Preview Review

Next Review

Home Depot Consumer Reviews - Page 4

Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
Installation Hassles
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 1/51

CORTLANDT MANOR, NEW YORK -- In May I signed a contract with Home Depot for new siding. The sales agent, Greg, promised that the installation would be done by the end of June. In July Home Depot informed me that my product would be delivered soon. On July 29th a contractor team was dropped off in a white van. No one had any badges and there was no manager on site. They started to destroy my wood shutters. I tried to tell them I was keeping them in both English and Spanish. I got no reply. One of the guys cut himself and threw bloody tissues and bandages all over my driveway. I did not notice this until they had left.

My two-year-old son and dog picked up the bandages. My two-year-old son had blood on his hands. The men also piled my shutters and other debris on top of my newly planted rose bushes (that I had purchased from Home Depot). The second day different men came and one went and peed in my neighbor's yard near his five-year-old daughter's window. My neighbor called me and I went outside and yelled at the guy. The men continued to dispose of my shutters even after my installation manager "Doug" told them not to. Doug called them off the job but they still stayed until I called ** four times.

Then a new team showed up the next day. These were professional people that cleaned up after themselves and did not pee on my neighbor's property. However, they ran out of material and more material had to be ordered. Doug told me that the job would be complete in between 3 and 5 days. The contractors told me ten days. So I thought about 10 days would be about right. On day 11 I begin to call Doug to ask him what the holdup is and he does not take my calls. I had a tree scheduled to be taken down and the debris left on my lawn (damaging my lawn) was in the way of the removal.

The company I was getting the tree removed by is on my street and told me that they could not take the tree down with that debris there. The debris sat there from July 29th to August 11th. It killed the grass that I bought from Home Depot and planted there because it is hard to grow grass on my lawn. Now I have to do that again. Doug finally agreed to have the debris removed and actually ended up doing it himself. However, it has now been more than ten day or even 14 days. I keep calling Doug to see what the problem is but he avoids my phone calls, hangs up when he knows it's me, forces me to call from different numbers, and generally ignores the situation.

Home Depot then gives me the number of Terry, another installation manager. Terry is great with customer service and calling people back but the only answer he can give me is "I have to ask Doug" or "I don't schedule Doug's teams." This becomes very annoying as he has no answers for me. Again I call the 1-800 number for help and they try to call Doug and get no response. I call the 1-800 number five times and get nowhere. In the meantime water started coming into a window that water had never came in before, staining my wall and damaging my floor. (I have been told by Terry that an insurance claim would have to be opened up by Doug who does not take my phone calls.)

The men come over to work 19 days later but don't have enough material to finish the job. They do stop the leak that was caused by an open J Channel and incomplete siding around the window (according to the contractor on site). I am then told they have to order white siding to wrap the porch. I then call Home Depot stores in the area and ask them if they have this in stock. Every store has this item in stock. I am not confused because I was told by Doug and Terry that this has to be ordered. When I told that to Terry he did admit the item was in stock.

I call the 1-800 number again for help and this time the agent laughs at me for being so upset and tells me to calm down. I hang up with her and call the 1-800 number back to report the agent. The manager is very nice and tells me she will get me in contact with John **. She also promises to call me back and follow up with me. She does not follow up with me and I am unsure if she ever got a hold of this John **. It is August 22nd and my job is still incomplete but my credit card was charged the entire price of the job on August 4th. I am promised the men will come back and finish on Friday but am always promised they will be here on Friday every week.

I believe that this is because it's the end of the week and I can't start complaining again until Monday. I would never hire Home Depot to do anything again. They promised the job would be done by the end of June. It's the end of August and the job is still not done. I am having Lowe's install my gutters even though the nearest one is across the Tappan Zee Bridge. I am very disappointed by Home Depot.

Replies
Advertisement
Store Credit, in Store & Online Customer Service, ADA Access
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarBy -
Rating: 2/51

KINGMAN -- On 3/17/13, I returned some plants to the Kingman, AZ Home Depot store. The refund was issued as FOUR OLD “STORE CREDIT” cards (no pin). At the time of the issuance, I was not aware there was more than one type of “store credit” card. I attempted to make a purchase online using the “store credit” cards and a manufacturer's coupon. I attempted FIFTEEN times and continually got the same error message “there is something wrong with this order”.

