Preview Review

Next Review

Gold's Gym International, Inc Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Unable to Cancel Membership Due to Relocation
By -

SILVER SPRING, MARYLAND -- I signed a contract on 4/15/2007 with Gold's Gym of Silver Spring, MD. I purchased a home in Frederick, MD 47.92 miles from the Silver Spring Gold's Gym on August 31, 2007. I telephoned the gym and spoke with a gentleman who identified himself as Eric and asked him what I needed to do to cancel my membership. He said I simply needed to come by the gym and bring a piece of mail with my new address on it. I went to the gym on Friday, September 28, 2007 and brought my change of address from the post office as well as some new checks with my new address and copy of a statement from the Title Company from the day I purchased my home. I spoke with the manager Justin at the front desk. Justin said that the only proof they would accept is a driver's license with my new address. I explained that this does not make sense since if your license is not expired DMV will simply give you a form that you put in your wallet with your new address. They do not issue new licenses and even if they did what would they do for someone who does not have a license.

He said he did not care and the only thing he would accept is a driver's license. I went to the Gold's Gym in Laurel, a franchise which is owned by the same owner of the Silver Spring location and they told me that they accept a change of address form from the post office (which I tried to provide Justin at the Silver Spring location), a utility with your new address, or a driver's license with your new address.

The staff at the laurel location canceled my membership and made a copy of my change of address form from the post office. I went back to the Silver Spring location to confront the manager and he said it did not matter that the location at Laurel said they canceled my membership, because I did not join at that location although it is its sister location.

Justin claims I can only cancel at the Silver Spring location with a new driver's license which I do not intend to obtain since it is not required by the State of Maryland.

Replies
Advertisement
Contracts
By -

HERNDON, VIRGINIA -- I have been a member of Herndon/Reston/Clocktower Gold's Gym in Virginia. I had been considering renewal and went in there on 3/21/2006 to do that. I signed a contract for 16 months membership, paid up front, for $460.

Today I received a call from another sales person that that are not going to honor the contract that I signed and paid for. He said that they are only going to make the membership good until 4/21/2007 (instead of 7/21/2007 which is what is written on the contract) and that he said he was going to change the contract to only 13 months at the same rate of $460.

I told him that this was not what I signed for and paid for. He started yelling at and berating me on the telephone because his sales person made a mistake and "I should have known that was not the offer" and that *I* was taking advantage of the club by accepting, signing for and paying for the membership. He continued to berate and yell at me on the phone, would not let me speak or listen to anything that I said.

I have never been treated with such anger, disrespect, rudeness and callousness from a customer service organization. I had to disconnect the telephone to get him to stop yelling at me, the customer.

Another manager called me and once again told me that he would not honor the contract that I signed and paid for.

I do not think that he should be taking his anger at his employee out on me. And then try to renege on a contract that is signed and paid for.
Please assist with this issue. I would like to keep working out with Golds but do not appreciate this "bait and switch" tactic that has been used and also that the person treated me so rudely.

Replies
Billing issues
By -

I purchased a trial membership in Gold's Gym, Arlington, VA in March 2008 and paid by credit card. I cancelled the trial membership in August of 2008 and subsequently credit charges ceased. My last payment to the Gold's Gym was August 25, 2008. I used Gold's Gym facilities 2 times only in March 2008. Sometime in 2010 the relevant credit card expired, no additional charge for Gold's gym appeared before the expiration of the credit card with which I made original payment. On August 2, 2011 I received a letter from Gold's Gym claiming that I owed an additional $32.99 in charges.

On August 16, 2011 First Credit services, Inc. sent me a correspondence indicating that I was indebted to Gold's in the amount of $57.99. I contacted Gold's by phone and was told by one **, a Gold's employee that in fact I owed "hundreds of dollars" and that my payment of $57.99 would not be sufficient to eliminate my "debt".

On September 30, 2011 I received a new letter from First Credit Services indicating that I owed Gold's Gym $267.92. All the correspondence actually asked for new credit card information, savings or checking account numbers noting that Gold's had tried to run the charge described in their correspondence of August 2, 2011 through the credit card I had paid my 2008 invoices with. They are aggressive on the collection effort which may or may not be based on some cancellation fee that Gold's gym never invoiced me for.

