Gold's Gym International, Inc

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 6 ratings and
106 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Golds Gym Is A Nightmare
By -

ALBUQUERQUE, NEW MEXICO -- Golds Gym is a nightmare. I signed a 1 year contract in which I would make quarterly payments of $96.95, and supposedly after the year it would be my membership would be voluntary. I used the gym for about 6 months with no real problems, except for the staff being quite rude.

I stopped using the gym after I received a back injury. I decided I would not renew my membership with Golds Gym after the year was up. I did not go into the gym for the following 6 months. I went in to make my final payment and cancel my membership. The guy at the desk told me my payment was late. I made the last payment of 96.95 and that completed the yearly contract. I told the guy I wanted to cancel my membership. He said I could not do that without paying for the next month. I told him I hadn't been in the gym for 6 months and that I was not going to pay for another month.

He then proceeded to tell me that If I would have made my payment on time that I could have canceled my membership then. I said I hadn't received a bill or late notice, then he said "Oh you did, you probably just tossed it!" I asked to speak to the manager, and they would not let me. I don't think there is a manager there daily. I was angry, but before leaving I asked for a copy of my payment history. He printed me 4 receipts for $96.95.

I was really upset about the whole issue. I didn't want to go back in there because I felt like they had degraded me. I went home and looked at my contract for a corporate number. I looked online and there was nothing. I decided I wasn't going back in there. I just wouldn't pay it. I fulfilled my contractual obligation and I had my receipts to prove it.

I hear nothing from them for a year and a half, so I thought it would be OK to throw away my receipts and my copy of the contract thinking it was all over. After almost two years I come home to hear a message from the manager at Golds gym. She said that this was her final attempt to contact me regarding my account and that she sent my account to collections.

I pulled my credit report and found that in January of 2004. I was report to collections, almost two years from the time I tried to cancel my membership. I refused at this point to give them a dime. I have been harassed by 2 different collectors, calling my home phone, my cell phone, and by mail. I would like this taken off my credit report. Golds Gym has no number to call, everything is done at store level and you cannot talk to anyone. They don't care about you all they care about is getting your money and getting more of your money.

UPDATE... To save my credit I contacted one of the collection agency's and paid the balance. I'm still very annoyed with this company. In fact the guy with the collections company told me he has handled a "lot" of collections for Golds Gym and in most cases it was over a thousand dollars. They were claiming in past due membership fees. It seems as if these days, these big companies, can just charge you whatever they want and if you refuse to pay it then they'll just turn off your electricity, or withhold your medications, or try to ruin your credit. How does the little person fight back? And how long are we going to let them get away with it?????

     
Replies
Golds Gym- Deceptive Practices
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

MAGNOLIA, TEXAS -- Just wanted everyone to know what problems we are having with Gold'€™s Gym, so it doesn'€™t happen to anyone else. I am just going to say beware of Golds Gym. We are signed up in Conroe, TX. So anyway we were happy with the Gym after signing up. Then my wife suggested I sign up with a personal trainer. So I talked to their personal trainer. I told him I would like to sign up for a month, 2 times a week. I told him I had to wait till my tax return comes. So when my tax return came I talked to him again and he said if I do the 8 sessions I can get it for $320, plus with other fees it would come out to $370.

So I did it, we had to go to the computer, he said I needed to sign on the computer pad, to say that I agree with the 8 sessions, another signature to debit the amount, and then lastly my initials saying that the 8 was none refundable. So OK, that'€™s it I am signed up for 8 sessions, that was on 2/16/2012. So, nothing was said about a contract so I wasn'€™t thinking anything about it. On 4/18/2012, I checked my March statement, which became available on 4/16/2012.

I was charged 320 on 3/16/2012, so then I checked online banking and again charged 320 on 4/16/2012. What the hell. I called up the gym and asked for a manager. I was told he wasn't there. So I talked with the sales manager. I told him I bought 8 sessions on 2/16/2012, and I was being charged monthly. He told me to wait. So I waited and then he said I signed a contract. I told him NO, I signed up for 8 sessions. He said I signed a contract for 8 sessions a month for a year. I said no I didn'™t I was told only 8 sessions and that the personal trainer had clicked off the reoccurring monthly charges, so I'd only be charged for that month.