I finally called customer service and spoke with David who also had the same problem. He even called the store and the store told him they are the ones who told David that I had been issued the OLD TYPE of “store credit” cards and I would need to return to the store and get a new type card. I returned to the store on 3/18/13 and a customer service representative exchanged the FOUR old “store credit” cards and combined them into ONE NEW “store credit” card with a pin number. The CS representative then proceeded to place my order (**), then she said she had to call another number to get my manufacturer's coupon applied.

She was left holding for 20 minutes and became extremely busy answering the phones, helping other customers and cashiers who needed her assistance. All of this happened AFTER I was at the counter. She then told me it would be another 45 minutes of her holding (I heard her tell the person at the 800# that I could wait no longer and she hung up)… Then the CS representative told me I could come back when they were not so busy or I could call myself from home.

I opted to call from home because I am disabled and was sitting in a riding cart because someone had permanently removed the lower counters & chairs in the store, no longer making the customer service counter handicap accessible! At approximately 5:30 pm, I called the number to get the discount applied. I advised the online representative that I needed to get the manufacturer's coupon applied to my order and my address was missing the N/S/E/W direction. She wound up cancelling my original order and trying to redo the order with the correct information.

Jeanette also called the store to see if they could help her, the store said they could not. When my order was cancelled, it deducted the amount of the purchase from my “store credit” and the transaction could not be processed. I got off the phone with Jeanette at 7 PM yet I had received an email stating no funds were charged to my form of payment. Jeanette tried again to place the order but it could not be done as the funds had not yet been returned to my “store credit” card. I was told by the online representative the funds should be back on the card on 3/21/13.

I checked on 3/21/13, the funds were returned and I called and placed my order (Conf # **) again, finally without a hitch. I have spent three days and six hours on the phone trying to place this order. I have been offered a $20 e-certificate and a $10 store certificate from Coral (via Jeanette's conversation with her on the phone) but have not yet received or picked up either. I feel The Home Depot has some serious issues to address.

Stop issuing the OLD “store credit” cards without pin numbers. Help customers COMPLETELY through a transaction and not take one another customer until you are done with one. Credit back immediately to “store credit” cards once a purchase is cancelled. More help is needed in store when Customer Service counter gets overloaded. Return a portion of the Customer Service counter in the store to be handicap accessible. You have parking, riding carts, and bathrooms that are handicap accessible, why not a customer service counter?
I would like to have a response to this letter... specifically to the five concerns.

On 3/22/13, I received the following email, "I am emailing you in regards to the experience that you had in the Home Depot store.I am terribly sorry for this inconvenience. I have reached out to the management team of the Kingman Home Depot store and they will contact you in 24-48 hours to further assist with this matter. I will follow up with you no later than March 28 to confirm that you have been assisted by the store. Your Home Depot Reference number is **. Again, please accept our apologies for the inconvenience this has caused."

On 3/23/13, I received a phone call from the Kingman Home Depot store apologizing for the things that happened in the store and advising me the OLD "store credit" cards have been removed. Staff has been advised to call for more CS people to help when it gets too busy and the CS counter is in the process of being revamped to be handicap accessible. I was also offered a "discount" at my next in store purchase.

Replies
Just another Home Depot customer service complaint
By -

We ordered a Maytag front load washer performance series. We ordered it online and patiently waited 2 weeks for delivery. It arrived as scheduled and the guys installed it. When he tried to test run it, it was dead. He told me to call my local Home Depot and let them know, which I did. Now you would think that I was pissed at the washer not working, but I wasn't. In fact, I treated it like it was just another day in paradise. I didn't get pissed until I called my local HD and told the man the problem. In the most condescending tone he could manage, told me that it wasn't his problem, that it was mine and Maytag's problem.

I told him to quit talking to me like a ** 3 year old and that I wanted to talk to someone that cares. He didn't even have the common courtesy to put me on hold before I could hear him berate me to his co-workers. I then hung up the phone and called the HD 800 number and talked to a customer service rep, and told her the story. She called Maytag and set up a repair appointment in two days.

The repair man showed up on time and said that the circuit board was bad and maybe the motor as well. He tried to order the board from his supplier but they showed out of stock, so he ordered it from the factory. He rescheduled the repair for the following Friday (8 days later) and left. Now the delivery men took away our old but working washer and left us a brand new washer that was broke.

We waited patiently for Friday to come. On Thursday the repair company called to confirm the repair scheduled for Friday. Our hopes were high. On Friday the repair company called to tell us that the part was not in. I asked when would it be in and she said she did not know. I told her I wanted an answer by the end of that day. I did not get it. Monday I called Maytag and asked them what the deal was? They told me that the part was back ordered until March 2011! Four months away!

I told them of my displeasure, and asked them why someone could not have called and told me sooner. She had no answer, and agreed to get me another washer. It would take three more weeks. I asked them since it was going to be replaced anyway, why was I getting the runaround? She told me that Home Depot should have replaced it immediately, but that they did not want to pay for the shipping of the new washer or picking up of the broken one. Maytag even reimbursed us for some of our cost we have spent at the laundromat. At least I hope they will, as we are still waiting on the washer and the money.

Now I understand that crap happens, and that it will usually will happens to me. It is also a fact that these foreign made POS that Americans are forced to buy will never last like the good old USA made appliances of the past, but for goodness sake don't they test these things before they send them from China or Mexico.

The bottom line, I am disappointed that the washer didn't work. I am also aggravated that we have had to drag our laundry to the mat for the past two weeks and for at least three more. My real complaint is with Home Depot's customer service or should I say the lack thereof. The fact is Home Depot took my money and sold me a defective washer, and then did nothing to correct the problem. They did not offer to replace it or to refund my money so I could purchase another. We have been without a washer as well as hundreds of dollars, and all I got from HD was, "Oh Well!"

Home Depot does not care about its customers. Period! Don't take my word for it. Check out this site as well as others, and YouTube. I thought I was an informed customer. For weeks I researched different washers. I read all the reviews, but I didn't research the store. I never thought to. You need to. And for heaven'€™s sake stay away from Home Depot! Ps. I tried to post a review of the washer three times on HD site. I followed the rules to the letter, and all three times it was rejected. It seems that Home Depot won't even play by their own rules. Imagine that.

Replies
Do not order from Home Depot
By -

MISSOULA, MONTANTA -- Dear wonderful Home Depot: To whom it may concern. I would like to share my concern with your customer service at the Home Depot in the Missoula city. I am a General contractor from California and work with your customer service as well as the store manager on issues at my home store in San Luis Obispo, Atascadero and as well in Santa Maria. I have to tell you I have never meet such an individual as the store manager you have in Missoula, Orrion French who flat out lies to your face and tells you he will do anything to please you. His actions and the lies he tells you provide the proof he is not customer service oriented.

I am telling you this information first so you will understand what I have been dealing with for the last three weeks. I am in the town of Anaconda working on a one and only master bathroom for my aunt, with my dad, and his two other brothers. This required installing new drain lines, new copper lines, new flooring new framing, new insulation, new bathroom fan, new cast iron Kholer bath tub and new Swanstone surround. All of these materials were purchased at Home Depot with no hesitation.

Now the fun starts. The tub was ordered along with the Swanstone tub surround on 9th of August 2010 with your sales associate Greg ** at your Missoula Home Depot. We asked for a time frame for delivery Greg at that moment said let me call and ask, he call your distributor on the phone who stated that 5-7 days it would arrive as its destination. The Swanstone tub surround would arrive 2 weeks later. OK Greg asked so it may arrive by Friday but possibly by Monday, but definitely would arrive on Monday. The distributor on the phone said, "Yes, that is correct."

The order was placed and the time frame seemed to be working with the timing on the bathroom work. Greg did not post on the order under notes who he talked, when the time or the date when he talked with them, big mistake. Friday came and went, Monday, Tuesday then on Wednesday 18th of August 2010 at 1:35pm we called Home Depot and asked where was our tub that was supposed to be delivered. They, first Phill who was working in the department and later Orrion French asked for the order number to check on the order and to talk and ask the distributor about the order.

Now I would assume that they would pull up the invoice and read the entire invoice especially the notes at the bottom that stated ship the tub as soon as possible. It was in stock when we ordered and was still in stock when Phill and Orrion French called and inquired. We were told by your store manager Orrion French that the tub was placed on hold waiting for the delivery of the tub surround and that they are going to ship just the tub it and it will take two weeks to reach us now.

Now I have dry wall installers asking if they can start work, and I have no cast iron tub to install to finish drywall down to continue with the progress of the bathroom. I was told by Phill and by Orrion French that there is no way that Home Depot can get the tub any quicker than two weeks. I asked and inquired no you can overnight, expedite or express ship anything you want. Please help me out and get it expedited so I can continue my project.

Again your representatives told me there are no way they can get it any quicker than two weeks. On Thursday, mad about the situation that the project is in, since in two weeks my vacation / work helping my aunt would be over my dad and I drove 120 miles, 1:45 mins to get to Missoula to confront your representatives who were pushing me off. Orrion French and Phill of course are unreachable at the moment so at 8:15 am we start the scenario over with a new representative Tanya **. Who after a little bit of time actually has a good head on her shoulders and is very will to help customers in the store.

Big help. She tells us let's call the vendor and find out what is going on. So she calls and finds out that they did send it out regular shipment. No express or no send this out rush. Nice Phill and Orrion French you did me a big favor. She asked if the tub could be returned and shipped faster, the distributor stated that it was just put on the truck and the truck had not left but was still being loaded. She was also informed we could overnight ship it, rush or expedite ship it to the store in Missoula and was amazed that Phill or Orrion French did not offer this to us.

For the next 4hrs, yes my dad and I stayed there in the Missoula Home Depot to get this tub. It was that important. We worked asked questions, inquired and waited for responses from the distributor and from Tanya **, the Home Depot representative on the availability of the tub getting shipped faster. So from 8:15 am until 12:15pm my dad and I worked with Tanya to get this tub. Orrion French realized that Tanya was helping us with our order, 9:30am in the store, that he messed up and told us, "Oh good, Tanya is helping you, she will do right by you and get your tub quickly. No worries"€.

What in the world does Orrion French do in Home Depot besides hide out and just walk around? Placed and expressed overnight order with your vendor made possible through Tanya and Jill in your ordering and express shipping department. No at 12:15 pm the order was in, it was approved and agreed by Home Depot that the distributor would pick up a large portion of the cost to ship the tub since they made the mistake and did not read the paperwork to send the tub.

Home Depot would pick up a small portion of the cost to ship the tub. No, the really fun part - 15 minutes later (after we did some banking) while going for some lunch thinking that the tub issue was resolved and that we received a call from Orrion French the store manager that he personally canceled the order and that the tub would arrive 5-7 days from today.

I told him, "You have to be kidding. Do you understand how much work we did to get the tub by Friday?" He told me, "You will just have to wait. That is the best we can do, but we could refund you money and give you +10% and you could go order from Lowe'€™s." Let me understand this correctly, first you mess up my order, don'€™t help me when you are at fault then you are paying me to go to your competitors€™ because your unable to fulfill an order, interesting. I really wonder how often Orrion French does this because he was sure quick to offer this.

On that note I am still waiting for my tub that should have arrived 5-7 days and thinking that Orrion French needs to be fired from Home Depot and that Tanya needs to be promoted. I mean all Orrion French did is tell us lies in the store and on the phone. The following pictures show the work order and the order number (note also the notes at the bottom of page) and a picture of the bathroom minus the glorious tub.

At this point I wish to show my concern with others visiting your store. First I will have to give them this letter and they can read the following instructions.

  1. Ask the person you are dealing with how long they have been in the department. In Missoula they move people around to cover the different departments. I personally watched ten individuals from other departments work in the kitchen area taking orders and answering questions.

  2. Ask the person you are dealing with how long they have been working in the department, more so how long have they been training. A lot of Home Depot employees get a shotgun introduction to work in the department they are working in. In other words the guy your ordering from May only have 4 hrs. experience training in their department.

  3. Ask about their name and department number. There may be several Phill's in the store and remember that may not be his regular department he works in.

  4. Ask if he or she is going on vacation or what days and hours he or she works. You want to reach them since you have spent hours placing and deciding on your fixtures and their color scheme.

  5. Find out if Orrion French is the store manager or works there or worse you're in the Missula Home Depot. If he does run for the hills, your order is going to get messed up and he will stump any progress in you getting your fixtures on time. Go to Lowe'€™s, learn from my recent mistake.

P.S. Maybe others can bypass Home Depot and go directly to Lowe's and eliminate the headaches that I am having. Maybe even order from their home town building supply shops, which I should be looking in to once I get back home.

Replies
Advertisement
Pathetic, inconsiderate and definitely unprofessional
By -

CALIFORNIA -- We ordered a free standing range and a microwave to go on top from home Depot... On the day of the delivery July 10, 2010. On the day of the delivery the delivery people came, introduced themselves, and started to get to work removing the old appliances. They decided to remove the door and in the process scratched it. At this point being thrilled to get my new appliances I thought OK, no big deal accidents happen, I guess I can tough up the scratches. Then I went out to the garage to pick something from my car while they were working.

On my way back I looked at the appliance (Gas Stove) that was to be installed and noticed a big dent on the side. On closer inspection I realized that there were scratches on it as well. At this point I asked the delivery people, hold on what's this and at what point where you going to tell me about the damage? No answer. I guess they were just going to install it without telling me. At this point they recommended I talk to your customer service, which we did and tried to explain the situation to them over the phone.

We kept on being transferred from one person to another. Not getting anywhere after being on the phone for a good half an hour if not more my wife asked them about what's going on and what is so complicated about getting a new appliance when you pay for it. No answer. I must mention at this point, that there were no apologies or concern for our situation, if anything my wife had to experience rude attitude from the other line. At this point my wife was literally in tears since her parents were coming in from out of state to see our new place and now with the possibility that we will not have any appliances to even cook for them while they are here.

At this point I had enough and looking at my wife and hearing the lack of concern or even an apology from your end decided to cancel the entire order. I guess Home Depot is too big a business to actually care about the customers of look if their services are satisfactory. They seem to have no consideration or appreciation for your client's time and seem to be totally self-absorbed.

They give you a window of six hours within which they will deliver so basically having the customer waste their entire day waiting for a defective and sub-standard appliance, and then have the nerve to suggest that it is standard practice and that the client should be more considerate. Obviously after exhausting ourselves trying to resolve this inconvenience with your customer service (have serious questions about even calling them that) and not getting any straight honest answer or help from them, you guys left us with no option but to cancel that order.

To sum up my experience with Home Depot, this is my conclusion; wasted my time, had my credit run for no reason, bought nothing and now have to waste more time come talking to their credit card people to cancel my card; not to mention the aggravation.

Replies
No Service Whatsoever - Tried For 1/2 Hour To Spend Our Money
By -

BOLTON, ON -- After picking out exactly which BBQ he wanted at the Home Depot in Bolton, Ontario, my husband and I took the van down so he could show it to me and we could buy it and take it home. This is a VERY quiet store (now we know why!) and it was 6:00 on a Saturday evening. We looked at the BBQs in the seasonal display (no employee to be seen), then looked at the two displayed elsewhere in the store, one of which was the one we wanted.

Behind the model, was a rack of huge boxes of these BBQs. We had ONE question to ask, also needed help with the box, and to pay and leave. We noticed 2 young employees not far away, roughhousing with each other. We called them over, but "it wasn't their dept.," they told us to go back to seasonal. We said no-one was there, and besides, the BBQ we wanted was right here. He said, "well, they're over there too (they weren't)." So we walked back, no employee (and no BBQ of that model).

In the next aisle over I spot an employee, with a coffee in his hands, talking to someone holding a pack of lightbulbs (not the lighting aisle). I went up and waited. Turns out they weren't discussing product, they were personal friends. I was close enough to hear all about the party. After standing there for 5 minutes, getting a look and a turn-away, I left. Went to the customer service desk, asked to speak to the manager. She asked why, we told her.

My husband is leaving at this point, totally frustrated. She says "oh here's the guy you need, the guy from seasonal." There is a guy rushing past and he says "I'll be with you after I finish moving these boxes." Well, you know, you can move those boxes LATER. AFTER you make an easy sale for hundreds of dollars. We left. We went through five different employees, NONE of whom were serving other customers, we were ready to pay and we can't buy because none of them will help us. Word around town is that this store is "in trouble." No kidding.
Luckily, there are lots of places that sell everything Home Depot does. Worst non-service I've ever experienced.

UPDATE: On Monday I phoned the store and relayed the above to an Assistant Manager. He agreed the above was unacceptable, and asked if we had already purchased another BBQ. I said "no, we hadn't had time to shop for another one yet." He offered 10% off, I asked for assembly. We did get the BBQ with free assembly. However, when I went to pick it up, the lid had 2 large, very noticeable scratches on it.

Come on, guys!! Why would I want that on a new BBQ?! So I asked them to change the lid, which they did. At first they wanted me to come back another day, but for 2 screws, I asked if I could please wait, I don't live around the corner. We now have our scratchless BBQ!

Replies
Customer Complaint A Pass Off Of Getting An Answer
By -

AMARILLO, TEXAS -- Back in 2007 we went to Home Depot to buy custom shutters. I had $700.00 of American express gift cards. I can't remember her name but she was pleasant and informative. I had Mr. Personality come to my house to measure. He did so very quickly and on the last window I stated "you know these are for custom shutters right?" Dumbfounded he stated that he was measuring for blinds. He then again remeasured quickly "I might add" and left. Previously I had put a deposit for the measuring of $100.00 to go toward the shutters. Never heard from them again. This is the store in Amarillo Texas on Soncy.

I attempted to call (must have been at least 10 times) to find out what the deal was. The gal that had taken my order was not available so I left a message. You guessed it! No reply. I called them 3 times after that and I was told to call back after 3:00 which I did and no response. Later I was told she had to go to the hospital for some type of emergency. I called the supervisor which I was put on hold forever and he said he would check on this. Never heard a word.

My boyfriend and I had enough so we went in. A Spanish gentlemen with a limp promised that he would call us once he found out the story. He tore the desk apart looking for the order reiterating the saleswomen was in the hospital. After several attempts later we went back in again and she was there. At no time did they state that they blew it and they needed to remeasure. Once again the promise came. I called the supervisor to let him know the progress and he stated he would check up on this. I felt that the people that I talked to were immature and most frequently passing the buck to someone else. It was getting to be almost comical. Needless to say I never received a call.

I guess I should have called corporate but that probably would not have made a difference. I lost 100.00. Then I get a call from the original saleswoman on my recorder 8 months later and she stated she was still looking for the order. Can you believe that? Now I am dealing with Penney's and no shutters. It has been 5 months + since I placed the order. (See my review under Penney's.) Anyway I guess I have a black cloud overhead when it comes to shutters. I even lost $900.00 to a man that was supposed to make outdoor shutters and took off with my money. I sued him and won but he is a lowlife and I will never see that money.

My boyfriend saw him in a parking lot and attempted to chase after him with no luck. I should have known something was fishy from the start. His answering machine was very discrete. When my boyfriend attempted to call him again he said that he had been sued many times and this was no big deal. I also gave him $300.00 worth of wood and paint. I did have a contract but again I will never see the money and his credit has probably been ruined for some time now. It is a shame that some construction guys actually screw you.

I will never get another job done by using the yellow pages and no references again. He even commented on the first meeting that construction workers that take your money give the honest ones a bad name! I also had a man give us a quote on making the stairway. We agreed and a contract was signed. Upon entering the house, he looked at Bill and said he was going to have to charge us $5000.00 more for reason unknown. I really know why. The house is in a very rich neighborhood. My boyfriend told him basically to get out. He was so surprised and I chimed "don't let the door hit you on the way out!." Isn't that a sham? Good to vent.

Replies
Dump Your Home Depot Stock
By -

I am a current Home Depot employee and I look forward to the day when it becomes the new K-Mart. I will be leaving this employer soon because it is a rotten company. Granted, it behaves like most U.S. companies, meaning it is only interested in profits and will say whatever sounds good to the public but will always do what pleases short attention span investors.

This company is rotten from an employee's perspective because it steals from the employees. Granted, the average sales person in the store may not be considered a highly skilled or valued employee in the U.S. economy but when an employee is not treated well, then they DO NOT treat the customer well. One plus one equals two and when an employee is not valued then the employee does not value the company or its customers. Dump your Home Depot stock and buy Lowe's stock.

Home Depot steals from its employees in several ways. I can address the way it has stolen from me. I joined the company some six months ago and was told I was joining the company as a full time employee. I worked full time hours. After the initial three months, they changed their mind and now said I was actually a part time employee. Being part time cost the company a lot less money and brings a lot less compensation to the employee. I disputed this change and was basically told tough.

I could have fought and perhaps even sued, maybe perhaps even fostered a class action suit against the company. In the end I just decided to leave and in the meantime to not give my full abilities to the company. Someone else will hopefully soon be pissed off enough to start that national class action suit.

This is how they can Win it. Home Depot regularly hires people full time but then later say it was really part time thus saving themselves lots of money. Proving this can be tough because, "he who has the gold makes the rules". But put the first fact together with how at the same time, and in the same store, they hire people who want to work part time and then assign them full time hours. Together this should be enough to convince a jury in a class action suit to find for the plaintiff. Granted, the lawyers in a class action suit will take home most of the money but the bad publicity for Home Depot will be enough to make my day.

The next time you get rotten service at Home Depot, realize that the employee has been treated rotten first. When you get a peek at the grassroots of how the average Home Depot employee feels about the company, you realize that easily well over fifty percent do not like the Home Depot. I'm not saying that employees who work for a rotten company should give rotten service. I'm saying that given human nature, it just gets passed on. Never again will I buy something from Home Depot. Even now, when I need some nails or an air filter, I go to Lowe's.

Replies
Advertisement
Intelligent Thoughts Lacking in HD Customers
By -

Reading these reviews makes me worried about the people shopping in Home Depot more than the people working in Home Depot. How is it that one customer will have an outstanding experience in a HD and another customer has a terrible experience. For each bad experience at HD there are more than a hundred good experiences. If you have a problem with the level of service you received in a HD you can bet someone had the same problem at Lowe's. Do you honestly believe that Lowe's does anything differently than HD or vice-versa?

To expect that Lowe's or HD is going to be so much better than the other is to ignore your own god-given intelligence. The same type of people work at either store and in many cases employees at one place came from the other. Does that mean that all of a sudden that person is a better employee. Ridiculous. Some of these reviews have a valid claim but most of them are ridiculous. It only takes working in a HD or Lowe's for one day to realize why these situations arise and how stupid many of these customers are.

If you want sound advice on how to do home improvement talk to a REAL EXPERT. The employees at these stores are usually not experts and even the so-called experts screw up. Home improvement is a ** area anyway and if these big-box retailers hired REAL experts the products in the store would have to cost more to pay their salary so stop complaining. Simple economics and business knowledge would tell you that in order to meet the expectations the spending would have to increase on everyone's part. This includes the store paying employees more which in turn means higher prices on products. Not a terribly complicated idea.

Of course these stores tell you that they can help with anything. What are they supposed to say? I would not trust the plumbing or electrical problems to some kid hired right out of high school who is just trying to make it through college. The few highly knowledgeable people who do work at these stores can't be there all the time and if you expect them to be you are living on another planet. Someone with that much knowledge probably is being paid more to work somewhere else.

It is YOUR responsibility to make sure your house is improved correctly and up to local building codes. By policy these associates are not supposed to concern themselves with things like building code because codes are different in different cities and it would make them liable if they told the wrong code. That's why codes are public knowledge.

As a homeowner it might be smart to make yourself knowledgeable about the improvements you are about to make or have a REAL expert do it for you. It is just lazy to expect that some kid at a home improvement retailer will be able to explain how to wire a new outlet or plumb a new bathroom. Complicated stuff that even so-called experts get wrong. Look at the whole picture instead of just your narrow view. I value these consumer reviews only as much as I agree with each one. Most of these are garbage and should be valued as much as garbage.

Replies
Kitchen Install a Living Hell
By -

MISSOULA, MONTANTA -- Being the financially-strapped young family that we are, we decided to have Home Depot do our kitchen, in an effort to save money. Do NOT make this mistake! Day 1: My husband takes the day off work, having been advised that he must be there to sign off on the cabinet delivery. Also, a subcontractor from Home Depot is supposed to come and take a wall out in our kitchen. The clock ticks and ticks and neither guy shows up. At 6 PM (yes, P.M.!) the cabinet guy calls to say, "Yeah, I'm not going to make it today." The other guy never even calls.

When we finally track him down, the next day, he whines "Well, it's hunting season!" Since this is only day one, I still have a decent sense of humor. It makes a good anecdote to amuse my friends. 2 weeks later: Yes, it's taken us this long to get the wall removed so we can get our floor put in before the cabinets are installed. We have now been 10 days without a kitchen, have exposed wires running from floor to ceiling, and we are living in this house with our two small kids, aged one and four. My sense of humor is beginning to flag a little. Still, I am optimistic that our beautiful new kitchen is mere days away.

3 weeks later: We finally have cabinets installed. Home Depot told us it would take only one day's labor to install the cabinets in our small kitchen after my husband did the tear-out. However, it took somewhat longer, because the installer claimed he had a "family emergency" (we later heard him talking with the countertop guy about the hunting trip he'd just returned from!) and sent his worthless buddy to do the work for him.

The buddy took 5 days, which spanned a weekend, to do this work because he never showed up earlier than 11 AM and then had to measure everything 3 or 4 times before he finally got it right. And the 5 days spanned a weekend, so it ended up being 7. Also, he refused to give us the $400 refund we were promised for the tear-out, saying we had to take that up with management, and complained a lot when we asked him to clean up the worksite, as specified in our Home Depot contract.

5 weeks later: Yes, today marks 5 weeks that we have been doing our dishes in the bathtub and trying to keep our small children from sticking their hands into the exposed knife drawer, because we STILL have no countertops, hence no sink and no dishwasher. All traces of my sense of humor have now vanished without a trace. Home Depot didn't bother to inform us, when we ordered Corian countertops through them, that the Corian could not be ordered until after the cabinets went in (which, you may recall, took quite some time) and that it would take 2 weeks from that date before we had counters or a sink.

Well, it was supposed to take 2 weeks. Today was the day we were supposed to have our counter tops installed, but naturally the countertop guy did not show up (I was not at all surprised), and when we called this morning, he said he had no idea where we'd got that date from (he'd told us the date himself!) and that he had us "penciled in" for Thursday.

So, I have now called every manager I can reach at Home Depot to complain, but am not hopeful this will bring any results. With Home Depot, you pay your money in advance, and they've got you over a barrel after that... They take no ownership or responsibility whatsoever for the work (or lack thereof) of their subcontractors. Please, please, don't make the same mistake we did. Spend a little extra money and get a reputable contractor to do your kitchen right! Home Depot's service (or lack thereof) explains why so many couples get divorced over remodels!

Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >

Home Depot Rating:
Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 86 ratings and
460 reviews & complaints.
Contact Information:
Home Depot
2455 Paces Ferry Road Southeast
Atlanta, GA 30339-4024
1-800-466-3337 (ph)
678-556-7614 (fax)
www.homedepot.com
Product/Services
Compare Home Improvement Companies