On the other hand since this was a "trial membership" a cancellation fee would be poor business practice. The telephonic claim of much larger additional debt may be a collection scare tactic, an employee mistake, or part of a scam to collect additional charges since 2008. Is a complaint to the Virginia State Police Economic Crimes Unit a consideration? Many people suggested that we should get together for a class action lawsuit.

Replies
Golds Gym Magnolia - Horrible Customer Svc, a real nightmare!
By -

MAGNOLIA, TEXAS -- I was working right down the road and stopped in one day to find about about a membership so that I could work out on my lunch breaks. I told the guy that because I lived so far I was not interested in signing a contract. He said that he would put me under a "corporate membership" so that if I ever left or lost my job that I would not be obligated to a contract.

Well now three months after losing my job and submitting the paperwork that they requested to cancel, they continue to go back and forth, one minute telling me there would be no problem cancelling, and the next speaking with someone else telling me they will not be allowing me out of my contract. And forget about getting anyone to actually return your calls, I have now made trips up there the last two weeks in a row because I could not get one single person to return my phone calls, even after ten consecutive days of leaving messages. And when you do manage to call enough times to catch someone they are extremely rude.

THEY WILL LIE, cheat and tell you anything to get your signature and then their relationship with you is over. Other than the phone call 2-3 times per month asking me if I ever received a guest pass for a free week to come check out their club - HELLO, they still haven't managed to figure out that I have been a member now for the last 6 months because apparently they don't care.

Once they get you in the door, any customer service or effort goes out the door! Oh, and as an added warning to mothers, the child care hours are virtually non-existent during the day, which renders a membership completely useless to those of us that have kids at home. Anyway, I hope by sharing this that it will help others to not to get suckered by these awful people and their substandard excuse for a gym.

Replies
Advertisement
Gold's Gym - East Hartford, CT
By -

EAST HARTFORD, CONNECTICUT -- This review is specifically for the Gold's Gym in East Hartford. I have gone to the other Gold's locations that are near the area and found that this location does not compare to any of them. Because I live about 5min or less driving distance from this location I joined. I would not recommend this place to anyone! The cardio machines are always down, they're outdated with the exception of a couple of badly needed new machines. I found another gym to go to and they ran a scam where I was not able to cancel within my 30 days. I came to Gold's Gym to cancel my membership in early September.

I read my membership form and wrote out a cancellation letter knowing that I had already signed up for another gym. I went to the East Hartford Gold's Gym and met with the counter guy (I didn't get his name which was mistake #1). This guy told me to come back on my anniversary date which he stated was the 26th of September and that I didn't need my cancellation letter. We'll this didn't make sense but I did what he said and I found out later that this was false and the reason I was told to come back later was so they could charge me their $29 yearly fee on top of another monthly membership fee.

The manager ** was no help claiming that if I didn't have a name of who I spoke to he has no way of helping me. Why would I make this up?! I explained to ** that I had already signed up with another gym what reason would I have to continue with Gold's. It would make sense for me to show up early to cancel I don't want to be paying for two gym memberships. WARNING TO ALL - this place is shady. The place does not compare to any of the other Gold's Gyms in the area and the people here are unprofessional and are looking to take whatever they can get from you! Read more: **.

Replies
Lack of information, and hidden fees when signed up
By -

LOS ANGELES,CA, CALIFORNIA -- When me and my boyfriend wanted to try the "free 7 days trial" we were told we can cancel it anytime if after 7 days we decided not to keep it. So due to busy schedule we cancel the membership, and ** (the guy I did the paper work with) said he's going to put our membership on hold for three months and when we're more comfortable with our schedule we can always call back in August to let them know if I want to continue or not, we can cancel anytime without any obligation. I thought that was a good plan. Later I found out I'm being charged $7 a month for every month my membership is on hold. I didn't care it was only $7.

Then in beginning of July my back statement said I was being charged by Gold's Gym and so did my boyfriend's. We tried to call and speak to Henry but the receptionist kept saying we have to come in for that. I was disappointed in them for false information and trust with my credit card, and that is the main reason of me really wanted to cancel at this point. So we went to the gym to cancel the membership and Henry didn't know what to do the manager just told him to put us on the 30 days notice so we won't get charged. And so I let the charge of July go through, didn't want to argue with them since I can't get the money back anyway.

So thought everything was settled and before leaving we asked them "So we're not going to be charged anymore after this month?" and we were told NO. Now this month is August my bank statement said me and my boyfriend are being charged again. I called them and all the manager said was I can't tell who's telling the truth who's not, I can only according to paper work, and here it says your last due date is 08/01. WHAT THE EFF is that?? This is the reason why I would NEVER come back to ANY of their gyms, and would make sure everyone I know who wants to go to the gym hear this story.

