Holiday Inn

Star Empty star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.2 out of 5, based on 5 ratings and
95 reviews & complaints.

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Overcharged and Never Refunded
By -

NORTH LITTLE ROCK, ARKANSAS -- I have had a very unfortunate experience with the Holiday Inn Express North Little Rock on McCain Boulevard. I stayed there in September 2009 and I was traveling on business. My company had booked the hotel for me and paid for it via Expedia. When I checked into the hotel, the front desk associate asked me for my credit card for incidentals. I didn'™t argue it because I travel all over the country and being asked for my credit card for incidentals at check in is a normal occurrence.

In October, I noticed the Holiday Inn Express North Little Rock had charged my credit card for $534.03. I called the hotel to ask them to remove the charge since my stay had already been paid for by my company. The woman I spoke to on the phone was very rude and told me that I shouldn't have given my credit card to the person at check in because once the hotel is paid for, a card shouldn't need to be swiped. How unfortunate.

I called and asked them in a calm manner to find out how to get this charge reimbursed and I received a rude response to the problem at hand that had been caused by one of the hotel employees. She then told me she could not handle the problem and the person who could handle it was not there. She told me to call back in the morning to get a hold of the manager.

The next morning, I called to speak with the manager, but she was unavailable, so I left a voicemail. I didn't hear back from her after I left a voicemail. I called back the next day and finally got a hold of the manager. She was very nice to me and told me she would go ahead and get the charge taken off my card and that I would see it come off very soon.

On October 25, 2009, there was another charge on my card of $534.03 and then immediately after there was a credit on my card for $534.03. So, instead of refunding my stay on my card, the card was charged again for the full amount and the charge that happened on October 25th, was refunded on October 25th. Unfortunately, this also meant the original charge from September 2009 was STILL on my card and had never been refunded.

In the weeks that followed between October 25th and December 15th, I have made over 14 calls to the hotel trying to get this matter resolved. Every single time I have called, I have been told that the person who deals with credit card matters is not there. I have been told that I need to call back on a Friday, I have been told to call back in the morning and was given specific times to call between and mysteriously, the woman was not there during this time either. I was also told on a few different occasions that the staff was not allowed to give out other staff members work schedule so they couldn't tell me a best time to call back to get the matter resolved.

Another time when I called they told me they couldn't find my old reservation on file or see anywhere that I had stayed at their hotel at which point they cut me off, and told me to call another hotel in North Little Rock because I had called the wrong place. This was completely inaccurate since I had been in contact with same hotel the entire time. It was just another excuse for the hotel workers to not deal with me on the phone. I was also told on a separate occasion, that I shouldn't have let them swipe my card at check in. This was the second or third time I was given that same rude response for something that in no way was my fault.

On another occasion, I explained my situation and who I was (to the same rude woman who told me that I shouldn't have let them swipe my card at check in) and when I was finished, she just said, "OK thanks," and made every effort possible to not stay on the phone with me. After calling over 14 times and introducing myself and my situation every single time to the same employees, they knew who I was and why I was calling and yet they still never had a viable solution for me.

One time I was told the manager would take care of the charge and I would receive a fax when it was refunded to my card. When the charge was still not refunded, I tried calling again and again to find out why the charge had not come off my card and why I still hadn™'t received a fax. I was told by another male employee that the number they had on file for my fax was a bad number and the contact number I had left each time I called was not able to be reached. He told me the manager had left for the day and if she had time she would try to fax it to me again.

Time and again, I was given excuses and was dismissed when I tried to get this matter resolved in a calm and reasonable fashion. Once I became fed up with trying to reach unreachable managers, I called the corporate help line to see if anything could be done for me. While the woman on the phone was very nice to me, she let me know there was absolutely nothing that they could do to help me and the manager of the specific hotel in North Little Rock would have to refund this charge.

I asked if there was any way whatsoever to ensure the manager get back in contact with me and she said they would send a message directly to the manager to resolve the situation and that the manager would be calling me within 24-48 hours. Needless to say, the situation was never resolved, the manager never called me, and I am left with a charge of $534.03 on my credit card, accruing interest by the day.

In the meantime, I was left with no choice, but to call Visa directly to dispute the charge. Currently, I have Visa working on a credit card dispute for me in order for me to get my money back that is rightfully mine. In addition to not being able to pay off my credit card due to this charge, my fiancé and I are currently unable to make reservations for our honeymoon because it needs to go on the same credit card that the Holiday Inn Express North Little Rock charge is on.

I have never in my entire life been given such an awful runaround with a problem caused by a company. The worst part is that in no way is this my fault. I have spent countless amounts of time away from work attempting to get a hold of the manager at the Holiday Inn Express North Little Rock during business hours. This is costing me valuable time at work, stress, finance charges on my credit card, and costing me a higher price to pay for my honeymoon because I was not able to book in the time that my travel agent found a deal for me.

This is, by far, the worst experience I have ever had with any company. I have been traveling the country for years on business and this is absolutely inexcusable. The employees at Holiday Inn North Little Rock have cost the Holiday Inn chain a considerable amount of business and have earned the chain a bad rapport.

Charged For Fictional Pets!
By -

HOT SPRINGS, ARKANSAS -- My wife, son and I stayed at the establishment on 1/16/2009 - 1/18/2009 as part of a Cub Scout outing to the Mid America Science Museum. We arrived around 9pm on 1/16/2009 checked into our room. On 1/17/2009 4 other families from our Cub Scout Pack arrived and we toured the museum and they then too checked into the hotel. On 1/18/2009 I woke up to find my bill under the door as expected. Upon reviewing the charges I noticed a $200.00 Pet Charge added to my bill and highlighted in yellow.

Assuming this was a typo or bookkeeping error I went down to the front desk and asked the front desk clerk, ** to please remove the charge from my bill as I have no pets in the room. Much to my surprise she immediately displayed a defensive attitude and indicated that the housekeeper, **, had seen evidence of dog hair on a blanket in our room and the charge would not be removed. I immediately registered what she was referring to.

My 7 year old son had brought his favorite blanket and pillow from home and both of those items do indeed have dog hair on them from our dogs at home. I explained the situation to her detailing that there was no dog in the room or dog hair on any of the hotel furnishings, and that the housekeeper must have been referring to my son's blanket. I asked that she please send someone up to the room to verify. ** indicated that there was no one to send and that she could not leave the front desk and the charges would not be removed.

I then asked to speak to the General Manager On Duty listed on the sign behind her: **. She told me that there was no manager currently on duty and I would have to wait to speak to him/her on Monday. I asked if she would call him and she refused. I returned to my room, took pictures of all the hotel furnishings, sheets, towels, floor etc as best I could as I could see where this argument was heading.

I then contacted 1 800 HOLIDAY and was given case number: **. They attempted to call the local Holiday Inn and have ** reach the manager on duty but were also unsuccessful. They indicated that I would have to contact them via the case number on Monday. I again asked ** to contact the General Manager, and she again refused and threatened to contact security if my wife and I did not leave the front desk area immediately. Having no other legal recourse at this point I followed those directions and checked out.

On Monday I contacted 1 800 Holiday again and was told that the manager could not be reached and to please allow 48 hours from the time of the incident for a resolution. On Tuesday (today) I called again and they indicated that the local manager had indicated there was evidence of dog hair according to the housekeeper, and the charge would not be removed. The Corporate office indicated they would stand by the local branch and would not remove the charge and suggested if I had issues that I contact my credit card company and dispute the charge.

I have contacted Discover card and asked that the charge be disputed, and they have made a note on my account to this effect. I still have to wait for the official charges to hit my bill before it can be taken further. I have since registered a formal complaint with the Better Business Bureau and several other complaint sites to warn prospective customers.

I have pictures, and 4 other families who will vouch for the fact that there was no dog in that room along with the check that I have written to my dog sitter back home to watch the dogs while I was away for the weekend, and no one will take any action. I find these business practices very frustrating and will never stay at another establishment owned or operated by Holiday Inn. Damage Resulting $200.00 additional charge to my credit card. Being called a liar and accused of having fictional pets in front of my Cub Scout Pack of which I am one of the leaders.

1/28/2009 - Update: I received a survey from International Hotels Group (IHG) yesterday regarding my feelings on my stay at the Holiday Inn Hot Springs. I answered the survey and then noticed at the bottom a generic note that said something to the effect of "we thank you for your business" signed the Senior Vice President of Holiday Inn Brands. Being in I.T. myself, I figured their email formats were probably so I tried it and was able to mail him directly. I expressed my concerns, and he emailed me back almost immediately with a sincere apology and promise to get to the bottom of the issue.

This morning, a lady from his office contacted me twice regarding the issue and promised to resolve the issue through the credit card company request and enrolled me in the Premier Club along with a complimentary 15,000 points equating to a free stay at one of their properties.

It is unfortunate that I had to go all the way to the top of the food chain to get this resolved, however, the gentleman was very cordial and seemed to genuinely care that my issue was not treated with respect and prompt resolution. I will not mark this item as resolved until I can verify the charge has been removed from my account, but I can say that once I got to the right people the level of interest did improve.

Car Windshield Damage While Parked in Unit Driveway
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

ORLANDO, FLORIDA -- We stayed at the resort from May 10-17, 2015 on an exchange through RCI. About an hour after checking into the villa a golf ball smashed our car windshield which was parked in the driveway on the front of the Villa. Contact Security per instructions from the front desk who indicated that in Florida because they have so many golf courses that the insurance companies have a no fault waiver of deductibles by the insurance companies. Security also indicated that we signed a disclaimer at check in that the resort is not responsible for any damage to your property by errant golf balls on the resort.

I check with my insurance company which stated our deductible will still apply and they would pay for all damages above the deductible. I then checked out the Florida law which only applied to Florida residents. This may also apply to car rentals with the added insurance coverage.

We have visited Golf resorts all over the USA and have found Timeshares are more than willing to provide some type of compensation to ensure their guest have an enjoyable stay. After all bad press will cut into future sales of their property. It is reasonable to expect the golf course and resort would construct the course tee boxes in such a way to minimize potential damage to the property of Guest. The Tee box in back of the house was constructed well within 250 yards to the front of the villas and direct off the tee to our Villa and two other villas one on each side of ours.

There were no other measures taken to lessen the potential damage to Guest property. This is potentially negligence on the part of the Resort. A simple net or car port cover would eliminate or significantly reduce the possibility of damage. It is also reasonable to expect a resort to have insurance to cover Guest injuries and property when on their property. Their insurance does cover errant golf balls that break their patio glass doors in their villas.

We called the General Manager office and instead of the General Manager contacting us another person contacted us and reiterated the sign in disclaimer. I then suggested that some type of in kind gift be considered to rectify this situation and to make us whole. This person referred to the Golf course for resolution.

The Golf course did at my suggestion provide me with two rounds of golf valued at approximately $140. The cost of the new windshield was $ 280. I then tried several times to contact the resort to consider in kind gift such as dinner or entertainment tickets but we got no return calls and were simply ignored. I then contacted the parent company InterContinental Hotels Group who indicated we would be contacted within 7-10 business days. We never heard from them at all.

I suspect that most people who stay at this resort are unaware that they are signing a disclaimer from injury and damages at check in. Something like that you would expect it to be highlighted on the sign in document to ensure Guest are aware. If it were highlighted I could have made arrangement to move to another resort. The point is I would have had the choice. As it stands now I would not recommend any of my friends to stay at this resort. The solution acceptable at this point is a refund of $ 140.00.

Terrible! Fraudulent charges because I complained!
By -

LEADERHEIGHTS, YORK, PENNSYLVANIA -- Upon arrival, my husband checked in, never going to the room, we left & went out to dinner arriving back about an hour or so later. The hotel staff was socializing with their friends in the lobby, including 2 women displaying affections to one another. We book the hotel on Priceline & the area was being hit with a snowstorm, so we were stuck in the hotel throughout the duration. My children & I went out to our Jeep to get out a board game & on our way back through the lobby we witnessed including my children inappropriate affections / behavior.

I was not comfortable to allow my 11 or 12 year old to even go to the ice machine alone. Then the room we got smelled of smoke, so combined with the behavior, I felt I would inform the manager. So I reported the situation to the front desk & asked for the manager & to my surprise she was one of the ladies involved in the display of affections. I was very rudely told that the hotel is a 100% smoke-free, I told her that was not the case, as I witnessed at least 2 of her staff smoking.

Her disposition & demeanor was very aggressive & I quickly realized it would do no good to complain. I did inform her my son has atypical asthma & cannot be in direct contact with smoke. Had there not been 2 ft of snow, with heavy snow still coming down & the fact all roads including interstate 83 were closed I would have left right away! Since I had no viable option & my son's asthma is not bothered once actual smoke dissipates, I did not make a bigger issue & we did stay in the room.

My husband also mention there was the possibility the smoke smell might have been from my husband's 4 wheel drive Jeep / clothes, because he carpools with coworkers & some of them including my husband will smoke in it. The rest of the stay was uneventful until the day of checkout! We had paid for the hotel through Priceline but the hotel required our credit card upon arriving anyway. After receiving the checkout receipt, my husband noticed a charge for a movie to our room made within 5 minutes of the time we checked in.

I told him it was unacceptable, we did not rent a movie & asked him to address it as I did not feel comfortable to address it with the manager & felt certain she would simply dismiss it with me. So while my husband went to handle the charge, I went to our Jeep & decided to pick it up before packing it.

There were a few coffee cups my husband left in there from the hotel (he kept going out & cleaning the snow off our Jeep for the 2 days & would sit in our Jeep & have a cigarette) so I emptied the ashtray into one of the cups & picked up a magazine that got wet from the snow & carried them back to throw them out in the garbage can outside the hotel. But the can was covered & filled with snow, so I took them to our room & slipped them into one of their little garbage bags & left it there.

Well my husband comes back to the room & said the manager was a real piece of work! But she did admit she saw we did not go to the room right away & she would refund the charge. But instead of refunding the charge she charged our credit card 240.00. Thank God it was at its credit limit! Or I am sure she would have charged more! Well when I went to use that card to charge our gas it would not go through. So I contact our credit card comp. & that is when I found out that we were charged 243.77 by the hotel.

So I contact the hotel & the manager states that they charged that because we smoked in the room because the cup I dumped the ashtray into! She was very clear that she would not refund the money & she said she is now certain, since I had so many problems with the hotel I would not be back! So I report this to my credit card comp & they are trying to get my money back. I also reported to Holiday Inn customer/guest relations & filed a complaint & was told they would inform the hotel not to dispute the charge or recharge the card.

But guess what, received a call from my credit card comp. saying the hotel is arguing & won't give the money back. So when I called guest relations they are now saying they cannot do anything for us or make the hotel give it back because they can't prove whether or not we smoked in the room!

I would highly recommend anyone considering staying in the area to stay at the Comfort Inn, it is less than 5 miles up the road, & a top hotel compared to the low standards of this Holiday Inn Express. Also I suggest to search reviews of the Holiday Inn Express in all areas as you will see the hundreds of neg. reviews usually involving being overcharged or ripped off!

I would like to note.. my son is atypical (not the average typical asthmatic) & any type of direct smoke (actual visible smoke that can be inhaled) usually will cause an asthma attack, not the stale smell of smoke. My son did not have an asthma attack while at the hotel. I only mentioned the room smelling of smoke because it smelled of smoke.

When the manager said they were 100% smoke-free I pointed out that the staff was seen smoking in the lobby & outside. My main concern & complaint was that the hotel staff was displaying what I feel was not appropriate behavior for any type of business that children are present at. After writing this review I did read someone else review from Nov 2008 that stated a similar experience with the staff socializing with non-guest members. So this appears to be the type of atmosphere one can expect from this hotel.

For some that is not a problem but I for one, it was because I had my children along. For the hotel, that type of behavior should not be excused or expected. The manager became defensive & aggressive & created the trumped up fraudulent charge... I am 100% certain it was because I complained.

As a follow-up as I am uncertain how to post that... I would like to say, my husband never has nor would smoke around our son. Nor does our son ride in my husband Jeep often. We had no option but to take the Jeep because of the amount of snow & my Spyder Eclipse does not get around in the snow. Affections was a term I felt was better suited than to say groping & kissing by a member of the hotel staff. As for me bringing the cigarette smoke smell to the manager's attention, it was a secondary issue because the real issue involved the manager & she was very aggressive & rude.

I am certain many who read this will understand it is often easy to be upset about a secondary issue (the smell of smoke) because I was bothered about the main issue. Plus I am not the one advertising my husband's Jeep as being 100% smoke-free but the hotel is advertising their hotel is 100% smoke-free. As for the kissing, & the staff & non-guest socializing in what should be for paying guest area, yes that was the real issue. By the staff doing so the atmosphere was not family friendly, which is the reason for my review.

It would not have been made an issue if my children were not along. Though I still would not have felt comfortable going to the lobby / lounge area & though I most likely would not have made an issue to the manager of the behavior of the hotel staff including herself, I still would not have felt it was or is OK for someone working at the hotel to act as if it is their own personal playground. Some types of work environments this is acceptable & expected but the Holiday Inn Express should not be one of them.

Please note.. the manager for the york pa. hotel will only follow up to customers with decent or good reviews but not to the ones with complaints. Also though the Holiday Inn guest relations will take your complaint, in the end they don't do anything about it & just refers you back to the hotel that you had the problem with!

Happy Holidays?

I was trying to plan a trip for my girlfriend and I to New York. We normally love to stay at the Holiday Inn Express wherever we go. I am currently a member of their rewards program. I emailed the reward redemption section of their website and explained that I will be staying 7 consecutive nights on the road. Not necessarily in the same town. My only question to them was that if we stay all 7 nights in their hotel chain, would we receive a free night of stay?

This is a copy/paste of the response from them: "Thank you for taking the time to contact the Priority Club Rewards Service Centre. Unfortunately we will not be able to honor your reservation request at this time due to time constraints of communication via e-mail".

Time constraints of communication via e-mail? What the heck is that? I wasn't planning the trip until Summer. Where is the time constraint in that?

Guest Services
By -

MIDLAND, MICHIGAN -- On December 15th, 2006 our hockey team checked into the Holiday Inn located at 1500 W Wackerly St. in Midland, Michigan. We were to stay 2 nights and had reserved the Black and White room for a Christmas dinner for the team. On Friday night December 15th, 2006 our coach had informed us that the children needed to be in bed at 9:00 pm for an early game Saturday morning. After putting the kids to bed a few of us parents wanted to kick back and relax and play some Texas Hold'em.

We had never been to this hotel before and we were not sure where to go and play, so I suggested the Black/white room where we would be holding our dinner the following night. This particular room is also used for the continental breakfast in the morning. We all gathered in this room and began to sort out poker chips to begin playing and an employee of the Holiday Inn came into the area and stated that we could not play there because she had to get the room ready for the continental breakfast the next day, I explained to her that we would not be there long maybe only an hour would that be OK, I thought she said yes and then she left the room.

Here is where it gets ugly, about 10 minutes later two men approached us in this room acting like a couple of bouncers. One's name was ** the other **. ** proceeded to point at us and accuse us of gambling and told us it was illegal in this hotel and we had to leave this area. At that point, I told him we were not gambling and who does he think he is accusing us. There was not even a card dealt yet. ** then decided that this excuse was not going to work so he told us that we could not have alcohol in the bar area, that was against the law and we had to leave this area.

One of the other parents then stood up and said, "No. This is the black and white room. We are not in the bar." At this point frustration is building on both parties. And a parent had asked ** "Where we could go and play?" And his response was "Anywhere but here." And again we asked him, "Where can we go?" And ** responded "Anywhere but here!" He said that several times. Well this made one of the parents angry, "Why couldn't this person just suggest somewhere for us to go and play cards?"

So this parent took out of his pocket $2,500.00 and told ** if he just let us sit and play he would put that money on the bar and we would buy our drinks from the bar and put ours away. ** refused the money and the parent called him a stupid, stupid man for letting his hotel lose $2500.00. ** did not like that and threatened to call the police and he exited the room. ** then told us we could go over to the pool area and play cards; you could imagine the look on our face when he said that. Why in the world couldn't ** had just said that instead of acting like some tough guy?

So all of us parents picked up our stuff and proceeded to the pool area and began playing cards. I realized a few moments later that I had forgotten something in the black and white room and I went back to get it. When I came around the corner there were 2 police officers at the counter, I asked if they were here for us and the police stated yes. I explained my version of what took place and how ** was the worst manager ever and that his customer service was terrible.

After hearing my side the police asked me what they should do and I told them nothing, we know where to play and that's where we are in the pool area. I thought the situation had resolved itself and I went back to the table and began playing cards. We played for about 15 minutes when the police officers approached our table and had told the parent who called ** a stupid man he had to leave the premises immediately. We just couldn't believe it; he was in his pyjamas and bare feet and had 4 small children sleeping. We were asking the police on what grounds they have for removing this person from this hotel at 11:00 at night. They said it was upon the request of the manager **.

Never at any point was ** ever threatened or touched, it simply was a disagreement. After the parent was escorted out of the hotel, I approached the front counter and stated that this was absurd and our hockey team, all 16 rooms would be checking out in the morning and we would be canceling our party. We were not going to give this hotel another penny, in fact I told them I work for a Lawyer and I was going to do my best to find a way for us to get reimbursed tonight's stay.

I asked ** for a copy of the hotel's policies and procedures and he told me he didn™'t have one available. He would have to bring it me. I wanted to know on what grounds ** had for removing this parent from this hotel. Needless to say, ** never brought me a copy of the policy/procedures. The next morning I went to the front desk again and asked for a copy of the policy and procedures and ** refused to give them to me.

Through this ordeal several times we had asked from the very beginning in the black/white room to get us someone in charge or above ** and every time we were told we had to wait until Monday. This all could have been avoided had ** not entered that room with a chip on his shoulder. If he would have kindly said œ"Hey folks I'm sorry you can'™t play in here, but you could go over to the pool area and play." None of this would have ever happened. Your Hotel would not have lost $1,440 for the rooms and $500.00 for the dinner party and another $2500.00 for the bar.

I can assure you we will never use that hotel again and if this is an example of how Holiday Inns run their establishments, then we as a team will not use them for our travels. I have never in my life been treated so badly by a hotel staff as we were treated here. Those employees should be ashamed of themselves and their behavior. They owe that parent they threw out an apology.

Horrible experience
By -

SOUTHFIELD, MICHIGAN -- My family stayed at the Holiday Inn, Southfield, Michigan in February during the Super Bowl. We had some horrible experiences. Our last evening we came back to the hotel after being out for the day. We had reported that we had lost one of our passkeys and asked that they be changed. The front desk personnel explained to us that they would have to change the passkeys for both our rooms even though the rooms weren't connected. They told us that it would take two hours to do this.

When we came back, they told us that we only had one room. Whoever on Holiday Inn's end had messed up when they put the reservation information in at the local hotel and closed us out of one of the rooms on our last full day. They finally fixed that and gave us the keys to our rooms. We went up to the rooms and neither one had been cleaned. One even had trash on the floor that someone else had left. We discovered that a laptop had been stolen from our room. We immediately reported it to the front desk and dealt with a very unhelpful employee. We also filed a report with the hotel security representative who tried his best to help us out.

We contacted the local police department and two detectives came out and filed a report. They explained to the representative at the front desk that the hotel was responsible for the laptop since we had reported a lost key and we were locked out of our rooms for the afternoon. We spend our last evening dealing with the police, security and dirty rooms, with no help from the front desk except for her to hand us a few towels. The girl at the front desk stated that the front desk manager would be in the next morning. The police also removed the food wrapper left in our room to dust for fingerprints.

The next morning when we checked out we asked to speak with the front desk manager who happened not to be there. Later that day we received a message on our phone that our laptop had been "recovered". I spend the next several days making long distance phone calls dealing with people from representatives from the front desk to the hotel's manager. I was fortunate to deal with a few very helpful individuals, however, the majority of them were people that had either no authority or did not know anything about our case, and I had trouble getting anyone who was in authority or who knew the details of our case to call me back.

After a week and a half we finally received our laptop back. I suspect that we finally started getting a response after I contacted the Corporate Office and filed a complaint. I was told first that a maid had removed the laptop from our room to secure it and "forgot" to tell her boss that she had done this. When I refused to believe this story, the manager investigated the case more, and found out that a helper to the maid who is not allowed in the room and who was supposed to be in another part of the hotel somehow got into our room and took the laptop.

We also discovered that for at least two hours after we reported a lost passkey card that our room was accessible using that card even though we were told that the code had to be changed on both our rooms. (Supposedly they were auditing the rooms that afternoon.) We were told that the maid lied and said she cleaned our rooms because she wanted to leave early that day. We were told that the people at the front desk had not updated our information earlier in the day when they were discovered that both rooms were supposed to be occupied that night.

It seems like this hotel has a LOT of problems. (Like the fire alarm going off during the Super Bowl because they had torches going inside near the indoor pool.) The hotel paid to have our laptop checked out and the battery replaced since somehow our new battery was ruined. The corporate office tried to tell me that they were sending us $50 in complimentary coupons even though they had done nothing wrong. I believe the police are still proceeding with the case.

The last time I talked to the police however, the manager at Holiday Inn hadn't even updated the police on the information she had told me like they knew who had stole our laptop, what his name was and the fact that he had been fired for this. The front desk manager told me that they are charged $175 with each complaint that corporate gets on them and that week they had received four. It seems funny to me that we can have an experience like this and that all we get is our laptop repaired and $50 in coupons and the corporate office gets $175. They ruined at least our last day.

We also did not get the services we paid for - clean rooms, service, etc. plus knowing that someone who was not supposed to be in your room had been in there and stolen stuff and left trash behind. Rooms are a lot more expensive than $50 in coupons a night and we had two rooms! I was VERY disappointed with the corporate office.

We have stayed in many different hotels over the years in many different states and countries and this is the first experience like this that we have had. As far as I am concerned, I will try to stay clear of Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express. Even though all of these hotels have different managers, I was very unimpressed by their Corporate Office.

They gave me the impression that what happened was somehow our fault. We were told that we shouldn't leave anything of value in our rooms. Well we didn't leave money or jewelry, but we figured a laptop would be safe. Should we not even leave our clothes there either? If you are providing a service, people have to be assured that they and their property are at least safe. Maybe the corporate office acted like this because they were afraid of a lawsuit or maybe they just don't care. Either way, my advise is to stay away from Holiday Inn and Holiday Inn Express. Nobody wants to be staying in a hotel that doesn't stand behind their product!

Management and staff were dishonest.
By -

LAWRENCE, KANSAS -- Celebrating New Year'™s Eve at the Lawrence Holidome has been our family tradition for 4 consecutive years now. In fact, this has been tradition year after year for several families. However, due to the way management handled some changes they've made we will never return.

This originally became our tradition for several reasons: wonderful customer service towards both adults and children and the extra amenities offered just for New Year'™s Eve. The extra amenities have always included keeping all of the Holidome activities (pool, arcade, billiards and mini golf) open until midnight when they usually close at 10pm, keeping the breakfast buffet open until noon the following morning when it usually closes at 11am, offering banquet tables to be rented and placed in the Holidome for use until midnight and a discount on the breakfast buffet.

This year, the only thing being offered was the discount on the breakfast buffet but no one was told upon making reservations or upon check in that the other amenities were not being offered this year. We were all led to believe that we were paying for these extra amenities just as we had in years past. At check in I said that I wanted to rent a banquet table for the night; offering the hotel more of my money. I was told that I could not rent a banquet table because all of the catering staff had gone home for the day. No one was available to set it up.

I felt like this was an excuse since I had seen managers setting up banquet tables in years past. But, if they didn't want my money I was happy to keep it. So, just as we had the three years before we set up at a table in the pool area. We found out that the party at the table next to us had been denied a banquet table as well. Then, at 9:50 pm we were all informed by a maintenance man that the pool and the rest of the Holidome amenities would be closing at 10pm. It was no problem that the rules had changed but I was upset that we were not notified until 10 minutes before the rule change went into effect!

I asked the maintenance man why they had changed the rules. He said there was no rule change; that they've always closed everything at 10pm. I said, "Not on New Year'™s Eve. For the past three years our family has enjoyed our midnight toast right here at this very table on New Year's Eve." He just shrugged his shoulders and said, "œNew management, new rules." I really didn'™t appreciate that he had lied by trying to claim that they had never kept the place open until midnight for New Year's Eve.

Everything was shut down at 10pm and they turned the lights off. So, those guests who were able to pay extra for the banquet tables had to eat, socialize and toast the coming of the New Year in the dark! Upon seeing that I was glad they didn't allow me to rent one.

A few minutes later my husband ran into one of the managers in the hallway. He asked why the rules had changed. We didn'™t understand because the party had never gotten out of control. It was just families swimming, playing mini golf, eating and hanging out until midnight. No one have ever gotten hurt or drunk; at least not that we knew of. So when he asked why the rule change the manager said the same thing that the maintenance man said,“ "There was no rule change, they had always shut everything down at 10pm on New Year'™s Eve."

My husband told him that this had been a tradition for us so we knew this was untrue. The manager still insisted that they had never offered the extra amenities on New Year's Eve. My husband said, "For the past three years we've enjoyed our midnight toast at that table (pointing). We have it on video." The manager just shrugged and said, "œSorry." My husband went on to tell him that we felt deceived since none of this was mentioned at the time we made our reservation or at check in. And now, he and his employees were trying to lie to everyone about the whole thing. He also let the manager know that other families had already been to the front desk to complain.

After all of this we will not be returning. We understand that in this economy cutbacks need to be made. But customers should be informed of these cutbacks rather than being surprised with them. Be honest and upfront with customers BEFORE you take their money and you will retain loyalty.

Extremely Poor Service
By -

I still can't believe the situation I was in a few weeks ago. I checked into the Holiday Inn Select in Clearwater, FL. It was late but I had a lot of work to do. The wireless internet had a problem. Since I was on the 4th floor, I called downstairs to the lobby to have them fix it. They told me that they would reset the wireless router. I had momentary access and then it went out again. It was out the rest of the evening. I called downstairs several times and received empty promises that something would be done. It wasn't.

The next morning, I called downstairs and was told that there was nothing wrong with the internet. Why? Because the front desk told me that they were on the internet. I told them that the connection to the internet may be fine for the hotel but the wireless access point on the fourth floor was somehow faulty. They were willing to do nothing.

Well, I asked to be transferred to the manager. The manager got on the phone and proceeded to tell me that there was nothing he could do because he was on the internet in his office. Again, he was on the first floor. I asked why didn't anyone call tech support as I had asked last night or this morning and he told me that there was no need. Then, he told me that there was nothing he could do for me.

Well, I got dressed, went downstairs to leave for the day to find a wireless network to get some work done. But, before I left, I stopped by the front desk to get the name and number of the hotel manager so that I could file a complaint with Priority Club. The Manager came out from his office as if he were going to hit me. He asked what the problem was (very loudly) and I told him how I didn't appreciate sitting in my room all night without internet access.

When he again tried to explain to me his view on the situation, I told him that I do this for a living. I am an IT professional with 20 years experience. I know wireless network outages. The hotel just didn't follow up with the complaint. He again tried to say something. That's when I stopped him. I told him that all I need is his name and number so I can complete my complaint. He THREW his business card at me and starting yelling stating that he could put me out of the hotel by calling the police. I told him to go ahead and try. He didn't and I left.

Now the worst part of this story comes when I tried to call Priority Club to complain. Priority Club said that they would call the hotel and get to the bottom of what happened. They did, the manager lied and said that I was irate and yelled at people and acted out of control. Complete lies. But, because of what he said, Priority Club said that there was nothing that they could do and they support their hotels. So, I said I would never stay at another Holiday Inn. Ever!

Poor Billing Policy and Poorer Customer Assistance from IC Hotels
By -

Do not use Holiday INN Priority Club online booking. It is too easy to miss fine print if it's there and be charged for your stay in full with no cancellation or ability to depart early, for any reason. This is like a legal internet scam. They get your card number to open an account and use it however they please. I see on this site that a fellow whose plane was canceled due to weather from England to the US was charged $520.00 a night for each room with no refund even though it was beyond his control and he called before 6 pm.

Even if you arrived and the hotel was in poor condition or blown up, the Holiday Inn corporation customer service state on the phone they will stand behind the chain's right to charge in advance.. I was booking to stay at the above the Hotel for March 1 to 11, 2009, through the priority club, online reservations site. The hotel is independently owned and charged for the full 10 day stay. I didn't realize this was happening, it charged my card on file with Priority Club, didn't ask me to enter one.

Like many here, I was told to wait 48 hours for the hotel to respond as they can't help me prior to that. I have spoken to everyone I can and also sent a letter of complaint to the Hendersonville, TN BBB in hopes of getting my 10 days credited back. The worst thing about this is I am going for work and I told the hotel I just wanted a normal reservation for the 10 days that can be altered, in case the company cancels or changes dates on the start up. They wouldn't switch it to a normal reservation and there will be 4 rooms for 10 days reserved, not just my room they stole the money for.

In short, don't book through the online booking. It's very deceptive and occasionally will charge for full stays and does not make it clear. I'm sure my work won't pay me for the reservation I made for next month until I've stayed there. There is no assistance through customer service, they told me they back their hotels not the customer. This has happened repeatedly from what I can read on this site. So avoid the Holiday Inn Scams.

Top of Page | Next Page >