Hobbytron

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 8 ratings and
19 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Good and Bad of Hobbytron.com
By -

I placed an order with hobbytron.com on 9/21/09 with overnight delivery. My card was charged on 9/21/09. The items were needed for a birthday party Saturday 9/26/09. When 9/24/09 rolled around and my order still showed as "in process in the warehouse" I called and a person answered the very first time I called. She placed me on hold and returned to say that my order would definitely ship that day and that I would receive tracking information by that evening.

Friday morning 9/25 rolled around and no email was received and my online order status still showed "in process in the warehouse". This time when I called repeatedly there was no answer and the voicemail box would not accept any additional messages. I began to search online for another phone number and came across all the complaints about Hobbytron.com. I began to panic. I called again repeatedly and finally another message stated that all customer service representatives were busy and to email support@hobbytron.com for assistance or to call back later.

I emailed them about the status of my order and got a response 20 minutes later stating that orders sometime take longer to ship than shown on the website. I responded back stating that I needed this order for a birthday party on 9/26/09 and wanted to cancel the order since I would have to pick up something from a retail store. I received another response 5 minutes later stating that they would cancel the order and issue a full refund. I immediately checked the status of my order online and sure enough it was in cancelled status.

I responded by email again and asked how long would it take for the refund to be processed and a response was received 3 minutes later stating 24-72 hours. Three hours after that, I received a system generated email confirmation of my refund. About 20 minutes after that I received another email from one of the customer service representative advising me of the refund and telling me that it would take 2-3 business days to post to my account. I'm glad everything worked out in the end since I read about so many horror stories but it still sucks that I didn't get my order. Sounds like they are trying to improve in the area of customer service?

     
Replies
Overcharge and lack of customer service response
By -

OREM, UTAH -- I have been trying repeatedly to resolve an issue with Hobbytron and have yet to reach anyone or receive a response to my telephone calls or e-mails. Based upon the number of busy signals I have received, the number of messages I have left with different departments and the e-mails and US postal service letters I have sent with no response, I would have to say that I am not the only dissatisfied customer.

In addition to having the item I ordered substituted with a clearance item, I have been overcharged and am still waiting for a response to my request for a credit. I have done a lot of shopping on-line and have never had a problem like this. All I was originally seeking was a $10.00 credit to which I am entitled. On November 25, 2006, I placed an online order for item AA-69731 Airbus Cessna. On Nov. 28 I received an e-mail stating the item was on backorder and due to be shipped within 5 to 10 business days and that I would be notified if there were any further delays. On December 10, I received an e-mail from Fed-Ex stating that my order had shipped.

On the evening of December 14, I received item XT-8102 RC J3 Cub. (Which by the way was delivered to the wrong address, fortunately my neighbors were honest and delivered it here.) The packing slips proudly notes that this is a FREE UPGRADE due to an extended delay. That may have been acceptable if it were not for the fact that item XT-8102 RC J3 Cub was not an upgrade, but a clearance item listing for $39.97 while the AA-69731 Airbus Cessna lists for $49.00 which my credit card has been billed for, plus $6.95 Shipping and Handling.

I deliberately ordered the higher priced item with the hope that it would hold up a little better, so that my grandson could enjoy the product a little longer. (It turned out to be a real piece of JUNK!!!) I have placed numerous calls to the 800 number as well as the regular phone number and have not reached a human voice. I have left at least eight voice messages and 5 e-mails, so far with no response.

If it had not been so close to Christmas and this had not been purchased as a gift for my grandson, I would have attempted to return the item for full credit and refuse to do further business with Hobbytron, assuming I could actually have reached the RMA department to get an RMA number. In addition to the substitution, when my 11 year old grandson actually opened his gift and attempted to use it (with adult supervision), it literally fell apart. On the first minor crash (this is supposed to be ideal for a novice flyer), the tail fin ripped. We were able to repair that with glue.

On the next flight, the tail tore off, the wings broke and the entire fuselage separated from the plane, rendering it totally useless. I have several issues with the way this was handled: (1) I was not notified that the item was unavailable. (2) The item I ordered was substituted with a lower priced item. (3) I feel Hobbytron was being quite deceptive in stating that this was an upgrade. (4) I was not given the option of cancelling the order. (5) I have been billed for the higher priced item and to date; no credit has been issued for the dollar difference.

(6) I have been unable to reach the customer service department, the accounting department or the credit department via telephone or e-mail, despite my persistence. (7) The item was manufactured extremely poorly and was certainly not meant for a child despite the label on the package stating for use by 8 to 12 year olds.

In researching the size and reputation of Hobbytron, I cannot believe any supervisor or manager would allow or even tolerate their employees drawing these avoidable, negative feelings over such a small dollar amount. This has however, become a point of principal with me and I will not let it go until I receive some satisfaction from Hobbytron.

Minimally I expect to receive an credit for the price difference. I also expect an apology from Hobbytron for the inconvenience and aggravation that all this has caused and for their lack of response. Ideally Hobbytron will offer a refund or an actual upgrade. I have contacted my credit card company, the Attorneys General for the states of Missouri and Utah, the FTC, as well as the Better Business Bureau and will post my story on every possible website related to consumer ripoffs.

     
Replies
Horrible Quality
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

So as a quiet woman I am I called up Hobbytron about my airsoft weapon which was to arrive overnight when it didn't. It was also the M43181 with grenade launcher, but of course that arrived the next week even though it was supposed to overnight. Anyway I tried to contact them in which they wouldn't pick up their phone. I remove the hand guard to my gun to see if it'd comeback together like the manual said. CLEARLY USED. It was a horrible experience which ended up making me cry out of sheer sorrow. I paid 133.39 dollars for a bundle with a mask that didn't work, a gun that broke and a speed loader that also broke!

     
Replies
Terrible Quality and Poor Customer Service
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA CLARITA, CALIFORNIA -- I purchased the 3x bundle unbreakable helicopter set. Two of the helicopters were defective from the start, a problem with the connector. The third helicopter worked for a few minutes, then began to smoke and that was the end of that one. Customer service is the ABSOLUTE worst I have ever dealt with. It is next to impossible to get someone on the phone and they won't return messages. They do not answer e-mails. The only way I was able to speak to someone was through the on-line chat after waiting half the afternoon.

Even then, I'm told they know there is a problem with that particular helicopter and that they were sending replacement parts. Well, they sent me one used charger, not even the parts I was supposed to get. I paid for three helicopters and not one of them worked!!! I ended up out $133.00. My advice is do NOT purchase anything from this company. In my opinion, they are nothing but a rip off.

     
Replies
Worst Customer Service Ever
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA CLARITA, CALIFORNIA -- I emailed less than 60 minutes to cancel my order I picked the wrong item. They read a script saying once a order has gone down to processing there is nothing that can be done. But as we all know they just chose to do nothing the order had not even been filled let alone shipped. I asked for a manager, I was given a ** who repeated the script. I asked to speak with her boss, she said she is as high as it goes, there was no one above her I could speak to. I was then hung up on. I called back and asked the customer service representative who was the manager she gave the name **.

I then asked to speak with him regarding my previous conversation. He then gave the same script and I informed him I would like to file a formal complaint. He said he would have to review the call not even an apology for this so called manager. I informed them I did not want this product. ** said I would have to wait for them to ship it then ship it back at 20 % restocking fee. So why not just restock it before shipping. This was absolutely unacceptable.

I told them I was unsure if this was the one I needed I wanted get the best one they carried he said tech support would be the ones to talk too I asked to speak with them ** then advised they are out to lunch. I felt bullied by this company. ** could even help from laughing at me while we were talking. HORRIBLE customer service if that you can call it.

     
Replies
This is a total ripoff company!!!
By -

SANTA CLARITA, CALIFORNIA -- DO NOT do business with HobbyTron!!! THEY DO NOT GIVE REFUNDS. THEY DO NOT REPAIR ITEMS. IF YOUR ITEM IS DEFECTIVE OR BROKEN IN SHIPPING, TOUGH LUCK - YOU ARE OUT OF YOUR MONEY.
Here is my experience with this company... I purchased a remote control truck from HobbyTron on 11/27/2010. This was my son's Christmas present so I ordered it well in advance in case any issues came up. I received the truck on 12/6/2010 and followed the directions and charged the battery overnight. I plugged it in and no response whatsoever.

I called HobbyTron on 12/7/2010 (waited 20 minutes for a human to answer). I asked if they could charge my credit card for another one, let me send this back, and then they could credit my credit card when they received the non-working truck. They said they could not do that. They DO NOT provide refunds. They told me I would have to fill out a RMA (Return Merchandise Authorization) on their website and I would have to send it back to them to have it fixed and returned. They said there was no way I would get it before Christmas.

