Preview Review

Next Review

Home Depot Consumer Reviews - Page 3

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Pine Straw Matching
By -

JACKSON, MISSISSIPPI -- I recently had a very poor experience with Home Depot in Jackson, MS. I have always done business with Home Depot due to being a stockholder in the company. I always felt that if I were going to buy a product for my home, I should buy it from a company I have invested interest in. I recently went to Home Depot to buy 20 bales of pine straw. They were unfortunately out, I did the unthinkable, I went to the local Lowe's store and to my chagrin, I bought 20 bales of pine straw for $1.70 cheaper per bale. I was happy with the savings and was surprised with the quality of service I received. It was very good!

I placed the quality bales in my yard for the weekend and was pleased with my purchase. The next weekend I went to Home Depot, remember I am a stock holder, to purchase more pine straw. I, of course, priced shopped and made it very clear to the manager, Rose, that his pine straw was $1.70 more per bale. He assured me that Home Depot's pine straw was a higher quality and was much larger, twice the size he claimed. I bought only 10 since I trusted the manager as he was very confident that Home Depot's was much better for the money. I asked him if he would price match if Home Depot's quality was not the same and he advised that he would.

I picked up my 10 bales and the quality was horrible. They were actually smaller and appeared that they were last year's straw. It was the worst looking straw that I have ever seen. I called the manager on the phone and advised him that his straw was not the same quality as Lowe's and I wanted him to match their price. He immediately became defensive and said that they have done their research and they would not price match? I could not believe my ears since the previous weekend, I purchased pine straw from Lowe's and knew their quality.

I advised that I had my own business and when a customer brought a complaint to me I handled it with a serving heart. He advised, "Since you are a business man, you should know that it is about the bottom dollar and making the company profitable". I replied back that in my business the customer is always right and it is my job to make sure that I carry out the best customer service I can to meet the customer needs. I asked him if he had personally looked at Lowe's pine straw and he advised that he hadn't but assured me that the quality was not the same and one of his guys could vouch for it.

He advised that I could drive across town and pay my $3.00 a gallon and bring it back to him and may look at it and may give me the difference. This was stated with extreme sarcasm. As a consumer, you expect a level of professionalism when dealing with a manager. You do not expect a sarcastic comment about $3.00 gas. You expect that the company you have done business with for years would come through for you and at least hear your concerns and not mock them. With managers/leaders like Rose who care only about the "bottom line" it remains clear to me why Home Depot is struggling as a company.

If your managers will not serve don't expect your employees to serve. I will think twice before going into another Home Depot and my new store of choice is Lowe's. I still own my stock in Home Depot and am considering selling all of my stock and purchasing Lowe's stock. Disgruntled customer.

Replies
Advertisement
Horrendous Kitchen Renovation
By -

JERICHO, NEW YORK -- I will NEVER buy another item at ANY Home Depot ever again. What a horrible excuse for a company. I saved $20,000 to have my kitchen completely renovated by Home Depot in Jericho, N.Y. and their so-called "Authorized Contractors".

I signed a contract with Home Depot in November of 2006. For MONTHS, I kept running back home from work to supervise deliveries and pick-ups of the kitchen cabinets that kept arriving completely damaged. This went on for months and there were at least five deliveries! I was told I had to pay for an upgrade for more expensive, more "sturdier" cabinets. They forced me to buy more expensive cabinets, which I didn't want or need. This went on for months and at the end of April, I decided to cancel everything. I had returned their cabinets and request my full refund of more than $18,000. More about that later.

The Home Depot contractor tells me I just HAD to have my kitchen floors ripped up BEFORE the cabinets were to be installed and have a new floor installed, which he charged me thousands of dollars to do. A flooring professional came to my home and told me all I needed was a "floating floor" to place over the existing floor, and that would only cost me around $500.

After Home Depot received all the cabinets, I again called the store to check up on my refund. They REFUSED A FULL REFUND! They claimed that because I signed a contract, I had to pay them a 30% restocking fee! I was outraged and explained to the assistant store manager that in no way was I going to pay them anything, this was a breach of contract on their part because it's now April of 2007 (signed contract back in Nov. 2006!!) and in fact, they owe me for all the missing time I had to take off from work to supervise all these deliveries and pick-ups of their damaged cabinets.

They refused that offer, but at the end of our 40-minute phone conversation, the asst. store manager assured me he would be refunded the ENTIRE AMOUNT of my kitchen project, which totaled more than $18,000. It's now late May, several weeks after I was a promised a full refund. I just received my Home Depot statement and the full amount of the project is STILL on my bill!

I again called the Jericho Home Depot store, and they now tell me that I will not be refunded the entire amount and owe them over $700 for permits that had been filed to begin my renovations. I told them this was fraud! The asst. store manager PROMISED ME A FULL REFUND and I have this conversation on tape.

Regardless what happen next, I will never purchase anything from ANY Home Depot store and have told everyone I know to support my boycott of such a fraudulent company. This should not happen to any customer and I hope they continue to suffer financially for what they have put people like me through.

Replies
Don't Let the Delivery Drivers in Your House.
By -

SEATTLE, WASHINGTON -- We walked into Home Depot knowing exactly what we wanted. We pointed at the GE Profile Harmony washer and dryer and said, "€œWe'€™ll take it."€ The guy rang it up and told us we had to finish the transaction at customer service. Before we left we told the salesmen to please make sure the paperwork comes up in our name. Home Depot takes great pride in demanding all your personal information and keeping it in their systems. We got up to customer service and sure enough the receipt was not in our name. Same last name, but some other person's first name. They tried to tell us it didn't matter.

We told them if we wanted to get our tax rebate for buying an energy star appliance it needed to be in our name. Back to the appliance section we went. The sales girl rang it up (the original salesman has gone immediately off shift after our purchase). We back up to customer service and none of the price discounts has been included. This meant yet another trip to get it corrected.

We were supposed to have our washer and dryer delivered the first time 2/24/07. The delivery and installation were not going to be easy. They had to be brought in the back of the house, down some stairs to the basement and squeezed into the laundry room. But hey, Home Depot didn'€™t specify any delivery parameters. The delivery guy shows up and tells us our site isn't ready. The plugin is not correct and the plumbing will have to change because the washer machine is so much more powerful (LIE #1), we won't be able to let the washer machine drain into the utility sink, it'€™s much too powerful. That'€™s what he told us.

He suggested we refuse delivery to keep our options open. Because if we refuse delivery Home Depot has to reschedule which would give us time to make the changes necessary. If we took possession Home Depot wouldn't have to do anything for us. Needless to say Home Depot didn't tell us any of this, probably because everything other than the plugin (which was a 5 minute fix) was complete BS on the part of the delivery driver. By this point the delivery driver's helper had taken the washer and dryer out of their protective boxes.

We saw this and said we'€™d take possession after all because we didn't want our $2000 dollar washer and dryer bouncing around in the back of his truck. He assured us it was going straight back to the warehouse and would be protected, but that he just cancelled the order so if we took possession he wouldn't get paid. So once again, like idiots, we trusted this guy. Needless to say we went to Home Depot. To their credit they gave us the dryer plugin we needed and an extra 10% off. They also told us the washer machine used half as much water as normal machines and would have no problem draining into the utility sink (the nice LIE told by the delivery scumbag).

The second delivery was scheduled for 3/3/07. The delivery driver didn'€™t even bother to show up. He called at 5:30pm did not stop by our residence-but called to tell us our merchandise was damaged and did we want to take possession? We were naturally upset as he assured us this wouldn't happen. Once we told him we wouldn't take possession of damaged goods he abruptly HUNG UP. We immediately called customer service and reported him and told them NOT to send this delivery driver to us again.

Delivery was rescheduled for 3/7/07. We waited and no one showed up. We called customer service to ask where the delivery was. It was at this time we were informed that we had been black listed for threatening the delivery driver with a gun. No one from the company had ever called to inquire about this, no police were called and no complaint was lodged with the authorities.

The bottom line is this delivery driver came to our residence the first time and saw how hard the install was going to be and didn't want to do it-what's he care he apparently gets paid either way. He lied to us the first time telling us to refuse delivery because our site wasn't ready. We trusted him as the installer and took his advice only to find out from Home Depot he had lied to us. The second delivery was late on a Saturday. He didn't even stop by and show us the merchandise-only telling us it was damaged via the telephone. This also turned out to be a lie as we have the very same washer and dryer in our home TODAY.

Where is the paperwork from the company saying we refused the merchandise? My entire complaint is that this company took my money for their services, lodged a FALSE accusation against me without any substantiation whatsoever and then refused to follow through with the service I paid for, keeping my money. I thought we were innocent until proven guilty in this country? Threatening someone with a gun warrants a call to the police. Their records say I refused delivery, that's difficult to do when no one shows up. You have to fill out paperwork to refuse a delivery. So where is it?

There is no logical reasoning to their accusation. The driver calls us to tell us our merchandise is damaged and do we still want it and what? We say no and if you bring it here we'll shoot you? I didn't spend 6 years in college to make asinine comments like that. That is the bottom line. The delivery driver stood me up and when I called to complain to his company about his rude behavior he lied about me to protect his job. I want my money back for a service I paid for that they never provided.

I take the utmost umbrage at being accused of threatening someone as gunpoint and I will fight this to the very living end.

This is getting old and I wish consumers would smack these companies down with the power of the purse. We are the customers that are lining their pockets and when they are out right STEALING from us they treat us like DIRT.

DON'T BUY APPLIANCES FROM HOME DEPOT AND LET THEIR DELIVERY DRIVERS INTO YOUR HOME!!!!!!

Replies
Furnace Installation Resulted in Gas Leak, No Mechanical Permit
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

EDEN PRAIRIE, MINNESOTA -- I am writing to document the dangerous and frustrating experience I had with Home Depot / A-ABC Appliance & Heating / Total Comfort following the installation of a new furnace and air conditioning system in June of 2013. While the installation appeared satisfactory at the time of installation, it wasn't until Oct 20th that I discovered a gas leak left by the installers which caused me to take a more in depth look at the service I received from Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort.

On Oct 21 a service technician arrived from Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort to repair the gas leak. The technician found and documented that the leak was caused by a damaged fitting that had been used by the installer. Gas leak testing by the installer could have easily uncovered the mistake. Apparently there was no gas leak testing. While the problem has been corrected, gas had been escaping into my home for 20 weeks. I requested that Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort refund my installation costs and re-inspect my furnace and air conditioning for any additional mistakes.

Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort refused any adjustment to the installation cost but did agree to re-inspect the furnace/AC. The re-inspection appointment was then cancelled because of a conflict with the technician's schedule. I then scheduled an appointment with another HVAC company for re-inspection. **, my salesman, did reassure me that there would be no charge for replacing the damaged fitting and stopping the gas leak. That work, he reassured me, would be covered under my warranty.

While the gas leak was the most serious and dangerous error made by Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort, there were several other mistakes made that caused significant frustration and hours of follow-up time to correct. Those errors were as follows. The $200 rebate from Rheem (the furnace manufacturer) was temporarily lost in the mail because Home Depot / A-ABC…/ Total Comfort had given Rheem the wrong address (wrong zip code). Follow up work by the mailman and post office did result in the rebate check being delivered.

A $300 rebate from Center Point Energy and a $450 rebate from Xcel Energy also listed an incorrect house address on the application form but were eventually delivered to my home. A fourth rebate ($100 also from Xcel Energy) had the incorrect address on the application and never did arrive at my home. According to Mr. ** this was the fault of Xcel Energy because they “lost” the rebate application. Once this rebate was resubmitted I did receive the $100 approximately 3 months after furnace installation.

While reviewing the rebate paperwork I did notice that my address and zip code, while incorrectly written on every rebate application, was correctly written on the A-ABC / Total Comfort invoice and Home Depot invoice. When going through the furnace installation documentation in October, I found a letter from Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort explaining that the customer, not the contractor, was responsible for arranging final code inspection for the furnace/ AC installation.

While discussing the inspection process with the city, I discovered that the appropriate permits were never pulled for my job by Home Depot / A-ABC / Total Comfort. Apparently an electrical permit was pulled but a mechanical permit was not pulled. When I mentioned this to Mr. ** he looked into the issue and told me that it was the city's error. In an unlikely coincidence, the city told the contractor that a mechanical permit was not required for installing a furnace and the contractor apparently agreed and (at least temporarily) saved the $186 permit fee.

In conclusion, I must say that had I been a less observant customer, I would be living with a gas leak approximately 18 inches away from the furnace flame, I would not have received $300 in rebates, I would not have had my furnace installation inspected by the city and the appropriate permits would never have been pulled.

My hope is that this information will lead to a review of the technical, financial and administrative competence of Home Depot /A-ABC Appliance & Heating / Total Comfort and that it will serve as a wake up call to as many current and future Home Depot / A-ABC Appliance &Heating / Total Comfort customer's as I can inform.

Replies
Advertisement
Installation Hassles
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORTLANDT MANOR, NEW YORK -- In May I signed a contract with Home Depot for new siding. The sales agent, Greg, promised that the installation would be done by the end of June. In July Home Depot informed me that my product would be delivered soon. On July 29th a contractor team was dropped off in a white van. No one had any badges and there was no manager on site. They started to destroy my wood shutters. I tried to tell them I was keeping them in both English and Spanish. I got no reply. One of the guys cut himself and threw bloody tissues and bandages all over my driveway. I did not notice this until they had left.

My two-year-old son and dog picked up the bandages. My two-year-old son had blood on his hands. The men also piled my shutters and other debris on top of my newly planted rose bushes (that I had purchased from Home Depot). The second day different men came and one went and peed in my neighbor's yard near his five-year-old daughter's window. My neighbor called me and I went outside and yelled at the guy. The men continued to dispose of my shutters even after my installation manager "Doug" told them not to. Doug called them off the job but they still stayed until I called ** four times.

Then a new team showed up the next day. These were professional people that cleaned up after themselves and did not pee on my neighbor's property. However, they ran out of material and more material had to be ordered. Doug told me that the job would be complete in between 3 and 5 days. The contractors told me ten days. So I thought about 10 days would be about right. On day 11 I begin to call Doug to ask him what the holdup is and he does not take my calls. I had a tree scheduled to be taken down and the debris left on my lawn (damaging my lawn) was in the way of the removal.

The company I was getting the tree removed by is on my street and told me that they could not take the tree down with that debris there. The debris sat there from July 29th to August 11th. It killed the grass that I bought from Home Depot and planted there because it is hard to grow grass on my lawn. Now I have to do that again. Doug finally agreed to have the debris removed and actually ended up doing it himself. However, it has now been more than ten day or even 14 days. I keep calling Doug to see what the problem is but he avoids my phone calls, hangs up when he knows it's me, forces me to call from different numbers, and generally ignores the situation.

Home Depot then gives me the number of Terry, another installation manager. Terry is great with customer service and calling people back but the only answer he can give me is "I have to ask Doug" or "I don't schedule Doug's teams." This becomes very annoying as he has no answers for me. Again I call the 1-800 number for help and they try to call Doug and get no response. I call the 1-800 number five times and get nowhere. In the meantime water started coming into a window that water had never came in before, staining my wall and damaging my floor. (I have been told by Terry that an insurance claim would have to be opened up by Doug who does not take my phone calls.)

The men come over to work 19 days later but don't have enough material to finish the job. They do stop the leak that was caused by an open J Channel and incomplete siding around the window (according to the contractor on site). I am then told they have to order white siding to wrap the porch. I then call Home Depot stores in the area and ask them if they have this in stock. Every store has this item in stock. I am not confused because I was told by Doug and Terry that this has to be ordered. When I told that to Terry he did admit the item was in stock.

I call the 1-800 number again for help and this time the agent laughs at me for being so upset and tells me to calm down. I hang up with her and call the 1-800 number back to report the agent. The manager is very nice and tells me she will get me in contact with John **. She also promises to call me back and follow up with me. She does not follow up with me and I am unsure if she ever got a hold of this John **. It is August 22nd and my job is still incomplete but my credit card was charged the entire price of the job on August 4th. I am promised the men will come back and finish on Friday but am always promised they will be here on Friday every week.

I believe that this is because it's the end of the week and I can't start complaining again until Monday. I would never hire Home Depot to do anything again. They promised the job would be done by the end of June. It's the end of August and the job is still not done. I am having Lowe's install my gutters even though the nearest one is across the Tappan Zee Bridge. I am very disappointed by Home Depot.

Replies
Store Credit, in Store & Online Customer Service, ADA Access
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

KINGMAN -- On 3/17/13, I returned some plants to the Kingman, AZ Home Depot store. The refund was issued as FOUR OLD “STORE CREDIT” cards (no pin). At the time of the issuance, I was not aware there was more than one type of “store credit” card. I attempted to make a purchase online using the “store credit” cards and a manufacturer's coupon. I attempted FIFTEEN times and continually got the same error message “there is something wrong with this order”.

I finally called customer service and spoke with David who also had the same problem. He even called the store and the store told him they are the ones who told David that I had been issued the OLD TYPE of “store credit” cards and I would need to return to the store and get a new type card. I returned to the store on 3/18/13 and a customer service representative exchanged the FOUR old “store credit” cards and combined them into ONE NEW “store credit” card with a pin number. The CS representative then proceeded to place my order (**), then she said she had to call another number to get my manufacturer's coupon applied.

She was left holding for 20 minutes and became extremely busy answering the phones, helping other customers and cashiers who needed her assistance. All of this happened AFTER I was at the counter. She then told me it would be another 45 minutes of her holding (I heard her tell the person at the 800# that I could wait no longer and she hung up)… Then the CS representative told me I could come back when they were not so busy or I could call myself from home.

I opted to call from home because I am disabled and was sitting in a riding cart because someone had permanently removed the lower counters & chairs in the store, no longer making the customer service counter handicap accessible! At approximately 5:30 pm, I called the number to get the discount applied. I advised the online representative that I needed to get the manufacturer's coupon applied to my order and my address was missing the N/S/E/W direction. She wound up cancelling my original order and trying to redo the order with the correct information.

Jeanette also called the store to see if they could help her, the store said they could not. When my order was cancelled, it deducted the amount of the purchase from my “store credit” and the transaction could not be processed. I got off the phone with Jeanette at 7 PM yet I had received an email stating no funds were charged to my form of payment. Jeanette tried again to place the order but it could not be done as the funds had not yet been returned to my “store credit” card. I was told by the online representative the funds should be back on the card on 3/21/13.

I checked on 3/21/13, the funds were returned and I called and placed my order (Conf # **) again, finally without a hitch. I have spent three days and six hours on the phone trying to place this order. I have been offered a $20 e-certificate and a $10 store certificate from Coral (via Jeanette's conversation with her on the phone) but have not yet received or picked up either. I feel The Home Depot has some serious issues to address.

Stop issuing the OLD “store credit” cards without pin numbers. Help customers COMPLETELY through a transaction and not take one another customer until you are done with one. Credit back immediately to “store credit” cards once a purchase is cancelled. More help is needed in store when Customer Service counter gets overloaded. Return a portion of the Customer Service counter in the store to be handicap accessible. You have parking, riding carts, and bathrooms that are handicap accessible, why not a customer service counter?
I would like to have a response to this letter... specifically to the five concerns.

On 3/22/13, I received the following email, "I am emailing you in regards to the experience that you had in the Home Depot store.I am terribly sorry for this inconvenience. I have reached out to the management team of the Kingman Home Depot store and they will contact you in 24-48 hours to further assist with this matter. I will follow up with you no later than March 28 to confirm that you have been assisted by the store. Your Home Depot Reference number is **. Again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this has caused."

On 3/23/13, I received a phone call from the Kingman Home Depot store apologizing for the things that happened in the store and advising me the OLD "store credit" cards have been removed. Staff has been advised to call for more CS people to help when it gets too busy and the CS counter is in the process of being revamped to be handicap accessible. I was also offered a "discount" at my next in store purchase.

Replies
Just another Home Depot customer service complaint
By -

We ordered a Maytag front load washer performance series. We ordered it online and patiently waited 2 weeks for delivery. It arrived as scheduled and the guys installed it. When he tried to test run it, it was dead. He told me to call my local Home Depot and let them know, which I did. Now you would think that I was pissed at the washer not working, but I wasn't. In fact, I treated it like it was just another day in paradise. I didn't get pissed until I called my local HD and told the man the problem. In the most condescending tone he could manage, told me that it wasn't his problem, that it was mine and Maytag's problem.

I told him to quit talking to me like a ** 3 year old and that I wanted to talk to someone that cares. He didn't even have the common courtesy to put me on hold before I could hear him berate me to his co-workers. I then hung up the phone and called the HD 800 number and talked to a customer service rep, and told her the story. She called Maytag and set up a repair appointment in two days.

The repair man showed up on time and said that the circuit board was bad and maybe the motor as well. He tried to order the board from his supplier but they showed out of stock, so he ordered it from the factory. He rescheduled the repair for the following Friday (8 days later) and left. Now the delivery men took away our old but working washer and left us a brand new washer that was broke.

We waited patiently for Friday to come. On Thursday the repair company called to confirm the repair scheduled for Friday. Our hopes were high. On Friday the repair company called to tell us that the part was not in. I asked when would it be in and she said she did not know. I told her I wanted an answer by the end of that day. I did not get it. Monday I called Maytag and asked them what the deal was? They told me that the part was back ordered until March 2011! Four months away!

I told them of my displeasure, and asked them why someone could not have called and told me sooner. She had no answer, and agreed to get me another washer. It would take three more weeks. I asked them since it was going to be replaced anyway, why was I getting the runaround? She told me that Home Depot should have replaced it immediately, but that they did not want to pay for the shipping of the new washer or picking up of the broken one. Maytag even reimbursed us for some of our cost we have spent at the laundromat. At least I hope they will, as we are still waiting on the washer and the money.

Now I understand that crap happens, and that it will usually will happens to me. It is also a fact that these foreign made POS that Americans are forced to buy will never last like the good old USA made appliances of the past, but for goodness sake don't they test these things before they send them from China or Mexico.

The bottom line, I am disappointed that the washer didn't work. I am also aggravated that we have had to drag our laundry to the mat for the past two weeks and for at least three more. My real complaint is with Home Depot's customer service or should I say the lack thereof. The fact is Home Depot took my money and sold me a defective washer, and then did nothing to correct the problem. They did not offer to replace it or to refund my money so I could purchase another. We have been without a washer as well as hundreds of dollars, and all I got from HD was, "Oh Well!"

Home Depot does not care about its customers. Period! Don't take my word for it. Check out this site as well as others, and YouTube. I thought I was an informed customer. For weeks I researched different washers. I read all the reviews, but I didn't research the store. I never thought to. You need to. And for heaven'€™s sake stay away from Home Depot! Ps. I tried to post a review of the washer three times on HD site. I followed the rules to the letter, and all three times it was rejected. It seems that Home Depot won't even play by their own rules. Imagine that.

Replies
Do not order from Home Depot
By -

MISSOULA, MONTANTA -- Dear wonderful Home Depot: To whom it may concern. I would like to share my concern with your customer service at the Home Depot in the Missoula city. I am a General contractor from California and work with your customer service as well as the store manager on issues at my home store in San Luis Obispo, Atascadero and as well in Santa Maria. I have to tell you I have never meet such an individual as the store manager you have in Missoula, Orrion French who flat out lies to your face and tells you he will do anything to please you. His actions and the lies he tells you provide the proof he is not customer service oriented.

I am telling you this information first so you will understand what I have been dealing with for the last three weeks. I am in the town of Anaconda working on a one and only master bathroom for my aunt, with my dad, and his two other brothers. This required installing new drain lines, new copper lines, new flooring new framing, new insulation, new bathroom fan, new cast iron Kholer bath tub and new Swanstone surround. All of these materials were purchased at Home Depot with no hesitation.

Now the fun starts. The tub was ordered along with the Swanstone tub surround on 9th of August 2010 with your sales associate Greg ** at your Missoula Home Depot. We asked for a time frame for delivery Greg at that moment said let me call and ask, he call your distributor on the phone who stated that 5-7 days it would arrive as its destination. The Swanstone tub surround would arrive 2 weeks later. OK Greg asked so it may arrive by Friday but possibly by Monday, but definitely would arrive on Monday. The distributor on the phone said, "Yes, that is correct."

The order was placed and the time frame seemed to be working with the timing on the bathroom work. Greg did not post on the order under notes who he talked, when the time or the date when he talked with them, big mistake. Friday came and went, Monday, Tuesday then on Wednesday 18th of August 2010 at 1:35pm we called Home Depot and asked where was our tub that was supposed to be delivered. They, first Phill who was working in the department and later Orrion French asked for the order number to check on the order and to talk and ask the distributor about the order.

Now I would assume that they would pull up the invoice and read the entire invoice especially the notes at the bottom that stated ship the tub as soon as possible. It was in stock when we ordered and was still in stock when Phill and Orrion French called and inquired. We were told by your store manager Orrion French that the tub was placed on hold waiting for the delivery of the tub surround and that they are going to ship just the tub it and it will take two weeks to reach us now.

Now I have dry wall installers asking if they can start work, and I have no cast iron tub to install to finish drywall down to continue with the progress of the bathroom. I was told by Phill and by Orrion French that there is no way that Home Depot can get the tub any quicker than two weeks. I asked and inquired no you can overnight, expedite or express ship anything you want. Please help me out and get it expedited so I can continue my project.

Again your representatives told me there are no way they can get it any quicker than two weeks. On Thursday, mad about the situation that the project is in, since in two weeks my vacation / work helping my aunt would be over my dad and I drove 120 miles, 1:45 mins to get to Missoula to confront your representatives who were pushing me off. Orrion French and Phill of course are unreachable at the moment so at 8:15 am we start the scenario over with a new representative Tanya **. Who after a little bit of time actually has a good head on her shoulders and is very will to help customers in the store.

Big help. She tells us let's call the vendor and find out what is going on. So she calls and finds out that they did send it out regular shipment. No express or no send this out rush. Nice Phill and Orrion French you did me a big favor. She asked if the tub could be returned and shipped faster, the distributor stated that it was just put on the truck and the truck had not left but was still being loaded. She was also informed we could overnight ship it, rush or expedite ship it to the store in Missoula and was amazed that Phill or Orrion French did not offer this to us.

For the next 4hrs, yes my dad and I stayed there in the Missoula Home Depot to get this tub. It was that important. We worked asked questions, inquired and waited for responses from the distributor and from Tanya **, the Home Depot representative on the availability of the tub getting shipped faster. So from 8:15 am until 12:15pm my dad and I worked with Tanya to get this tub. Orrion French realized that Tanya was helping us with our order, 9:30am in the store, that he messed up and told us, "Oh good, Tanya is helping you, she will do right by you and get your tub quickly. No worries"€.

What in the world does Orrion French do in Home Depot besides hide out and just walk around? Placed and expressed overnight order with your vendor made possible through Tanya and Jill in your ordering and express shipping department. No at 12:15 pm the order was in, it was approved and agreed by Home Depot that the distributor would pick up a large portion of the cost to ship the tub since they made the mistake and did not read the paperwork to send the tub.

Home Depot would pick up a small portion of the cost to ship the tub. No, the really fun part - 15 minutes later (after we did some banking) while going for some lunch thinking that the tub issue was resolved and that we received a call from Orrion French the store manager that he personally canceled the order and that the tub would arrive 5-7 days from today.

I told him, "You have to be kidding. Do you understand how much work we did to get the tub by Friday?" He told me, "You will just have to wait. That is the best we can do, but we could refund you money and give you +10% and you could go order from Lowe'€™s." Let me understand this correctly, first you mess up my order, don'€™t help me when you are at fault then you are paying me to go to your competitors€™ because your unable to fulfill an order, interesting. I really wonder how often Orrion French does this because he was sure quick to offer this.

On that note I am still waiting for my tub that should have arrived 5-7 days and thinking that Orrion French needs to be fired from Home Depot and that Tanya needs to be promoted. I mean all Orrion French did is tell us lies in the store and on the phone. The following pictures show the work order and the order number (note also the notes at the bottom of page) and a picture of the bathroom minus the glorious tub.

At this point I wish to show my concern with others visiting your store. First I will have to give them this letter and they can read the following instructions.

  1. Ask the person you are dealing with how long they have been in the department. In Missoula they move people around to cover the different departments. I personally watched ten individuals from other departments work in the kitchen area taking orders and answering questions.

  2. Ask the person you are dealing with how long they have been working in the department, more so how long have they been training. A lot of Home Depot employees get a shotgun introduction to work in the department they are working in. In other words the guy your ordering from May only have 4 hrs. experience training in their department.

  3. Ask about their name and department number. There may be several Phill's in the store and remember that may not be his regular department he works in.

  4. Ask if he or she is going on vacation or what days and hours he or she works. You want to reach them since you have spent hours placing and deciding on your fixtures and their color scheme.

  5. Find out if Orrion French is the store manager or works there or worse you're in the Missula Home Depot. If he does run for the hills, your order is going to get messed up and he will stump any progress in you getting your fixtures on time. Go to Lowe'€™s, learn from my recent mistake.

P.S. Maybe others can bypass Home Depot and go directly to Lowe's and eliminate the headaches that I am having. Maybe even order from their home town building supply shops, which I should be looking in to once I get back home.

Replies
Advertisement
Pathetic, inconsiderate and definitely unprofessional
By -

CALIFORNIA -- We ordered a free standing range and a microwave to go on top from home Depot... On the day of the delivery July 10, 2010. On the day of the delivery the delivery people came, introduced themselves, and started to get to work removing the old appliances. They decided to remove the door and in the process scratched it. At this point being thrilled to get my new appliances I thought OK, no big deal accidents happen, I guess I can tough up the scratches. Then I went out to the garage to pick something from my car while they were working.

On my way back I looked at the appliance (Gas Stove) that was to be installed and noticed a big dent on the side. On closer inspection I realized that there were scratches on it as well. At this point I asked the delivery people, hold on what's this and at what point where you going to tell me about the damage? No answer. I guess they were just going to install it without telling me. At this point they recommended I talk to your customer service, which we did and tried to explain the situation to them over the phone.

We kept on being transferred from one person to another. Not getting anywhere after being on the phone for a good half an hour if not more my wife asked them about what's going on and what is so complicated about getting a new appliance when you pay for it. No answer. I must mention at this point, that there were no apologies or concern for our situation, if anything my wife had to experience rude attitude from the other line. At this point my wife was literally in tears since her parents were coming in from out of state to see our new place and now with the possibility that we will not have any appliances to even cook for them while they are here.

At this point I had enough and looking at my wife and hearing the lack of concern or even an apology from your end decided to cancel the entire order. I guess Home Depot is too big a business to actually care about the customers of look if their services are satisfactory. They seem to have no consideration or appreciation for your client's time and seem to be totally self-absorbed.

They give you a window of six hours within which they will deliver so basically having the customer waste their entire day waiting for a defective and sub-standard appliance, and then have the nerve to suggest that it is standard practice and that the client should be more considerate. Obviously after exhausting ourselves trying to resolve this inconvenience with your customer service (have serious questions about even calling them that) and not getting any straight honest answer or help from them, you guys left us with no option but to cancel that order.

To sum up my experience with Home Depot, this is my conclusion; wasted my time, had my credit run for no reason, bought nothing and now have to waste more time come talking to their credit card people to cancel my card; not to mention the aggravation.

Replies
No Service Whatsoever - Tried For 1/2 Hour To Spend Our Money
By -

BOLTON, ON -- After picking out exactly which BBQ he wanted at the Home Depot in Bolton, Ontario, my husband and I took the van down so he could show it to me and we could buy it and take it home. This is a VERY quiet store (now we know why!) and it was 6:00 on a Saturday evening. We looked at the BBQs in the seasonal display (no employee to be seen), then looked at the two displayed elsewhere in the store, one of which was the one we wanted.

Behind the model, was a rack of huge boxes of these BBQs. We had ONE question to ask, also needed help with the box, and to pay and leave. We noticed 2 young employees not far away, roughhousing with each other. We called them over, but "it wasn't their dept.," they told us to go back to seasonal. We said no-one was there, and besides, the BBQ we wanted was right here. He said, "well, they're over there too (they weren't)." So we walked back, no employee (and no BBQ of that model).

In the next aisle over I spot an employee, with a coffee in his hands, talking to someone holding a pack of lightbulbs (not the lighting aisle). I went up and waited. Turns out they weren't discussing product, they were personal friends. I was close enough to hear all about the party. After standing there for 5 minutes, getting a look and a turn-away, I left. Went to the customer service desk, asked to speak to the manager. She asked why, we told her.

My husband is leaving at this point, totally frustrated. She says "oh here's the guy you need, the guy from seasonal." There is a guy rushing past and he says "I'll be with you after I finish moving these boxes." Well, you know, you can move those boxes LATER. AFTER you make an easy sale for hundreds of dollars. We left. We went through five different employees, NONE of whom were serving other customers, we were ready to pay and we can't buy because none of them will help us. Word around town is that this store is "in trouble." No kidding.
Luckily, there are lots of places that sell everything Home Depot does. Worst non-service I've ever experienced.

UPDATE: On Monday I phoned the store and relayed the above to an Assistant Manager. He agreed the above was unacceptable, and asked if we had already purchased another BBQ. I said "no, we hadn't had time to shop for another one yet." He offered 10% off, I asked for assembly. We did get the BBQ with free assembly. However, when I went to pick it up, the lid had 2 large, very noticeable scratches on it.

Come on, guys!! Why would I want that on a new BBQ?! So I asked them to change the lid, which they did. At first they wanted me to come back another day, but for 2 screws, I asked if I could please wait, I don't live around the corner. We now have our scratchless BBQ!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Home Depot Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 86 ratings and
460 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Home Depot
2455 Paces Ferry Road Southeast
Atlanta, GA 30339-4024
1-800-466-3337 (ph)
678-556-7614 (fax)
www.homedepot.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies