Preview Review

Next Review

Hobbytron Consumer Reviews

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
The Company Is Scamming People for Their Money
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VALENCIA, CALIFORNIA -- My Son has been saving for several months to buy an airsoft gun in order to go on a group trip. HobbyTron had a great deal on a gun that advertised all kinds of extras. In doing his research this seemed to be the best bang for his buck. We reviewed together and we purchased online. When the product arrived it appeared to be missing some things. We promptly called customer service and were transferred to IT department.

The gentleman we first talked to was extremely helpful. He informed us the gun needed to be charged before use, took information to replace the items such as the light that mounts to be replaced and to send the laser that was advertised but not included. He also stated that he has advised company to take down the laser advertisement. To no avail my son charged his gun the required 4 hours and the bullets do not shoot out of the gun but instead roll out of the barrel. My son was very sad and disappointed but I assured him we would call today and get it taken care of.

When I called this morning I got a VERY RUDE "Customer Service" gal who told me they don't do refunds and that I needed to go on their website and fill out a form to request repair. I told her that we just received the gun and she said that since it had been opened that they don't do refunds?! How would I have known the gun didn't work if I didn't take it out of the package? I filled out the form and asked to be transferred to IT. The gentleman there confirmed that the gun was not working properly but also that I had to fill out this form.

So what good is this 45day warranty if they don't intend to honor it. The website states that the repair and exchange takes 8-10 business days to be determined. This is not timely nor is it fair. This company sells things to people and takes their money and refuses to stand behind their products. Their policies are ridiculous and fraudulent. Nowhere on their website or during their ordering process does it say no refunds.

Replies
Advertisement
Striker 2.4GHz 4.5CH Camera RC Spy Drone
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

ONLINE -- I ordered 3 of the above drones online as Christmas gifts. When they arrived they were packaged individually and taped together so they arrived as one. I separated them and opened one to inspect it and charge the battery so it could be used immediately. The connections were flimsy. I couldn't even connect them w/o fear of breaking them. I called to ask for return instructions. They charge 20% restocking fees, and no return for the opened one since it was not defective. It is repackaged perfectly. All they will say is, "I'm sorry. That is our policy." Never buy from HobbyTron!!! They do no back up their products. I am furious.

Replies
Horrible Company
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

VALENCIA -- I bought a remote control airplane for my son for Christmas and when plane arrived the battery was dead on arrival. After some email back and forth I had to pay $15 to send the plane back for exchange, second plane arrived after one week and when my son opened it the motor was hanging from fuselage, I had to pay another $15 to ship the plane back and after another week we got the same plane back except the motor was tightened in.

Finally we could go to park and try the plane, so we charge the battery and we had about 10 minutes flying time before we were back in the house to recharge the battery only to find out that battery does not take any charge. I sent an email to Hobbytron and asked them about the problem. When they got back to me after 5 days they said the warranty does not cover the battery since I charged it once, I was very disappointed and frustrated so I called them and talked to customer service and then to the manager but to no success.

I paid $153 plus another $30 for shipping for this plane only because it came with 90 days warranty where I could buy it from Vortex for $95. So hobbytron sold me a worthless product with worthless warranty. Don't Be sucker like me and don't buy from Hobbytron. Hobbytron has 244 Complaints against it on ConsumerAffairs website, check it out before you make your decision.

Replies
Brought 2 Batteries One Was Defective
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I brought two 11.1v batteries after receiving batteries on 12/29/2014, one was defective - tried to get in touch with them to get a RMA number so I can return defective battery, but every time I call or email I couldn't get in touch with anyone. Have been trying to talk to someone for almost two weeks. I have left voice mail and emails and phone calls and no one calls me back. I have decided to take the lost but I will never do business with this company again and I advise other customers to be aware.

Replies
Advertisement
Aggressively Bad
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

SANTA CLARITA, CALIFORNIA -- Here is my limited experience: ordered a helicopter for my kid. Doesn't work. Return it. Replaced with another one. Doesn't work. Return it. I've now spent in shipping as much as the price. But I soldier on, order three items for Christmas a week out. Am guaranteed they'll be there. It is Christmas now in fact. They are not here. I have tried to reach them by email and phone for days. Screw me apparently. This company is terrible. Stay away.

Replies
Poor Customer Service-Shipping
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CALIFORNIA -- I purchased 4 Groupons for 4 different helicopters only to get slammed with high shipping and processing fees when I redeemed them at Hobbytron, since they required I purchased each individually. So the great $15.00 toy turned into a $29.00 toy. Thanks Hobbytron, only you could mess up a Groupon deal! Hobbytron waited 3 days to even ship the items and I've been waiting another 10 days and haven't received anything yet. I have called and emailed Hobbytron and their phone system hangs up after each long wait. Never buy anything from Hobbytron, they are scam artists!

Replies
Good and Bad of Hobbytron.com
By -

I placed an order with hobbytron.com on 9/21/09 with overnight delivery. My card was charged on 9/21/09. The items were needed for a birthday party Saturday 9/26/09. When 9/24/09 rolled around and my order still showed as "in process in the warehouse" I called and a person answered the very first time I called. She placed me on hold and returned to say that my order would definitely ship that day and that I would receive tracking information by that evening.

Friday morning 9/25 rolled around and no email was received and my online order status still showed "in process in the warehouse". This time when I called repeatedly there was no answer and the voicemail box would not accept any additional messages. I began to search online for another phone number and came across all the complaints about Hobbytron.com. I began to panic. I called again repeatedly and finally another message stated that all customer service representatives were busy and to email support@hobbytron.com for assistance or to call back later.

I emailed them about the status of my order and got a response 20 minutes later stating that orders sometime take longer to ship than shown on the website. I responded back stating that I needed this order for a birthday party on 9/26/09 and wanted to cancel the order since I would have to pick up something from a retail store. I received another response 5 minutes later stating that they would cancel the order and issue a full refund. I immediately checked the status of my order online and sure enough it was in cancelled status.

I responded by email again and asked how long would it take for the refund to be processed and a response was received 3 minutes later stating 24-72 hours. Three hours after that, I received a system generated email confirmation of my refund. About 20 minutes after that I received another email from one of the customer service representative advising me of the refund and telling me that it would take 2-3 business days to post to my account. I'm glad everything worked out in the end since I read about so many horror stories but it still sucks that I didn't get my order. Sounds like they are trying to improve in the area of customer service?

Replies
This is a total ripoff company!!!
By -

SANTA CLARITA, CALIFORNIA -- DO NOT do business with HobbyTron!!! THEY DO NOT GIVE REFUNDS. THEY DO NOT REPAIR ITEMS. IF YOUR ITEM IS DEFECTIVE OR BROKEN IN SHIPPING, TOUGH LUCK - YOU ARE OUT OF YOUR MONEY.
Here is my experience with this company... I purchased a remote control truck from HobbyTron on 11/27/2010. This was my son's Christmas present so I ordered it well in advance in case any issues came up. I received the truck on 12/6/2010 and followed the directions and charged the battery overnight. I plugged it in and no response whatsoever.

I called HobbyTron on 12/7/2010 (waited 20 minutes for a human to answer). I asked if they could charge my credit card for another one, let me send this back, and then they could credit my credit card when they received the non-working truck. They said they could not do that. They DO NOT provide refunds. They told me I would have to fill out a RMA (Return Merchandise Authorization) on their website and I would have to send it back to them to have it fixed and returned. They said there was no way I would get it before Christmas.

I filled out a RMA on their website and a few days later I received an e-mail saying they were shipping out a new battery and charger. So, their RMA means nothing to them. They just assumed it was the battery or charger (Even though I told them the battery was warm when charging). I figured we can at least try it...

One week passed and no battery or charger in the mail. I called and they said it was "in the process of being shipped". Another week passes and I called. They said "Well, it is coming from oversees so it may take a while". I told them that I would be disputing the charge on my credit card and they HUNG UP ON ME!!! I disputed the charge on my credit card and will have to wait up to two months before it is resolved.

Here is my advice: DO NOT do business with HobbyTron. Go to your local Hobby store and fork out the extra money and get a good remote control car. I did this and paid $185 for an extremely durable car (Traxxas Stampede) and the Hobby store will fix the car if it ever breaks for $30 per hour. That assurance alone was worth it to me. The hobby store people know what sucks and what does not. HobbyTron almost destroyed my son's Christmas, but the local hobby store made him happy... HobbyTron is a rip-off company!!!

Replies
Advertisement
They Must Have Been Scared! - I Hate Hobbytron
By -

Okay, well it all started on a rainy Sunday afternoon and I was tired and my back hurt. My son walks into my room and asks, "When is my gun going to get here?" I just remembered we had ordered a Dboys AK-74 Airsoft Rifle that was about $150! I also remembered, we ordered it 4 weeks ago. So I sent a kind email stating we haven't received our order and that we would like reassurance that it is on it's way. 3 days gone by, no reply! So, I call up the place and this lady picks up who sounds like she had just been on her day off and now returning to some sweat shop. I told her that I have sent an email about the gun that we ordered 4 weeks and 3 days ago.

She seemed "out of it" and told me to print out and fill out their Return Authorization Form. I do it, I fill it out completely. So, I call one more time and ask her what address I should send it to (I will never go to their website again). She told me that she couldn't give that information out. Why not? FRAUD! So we had this long conversation about how you need an address to send the form to. After about 45 minutes, she finally said "Okay, I don't have time for this, anyway, 4 weeks you said? Your warranty is up!" Wow, good job! You successfully ripped me off for real.

So, I told her that I will kill her, luckily my son wasn't in the room, and she said that's a threat and that she would call the police and I told her that if she did, she would get a ton of fraud charges and I would go home happy with one little charge of "Blackmail". So then she said "Good Bye!" and hung up. I tried to call back, but got their voicemail.
So, I concluded it was not worth chasing after her and just filed report with Visa to claim my money back and I also reported them as fraud. Hopefully, they're no longer running as I wouldn't know cause I will never visit their website AGAIN!

Replies
One Of My Worst Shopping Experiences Ever!!!
By -

CARLSBAD, CALIFORNIA -- Unbelievable is the only way I can describe my Hobbytron experience! Please, please, DO NOT EVER patronize this terrible online company!!! For starters, my son ordered an Airsoft gun from Hobbytron, and my credit card was promptly charged on July 6 with the promise of "3 to 5 business day delivery." When the gun hadn't arrived as of July 28, I began a trail of four emails and three phone calls (leaving messages, never returned) that ultimately resulted in a note saying the company had moved from Utah to California and most of its sales force didn't make the move.

I sent off another barrage of emails and finally received the gun August 11 - sort of. It was a clearly used gun, complete with a long ugly scratch, and the three vital screws needed to put it together were missing. I contacted the company by phone and the manager never called back, despite two messages. I told a sales rep to please send a new gun immediately, since my son had been waiting for five weeks now, and I would send the old one back. "No way", she said: I had to go back to the Website to submit a return authorization form. Only when the form was approved would they accept the gun back and send another.

At this point I just said I wanted my money back. I told her I had already spent several hours on my Hobbytron nightmare and asked her to just handle this over the phone, but she rudely refused. I went to the Website and on the return form they ask about two dozen questions, most of them demeaning ("Did you drop or damage the merchandise? Please answer honestly"). I have NEVER had a shopping experience as ugly and vulgar as this one, and urge consumers everywhere to STAY AWAY FROM HOBBYTRON!!!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Hobbytron Rating:
Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.0 out of 5, based on 11 ratings and
22 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Hobbytron
28904 Avenue Paine
Valencia, CA 91355
818-675-9000 (ph)
www.hobbytron.com
Compare Online Stores/Auctions