I filled out a RMA on their website and a few days later I received an e-mail saying they were shipping out a new battery and charger. So, their RMA means nothing to them. They just assumed it was the battery or charger (Even though I told them the battery was warm when charging). I figured we can at least try it...

One week passed and no battery or charger in the mail. I called and they said it was "in the process of being shipped". Another week passes and I called. They said "Well, it is coming from oversees so it may take a while". I told them that I would be disputing the charge on my credit card and they HUNG UP ON ME!!! I disputed the charge on my credit card and will have to wait up to two months before it is resolved.

Here is my advice: DO NOT do business with HobbyTron. Go to your local Hobby store and fork out the extra money and get a good remote control car. I did this and paid $185 for an extremely durable car (Traxxas Stampede) and the Hobby store will fix the car if it ever breaks for $30 per hour. That assurance alone was worth it to me. The hobby store people know what sucks and what does not. HobbyTron almost destroyed my son's Christmas, but the local hobby store made him happy... HobbyTron is a rip-off company!!!

     
Replies
They Must Have Been Scared! - I Hate Hobbytron
By -

Okay, well it all started on a rainy Sunday afternoon and I was tired and my back hurt. My son walks into my room and asks, "When is my gun going to get here?" I just remembered we had ordered a Dboys AK-74 Airsoft Rifle that was about $150! I also remembered, we ordered it 4 weeks ago. So I sent a kind email stating we haven't received our order and that we would like reassurance that it is on it's way. 3 days gone by, no reply! So, I call up the place and this lady picks up who sounds like she had just been on her day off and now returning to some sweat shop. I told her that I have sent an email about the gun that we ordered 4 weeks and 3 days ago.

She seemed "out of it" and told me to print out and fill out their Return Authorization Form. I do it, I fill it out completely. So, I call one more time and ask her what address I should send it to (I will never go to their website again). She told me that she couldn't give that information out. Why not? FRAUD! So we had this long conversation about how you need an address to send the form to. After about 45 minutes, she finally said "Okay, I don't have time for this, anyway, 4 weeks you said? Your warranty is up!" Wow, good job! You successfully ripped me off for real.

So, I told her that I will kill her, luckily my son wasn't in the room, and she said that's a threat and that she would call the police and I told her that if she did, she would get a ton of fraud charges and I would go home happy with one little charge of "Blackmail". So then she said "Good Bye!" and hung up. I tried to call back, but got their voicemail.
So, I concluded it was not worth chasing after her and just filed report with Visa to claim my money back and I also reported them as fraud. Hopefully, they're no longer running as I wouldn't know cause I will never visit their website AGAIN!

     
Replies
Hobbytron Beware
By -

The most horrific online shopping experience I have ever had. I ordered airsoft items described as "in stock" and they were happy to accept my Paypal payment. A week after ordering the shopping cart was still processing. Voice mail boxes were full and would accept no messages. Emails were not answered and eventually were returned as undeliverable. The "Real Time Chat" personnel (possibly computer generated) reported repeatedly that my order was going to ship "tomorrow".

This went on for two weeks. I finally found a way to cancel my order but they have not refunded the money. They kept my money and did not ship anything. Fraud. Paypal is trying to recoup the money but say that Hobbytron purchases are not protected by PayPal buyer assurance. I wish I had found a review that stated things as I have done above BEFORE I ordered. I am posting this review to save someone the trouble and similar $ loss. Buyer Beware with Hobbytron.

     
Replies
Brought 2 Batteries One Was Defective
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I brought two 11.1v batteries after receiving batteries on 12/29/2014, one was defective - tried to get in touch with them to get a RMA number so I can return defective battery, but every time I call or email I couldn't get in touch with anyone. Have been trying to talk to someone for almost two weeks. I have left voice mail and emails and phone calls and no one calls me back. I have decided to take the lost but I will never do business with this company again and I advise other customers to be aware.

     
Replies
Aggressively Bad
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA CLARITA, CALIFORNIA -- Here is my limited experience: ordered a helicopter for my kid. Doesn't work. Return it. Replaced with another one. Doesn't work. Return it. I've now spent in shipping as much as the price. But I soldier on, order three items for Christmas a week out. Am guaranteed they'll be there. It is Christmas now in fact. They are not here. I have tried to reach them by email and phone for days. Screw me apparently. This company is terrible. Stay away.

     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >