Home Depot - Page 4

Star Half star Empty star Empty star Empty star
1.5 out of 5, based on 101 ratings and
480 reviews & complaints.


Most Popular | Newest | More Options >
More filter options:
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Deplorable Customer Service At New Rochelle Home Depot
Posted on
Rating: 1/51
NEW ROCHELLE, NEW YORK -- Dear sir or Madam, please fix the extremely poor customer service at your New Rochelle NY store. I have consistently encountered DMV like service in this store for several years now (And I was going there often). Never ever have I seen such extremely bad bad attitudes and unwillingness to help in any store. I seems as if it's a store policy help customers as little as possible. Simply do a Google search for poor service at New Rochelle Home depot. And you will find story after story of people complaining about the really bad customer service coming out of this 1 Home Depot Store. Based on my search this store clearly has a top national ranking for the worst customer service. I have ever read some stories about management taking steps to address these customer service issues going back to 2009 (so obviously you know there is a serious problem with this store, and what ever you tried to do did not work).

Example: About a month ago I ask a clerk for help in the lumber dept. He starts to answer me and in mid sentence he gets a text message on his personal. The clueless clerk proceeds to have me stand right in front of him while he takes 4 minutes to send a volley of text message. No excuse me, no nothing. This experience got way worse bust too much to write about here.

Example: Today I wanted to buy some refurbished/reconditioned equipment that they had lined up in front of the store. However all of the equipment was strung together with a wire lock. I go inside and ask if I can purchase the equipment. It take literally 30 min for them to locate someone with the key to unlock the stuff. When we got to do the unlock, the clerk and I also pickup an escort from the store manager. She proceeds to tell me in a negative tone "you know there are parts missing write", "Oh.... Can you tell me what parts are missing". She does not know and couldn't care less. Do you know if the stuff works then. "No... that's why were selling them". me: "Well they do say reconditioned on them". her: "That means there used". I proceed to explain to her the definition of re-conditioned.This banter continued for about five minutes. Finally I just said never mind this is too complicated and I walked away. Here tone in this whole thing was as if she was annoyed, and bothered by my interest in the equipment (this was the manager). If its OK for her to act this way, what do you think is permissible underneath her.

This is clearly a management issues as it is store wide. The nearest Lowe's is a good 45min ride from this store. I'm a new Loyal LOWE'S customer.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Credit Card Issue and Change of Address and Not Receiving Billing
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
SPRINGFIELD, MISSOURI -- My wife and I went into a Home D. store to purchase a ceiling fan. When we went to check out we found our credit card with Home D. wouldn`t go through. When calling from the store the credit dept. we found we had a unpaid balance of $60-$70 from a April purchase. I wasn`t aware of that because I didn`t receive a billing. We had a change of address that I believed I put on a statement when I mailed back to Home D. in March. I don`t use my Home D. charge very often but have had the credit card forever. My past pay report has been outstanding over the last 10-15 years with Home D. The lady advised me I owe not only the $60 I owe late charges$25 the first month,$35,second month,$40 the next month and so on. I owe more in late charges than my balance on purchases. I also don`t understand why the P. O. didn`t forward this bill because once in a while I still get forwarded mail. The lady I talked to was not flexible at all, she wasn`t helpful either. She was all business but not really helpful. She wasn`t rude or anything just if I wanted the fan I needed to pay the store $95 on my account or something like that an amount. I was getting a little up set and embarrassed with the other customers looking at my wife and I as dead beets. I told her to look at my pay record over the past 10 years and I pay every month my balance but she advised she couldn`t go back over 6 months. So after going over and over with this credit person and making no progress I told her to send me the bill at my correct address and I will pay for what I purchased but not $100 in late charges. I also advised her I will never set foot in another Home D. store and I will tell all my friends and everyone I talk to how hard it is to do business with Home D. Please also note I pay bills as I receive them like every other person does, I don`t keep track of purchases and automatically pay them if I don`t get a bill. Look at my credit score, look at my past pay record, then make a decision on cutting me off. I will pay the bill I owe, I will destroy my credit cards from Home D. and never shop there again. I will not pay all those outrages late fees however. When I receive the statement I`ll pay you what do.417-714-9162-Wayne Rambaud,615 N. Jerico St. Nixa, Mo.65714
     
