Good Feet - Page 3

Star Star Half star Empty star Empty star
2.4 out of 5, based on 76 ratings and
101 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Mass Produced Orthotics For An Astronomical Price
Posted by on
FRESNO, CALIFORNIA -- I have chronic foot pain, and wear orthotics. Mine were custom made a few years ago and are getting worn out. I went to Good Feet store at a shoe salesman's suggestion. As it turns out, they sell mass produced orthotics for an astronomical price. The salesman took an imprint of my shoe, acted very knowledgeable, threw out some terms about my food pronating, etc. He then got me a handful of orthotics matched one to what I already had in my shoe, and stuck it into my shoe. He told me it was 189$ !...and when his I told him that my custom made orthotic had been made for much less just 5 years ago, he gave me some song+dance about it having been 'so long ago', etc. Since I needed them, I bought them. Soon, in a few hours, my feet started hurting badly. I went to return them, and, well - you guessed it - they do not take them back as they have been 'custom fitted'. That is a lot of non-sense. These plastic ortotics are probably made in China for 1$ each, and are hugely marked up. This is probably the most expensive piece of plastic you can buy ! I realized that I could have gone to a podiatrist and he/she would have custom made these + insurance would have covered (some of) the cost of the podiatrist visit. Plus, there are online stores that actually custom make orthotics for much less. What makes these salesmen qualified to 'fit' these orthotics?? As it turns out - 1 week of training in the subject.

Probably enough to learn some technical terms to impress people. Avoid this store !!!
     
Read 4 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Alain on 09/14/2010:
I agree with you and thanks for a good review.
LenaSunShine on 09/14/2010:
Thanks for that review.
estockover on 08/04/2013:
Good feet training is to dupe and fast talk a customer into paying for something that is not refundablebeven if you did not open or wear the product.
So report to BBB and your Attorney General of your state to investigate their polices and what constitutes fraud.
sam on 11/21/2013:
I was SO duped by the sales lady that I'm embarrassed. It has to do with purchase of the orthotics. I do love the Naot shoes that The Good Feet stores sell, but that is it. I went through the same walking on paper to see my foot print, she whips out TWO orthotics and says I have to use one before the other for "strengthening"(bs)...one cost me $200 and the other $300 and she 'threw in' a dern insole that I later noticed she charged me $20. Between that and buying a pair of Naot my tab was $770!! I failed to ask about return policy and now see that you cannot return. Does anyone know if the BBB is the way to go with making a report? I'm guesssing I should start first with trying to return them...especially since they hurt my feet. Additionally, I just saw a podiatrist who said he was so happy when the Good Feet store moved out of our town and that he gets countless complaints about them.
Any suggestions would be appreciated. I don't have that kind of money and especially when the orthotics hurt as they do.
Close commentsAdd reply
Great way to lose a lot of money
Posted by on
DENVER, COLORADO -- I spent nearly $600 on the support system and must admit: it was a complete waste of time and money. The system consists of three pairs of el-cheapo plastic inserts, a couple of foam shoe cushions, and some velcro.

I was told the products were guaranteed… GUARANTEED… to help improve my plantar fascitis.

I had to return to the store several times for different supports. Every time, the clerk gave me some song and dance about how the supports I’d been given were too big, too wide, too stiff (etc) and the previous clerk should have known better. One clerk would tell me to wear them for X-amount of time. The next clerk would say “No that’s wrong, they should be worn for Y-amount of time. The next clerk said they should be worn every other day. They didn’t have a clue what they were talking about and they all contradicted each other. Not only did the supports NOT help my plantar fascitis, they caused me quite a bit of foot/leg pain and I had to get chiropractic adjustments while wearing them.

Now, this is the gross part. All of the inserts that I was given had dirt marks, velcro backing adhesive, scratches, and scuffs of color from being worn in OTHER PEOPLE’S SHOES before being given to me!! Every single pair was dirty. I have pictures to prove it. GoodFeet insists they clean the inserts between customers, but obviously this is either a complete lie or a complete fantasy on their part. If you’ve ever seen them, you’d agree the inserts probably cost about $2 each to fabricate. The fact that they’re re-used between customers is a testament to GoodFeet’s ultracheap business practices and complete disregard for basic product quality.

After months of dealing with sales clerks that couldn’t give me the right inserts or tell me how to properly wear them, I gave up and asked to return the system. The store clerk very icily told me “we don’t do returns” then she turned her back and walked away from me. I followed her to the counter and informed her that they DID do them. It was very clearly noted when I was told they were guaranteed to work. She actually had to call a store manager at another location to check. Then she made me talk to that manager on the phone, who informed me they would not take back any of the cushions for hygienic reasons even though they were still sealed in their original packaging. She also informed me that there is a 30% standard “restocking fee” on returned inserts. She said this was consistent with places like Best Buy and Circuit City (she didn’t seem to understand that consumers have the opportunity to research electronics before buying them and they’re standardized by model… hardly the case with shoe inserts). So, do the math… 30% on $600 = $180 to take six dirty pieces of plastic back to the stock room before giving them to the next poor schmuck that walks through the door.

It took several weeks, three managers, numerous unreturned phone calls, and one special permission from the franchise owner to get the restock fee lowered to 15%. Better than nothing, I guess. It was the most frustrating customer service experience EVER! Of course, even with the adjustment, the refund could only be given in the form of a store credit. Great… $500 worth of really ugly and overpriced shoes… just what I needed.

What concerns me most about this company is their use of a trusted sports figure spokesman and their blatant targeting of senior citizens in their marketing. Every time I went in the store, there were senior citizens waiting to try the product, many of whom were on fixed incomes. PLEASE – if you read this, know that I am taking the time to write my experience so that you can protect yourselves and your loved ones from this horrible company. There is no way to know if the system will work for you until after you try it. And you have to buy it before you can try it. Once you buy it, it’s yours. I was told by one store manager that the inserts only work well for about 1 out of every 3 customers. It’s an expensive gamble and the odds are not in the consumer’s favor.
     
Read 5 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 10/29/2008:
I'm always puzzled when people will shell out $600 for something they can get from a Dr. Scholl's display. I'm also puzzled that they will pay $600 to a chuckle-head with no medical training, rather than consulting with a foot specialist like a podiatrist or orthopedic surgeon. Another 'one born every minute' solution...buy some 'Z-Coil' shoes! LOL!!!
gopackersgo on 01/06/2009:
I am an employee of good feet for the past eight years and I can only speak for our company but there is no pushing or promising of anything. The whole point of good feet is to try on different supports to see if YOU can tell if they make you feel better. Nobody knows how you feel but YOU. People are told of our policies up front but people are never stuck and we do free resizing and exchanging. I personally have told people to not buy them if they can't tell a difference. Our supports, the doctor's orthotics and pharmacy supports are all good but everyone is different from what might help them. We understand people are frustrated and have already spent a lot of money on shoes, inserts, etc.., but how many of those do get to try before you buy. Now add that money up. These supports will either help you or they won't. There is no magic tricks or promises. All we are trying to help people with pain, being we didn't give these people their problems. Almost everyone tells us that these won't help until they try them for themselves. Nobody will make you spend $600 or $1 unless you feel difference. We suggest a certain way to wear the supports but people can do what they want. For some it works great and for some they need to come and get others. I was a customer first and I didn't want supports let alone spend the money I did but I also didn't want to hurt either. I'm sure everyone wants eyeglasses too. I doubt they also want to spend the hundreds on those either but you do if you want to see. My advice is go the the store nearest you and try for yourself. If the supports make you feel better get them or don't but it is your pain. If it doesn't make you feel better DON'T buy them I don't know how easier we can make this process. I work at the Duluth, MN location and we have helped a lot of people feel better and I haven't performed a miracle before. I can't make them work, they either do or don't. But that is why we have so many arch supports, we are all different. Try them, you probably be surprised and again for free with no obligations.
catlover2 on 12/13/2009:
I wish I had read some of the reviews before throwing my money away. I was told to break the supports in over a three week period and they will feel much more comfortable!! Three weeks to break them in? Watch out for the sales people, they are pretty slick!
pinkpercolator on 09/17/2014:
Good Feet are very expensive. My feet hurt more wearing them in my shoes than without.
ANNOYED BUYER on 09/29/2014:
I have had my orthotics for a little more than a week (I know, not much time) - but my feet hurt so bad. I can hardly walk. I put them in all of my shoes and now the shoes don't fit well. Where am I suppose to find a shoe deep enough for the orthotic?

At the moment, I agree this has been a TOTAL WASTE OF MONEY!!
Close commentsAdd reply
Good Feet Supports - Great Product
Posted by on
DENVER, COLORADO -- I am sick of reading complaints on this company when it was the person who's writing the complaints own ignorance. I have good feet supports, I have also had custom fit orthopedics made buy a podiatrist. Good feet supports have made it possible for me to walk again!!!!

I have spent thousands of dollars on everything from surgeries, orthopedics, splints, boots, shoes, etc. all done by doctors that made my pain worse and unbearable. One of my doctors finally sent me to good feet. YES these are recommended by a lot of doctors, they are just not recommend by the ones who want to be the ones to take your money. If you wear a product for 2 months and its all scratched up what is the company supposed to do with that? That is why the product is NOT RETURNABLE which is only common sense!! I would have paid 10 times more than what I paid for these supports. They have improved my life tremendously!!!

In my opinion these supports and the people who fit them are a godsend. The people that complain twist things around to make others look bad and in my opinion they are just having buyers remorse and never gave the supports a good try. Next time read the information the store gives you to begin with before you make your purchase and you won't be so surprised later. Its your own fault when the store has the return policy posted for everyone to see, its on your receipt, and you sign paperwork acknowledging that you have read and understand. [snip - please be respectful of other members]
     
Read 3 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
49plymouth on 06/23/2010:
The overwhelming reviews of the Good Feet Stores have been negative, and with good reason. After reading these reviews I feel like the king of dupes. Most buyers got hit for around $550. They got me for three hundred more than that. It is easy to criticise buyers and their belated "remorse", but in desperation you will grasp at straws and hope for the best. Not only are these inserts obscenely overpriced but the salespersons is not medically trained. She spent all of about 15 minutes with me on my first visit. When I initially felt some relief, I thought this might be the soloution. I had reservations about the no money back guarantee, and in hind sight I should have walked out. On the second visit she spent less than 5 minutes with me and gave me a different set of the high inserts. A year later and my feet are in constant pain again. They have been getting progressively worse. My whole body aches.It is bit of a drive to the store but I will just have to continue to be a pest until I get some kind of satisfaction. The is a reason for their no money back guarantee. Almost every product today has at least a 30 day money back guarantee.
steve on 05/23/2013:
I am very happy with mine, been wearing my good feet arch supports about 10 years now. Products have a lifetime warranty, my doctor wanted to charge me $500 every year. Heck no! Arch supports to me are very personal and get ripped up fast and can not be resold, so I understand policy. If you bought a shirt at Macys for $150 and ripped it , they would not even let you return it for another one, they would just say you destroyed it so now it is yours,bye! Good feet will take back a used ripped up supportand give you another one. Peace!
John on 05/19/2014:
They replace your product? That's false. I used my "versatile" black insoles in my skateboarding shoes the second day I got them. They broke within the first twenty minutes. I went back TWO days after that which would make it FOUR days after the date of purchase and I was told, "sorry, we don't do refunds." I showed them the receipt and they told me it was my "one time free replacement." Next time they broke I was on my own to replace them. I specifically asked the girl in the Fort Collins store if I could get insoles that were a bit more flexible so they wouldn't break again. She told me she couldn't do that. About three months after I put my Good Feet insoles into my snowboard boots to relieve the knee pain from long days on the slopes. My first day with the insoles I tore my achilles. When I visited my physician and showed him the insoles he immediately told me the insoles were way to rigid to be doing active things in.I was told the insoles were designed to provide support when doing basic activities like walking but he wouldn't recommend doing any more than that in them. So not only am I out $500, I also got to spend my winter on the couch in a cast recovering from a torn achilles.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
One Happy Customer
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
MILWAUKEE/APPLETON, WISCONSIN -- I understand that not every product is good for every person, but I am really surprised to see so many bad reviews for a product that eliminated the shooting pain from a morton's neuroma on my left foot. On my first visit in 2003, my salesperson was courteous and professional. We discussed my foot issues and I was fit with a pair Max arch supports.

I have flat feet and had recently begun running. Shortly thereafter, I went to a podiatrist who diagnosed the painful neuroma. His suggestions were custom made, full-sole orthotics, cortisone shots or surgery. I opted for his orthotics (which were priced at $680 in 2003!) but found that they just didn't fit correctly, were really uncomfortable and did little to alleviate my foot pain. Faced with the two other options, I saw an ad for the Good Feet store and went the next day. The inserts they sell were definitely different from the Dr. prescribed ones I originally purchased and I was surprised at how this simple piece of arch raising plastic could do what the others could not.

The premise is quite simple: raise the arch of the foot sufficiently and this will remove the pressure from those parts of your feet that may be causing pain. In my case, using the insert along with a wide toe-box shoe created instant relief.

As I said in my opening paragraph, I purchased my first pair of inserts in 2003. At the time, I paid $269 for them (in addition to what I shelled out to the Dr). It is now 2014 and I have been wearing the inserts for 11 years. During that period of time, I have had them replaced 4 times (replacements cost $25). So if you do the math, it has cost me $33 per year for the past 11 years to own a product that saved me from surgery where the deductible for my health insurance alone would have far exceeded the $369 I paid in full.

Can't speak for anyone else, but for me...the Good Feet inserts really did change my life.
     
Add reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Thank You
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
OMAHA, NEBRASKA -- I started going to a Chiropractor back in 1978. I’m physically a big guy who enjoys being active and physical. When I was 32 I joined the US Army Reserves. While at Basic Training I excelled at all the PT, including the running which astounded the Drill Sergeants because I was 6’1” and weighed over 250#. At this time I worked construction while training and desiring to become a career firefighter.

Due to all the work and running for the Army Reserves I was going to the chiropractor 2-3 times per week on a walk-in basis depending on how I felt. And I always felt better or fixed when I left the chiropractor’s office. I had seen the Good Feet Store infomercials but didn’t think much of it because I could easily hold up to the various tests demonstrated on the TV show due to my muscularity.

Before the start of the Iraq Afghanistan War I was home on leave from training for the upcoming deployment and I stopped into my chiropractor to get a much needed adjustment. After the adjustment I said to him, “I’m not going to see you for over a year. There are no chiropractors in the Army. What am I going to do?” He told me to go to the Good Feet Store, take their tests, and get their inserts. It will put my feet in the right position. That will make a good foundation for my legs, hips, and back.

Well the next day I did just that and got 3 types of inserts. Two types of inserts that I switch back and forth from on a daily basis and 1 for exercise. I went on that deployment with no back issues. Also, I have since gone to Warrant Officer Candidate School which was like Basic Training on steroids, a second deployment, and have been hired as a career fire fighter with no back issues. That chiropractor lost a customer that day back in 2002 and I’ve not been back into a chiropractor office for an adjustment since then.

Yeah, the inserts were pricey on an upfront basis but I am money ahead and they have actually been cheaper over the years. Over 10 years for me. I have since bought extras to put into my bunker boots, both my career department pair and my volunteer department pair by paying for them w/ my Health Savings Account or Payflex.

Thank you Good Feet Store for keeping me working so I can provide for my family, help defend our country, and protect my community by keeping me working pain free.

Sincerely,

Tim J Trumble
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Paul on 10/25/2014:
Most of the reviews for this company are far unlike yours. It's great that you are happy, but many are not. I went to a podiatrist and got custom formed inserts, professionally fitted, for less that what people report paying at Good Feet, simply by paying cash. $350 instead of $650. I would highly advise people consider doing this before going to Good Feet and having less skilled people sell them an expensive off the shelf item that can't be returned and is less likely to work.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarStarStar
Positive Experience, Found Relief
Posted by on
Rating: 5/51
HOUSTON, TEXAS -- I stepped into the Houston store at the beginning of this Year (2014) a little skeptical about this product, I have seen the infomercial several times and I said to myself that I will give it a try. I was greeted by the personnel and Carlton offer me his help, he ask me several questions and the reason of me being there, I told him that I was having calf pains, knee pains and back pains, he asked about my job, I'm a machinist and stand on my feet for 12-14 hours a day, he recommended the whole system exerciser, maintainer and relaxer and he mentioned that if I was not satisfied or that the expected results were not there to bring them back and that he will change them until I will get the results meaning my pains and he mentioned that the products was warranty for life that will not have to pay for replacements any more, I left the store went back to work and follow his instructions to wear the arch supports, within a day or two I noticed the difference my knee and calf pain went away and then back felt better and I was able to work and walk a lot better and pains at all, I wanted to tried them also for running and again no knee or calf pain, I'm totally satisfied with the arch support, I recently went back and got an extra set of arches for my running shoes and also a replacement for my working shoes and at that time Carlton was there and he remembered me when I first came to the store and once again with the same friendly approach he took care of me and recommended to move up on my arch support for my working shoes. I would recommend anyone that suffers from aches and pains give it a try you will feel the difference I know. Alberto
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Kiss Butts in the Beginning, Rude Customer Service Afterwards
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
PORTLAND, OREGON -- In the store the inserts felt good. I was told to wear them for just a bit each day until gotten used to. When I checked out, after payment was made, she said they did not have my size that she fit me for but she had some that would work. Why could I not have the ones I wore in the store? Why did I not throw a fit, because I believed her, she is the professional. Well, in calling back and complaining, NOT one person in that store has good customer service. While trying on a lady walked in and was yelling how they were a rip off, I should ave walked out then. I walked in that store with tears in my eyes because of my hurting feet. I was under the impression they could help me. Boy was I wrong! I also had an issue with my card being declined for my second payment because it was a temporary. Every phone call I had with them about getting it resolved was very rude. I saved every message from them just in case needed. I am very disappointed!
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Good Feet Made My Plantar Fascitis Worse
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- I am on the same boat. My horrible plantar Fascitis pain took me in to the Good Feet store and at the moment that I tried the classic arch support I felt good and bought them for 300$ plus tax and 50$ for the insoles that goes on top and now that I'm stock with a store credit the insoles made my condition worse 1 week after having a shot of Cortisone. I was feeling 75% better from my pain before walking in the Good Feet store and 1 day later after buying their arch support my pain was like before the shot. 100% pain.

Thanks God that Cortisone shot on the plantar fascia last about a month working and in 2 days I was a lot better.

Educate yourself before walking in Good Feet. If you have plantar fascitis just get a pair of good shoes like SaS Or Propét and buy the POWERSTEP PINNACLE MAXX INSOLES and you will be thankful at the end when the pain disapear.it will take some ice and stretching of the plantar fascia so please educate yourself about it.

I learned the hard way!
     
Read 1 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Paul on 04/22/2014:
Or go to a real foot doctor. I have developed symptoms that appear to be plantar fascitis, and I will be seeing the guy who did a surgery on me for another foot condition to get his advice.
Close commentsAdd reply
StarStarStarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Good Feet is a Rip Off for Plantar Fasciitis
Posted by on
Rating: 3/51
FORT COLLINS, COLORADO -- I heard the ads and was told by a friend that Good Feet helped her knee pain, so I went in hopes of relieving my heel pain, which my doctor said was most likely plantar fasciitis. I was convinced by the salesperson I needed the whole package (all three really cheap plastic inserts) for $900. I knew it was a gamble and not an absolute guarantee that they would work, but I went for it anyway. Unfortunately trying the various inserts and getting refitted twice, the pain in my heel got worse, not better. I finally went to see a chiropractor for help, he said he sees a lot of people that went to Good Feet and found no relief. He said my issue was a tightness in my Achilles tendon and muscles in my calf and had nothing to do with my arches. He did some work on my calf and the pain was gone right away-no inserts! I am not saying that Good Feet inserts might not work for some people, but I highly recommend seeing an expert (doctor, chiropractor) before letting a salesperson at a store try to tell you what is wrong with your feet. And then spending a ridiculous amount of money ($900) on really cheap plastic inserts that are mass produced and probably cost $2 to make.

They do give store credit, but after all the "re-stocking fees" and what not, I will get to spend maybe $500 on overpriced ugly shoes. Not really how I want to spend my money.
Please, have your feet checked by an expert before giving this company any of your money.
     
Add reply
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
I Was Robbed
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
WEST ALLIS, WISCONSIN -- I went to the Good Feet store in hopes they could help me with my left heel pain. After standing on the ink blots he took my shoes (New Balance) into the back room and returned with my shoes minus my insoles and tried convincing me that I needed to buy their 2 pairs of arch supports for $700.00.
I asked several questions on warranty and if there was a money back guaranty. All he would say is that there is a lot that we can do but did not state what any of them were. But he did tell me that there was no money back guaranty.
After several attempts by me to let him know that these arch supports did not help but in fact seemed to make my problem worse I finally told him that I was done dealing with him and that I wanted my own insoles back.
Now remember earlier when I mentioned the name of my shoes? Every pair of New Balance t-shoes I have ever owned had either NB or New Balance written on the insoles. The insoles that he claimed were mine were blank. These shoes that I wore into their store were fairly new and should still have clearly marked. The color of them matched the trim of my shoes but they were not what I walked in their store with. At that point I felt that he was upset for not making the sale so he purposely switched my newer insoles for some older ones just for spite.
     
Add reply
Top of Page | Next Page >