[X]

Hercules Hook


1 Reviews & Complaints

False and Misleading Advertising
Posted by Blueyes45 on 06/05/2007
RANCHO DOMINGUEZ, CALIFORNIA -- The TV and Internet ad do not specify that a 3rd set of hooks will be sent with your initial order and that you will be charged an additional $5.98 shipping charge even though the additional hooks are packaged with your initial order. Also, the ad specifies that you can receive a lifetime supply of Hercules Hooks "whenever you need them". It DOES NOT say you will automatically receive them every 60 days and be billed another $5.98 shipping charge. I was conned out of $11.96 in shipping charges before I found out what they were doing. Upon reporting Hercules Hook to the Better Business Bureau, I found out they have and "F" rating, defined as: "We strongly question the company’s reliability for reasons such as that they have failed to respond to complaints, their advertising is grossly misleading, they are not in compliance with the law’s licensing or registration requirements, their complaints contain especially serious allegations, or the company’s industry is known for its fraudulent business practices."

DO NOT ORDER FROM THIS COMPANY
     
Read 10 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Hugh_Jorgen on 2007-06-05:
More hooks every 60 days!?! How much crap do they think American needs to hang from its walls?
Posted by shawnp80 on 2007-06-05:
That's what I was thinking Hugh. Blueeyes how do the hooks work though? I was thinking about buying some.
Posted by adzidek on 2007-06-05:
Yeah, me too, are they any good? I might want to buy them once they hit the shelves at Walmart (which we all know will eventually happen).
Posted by bill on 2007-06-05:
Good review. I have seen the commercials and thought they looked pretty good, but I think I wait till they are in the stores too. I don't want a new set every 60 days.
Posted by blueyes45 on 2007-06-05:
Evidenly Hercules Hook believes we hang multiple 150 lb. items all over the house. They really aren't difficult to work through regular drywall since there is a very sharp point on one end and the wire is strong enough to turn while pushing it without bending it. The product is fine, it is only the advertising and sales tactics I am complaining about. Don't order them via phone or internet or you will get stuck with more than you bargained for. Definitely wait until you see them at Wal-Mart. I sure wish I had!!
Posted by CrystalSword on 2007-06-05:
They are in Wal-Mart stores already and have been for months, you get 20 hooks and a laser leveler for $14.97.
Beats paying shipping, the tax is much cheaper!
Posted by jktshff1 on 2007-06-05:
we had a local tv station do a report on them..the product failed.
Posted by Anonymous on 2007-06-05:
Great thread!
Posted by blueyes45 on 2007-06-05:
I was shocked to find out Hercules Hooks are available at Wal-Mart stores . . . same offer as on TV and the internet except there are no shipping charges and no 60 day shipments you are not made aware of. Do you know WHY Hercules Hook can afford to sell at such low prices at Wal-Mart and lose their shipping revenue?? Easy answer; because they have scammed so many hundreds or thousands of people out of money through the TV and Internet ads. They can practically GIVE this product away with all the money they have made at the expense of buyers who were mislead by their fraudulent business practices. I think they should be boycotted.
Posted by Skye on 2007-06-06:
Good review. We have a store in one of our malls called,
As seen on TV, and we always check there anything advertised on TV.

Thanks for the heads up. Those hercules hooks almost reeled me in.
Close commentsAdd reply


Top of Page | Next Page >