Replies
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Home Depot Credit Card 5% Discount Matching Lowe's 5% Discount
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
GARDEN GROVE, CALIFORNIA -- Less than a year ago an associate at a Depot had me apply for a commercial Home Depot credit card telling me that I would get 5% off my purchases. Upon being approved for the card, I was told that at the register I needed to ask for the 5% Lowe's match. When I went to use it in Orange county the stores needed to see my Lowe's card. I have a Lowe's commercial credit which I have and showed them and have ever since with not much trouble. One time at the Garden Grove store the cashier made me show the Lowe's card and my drivers license and checked the name on all three and told me that she had to make sure that I wasn't using someone else's Lowe's card in order to get the 5% discount. Today at the Garden Grove store I was told that the manager told them that the 5% discount did not apply to the Home Depot commercial credit card.

FYI: At Lowe's the 5% discount is applied automatically when the card is swiped and since it is a "Lowe's American Express" card, American Express gives 2 points for every dollar spent at Lowe's in which for every 2500 points that I cash in I get a $25 Lowe's gift card. This is an additional 2% in perks. CitiBank which issues my Home Depot Commercial card does not give any perks.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Turned into an indictment of Home Depot Customer service
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NORTH FORT MYERS, FLORIDA -- This review was inspired by a poorly designed and manufactured Thomasville floor that we purchased at Home Depot and had professionally installed by Home Depot in our dining room. It turned into an indictment of Home Depot Customer service. After months of contact and runaround I felt obligated to send the letter enclosed and post it so others can be better prepare when having a problem with Home Depot.

Home Depot: 14940 N Cleveland Ave, North Fort Myers, FL

Home Depot Representative,
Although it seems Home Depot has already made a decision on this matter I felt I had to respond to the way it was handled. At first it was made to look as though the representatives from Home Depot where looking to find a cause for the problem but in time we realized they were just handing the problem off from one person to the next. Most of what had been promised regardless how small such as “Pick up touch-up pen at store from counter person” where met by a glazed look from the person at the counter that was never told. They gave us phone numbers to call and called them manufacture representatives or Home Depot managers in charge of the flooring department, or buyers for the floor department, or the best joke of all “Home Depot customer service manager” but when we thought we heard it all they told us Home depot will be sending an insurance appraiser that we later found out specializes in auto insurance. Of course we had a problem with a Thomasville floor not something normally found in a car. He did not show up for the first appointment that he set up date and time for his convenience then arrived on his second try with a preconceived conclusion as to what the problem was. His brilliant conclusion was although we had pads on each leg of each chair and pads on each leg of the table they were not new enough and that made us reasonable for the damage.

I realize I’m not an insurance appraiser with specialties in auto insurance but even I was able to determine that the material in this Thomasville floor was too soft to support furniture of any kind and that made it totally useless as a dining room floor. We know other customers left negative feedback on this floor with at least one stating it marked so easily only air furniture should be used. I’m sorry I had to wright a negative review I much rather Home Depot would have worked with the suppliers and us to come to a fair conclusion for everyone but instead they decided it was best to waste not only my time but the time of the store employees.

Two things have come from this experience, first I will drive by a Home Depot to get to a Lowes in the future and second I will post a copy of this letter on any space that will have it.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Don't Buy Countertops From Home Depot!!!!!!
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
OKLAHOMA CITY, OKLAHOMA -- We bought $4000 worth of marble countertops from Home Depot. They sent out someone from Home Depot to measure countertops, my wife explained to them exactly what she wanted including a template from the cabinet makers. They say the measurements are wrong from the cabinet maker and say we owe an additional $1600. We paid the difference and we got put off for a month for several reasons but not limited to "the marble is on back order", "the installer cracked the marble when they cut it" and back to "the marble is on back order".

Finally we call Home Depot and tell them we need it installed its costing us money, is an eyesore and is very inconvenient! They tell us they will try to expedite the process and they switched installers.

The installer shows up, and they have cut the island marble top wrong. The installers tells my wife "yes it was cut wrong". The installer calls his boss and they tell him to bring it back and they will recut it.

Two months later and after contacting the counter top people at Home Depot, the assistant manager, the store manager, the regional manager, the associate and manager of the installer and making a complaint to the corporate headquarters we are 3 months without counter tops and still counting!!

The installer tells my wife that she signed a piece of paper saying that the measurements were right. My wife didn't sign anything, she doesn't know how to measure counter tops and on top of that its not her responsibility that's what we are paying them for! They tell her they will bring her the original top back but that's it....

I will NEVER do business with Home Depot again! They are a very shady business that does not care about their customers, has extremely bad customer service and its employees and contractors have know idea what they are doing. The employees have told both my wife and I that they will "call us back" or "get to the bottom of it" but they don't and have no intentions to. PLEASE STAY AWAY!
     
Replies
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Lack of Communication
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
ONLINE ORDER, NEW JERSEY -- On June 13th I ordered my mother a new washing machine from Home Depot. It arrived on the 20th. My mother attempted to use it two days later, only to find that it would not agitate. She was unhappy with the product, and did not want another washer like this one. I called Home Depot and they said they would not be able to deliver a new washer for a week. I told them I wanted to cancel the order. The gentleman on the phone said that's fine we will have someone out either Tuesday or Wednesday to pick up the washer. Order was canceled, I was told I would have my money back in my account within 36 hours. Washer was picked up on Tuesday the 25th.

OK. Fast Forward two weeks. No refund has been placed in my account as of this moment. Add to this the frustration of spending literally hours on the phone trying to get this straightened out. Also, add the fact that Maytag has since attempted to deliver two more washers to my house (the first time I had to sign multiple papers and talk to an unfriendly dispatcher and this was after I was told by the very friendly Home Depot advisor that "everything was taken care of") I have spoken to at least five people all of whom have assured me the return number was generated and I would have my money within 36 hours of pick up.

Every time I called the nice operators said everything is taken care of. Well, called back Friday and was told I would have to speak to someone at the store (two weeks in I hear this). Once again, very nice lady tells me I will have my money back before Monday morning. Well, it isn't there yet. Called again was now told seven business days. I can understand mistakes but I can not understand or accept the utter confusion that seems to be going on inside this company. They have had the washer for two weeks. It was checked back into the store on the 28th, still I have no refund.
     
Replies
Veterans
Posted by on
MCKINNEY, TEXAS -- DL's that show you as a veteran and DD-214's are not accepted at Home Depots, this is not isolated but true with all Home depots I have been into. this removes most vets from so called discounts. when you have a friend who does have one due to being active or medical / retired, there excuse is only on certain days. they are getting you there and not honoring this as they say. In fact a lady manager at Mckinney store is down right rude about it, hope see had fun putting up my carts that would have totaled around $1200, at least that was the cost after Lowes gave me a veterans discount whom has every time without question. many vets are already noticing this and have a boycott on the Home Depot for there actions toward vets, not just acceptance, but some of the attitudes in the process of trying to reason with them, as a vet, I and others would like to see them feel the pain of there action by putting a boycott on all Home Depots that refuse to honor what most of us have, DL and or DD-214's.

Unfortunately, rating I can not do, I think of Home Depot as awesome, but due to attitudes and responses toward me as a vet, I degrade them, they should look at Lowe's and see how they deal with everyone, they are much nicer folks and a whole lot more friendly.

Also note, you don't have to ask for help to load, no matter how busy, someone is always there to offer help, not at Home Depot, they are difficult to get to help and have attitudes about it when you do.
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Home Depot Furnace Bait and Switch
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
NATIONAL, ILLINOIS -- In November I called the advertised number, 855-295-3767, for Home Depot furnace installation after seeing an in-store sign for a 65k btu furnace for $1900 installed. I gave the phone representative my information and she said a local HVAC company would call within a few days to schedule an estimate. After more than 2 weeks with no call I call Home Depot. They blamed the local co. and said they would get them right out. Another week passed.

Finally I called the local co. and set up a time. They came and measured and said H. D. would get me an estimate in a few days. Another week went by. I called Tina at H. D. once again, she said she had the est. and would get right back with me. 3 weeks later--no estimate. I called H. D. and spoke with Tina's manager, Lynn, told her the story and she said she would investigate. 5 hours later she called and said she had my estimate--$2744...almost $1000 more than the advertised price for the exact same furnace. I asked why they didn't give me the price shown at the store and her only reply was that that price was the "starting at" price. She had no idea why mine was so much higher. Nor did she seem to care that it took 2 months just to get me an estimate.