And after all what I hate the most about this place is their way of telling us about the membership, the way they work, their communication with their clients. I don't know what to call these people, liars, not honest enough, or not trustworthy ????? But if you think you're getting some type of deal, discount, or anything sounds good to your ears, IT'S NOT!!! Double check, triple check, Please for your own good. I am a victim and this is a true story of my first GG's experience and I am above PISSED!!!

Replies
Bad Service
By -

MISSOULA, MONTANTA -- I have been a member of different Gold's Gym locations for about twelve years and in my opinion I have never dealt with a more incompetent group of people than management and ownership at the Missoula, Montana location. I cancelled my membership in October giving thirty days notice to the manager in writing. Apparently that notice was lost as my membership was not cancelled even though I had opened a new membership at a different Gold's in another state.

So I realized I was being charged for two different gyms and called the manager. I explained the situation and she said she didn't know anything about me giving notice. I told her I gave it to the other manager and that perhaps he had misplaced it. I asked to speak to the owner and was told he would call me. She also said she would cancel my membership and I asked her to send me notification of cancellation to my e-mail which she agreed to do.

Two weeks later I still hadn't heard back from her. No e-mail confirmation, no call from the owner and no call back from her despite leaving two voicemails at her office number. I finally got a hold of her only to be told that she lost my e-mail address and she was just waiting for me to call back (despite leaving my hone number on the two voicemails. She went on to say that were not going to refund my overcharges and that I should feel lucky that they cancelled my membership without notice (again, I had given notice back in October). She also told me that I would never see a cent and then hung up on me.

As mentioned earlier I have been a member of Golds Gym for a long time and I have never been treated like this. I was not surprised when I googled Gold's Gym Missoula for user reviews and found out all the reviews were really bad and that all had the same complaints about billing practices.

I have never had an experience like this with any Gold's Gym or other gym for that matter. I travel a lot and have used gyms all over North America and this is by far the worst I have ever dealt with. I would strongly suggest to anyone looking for a gym in Missoula, Montana that in my opinion, they should look at the YMCA or any other gym and save yourself a tremendous amount of unnecessary grief and stress.

Replies
Billing
By -

NEED TO READ THIS. I am an employee of Golds so let me help you understand. Golds is an OK place to work while going to school but if you are looking for a career go elsewhere. BILLING seems to be a big complaint on here so let me tell you why all of you are getting know where when changing credit cards. Some of the employee like the front desk and management get a bonus for collecting money that is past dues.

So do you really like they are in a hurry to fix your credit card? The only person in the gym making any money is the GM and the sales staff. The Operations Manager, the front desk and the kids club employee could all be on welfare. While the GM and the Sales staff are racking in the money some making 100,000 dollars a year the Operations manager and the other staff is making min wage or just a little higher. So, of course they are trying to pick up a little extra any time they can.

As to cancelling your memberships let me explain why you are having a hard time. When a gym has x amount of people ending their memberships the GM loses part of his bonus. So, of course they will drag it out as long as possible. Do not get upset at the Front Desk employees or the Operations manager for trying to make a little more money after all they have kids to feed. If you want to get pissed get pissed at the GM or Golds corp.

After all those are the ones that not only screw over there employees but they are the ones that have caused this problems. You cannot crap on your employees and expect them to be full of smiles everyday and pass up on being able to feed there kids.

Replies
Advertisement
To Everyone Who Hates Gold's Gym!
By -

CEDAR CITY, UTAH -- This message is to everyone who is totally against Gold's Gym. There are SO many people out there who complain about Gold's and how they "screw people over". People walk into the gym with this idea in their heads that they are sort of interested in joining.

But when the salesman gets to the price, the potential buyer gives every excuse in the book not to make a commitment to develop a healthier lifestyle. They have problems with the contract, and problems with the price. WAKE UP PEOPLE! Fitness is a lifetime commitment anyway! People who are really serious about changing their life and getting serious about their fitness have NO problem committing to a year or two. The people that get mad about it are the ones that are setting themselves up for failure.

To all these people who talk about getting screwed over: Don't sign something you don't read, then blame the person who is doing their job! I talk to SO many people during the day at my job, at the gym, that waste my time. We don't sell memberships. We sell fitness. We sell a healthier lifestyle. Why are people so against this just because us (as salesmen) get a commission as reward for giving someone the opportunity to better their life?!

Have you ever noticed that the people who sign up, use the gym, and get results are the ones that NEVER get "Screwed" by Gold's Gym? It's only the ones who aren't serious about it in the first place. Don't go into the gym semi-interested in joining. Go in there ready to hit it hard; ready to get healthy.

Gold's Gym has been around for over FORTY years. Obviously we're not in the business of screwing people over. We change lives. Flakes and lazy people look for reasons to blame us for their failures. Wake up and make the commitment to do something about your health. And as for the price being too high?? Eighty cents a day is too much?! Twenty Seven dollars a month is too much to prolong your life and get rid of depression, and skeletal problems?

People spend thousands of dollars for a quick fix like a boob job, or a nose job. Yet 27 dollars a day is too much to keep yourself out of the hospital and lower your prescription bills? Ha-ha. I'm just glad that I'm one of the smart ones that knows the importance of working out and keeping fit. My health is worth hundreds and more a month to me. But that's just me. ;-)

Replies
Payment Of Services After Contract Ends
By -

OREM, UTAH -- I was hopeful about my experience with Gold's Gym when I first signed my contract. During the 2 years that I had my contract, the gym was accommodating and resourceful regarding the workouts I needed to do. However upon the contracts end, I found that it's easier to run a marathon than to get out clean. When I signed the contract, I specifically asked the representative if there was anything that needed to be done to end the contract properly. He told me that when the time ran out I wouldn't have to do anything, and the contract would end. I found out (in the end) that the contract is “built” to automatically renew, by a 30 day month to month sub contract.

The only way to avoid this is to actually check mark a certain box in the contract before you sign it that states (exactly word for word including bold and caps) “This agreement is NON-RENEWABLE if this box is checked.” Most people looking at this see the non-renewable but don't see the other text.

In not checking the box the contract will auto renew. I also have a “feeling” that the majority of people don't want an automatic renewal when they sign the contract at the beginning otherwise they would just simply sign a longer contract, right? Normally if people want to continue, they'll just simply sign another contract at the end. Unfortunately, that's not the way it's written in gold's gym's contract.

My contract ended Jan 5, 2009. I just got a notice in the mail on March 18th, 2009 (2 and a half months later) that I now owe gold's $298.92 including taxes and fees. My monthly charge was $50.99. I had automatic withdraw, and nothing says in my bank that someone tried to charge my account.

No fees were assessed to or from my bank, no one called me, no one mailed a letter… until March 18th. Now I owe almost three hundred dollars. What's worse, I haven't used their facility since December. I wished I'd known then I wouldn't have been running in the cold, wet & snowy weather during the winter.

Bottom line, the person who wrote the Gold's gym contract did this to manipulate your decision for the future with auto renewal, and with the way that it's written in the contract; very few people will notice it. If you ONLY just sign and date where you need to, be prepared to have a contract that doesn't end, along with your insanity.

Company Response 03/31/2009:

We actually include the AUTO-RENEWAL in an effort to help our members. Most people, if not everyone, aren't ready or don't want to sign a whole new 2 or 3 year contract when their original contract runs out. Instead of saying, "OK, your contract is up - you must either cancel or sign up for another 2 or 3 years," we let the membership roll into a month-to-month status.

The contract itself is one page and the language is as clear as can be. No confusing jargon, no double-talk, no hidden crap. It takes about 15 minutes to completely read and understand it.

We have no reason or impetus to manipulate our members into staying with us. We're the biggest and best gym in the state. We try to put out an incredible product and hope that people want to stay with us. Most of them do. We have no reason to cajole or trick anyone into retaining a membership with us - that's just poor customer service and flat out wrong.

What the original sales person originally told this customer was exactly right - the contract ended on January 5th, 2009 without this customer needing to do anything. Many, many of our members enjoy the flexibility that the month-to-month option of that the auto-renewal affords them. At any time they can call our corporate office, fax or email a cancellation form, and end their membership. We see it as a great benefit to our members.

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Gold's Gym International, Inc Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 6 ratings and
106 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Gold's Gym International, Inc
125 E. John Carpenter FWY, Suite 1300
Irving, TX 75062
310-392-3005 (ph)
310-452-3269 (fax)
www.goldsgym.com
bpeek@goldsgym.com
Compare Health/Fitness Companies