[X]

History Channel


2 Reviews & Complaints

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
History Channel isn't history at all
Posted by Adam112 on 01/08/2010
The history channel used to be full of good informative shows such as "The Most" and "Modern Marvels". But now the cable company has removed. And what's left has been moved to "MHC" (Military History Channel." In it's place is a constant screening of doomsday prophecies, relating nothing to history. Bring Mike Rowe back in ("The Most") and let's get back to the real history, in all it's interesting fun and glory.

And to all you smart guys, and drama queens out there, it's not the end of the world in 2012, just the end of a mayan catoon according to their calendar. Enough with the scare tactics and get back to history.

     
Read 45 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I like the history channel. And anything that has to do with the past is history.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
What has "The Most" and "Modern Marvels" have to do with history? Just look at the name, "Modern Marvels", it's about current things, nothing to do with history.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
What does movies have to do with music on MTV? Stations are filling up open air time I guess. I don't know. I like history channel. There is more history on there than not.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Didn't know we were talking about MTV. (Is that still on the air?) Thought we were talking about the History Channel.
Posted by goduke on 2010-01-08:
We just entered the decade where many mystics seem to think the world will end. HC is running some stuff on Nostradamus, Armageddon, and some of the historical figures who predicted the end of the world. Sorry you don't like that, adam, but it's still history. Some of us, frankly, get rather bored with a bunch of shows about world war 2 and the development of mass killing techniques.
Posted by momsey on 2010-01-08:
Judge, I think LadyScot was just relating the fact that the programming doesn't necessarily match the name of the channel.

What does TLC have to do with learning?

And don't be coy, you know MTV is still on the air!
Posted by Slimjim on 2010-01-08:
History Channel at least is a lot closer to original form than what happened to The Learning Channel in the last 4 years. What exactly do we learn from Trading Spaces, Trading Spouses, John and Kate +8, and all the other reality garbage shows they slot now.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
You learn to skip this channel when surfing.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Best Answer Ken.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I love the history channel, and also the discovery channel. Its so interesting. Now don't get me wrong, I am thankful for all the people who fought in wars, but I remember when all the history channel ever aired was some show about a war.....after a while it makes me depressed and gets boring. I like that now there are a varieties of different shows to watch. I really enjoy watching "Universe" I think its on either history channel or a discovery channel. I think its fascinating just thinking about whats actually out there in this universe and how we've been able to find it with the technology. Just because its called the history channel, doesnt mean its ALL history.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Wait, I put that wrong...Im not thankful for the people who fought in wars, I am respectful and thankful for what I have because of what they did.
Posted by momsey on 2010-01-08:
These Google ads freak me out. While I was reading Tennboy1981's full comment, an ad for a degree in Military History was hanging at the top of the page.
Posted by Starlord on 2010-01-08:
I want to be around on New Year's Day, 2013, so I can laugh at the idiots who think the world will end in 2012. Throughout history, there have been people and groups that predicted the end of the world. One group I read about, everyone sold all of their belongings and collected on a mountain somehere, clad in bedsheets, awaiting the end. Boy, people can be so gullible.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
While I do agree that the Nostradamas (sp?) reruns are getting old, Modern Marvels and and The Most(?) are hardly history driven shows.
Watching a tractor being built does not equate to history.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
So watch the Food Network. That channel still lives up to its name. So does the Travel Channel.
Posted by old fart on 2010-01-08:
I'm sick unto death of the Japanese chef and his food challenges...
The food channel used to feature foods that didn't take 60 ingredients and an army to prepare..
Posted by Skye on 2010-01-08:
Pawn Stars is on the History channel. Good show, but not sure what it has to do with History.

Remember a channel called MTV, that actually showed nothing but music video's. I can remember wanting to watch it, but my mom thought I was too young.

Posted by Skye on 2010-01-08:
OF, are you talking about, Morimotto?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Skye, Pawn stars ROCKS. I just love the old man. He's my hero.
Posted by old fart on 2010-01-08:
Skye.. exactly! What phony baloney!

All that boolsheet about "presentation" is ridiculous!
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-01-08:
Old F are you talking about 'Iron Chef'...I don't care much for that show at all...only time I watch it is when nothing else is on and I'm waiting for the next show.
I think these cable channels should do away with these 'marathons' as well. Hours of the same show. I thought the Game Show Channel would have alot of the older game shows like from the 50's and 60's...but it seems no matter what time you turn it on, all they have is the Family Fued and Deal Or No Deal...come on...get some kind of schedule going with different shows!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
OF, I wholeheartedly agree with you about the food challenges AND the "cake shows" blow as well to me.

Stewart, the old guy is cool on that show but the whole premise is pretty fake. You don't see much of that at real pawn shops. Trust me.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-01-08:
Pawn Stars (or as my Dad who gets his words mixed up, calls it 'Porn Stars') is on the History channel because people claim their stuff is old Civil War items and valuable antiques...which is from history? Maybe? I guess?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-01-08:
I don't like to, but I have to agree with ZZ about the Pawn Stars, I like the show, but it's far from being the real deal. How many pawn shops take the time to call in an 'expert' or travel out to a desert to shoot a cannon?

Ace Of Cakes Rules! I'm gonna marry Duff!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Pawn Stars is more believable than 'The Fox & Friends'.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
No DB, an old guitar that a guy pawned there isn't history either.
THC, is aiming at a younger audience that doesn't know squat about history but will watch that nonsense.
Posted by Skye on 2010-01-08:
Well I don't know anything about pawn shops, but calling in an expert to evaluate certain items seems reasonable. Also, the show is semi-staged and re-enacted according to their website. Still good stuff.

Much much better then that fugazzy show, Operation Repo and viking Sonia and her pretty black prom dress, lol.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Pawn stars is cool....The only cooking show I like, is Hell's Kitchen. I think its on Fox. Chef Ramsey can be a son of a b*tch on that show, but I just love it.....When the guy starts screaming, it just makes me laugh.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-01-08:
Chef Ramsey and Tabitha (Tabitha's Salon) should get married and have children!
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Repo, is the worst as far as staged events go.
Skye, I swear Sonia or her brother are going to keel over from a massive heart attack if they don't "lighten up!" Seriously.
Stewart, I have never watched that show. You no like?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
I'm still waiting for the Zzrokk reality show. Just have a camera crew follow zz around while he stumbles through life. That would be like the highest rated show of all time.
Posted by Skye on 2010-01-08:
I don't think Gordons wife would like that! She and Gordon have 4 kids. I don't watch that Tabitha, but it amazes me how someone with so much hairstying and expertise has the worst looking, bleached out hair.

She must also do Sonia's hair, from Operation Repo.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
*laughing*
Whatever Stewart. My life is pretty routine (and boring) these days.
Posted by Skye on 2010-01-08:
I agree Z. Especially now that they were ordered to post a disclaimer in the beginning of their show, sayings it all scripted and re-enacted.

And Matt, what a wuss.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-01-08:
You should watch it sometime Skye, just for the heck of it.

Stew...what would ZZ's show be called? You should start a Community topic so we can have everyone's idea of a good title.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-01-08:
There was another show on, but I only seen maybe two episodes then I didn't see it on anymore. It had a more real repot guy, and a guy that had to serve summons to people. It was a good show...now, If I can only think of the name....anyone?
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
Cut it out, Stewart!
Matt is a loudmouthed ponk, you see him whining like a baby when he got a little mace in his eyes?
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2010-01-08:
Oh...I think it was called, "All Worked Up" or something like that.
Posted by Anonymous on 2010-01-08:
....And that was entertaining to you, DB? A summons server?
A real "repot" guy? What, was he some rogue gardener?
Posted by Skye on 2010-01-08:
Hey DB, I saw that. They only had like 2 episodes and then a show came on right after, with the Health inspectors, doing food place checkups.

Wasn't the repo guys business called, Lizard lickers or something like that??
Posted by davey1957 on 2010-01-10:
just reading comments about the history channel (hysterics)channel.Remember "The men who killed Kennedy?".Absolute garbage. Now we have "last days on earth." More garbage. Where do they find these "reporters"? No objectivity at all. I am working outside in one of the coldest winters we have had in years and I hear one guest on the show compare people who question global warming with nazis? The History channel should be ashamed. No better than any biased network. Really sad. I am sure someone will call me names because most people have succumbed to the childish mentality of the pundits on television.No understanding or respect for the opinions of others, just screaming and name calling. Axe men the latest example of trash on t.v. The boss on the boat is so inept he is probably going to kill someone.
Posted by voiceoff on 2010-01-10:
Some of the shows are off topic per their title. I would like History channel to be more family friendly so you can enjoy learning history form the comfort of your home ( no tests).
I love the Animal Planet Channel and also the Crime channels.
But when you turn on History you should get History, even if the replacement seems entertaining too.
Posted by edward stancil on 2013-04-18:
history channel sucks!history-isnt swamp people!history isnt top gear!history isnt the crap they put on now days.its time to get back to HISTORY!Some one has to MAN UP and get REAL.Before you become HISTORY.
Posted by Susan on 2013-07-24:
This channel is nothing but American trashy washed out shows that have absolutely nothing whatsoever to do with history! It is a sad day when actual history footage has become so boring that we cannot show 'history' on the history channel. BBC has my vote!
Posted by Joe D'Alessio on 2013-09-17:
Last night I watched the first episode of the Great Santini Brothers.
As an Italian American, I'm very insulted by the way they portray an Italian family.
The family members act like real low class people.They can't even talk right. They are using the D's Dem's and Does.They say tree intead of three. As far as I'm concerned they are a big put on. No one is that much of a Moron.
I think it's safe to say the History Channel has really come down a few notches.
I have seen just a few Morons of my decent act like that. I will never watch that MORONIC
show again.
Close commentsAdd reply

TV Complaints
Posted by Terrancetravis4691 on 04/12/2012
Why is it the discovery and history channels have resorted to some of the worst shows on TV. Who cares about all these swamp dwelling people who can't hardly talk and bigfoot hunters who are nothing but a joke. I don't care to watch every person in the country do their so called treacherous jobs with their contrived dilemmas every time you turn around. I used to watch these channels for good information, now it's like watching a stupid tabloid. And whats with the annoying background music on every show that sounds like impending doom. By the way I only see these shows at my brothers house when I visit. You couldn't give me cable or satellite with the garbage that passes for entertainment
     
Read 16 RepliesAdd reply

User Replies:Close comments

Posted by Kris10 on 2012-04-12:
I don't see the problem with the History Channel or Discovery Channel programming. I find most if not all of it to be very informational. It's just presented in a different way from your usual documentaries. I love Mythbusters and Pawn Stars. Both have significant educational value.

Can you cite a specific show?
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-04-12:
"I find most if not all of it to be very informational"

Oh the ironing...

I agree with OP. Alien abductions/alien speculation is not history...
Posted by Rabbit Ears on 2012-04-12:
"Reality Shows" are a very inexpensive television program to produce. The overall TV audience is so fragmented due to the overabundance of channels to watch, advertisers don't pay what they once did for a commercial. Therefore, any niche audience you can appeal to by producing quirky or outrageous shows might get the ratings that appeal to advertisers. It's a numbers game, and it's only getting worse as TV audiences are being spread thinner and thinner over more channels and another big threat - the internet.
Posted by Bill on 2012-04-12:
For some reason History and Discovery must of decided that reality shows bring in more viewers.
History channel has a H2 channel on Comcast cable that does provide more history programming. Glad for that.
Discovery channel went off the rails a few years back. Same with TLC.
Posted by Slimjim on 2012-04-12:
History and Discovery have moved towards reality shows, but there are other channels now that air the type of programming those two once did instead. Science, National Geographic, Military, etc.. It appears cable channel programming is becoming more specific per channel, breaking into new channels to target genres. Another example is don't bother watching HGTV if you want This Old House type shows anymore. HG sticks with reality shows now, pushing the classic stuff to DIY network.
Posted by Kris10 on 2012-04-12:
Actually Onion, there have been sightings of so called aliens throught history. So, yes, describing what each culture from all over the world has seen through time is history.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-04-12:
"Actually Onion, there have been sightings of so called aliens throught history. So, yes, describing what each culture from all over the world has seen through time is history."

I ate a hamburger in the past, so hamburgers should be on the history channel.

Posted by madconsumer on 2012-04-12:
i could see if these showed played on the science channel, but not the history channel. history channel should be for history!!

very helpful review.
Posted by Anonymous on 2012-04-12:
Seems to be a Swamp People marathon on the History channel tonight. While it isn't what I prefer to watch, the stations are only going after ratings. So for it to be so popular, somebody must be watching it. Its just business.
Posted by BigAl on 2012-04-12:
The OP answered his own question. Apparently his brother likes these shows hence his brother watches them. I don't watch these type of shows but I do not begrudge the people who do and apparently there are enough viewers to support these shows.
Posted by DebtorBasher on 2012-04-12:
Though Swamp People is one of my favorite shows and I'mma gonna marry the Mitchell Brothers...I do understand what you're saying. Everytime I think there isn't another 'job' they can't possible air, they come up with another. My biggest complaint is all those marathons they run over and over and over...yes, the music over the show and you can't hear what they are saying....but what about everytime the show goes to a commercial, they HAVE to show us what's coming up, THEN after the commercial they 'rewind' back to catch us up with what happened before the commercial!!!! If you notice when they show what's coming up after the commercial, they edit it and it isn't even what happens. The Biggest Loser is good for that...it will show someone on the scale then show everyone gasping and covering their mouths...but when you watch it, they do that for a completely different reason. And it's ALWAYS predictable when these shows are going to go to a commercial break.
Posted by BigAl on 2012-04-12:
onionballs> Yes to your question. I watched a very interesting segment on the History Channel titled "History of the Hamburgh" Sometimes even smarta$$ questions have answers.
Posted by Churro on 2012-04-12:
The History and Discover channel are garbage. Why in the world would I give a fiddler's fart about the goings on of swamp people or staged transactions at a Las Vegas pawn shop?

Interesting Verhoeven's 1980's classic sci-fi movie Robocop accurately predicted the future of TV. "I'd buy that for a dollar".
Posted by Kris10 on 2012-04-13:
Okay, so what about shows like Mythbusters and Alaska week and things like that that ARE educational AND fun to watch? Hmm?
Posted by Starlord on 2012-04-14:
Obviously, there is a market for whatever programming they offer, or they would not offer it. It doesn't pay to produce a TV show if you cannot attrqact a viewer base who will spend m oney on the advertisers who buy airtime to show these programs. Fortunately, we don't all like the same thing. This world wopuld be pretty damn dull if we all drove Fords, shopped at Target, and ate only Pizza Hut food. IK seem to remember a scifi series about a family lost in another dimension. It came out during the height of the generic fad. The cans in the cupboard were white and said 'food.' It used to be a big thing to be a Nielson family. I never knew anyone who A.C. Nielson paid to let them install a box that transmitted what programs you watched. There was a competing company that had you fill out a form that was a diary of your viewing. the two companies had opposing figures. Surprise, surprise. With the form, people tended to write down what they thought they should be watching. No, I'll watch Top Shot, Top Guns, Mythbusters, Pawn Stars and Storage Wars, along with mamny other shows that trip my twinkie. You may watch what you wish to. Don't criticize what I wish to watch, and I won't criticize your tastes. BTW, I love when PBS runs Doo Wop, Big Band, Victor Borge, Willie Nelson and others. And I really couldn't care less if you don 't like those, I do.
Posted by tamara on 2013-05-28:
I watched what I thought was a documentary only to find out it was all BS. If I had wanted to waste my time watching garbage for purely entertainment value, I would have watched something else. I don't care to see someone who is acting like they are a scientist with groundbreaking information. I wanted to watch a REAL scientist. I was disgusted and that is pathetic programming. I will not be viewing the discovery channel anytime in the near future!
Close commentsAdd reply

Top of Page | Next Page >