GoRenter

2 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Lease-Purchase Contract
Posted by on
MARICOPA, ARIZONA -- We entered into a rent-to-own agreement with them in May 2006. Since then, they have harassed us with inspections of the property every 3 months. Our contract states they can enter to inspect twice a year. Furthermore, we have started financing of the house to purchase, and now they are nit picking us to terminate the contract on fabricated statements. If they find a way to do this, we will lose the $5000 we put down - and we will have to find somewhere else to live. In the last 2 weeks, they have said that we didn't pay rent or HOA fees. I have had to incur the cost of copies of cancelled checks to prove payment. Paid for them to send us 4 certified letters (at $35 each). And they are charging us $600 for late fees that didn't occur- since we made our payments and they didn't post them to our account until they received the copies of the cancelled checks. Now, we have 5 yorkies, and on Wednesday, 9-26-07, I had a discussion with them with them claiming we had 5 rottweilers. I thought that was settled when I offered them pictures of the dogs we have. Today, 9-29-07, I rec'd yet another certified letter from them stating that they are terminating our contract and would like us to move based on the fact that I now have a pit bull. I have never owned either a rottweiler or a pitbull.

These people are just scared that we are actually going to fulfill the contract and purchase the house, and they are going to lose their monthly service fees. If they succeed in getting us thrown out on the street, the previous owner gets to keep all of the money we have paid into it (to date, approx $17,000) and they can turn around and sucker someone else into this same contract, then turn around and keep doing this over and over again.

I would advise anyone to seriously reconsider entering into a contract with Home America or GoRenter.com. They just want your money - they don't really want you to have the house of your dreams.
     
Read 25 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
moneybags on 09/29/2007:
Immediately contact an attorney. Then file a formal written complaint with the State Real Estate Commission. This is really tacky. Take legal action and sue for "SPECIFIC PERFORMANCE!" Also, breach of contract and harassment for their untilely "inspections."
Timboss on 09/29/2007:
Do what moneybags says, immediately.
GothicSmurf on 09/29/2007:
I've always thought that the rent-to-own homes were the biggest scams ever. You end up paying more "rent" than the house is worth in the end.

Good luck.
ThinLazyAmerican on 09/29/2007:
I wouldn't want you in the property with that many dogs either and I would probably harass you because your dogs are pissing all over my investment.

You don't need that many dogs. Adopt a child instead. Help a human being in need.
DebtorBasher on 09/29/2007:
Good Post! I've thought about rent to own...but never went through with it. It just seemed like too big of a risk to me. I agree with MoneyBags contact an attorney right away...and good luck to you.
grandma005 on 09/29/2007:
A dog will never ask you to buy a car for them. A dog does not have to have designer jeans. And you will never have to pay for a wedding for a dog. Some people prefer dogs to children. Mind your own business. If they want to own five dogs then they have every right too. Maybe that is why they want to buy a house instead of renting. Where they went wrong is not buying a house in the first place. Rent to own homes are a scam. The owner of the house wants top dollar in rent money plus a huge deposit and they can always find a reason for not selling.
*Brenda* on 09/29/2007:
ThinLazyAmerican... you are an idiot.
old fart on 09/29/2007:
Grandma005... You are a hoot! Having had three kids of my own, I agree! I never had to buy my cat a prom dress...
grandma005 on 09/29/2007:
Right on! I have four children. They drained my husband and I of about half a million dollars, I figure that is about what the four of them cost us and even as adults they still drain me of money. Bad marriages, bad designs, divorce, grandchildren. The list goes on and there is no end till I am in my grave. And even then they will be fighting over what is left. And yes I do have a trust.
Anonymous on 09/29/2007:
Not as much as you, *Brenda*
old fart on 09/29/2007:
Granmda005.. My kids are in their 40's and I'm still bailing them out. the only satisfaction I have are the grandkids and the fact that when they put me in my burial urn there won't be diddly-squat to fight over!
grandma005 on 09/29/2007:
Parents of today complain about what kids cost. They have no idea that now is the cheapest their kids will be. They have no idea of what is in store for them as they become teenagers and adults.
*Brenda* on 09/30/2007:
Pirate, that's why I have 2 stars and you have 1... right?
Anonymous on 09/30/2007:
Do what moneybags advised. Sounds like you have done a good job keeping all of your records and have done your due diligence trying to work with them, now let an attorney handle it for you from here on out. Good luck and let us know how things go for you.
phoenix investor on 10/08/2007:
I am familiar with their contracts and much of what you say doesn't fit. First off, these guys make a huge commission if you buy (8% of the sales price). It would be stupid for them to run you off of a property.

Second, they make their monthly fees from the owner whether you are in the house or not.

Third, if you proved you made the payments and they posted them, they have probably also credited you the late fees. If not, then you need to keep after them until they do.

