Hawaiian Airlines

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 1 ratings and
8 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Worst Flight Service Experience in 40 Years
By -

Depart 10:30AM Las Vegas (LAS). Arrive 2:40PM Honolulu (HNL) 02C, First Class, Boeing 767-300. Hawaiian Airlines. Flight 7. 6 Hr 10 Min. The flight to Vegas was fine and no issues. The return flight from Vegas to HNL was a disaster!! I was flying with [snip], both of us flying full fare 1st class, not a discount ticket, not an upgrade or a mileage ticket, on Flight 7 Vegas to HNL on 1/18.

After checking in & having already passed through security, it was announced that because of mechanical problems that the flight would be delayed until 8pm, but no guarantee could be made that the flight would even be available at that time. This was not going to be acceptable for us, as we had prior business commitments which we had to keep.

We returned to the ticket counter where there was a long line. There was no separate line for 1st class, everyone in the same line. We butted in line, and asked why priority was not being given to 1st class passengers. This ending up in an argument with the Hawaiian counter person and even some of the waiting passengers which did not make our day any better or help anyone else either.

Finally, we were rescheduled on a US Airways flight to LAX, economy class, where we were to transfer to Hawaiian Airlines for a flight to HNL. The Hawaiian counter person told us that we could go direct to the gate at the main terminal after passing through security. We did exactly that, but at the gate, we were informed that we would have to go through security again at the gate because the boarding pass must have a security punch or you can not board. Fortunately, security came to us at the gate, however, this is now the 3rd time I am going through security(I have a hip replacement), and I still have not boarded a plane!

We arrive at LAX to find that Hawaiian Airlines is located at a different terminal, so we have to exit the terminal, and proceed to the Hawaiian Airlines terminal. Hawaiian airline personnel (Vegas) did not tell us that we would have to change terminals and go through security again. The security lines are so long for economy that they are lined up outside, 3 blocks long, very slow progress. If we do nothing we are definitely going to miss our flight and be stranded.

Therefore, we go to the LAX Hawaiian airlines counter, talk to one of the counter people about the possibility of an upgrade to 1st class. She states one seat in 1st class is available, but states that we gave up our right to 1st class seats when we changed our itinerary to economy. We stated that we were forced to change our itinerary because of a Hawaiian Airlines mechanical problem, and gave up nothing voluntarily. She tells us no. We ask for her boss who is standing right next to her, and her boss, tells us the same thing.

We are now very frustrated to say the least, but then request that they give us passes that will allow us to go through business/1st class security, so that we might catch our flight. She refuses, and again we ask to talk to her superior, she says she is upstairs on the 2nd floor and down the hall. On top of it all, she yells at us to take our attitude somewhere else! We are totally frustrated, as it now looks like we will miss our flight and be stranded. However, with no other options, we head off for security.

With no possibility to make the flight standing in a 3 block line outside the terminal, we stand in the 1st class security line, which is less crowded, and we might have a chance of catching our flight. We get to the security person who points out that our tickets are economy. We show her our original ticket receipts which show 1st class and that we paid $2K plus each, and then we begged and begged, and she allowed us to pass through 1st class security! You can only imagine the level of our frustration at this point? We are now going through security for the 4th time!

We finally board the plane, and the stewardess asks us how things are going. We tell her our plight which she politely listens to and says that's awful. She then charges us for our meal/beverages and makes no offer of conciliation. I go to the toilet, by the time I get out, the aisle is blocked by the service wagon/stewardess. They make no apology or even acknowledge my existence as they make me wait until they have served two thirds of the plane and finally get to my seat. Where is the spirit of service?

My luggage is on the original flight, and I gave all my contact information, so that Hawaiian Airlines could call me and arrange delivery of my luggage. I never received a call, and spent hours following up to finally retrieve my luggage which I got 2 days later? I have been flying for 40 years, and I can not remember any experience worse than this one, even though I was flying 1st class? This is also the 1st time I have taken the time to write an airline to complain. It is just too much trouble!

Can you imagine how many times both ** & I have told this nightmare to all our friends & family over dinner / drinks? How many other passengers have had a Hawaiian Airlines experience like this, and how many have also shared their comments with friends / family? Quality control of service / employee should always be a number "ONE" priority for a service industry company. I am very sorry to say - Hawaiian Airlines falls very very short when it comes to customer service. I can only say that I will avoid flying Hawaiian Airlines in the future, and if anyone asks me about Hawaiian Airlines, you know how I will respond! Sincerely, **.

     
Replies
HawaiianMiles = WorthlessMiles
By -

HONOLULU, HAWAII -- HawaiianMiles = WorthlessMiles. My wife, and I, have been using Hawaiian Airlines and a Hawaiian Airlines / Bank of Hawaii credit card for the last four years to accumulate enough miles for two round trip tickets to Europe on Hawaiian's partner airline - Delta. We have accumulated more than 130,000 miles to date, which is more than enough (110,000 miles) for two round-trip tickets from the Mainland to Europe.

On July 28, 2011, I first called HawaiianMiles to make reservations for the subject tickets. This was only 307 days before the early end of our travel date range, and significantly after the 330-day period when airlines supposedly release their seats for mileage programs. We tried to be flexible in our dates, departure sites, and arrival sites. In spite of this, HawaiianMiles was unable to arrange travel to and from any of the sites in the U.S. and Europe that we provided.

The woman I spoke to promised to get back to me in 72 hours to inform us whether any of our desired seats were released (she never called back). She also suggested that we try every day to see if the situation had changed. I wasted more than 22 minutes of my valuable time for nothing. On July 29, 2011, I again called HawaiianMiles. The result was the same. Nothing available. I wasted another 24 minutes of my valuable time for nothing.

On August 1, 2001, I again called HawaiianMiles. We tried 8 different departure dates (May 30 – June 6, inclusive), 4 different Mainland departure sites (Seattle, Minneapolis / St. Paul, New York, Boston), 3 different return dates (19, 20, and 21 days after departure to Europe), and 5 different Europe arrival sites (Amsterdam, Frankfurt, Copenhagen, Brussels, Paris). After trying these 480 combinations, the “customer service” representative could only come up with one option from Minneapolis / St. Paul to Frankfurt. He would have to request a return flight from Frankfurt.

On the afternoon of August 4, 2011, more than three days later, I received a call from HawaiianMiles informing me that there were no seats available from Frankfurt to Minneapolis / St. Paul for my wife and me. I wasted another 1 hour and 27 minutes of my valuable time for nothing. After wasting a week, more than 2 hours on the telephone to HawaiianMiles, and not having any luck with more than 480 travel possibilities, I gave up on HawaiianMiles. It was apparent to me that they would not/could not help me and I was forced to make alternative travel arrangements on another airline at an out-of-pocket cost of $2,169.

I filed a complaint with Hawaiian Airlines about their lousy customer service and my inability to use my miles on August 4, 2011. I did not receive a response until late on August 5, 2011. On August 5, 2011, **, from the Hawaiian Airlines corporate office called me to ask me what she could do to assist me. I stated that this offer was after the fact and that I was forced to make alternative travel arrangements. I expressed my great dissatisfaction with Hawaiian Airlines and HawaiianMiles.

She stated that since the merger of Northwest and Delta that Hawaiian Airlines was having problems with their partner and difficulties in fulfilling requests. No kidding. She then stated that she would request the telephone conversations I had with HawaiianMiles (for what reason, I do not know), review them, and get back to me. She further asked me what I wanted Hawaiian Airlines to do for me and my wife.

I gave **'s question some thought and came up with a proposed resolution to my complaint. I submitted this proposal on August 6, 2011. On August 11, 2011, Senior VP, General Counsel & Corp. Sec., rejected my offer and rejected any compromise. His response was flippant and offensive, and was indicative of the standard Hawaiian Airlines response to customer complaints. ** never did get back to me. I had to call her on August 9, 2011 to determine the status. She claimed she had still not gotten copies of the telephone calls. She claimed she would get back to me by Friday, August 12, 2011. She then abruptly hung up on me. Very rude. Very unprofessional.

When I first filed my complaint with Hawaiian Airlines (August 4), I was promised that they would get back to me within 3 business days (August 9). They did not. When I followed up on this promised response, they then claimed that it would be another 5- 7 business days for a response. A subsequent email stated 30 days. It was apparent that they were just trying to blow me off. Don't fly on Hawaiian Airlines. Don't join their HawaiianMiles program. Don't use their credit cards. There are other, better alternatives.

     
Replies
Pualani Gold Status Baggage Rule is not fair
By -

HAWAII -- It is very disappointing to find out that our flights even booked in December 2010 will be denied the benefit of free luggage for myself and other companions traveling with me in June 2011 since you have changed that rule recently in March 2011. I am travelling with 4 seniors, 80+ years and one over 90yrs old. The benefit of the free luggage was one of features that you offered to me as a Pualani Gold Member which convinced me to have all my traveling companions fly Hawaiian with me. It's a membership difficult for some of us hard working independent self employed citizens of Hawaii to earn.

This benefit would help me cope with the difficulties in traveling with my family who are mostly seniors. The carry on luggage would have been avoided and sent under through baggage and I would not have to deal with 4 additional carry ons when boarding to and from our destination, PDX.

You now have taken this privilege away making it very difficult for me to handle the elders. I feel that we have booked our flight prior to this ruling and your negligence in recognizing our loyalty to Hawaiian Air dissapoints me totally. I can see if our booking was made after the March rule, I would accept, but we booked this in December making this all different.

Your Hawaiian Mileage dept was not able to cope with my problem and almost felt that they couldn't care less and very insensitive to my concerns. Your phone numbers are nowhere to be found. Is it because you are not able to face the many complaints about this issue? People probably gave up trying to voice their unhappiness about this.

Where is the Aloha Spirit? Especially for the local people of Hawaii who support your airlines so much? We chose this airlines for the benefits which you are drastically changing. And to think even when booking before your rule date you still take the benefit away, shame on you! Hawaiian is definitely losing it's spirit of Aloha! Don't be surprise if your grow too quickly. You forget who are the real people that help local businesses. Or maybe you are not all local anymore, that probably explains that. I fly your airlines enough to know who is actually riding your airlines. Many are local and or local people related to or know people from here.

I myself used to tell other people to fly Hawaiian, and say how great you were. My feeling has changed that's for sure. Also, I wanted to mention that in August 2010, I paid an additional $250 for Premier Benefits. Don't you think I spend enough money with your airlines and now just getting slapped on the face, in front of my family. Oh, and another thing, my 2 kids are in college and they are on the west coast. You are not the only airlines flying those destinations. A very disappointed passenger. P.S. I experienced the same thing as the other person who posted prior to me. The baggage rule was very recent and no notice.

     
Replies
Top Notch Service
By -

Hawaiian Airlines has been my preferred mode of transportation between Phoenix and Hawaii. I live in the home of another airline that has more frequency to the islands, but I think that their services as well as their 757's are substandard to the Hawaiian experience and 767. My last trip we were on HAL 35 to Oahu and then on to Hilo.

While checking in at Phoenix is my only complaint. I checked my family in online and we only had baggage. I read that they had a baggage only line and I lined up in this line. Well I was in the line for 20 minutes and never was asked to come to the counter, but we were right next to first class and they were being helped. OK, we got into the regular check-in line (a little mad, but I was going to Hawaii) and we were approached by a skycap and asked if we had our tickets. I told them we did and we just needed to check the baggage. He checked the baggage, but here is the problem, but only put hand written tags on the bag and not the scan ones.

Our flights were great and we were in Hilo waiting for our baggage. Two of the four bags arrived so I went to the customer service person to file a claim. I am standing in line and a person decided that they were more important that I was and cut in line. I asked them to get back in line and they pulled the, “I am a first class passenger!” I simply stated that he was a first class (something else), but I was on vacation and not in a rush. The “person” berated the poor woman and all she did was take the information and would contact them later.

I approached the window and stated that I was missing two bags. She was a little curt at first, but I engaged in conversation about how much of a jerk the previous person was how well she composed herself. You could see her exhale and relax. She then stated that she wanted to go and physically check the luggage area. She stated that she could not see anything and then got onto the phone with Honolulu and found the luggage had not been transferred to the flight. She told me that it would be on the next flight out, but we were the second to last flight in and that it may be full. She then asked if I wanted to pick-up the bags or have them delivered.

I told her that I appreciated how much she was doing, but we were also staying on the other side of the island in Kona and would need the bags delivered over there. She stated that it would not be a problem. She took all of our contact information and stated that she would call us to make sure everything was resolved. We did not get our bags that night and she called my cell phone at 8:00PM from her home and asked if we received a call from the devilry company stating what time the bags would be delivered. I told her that nobody had called and our bags still have not arrived. She told me that she would call me back.

About twenty minutes later she called and stated that the baggage manager in Honolulu physically had the bags in hand and was going to put them on the first flight out the next morning. She called again the next day and asked if the bags have arrived. I stated that they had not and she was angered from the tone on her voice. She stated that she was going to get to the bottom of this problem. She called back about thirty minutes later and stated that they were put on the next flight over.

About an hour later we were called by the transfer company and asked what hotel and room number was and when they could deliver the bags. She called the last time and asked if we received our bags and I stated that the transfer company has called, but we were not in the hotel and did not know if they were physically there yet. She asked that I call her when we got back and state if they have been delivered. When we got back the bags were there in the room with a note of apology for the delay. This type of personal action and feeling of Aloha is why I will fly Hawaiian.

     
Replies
Deceptive International Baggage Fee Policy
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

HONOLULU, HAWAII -- I booked a frequent flier award (AA) for Hawaiian Airlines, from Osaka to Seattle, with a long stopover in Honolulu. There were no baggage charges for the flight from Osaka. (The normal rule for international flights going to or originating in Japan is 2 bags, 50 lbs each.) According to Hawaiian's own website, international rules apply even for stopovers, so I assumed my stopover would get the benefit of the free baggage. Nope. When I checked in online, I found out for the first time that Hawaiian was charging me domestic fees for all my bags--i. e., $25 for the first, $35 for the second.

I double-checked the rules on their website, and it clearly says, "International baggage rules apply for entire trip, including domestic segments regardless of stopover, providing the itinerary includes at least one ticketed international point." I called Hawaiian--they have no ticket offices in Honolulu, so you have to call--and was told that I was not entitled to free baggage because I took a stopover in Honolulu! Um...what does the "regardless of stopover" language mean? This is extremely deceptive.

Incidentally, when I was in Asia, I traveled on 4 different airlines. The Asian airlines--Asiana, Cathay Pacific, and Japan Airlines, were all great, with excellent service. Hawaiian was bottom of the barrel. The only way they can compete internationally is by having the lowest fares. They will be my last choice from now on.

     
Replies
Poor Customer Service
By -

In all my years of flying, this was the worst experience ever. This occurred at OGG, Maui. We went to check via computer and Hawaiian had no record of our reservation. They told us to call Continental. Continental told us to call Hawaiian. I spoke to a supervisor at Hawaiian and they said that they could not help me even though I was flying on their airline. I called Orbitz, who I made the reservation with, and after an hour on the phone, they assured us that we had valid reservations.

I did not trust Orbitz, so we went to the airport several hours early to check in. Hawaiian in fact did not have a reservation for us. We had to go to United, located way on the other side of the airport. After spending an hour with United, and almost having to buy tickets, which I would have disputed anyway with my credit card company, we were able to get checked in for the 20 minute flight from Maui to Honolulu. However Hawaiian could not check us in for the Honolulu to Newark flight.

Hawaiian Airlines could check our luggage to Newark, but could not give us boarding passes. Again we had to go to the other side of the terminal to United. United could not give us boarding passes, so we decided to try our luck with Continental in Honolulu. When we got to Honolulu, we spoke to a Continental Agent, who resolved the issue in about a minute.

     
Replies
5 Days Notice
By -

HONOLULU, HAWAII -- I am a Pualani gold member with Hawaiian Airlines and in order to qualify you need to fly and earn a total of 20,000 miles/points. I have qualified for years and in December 2010 I booked a trip to Las Vegas for March 6th 2011. On Feb. 23, 2011 I received a "Pualani Update" dated February 2011 and it states that we are no longer entitled to 3 free check-in baggage but effective March 1st, 2011 we will only be allowed 2 free check in baggage.

I was upset because my daughter lives in Vegas and I like to bring some of Hawaii to her on all my trips. Well I called the consumer information department and spoke to ** who is a supervisor. My complaint was that they only allow us with a short notice and my ticket was purchased last year and I should be grandfathered in. She said she would call me back and will check if the effective date was the purchased date or use date. She later called back to inform me that it was the use date and they would not grandfather me in.

I feel that this is bad consumer practice and want the public to know how about these shady practices that Hawaiian Airlines makes. We earned the privilege that we were promised and they can just take one year of dedicated flying and ruin my trip. If they said that it will be effective 2012 then I can understand but come on now.. 5 DAYS NOTICE. Something is definitely wrong with this picture. Was a dedicated Pualani Gold member, **.

     
Replies
Email Contact
By -

HONOLULU, HAWAII -- Can anyone give me the Honolulu email address for Hawaiian Airlines. Thanks.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >