General Motors Cadillac

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
18 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
GM Warranty Owners Beware
Posted by on
Now if you read this entire ordeal you would see my frustration. It is a bit long, so here is a summary of problems.

1. A dealership not paying attention to its customer or their car issues
2. Being stuck 300 miles from home due to that lack of attention
3. Not being able to locate my vehicle for 15.5 hours after being towed
4. Told to pay for a problem that was never fixed the first time
5. Having 3 different people at GMPP say that my deductible has been waived
6. Being told by the dealership, they won't release the car without paying the deductible. After speaking to 1 person at GMPP.
7. Having to get money back that should never have been paid.

On 1/27/2010 I brought my Cadillac Escalade EXT (65,000 miles) to Avenue Chevrolet in Batavia, Illinois. My truck had several issues, but the main reason for going to the dealership was the vehicle stalling between first and second gear shifts. I explained to the service desk what the issues were. He didn't seem to fully listen to my complaints, but said it would all be taken care of.

He failed to write down that the gauges would stick. Especially the speedometer.

I returned to the dealership on 2/1/2010. I pay my $200 deductible, but talking to the mechanic he said they could not get the vehicle to stall out. I was told to drive it and bring the vehicle back if the problem persists. I left the shop and drove away(approx. 2 miles). It stalled twice. The mechanic hooked the diagnostics to the vehicle and there were no codes. I was again told to drive it around and if it comes back, to let them know.

Again, I left the dealership, and it stalled. There were three additional stalls bringing it back to the dealership. I recorded two times on video via my phone. The mechanic took the truck back. The next day I was told the truck is fine. A dirty speed sensor was to blame my problems.

On 2/16/10, my speedometer stuck and began to malfunction. When I brought it back to Avenue Chevrolet, service said I never complained about this issue and that wouldn't be covered. After speaking with GMPP and service, they took the truck back and replaced the instrument cluster.

Fast forward to 3/9/2010. I am in Detroit, Michigan when my truck stalls between first gear and second gear. After the vehicle stalled, it would not shift into fourth gear. I call GM to have my vehicle towed to the closest dealership, Les Stanford in Dearborn, MI.

The vehicle was towed by Metro Sales & Service, Inc at 7:30 PM EST. I was told to contact Les Stanford the next morning. Now, I am in Detroit, Michigan, 300 miles away from home without my car. The car that was said to be fixed, but has the same problems after being "fixed." I was able to get home borrowing a car.

I called the dealer on 3/10/10 at 9:10 AM EST to find out that, "...The vehicle is not at our dealership, we don't know where it is." I called Metro Sales & Service immediately. The operator says they can not get in contact with their tow agent and that he seems to have his phone turned off. I finally receive a call from the dealership at 10:53 AM EST saying that my vehicle just then arrived. So where was my truck between 7:30 PM to 10:53 AM EST the next day? Nobody would tell me what happened.

Now I am working with Brian, the Cadillac Service Manager. They have truck for about a week and a half. When he calls to tell me that the truck is done. They had to install a new regulator for first and second gear. (What should have been done the first time!) I am again to pay another $200 for the warranty deductible.

I contacted Tony at General Motors Protection Plan (GMPP) on 3/22/10 and explain the situation. Truck continues to stall even after it was "fixed." He tells me that his paperwork doesn't state transmission issues were ever documented. I explain that transmission issues were the real reason why I even went to the dealership. Tony tells me that he can waive the warranty deductible, but I need to fax him my invoice from the first dealership.

I faxed it on 3/23/10. I called Brian at Les Stanford on 3/25/10 to verify that he received the information from GMPP regarding my deductible. He said no. I called GMPP immediately and spoke with Peter. He said I was to have the dealer call their 800 number and give them my claim number. GMPP was to explain to the dealer that my deductible was indeed waived.

I called the dealer on 3/26/10 and left a message with instructions. Also, that the car would be picked up on 3/29/10. If there were any problems, CALL ME ASAP.

I have the car picked up on 3/29/10 and get a call from Brian. He states that he spoke with GMPP saying that the deductible was NEVER waived. The car would not be released without paying the deductible in full. I had friends doing me a HUGE favor and getting my vehicle for me. I said I'll just pay it and deal with GMPP. So I proceed with payment and the car is picked up.

Again, I call GMPP right after, and speak with Glenn. Glenn states that AGAIN that the deductible was waived and that whoever spoke to the dealer didn't read everything. Glenn said that below this claim with Les Stanford, it clearly said the deductible was WAIVED. Glenn then explains how I can get my deductible back from GMPP.

I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER GM PRODUCT FOR AS LONG AS I LIVE. At 27, I have many years of driving and car buying. My next car is coming from anyone else other that General Motors.

     
Replies
Safety issue, failure to stand behind their product, bad customer service
Posted by on
FALMOUTH, MASSACHUSETTS -- I have to ask anyone and everyone that has owned a Cadillac Escalade or any GMC vehicle if they think that their vehicle is a luxurious "accident waiting to happen."

I bought the vehicle Dec 17, 2003 and it was an 02. I felt like a million bucks leaving the dealership. I had a smile that went from ear to ear and an energy that said, "I love life"-until seven months later...

I had complained about a malfunction of the breaks. It felt as though the ABS was engaging. I don't know if you can remember the sound an old ten speed bike used to make when you switch gears-the vibration and sound is what occurred when I would apply my foot to the break.

At the time of my first complaint, I felt a delay and heard a sound when I applied the breaks-my truck did not come to a complete stop-it kept going. The dealership stated it was my tires. Obviously both GMC and its certified dealerships have not "FIXED" the problem so the issue has only gotten worse-I am afraid to drive it-its sitting pretty in the driveway.


Here is a list of the history-of the "Spontaneous acceleration. " That's right my truck actually accelerates when you apply the brakes!!

June 30, 2004
I had complained of the issues with my vehicle stopping. The dealership "fixed" the problem by putting on 4 brand new tires however did not describe "why" I was there in their "reasons" for diagnosing the tires being replaced .Therefore GMC is stating that the issues didn't actually occur or were not due to faulty/malfunctioning breaking system. Why should I be responsible for their documentation when I go in for service? Why would anyone have a second thought when someone who is "certified" is paid to diagnose and "fix" a problem?

June 15, 2005 I had the same breaking issues and complained again to the, Certified dealership. They "fixed" the issue and replaced the rear break pads, rotors and rear brake shoes.

June 16, 2006 Same issues/complaints of break malfunction. Certified dealership "fixed" the issue by replacing the front brake pads, resurfaced all four brake rotors

June 22, 2006 Complained about breaking issue. The certified dealership "Fixed" the problem by replacing the Hub Bearing, replaced both ABS sensors and both bearings. My vehicle had 75, 000 miles on it at the time and was still under the certified "preloved" warranty.

March 19, 2008 complained to GMC about the inability to stop since the warranty expired. Another certified dealership "Fixed" the breaking complaint with ANOTHER Hub bearing replacement. HHMM can you say HUB BEARING (I am guessing the part is defective)

September 18,2008 Spoke with the GMC representative which is like speaking to a well scripted robot who is trained to deflect blame and/or responsibility. After describing the issues of NOT being able to STOP and the malfunctioning of the vehicle where it accelerates, the GMC representative asked again, "So when do you have this issue?" I said the following:

"Have you been listening at all to what I have said? Putting your foot on the break should be a lot like blinking-we shouldn't have to think about it. When was the last time you had to worry if you stepped on the break that your vehicle will plow into the driver in front of you?"

The GMC representative said, "I don't-So why don't you want to drive it to get diagnosed?" -Get the picture? GMC and their customer service sucks.

I was told in the very beginning that if I took my vehicle anywhere else other
than a GMC certified technician or dealership-the warranty coverage for any
issues would be at risk. Also the system that they used to diagnose is
computerized. So if the computer doesn't say there is an issue-they meaning the GMC certified technicians assume there is "no issue".

When I called GMC in March of 2008 they
were more interested in my next GMC purchase than what I was trying to complain about? Like I would EVER buy another GMC piece of ***.

GMC kept reminding me that regardless of the number of attempts I have
made to fix this ongoing issue with my break malfunction and the money that I have spent(time away from work, rental cars)-They won't take responsibility for a vehicle that is no longer under warranty, a vehicle that is 6yrs old and 105k miles. I have been a responsible owner and have been diligent in the maintenance of it. The breaks are only one issue I have had with this truck-New radiator, new transmission, new ride control and another four tires when the Hub bearing was replaced the second time. Issues with the oil(lots of changes-not consistent with 2000 miles)

Companies like GMC hope that consumer complaints will fade away into the backdrop when the consumer gets so frustrated and "give up". I am not one of those people.

Here is a list of some of their excuses:
*"It could have been a fluke"
*"It could have been your driving
*"You know that's common at slow speeds-My response is this "So when I hit a pedestrian should I tell them that too?"
*"We are not familiar with that issue with spontaneous/unexpected acceleration"
*"You should warm up the vehicle before you drive less than 10 miles an hour"
*"The sound is your muffler"
*"There is no issue with the breaking system. we have not been able to duplicate your complaints, so there is nothing wrong"
"The resistance to break could be the way you are applying your foot to the break pedal"-WHAT????!!!

My favorite response from GMC:
"I am so sorry you feel that way, I wish there is something we could do but it's not covered under warranty anymore. Your vehicle was not on the recall list. Yes the year and make was but "your" vehicle was not on the list for the recall."-When did vehicles have social security numbers?

After my ordeal with GMC and the performance issues with my Escalade I am a firm believer that Fred Flintstone probably had a GMC and was the only one that was happy with their product. You see Fred Flintstone didn't care about breaks, airbags,stearing issues, seat belts, windshield wipers that could cause a fire, his car exploding, stalling on a highway....These are some of the many issues the public is raving about on the web regarding GMC vehicles and the safety issues that occur with all makes and models belonging to GMC.

I have filed a complaint with NHTSA and have contacted several newspapers and consumer advocates. Only one person actually helped-a little. A consumer reporter from NBC placed a call to GMC and now I have to deal with "The Executive office". When I asked the GMC representative what her title was she said, "Executive office". I can only assume that she is not someone that can help, just another line of defense to make the a disappointed consumer "go away quietly".

I have done so much searching on the web. The public outcry against GMC is overwhelming. SAFETY is not a priority GMC considers as important as the expensive crap it puts out for unknowing consumers. God help us all when they put out their electric car in 2010. Yippeee another disaster. Hopefully they will go bankrupt before they put out yet another vehicle with safety issues.

All I want is for GMC to pay me the book value of my truck so that I can buy another vehicle that is not GMC. (They won't even pay for a tow to get my vehicle diagnosed. ) It's no wonder that Americans are buying more foreign vehicles and GMC sales are not what they used to be.

It is hard for me to deal with the fact as a consumer that I spent $53,109.00 for the certified pre-loved vehicle prior to all the money I have spent in getting the breaks to operate properly.

Trish

     
Replies
Cadillac Cost of ownership Prohibitive
Posted by on
GM has not yet understood that customer satisfaction is primarily determined by cost of ownership. That is, the purchase price plus repair cost over a reasonable lifetime. The cost of ownership of this Cadillac is substantially higher than the purchase price after only 60,000 miles of normal use. The blower unit went out after 21,000 miles. The plastic top of the dashboard separated from its glue and curled up after 40,000 miles. An electric window went out after 52,000 miles. Both left and right coils went out after 56,000 miles and a leaky water pump had to be replaced after 58,000 miles. The knee bolster under the steering column no longer stays on because all of the clip mounts that hold it in place have been broken by dealer mechanics.

It appears that GM has been caught up in "the sell the product at a loss and make money on the after sales parts" conundrum. Similar to selling ink jet printers below cost to make money selling expensive ink cartridges. When little or no money is made selling the car then the profit must come from selling parts at inflated prices. For example, when the cable that opens and closes the window breaks the entire window sub-assembly must be replaced at a cost of several hundred dollars. The cable that costs a few dollars cannot be replaced.

It is understood why sub-assemblies are replaced instead of individual parts because the number of parts required in inventory is significantly reduced. The problem is that reducing inventory cost by reducing parts with sub-assemblies is that the consumer pays much more for repair and the cost of ownership skyrockets. The service manager noted during the service review that they often service broken window cables so why does this problem persist? If a multi-hundred dollar sub-assembly must be replaced for a simple cable then shouldn't the cable problem be corrected? Or is it too profitable to sell an entire sub-assembly for a few hundred dollars caused by a broken cable that costs a few dollars? What happens to the sub-assembly that is replaced? Is it rebuilt with a new cable, returned to inventory and resold?

Another example is that the clip mounts used to hold on interior trim appears to be designed to break when the trim is removed. Each time a dealer mechanic removed the knee bolster for service they broke one or more clip mounts. Now there is only one clip barely holding the knee bolster on. The clips are not broken. The posts where the clips are mounted are broken. Because the posts are part of the knee bolster then the entire knee bolster must be replaced at a couple of hundred dollars because of a few broken plastic mounts. Wouldn't a little more plastic to make stronger mounts make more sense than having to replace an entire part after being removed 3 or 4 times? Or is it more profitable to sell the entire part for a couple of hundred dollars?

Relying on after sales parts and service for profitability is an indicator of a dying company. When a company cannot make profit from selling the product then surviving on after sales parts and service is only a temporary reprieve from failure. Eventually, the higher cost of owneship drives away customers so there is less product sold and less product to service. GM should stop selling inferior cars at a loss and relying on parts and service for profit and begin selling quality cars at a profit that require less service and lower the cost of ownerhip that increases the value of the car which in turn increases price and profitablility.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Faulty Cable Wire for Power Windows in Cadillac
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
MOULTRIE, GEORGIA -- The cable wire for the power windows in our 2003 Cadillac Deville has broken on all four windows. They cost almost $400.00 each. They have been breaking for years. We are told that we must roll the windows down every week for the lifetime of the car, or this will keep happening, which it has. Over and over again, these cables keep breaking. GM was aware of this problem back in 2005 and changed the material from stainless steel to a galvanized wire because the stainless was becoming oxidized and fragile. They expect this 86 year old elderly man who can only walk very short distances to go to his car and roll the windows down every week to prevent this problem.

My sister (had) a 2004 Cadillac that had the same problem and she was having to replace the cables twice a year. Another friend with a Buick is having the same problem. My husband is a WWII vet who served on the USS Hornet and was at the battle of Okinawa. This is how our elderly are treated by big business. He has used GM vehicles most of his life and should not have to go buy another car at 86 years of age when this car only has 50,000 miles on it. But he can't afford to be buying $400.00 cable wires every 2 years.
     
Replies
Poor product quality in Cadillac
Posted by on
I bought a Cadillac STS and thought I was getting a quality product, backed up by a quality organization - I was wrong on both accounts.

At 40k miles my STS Northstar engine began burning oil - lots of it. Not a leak anywhere. Not a drop on the garage floor. At 42k miles the oil consumption reached a level of 1 Qt for every 700 miles.

I took it to the local dealer, only to be told that they would not repair an engine that was "normal" I said - you have to be kidding - I have never had an engine that consumed a QT of oil every 700 miles and it was considered "normal". This is the equivalent of adding a GALLON OF OIL between 3500 mile oil changes.

The service mgr took me to his office, pulled out a service bulletin that read: "unless your Northstar engine consumes oil at the rate of 1 Qt per 500 miles or less; it is considered normal".

Totally unacceptable - I will NEVER BY A GM PRODUCT OF ANY SORT EVER AGAIN.
     
Replies
Two Major Repairs Needed On A Car That Has 24k Miles
Posted by on
DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- I have a 2008 Cadillac CTS with 24,000 miles on it that I bought brand new. I first want to say I love the looks and handling of the car - when it isn't in the repair shop for major repairs.

This past December, the entire computer system went out. After taking it to the dealer, I was told by the service tech, "Yea, we've seen this before. GM used a cheap plastic clip to secure the entire electrical wiring harness and the clips tend to break in cold weather causing the wiring harness to get sliced and chopped by the fan". The entire wiring harness was replaced.

Then, on April 15, the check engine light came on. I immediately took the car to my local Cadillac dealer. They ran the diagnostics and stated there were two major problems with my car.

First, the timing chain/belt was stretched (common problem with the 2008 CTS, the dealer told me). Second, the cam and crank shaft would need to be repaired/replaced, and their service department was short handed and I would have to take the car to the selling dealer, some 25 miles away. The service tech also stated, "we've seen almost a dozen CTSs with the same problem," in a "business as usual type of attitude. He also said this was a major repair requiring engine removal.

As I am writing this, the car is at the selling dealer waiting for parts from GM (I only hope the dealer gets them before GM goes belly up...)

There is something amiss when GM's flagship car line is this unreliable. The selling dealer has been cordial and provided a loner car, but that does not cover the monthly note I must still pay even though I can't use the vehicle. And if I had to endure two major repairs on a %50,000 car with only 24,000 miles on it, what may I look forward to when the car has 34,000, 44,000 and 54,000 miles on it?

This is my first and LAST Cadillac.

I always try to support American automobiles companies but with GM's lack of attention to reliability on their flagship car line (never mind their other car lines), I suppose they are going to get what they deserve when the bankruptcy gavel falls on them, and after getting burned with the CTS, I will shed no tears.

I also have a 1998 Lincoln Nagivator with almost 200,000 miles on it and a 2004 Lincoln LS with 140,000 miles on it. Neither of these vehicles have EVER had a major repair and both still operate well today.

Good bye GM. May you get what you deserve.

Ford, I'm, sorry I left you but I'll be back to see you about a new vehicle just as soon as the CTS piece of crap is fixed.









     
Replies
Front Head Rest
Posted by on
DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- The front headrest are too large for the driver to see out of the passenger's side rear seat window. The headrest is too large and it needs to be smaller. We have owned Cadillac's since 1985 and this one is the worse one we have had due to the front headrest. I cannot understand the department of transportation approving such a large headrest.

The internet is full of people complaining about them. No shop will due anything about them due to the possible liability to remove them and/or cut them down for better visual use.

Can anyone do anything?
     
Replies
GPS in Cadillac
Posted by on
DETROIT, MICHIGAN -- I own a 2008 Cadillac DTS Platuium Series. Its listed as a $2,000.00 item. However, I also own a TomTom GPS that cost me $200.00.

The TomTom is so much superior to the Cadillac GPS. Hundreds of more features - better routing choices - just overall it makes the Cadillac GPS seem like a cheap knockoff.

I would think that Cadillac would have a GPS that is at least equal to those manufactured by TomTom and other GPS makers.

I will not purchase another Cadillac unless there are improvements in the GPS. Storage space in my Cadillac is also lacking. Glove box is very small and inadequate.

Runs and rides great but small things mean a lot.

George A. Bass
     
Replies
Cadillac Lemon
Posted by on
ROCKY MOUNT, NORTH CAROLINA -- My CTS has had brake problems for the last 500 miles, it has a total of 3500 miles. After taking it to Don Bulluck, (the Cadillac dealer in Rocky Mount, NC) to be serviced and repaired on 12/30/08 I was told that parts would have to be ordered. On 1/12/09 I called the dealer to find out what the problem was. I was told by the service representative that GM did not have the parts needed and they were trying to locate them.

A new car mind you and GM does not have the needed parts. HOLD THE BAIL OUT MONEY.
     
Replies
My Dream car has been nothing but a Nightmare!
Posted by on
COLUMBUS, GEORGIA -- March 30, 2008

My name is Hellen Hammond and I am from Eufaula. Alabama. On October 2007 I purchased a 2007 Cadallic Escalade which I have always heard and Thought it was everyone's Dream Car! but it has turned out to be my biggest nightmare and no one seems to care! I have been purchasing GM Vechiles for the past 20 years and in the last 15 I have bought one a year every year! I bought this vechile and I have had problems with it from day one and who gives a dang! Certainly not the dealership nor this corporation....you got your $68,000.00 who cares that it is in the shop every month....

The wind noise from the drivers window and sunroof sound as if you are driving down the interstate at 70 miles per hours with the windows down! All I hear from the service is "It is the aerodynamics of the car" or we hear the noise but don't know what to do to fix it! Well for that amount of money I shouldn't hear a noise at all, I have had to replace, the molding around the windows, the Passengers door handle, Passengers mirror, hub caps, winshield washer sensors, cluster sensors, you name it and I don't have but 7100 miles on this car. The dealership (Columbus Ga) has never once offered to help me out. They never sent the referral fee to the person who referred me. Now thery will be happy to trade me out of my car for another but of course that are $10,000.00 more than mine and with a down payment they could help me get out of this. I sure they would I put 17,000.00 cash on this and there were rebates not to mention I traded a paid off car in also.

I just want someone to help me with my problem. When I filled out the survey on line and complained I had no response! I mailed 2 surveys in with compaints on them and I have heard from no one. Feel free to contact me at (snip) anytime.

Thank you,
HELLEN HAMMOND
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >