak. ** and I agreed that I would pay an additional 1 hour labour ($125) for the R&R of the headliner. I traveled to the shop to see the situation myself. When I arrived the technician had the truck sitting under rain towers waiting for the sunroof to leak with the headliner down. They told me that there was no leak and that everything was operating as designed.

I looked around a bit and noticed a hole in the driver's side drain channel and that the drain hoses ran uphill. The hole in the drain channel was dripping and the reverse grade on the drain tubing caused the drain channel to overflow as water rarely flows uphill. I asked them to drive a screw into the hole in the channel, as was done on the passenger side, and to try to correct the grade of the drain tubing that flowed uphill. They put the truck back together.

I was called by ** and told that the cost that we agreed on had now gone up. At this point I was once again disappointed and called Robert ** (the owner of GSL) and told him my concerns. He called back shortly after and told me that the charges would be as we agreed on totaling 1 hour labour $125.00. Thank you Mr. **.

They put the truck back together. When I picked up the truck I noticed that on the work order/invoice, highlighted in pink was a note “No more work orders are to be opened on this vehicle without service management approval and a clear understanding of responsibility for charges RWK”. I understood this as asking me not to return. Being quite displeased with GSL at this point I didn't think that would be a problem. The truck continued to leak.

25/08/2009 I called and talked to Service manager at GSL and expressed my concerns. I asked if they would like to try again to fix the truck he said “no, he would rather not.” 25/08/2009 I called and talked to ** at GM customer Service and let her know that I was intending to take the truck to Jack Carter Chevrolet in an attempt to have the problem fixed.

25/08/2009 When I was blessed with a free moment I decided to have a look at the truck myself. I dropped the rear corners of the headliner and adjusted the drain hoses, and repaired the problem. (Unfortunately the GSL technician had not done this as I had asked when in the shop). I lowered both hoses to just above airbag so that water didn't have to flow uphill. I also noticed that the passenger side drain hose did not have the retainer clip to attach it to the body and keep it from moving around. These repairs took me, a plumber, about an hour. I then tested the drainage system with a running hose in drain pan for approx an hour. There were NO LEAKS.

26/08/2009 Looking for more information regarding my issues, I went to another of the Chevrolet dealers in Calgary and inquired into TSB 09-08-57-002. When I read this TSB I was surprised to see that the EXACT symptoms were listed in this document. Even more surprising was that the same procedure that I used to correct the problem was also described in “Condition 2” of the TSB document.

This was so surprising because, during my time at the GSL shop to view the truck with the headliner down, I specifically mentioned that this was a likely cause of the leak and asked for it to be corrected. Water does not have a tendency to flow uphill. At this point I wish to express my concerns to everyone important to the situation. I feel as though I have been put through the wringer over this and pointing out these problems may help me and any future customers with similar problems.

Firstly, I'd like to comment on the fact that I have been able to identify hundreds of documented issues relating to these trucks and sunroof leaks. I was also able to bring to the attention to all I spoke, the TSB and PIT documents related to the sunroof issue. I know that GM has had to deal with this in the past, yet when it comes to my truck they had absolutely no idea. When I asked GM or GSL employees about an ongoing issue with the sunroofs leaking, I was told that there were no issues.

Secondly, why is it that your top notch mechanics working at a GM dealership spent hours and hours (supposedly) trying to identify and rectify this problem and I, a plumber with no formal mechanics training, fixed it in about an hour?

Thirdly, I would like to know why your service department, after being told that the sunroof leaks in a light rain always come back with “we can't make it leak” therefore it does not leak. Why, after being told that I NEVER use touchless car washes on two occasions, GSL tells me that the likely cause of my leak is a touchless car wash? How insulting. Not to mention questioning my ability to properly operate the sunroof controls. Good Lord!

Fourthly, I must comment on the aggressive billing that I encountered on my first visit to GSL. Charging me ½ hour labour to view a TSB regarding a window squeak, or charging me ½ hour labour to have the technician sit in the truck and run the washer fluid for 10 seconds is a DISGRACE. How many people would have paid that? It almost seems criminal. I have to admit, part of the reason I have been so tenacious with GSL is because of this aggressive billing fiasco.

Lastly, I would like to be refunded the monies that I have paid to have less than nothing done to my truck relating to my sunroof leaking. So far I have been billed $187.50 to have my sunroof issue fixed or even diagnosed. For that expense, I have not had my truck fixed, I have not had the problem diagnosed, I have been insulted, and have had to take it upon myself to fix the issue.

I find it a shame that I am not welcome to bring my vehicle to GSL anymore. It would be very convenient to have my service performed there but seeing how things have transpired, even if I was welcomed at GSL's service department, I wouldn't bring my vehicle there. I hope that this will all be a lesson to everyone involved. Perhaps my truck won't rust out and fill with mold due to the constant wet in the truck after all. Perhaps GSL and General Motors will learn something about providing a better customer experience.

I look forward to hearing your comments regarding this matter and to my refund as well. Thank you for your time. One dissatisfied customer.

Dealer does GM directed repair - accomplishes nothing for $828.51
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- I purchased this vehicle used from a Ford dealership on May 10th w/ 91,714 miles. We took our trip to Florida on May 30th. After refueling in Georgia with about 200 miles left to our destination the "ENGINE OIL LOW - ADD OIL" warning came on. When we got to Lakeland I had the vehicle repaired at a Chevrolet dealership at a cost of $828.51. This was 1,304 miles after our purchase.

On June 19, the "ENGINE OIL LOW - ADD OIL" warning came on again. This is 1,183 miles after the repair was done. Upon contacting the repairing dealer I was told they performed a service according to a GM service bulletin. The fact that it did not fix the problem was unfortunate but that was just tough. I am now told by my local Chevrolet dealer I must now spend $2,500.00 + to replace pistons and rings. AND THERE WILL BE NO GUARANTEE EVEN THAT WILL FIX THE PROBLEM.

Can a dealer not properly diagnose a problem and effect an effective repair? This robotic process of complaint=a list of repairs to do. All at the customers expense until you stumble upon the right fix. What about a "certified" mechanic actually using his expertise in determining which of the many fixes is the correct one without blindly executing a sequence of fixes hoping for the best. I really feel I have been robbed of $800 and have accomplished nothing.

GM's response: They called me and advised me the problem was being escalated to a Customer Relationship Specialist who would contact me the next day. I did receive the call which was essentially non-productive. GM was NOT going to provide any consideration. After which I sent the second email.

Second email to GM: Well, your escalation call was received by me on 6/26 at 4:00 PM CDT. I must say I was not impressed at all with this persons knowledge of the situation. I know this problem is, as has been, known by GM for several years. This CRS (Customer Relationship Specialist) feigned ignorance that any such widespread problem existed. She did not appear to even be aware of my original email. Or at least was asking questions that she should have already had knowledge of if she had actually looked into what had transpired.

She sounded as if she were simply parroting a prepared, generic script designed to provide a non-specific denial of any assistance from GM. I asked for an email outlining our conversation but she refused citing "GM policy" does not allow putting anything in writing. That alone, from my point of view, destroyed GM's integrity.

I really don't blame the dealer so much as I blame GM. The dealer simply followed what you (GM) dictated they must do without regard to whether or not it would fix the problem. So, as a result I have been robbed of $800 by a dealer with GM as the co-conspirator. I will NEVER trust another GM service center as they are obviously staffed by parts changers directed by GM. There are no true mechanics. Now, lean over to the person at the next desk, give him/her a "high five" and congratulate yourself on sidestepping a factory defect and screwing yet one more customer! No response was received.

2011 Chevrolet Equinox Junk Won't Accelerate. Been in Shop 4 Times, Won't Go Faster Than 17 Mph. GM Says Not a Safety Issue?
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- We bought a new 2011 Chevrolet equinox has now 25000 miles on it. It worked fine until few months ago when around 20000 miles on it started by trying to stall when driving down road and would attempt to die then take off down road. We took it back to dealer and they said it had code showed bad injector so replaced injector got back. One day later same thing took back to dealer and they said this time it had 2 codes and had bad fuel pump even stated pressures on work orders.

We got it back drove it about 250 miles then started acting up again but no light came on so drove it some more then light came on again. Took back to same dealer and they took it in shop 3rd time then said Gm was sending out a tech to reprogram and they instructed dealer how to reprogram it and replaced 2 relays on car. We got it back drove it for 3 days and it started doing same thing again. Almost died then picked back up. Started running again. Drove some more and it wouldn't accelerate past 17 MPH all way to floor. Had to drive 15 miles to get it home and thought it would overheat but didn't made a horrible noise and rattle in engine like it has before when acts up.

We took and called dealer they said not to drive it back. They would have it towed which they did, all the while dealer has treated us fine, gave us loaner car. They the dealer asked GM to do a trade assistance as they couldn't figure it out and thought lemon law would apply as last time it was at there shop for 5 weeks and 4th attempt to repair while GM was supposed to be looking it over.

We were told by dealer he was having trouble even getting GM representative to call them back. The owner of dealership told us to contact Better Business Bureau to force Gm to buy it back or something through lemon law. We have never had any problems with any GM product before and have never complained or talked to Better Business Bureau but we did finally contacted them as car is still acting up. I realize sometimes things just aren't made right or maybe it has a short in wiring or bad computer or who knows what.

My issue is the way we have been handled by GM customer service. So unprofessional and was told that GM says there is nothing wrong with car that will decrease its durability or/and it has no safety issues in regard to the car. How can a car that won't drive faster than 17Mph not pose a safety risk to occupants. We were almost hit twice driving it when couldn't accelerate.

We have 5 GM vehicles. Guess time to purchase other products if they don't / won't stand behind their product. We get no trade assistance and told the car has no issues by GM customer service. With customer service like we have received no wonder GM needs a tax payer bailout.

General Motors reaches new low in national customer service
By -

DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- I live in Hilo, Hawaii. The Chevrolet dealership closed on the Big Island about a year ago leaving no factory warranty service in the interim until another service company could be found by GM. In that interim, my Chevy truck at 50699 miles experienced a check engine light. Taking it to a reliable neighborhood mechanic, he found several engine codes and recommended a general tune-up, which I did. It included new spark plugs. Within a hundred miles, the light came on again. This time the code was isolated to P0305, which denoted a misfire problem in the fifth engine cylinder.

The mechanic switched the spark coil pack with one of the other cylinders and cleared the code for a cost of $109.38. That didn't solve it and so I took it back for another look at the same code. The fifth cylinder plug was replaced and a compression test was run with the result of 160 pounds pressure. We also added injector cleaner and tested all the vacuum lines for an additional cost of $177.50. This did not solve the problem and the neighborhood mechanic thought that the next step would probably be pulling the intake manifold to check the injector seals. This of course was going to be quite expensive.

At this point, I felt we had done all the normal and customary service items. However, I felt it was better at this point to go to a larger mechanic shop for a second opinion. The mechanic there said he had heard that there was some kind of valve seating problem with the five cylinder truck engines, but that the fix was bigger than they could handle since it involves a new head and valves. I next by happenstance found one of the best Chevrolet mechanics (now unemployed since the Chevrolet dealership was closed).

He was able to access GM's service website and learned that the condition I had was covered by GM Special Coverage 07123A with an extended warranty issued about two or three years earlier. Even though my truck had been bought and serviced at the Chevrolet dealership, I was never informed of the problem or extended coverage. Evidently the 2004-6 Colorado and Canyon trucks had heads with poor quality valve seats which would prematurely wear out. The ex-mechanic, who knew the West Coast district service rep, made a call in my behalf as to what should be done.

He was advised that GM had just set up an authorized service dealer and to take the truck to them. He provided me the name of the dealer service manager and instructed me to use the West Coast District manager's name. The service was warranted and the work eventually accomplished even though it took two months (even with calls every couple of days with a promise always in a week or so). The dealership had all kinds of problems getting the new head from Chevrolet and even the proper tools for doing so. GM even wanted one of their own mechanics to fly to Hawaii to verify everything before letting the dealer proceed.

I at one point offered to FEDEX the tools and parts from the factory at my expense to speed up the repair. (The national Customer Service said it would be difficult to do so because they were no mechanics and had no idea how to even figure out what parts I was identifying for them in behalf of the dealer.) It was very difficult not to have a vehicle for two months, but the dealership said they had other GM vehicles that have been at their shop even longer than mine all waiting on Chevrolet to act.

Because of the unreasonable time the vehicle was in for warranty, I was in contact with the National Customer Service Center, where a case number was assigned **. Unlike the dealer who tried hard, the National Office is where all of my problems were because they did not try at all to help. At the point of six weeks with no vehicle, I inquired about a loaner vehicle. They gave me the story that since this was a national problem under the auspices of the U.S. Government's Transportation Department, they could not by law give a loaner car. (Of course I was incredulous at so ridiculous of a statement given me evidently in an effort to get rid of me.)

The agent on the next phone call then changed the story and said that they could not preauthorize a car, but that if I was to get one, I could try to submit it for reimbursement. I responded that I was not a gambling or rich man and that I needed to know in advance. They said that they would try to make a business case for such a loaner, but that it might take quite awhile to get back to me while they discussed it. I said that as long as you are working on a loaner car, I needed to submit my receipts for reimbursement for the diagnostics after the tune up that I did before they had a new dealer take on the warranty work. They said they would look into it. Not once did GM ever apologize for the two months my vehicle took for factory repairs.

Finally I did get a call saying that they would not allow a loaner car since I no longer had a bumper-to-bumper warranty (which was now another angle for them to deny a reasonable request). Also they denied any reimbursement of the diagnostics even though their service bulletin specifically said: "All customer requests for reimbursement for previous repairs for the special coverage condition will be handled by the Customer Assistance Center, not by dealers." When I read this statement to the agent, they said that they would only pay them if the entire repair had been done by a non-dealer mechanic, even though that mechanic had no access to warranty parts or bulletins from Chevrolet.

Ironically, it was GM's own District Service Manager who instructed me to take the truck to the new dealer. Even the dealer's paperwork noted: "Customer had diagnostics done earlier," which diagnostics they copied so as not to waste GM's time and expense in duplicating the same. GM therefore saved money on the repair, then denied me subsequent reimbursement for what they saved even though their special condition paperwork provided reimbursement. I was of course upset and asked to reschedule a conference call including the District Service Manager and the Customer Service Agent.

The agent called back in two days and said that the Dist. Serv. Mgr. didn't want to talk about it (evidently since he was the one who put me into the "Catch 22" situation to begin with). What was also comical was that the agent said she had thoroughly studied all the paperwork, policies, and dealer files to make her final decision of no reimbursement whatsoever. She then assured me that I would have the truck back soon.

I responded by asking how seriously had the agent really done her homework because: I have had my truck back for two weeks which the agent didn't know but would have known if she had really made any effort; I had not yet submitted any receipts, cost total, or claim form for reimbursement; and the agent seemed surprised when I read her own policy to her from the special condition paperwork from GM itself which apparently would not normally be in the customer's hands.

At this point I asked for a management-level supervisor to take over. I was categorically denied this and told by the agent that she and the Dist. Serv. Mgr. (the one who avoided the two conference calls) were the only two employees of GM who could make any decision in my regard and that the case was closed.

Incredibly this unilateral decision was made with the agent knowing that my company was one of the largest general contractors in the country and with a GM fleet. The agent (self-representing herself at the highest level of GM) willingly gave up the fleet business for the sake of saving about $280 (even after I had said that I could accept the condition of no loaner car). So buyer -- beware and take heed!

2010 Camaro Is a Lemon
By -

I bought a 2010 Chevy Camaro and the car Blows blue smoke when I start it up. I have called GM many times asking this car be replaced, since the dealers can not get problem fixed. I have repeatedly called and asked to speak to Ed Whitacre or Thomas Stephens the Vice Chair. No one will let me speak to them or anyone other than someone from the Customer Service department in the Philippines. I have had the car in the shop 4 times and have owned the car since Dec. 26th 2009, and it now has 800 miles on it.

There are many other problems with the car. I am just letting everyone know how the NEW GM STILL IS. This is after reading the San Antonio Business Journal from today's issue "Mr. Whitacre said: "they are on the road to recovery." I called GM again and was told a supervisor was going to call me back in 2 minutes. It has been several hours, and no one cares enough to take care of my lemon. I have asked to exchange my car for an identical car, with no help. I am asking that an executive from GM call me to get this matter taken care of in a professional manner.

I called last week Friday and spoke to a lady named **. She said she would document all the information and she transferred me to a different department. I was on hold (rather ignore) for 37 minutes then was told the guy could not transfer me and the supervisor would have to call me back, and would do so in 2 minutes. Well it has been 3 days and no return call. I can not believe the NEW GM would treat their customers like the OLD GM, but it is TRUE!!!!! I am so dissatisfied with MY CAMARO and the concern from General Motors.

I told the dealer I have 3 newer cars, a VW CC 2009, never smoked, a 2009 Mazda Miata that never smoked, and a 2008 350Z that never smoked, and had a 2006 Mini Cooper that never smoked, and the response was "well let's talk apples to apples and oranges to oranges. Those are imports and you have an American car". My response was, "are you telling me that an import is a better car?" They had no response.

This is a quote from the San Antonio Business Journal: Chairman and CEO Ed Whitacre says he admires Toyota and the success it has achieved. But he also says GM will seize the opportunity created by Toyota's recent stumbles to try to help expedite a comeback. GM emerged from bankruptcy last July "thanks in large part to a major federal bailout" as a newly structured company with Whitacre as its chairman. In December, GM also handed its CEO position to the Texas native. Two months later, Whitacre says a company that was on the brink of collapse is on the road to recovery. My story does not seem like it fits with the story published in this article.

2007 Acadia Stalling Without Warning - Mystery!! GM Can't Fix
By -

Beginning in August 2009 I started having problems with my 2007 Acadia. It turned off in the middle of the road while I was driving. I thought I was out of gas but had well over 1/2 tank. It cranked right back up and I continued to drive. Later that day it happened again while I was turning left. Luckily I had enough momentum to make my turn and get out of traffic, and it cranked right back up. This was a Sunday. I took it to the dealership the next day and they could not find anything wrong.

After a few weeks it happened yet again as I was making a left turn at a busy intersection. An 18-wheeler truck was headed for me as my car stalled and honked his horn as my life flashed before my eyes. I got it to crank and floored it to save my life... and luckily I did! I went STRAIGHT to the dealership and told them what happened... they AGAIN could not find anything wrong with it. By now I am hesitant to drive my Acadia and am constantly wondering when it will happen again... WELL, it does, again and again and again, and after more than 10 times at the service department, still no luck.

They installed a data recorder to try to pinpoint the problem. Well, after stalling in a drive through and trying to get it cranked back up after numerous attempts, the only data it recovered was a "stall", with no reason why, so there is no way to fix it. I had been talking with a GM representative and she tells me that she will look into GM buying the car back. Well, after talking with her this morning she says that since the matter is "unduplicated", GM cannot buy it back. Okay!

I am stranded with my car in the shop and have 2 kids to bus around... one is on the basketball team and have to "bus" around her gear and teammates, etc... and GM puts me in a "rental" car of theirs which is not comparable to my Acadia and I am supposed to be a "satisfied" customer? Come on GM! I am not the only owner of a 2007 Acadia with this SAME problem! Oh, and I know why GM cannot issue a recall... because they have no clue WHAT to recall!!! Are they not aware that this problem for ME is a serious liability to THEM??? The customer service representative said that it hasn't happened enough to buy it back. Oh my goodness!

How many times does it have to happen? It has stalled on me on the train tracks, twice turning left at traffic lights, once going down the interstate going 70 mph and numerous other times. To top it all off, it stalled with an employee at the local dealership and he had to have it towed. So the proof is there that the car stalls. Is GM going to wait until me and my children get seriously injured or DIE to buy it back? Well at that time it will be my family BUYING GM not them buying MY car back! Why can't they just get me out of it and put me in something reliable? Simple as that! Please help me!

Warranties are Worthless and Costly
By -

TUCSON, ARIZONA -- I own a 2008 Pontiac G8 with barely 10,000 miles on it. As we were driving we came across a puddle about 3-4 inches deep. Many other vehicles such as Toyotas and Hondas were ahead of us going through the apparent harmless 3 inch puddle. We followed these vehicles with the flow of traffic and then we stopped.

The 2008 Pontiac G8 that was purchased at Quebedeaux went dead. The car would not turn on or move. We had to push it to a nearby parking lot where we contacted Quebedeaux. Through the factory's warranty and the expensive extensive bumper to bumper warranty that we purchased we figured the defect would be covered. Quebedeaux towed the vehicle to their dealership. The following day we received a call stating that there was water in the engine as well as in the air intake system and that they would not cover the estimated damage of $8,200.

After contacting Quebedeaux and speaking with a person in their service department I contacted GM Customer Assistance. Customer Service told me that because there was water in the engine the warranty was void. I reminded her that the car had gone through a 3 inch puddle, not a river, or a wash, but a puddle and that if a car cannot go through a puddle then obviously there is a defect with the vehicle and the way they placed a low intake in the vehicle. The only thing that she would do is repeat herself that they rely on the dealership's word.

After waiting for over 20 minutes I was finally able to speak with a supervisor. After giving her the same detail of events she basically told me that she wasn't sure if what I was saying was true and that they relied on the dealership's diagnostics. I told her that I was not disputing the diagnosis what I was disputing was the vehicle defect. That one should be able to drive down a road on a rainy day and not expect to get stuck. All she would do was repeat herself as well. When I asked to speak with her supervisor she told me that there was no one higher up than herself and that her decision was final.

After I kept insisting she told me that the only one that could make the decision on the warranty would be the Service Manager at Quebedeaux. I called Quebedeaux and got a hold of the Service Manager, who at the beginning wouldn't let me finish a sentence. He basically told me that he could authorize it but wouldn't because once he sent the bad motor to GM and they denied payment Quebedeux would be out $8,200 and that he couldn't do that to the dealership. He told me to contact Customer Assistance and tell them that I want to speak with the Regional Manager.

I told him that they would not transfer my call. I was told they were as high as I could go with my concern. I told him I felt like they were passing the ball back and forth and that no one was taking any responsibility for this vehicle's defect. He said that he would contact Regional Manager and would let them know about my concern. When I asked him to provide me with that phone number he said that he didn't have it. He said that he would email the Regional Manager and let him know. When I asked for the email he said that he could not give it out.

I am still waiting for a call from the Regional Manager. I am very disappointed with GM. I will never purchase another GM vehicle again or a vehicle from Quebedeaux. Their customer service is horrible and neither company will stand up for their vehicle.

Problems Since Day 1
By -

I am a single mother of a 19 month daughter who purchased a 2004 Chevy/cavalier coupe LS brand spankin new from all American Chevy in Middletown, NJ... not even a month after enjoying my overpriced vehicle did I begin having electrical problems! It started off as the horn not working. I took it back to the dealership where it was serviced and I was told that the wiring was not connected...

A few months later the same problem persists. I took yet another trip to the dealer in hopes of trading it in for something else. Well I got an 05 cobalt brand new. After 1 week I get into my new beauty and it is shaking uncontrollably with the check light engine on. I drive 45 min back to the dealer to complain they tell me they were just about to call me with some bad news, instead of my payments staying at $350 (same as cavalier) they will now be going up to $499 a month!! I tell them to give me my cavalier back as I did not want any parts in an extremely high payment or a brand new shaking vehicle.

A few months down the line the speedometer, cd player, and all the lights on the radio and gear changer fade to black windows are having trouble rolling up. Took the car to yet another Chevy dealer and was told it would cost me $100 just to get a diagnostic test done! Well I relocated to Pennsylvania in 2006 and called the dealer for a copy of my contract was told they are stored in a warehouse in Delaware and would take weeks to be sent to me!

Well that was 3 years ago, since then I got out of an doctors appointment In September 2008 and noticed my car would not start. I needed an engine and new dashboard that cost me $2400, an alternator $433 and a starter $100. In the meantime as I struggled to get all this money together to repair my only means of transportation GMAC is hounding me for my car payment being 60 days late!

I try explaining to them that I am barely making it and to have to put an engine in a car that's only 5 years old is causing me to fall behind! I also asked them to consider the fact that I have made 54 payments on the loan and barely ever ran behind, and also to acknowledge that I have paid off 17k as I stared at 21k and now owe 4k, not to mention the dealer told me I would pay 19k for the car.

Anyhow, they took that into great consideration by sending the repossession man to my door at 1am on wed night, and back again at 10pm on Thursday night I awoke to this guy flashing his flashlight in my bedroom window to retrieve this nightmare vehicle I have invested so much into! I got up the next morning and was able to make one payment and not even a week later GMAC is calling for another, not even 2 months and $2400 later the car is not starting!!

What's wrong with it now??? Nothing but problems since day one. No one seems to care about the consumer, or the fact that the economy is in bad shape!! GM will never ever get any of my business again. Their cars are trash no wonder they are going bankrupt. I say they payoff any cars who have a 5k balance or lower and have had problems with newer vehicles that are not normally caused by wear and tear!!!

Top of Page | Next Page >

General Motors Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
248 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
General Motors
100 Renaissance Center
Detroit, MI 48243
1-800-462-8782 (ph)
Compare Auto Manufacturers