All in all, a horrible experience with Home Depot...and more so, the company they hire to set up furnace installs.

I will also be contacting other consumer protection agencies.

Update--Sure I understand all installs are different and that an estimate is needed, but my case couldn't be any simpler unless it was on ground level. They have to take it down one set of stairs and replace it with the exact same size set up. No new ductwork, no gas lines to run...remove the old, install the new. It seems excessive to think the additional $1000 is for taking it up/down one flight of stairs to a finished basement.

In any case, thanks for your comments
     
Replies
StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Employee Puts Lumbar Cart Next to My Vehicle
Posted by on
Rating: 1/51
KENNER, LOUISIANA -- I, Glenn Daresnbourg filed a claim with Home Depot on 6/22/2012 see attached report. My truck is brand new and at the time of incident had only 1200 miles on it. On 6/25/2012 I received a response of denial from Christina [snip], see attached letter.

We posted on Facebook about the accident and immediately had a response from the Home Depot Center. Since then we have talked to Harold at 1-800-253-4527 extension 84384. He offered me $100.00 gift card, I told him I was unhappy with the amount because I felt the repair would cost more. He told me to get an estimate for the report, see attached report, and then fax it to him.

I talked to him on 7/20/2012 he offered me a $300.00 check that he would mail out to me. I told him if according to the Home Depot employee, the employee said the lumbar cart was 2’ away from my vehicle, the employee claimed I turned into the lumbar cart, if I turned into the lumbar cart as he claims I would have hit him and the lumbar cart. I stated the employee is going to lie to keep his job, I said, what I claimed happened makes more sense, and he informed me the camera could not see this part of the parking lot. I told Harold so in other words, you will pay for half of the damage and I have to pay for the rest of the damage which I did not cause; that I would accept the check but report it to the BBB. Harold informed me, this offer is no longer good. As I have 3 Home Depot accounts and have stated from the very beginning of this incident I would take store credit in the place of cash.

I own 2 businesses, Darensbourg Center which is a strip shopping center and D & D RV Park and spend approximately $20,000.00 annually in Home Depot, I didn't have a Lowes Credit card but have opened one since this incident which I did inform Harold.

I am very dissatisfied with this response being it was not another customer that caused this but THEIR employee… also the time and effort I have put into resolving this matter.
     
Replies
StarStarEmpty StarEmpty StarEmpty Star
Poor Customer Service
Posted by on
Rating: 2/51
LEXINGTON, SOUTH CAROLINA -- I purchased an electric range 6-18-2012. First of all, No drop in coiltop ranges on floor to see. I wanted a simple range, white, coil top, self cleaning oven..30 inch drop in. None to be seen. Associate pulled one up on computer and showed to me...only having one in stock. We made purchase but specifically asked associate if it was self cleaning oven...Me and two other persons with me heard her say yes. It was delivered today, 06-20-2012.

It did not appear to be self cleaning oven. I looked at manual inside over and it was only generic not indicating specifics about this model. Looked online and found it was not a self cleaning oven. Called the store and talked with another associate who was unable to do anything who referred me to assistant manager who referred me to an appliance specialist (I guess) who also told me they did not have one to meet my request. I asked her to pick this one up which she was readily willing to do.

I asked her for corporate number and she went all around to try not to give me number and indicated she had rather handle it in this store and all they would do would be to call her???? I insisted on the number when she reluctantly gave me and said they would pick up the range. I called corporate customer service and was put on hold (apparently to research product and to call store to get further information??? She returned only to say they did not have anything to meet my request...o. k.

She did not try to resolve by any other means but did say she had checked at Lowe's and they had one. Thanks for that suggestion and maybe I should have gone there to begin with and certainly for future purchases. Maybe they resolved customer complaints with more options. Not pleased at all with the customer service received at this store..with this purchase. I have had pleasant experiences with an associate named Nate..Very pleasant and courteous and helpful.
     
Replies
Top of Page | Next Page >