As to the rest... It sounds like they have been pretty sloppy with a lot of things but they will get killed in court if your side of the story is accurate. They can't evict you based on your version so don't worry about it. If your story doesn't hold water in front of the judge it shouldn't hold any here either.

Let us know if the eviction gets tossed out or if you do, then we will know for sure if you have been mistreated or not.
Anonymous on 11/07/2007:
On behalf of Home America Property Management, I offer the following rebuttal to the posting by Bonnie Thomas complaining of our company. Unfortunately, without the express written consent of Ms. Thomas, we are unable to respond to the specifics of her complaint without revealing private information from her file. We urge her to send us such written consent so we can respond in kind to her complaints, including the specifics that will show that there truly is another side to this story. That being said, following is a general response.

Our lease purchase contract does not limit inspections to only twice a year. Neither does the Arizona Residential Landlord Tenant Act. Rather, we are entitled to inspect any time we have reason to suspect a lease violation has occurred. Such information may come from neighbors, who have clear view of the dogs from time to time, or from other sources. It is our policy to send a letter when we suspect a lease violation has occurred. The tenant should respond to that letter with evidence supporting their position.

We are anxious for every lease purchase tenant to purchase the home. We receive a real estate commission if they do…and NOTHING if they don’t. In fact, for those tenants who pay their rent on time, we even credit anywhere from 50 to 100% of their rent toward the purchase. We want them to buy the home so bad that we put our money on the line to motivate them to clean up their credit (if needed), get financing and buy that home.

We do charge a $35 certified mail handling fee when we send out notices of HOA violations and rent due. We only charge that fee when the tenant has violated the agreement and we are required to send out such notices.

Ms. Thomas, we stand ready, willing, able and anxious to facilitate your purchase of this home from the owner. In fact, we have put thousands of dollars of our own money on the line to assist you in completing this purchase. We urge you to abide by the terms and conditions of your agreement to take advantage of this opportunity. We look forward to serving you through this process.
once bitten on 01/23/2008:
I have done a lease option with this company and you are wrong!!! The DO want you to exercise your option and buy the house, and here is why......
THEY MAKE A BUNDLE OF MONEY WHEN YOU BUY THE HOME BECAUSE THAT IS WHERE THEY RIP YOU OFF THE MOST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Read the contract there is no set purchase price. You buy the house for current market value, so you fix it up and keep it nice while the market appreciates for 2 years and then they get an appraisal and that is your purchase price. But wait there is more, THEY CHARGE YOU 3% COMMISSIONS TO PURCHASE THE HOUSE YOU HAVE BEEN RENTING FOR 2 YEARS!!!! BUT WAIT IT GETS EVEN BETTER.... YOU GET TO PAY ALL OF THE CLOSING COSTS!!!!! Add that up and you get to pay top market value as well as an ADDITIONAL 5% (approx) on top of that to purchase the house.

Check out the contract that is where they make the money because they also get 3-6% commissions from the owner of the home so they DO want you to purchase the home.

Report you complaints to the department of Real Estate along with the HUNDREDS ( no joking, check it out) of others who have done business with them. They were actuall Property Masters of America until they caught a bunch of heat about similar problems, then they became Home America until that company lost its repitation and now they are Gorenter.com because they needed a new name and a new face to do business under because they ran the last one in the ground.

DON'T BELIEVE ME??? CHECK IT OUT WITH THE BBB OR THE DEPARTMENT OF REAL ESTATE AND EVEN THE CORPORATION COMMISSION.

MARK bOSWORTH IS CURRENTLY UNDER INVESTIGATION WITH THE DEPARTMENT OF REAL ESTATE AS WELL AS THE ATTY GENERAL FOR FRAUDULENT PRACTICES LIKE THIS, IN FACT HE JUST LOST A 16 MILLION DOLLAR LAWSUIT TO AN OWNER HE SCREWED. CHECK IT OUT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Simplyme on 04/07/2008:
We are going through this right now too. They refuse to give us our property. They have changed the locks and even though they are unavailable to let us in to get our stuff that are demanding $40 a day they won't even allow us to get my sons medicine. Phillip Fleming is who we are dealing with another part of the family. I noticed 60 reports on the BBB website for Mark Bosworth and some on ripoffreport.com If anyone is wanting to really spread the word on these guys via blogs forums let me know and we'll make it a plan.
GoRenter on 04/06/2009:
Since the end of 2008 GoRenter.com LLC has been under new Ownership & Brokerage. The previous reviews were certainly valid under the past group but our 50 agents want to work on any problem you have. We offer the highest quality lease or property management options. Managing over 2000 properties throughout Arizona!

GoRenter.com LLC has been known by many names in the past (Property Masters of America, Home America Property Management) but now is entirely separate from them. Mark Bosworth is not associated or affiliated with GoRenter.com LLC in any way.
bonthomas on 04/07/2009:
Nice that they have changed management now. Where was the help I needed when I finally gave up and moved. I walked away from $20,000!!! I just hope this never happens to anyone again!
Another frustrated consumer on 09/16/2009:
HAPM,

You spend $1,000's of scammed money from your rent-to-own tenants to ensure you're lawyer is fat and happy.

How many rent-to-own sales have you made? 0? Shocker.

There's nothing worse than a crook that tries to justify their actions.

Another frustrated consumer on 09/16/2009:
GoRenter,

If you what you define as high quality is theft by good lawyering, then yes you're the best. My definition would rank you as fish bait at best.

It's hilarious that a company begins by saying, "Yes the other guys with the 100 names were bad, but our new name is really good this time. We promise!"

h3cents on 04/08/2010:
Here is my 3cents.... DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THIS PEOPLE. I WAS a property owner and they were my manager. Let me tell you they will do everything possible to get your money! At first it's all pamper talk, then slowly they get their claws into your cash. Next you know they start charging for stuff that you never thought of or heard of. And they spread out the charges to small pieces so you can't even tell how much you are being charged for. They were charging me over $4k to clean 4bd house. And all they did is nothing more than splash a white paint, mop the floors and wola they made their money! Ya I know times are tough, bla bla Now they want to renew a contract with new changes and fees. Oh one more thing their contract get's longer and longer every time. (Lesson learned- Manage your own properties.)


No Go.

Gorenterstillthesame on 02/11/2012:
just the basics, but for months, they drag their feet looking for any excuse not to accept your rent. Then hold eviction over your head to force you to pay huge fees. I finally had enough, the Judge actually said there was zero reason the eviction should have been filed, the payment arrangement stands, have a nice day, but due to a clerical error on the behalf of the court. Gorenter demanded the full amount and not what the judge ordered, we filed a motion to have it modified to the judges verbal order, and guess what. Philip Flemming showed up, snuck in the back door of the house 5 minutes after my wheelchair bound wife and I left to look at an apartment, scared my 13 year old daughter and her friend, and then served her and told her to get out that she was evicted. Well gang, it is 2012, and Gorenter is still doing the same tricks. The thing that bothers me, they refuse to physically accept funds, demand you put it in the drop box, even during business hours. Who in the world puts 1100 in certified funds in a drop box without a receipt???? I have already contacted a friend at the DA's office and going to the attorney general for Arizona next.....The Arizona landlord tenant act is completely screwed up, and it doesn't hurt those who 'don't matter'....well, Gorenter just evicted (again) an Army vet that also happens to be a west point grad....pointr97@gmail.com
Della on 08/17/2012:
With all the negative comments I an scared to do business with this company!!!! I need a rental property ASAP. Could someone please tell about a legitimate rental company? Thanks
Close commentsAdd reply
Bait and switch scam artists
Posted by on
PHOENIX, ARIZONA -- First, GoRenter sends certified letters at leisure to old addresses with the full intent on no delivery. When asked why they do this, they respond, "That's how we do business." Great ethics.

Secondly, they only work 20 hours per week. No one ever answers the phone and it takes them 7-10 days to return calls. When you stop in to the office, no one is ever there.

Tertiary, they conveniently never receive notification from the HOA if it is not in their favor. They will deny any resolution from the HOA until after they have billed you for landscaping services that are never performed.

The worse part is, they have judges on their side. The landlord/tenant judges are VERY partial to plaintiff's/Home owners.

Simply query the local court records and you'll discover that they evict every tenant that has rented from them.

Avoid them like the swine flu.
     
Read 13 RepliesAdd reply
User Replies:
Anonymous on 09/15/2009:
Where's the bait and switch?
Anonymous on 09/15/2009:
I will Echo bear's words. Where is the bait and switch? Do you know what the term means?
Anonymous on 09/15/2009:
I have a strong feeling the OP doesn't, John.
Another frustrated consumer on 09/16/2009:
Yes. Sorry. I left out the good part. There's just so many bad things to say about this company, it's easy to get carried away.

Bait and switch: Their lease says that you will accrue interest on $50 or more on your account. False. Your account will accrue interest on any amount because they won't accept your rent if you have $.01 on your account. Then they accrue interest on your rent.

The lease also states: You are responsible for all HOA issues. Partly true. The whole truth is that even after HOA issues are resolved, you will be evicted for a $20 fine that was waived by the HOA. This is why...

You resolve the issue with the HOA. In the meantime, GoRenter will send out landscapers that will charge $150 to confirm no work needs to be done. When you pay the $150 for no work done, you'll receive a nice letter thanking you for paying but informing you that the interest on the $150 is now due. Once you pay the interest, you'll receive another friendly letter stating that interest is due on the interest...and the good news is a judge is fine with this ethic.

The moral of the story is, there is no fulfilling the terms of the lease. Look at the small claims court records. GoRenter has evicted 'ALL' of their rent-to-own tenants and charged them thousands. They are now telling us we owe nearly $8,600 and interest is piling up so call soon to resolve...

Another piece of advice...GoRenter will try to keep the suit is the smallest court possible by only suing you for $2,000. After the bias judge awards them the amount. They will send a nice follow up letter with the 'other' amounts they think you own them. The advice: Don't go to small claims. Let the judge know of their intent and request a higher court handle the case. If you don't, they'll tack on another $6,000 and send it to the credit bureau...and that's always fun to remove.
Another frustrated consumer on 09/16/2009:
You can also review the nice comments on http://www.ripoffreport.com/Search/gorenter.aspx

Here are the justice court cases for this unethical business: http://www.superiorcourt.maricopa.gov/docket/JusticeCourtCases/caseSearchResults.asp?lastName=&FirstName=&bName=GoRenter

...and the civil cases: http://www.superiorcourt.maricopa.gov/docket/CivilCourtCases/caseSearchResults.asp?lastName=&FirstName=&bName=GoRenter

You really don't want to deal with this.
Slimjim on 09/16/2009:
Normally I'm skeptical of what the other side of the story is. Even though there still are some blanks here, I have a feeling the poster has some legit beefs. Every rent-to-own person has been evicted? If that is true, there does sound like something is rotten in Denmark.
Another frustrated consumer on 09/16/2009:
SlimJim,

Call them and let them know you're interested in rent-to-own but you'd like to speak with 2 home-owners that have purchased from them or even 1.

Please post their response here. I 'know' what they're going to say.
Another frustrated consumer on 09/16/2009:
Oh yes, after reading some other complaints, I remembered, as a renter YOU are responsible for ALL repairs on the house regardless of cost. If a water line bursts, YOU are responsible to have it repaired. Although I was fortunate in that arena, the lease explicitly states that you are responsible for ALL repairs on the home including, but not limited to, air conditioning, electricity, water lines, and everything else you can think of.
Another frustrated consumer on 09/16/2009:
Folks,

I am a senior software engineer not a lawyer, however, my best advice is to learn from others mistakes instead of your own.

This company has more names than Satan himself and there is a good reason for it. They scam honest people out of their money.

I realize that there are many tenants that are dead beats and deserve to be evicted, but I can assure my income can support 3 family's. My intent isn't to bloat but to prove a point. I paid, and paid, and paid again with no end in sight.

If GoRenter sends any unawarded amounts from a court to the credit bureau's, we will be pursuing legal action as anyone should.

If you ARE truly a good renter and have been wronged by this company, DO NOT proceed to a justice of the peace. Appeal with 'the amount owed is greater than the jurisdiction of the court.' The justice of the peace will not rule in your favor for any reason regardless of your defense. Resolve the issue in smalls claims.
PepperElf on 09/16/2009:
"they evict every tenant"


All I can say is this...

1) No rental agency would simply be in business to evict people. There's no logic in that.

2) The judge may be siding with them simply because they were right.
Keep in mind the rental company is going to have a better understanding of the law and what's required than someone who doesn't do it for a living.

3) I haven't read your other comments yet, but in the original complaint I see no actual event other than some grumbling about what hours they're open, and the - possibly libelous - claim that they have the judge.


4) If you want to give a link, how about the link of their Terms of Service.
I'm betting there's some fine print that wasn't read.
Another frustrated consumer on 09/16/2009:
PepperElf,

You can bet all you like but I wouldn't suggest it against the odds.

I have read the lease agreement in its entirety. Your assumptions will lead you to false pretenses quickly and is a bad habit.

I would suggest you read the content in its entirety before you post.
Another frustrated consumer on 09/16/2009:
PepperElf,

You must also be very young and/or very naive.

My point is that they evict ALL "Rent-to-Own" leases not all renters. Of course there's logic and good money in it. They get your down payment, move in expenses, let you live there for a while, evict you, charge you for excessive bogus damages, get their house back, and repeat the cycle. You don't see the financial benefit of this?

...and it isn't libel to comment a well known fact that many Justices Of The Peace are biased. Give it a shot and learn the hard way I guess.
Maddie on 06/10/2013:
Go renters.com should not be allowed to do business at all. If any of the above posts took a moment to research they would see that this company has complaint after complaint I have read at least 68 all stating the same unethical behavior showing this is a pattern and pattern show intent. What ethical company intentionally does this to its customers. They need to be reported to the attorney general and 3 on your side. Shame on them and anyone who supports that business practice. Good luck to those who have been ripped off hopefully they will be shut down soon.
Close commentsAdd reply
Top of Page | Next Page >