So, me and my wife went in to Gold'™s Gym in Conroe, TX to see if the manager was really there or not. He wasn't, talked to the same sales manager, and he said the same thing, that I signed up for a year. I again stated I only signed up for month, and that I didn'€™t have any contract. So, he disappeared and went to the printer. He gave me 2 pieces of paper, it was a contract with my signature. This is the FIRST TIME I ever saw this document. So anyway we left. I called the next day from work, and got their manager. He said I signed a contract but would talk to corporate about it.

I got a call the same day from saying that they couldn'€™t do anything about it because I signed a contract. I told him that the first time I saw a contract or even knew anything about a contract was on 4/18/2012 when we went in on the day we first complained. We requested they called the personal trainer to see what he said. They absolutely refused, saying he no longer works for the company and they can't contact him.

There is something going on when they won't call the person that signed me up. So, now, I'm going through the BBB, which they are no help. They just relay the email's between us and them back and forth, that'€™s it. Everything is at a stand still. So all I can do is warn everyone else. They are cheats and lies. Stay away from GOLDS GYM. CHEATS all CHEATS.

     
Replies
Avoid Signing Up At This Gym At All Costs - Go Elsewhere
By -

LOS ANGELES, CA, CALIFORNIA -- AVOID SIGNING UP AT THIS GYM AT ALL COSTS. GO ELSEWHERE. I forgot how much gym salesman are like car salesman until I went to Gold's Gym after I got one of those 30 day free trial membership ads in the mail. So I decide to go in on the very last day before it expires, the day before Thanksgiving.

Of course, this is the day they are having their "€œbig sale" that they only have once per year, offering "€œthe best prices all year long," or at least according to the person I spoke with on the phone. So I need to get home to my girlfriend because pizza is on the way, and who likes cold pizza. So I figure I can probably get through this in about 30 minutes. Boy was I wrong.

My very first question to the sales representative ** was, "€œDo I have to pay anything up front for the 30 day free trial" and he answered "No."€ And my second question was, "Do you offer a month-to-month plan"€ and he said "€œYes."€ I went onto explain I have a history of joining gyms and getting bored after a couple months, and while I'm hoping to change that, I want only a month-to-month contract. I made it very clear throughout the entire time he showed me around the gym, and once we sat down for his high pressure sales tactics that I only want a month-to-month contract.

So ** sits me down and the high pressure sales begins. He says the normal rate is $79.99/month, they usually offer a deal of $59.99/month, but today, and today only, he's going to give it to me for $39.99. I also tell him I want to sign up my girlfriend, so he says normally it would be $49.99, but he'll take $10 off and give it to her for $39.99 as well. So I think, OK great. And he said, if I decide I don't want the memberships, I can call him during the 30 day trial, and he will "rip up" the memberships. So then he asks me to sign the computer (a little signing mechanism), and he never showed me a contract before signing.

BEWARE: At no time did ** tell me I was being locked into a 12 month contract for a total of $479.88, that there was a $100 cancellation fee in the first six months, or a $50 fee in the second 6 months, nor a $29 facility fee due on July 5.

So he prints out the contract, hands me a folder, and I seem to be almost on my way, except he needs to charge my credit card $1. Just wanting to get out of there and home to my girl, and pizza, I say OK. While he's gone, I start reading the contract and notice these fees. So I ask him about the cancellation fee, and he says, oh, you just have to give 30 days notice, you just pay a month ahead, and you get to work out for that month. So I asked him about the $100 fee in the first 6 months, he acted like he didn't know what that was, and preceded to tell me not to worry about it - I even crossed it out in front of him on my contract.

So I get home and start thinking about it, and realize, wait a second, we had an oral agreement when I signed the computer, which was month-to-month and no cancellation fees. From what I understand, oral contracts in CA are enforceable by California civil code 1620. So I write Corporate and Management at that gym a letter saying all those fees are null and void. And Friday, when my girlfriend and I go to the gym to work out for our 30 day trial, the Director of Sales, and the General Manager, ** sit down with me.

The Director of Sales extremely apologized and said she gets "very emotional" about these things, that her reps are supposed to disclose all fees before signing the contract, and she doesn't understand how this happened. I stay strong saying I want a month-to-month for a year with no cancellation fees. Of course they both say the contract comes from corporate and they can't alter it, but that she'll cancel it as of now, still give us the 30 day trial, then if we want, we can sign on their terms (not the terms of the oral contract we had). She says the contract is for 11 months continual, as stated on the bottom of the contract.

She pulls out a calculator, and lo and behold, $39.99 x 11 is only $439.89, not $479.88 as said in the contract. So I get home and realize, there's something truly funky going on here. Even the Director of Sales and the General Manager can't make the sense of their own contract.

This whole ordeal took over an hour, my girlfriend got upset at me, and I got home to cold pizza. Anyhow, I am left with this thought, which I believe to be legal - ** an employee of Gold's Gym and I had an oral contract when I signed the computer, that did not include any cancellation fees or facility charges. Therefore, I have a right to a month-to-month contract with no cancellation or facility charges - and this is what I plan to fight for.

I see there is someone else on Yelp who had this similar situation -€“ a salesman lying to him about cancellation fees. If you have experienced this at Gold's Gym, please contact me so we can discuss a class-action lawsuit against them. Also, if you are a lawyer, let's discuss a class-action lawsuit against them.

Yelp up to here. As of now, I've sent numerous emails to the Dir. of Sales and ** and neither of them answered me. I directly asked the Dir. of Sales: "€œBy contract or practice, was I able to cancel our memberships within the 30 day trial, or only within the 5 day rule? What I mean is, let's say I never wrote that letter and we never spoke and called ** (or any representative there) on December 24 and said my girlfriend and I don't want to do the contract, that I want to cancel. Would he (or someone else at your gym) have canceled the contract, or told me I was locked into it?"

And she of course never answered my question and actually had the audacity to have ** call me to answer it. Um, why would you have the salesman who outright lied to me call me instead of handling the situation yourself. The Dir. of Sales is clearly incompetent as a Director of Sales and was clearing lying herself when she said, "I get so emotional over these things." If she was truly "€œemotional"€ then she would uphold what ** told me and offer me a contract with no cancellation or facility fees; she would get on the phone with Corporate, explain the situation, and make that happen or ** would.

Neither have because they clearly uphold what ** does and clearly train their sales reps to lie and do whatever it takes to get you to sign that contract and make their commission (I believe I saw a computer screen that said ** made $22 commission off of both of us for signing those contracts). Salesman and Management - high pressure sales tactics, liars. Gym itself - quite nice, great selection of machines. SUGGESTION: I'm sure there are better gyms around, since we know these guys use high pressure sales tactics and outright lie to your face, avoid them and spend your money elsewhere.

     
Replies
Golds Gym does not have Cust Service, only wants your $$
By -

BOCA RATON, FLORIDA -- This is why I'm so upset. On June 4th 1999, a representative from Gold's Gym West Boca FL entered my workplace to solicit new memberships. The rep, **, wrote up a contract for me, and said that the contract was a three year contract. The monthly payments were scheduled to debit from my credit account. What he DID NOT tell me, is that by using this service, after three years the services would automatically renew and would continue to debit, even though the contract states "You are guaranteeing to pay Monthly dues of $31.75 per month for a period of 36 months."

AND "according to Florida Statues, this contract shall not exceed a term of 36 months." Of course this automatic payment renewal is listed in the contract. The fact that it's the oh so tiny print where it states this, I was never made aware of this fact... of course I take full responsibility that I didn't read the contract. However, I think that important tiny writing of this nature should be made available to the member without trying to hide it.

After August 2002, I noticed my credit card was still being charged the monthly fee from Golds, which I had not approved, so I called up my credit card company to file a complaint. For two months these charges were dropped by my credit card company, because I had not authorized the extra charges. As a secondary measure I called Gold's, who informed me that I had to cancel what should have been an expired three year contract. So I sent in the cancellation.

In July of 2003, I received a letter from a collection agency on behalf of Gold's Gym for $389.00!! Basically, they said that since I was in default for the two months I did not authorize on my credit card, I had to pay: the two months, late fees for those two months, cancellation charges and each month up to June of 2003 (the new renewal end date). So here I sent in a cancellation letter for nothing - I ended up getting a bill for the entire renewed contract!

After trying to work with the collection company rep, whom I found to be rude and unprofessional, I walked into Gold's Gym and spoke with **. He agreed to try to resolve the issue and even said that I was not charged correctly. Since my contract had a no cancellation clause written in, he said I should only owe the two months of which I did not pay.

Later that week, when I spoke to him he said that he couldn't work this out with his billing dept because it was "a legal issue and once it's in collections, they can't change anything." I then called the unprofessional and rude rep at the collection agency who told me that he COULD in fact change the charges and billing, but he probably just didn't want to and was forcing me to work with her.

She also said that if I got something in writing from them, she would reconsider the charges. So I called ** back. After letting him know what the collection agency rep said, he said that although he agrees with me that I was incorrectly billed, he didn't think he could put that in writing (hello- why not??), but he would check with his boss and see what they could do for me.

That was Thursday. Today is Monday. I called him to follow up with him and see if he could put the billing in writing. I got the front desk receptionist, who put me on hold, then came back on the line to say "** says he's already done what he can, and doesn't wish to speak with you." And with that, she hung up on me. So here I've been jumping through hoops for Gold's Gym and they can't do a thing for me at all! I guess they have my money, so what does it matter to them to help resolve a billing issue? Where's the customer service?? For the record, I'm a member of the facility at Boca Raton, FL. Now it looks like I'm out $400. Don't let it happen to you!

     
Replies
Very Upset I Didn't Know That Golds Gym Can Be Involved in My Private Life
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HURGHADA, ARKANSAS -- I am member since 01/01/2013 with member no. **. I love and prefer your gym, it's great and I feel good when I am there and it's my gym and always recommended to all my friends and relatives and was helping the sales by give them my contact to be all together and I already brought my cousin with me but I found that I can't be there anymore!!!

My membership for one year and was a payment promotion on three payment times, every three months, and before the second payment I tried to pay it but I found out the sales department don't want taking and every time they say to me later!! You can play anytime, and then!! The sales manager told me we can't accept you anymore here cause I had private problem with one of my neighbor and we went to to make police report with her and the problem with totally outside the Gym and Gold`s gym was not involved at all in this problem!!

But the sales manager and his name ** refused to renew my membership and the reason that problem & the second party in the problem asked him to do that & in same time she still a member in Gold`s Gym!!! I was so wondering why gold`s Gym involved in that problem!? And how come any member can control who can be a member and who not!

I am really upset from the manager attitude and the branch policy. I was believe your company so professional and have rules and one policy in all over the world, not every branch running the branch by their rules, or friendship too! So I still waiting the manager call since few days till now and no answer from his side, so I want to know I have to find new Gym!?? cause there is many gym and they are good competitor and less money. Thanks.

     
Replies
Membership Fee/Lack of Customer Care
By -

Attached is my complaint letter to a district manager of Gold's Gym. It is quite long because I had a lot of complaints. In summary, Customer Care does not exist with Gold's Gyms. In addition, the managers I encountered did not return my emails or did not follow through on anything they said they would do.

I had canceled my membership at one Gold's and signed up at another Gold's, only to find out - months later while I was in Europe - that they had not canceled my membership and had continued to bill my canceled credit card. Therefore, I was paying for two memberships. My attempts to have the manager of the initial gym or Customer Service address the issue while I was in Europe were futile.

After the district manager received my letter, he called up a few days later to say that Gold's would refund the $140 they had charged my canceled credit card after I had canceled my membership. However, I received no apology for the incompetence of the managers involved or the complete lack of customer care that I received.

The manager said that he "bent over backwards" for me because he "understood that I was upset." I wanted to take issue with his response, which made it seem like he was doing me a favor for returning the money that Gold's owed me. Needless to say, I will never join another Gold's Gym. If you do, do not depend or rely on statements made by the managers and never expect any help regarding billing from Customer Care.
Here is the complaint, with names deleted:

Mr. **: (** of Customer Care - please file this complaint, too). I signed up with the Rockville Town Center Gold's Gym on January 27, 2008. During the second week of June 2008, I moved from Rockville, Maryland to Baltimore, Maryland. I then signed up at the Dundalk, Maryland Gold's Gym. I spoke with the manager at Dundalk, **, about transferring my membership from Rockville to Dundalk.

Ms. ** told me that she spoke with **, a manager at Rockville, who said that I could not transfer memberships. The reason for this, according to ** (the manager of Dundalk), was that ** (the manager of Rockville) said that Rockville was a corporate gym and Dundalk was a franchise. Therefore, I needed to go to Rockville, in person, and sign a cancellation form and then sign a new membership form for Dundalk.

** (the manager of Dundalk) also informed me that ** (the manager of Rockville) said that I had an outstanding balance at Rockville. What had happened was that I lost my credit card in March from which the Rockville gym had been using to deduct my monthly membership fees. Therefore, I had an outstanding balance of $79.98 for April and May of 2008 at the Rockville gym. On June 13, 2008, I went to the Rockville Town Center Gold's Gym to pay my balance and cancel my membership ("Relocation" being the reason for cancellation). **, a manager at Rockville, filled out my cancellation form and took my $79.98 payment from my new credit card.

In addition, it was agreed that I was still owed one month's membership. **, **, and ** (another manager of Rockville) were all standing there and agreed that I was owed one month's fee after a short discussion. ** assured me that I would "receive a check in the mail" from the corporate billing center. The reason I was owed a month's membership was that on January 27, I paid $79.98 (first and last month's fee of $39.99). In February I paid $39.99.

In March, I received a credit for signing up a friend. In April and May, my canceled credit card was charged. On June 13, I paid $79.99 to cover April and May (which was my last month). Therefore, it was agreed I was owed $39.99 because I had paid the last month (May) and was owed the $39.99 that I paid on January 27 as the last month's fee.

On July 1, 2008, I traveled overseas for three months. Complaint against ** (a manager at Rockville): I emailed the Rockville gym at the end of July through the online email form on Gold's Gym's online website regarding the fact that I had yet to receive my refund check of $39.99. ** sent me a response on August 31, claiming that he would "direct his attention to this matter as soon as [he] got back." ** never bothered to get back to me.

On September 16, 2008, while I was overseas, my father received a forwarded notice in the mail from a credit collection agency stating that I owed Gold's Gym $139.97. The reason for this was that, for some reason, Gold's did not cancel my membership on June 13, even though I filled out a cancellation form. Therefore, Gold's had continued to bill my canceled credit card.

On September 16, 2008, I emailed ** (same manager at Rockville) regarding this issue, asking him to tell me what had happened and to address the issue. (email attached). Again, ** did not respond.

On September 21, 2008, I emailed ** again asking him whether he had received my previous emails and whether he was addressing the issue. (email attached). Again, I received no response from **. Complaint Against Gold's Customer "Care": I also emailed Gold's Customer Care regarding the $139.97 that I was charged. I emailed them through the online email form provided on Gold's Gym's website. Not surprisingly, I received no response.

I then called Customer Care, long distance from Germany, and spoke with **. I told her of my problem. Her response was that I needed to fax her my copy of the cancellation form from the Rockville gym. I told her that that was impossible as I was overseas and my copy was in the states. That was the end of the "customer service." She refused to call up the Rockville gym to speak with a manager to determine what had happened. She claimed that Customer Care did not have any contact with Gold's Gyms affiliates.

They just dealt with billing issues. I had to ask myself then, why is it called "Customer Care" when all they do is deal with money issues? She also did not provide me with the phone number to the Rockville gym, claiming that she did not have numbers for the gyms. When I asked her if she could look it up the number on the internet for me, she claimed that no one in Customer Care had internet access. I also had to ask myself where the original sheet of my cancellation form was. Did Rockville have it? Did they send it to Texas? Why couldn't someone, like Customer Service, determine where it was, find it, and confirm that I had cancelled my membership?

As far as I understand, the originals from the cancellation forms are sent to Texas. Why is it that someone at Customer Care, in Texas, cannot take the time to find the original and help someone like me resolve my billing issue? Too much trouble? I guess it is easier to force the customer who is overseas to fax his copy of the cancellation form. If he or she cannot, or if he or she no longer has it, then too bad. Gold's will continue to bill him.

I returned to the states on October 14. I faxed ** at Customer Service a copy of my cancellation form on October 16. On October 17, I called her up to determine if she had received the fax and to see what actions she was going to take. She claimed that the reason I had been billed after June 13 (and was continuing to be billed!!) was because the billing department had not received any evidence of relocation with my cancellation form. I told her that ** at the Rockville gym did not ask for such evidence. (I did not bother to try to discuss with ** (of Customer Care) that it made absolutely no sense that I would want to pay membership fees at two gyms).

I asked ** why I was being charged for a mistake made by Gold's Gyms' employees. She apologized that I did not know the procedure, but that I was not going to get a refund because she did not have some evidence of relocation. And, until she did, I would continue to get charged. What kind of customer service is that? What business has the policy of forcing its customers to pay for the mistakes of its employees? What business tells its customers, in essence, "Sorry our employees made a mistake, but you should have known better"??!! Unbelievable.

Then ** (of Customer Care), after I was able to make clear to her that I cancelled because I went from a corporate (Rockville) to a franchise (Dundalk), said that I should have filled out a "D. C. Alliance Transfer Form." She then apologized that Gold's employees did not inform me of this, implying that it was just too bad (i.e. my fault because I did not know) and stating that I still owed the $139.97 and all subsequent charges because I was "still under obligation," although she had a copy of my cancellation form in front of her.

I hung up, totally frustrated and in complete disbelief. Complaint Against ** and ** (managers at Dundalk Gold's Gym): I informed ** in the middle of June that I was going to be overseas for a few months and asked her whether I could put a freeze on my membership. She said yes. I told her, in person, that I would be gone July, August, and September. On September 27, I sent her an email to confirm my membership freeze. (email attached).

I checked my account during the first week of August and noticed that my account had been charged a monthly fee for July and August ( i.e. no freeze was put on my account). On August 14, 2008, I emailed ** again, asking her what was wrong and to take care of the problem. (email attached). ** did respond, claiming that she would "be back in touch with me Monday [sic] to let me know how they plan to resolve this issue for me." She never got back to me.

As an aside, I asked ** in an August 15 email if she had any suggestions as to what recourses or actions I could take regarding the monthly membership fee owed me by the Rockville gym, as Customer "Care" and ** (manager at Rockville) were either too lazy or did not feel it worthwhile to respond to my emails. Again, I received no response from **. I guess it was not her problem.

On September 17, 2008, I sent ** yet another email regarding my membership freeze because I had just been charged for September. (email attached). ** did not respond, but her colleague, ** did. (email attached). ** said that she had refunded my account for September and had put a freeze on my account.

On September 19, 2008, I emailed ** and thanked her. I also told ** about my problem with owing the Rockville gym $139.97 and asked her if she had any suggestions as to what recourse I could take, as Customer "Care" did not care and ** (manager at Rockville) did not bother to respond to my emails. Not surprisingly, ** did not respond. I guess it was not her problem either.

On October 15, 2008, I had to write yet another email to ** and ** informing them that I was still owed money for July and August. Apparently ** (my initial point of contact at Dundalk) did not follow through and tell ** (who was supposed to refund my money) this or ** did not read any of my many emails that ** (the initial manager) claims she forwarded to ** (the person in charge of billing), which clearly stated that I required a refund for July and August and not just September.

In sum, **, I am owed $139.97. Rather, my father is owed that amount because he had to pay it while I was overseas, fearing that the collection agency would ruin my credit. I also believe, as did ** and ** (managers at Rockville), that I am owed $39.99 from Rockville for a month's membership that I overpaid.

I also want to formally file a complaint against ** (Rockville manager) for not bothering to respond to my emails. Because he did not take the time to address my issue and help me resolve it, I have wasted a lot of time and money. Perhaps ** was too "busy" and thought that I would just go away if he ignored the issue. Perhaps most people do go away. A manager needs to have some work ethic and sense of responsibility.

** and ** (managers at Dundalk) need to follow up on issues. If something is still wrong after a couple of months, they need to follow through on the issue and make sure it is resolved correctly. They also need to update customers on what is going on, especially when they say they will give the customer an update. I have been running after ** and ** for four months, trying to get them to email me back about my issue. Sometimes they have, only after I nag them enough. They should take the initiative to follow up and communicate with me what is going on. Why am I the one begging them to fix a problem for four months?

** was gracious enough to offer me two free months membership for all of my troubles. However, I canceled my membership today and will not be needing those two free months. I must say that ** and ** have been better in the last few days in emailing me and letting me know what is going on (probably realizing that I will not go away and am annoyed). Although I think they could have done a better job the last few months of following through on this issue and keeping me updated, it seems that the real problem lies with Gold's billing office.

The problem, however, lies not just with ** (managers of Gold's). Customer "Care" at Gold's is a joke. I call up a representative, **, and am told that, although Gold's employees have made a mistake, I am the one that has to pay. That is ridiculous. What kind of business is run like that?

These are not isolated incidents. It seems many people have had issues with Gold's Gyms' billing policies. See **. I am also going to add "my 3 cents" to that website. My impression is that once Gold's has your credit card number, the customer service stops. The overbilling occurs and most people probably just pay it to forgo the hassle of dealing with managers who don't care or don't know what to do and a Customer "Care" department that washes its hands of matters. I have been a member of Gold's for many years in PA, D. C., and MD. However, I will never join Gold's again. I will never recommend it.

I am sure all of these people are nice, sweet individuals. However, I am spent countless hours writing emails, making phone calls (some international calls), and hours driving back and forth from Baltimore to Rockville, taking care of these various issues. There is a systemic problem of lack of customer service. Managers need to address issues that their customers bring up instead of ignoring them, hoping the customer and the problem will just go away.

Customer "Care" needs to care and make an effort to resolve an issue rather than just shrugging their shoulders and saying that the customer will continue to get billed unless the customer takes the time to fix a problem caused by Gold's employees. Furthermore, managers need to do what they say, i.e. email a customer back when they say they will and follow through on something until the issue is completely and correctly resolved. I understand people can make mistakes.

However after numerous emails from a customer regarding an issue and the issue is ignored or not properly addressed, it is no longer an honest mistake or an oversight. It is just incompetence and/or laziness. **, please inform me what actions you are going to take regarding this email, most importantly regarding the money that I am owed. Attached are my Rockville cancellation form and my Dundalk membership form that ** said she required to transfer my Rockville account to Dundalk (back in June - but for some reason the D.C. Alliance Transfer Form was not used then).

     
Replies
Fools Gold
By -

Just try to quit and the cut-throats at ABC Financial will insist and not only 30 days notice but also a CERTIFIED LETTER. Good grief, whatever happed to that cheerful membership coordinator at your neighborhood Gold's. If you don't comply, ABC threatens to send your account to collection, or maybe recruit some meaty dudes from the free-weights area.

     
Replies
Revolt!
By -

I signed up at the Gold's Gym in North Las Vegas off the 215 in July of 2009. I was laid off within weeks of joining. From August through Dec of 2009 I worked in Arizona for family and in late December 2009, I moved to to Oregon, near Portland. There is no Gold's ANYWHERE near where I live. Before I left Vegas for the last time, I informed them I was moving but was told I had to provide utility bills from my new residence to prove I wasn't going to be in Vegas. How could I? I hadn't moved yet.

I tried contacting them when I got to Oregon but when I called corporate, they said I had to deal directly with the manager of the Gym I joined-in Vegas. I then attempted to call them ( on more than one occasion ) but whenever I would call, the manager was not in. It became such a hassle that it was simpler to move all my recurring debits and bills from my main account to a new account and close the account that Gold's was billing every month. That was finally done in August of 2010. I had paid 32.99 a month from January through August.

Gold's doesn't cancel your membership under the pretense that they don't REALLY know where you live, however, in September, I received a bill in OREGON, NOT FORWARDED, but addressed to my Oregon address, from Golds. They knew exactly where I was and were under no illusions that I still lived in Las Vegas. Soooo, I calculated the months that I paid them 32.99 per and figured that the 263.92 was sufficient to cover not only the one month notice but also the 100.00 cancellation fee. I would not argue with them over the additional money I paid.

I even tried one more time to contact the gym in Vegas but AGAIN, the manager was not available. I decided it wasn't my duty to chase them down. They have a duty as well. The corporate office called me and informed me that I was past due, I told the gal my situation and when she did the predictable " you signed a contract.." bit, I requested a copy.

It says" If member changes permanent residency to over 25 miles from the Club, and is unable to transfer to a comparable facility, such Member shall be relieved from the obligation of making payment for services other than those received prior to the move, provided Member supplies proof of new residence." -There is no stipulation about when proof is provided and so I am sending them a request for the moneys paid beyond my move.

Meanwhile, I received a call from a collection agency today. Now it's going to get interesting. Anyway, until people quit being paranoid about their credit scores and simply walk away or better yet make monetary demands against Golds, they will continue to abuse consumers. We are paying for A SERVICE. If it isn't provided, they have NO RIGHT TO OUR MONEY. It's in their contract. When they pull this **, ask them to send you the contract you signed. You will see.

     
Replies
Scammers Who Want Your Money!!! Must Read!
By -

In April of 2010, I got a flier for a 7 day free trial for Gold's Gym. I decided to do the free trial since I wanted to start working out again. When I arrived at the gym in Culver City, CA and they persistently begged me to join a membership with them. I am a current college student with no job, so I was hesitant about signing up. However, the representative told me that he would lower the price to only $39 a month for 1 whole year. He also informed me that if I get 3 people to sign up with them, I would only be charged $39 for the first 3 months of signing up, and then I would get the rest of the year for free.

That seemed like a great deal to me at the time, so I went ahead and signed up. The manager of the store named ** came into the room and confirmed everything that the representative had said. My best friend was in the room and heard everything that they had said and told me. They told me to sign on the computer, whoever, they didn't verbally tell me what I was signing. All they told me is that this was my "verification paper", printed it out, and immediately put in a folder. They gave me the folder and sent me on my way. I put the folder on my shelf and never thought much of it.

The next day, I got my best friend, mother, aunt, and sister to sign up too, which meant that over three people had joined and the manager, **, had told my mother, aunt, and me that I indeed get the pay three month/rest of the year free deal.

After the third month, I was happy because I didn't have to pay anymore. However, a few days ago, I noticed that the gym had charged me for this month, which is August. I was confused because this was supposed to be my first free month. I called the gym and told them about the matter. They then told me that they said that if I get three members to join, I would pay a whole year and get another year free! That was NOT what they said to me!!!! I even have WITNESSES who heard them tell me about the pay three month/rest of year free deal!!!! They them told me to check my "contract".

First of all, when I signed up, they NEVER went over the contract with me. They didn't even take the liberty to inform me that that was a CONTRACT. They just threw a printed out paper and threw it in a Gold's Gym folder and gave it to me. I looked at the paper and sure enough, in small writing, it said REG MIN: 11. What was that supposed to mean anyway!!!

It makes me FURIOUS to know that they purposely NEGLECT to talk to you about the contract. It also baffles me how they lie to their customers and how they lack to explain EVERYTHING. They are true scammers and they don't give a damn about their customers. All they care about is money and that's it! I am determined to fight them on this and if anyone wants to join me in this fight, them please contact me. It's time that these FRAUDS pay for devious ways!

     
Replies
Con Artists!
By -

CEDAR CITY, UTAH -- My mother was approached by the local marketing representative for a Gold's Gym box in her store; the Flying J on 200 N. The marketing guy named ** told her she would be eligible for 3 months free membership called the "box membership". She told him that she liked the current gym she went too but I (her daughter) would like to do the box membership. So I went in and told ** that I would like to sign up for the 3 free month box membership and that the box was in my mother's store. She continued to talk to me about random things such as the daycare program and tanning, but I am currently 8 months pregnant and was 4 months at the time of our meeting.

So therefore I did not have a child yet and obviously couldn't go tanning. After a half an hour of random useless chatter she then asked me for my billing info and I once again made myself clear and told her that I did not want a membership I just wanted to do the 3 free months. She told me that in order to get my Gold's card she needed me to sign a contract and receive my billing info but I would not be charged.

Which I later found out that she didn't even have me sign the right contract, she had me sign a full contract for 2 years without my knowledge. I had made myself perfectly clear that I did not want to pay any money and that I could not afford to have a gym membership, I just wanted the box membership.

So now 3 months later 27 some odd dollars was taken out of my checking account. I called the billing number that was listed on my bank statement and they looked up my account and told me that I had signed a full 2 year contract. So my husband called the local gym and asked to talk to ** and she refused his phone call and had my husband talk to the receptionist, who was actually very wonderful to us and she is the only one I can say that about. He told her our story and she couldn't believe it so she told him to have me come down to the gym and to bring my mom.

So we went down to talk to them and she told us that ** would not come out of her office to confront me, but that this other man would try to help me. All he did was tell me that he can show me what I signed and that there was nothing he could do and that ** is their number 1 sales representative and would never lie or con someone into a contract. Then he topped off the conversation by lying to me and telling me that ** was not in today but he could go talk to **. After he left the receptionist told us that ** would not come out of her office and that we should just walk in there if we wanted to talk to her.

So he then comes back out of ** office, not **, and tells us that there is nothing ** can do about it and that I need to call corporate. So my mom then walked into her office and confronted her while I stayed out and talked to the very unprofessional manager, who continued to tell me I needed to call the main office and that ** was great and that she didn't do anything wrong. After we finally left that ridiculous place I then sat on the phone for 4 hours and left numerous messages on answering machines until I finally got through to someone.

All he could tell me was that the good news is that my contract says Box Membership at the top but he needs to have his supervisor overlook it. Crazy enough the supervisor is never there and he has called 2 days in a row now to tell me that she is not in at the moment, and now she will not be in until Monday.

I am completely irate with the way we have been treated by this company. I obviously was way too trusting with this ** girl and I just assumed that after she had heard me say several times that I didn'€™t want a membership I just wanted the 3 free months that that'€™s what she would have had me sign up for. Instead she took complete advantage of me and conned me into a 2 year agreement just so that she could make her commission for the day!

My husband and I have tried to be patient and we even called our local gym once more today (6-8-2010) to see if there was anything they could do for us one more time before we were forced to contact the Better Business Borough. The manager was completely rude and didn'€™t even try to help at all, he continued to stick up for ** and not pay any attention to the things my husband was trying to tell him. He told him he didn'€™t care if we contacted the Better Business Borough and then got off the phone with us. After seeing your score with the Business Borough I can understand why he didn't care. It really can'€™t get much worse than an F.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >